DETAILED ACTION
Restriction Remarks
Claims 1-13 and 16-22 are pending.
Claims 12-13 are withdrawn as of August 19, 2025 without traverse.
Claims 1-11, and 16-22 are examined.
This application contains 12-13 are drawn to an invention nonelected without traverse in the reply filed on August 19, 2025. A complete reply to the final rejection must include cancellation of nonelected claims or other appropriate action (37 CFR 1.144) See MPEP § 821.01.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancellation of claims 12-15 to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be amended in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(b) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. Any amendment of inventorship must be accompanied by a request under 37 CFR 1.48(b) and by the fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Applicant is reminded the cancellation of claims 12-13 to a non-elected invention.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Claims 1-13 and 16-22 are pending in this application. Applicant added claims 16-22 as new claims. Claims 12-13 are withdrawn from consideration, as per restriction, supra.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1 and 16 have fully been considered and are not persuasive.
Examiner maintains the rejection under 35 USC 102. This action is made final based on the issues noted below.
Applicant argues on pages 6 and 7 that Yu (US Patent No. 10945183) fails to disclose the claimed, “determining by the first network device based on context information of the terminal device and resource status information of the target cell, whether a terminal device is allowed to access the target cell”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Yu teaches “determining by the first network device based on context information of the terminal device and resource status information of the target cell, whether a terminal device is allowed to access the target cell” (i.e., terminal is connected to a current source serving cell, the terminal obtains a first quality parameter of the current source serving cell; if the first quality parameter is less than a first preset threshold, the terminal determines a measurement cell set; the terminal measures each measurement cell in the measurement cell set to obtain each corresponding second quality parameter; and the terminal determines a target serving cell based on the second quality parameter. ) [Abstract]; (i.e., receiving the indication signaling used to indicate that the terminal is about to reselect a cell or the terminal is about to change a cell, the core network device suspends the downlink data, and then sends the downlink data to the target base station after the terminal establishes a connection to the target base station, so as to effectively ensure that the downlink data is not lost, and further ensure continuity of the terminal in a mobile state) (Col 7, lines 32-42); see (Col 22, lines 21-29); (Col 27, lines 10-19), for example.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 16 recites the limitation " the terminal device" in claims 1 and 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yu et al., (US Patent No. 10945183 B2 and Yu hereinafter).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding Claims 1 and 16, Yu teaches a mobility management method, comprising: receiving, by a first network device, a first message (i.e., broadcast messages) (Col 2, lines 9-18) including information indicating a target cell (i.e., the terminal reports information about the target cell to a source base station corresponding to the current source serving cell by using an uplink direct transmission message. The information about the target cell may include an identity ID of the target serving cell or an index value of the target serving cell) (Col 2, lines 24-29) based on at least one of: context information of the terminal device or resource status information of the target cell (i.e., the terminal reports information about the target cell to a source base station corresponding to the current source serving cell by using an uplink direct transmission message. The information about the target cell may include an identity ID of the target serving cell or an index value of the target serving cell) (Col 2, lines 24-29) and (i.e., ore network device receives a first instruction that is sent by the target base station and that is used to indicate that the target core network device needs to request the downlink data from the source core network device, the target core network device may directly send a context information and data request message to the source core network device) (Col 22, lines 22-30); and determining, by the first network device (i.e., a terminal is connected to a current source serving cell, the terminal obtains a first quality parameter of the current source serving cell; if the first quality parameter is less than a first preset threshold, the terminal determines a measurement cell set; the terminal measures each measurement cell in the measurement cell set to obtain each corresponding second quality parameter; and the terminal determines a target serving cell based on the second quality parameter) [Abstract], whether a terminal device is allowed to access the target cell (Figure 14, whole figure, infra):
wherein whether the terminal device is allowed to access the target cell is determined (i.e., the terminal reports information about the target cell to a source base station corresponding to the current source serving cell by using an uplink direct transmission message. The information about the target cell may include an identity ID of the target serving cell or an index value of the target serving cell) (Col 2, lines 24-29) based on at least one of: context information of the terminal device or resource status information of the target cell .e., the terminal reports information about the target cell to a source base station corresponding to the current source serving cell by using an uplink direct transmission message. The information about the target cell may include an identity ID of the target serving cell or an index value of the target serving cell) (Col 2, lines 24-29) and (i.e., ore network device receives a first instruction that is sent by the target base station and that is used to indicate that the target core network device needs to request the downlink data from the source core network device, the target core network device may directly send a context information and data request message to the source core network device) (Col 22, lines 22-30) and (i.e., terminal is connected to a current source serving cell, the terminal obtains a first quality parameter of the current source serving cell; if the first quality parameter is less than a first preset threshold, the terminal determines a measurement cell set; the terminal measures each measurement cell in the measurement cell set to obtain each corresponding second quality parameter; and the terminal determines a target serving cell based on the second quality parameter) [Abstract]; (i.e., receiving the indication signaling used to indicate that the terminal is about to reselect a cell or the terminal is about to change a cell, the core network device suspends the downlink data, and then sends the downlink data to the target base station after the terminal establishes a connection to the target base station, so as to effectively ensure that the downlink data is not lost, and further ensure continuity of the terminal in a mobile state) (Col 7, lines 32-42); see (Col 22, lines 21-29); (Col 27, lines 10-19).
In regards to the newly added amendment of March 26, 2026, “based on context information of he terminal device and resource status information of the target cell”
Yu clearly teaches “based on context information of the terminal device and resource status information of the target cell” (i.e., terminal is connected to a current source serving cell, the terminal obtains a first quality parameter of the current source serving cell; if the first quality parameter is less than a first preset threshold, the terminal determines a measurement cell set; the terminal measures each measurement cell in the measurement cell set to obtain each corresponding second quality parameter; and the terminal determines a target serving cell based on the second quality parameter. ) [Abstract]; (i.e., receiving the indication signaling used to indicate that the terminal is about to reselect a cell or the terminal is about to change a cell, the core network device suspends the downlink data, and then sends the downlink data to the target base station after the terminal establishes a connection to the target base station, so as to effectively ensure that the downlink data is not lost, and further ensure continuity of the terminal in a mobile state) (Col 7, lines 32-42); see (Col 22, lines 21-29); (Col 27, lines 10-19), for example.
Therefore, Examiner asserts that Yu discloses and teaches Applicant’s claimed invention, as noted supra.
Regarding Claims 2 and 17, Yu teaches wherein the first message (i.e., broadcast messages) (Col 2, lines 9-18) includes a measurement report of the terminal device, or the first message includes an identifier of the target cell (i.e., the terminal is connected to the current source serving cell, and the terminal learns that the first quality parameter of the current source serving cell is less than the first preset threshold, the terminal may measure the measurement cell to determine the target serving cell, and does not report a measurement report repeatedly to the base station for determining the target serving cell, thereby reducing a quantity of reporting times and further reducing power consumption of the terminal ) (Col 13, lines 65-67 to Col 14, lines 1-9).
Regarding Claim 3, Yu teaches further comprising: sending, by the first network device, a second message (i.e., broadcast messages) (Col 2, lines 9-18) used to initiate a handover procedure to the target cell (i.e., core network device through the target base station may be further determined. After the terminal establishes a connection to the target base station, the terminal sends data to the target base station starting from the first data packet for which no receiving acknowledgment is received from the source base station. When the terminal starts to establish a connection to the target base station, the source base station may send, to the core network device, data packets that are sequentially received. In addition, when sending the uplink data, the terminal may further indicate whether the uplink data is NAS signaling or NAS data. In addition, when sending data, the terminal may further send a NAS count of an uplink data packet. If a case such as cell reselection, a cell handover, or a cell change occurs, the base station may forward a correctly received but an out-of-order data packet and sequence number to the target base station, and the terminal may send, to the target base station, a NAS packet corresponding to a NAS count value that is not acknowledged for receiving) (Col 19, lines 44-63) to .
Regarding Claims 4 and 19, Yu teaches wherein when the first message (i.e., broadcast messages) (Col 2, lines 9-18) includes the measurement report of the terminal device, the method further comprises: determining, by the first network device, the target cell based on the measurement report of the terminal device (i.e., the terminal is connected to the current source serving cell, and the terminal learns that the first quality parameter of the current source serving cell is less than the first preset threshold, the terminal may measure the measurement cell to determine the target serving cell, and does not report a measurement report repeatedly to the base station for determining the target serving cell, thereby reducing a quantity of reporting times and further reducing power consumption of the terminal ) (Col 13, lines 65-67 to Col 14, lines 1-9).
Regarding Claim 5, Yu teaches wherein sending, by the first network device, the second message comprises: sending, by the first network device, the second message (i.e., broadcast messages) (Col 2, lines 9-18) to a second network device, wherein the second network device serves the target cell (i.e., target core network device receives a first instruction that is sent by the target base station and that is used to indicate that the target core network device needs to request the downlink data from the source core network device, the target core network device may directly send a context information and data request message to the source core network device) (Col 41, lines 58-64).
Regarding Claims 6, 18, and 22, Yu teaches further comprising: sending, by the first network device, a third message to a third network device (i.e., broadcast messages) (Col 2, lines 9-18), wherein the third message (i.e., broadcast messages) (Col 2, lines 9-18) includes information about handover of the terminal device to the target cell, the third network device serves a source cell, and the terminal device is connected to the source cell before the handover procedure occurs (i.e., when data is transferred between the target base station and the source base station, the target base station and the source base station may add an information element to the handover request for data forwarding. The name of the information element may be data forwarding for NAS PDU. Alternatively, the target base station and the source base station use one piece of X2-AP signaling to which downlink data forwarding is added. The name of the information element may be DL data forwarding. Alternatively, when sending a handover request command (handover request) to the target base station, the source base station adds, to the handover request, an information element used to indicate that there is data to be sent to a target core network device, and after receiving the handover acknowledgment message sent by the target base station, the source base station further sends data transfer signaling to the target base station. In this case, the signaling includes an information element that may be data forwarding for NAS PDU. Alternatively, the target base station establishes an X2 bearer corresponding to an SRB1, establishes a new E-RAB corresponding to an EPS bearer, and a tunnel used to carry data of the E-RAB. After establishing the tunnel, the target base station sends a corresponding tunnel address to the source base station, so that the source base station forwards the data to the target base station through the tunnel. There may be a plurality of manners in which the source base station sends the downlink data to the target base station) (Col 43, lines 63-67 to Col 44, lines 1-5); (Col 22, lines 36-65) and (Col 31, lines 10-20).
Regarding Claim 7, Yu teaches wherein the sending, by the first network device, the second message (i.e., broadcast messages) (Col 2, lines 9-18) comprises: sending, by the first network device, the second message (i.e., broadcast messages) (Col 2, lines 9-18) to a fourth network device, wherein the fourth network device serves a source cell, and the terminal device is connected to the source cell before the handover procedure occurs (i.e., terminal is connected to a current source serving cell, that is, the terminal exchanges data with a base station corresponding to the current source serving cell, obtaining, by the terminal, a first quality parameter of the current source serving cell in real time; if the first quality parameter is less than a first preset threshold, determining, by the terminal, a measurement cell set; then measuring, by the terminal, each measurement cell in the measurement cell set to obtain each corresponding second quality parameter; and finally determining, by the terminal, a target serving cell based on the second quality parameter) (Col 1, lines 58-67 to Col 2, lines 1-3).
Regarding Claim 8, Yu teaches further comprising: sending, by the first network device, a fourth message (i.e., broadcast messages) (Col 2, lines 9-18) used for requesting to obtain the context information of the terminal device; and receiving, by the first network device, the context information of the terminal device (i.e., ore network device receives a first instruction that is sent by the target base station and that is used to indicate that the target core network device needs to request the downlink data from the source core network device, the target core network device may directly send a context information and data request message to the source core network device) (Col 22, lines 22-30).
Regarding Claim 9, Yu teaches further comprising: receiving, by the first network device, a fifth message (i.e., broadcast messages) (Col 2, lines 9-18) used by the first network device to update the context information of the terminal device (i.e., ore network device receives a first instruction that is sent by the target base station and that is used to indicate that the target core network device needs to request the downlink data from the source core network device, the target core network device may directly send a context information and data request message to the source core network device) (Col 22, lines 22-30).
Regarding Claim 10, Yu teaches wherein whether the terminal device is allowed to access the target cell is determined by the first network device according to an access control policy (i.e., base station for example; using the uplink direct transmission message, the target cell to the source base station corresponding to the current source serving cell, the source base station may determine a target base station. Then, the source base station sends a handover request message to the target base station. The source base station receives a handover response message fed back by the target base station; and the terminal receives the information about the target cell that is sent by the source base station by using an RRC connection release message or a downlink direct transmission message. The terminal sends a cell change acknowledgment message to the target base station by using at least one of an RRC connection establishment complete message, an RRC reconfiguration complete message, and an uplink direct transmission message) (Col 2, lines 30-44).
Regarding Claims 11 and 20, Yu teaches further comprising: receiving, by the first network device, a sixth message (i.e., broadcast messages) (Col 2, lines 9-18) including an access control (AC) policy (i.e., base station for example; using the uplink direct transmission message, the target cell to the source base station corresponding to the current source serving cell, the source base station may determine a target base station. Then, the source base station sends a handover request message to the target base station. The source base station receives a handover response message fed back by the target base station; and the terminal receives the information about the target cell that is sent by the source base station by using an RRC connection release message or a downlink direct transmission message. The terminal sends a cell change acknowledgment message to the target base station by using at least one of an RRC connection establishment complete message, an RRC reconfiguration complete message, and an uplink direct transmission message) (Col 2, lines 30-44); (Col 23, lines 3-14).
Regarding Claim 22, Yu teaches network device is configured to locally store the context information and session information of the terminal device. (Figure 25, whole figure).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yu et al., (US Patent No. 10945183 B2), “Cell Obtaining Method, And Terminal” (March 9, 2021).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.qov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll free).
/DIANE D MIZRAHI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647
Diane.Mizrahi@USPTO.gov