DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaeriyama (WO2020218612) (for applicant’s convenience, English equivalent US 20220041880 has been used for citations) in view of Okada et al. (US20220033666) and Chidate (US2019/0234015).
Kaeriyama teaches a set of ink jet composition comprising a pretreatment liquid composition and an ink composition (para. [0150], [0151]), wherein the ink composition comprising water (i.e., aqueous), a pigment; and a water-soluble polymer having a carboxy group (para. [0009]-[0012], [0045], [0046]). Kaeriyama further teaches pigments having average particle diameter 10 nm to 200 nm (para. [0056]) and the ink composition can also contain resin particles (para. [0087]-[0088]), wherein such resin particles can be acrylic resin including an anionic group containing (meth)acrylate, polyamide etc. (para. [0089]). Kareiyama also teaches the pretreatment liquid composition including at least one aggregating agent selected from the group consisting of acids, cationic polymers, and polyvalent metal salts, wherein such pretreatment composition having a pH value less than 5 and the cationic polymers examples include a cationic urethane resin, a cationic acrylic resin, a cationic vinyl resin, a cationic olefin resin, a cationic polyamine, and a cationic allylamine resin (para. [0014], [0028], [0031], [0112], [0125], [0126]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art “obvious to try” a cationic polyamine and/or cationic allyamine resin as a cationic polymer in the pretreatment liquid composition because choosing cationic polyamine and/or cationic allyamine resin from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of cationic polymers for producing a pretreatment liquid composition would have a reasonable expectation of success (see MPEP§ 2143 KSR).
Regarding claim 1, Kareiyama does not expressly teach the pretreatment liquid containing a water-resistant agent including 0.1% to 15.0% by mass of dimethylpyrazole-blocked isocyanate, or 0.1 to 1.5% by mass of polyamide epihalohydrin polymer from, or the polyamine being selected from the group consisting of polyallylamine hydrochloride, polyallylamine amide sulfate, allylamine hydrochloride-diallylamine hydrochloride copolymer, allylamine acetate-diallylamine acetate copolymer, allylamine acetate-diallylamine acetate copolymer, allylamine hydrochloride- dimethylallylamine hydrochloride copolymer, allylamine-dimethylallylamine copolymer, polydiallylamine hydrochloride, polymethyldiallylamine hydrochloride, polymethyldiallylamine amide sulfate, polymethyldiallylamine acetate, diallylamine acetate-sulfur dioxide copolymer, diallyImethylethyl ammonium ethyl sulfate-sulfur dioxide copolymer, methyldiallylamine hydrochloride-sulfur dioxide copolymer, diallyldimethyl ammonium chloride-sulfur dioxide copolymer, and diallyldimethyl ammonium chloride-acrylamide copolymer.
Okada et al. teaches a treatment liquid composition comprising a block isocyanate compound, and a cationic compound (claim 1, para. [0011]), wherein the cationic compound can be polyamine (para. [0026]-[0028]), a block isocyanate compound can be dimethylpyrazole-blocked isocyanate (para. [0019], [0074], claim 4), wherein the content the block isocyanate compound in terms of a solid content with respect to the total mass of the treatment liquid composition is preferably 0.01 to 30 percent by mass, more preferably 0.05 to 10 percent by mass (para. [0022]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt such content of dimethylpyrazole-blocked isocyanate as shown by Okada et al. to modify the pretreatment liquid of Kareiyama because by doing so can help improve the storage stability of the treatment liquid composition in aqueous solution as suggested by Okada et al (para. [0016], [0018]). As for the claimed “water-resistant agent”, Okada et al. already teaches such dimethylpyrazole-blocked isocyanate protecting isocyanate group not reacting with water in aqueous solution (para. [0016]), therefore, such dimethylpyrazole-blocked isocyanate is a water-resistant agent.
Chidate also teaches cationic resin can be cationic allylamine resin being selected from polyallylamine hydrochloride, polyallylamine amide sulfate, an allylamine hydrochloride-diallylamine hydrochloride copolymer, an allylamine acetate-diallylamine acetate copolymer, an allylamine acetate-diallylamine acetate copolymer, an allylamine hydrochloride-dimethyl allylamine hydrochloride copolymer, an allylamine-dimethyl allylamine copolymer, polydiallylamine hydrochloride, polymethyl diallylamine hydrochloride, polymethyl diallylamine amide sulfate, polymethyl diallylamine acetate, polydiallyl dimethyl ammonium chloride, a diallylamine acetate-sulfur dioxide copolymer, a diallyl methyl ethylammonium ethylsulfate-sulfur dioxide copolymer, a methyl diallylamine hydrochloride-sulfur dioxide copolymer, a diallyl dimethyl ammonium chloride-sulfur dioxide copolymer, a diallyl dimethyl ammonium chloride-acryl amide copolymer (para. [0156]). Chidate further teaches cationic resin can be
compounds obtained by polymerizing the monomers containing amine and epihalohydrin, such as polyamide epihalohydrin copolymers etc. (para [0157]) and such cationic resin content can be from 0.1% to 25% by mass (para. [0159]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine a cationic allylamine resin (e.g. like polyallylamine hydrochloride, polyallylamine amide sulfate etc.) and polyamide epihalohydrin polymers as shown by Chidate to practice the cationic resin of Kareiyama because combining such prior art elements of cationic resin according to known methods of forming a pretreatment liquid would yield predictable result (see MPEP §2143 KSR Rationale A).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt such well-known 0.1% to 25% by mass of such polyamide epihalohydrin polymers as shown by Chidate to modify the cationic resin of Kareiyama because adopting such well-known content of polyamide epihalohydrin polymers as cationic resin to modify a well-known pretreatment liquid of Kareiyama for improvement would have predictable results (see MPEP§ 2143 KSR Rationale D).
As for the claimed “water-resistant agent”, Chidate disclosed polyamide epihalohydrin polymer is the same as that of instantly claimed, therefore, similar function of being water-resistant agent would be expected.
Regarding claim 2-3, as for the claimed “the composition is used by coating a fabric”, it is noted that such limitation is an intended usage of such claimed treatment composition, but does not structurally limit the instantly claimed treatment composition. As for the claimed “the L* value of the fabric is 90 or more”, it is noted that such limitation is associated with the fabric which is the material the treatment composition going to recorded on (i.e., an intended usage), but does not structurally limit the instantly claimed treatment liquid composition.
Regarding claim 4, Kareiyama already teaches such limitation as discussed above.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaeriyama (WO2020218612) (for applicant’s convenience, English equivalent US 20220041880 has been used for citations) in view of Okada et al. (US20220033666) and Chidate (US2019/0234015) as applied above, and further in view of Sugihara (WO2019130704) (for applicant’s convenience, English equivalent US20210130639 has been used as citations).
Kareiyama in view of Okada and Chidate has been described as above. Kareiyama further teaches the ink composition having a pH value range in of 7 to 10 (para. [0107]), and pigments having average particle diameter 10 nm to 200 nm (para. [0056]). Apparently, such pigments particles having volume-average particle diameter within or overlapping with that of instantly claimed range thus renders a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP§ 2144. 05 I).
Regarding claim 5, Kareiyama in view of Okada and Chidate does not expressly teach the resin particle having a volume-average particle diameter of 20 nm and 500 nm or less.
Sugihara teaches an aqueous ink composition comprising resin particles (para. [0206]-[0208]) wherein such resin particles is the same resin particles used in the pretreatment liquid (para. [0050], [0052]) and such resin particles having volume average particle size of 30 to 500 nm (para. [0063]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt such volume average particle size of resin as shown by Sugihara to modify the aqueous ink composition of Kareiyama in view of Okada and Chidate because by doing so can help provide an aqueous ink composition exhibiting excellent discharge stability, excellent printed item image quality as suggested by Sugihara (para. [0063], [0207]-[0208]). Furthermore, adopting resin particles with such well-known volume average particle size to modify a known aqueous ink composition for improvement would yield predictable results (see MPEP§ 2143 KSR).
Regarding claim 6, Kareiyama already teaches the ink composition can contain resin particles (para. [0087]-[0088]), wherein such resin particles can be acrylic resin including an anionic group containing (meth)acrylate (para. [0089]). Since Kareiyama disclosed resin particles containing anionic group, therefore, particle components having antitonicity is expected. Kareiyama also teaches the pigment being dispersed via pigment dispersant wherein pigment dispersant is adsorbed on the surface of the pigment and at least part of the pigment is coated (para. [0058]). Kareiyama further teaches pigment dispersant can include a carboxy group containing monomer a sulfonic acid group-containing monomer, and a phosphoric acid group-containing monomer (para. [0061]-[0063], table in para. [0188]), it is noted that carboxylic group, sulfonic acid group, phosphoric acid group are all anionic. Therefore, Kareiyam disclosed pigments having anionicity.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments filed on 05/01/2026 have been acknowledged thus previous 112 rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed on 05/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of current rejections because Chidate already teaches a polyamine compound as that of instantly claimed as discussed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUN LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732