DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/02/2023, and 10/13/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C 102 have been fully considered and are moot based on a new ground of rejection is made in view of Son (US20190335487A1) and further in view of Zhang (US 20080267158 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 3, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son (US 20190335487 A1) hereinafter Son and further in view of Zhang (US 20080267158 A1), hereinafter Zhang.
Regarding claim 1,
Son teaches a device, comprising: radio-frequency circuitry; and an encoder, configured to modulate input data to generate a long-range packet, and to transmit the long-range packet to a receiver through the radio-frequency circuitry (fig. 14b, [0175] LR wireless communication terminal may perform a temporary uplink transmission through a predetermined narrowband subchannel In this case, the predetermined narrowband subchannel may be a subchannel in the 2.422 to 2.427 GHz band or a subchannel in the 2.447 to 2.452 GHz band ... [0176] The LR wireless communication terminal transmits a PPDU of a predefined type having a short transmission length through a predetermined narrowband subchannel. and fig. 7(c) and [0095] The LR-SIG field includes information for decoding the LR PPDU. Specifically, the LR-SIG field may include at least one of information on a Modulation & Coding Scheme (MCS) of LR Data);
wherein the long-range packet comprises a long-range signal field (LR-SIG) and a long-range data field (LR-DATA) (fig. 7 c-d, [0095] The LR PPDU may include at least one of an L-STF field, an L-LTF field, an L-SIG field, an LR-STF field, an LR-LTF field, and an LR-SIG field. In this case, the L-STF field, the L-LTF field, and the L-SIG field may perform the same functions as those described with reference to 7(a)... the LR-SIG field may include at least one of information on a Modulation & Coding Scheme (MCS) of LR Data ... [0097] LR wireless communication terminal transmitting the LR PPDU may transmit LR-STF, LR-LTF, LR-SIG field, and LR data field using 256 FFT-based OFDM in a frequency band having a bandwidth of 20 MHz); and each modulated bit in the long-range signal field and the long-range data field.... (fig. 7(c), and [0095] The LR-SIG field includes information for decoding the LR PPDU. Specifically, the LR-SIG field may include at least one of information on a Modulation & Coding Scheme (MCS) of LR Data).
Son do not explicitly teach ... is spread into a plurality of spread modulated bits that are distributed into a plurality of symbols in a frequency domain.
Zhang teaches ... is spread into a plurality of spread modulated bits that are distributed into a plurality of symbols in a frequency domain (fig. 4, and abstract, A method for transmitting Category 0 bits, including modulating the Category 0 bits; repeatedly transmitting the modulated Category 0 bits with each of repetitions of transmitting the modulated Category 0 bits being spread in a frequency domain and being mapped to a plurality of discrete resource units each having a pair of subcarriers and a predetermined number of OFDM control symbols; and mapping the modulated Category 0 bits by a frequency selective transmit diversity (FSTD)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Zhang to the teaching of Son. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve the reliability of data transmission ([0013] Zhang).
Regarding claim 3,
Son and Zhang teach the device as in claim 1,
Son further teaches wherein the long-range packet comprises a legacy short training field (LSTF), a legacy long training field (LLTF), a legacy signal field (LSIG), a long-range short training field (LR-STF), a first long-range long training field (LR-LTF1), a second long-range long training field (LR-LTF2), the long-range signal field (LR-SIG), and the long-range data field (LR-DATA) that are arranged consecutively in a time domain. (fig. 7c-d, [0095] The LR PPDU may include at least one of an L-STF field, an L-LTF field, an L-SIG field, an LR-STF field, an LR-LTF field, and an LR-SIG field ... the LR-SIG field may include at least one of information on a Modulation & Coding Scheme (MCS) of LR Data).
Regarding claims 11 and 13 “method” is/are rejected under the same reasoning as claims 1 and 3 “device”, where Son teaches both device and method ([0037] and fig.3 and fig.4 ).
Claim 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son and Zhang in view of Zhang (JP2015534771A) hereinafter Zhang71.
Regarding claim 2, Son and Zhang teach the device as claim 1,
Son and Zhang do not explicitly teach wherein the encoder modulates the input data using a binary convolutional code (BCC) or a low-density parity check (LDPC) algorithm with a code rate of 1/2 or 1/4.
Zhang71 teaches wherein the encoder modulates the input data using a binary convolutional code (BCC) or a low-density parity check (LDPC) algorithm with a code rate of 1/2 or 1/4 ([0031] According to an embodiment, PHY unit 300 generally includes a forward error correction (FEC) encoder 302 that encodes an input data stream to generate a corresponding encoded stream. In one embodiment, the FEC encoder utilizes a code rate 1/2 binary convolutional code (BCC)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Zhang71 to the teaching of Son and Zhang. The motivation for such an addition would be to prevent a long sequence of adjacent noisy bits from being input to the decoder at the receiver ([0031] Zhang71).
Regarding claim 12 “method” is/are rejected under the same reasoning as claim 2 “device”, where Son teaches both device and method ([0037] and fig.3 and fig.4 ).
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son and Zhang in view of Chuang (US 2019174351) hereinafter Chuang.
Regarding Claim 4, Son and Zhang teaches the device as in claim 3,
Son further teaches and the first long-range long training field (LR-LTF1) is for timing synchronization and frequency offset estimation performed by the receiver ([0089] Time Synchronization (TS), and Frequency Offset Detection (FOD) ...[0095] The LR wireless communication terminal may perform AGC, TS, and FOD using the LR-STF and the LR-LTF, and estimate the channel through which the LR-SIG and the data field are transmitted.)
Son and Zhang do not explicitly teach wherein the long-range short training field (LR-STF) is for packet format detection, and the second long-range long training field (LR-LTF2) is for long-range channel estimation performed by the receiver.
Chuang teaches wherein the long-range short training field (LR-STF) is for packet format detection, and the second long-range long training field (LR-LTF2) is for long-range channel estimation performed by the receiver ([0027] The LR-STF can be applied for packet detecting and auto gain control. Also, the LR-LTF can be applied for channel estimation).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Chuang to the teaching of Son and Zhang. The motivation for such an addition would be to provide a data unit processing method can decode the long-range data unit according to a Wi-Fi long range mode ([0006] Chuang).
Regarding claim 14 “method” is/are rejected under the same reasoning as claim 4 “device”, where Son teaches both device and method ([0037] and fig.3 and fig.4 ).
Claims 5 and 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son and Zhang in view of Zhang (US 20200195376 A1) hereinafter Zhang76.
Regarding claim 5, Son and Zhang teach the device as in claim 3,
Son and Zhang do not explicitly teach wherein the long-range signal field (LR-SIG) carries demodulation parameters and decoding parameters for the long-range data field (LR-DATA) for use by the receiver.
Zhang76 teaches wherein the long-range signal field (LR-SIG) carries demodulation parameters and decoding parameters for the long-range data field (LR-DATA) for use by the receiver ([0055] preamble 236 includes one or more signal (SIG) fields 244 that include indications of PHY parameters corresponding to the PHY data portion 240 and which the second communication device uses to demodulate and decode the PHY data portion 240).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Zhang76 to the teaching of Son and Zhang. The motivation for such an addition would be to performing packet detections, synchronization ([0055] Zhang76).
Regarding claim 15 “method” is/are rejected under the same reasoning as claim 5 “device”, where Son teaches both device and method ([0037] and fig.3 and fig.4 ).
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son and Zhang in view of Vermani (US 20190115970 A1) Hereinafter Vermani.
Regarding claim 6, Son and Zhang teach the device as in claim 3,
Son and Zhang do not explicitly teach wherein the second long-range long training field (LR-LTF2) comprises a plurality of repeated OFDM symbols for long-range channel estimation performed by the receiver.
Vermani teaches wherein the second long-range long training field (LR-LTF2) comprises a plurality of repeated OFDM symbols for long-range channel estimation performed by the receiver ([0041] The packet may include at least a long training field (LTF) section for the purposes of channel estimation, the LTF section including one or more orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Vermani to the teaching of Son and Zhang. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve throughput to one or more mobile station ([0041] Vermani).
Regarding claim 16 “method” is/are rejected under the same reasoning as claim 6 “device”, where Son teaches both device and method ([0037] and fig.3 and fig.4 ).
Claim 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son and Zhang in view of Park (US 12199640 B2) hereinafter Park
Regarding claim 7, Son and Zhang teach the device as in claim 1,
Son and Zhang do not explicitly teach a duplicate and tone mapping unit, configured to apply phase rotation to the spread modulated bits per bit.
Park teaches a duplicate and tone mapping unit, configured to apply phase rotation to the spread modulated bits per bit (col 27 row 62-64, after the constellation mapper or LDPC tone mapper, and phase rotation can be applied to improve PAPR performance and col 35 row 62-65, the second data may be obtained by duplicating the constellation mapped and LDPC tone mapped data and applying phase rotation).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Park to the teaching of Son and Zhang. The motivation for such an addition would to improve PAPR performance (col 27 row 62-64, Park).
Regarding claim 17 “method” is/are rejected under the same reasoning as claim 7 “device”, where Son teaches both device and method ([0037] and fig.3 and fig.4 ).
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son and Zhang in view of Ponnampalam (US 20130107912 A1) hereinafter Ponnampalam
Son and Zhang teach the device as in claim 1,
Son and Zhang do not explicitly teach wherein the long-range signal field (LR-SIG) is modulated using a combination of quadrature binary phase-shift keying (QBPSK) and binary phase-shift keying (BPSK) for the receiver to detect different packet formats.
Ponnampalam teaches wherein the long-range signal field (LR-SIG) is modulated using a combination of quadrature binary phase-shift keying (QBPSK) and binary phase-shift keying (BPSK) for the receiver to detect different packet formats ([0041] The VHT-SIG-A 446 comprises two OFDM symbols modulated by BPSK and QBPSK .... The VHT-SIG-A field 446 may further contain group of ID information that includes a number of VHT-LTFs and stream numbers to decode for each mobile station).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Ponnampalam to the teaching of Son and Zhang. The motivation for such an addition would be to perform demodulation to the header field VHT-SIG-A by a WLAN device according to an embodiment of the invention. The WLAN device may be an access point or a mobile station ([0053] Ponnampalam).
Regarding claim 18 “method” is/are rejected under the same reasoning as claim 8 “device”, where Son teaches both device and method ([0037] and fig.3 and fig.4 ).
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son and Zhang in view of Xue (US 20180367276 A1) hereinafter Xue
Son and Zhang teach the device as in claim 3,
Son and Zhang do not explicitly teach wherein polarity is inverted for every symbol of the first long-range long training field (LR-LTF1).
Xue teaches wherein polarity is inverted for every symbol of the first long-range long training field (LR-LTF1) ([0175-0176] first-time masking is performed on the obtained HE-LTF sequence by using the P-matrix, in step 303, second-time masking is performed by using the following … “−” indicates that polarity of a subsequence … needs to be reversed when second-time masking is performed on the sequence on which first-time masking has been performed by using the P-matrix).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Xue to the teaching of Son and Zhang. The motivation for such an addition would be to obtain a most reduced PAPR and improve orthogonality ([0128] Xue).
Regarding claim 19 “method” is/are rejected under the same reasoning as claim 9 “device”, where Son teaches both device and method ([0037] and fig. 3 and fig. 4).
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son and Zhang in view of Lee (US 20180123758 A1) hereinafter Lee.
Son and Zhang teach the device as claimed in claim 3,
Son and Zhang do not explicitly teach wherein the long-range short training field (LR-STF) or the first long-range long training field (LR-LTF1) have unequal frequency spacing within a frequency band corresponding to the long-range short training field (LR-STF) or the first long-range long training field (LR-LTF1).
Lee teaches wherein the long-range short training field (LR-STF) or the first long-range long training field (LR-LTF1) have unequal frequency spacing within a frequency band corresponding to the long-range short training field (LR-STF) or the first long-range long training field (LR-LTF1) ([0014] generate an asymmetric sequence set including a plurality of pilot sequences cyclically shifted at unequal intervals in the time domain, to map additional information represented by different bit values to the respective pilot sequences included in the asymmetric sequence set and to transmit, to a receiver, a pilot sequence selected from the asymmetric sequence set. and [0170] The most important part in a new frame format is a preamble part because design of a preamble used for synchronization).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Lee to the teaching of Son and Zhang. The motivation for such an addition would be to improvement of yield and QoE ([0170] LEE).
Regarding claim 20 “method” is/are rejected under the same reasoning as claim 10 “device”, where Son teaches both device and method ([0037] and fig. 3 and fig. 4).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to VAN T NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-6178. The examiner can normally be reached 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM (EST). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman A Abaza can be reached at (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/VAN TA NGUYEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/AYMAN A ABAZA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465