DETAILED ACTION
1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is responsive to amendments filed on 01/26/2026. Claims 2 and 11 are currently cancelled. Claims 1, 3, 10 and 12 are currently amended. Claims 1, 3-10, 12-18 are pending for examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments filed on 01/26/2026 with respect to claims 1 and 10 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 9, 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coe (US 2018/0248576 A1) in view of Nishimoto (US 2018/0069608 A1), further in view of Yang (CN 111521897 A),
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Coe teaches a passive intermodulation (PIM) source positioning method, wherein the method comprises:
Sequentially (periodically-[0014]) performing, by a network device (base station 17/32—Fig. 2/3) using a transmit antenna (antenna 13-Fig. 2/3 ) configured to transmit downlink signals to a terminal (wireless device 14)( [0036], base station 32/17 includes at least one radio 21/12{antenna 13—[0037]} for transmitting and receiving communication uplink and downlink signals; [0037], Downlink signals are transmitted via an antenna 13 for transmission to wireless devices 14 .) and using a receive antenna (antenna 13-Fig. 2/3) configured to receive uplink signals from the terminal (wireless device 14) ([0036]; [0037], Signals {i.e. uplink} from wireless devices 14 are received by the antenna 13.), a scanning process on each of a plurality of scanning spots (at least one PIM source 18—[0033]—i.e. plural) ([0038], PIM detection system 24 of base station 17/32 of Fig. 2/3 scanned over {using antenna 13—see [0039]} to detect downlink signals and PIM signals {to determine presence and location of a PIM source 18—[0036]}) by at least:
sending via the transmit antenna (antenna 13), for a first scanning spot (PIM source 18-Fig. 2), a plurality of downlink signals on which the precoding processing has been performed and with different frequencies(bands) ([0036], base station 32/17 includes at least one radio 21/12{antenna 13—[0037]} for transmitting and receiving communication uplink and downlink signals. Radio downlink signals in different radio bands interact with a PIM source 18{see also [0033]}.), and receiving, via the receive antenna (antenna 13), an uplink PIM signal for the first scanning spot (PIM source 18-Fig. 2) ( [0039], antenna 13 is also used as a wideband antenna to receive PIM signals {the PIM source 18, which generates PIM signals –see [0033]}.) (Hence in brief, the BS using antenna 13, performs a scanning process on each of PIM source 18 by: sending via the antenna 13, DL signals with different bands for a PIM source 18 and receiving via the antenna 13, an UL PIM signal for the PIM source 18.),
Coe does not teach a plurality of downlink signals on which the precoding processing has been performed; and performing, by the network device, precoding processing on at least one of the plurality of downlink signals based on at least one precoding matrix, wherein the precoding matrix is a complex conjugate matrix of at least one eigenvector obtained through singular value decomposition (SVD) of a first electric field matrix of the first scanning spot, wherein the first electric field matrix is obtained based on an antenna electromagnetic field model and a downlink configuration parameter.
However, in an analogous art, Nishimoto teaches a passive intermodulation (PIM) source positioning method, wherein the method comprises:
a plurality of downlink signals on which the precoding processing has been performed ([0059], Fig. 6, precoder unit 12 of the base station 1 calculates a precoding matrix corresponding to the desired terminal. Wherein signals transmitted from the transmission antennas are multiplied with the first matrix, which is the preceding matrix); and
performing, by the network device (base station), precoding processing on at least one of the plurality of downlink signals based on at least one precoding matrix (1st matrix) ( [0032], B(bold face)(bar) is a system precoding matrix of T×N.sub.st for all the terminals 2 in the base station 1. Note that N.sub.st is a total number of signals {i.e. DL} simultaneously transmitted to all the terminals 2 in parallel; wherein [0059], Fig. 6, precoder unit 12 of the base station 1 calculates a precoding matrix corresponding to the desired terminal. Wherein signals transmitted from the transmission antennas are multiplied with the first matrix, which is the preceding matrix.) (Hence obvious, the BS performs precoding processing on DL signals based on precoding matrix.), wherein the precoding matrix is a complex conjugate matrix ([0059], precoding matrix is B.sub.i=V.sub.i.sup.(n)V.sub.i.sup.(e); Obvious a complex conjugate.) of at least one eigenvector obtained through singular value decomposition (SVD) of a first electric([0061]) field matrix of a first scanning spot (at BS) ([0059], Fig. 6, signals transmitted from the transmission antennas are multiplied with the first matrix, which is the preceding matrix. Wherein precoder unit 12 of the base station 1 calculates a precoding matrix corresponding to the desired terminal based on the expression (7), B.sub.i=V.sub.i.sup.(n)V.sub.i.sup.(e); wherein [0058], the 12 calculates an eigenvector matrix V(bold).sub.i.sup.(e), which is a second matrix, from a desired component H(bold).sub.iV(bold).sub.i.sup.(n) that is singular value decomposition.), wherein the first electric([0061]) field matrix(1st matrix of the BS) is obtained based on an antenna electromagnetic field model and a downlink configuration parameter ([0029], downlink communication in communication system, in which MU-MIMO scheme is adopted, is modeled{wherein the base station carries out processing called precoding—[0003]}; also [0044], the BS having a configuration.) (Hence it is obvious, the 1st matrix of the BS is obtained based on MIMO/antenna model {antenna electromagnetic field model—could be—official note} and DL configuration/ parameter of the BS.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Nishimoto and apply them on the teaching of Coe to improve a transmission diversity gain compared with the BD method(Nishimoto; [0010]).
Coe- Nishimoto does not teach wherein the first scanning spot is any one of the plurality of scanning spots, and the uplink PIM signal is generated by excitation by any at least two of the plurality of downlink signals; and determining, by the network device, a PIM source from the plurality of scanning spots, wherein the determining is based on uplink PIM signals respectively corresponding to the plurality of scanning spots.
However, in an analogous art, Yang teaches a passive intermodulation (PIM) source positioning method ([0042]), wherein the method (system-[0036]) comprises:
wherein the first scanning spot is any one of the plurality of scanning spots ([0043]; [0042], each point of passive device under test. Hence 1st scanning/test spot/point is one of the pluralities.), and the uplink PIM signal is generated by excitation by any at least two of the plurality of downlink signals ([0041], two sinusoidal signals with preset frequencies are combined into an excitation signal.) ([0042], test signal generator applies a preset excitation signal to the passive device under test and transmit the passive intermodulation (PIM) interference signal to the spectrum analyzer for display, so that the PIM interference signal can be detected by the probe according to the frequency.) (Hence it is obvious the uplink PIM signal is generated by excitation by two downlink signals.); and
determining, by the network device (near-field scanning magnetic field detection probe), a PIM source from the plurality of scanning spots (each point of passive device under test) ( [0042], In test system--The near-field scanning magnetic field detection probe is moved close to the passive device under test to detect passive intermodulation(PIM) interference signal at each point of the passive device under test and transmit the PIM interference signal(S) to the spectrum analyzer for display, so that the PIM interference signal can be detected. When the PIM interference signal reaches its maximum value, the position of the corresponding probe is the PIM interference source of the passive device under test.),(Hence it is obvious, the probe determines a PIM source {when the PIM signal from a point reaches its maximum value} from the plurality of scanning/test spot/point of the passive device. ) wherein the determining is based on uplink PIM signals respectively corresponding to the plurality of scanning spots (each point of passive device under test) ([0042], In test system--The near-field scanning magnetic field detection probe is moved close to the passive device under test to detect passive intermodulation(PIM) interference signal at each point of the passive device under test and transmit the PIM interference signal(S) to the spectrum analyzer for display, so that the PIM interference signal can be detected. When the PIM interference signal reaches its maximum value, the position of the corresponding probe is the PIM interference source of the passive device under test.) (Hence determining a PIM source is based on uplink PIM signals {when the PIM signal from each point reaches its maximum value} respectively corresponding to the plurality of scanning/test spot/point of the passive device.),
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Yang and apply them on the teaching of Coe- Nishimoto to provide a passive intermodulation (PIM) interference source positioning system and positioning test method (Yang; [0001]).
Specifically for Claim 10, Coe teaches an apparatus (base station 17/32—Fig. 2/3/4), comprising: at least one processor (55-Fig. 4; [0041]), and a memory (Fig. 4; [0040]) storing instructions for execution by the at least one processor (55) ([0040]); wherein, when executed, the instructions cause the apparatus to perform operations ([0040]; [0046]) comprising:
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Coe does not teach wherein after the determining, by the network device, a PIM source from the plurality of scanning spots, the method further comprises, for a second scanning spot that is in the plurality of scanning spots and that is determined as the PIM source: recording location information of the second scanning spot into a PIM source location set; and obtaining, based on the second scanning spot, downlink interference channel information from the transmit antenna to the PIM source and/or uplink interference channel information from the PIM source to the receive antenna.
However, in an analogous art, Yang teaches wherein after the determining, by the network device, a PIM source from the plurality of scanning spots, the method further comprises:
for a second scanning spot that is in the plurality of scanning spots (each point of passive device under test) and that is determined as the PIM source ([0042], In test system--The near-field scanning magnetic field detection probe is moved close to the passive device under test to detect passive intermodulation(PIM) interference signal at each point of the passive device under test and transmit the PIM interference signal(S) to the spectrum analyzer for display, so that the PIM interference signal can be detected. When the PIM interference signal reaches its maximum value, the position of the corresponding probe is the PIM interference source of the passive device under test.):
recording location information of the second scanning spot (each point of passive device under test) into a PIM source location set ([0042]; [0040]),- and
obtaining, based on the second scanning spot(each point of passive device under test), downlink interference channel information from the transmit antenna to the PIM source(not selected) and/or uplink interference channel information from the PIM source to the receive antenna(obvious received by receive antenna) ([0042], In test system--The near-field scanning magnetic field detection probe is moved close to the passive device under test to detect passive intermodulation(PIM) interference signal at each point of the passive device under test and transmit the PIM interference signal to the spectrum analyzer for display, so that the PIM interference signal can be detected.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Yang and apply them on the teaching of Coe to provide a passive intermodulation (PIM) interference source positioning system and positioning test method (Yang; [0001]).
6. Claims 3, 5, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coe (US 2018/0248576 A1) in view of Nishimoto (US 2018/0069608 A1), in view of Yang (CN 111521897 A), further in view of Laporte (US 2023/0087335 A1).
Regarding Claims 3 and 12, Coe- Nishimoto does not teach wherein the determining, by the network device, a PIM source from the plurality of scanning spots comprises: determining, by the network device(probe), first power values respectively corresponding to the plurality of scanning spots, wherein the determining first power values comprises: determining, based on the uplink PIM signal receive power obtained in at least one scanning process on the first scanning spot, a first power value corresponding to the first scanning spot; determining, by the network device(device
However, in an analogous art, Yang teaches wherein the determining, by the network device, a PIM source from the plurality of scanning spots comprises:
determining, by the network device(probe), first power values respectively corresponding to the plurality of scanning spots (each point of passive device under test) ( [0036]; [0042], In system has probe also, the terminal load is used to absorb the power generated by the passive device under test during the test.), wherein the determining first power values comprises:
determining, based on the uplink PIM signal receive power obtained in at least one scanning process on the first scanning spot (each point of passive device under test) ([0036]; [0041], In system, forward transmission power through the passive device under test is absorbed by the terminal load, and the PIM interference signal radiated by the passive device under test is detected by a near-field scanning magnetic field detection probe{[0042]}. ), a first power value corresponding to the first scanning spot(each point of passive device under test) ( [0042], power generated by the passive device under test {has each point}during the test.); determining, by the network device(deviceeach point of passive device under test) includes the target scanning spot ( [0042], When the PIM interference signal{has power} reaches its maximum value, the position of the corresponding probe is the PIM interference source of the passive device under test.) (Hence determining a target scanning spot as a PIM source is based on uplink PIM signal receive power{when the PIM signal from each point reaches its maximum value} corresponding to the scanning/test spot/point of the passive device.); and
determining, by the network device(prob), the target scanning spot as the PIM source ([0042], When the PIM interference signal {has power} reaches its maximum value, the position of the corresponding probe is the PIM interference source of the passive device under test{has target scanning/test spot/point.}.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Yang and apply them on the teaching of Coe- Nishimoto to provide a passive intermodulation (PIM) interference source positioning system and positioning test method (Yang; [0001]).
Coe- Nishimoto -Yang does not teach determining, based on a sum of receive powers of a plurality of receive antennas in each scanning process on the first scanning spot, an uplink PIM signal receive power corresponding to the at least one precoding matrix
However, in an analogous art, Laporte teaches
determining, based on a sum of receive powers of a plurality of receive antennas in each scanning process on the first scanning spot, an uplink PIM signal receive power corresponding to the at least one precoding matrix ([0043]); and
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Laporte and apply them on the teaching of Coe- Nishimoto -Yang for reducing the non-linear interference and hence improving the quality of the received signal in the receiver, and improving the performance of the receiver (Laporte; [0005]).
Regarding Claims 5 and 14, Coe- Nishimoto does not teach wherein there are a plurality of receive antennas, and the determining, by the network device, a PIM source from the plurality of scanning spots comprises: determining, by the network device, first power values respectively corresponding to the plurality of scanning spots comprises: determining a power of the first signal; and determining, based on the power of the first signal obtained in at least one scanning process on the first scanning spot, a first power value corresponding to the first scanning spot; determining, by the network device a target scanning spot whose first power value meets a first condition, wherein the plurality of scanning spots includes the target scanning spot; determining, by the network device, the target scanning spot as the PIM source.
However, in an analogous art, Yang further teaches wherein there are a plurality of receive antennas, and the determining, by the network device, a PIM source from the plurality of scanning spots comprises:
determining, by the network device(probe), first power values respectively corresponding to the plurality of scanning spots (each point of passive device under test) ( [0036]; [0042], In system has probe also, the terminal load is used to absorb the power generated by the passive device under test during the test.) comprises:
determining a power of the first signal([0042], power generated by the passive device under test {has each point}during the test); and determining, based on the power of the first signal obtained in at least one scanning process on the first scanning spot (each point of passive device under test) ([0042], power generated by the passive device under test {has each point}during the test), a first power value corresponding to the first scanning spot(each point of passive device under test) ([0042], power generated by the passive device under test {has each point}during the test),;
determining, by the network device(probe) a target scanning spot whose first power value meets a first condition, wherein the plurality of scanning spots (each point of passive device under test) includes the target scanning spot ( [0042], When the PIM interference signal{has power} reaches its maximum value, the position of the corresponding probe is the PIM interference source of the passive device under test.) (Hence determining a target scanning spot as a PIM source when the PIM signal receive power from each point reaches its maximum value corresponding to the each scanning/test spot/point of the passive device.); and
determining, by the network device(probe), the target scanning spot as the PIM source ([0042], When the PIM interference signal {has power} reaches its maximum value, the position of the corresponding probe is the PIM interference source of the passive device under test {has target scanning/test spot/point.}.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Yang and apply them on the teaching of Coe- Nishimoto to provide a passive intermodulation (PIM) interference source positioning system and positioning test method (Yang; [0001]).
Coe- Nishimoto -Yang do not teach performing, in each scanning process on the first scanning spot based on a weight matrix of the first scanning spot, weighted summation processing on uplink PIM signals received by the plurality of receive antennas, to obtain a first signal; and
However, in an analogous art, Laporte teaches performing, in each scanning process on the first scanning spot based on a weight matrix of the first scanning spot, weighted summation processing on uplink PIM signals received by the plurality of receive antennas, to obtain a first signal ([0043]), and
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Laporte and apply them on the teaching of Coe- Nishimoto -Yang to provide for reducing the non-linear interference and hence improving the quality of the received signal in the receiver, and improving the performance of the receiver (Laporte; [0005]).
7. Claims 4, 7, 8, 13, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coe (US 2018/0248576 A1) in view of Nishimoto (US 2018/0069608 A1), in view of Yang (CN 111521897 A), in view of Laporte (US 2023/0087335 A1), further in view of Tacconi (US 12301315 B1).
Regarding Claims 4 and 13, Coe- Nishimoto -Yang- Laporte does not teach wherein the first power value is: a maximum value of the uplink PIM signal receive power corresponding to the at least one scanning process on the first scanning spot; or an average value of the uplink PIM signal receive power corresponding to the at least one scanning process on the first scanning spot.
However, in an analogous art, Tacconi teaches wherein the first power value is: a maximum value of the uplink PIM signal receive power corresponding to the at least one scanning process on the first scanning spot (Col 11, line 11-13); or
an average value of the uplink PIM signal receive power corresponding to the at least one scanning process on the first scanning spot (not selected).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Tacconi and apply them on the teaching of Coe- Nishimoto -Yang- Laporte to provide a method enables utilizing a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR)/max power of the PIM source signal to be improved, thus improving performance of a base station receiver (Tacconi ; Col 11, line 11-13).
Regarding Claims 7 and 16, Coe- Nishimoto -Yang- Laporte do not teach wherein the first power value is: a maximum power of the first signal corresponding to the at least one scanning process on the first scanning spot; or an average power of the first signal corresponding to the at least one scanning process on the first scanning spot.
However, in an analogous art, Tacconi teaches wherein the first power value is: a maximum power of the first signal corresponding to the at least one scanning process on the first scanning spot (Col 11, line 11-13); or
an average power of the first signal corresponding to the at least one scanning process on the first scanning spot (not selected).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Tacconi and apply them on the teaching of Coe- Nishimoto -Yang- Laporte to provide a method enables utilizing a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR)/max power of the PIM source signal to be improved, thus improving performance of a base station receiver (Tacconi; Col 11, line 11-13).
Regarding Claims 8 and 17, Coe- Nishimoto -Yang- Laporte does not teach wherein each scanning spot of the plurality of scanning spots corresponds to one first power value, and the first condition comprises: the first power value is a maximum value, and the first power value is greater than or equal to a set first threshold; and/or the first power value belongs to a first area in a power distribution image, wherein the power distribution image is obtained based on the first power values of the plurality of scanning spots, and the first area is an area whose power value is greater than the first threshold.
However, in an analogous art, Tacconi teaches wherein each scanning spot of the plurality of scanning spots corresponds to one first power value, and the first condition comprises:
the first power value is a maximum value, and the first power value is greater than or equal to a set first threshold (Col 11, line 11-13); and/or
the first power value belongs to a first area in a power distribution image, wherein the power distribution image is obtained based on the first power values of the plurality of scanning spots, and the first area is an area whose power value is greater than the first threshold (not selected).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Tacconi and apply them on the teaching of Coe- Nishimoto -Yang- Laporte to provide a method enables utilizing a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR)/max power of the PIM source signal to be improved, thus improving performance of a base station receiver (Tacconi; Col 11, line 11-13).
8. Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coe (US 2018/0248576 A1) in view of Nishimoto (US 2018/0069608 A1), in view of Yang (CN 111521897 A), in view of Laporte (US 2023/0087335 A1), further in view of Nomura (US 2021/0297229 A1).
Regarding Claims 6 and 15, Coe- Nishimoto -Yang- Laporte do not teach wherein a weight matrix of the first scanning spot comprises any one of: a complex conjugate matrix of a second electric field matrix of the first scanning spot, and/or a normalized matrix of the complex conjugate matrix of the second electric field matrix of the first scanning spot; a complex conjugate matrix of at least one spatial component of the second electric field matrix of the first scanning spot, and/or a normalized matrix of the complex conjugate matrix of the at least one spatial component of the second electric field matrix of the first scanning spot; and a complex conjugate matrix of at least one eigenvector obtained through singular value decomposition (SVD) by the second electric field matrix of the first scanning spot, wherein the second electric field matrix of the first scanning spot is obtained based on an antenna electromagnetic field model and an uplink configuration parameter.
However, in an analogous art, Nomura teaches wherein a weight matrix of the first scanning spot comprises any one o
a complex conjugate matrix of a second electric field matrix of the first scanning spot ([0116]), and/or a normalized matrix of the complex conjugate matrix of the second electric field matrix of the first scanning spot (not selected);
a complex conjugate matrix of at least one spatial component of the second electric field matrix of the first scanning spot (not selected), and/or a normalized matrix of the complex conjugate matrix of the at least one spatial component of the second electric field matrix of the first scanning spot (not selected); and
a complex conjugate matrix of at least one eigenvector obtained through singular value decomposition (SVD) by the second electric field matrix of the first scanning spot, wherein the second electric field matrix of the first scanning spot is obtained based on an antenna electromagnetic field model and an uplink configuration parameter r(not selected).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Nomura and apply them on the teaching of Coe- Nishimoto -Yang- Laporte to provide for improving transmission performance of the device in an efficient manner (Nomura; [0004]).
Conclusion
9. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MEHEDI S ALEY whose telephone number is (571)270-0439. The examiner can normally be reached Mon, Thus, Fri: 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jeffrey M Rutkowski can be reached at 571-270-01215. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MEHEDI S ALEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/JEFFREY M RUTKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2415