Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection. The drawing objections are maintained as the claimed subject matter has not been shown and clear text/legend/symbols has not been introduced to allow the drawings to be understood without time-consuming referrals to the specification. The specification objection is withdrawn due to the amendments.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the method steps of Claims 10-17 (Figures only show method steps of parent application) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to because (a) Figs. [1A, 1B, 3, 5] lack clear symbols, text, or a legend to demonstrate the part number meaning;
(b) [205 of Fig. 2] and [410 & 415 of Fig. 4] are unclear compared to the other part numbers, so provide clear symbols, text, or a legend to demonstrate the part number meanings
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 10-12, 14, 15, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al (USPGPN 20190288534) in view of Books et al (USPGPN 20210226267), as evidenced by Lavell et al (USPN 4052656).
Independent Claim 1, Gao discloses a multi-bay battery pack charger (Figs. 1-9, element 200, packs [300, 302, 304]) comprising:
a housing (Figs. [1, 9] show the housing);
a first energy storage device bay disposed on a first surface of the housing (202), the first energy storage device bay configured to removably receive and electrically connect to a first energy storage device (302);
a second energy storage device bay disposed on a second surface of the housing (204), the second energy storage device bay configured to removably receive and electrically connect to a second energy storage device (304);
a power input configured to receive power from an external power source (230);
charging circuitry (205, see esp. Figs. [2-8]) coupled to the power input, the first energy storage device bay, and the second energy storage device bay, the charging circuitry configured to charge the first energy storage device and the second energy storage device using power received from the power input; and
an electronic controller ([208, 210, 212, 214, 216, 218]; performing methods of Figs. [10-12]) configured to:
selectively control a first switch (206 for 302’s path) that is provided on a first current path from the charging circuitry to the first energy storage device bay to enable charging of the first energy storage device (¶[37]),
selectively control a second switch (206 for 304’s path) that is provided on a second current path from the charging circuitry to the second energy storage device bay to enable charging of the second energy storage device (¶[37]),
provide charging current to at least one of the first energy storage device bay or the second energy storage device bay based on which of the first energy storage device or the second energy storage device has a lower state of charge (Fig. [10 s14] to Fig. 11], abstract, ¶’s [19-22, 39, 63-84, esp. 63-84], voltage is a measure of SOC), and
simultaneously provide charging current to both the first energy storage device bay and the second energy storage device bay when the state of charge of the first energy storage device is approximately equal to the state of charge of the second energy storage device (Fig. [10 s16] & [11 s16] to Fig. 12, abstract, ¶’s [19-22, 39, 63, 69, 75, 79, 84-95, esp. 39, 63, 84-95], voltage is a measure of SOC).
Gao fails to explicitly teach the SOC rather than the voltage is used for the determination of the charging mode. Gao fails to explicitly teach compare a state of charge of the first energy storage device to a state of charge of the second energy storage device, and perform charging operations based on the comparison of the state of charge of the first energy storage device to the state of charge of the second energy storage device.
Books teaches the SOC rather than the voltage is used for the determination of the charging mode. Gao fails to explicitly teach compare a state of charge of the first energy storage device to a state of charge of the second energy storage device, and perform charging operations based on the comparison of the state of charge of the first energy storage device to the state of charge of the second energy storage device (abstract, at least ¶[03] describes that SOC and voltage are interchangeably used for the comparisons of Figs. [4-8, esp. 4], where the comparisons in Fig. 4 are best shown in 210 & 216). Official notice taken that SOC is easier to compare to voltage in a linear matter for a battery charge level, and as further evidenced by Lavell (Col 2 L63 to Col 3 L5) it is more reliable to prevent overcharging and other safety issues.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao with Park to provide improved ease, reliability, and safety.
Independent Claim 10, Gao teaches a method (Figs. 10-12) of charging multiple battery packs (302, 304) using a multi-bay battery pack charger (Figs. 1-9, element 200), the multi-bay battery pack charger including
a housing (Figs. [1, 9] show the housing);
a first energy storage device bay disposed on a first surface of the housing (202),
a second energy storage device bay disposed on a second surface of the housing (204),
a power input (230) configured to provide power from an external power source to charging circuitry (205),
the method controlling with an electronic controller ([208, 210, 212, 214, 216, 218]; performing methods of Figs. [10-12]) comprising:
selectively controlling a first switch (206 for 302’s path) that is provided on a first current path from the charging circuitry to the first energy storage device bay to enable charging of a first energy storage device (¶[37]);
selectively controlling a second switch (206 for 304’s path) that is provided on a second current path from the charging circuitry to the second energy storage device bay to enable charging of a second energy storage device (¶[37]);
providing charging current to one of the first energy storage device bay or the second energy storage device bay based on which of the first energy storage device or the second energy storage device has a lower state of charge (Fig. [10 s14] to Fig. 11], abstract, ¶’s [19-22, 39, 63-84, esp. 63-84]); and
simultaneously providing charging current to both the first energy storage device bay and the second energy storage device bay when the state of charge of the first energy storage device is approximately equal to the state of charge of the second energy storage device (Fig. [10 s16] & [11 s16] to Fig. 12, abstract, ¶’s [19-22, 39, 63, 69, 75, 79, 84-95, esp. 39, 63, 84-95]).
Gao fails to explicitly teach the SOC rather than the voltage is used for the determination of the charging mode. Gao fails to explicitly teach compare a state of charge of the first energy storage device to a state of charge of the second energy storage device, and perform charging operations based on the comparison of the state of charge of the first energy storage device to the state of charge of the second energy storage device.
Books teaches the SOC rather than the voltage is used for the determination of the charging mode. Gao fails to explicitly teach compare a state of charge of the first energy storage device to a state of charge of the second energy storage device, and perform charging operations based on the comparison of the state of charge of the first energy storage device to the state of charge of the second energy storage device (abstract, at least ¶[03] describes that SOC and voltage are interchangeably used for the comparisons of Figs. [4-8, esp. 4], where the comparisons in Fig. 4 are best shown in 210 & 216). Official notice taken that SOC is easier to compare to voltage in a linear matter for a battery charge level, and as further evidenced by Lavell (Col 2 L63 to Col 3 L5) it is more reliable to prevent overcharging and other safety issues.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao with Park to provide improved ease, reliability, and safety.
Independent Claim 18, Gao teaches a multi-bay battery pack charger (Figs. 1-9, element 200, packs [300, 302, 304]) comprising:
a housing (Figs. [1, 9] show the housing);
a first energy storage device bay disposed on a first surface of the housing (202), the first energy storage device bay configured to removably receive and electrically connect to a first energy storage device (302);
a second energy storage device bay disposed on a second surface of the housing (204), the second energy storage device bay configured to removably receive and electrically connect to a second energy storage device (304);
a power input configured to receive power from an external power source (230);
charging circuitry (205, see esp. Figs. [2-8]) coupled to the power input, the first energy storage device bay, and the second energy storage device bay, the charging circuitry configured to charge the first energy storage device and the second energy storage device using power received from the power input; and
an electronic controller configured to:
provide charging current to at least one of the first energy storage device bay or the second energy storage device bay based on which of the first energy storage device or the second energy storage device has a lower state of charge (Fig. [10 s14] to Fig. 11], abstract, ¶’s [19-22, 39, 63-84, esp. 63-84]), and
simultaneously provide charging current to both the first energy storage device bay and the second energy storage device bay when the state of charge of the first energy storage device is approximately equal to the state of charge of the second energy storage device (Fig. [10 s16] & [11 s16] to Fig. 12, abstract, ¶’s [19-22, 39, 63, 69, 75, 79, 84-95, esp. 39, 63, 84-95]).
Gao fails to explicitly teach the SOC rather than the voltage is used for the determination of the charging mode. Gao fails to explicitly teach compare a state of charge of the first energy storage device to a state of charge of the second energy storage device, and perform charging operations based on the comparison of the state of charge of the first energy storage device to the state of charge of the second energy storage device.
Books teaches the SOC rather than the voltage is used for the determination of the charging mode. Gao fails to explicitly teach compare a state of charge of the first energy storage device to a state of charge of the second energy storage device, and perform charging operations based on the comparison of the state of charge of the first energy storage device to the state of charge of the second energy storage device (abstract, at least ¶[03] describes that SOC and voltage are interchangeably used for the comparisons of Figs. [4-8, esp. 4], where the comparisons in Fig. 4 are best shown in 210 & 216). Official notice taken that SOC is easier to compare to voltage in a linear matter for a battery charge level, and as further evidenced by Lavell (Col 2 L63 to Col 3 L5) it is more reliable to prevent overcharging and other safety issues.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao with Park to provide improved ease, reliability, and safety.
Dependent Claims 3, 11, and 20, the combination of Gao and Books teaches the electronic controller is further configured to determine which of the first energy storage device and the second energy storage device has a lower state of charge (Gao Figs. [10, 11], Books at least Fig. 4 in view of {abstract, ¶[03]}).
Dependent Claims 4 and 12, the combination of Gao and Books teaches a first diode electrically connected between the first switch and the first energy storage device bay; and a second diode electrically connected between the second switch and the second energy storage device bay (Fig. 7 of Gao, 220 & 222, ¶[43]).
Dependent Claims 6 and 14, the combination of Gao and Books teaches the electronic controller is further configured to:
provide charging current to the other of the first energy storage device bay and the second energy storage device bay after a voltage of the first energy storage device or the second energy storage device that had the lower state of charge increases (as cited above for both, by charging together, the current is provided, and increasing from zero causes them to charge together, when in the first mode only one battery is charged).
Dependent Claims 7 and 15, the combination of Gao and Books teaches the electronic controller is further configured to:
increase charging current to the other of the first energy storage device bay and the second energy storage device bay after a voltage of the first energy storage device or the second energy storage device that had the lower state of charge increases (as cited above for both, by charging together, the current is provided, and increasing from zero causes them to charge together, when in the first mode only one battery is charged).
Claims 2, 8, 9, 16, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al (USPGPN 20190288534) in view of Books et al (USPGPN 20210226267), further in view of Shirazi (USPGPN 20230116349; noted that cited sections were included with the provisional application filed 9/13/19), as evidenced by Lavell et al (USPN 4052656)
Dependent Claims 2 & 19, Gao is silent to the first surface is opposite the second surface
Shirazi teaches the first surface is opposite the second surface (Fig. 1C, surface for battery interface/receptacle 170 is opposite to surface for battery interface/receptacle 175, see esp. ¶’s [63, 64]). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that by having the receptacle on both the top and bottom surfaces, it increases the available space to provide charging, so the surface area of the charger does not need to be increased. Compare Fig. 1C with Fig. 1A, where double the surface area is required to accommodate the two batteries on one side. Therefore, the space efficiency is optimized.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao in view of Books with Shirazi to provide optimized space efficiency.
Dependent Claims 8 and 16, Gao is silent to the charging circuitry includes a DC-DC converter that steps down a voltage received from the external power source (converter circuitry 205 is taught, but not explicitly DC-DC).
Books teaches the charging circuitry includes a converter (¶[07]).
Shirazi teaches the charging circuitry includes a DC-DC converter that steps down a voltage (¶’s [78, 81], Figs. [1A-2, 5, 6]) received from the external power source (120, 180, 200;
¶’s [49-52, 55, 56] describes the converter of Figs. 1A-2 as the converter of Figs. 5 & 6).
One of ordinary skill in the art understands that a DC-DC converter can improve the flexibility so as to allow different circuits of different voltage/current ratings to work together, such as 110-120/220-240VAC to work with a battery of 12V or higher.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao in view of Books with Shirazi to provide improved flexibility.
Dependent Claims 9 and 17, Gao is silent the charging circuitry includes a DC-DC converter that steps up a voltage received from the external power source (converter circuitry 205 is taught, but not explicitly DC-DC).
Books teaches the charging circuitry includes a converter (¶[07]).
Shirazi teaches the charging circuitry includes a DC-DC converter that steps up a voltage (¶’s [78, 81], Figs. [1A-2, 5, 6]) received from the external power source (120, 180, 200;
¶’s [49-52, 55, 56] describes the converter of Figs. 1A-2 as the converter of Figs. 5 & 6).
One of ordinary skill in the art understands that a DC-DC converter can improve the flexibility so as to allow different circuits of different voltage/current ratings to work together, such as 110-120/220-240VAC to work with a battery of 12V or higher.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao in view of Books with Shirazi to provide improved flexibility.
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al (USPGPN 20190288534) in view of Books et al (USPGPN 20210226267), further in view of White et al (USPGPN 20160149421), as evidenced by Lavell et al (USPN 4052656) and Koshki et al (USPGPN 20070176493)
Dependent Claims 5 and 13, Gao fails to explicitly teach the first diode and the second diode are ideal diodes
White teaches the first diode and the second diode are ideal diodes (Fig. 1, ¶’s [21-23, esp. 23] referring to 132-138 & 132-148 for parallel battery groups).
Koski provides evidence that ideal diode provide longer system run time, lower heat dissipation, and improved reliability (¶[31]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao in view of Books with White to provide improved system run time length, heat dissipation, and reliability.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHN T TRISCHLER whose telephone number is (571)270-0651. The examiner can normally be reached 9:30A-3:30P (often working later), M-F, ET, Flexible. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be reached at 5712722312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOHN T TRISCHLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859