Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s “Response to Amendment and Reconsideration” filed on 12/22/2025 has been considered.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application and an action on the merits follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonner et.al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0050813), in view of Fisher et. al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0079388) and further in view of Canter et.al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,292,993).
Regarding claims 1, 10 and 16, Bonner patent teaches a plurality of racks, wherein each rack stores a plurality of items; a plurality of display devices, wherein each display device is associated with a corresponding rack of the plurality of racks and is positioned in front of the corresponding rack; (see at least Fig. 2-3, [71]),
and a master controller communicatively coupled to the plurality of racks and the plurality of display devices, wherein the master controller comprises: a network interface; (retailer management server, [27], communication circuitry, [29], the enterprise server 155 may store enterprise data and interact with a number of store computing systems or servers associated with a plurality of stores, [42], shelf tags that are affixed, attached, connected, or mounted to an edge of a shelf, [46])
a memory that stores:
a planogram that comprises a plan for product placement of a plurality of types of the packs in the plurality of racks, (shelf tags include barcode encoded identifier, [4]),
wherein the information comprises a rack number of the rack, a UPC associated with a type of the packs expected to be stored in the rack, wherein the type of the packs expected to be stored in the rack is based on the information collected while the rack was loaded with the packs; and for each rack, a code associated with the information relating to the rack, wherein the display device associated with each rack displays the code associated with the information relating to the rack; (Planograms may be changed and/or updated periodically and stored in the planogram library 122, as needed. Planograms include information for placement of products in the store, such as a particular aisle, side of aisle, shelf number, and position on the shelf, [38], FIG. 3, for example, shows a number of products arranged on a shelf 300 along with shelf tags that are affixed, attached, connected, or mounted to an edge of a shelf, e.g., at a location near a corresponding product, [46].
and a processor communicatively coupled to the network interface and the memory, (the network 150 includes a store computing network for communicatively coupling the retailer management server 102 to the portable terminal 140, [43],
wherein the processor is configured to: receive using the network interface a first indication that a scanner has scanned a first code associated with a first rack of the plurality of racks while the scanner is in a product checking mode (scan shelf tag, [38]; in response to receiving the first indication, obtain from the memory: a first rack number of the first rack; and a first UPC associated with the type of the packs expected to be stored in the first rack, wherein the first UPC associated with the first rack matches with the product placement specified for the first rack by the planogram; receive using the network interface from the scanner a second UPC scanned by the scanner, wherein the second UPC is associated with a pack actually stored in the first rack; compare the first UPC associated with the type of the packs expected to be stored in the first rack with the second UPC associated with a pack actually stored in the first rack; determine based on the comparison that the second UPC does not match with the first UPC thereby indicating that a wrong type of pack is actually stored in the first rack; and transmit to the scanner an alert message indicating incorrect product placement in the first rack, (when a price associated with a scanned, display tag (e.g., a printed paper tag attached or affixed to a shelf, a bib tag, etc.) for a product does not match a stored price for that product (e.g., the point of sale (POS) price associated with the product's code (e.g., UPC code) on the package (the price when scanned, e.g., by a checkout scanner)..the hand-held issues an alarm, thereby signaling to or alarming the user of an inconsistency or error….planogram information correlating to the scanned code, i.e., in addition to and beyond just price, may be relayed to the user (e.g., via a display on the hand-held). As such, as the user scans, the hand-held also determines, in real-time, if a location of the shelf price tag being scanned for a particular product (or the location of the product itself) matches the planogram stored in the system.), [25-26, 47, 53-54, 57], if the processor 152 of the hand-held 140 determines an inconsistency or error based on the comparison of the two locations at 208, i.e., the answer is NO, an alert is triggered and issued, [61-63, 66])
(location data of the product and/or hand-held portable terminal and stored planogram data may also be compared, an alert may be issued as a result of an inconsistency or error based upon the comparison, [5], Second, additional information, such as planogram information correlating to the scanned code, i.e., in addition to and beyond just price, may be relayed to the user (e.g., via a display on the hand-held). As such, as the user scans, the hand-held also determines, in real-time, if a location of the shelf price tag being scanned for a particular product (or the location of the product itself) matches the planogram stored in the system, [25], he retailer management server 102 contains a list of active codes (e.g., universal product codes (UPCs)) for products sold by a retailer and/or available in a store, [28], if a user scans a UPC, a button may be pressed to access the data storage 110 and further display information about the product, including, its manufacturer, brand, description, and/or planogram information. In an embodiment, the display 130 is configured to display all information regarding a product after scanning a UPC and/or tag barcode, [49], the tag may include a printed numeric price (e.g., $0.99) and a code (bar code, UPC, etc.) thereon. The tag may be “associated” with a product by way of placement on a display shelf, for example, relative to the location of the product placement on the shelf, [63], the inconsistencies that may cause the system 100 to issue an alert from the terminal 140 include—but are not limited to—GTIN scanned twice, tag scanned twice, GTIN doesn't exist, GTIN doesn't match, promotion has expired, scanning retail doesn't match tag retail, scanning loyalty retail doesn't match tag loyalty retail, scanning and tag retail match but promotion is expired, planogram compliance (or non-compliance), [63], FIG. 9 is a schematic drawing of portable terminal 140 displaying a notification message 137, e.g., “Product UPC and Tag UPC do NOT match” to show the end user the identified type of inconsistency or error, [66]). Bonner expressly teaches scanning both a shelf tag and the product GTIN/UPC and that the management server contains a list of active UPC’s and planogram information. The disclosed server/handheld compares scanned tag information and stored product data and issues an alarm when the compared data is inconsistent. While Bonner teaches price comparison the specification is not limited to price and compared location data and uses UPCs as primary keys into the stored product database. Thus, substituting a UPC for the price comparison shown in examples is a predictable application. A person of ordinary skilled would have been motivated to and would have found it obvious to use the same architecture to verify that UPC at a given rack matches the expected UPC in the planogram and to alert on mismatch (KSR).
Bonner substantially discloses the claimed invention, however does not explicitly disclose packs of cigarettes as items. However, Fisher teaches the technology disclosed can also include logic to generate an alert signal when certain inventory items such as tobacco, cigarettes, alcohol etc. are detected in an inventory event as a result of a change, [138]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to substitute Bonner’s generic products with cigarette packs of Fisher because cigarettes are a known type of retail product that are stored, scanned and tracked using the same inventory systems and such substitute would have yielded predictable results.
Bonner substantially discloses the claimed invention, however does not explicitly disclose planogram comprises UPC stored in planogram associated with the first rack number.. a type of the packs to be stored in the rack such that, for each rack number, the UPC specifies the type of packs to be stored in that rack; during a product loading mode, map the first rack number to a scanned UPC for loading into the first rack and update the information relating to the rack accordingly;
However, Canter teaches storing UPC information for a location identifier in a planogram, (product codes are UPC..scan tray barcode (rack number) and then sequentially the product UPCs..for products loaded within the corresponding tray…inserting into planogram value within products..entries for a selection on the planogram stored within the memory, Col.3 ln 15-20, Col.7 ln 25-67, Claim 11, the route driver stocks the first tray with product..scans barcode affixed to first tray (loading, mapping, updating), Col.7 ln 1-23)). Canter’s planogram defines which products are assigned to each location. See also Claim 11, inserting into a planogram for the vending machine stored within a memory in the vending machine values within product and price entries for a selection in the planogram stored within the memory.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the method of Bonner, to include the above limitations, as taught by Canter, in order to establish proper pricing for different products within different selections. (Canter, Col.1. ln 25-60).
Regarding claims 2, 11, 17, Bonner does not explicitly teach, however, Fisher teaches the memory further stores a confidence indicator relating to the plurality of racks, wherein the confidence indicator indicates a degree of conformance to the planogram, wherein the confidence indicator comprises a numerical value, (The planogram matcher 1065 includes logic to perform planogram compliance, [236], A confidence number indicates the degree of confidence of the CNN in detecting that joint. If the value of confidence number is high, it means the CNN is confident in its detection. An integer-Id is assigned to the joints data structure to uniquely identify it, [124]… updates the locations of existing tracked subjects matched to located subjects by updating their respective joint locations, [126]).
Regarding claims 3, 12, 18, Bonner teaches the processor is further configured to: determine that the UPCs associated with packs expected to be stored in a set of racks does not match with respective UPCs associated with packs actually stored in the set of racks; and in response, however does not explicitly teach update the value of the confidence indicator, wherein the processor is configured to assign a lower numerical value to the confidence indicator for a higher number of racks with incorrect product placements. Fisher teaches the planogram matcher 1065 includes logic to perform planogram compliance, [236], A confidence number indicates the degree of confidence of the CNN in detecting that joint. If the value of confidence number is high, it means the CNN is confident in its detection. An integer-Id is assigned to the joints data structure to uniquely identify it, [124]… updates the locations of existing tracked subjects matched to located subjects by updating their respective joint locations, [126].
Regarding claims 4, 13, 19, Bonner does not explicitly teach, however, Fisher teaches the processor is further configured to: in response to determining that the second UPC does not match with the first UPC, update the confidence indicator by lowering the numerical value of the confidence indicator by a pre-configured amount, (if the value corresponding to the left-ankle joint is highest in the confidence array for that image element, then the value of the joint number is “1”, [123]).
Regarding claims 5, 14, 20, Bonner teaches receive using the network interface a second indication that the scanner has scanned a second code associated with a second rack; in response to receiving the second indication, obtain from the memory: a second rack number of the second rack; and a third UPC associated with the type of packs expected to be stored in the second rack, wherein the third UPC associated with the second rack matches with the product placement specified for the second rack by the planogram; receive from the scanner a fourth UPC scanned by the scanner associated with a pack actually stored in the second rack; compare the third UPC with the fourth UPC; determine based on the comparison that the fourth UPC matches with the third UPC; and transmit to the scanner a message indicating correct product placement in the second rack, ([25-26, 47, 53-54, 57, 61-66]). Bonner does not explicitly teach; however, Fisher teaches cigarettes.
Regarding claims 6, 15, Bonner does not explicitly teach, however, Fisher teaches in response to determining that the fourth UPC matches with the third UPC, update the confidence indicator by raising the numerical value of the confidence indicator by a pre-configured amount, [124].
Regarding claims 7, Bonner teaches receive a second indication that the scanner has scanned a second code associated with a second rack when the scanner is in a product loading mode; in response to receiving the second indication, obtain from the memory: a second rack number of the second rack; and a third UPC associated with a type of the packs to be stored in the second rack based on the planogram, receive from the scanner a fourth UPC of a second pack of cigarettes scanned by the scanner for loading into the second rack; compare the third UPC with the fourth UPC; determine based on the comparison that the fourth UPC does not match with the third UPC; and transmit to the scanner an alert message indicating that a wrong product has been selected for loading into the second rack, ([25-26, 47, 53-54, 57, 61-66]). Bonner does not explicitly teach; however, Fisher teaches cigarettes.
Regarding claims 8, Bonner teaches, the code comprises a quick response (QR) code, [26].
Regarding claims 9, Bonner teaches the scanner comprises a handheld scanner, [27].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on Canter reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/MILENA RACIC/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3627
/FLORIAN M ZEENDER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3627