DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Svendsen (6,978,783) in view of Ferreira et al. (10,271,716).
Regarding claim 1, Svendsen discloses a closed suction catheter apparatus for extracting secretions from a patient's airway (abstract), the closed suction catheter apparatus comprising:
a suction collection tube (i.e. 5); a catheter (40) attached to the suction collection tube (i.e. via valve 200); and a control valve (210) disposed between the catheter (40) and the suction collection tube (5).
Svendsen discloses advancing the catheter (40) to extract secretions from a predetermined depth (respiratory tracts depth) and controlling the suction with a control valve (200, 210) (col. 3 lines 38-60, col. 4 lines 15-35) but does not specifically disclose the valve set to an open position as the catheter is being inserted into the patient's airway while suction is active so that the catheter extracts the secretions as the catheter travels into the patient's airway to the predetermined depth; the suction apparatus configured to maintain a controlled flow rate while suction is active. However, Ferreira discloses the control valve (40, 44) actuable to an open position (col. 4 lines 45-50), the suction apparatus configured to maintain a controlled flow rate while suction is active (col. 5 lines 30-40, col. 6 lines 40-60 disclose controlling fluid flow from the suction apparatus while active) and including all the structural features required to perform the function (col. 5 lines 45-50 disclose the valve can be locked in the open position, thereby freeing up a user’s hand) such that the catheter of Svendsen is able to be inserted into the patient's airway while suction is active able to extract the secretions as the catheter travels into the patient's airway to the predetermined depth (col. 5 lines 45-50 disclose the valve can include lock in the open position, thereby allowing suction to be maintained even as a user advances and withdraws a catheter). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the suction source and value of Svendsen to include a lock with controllable flow as taught by Ferreira to provide the advantage of enhanced prevention of unintended application or withdrawal of suctioning.
Regarding claim 6, Svendsen discloses a clear pathway for air flow is provided from the atmosphere to reach a tip of the catheter (40) instead of the air flow being extracted from lungs of the patient (col. 4 lines 17-35 discloses turnable valve 130 selectively allowing flow from passages 142 and 112 which are able to communicate with atmosphere at least when disconnected).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Svendsen in view of Ferreira et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hanson (5,919,174).
Svendsen substantially teaches the claimed invention except for the control valve is a
stop-cock type valve. However, Hanson teaches a stop cock valve (col. 5 lines 60-65). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the suction valve of Svendsen to be a stop cock valve as taught by Hanson to provide the advantage of enhanced on/off positioning determinations since the stop cock would have discreet positionings.
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Svendsen in view of Ferreira et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cheung (5,269,768).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Svendsen substantially teaches the claimed invention except for the control valve is a ball valve or slide valve. However, Cheung teaches in figs. 1-5, the valve includes a ball (61) and slide (58) (col. 4 lines 25-65). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the suction valve of Svendsen to be a ball and/or slide valve as taught by Cheung to provide the advantage of enhanced ease in one handed operation as disclosed by Cheung in col. 4 lines 45-48.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Svendsen in view of Ferreira et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Elia et al. (2013/0014761).
Regarding claim 5, Svendsen substantially teaches the claimed invention except for the suction collection tube is connected to a peristaltic suction pump. However, Elia teaches the suction collection tube (602) is connected to a peristaltic suction pump ([0064] lines 1-20, [0070] lines 1-20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the suction source of Svendsen to be a peristaltic pump as taught by Elia to provide the advantage of enhanced suction control responsive to sensors as taught by Elia in [0070] to meet a user’s changing need.
Claim(s) 7 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raitto (3,911,919) in view of Ferreira et al. (10,271,716).
Regarding claim 7, Raitto discloses an open suction catheter apparatus for extracting secretions from a patient's airway (abstract), the open suction catheter apparatus comprising:
a suction collection tube (16); a catheter (14) attached to the suction collection tube (i.e. via body 10); and a control valve (10, 28) disposed between the catheter (14) and the suction collection tube (16).
Raitto discloses advancing the catheter to extract secretions from a predetermined depth (respiratory tracts depth) and controlling the suction with a control valve (col. 3 lines 55-67) but does not specifically disclose the valve set to an open position as the catheter is being inserted into the patient's airway while suction is active so that the catheter extracts the secretions as the catheter travels into the patient's airway to the predetermined depth the suction apparatus configured to maintain a controlled flow rate while suction is active. However, Ferreira discloses the control valve (40, 44) actuable to an open position (col. 4 lines 45-50), the suction apparatus configured to maintain a controlled flow rate while suction is active (col. 5 lines 30-40, col. 6 lines 40-60 disclose controlling fluid flow from the suction apparatus while active) and including all the structural features required to perform the function (col. 5 lines 45-50 disclose the valve can be locked in the open position, thereby freeing up a user’s hand) such that the catheter of Raitto is able to be inserted into the patient's airway while suction is active able to extract the secretions as the catheter travels into the patient's airway to the predetermined depth (col. 5 lines 45-50 disclose the valve can include lock in the open position, thereby allowing suction to be maintained even as a user advances and withdraws a catheter). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the suction source and valve of Raitto to include a lock with controllable flow as taught by Ferreira to provide the advantage of enhanced prevention of unintended application or withdrawal of suctioning.
Regarding claim 12, Raitto discloses a clear pathway (i.e. via opening 20) for air flow is provided from the atmosphere to reach a tip of the catheter instead of the air flow being extracted from lungs of the patient (col. 3 lines 50-65).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raitto in view of Ferreira et al., as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Hanson (5,919,174).
Raitto substantially teaches the claimed invention except for the control valve is a
stop-cock type valve. However, Hanson teaches a stop cock valve (col. 5 lines 60-65). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the suction valve of Raitto to be a stop cock valve as taught by Hanson to provide the advantage of enhanced on/off positioning determinations since the stop cock would have discreet positionings.
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raitto in view of Ferreira et al., as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Cheung (5,269,768).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Raitto substantially teaches the claimed invention except for the control valve is a ball valve or slide valve. However, Cheung teaches in figs. 1-5, the valve includes a ball (61) and slide (58) (col. 4 lines 25-65). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the suction valve of Raitto to be a ball and/or slide valve as taught by Cheung to provide the advantage of enhanced ease in one handed operation as disclosed by Cheung in col. 4 lines 45-48.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raitto in view of Ferreira et al., as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Elia et al. (2013/0014761).
Regarding claim 11, Raitto substantially teaches the claimed invention except for the suction collection tube is connected to a peristaltic suction pump. However, Elia teaches the suction collection tube (602) is connected to a peristaltic suction pump ([0064] lines 1-20, [0070] lines 1-20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the suction source of Raitto to be a peristaltic pump as taught by Elia to provide the advantage of enhanced suction control responsive to sensors as taught by Elia in [0070] to meet a user’s changing need.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13, 15-18, and 20 are allowed.
Claims 14 and 19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 8 3rd paragraph through page 10 last paragraph that the references fail to disclose a suction apparatus maintaining suction as newly claimed. Examiner respectfully disagrees., Ferreira discloses the suction apparatus configured to maintain a controlled flow rate while suction is active (col. 5 lines 30-40, col. 6 lines 40-60 disclose controlling fluid flow from the suction apparatus while active). Thus, the combination of references including Ferreira teach this limitation as claimed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LaToya M Louis/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785