DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1. Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 41 recites “the plurality of ribs”. The claim limitation is indefinite as it is unclear what plurality of ribs Applicant is intending to refer to as Claim 37 recites “a plurality of first ribs” and “a plurality of second ribs”. Claim 41 is rejected as best understood by examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claim(s) 37 and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Erickson (US 6,708,426).
Regarding Claim 37, Erickson discloses an article of footwear comprising: an upper (12) having a bottom surface; and a first plate (14,16,20), including a first surface (i.e. top surface of 14) and a second surface (i.e. bottom surface of 20), attached to the bottom surface of the upper by the first surface in a forefoot region (as seen in Fig.1 & 2), the first plate further including: a first serrated region including a plurality of first ribs extending from a bottom surface of the first plate (See annotated Figure below), wherein each of the first ribs includes a central portion (i.e. center region of rib), a first end (i.e. left end), and a second end (i.e. right end) opposite the first end, a height of each of the first ribs tapering from a tallest height at the central portion to shorter heights at the first end of the first ribs and at the second end of the first ribs (as seen in Fig.2, 3 & 6), and wherein a width (i.e. length of each rib; see para.64 of Applicant’s disclosure which indicates the rib width is the length of the rib) of respective ribs of the plurality of first ribs continuously increases from the first end of the first serrated region to the second end of the first serrated region (as seen in the annotated Figure below); a plurality of second ribs extending from the bottom surface of the first plate (as seen in the annotated Figure below), wherein at least one first rib of the plurality of first ribs includes a first concave surface and at least one second rib of the plurality of second ribs includes a second concave surface, the first concave surface faces one end of the first plate and the second concave surface faces another end of the first plate (as seen in the annotated Figure below), wherein, the plurality of first ribs is positioned on a lateral side of the first plate next to a lateral peripheral cleat (lateral 61 below 50), and the plurality of second ribs is positioned on a medial side of the first plate next to a medial peripheral cleat (medial 61 below 50)(as seen in the annotated Figure below, which shows the first ribs has a portion located on a lateral side and “next” to the lateral peripheral cleat & which shows the second ribs has a portion located on a medial side and “next” to the medial peripheral cleat), and wherein the lateral peripheral cleat and the medial peripheral cleat are aligned with one another on respective opposing sides and on widest portions of the article of footwear relative to an axis extending at an oblique angle respective to a longitudinal axis of the article of footwear(as seen in the annotated Figure below).
Regarding Claim 41, Erickson discloses an article of footwear of claim 37, wherein the [second] plurality of ribs are disposed solely within a ball portion of the article of footwear and wherein the plurality of second ribs extend continuously from a toe portion of the article of footwear to the ball portion of the article of footwear (see annotated Figure below; the second plurality of ribs extend continuously from the edge of the toe portion into the ball portion).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 38-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erickson (US 6,708,426) in view of Minami (US 2013/0067778).
Regarding Claim 38, Erickson discloses an article of footwear of Claim 37, further including: a first peripheral cleat (lateral 61) extending from the first plate and a second peripheral cleat (medial 61) extending from the first plate. Erickson does not disclose each of the first peripheral cleat and the second peripheral cleat further including: a stud, the stud including a first end attached to the second surface of the first plate and including a second end disposed apart from the first end and facing away from the bottom surface, forming a portion of an outer peripheral surface of the article of footwear, wherein a width of the stud tapers from a largest width at the first end to a smallest width at the second end; a first blade extending along a first longitudinal direction from an anterior end of the stud; and a second blade extending along a second longitudinal direction from a posterior end of the stud. However, Minami teaches a sole having a peripheral cleat (530) having a stud (532), the stud including a first end attached to the second surface of the first plate and including a second end disposed apart from the first end and facing away from the bottom surface (as seen in Fig.1 & 6), forming (via connection) a portion of an outer peripheral surface (i.e. periphery of plate) of the article of footwear (as seen in Fig.1), wherein a width of the stud tapers from a largest width at the first end to a smallest width at the second end (as seen in Fig.1); a first blade (536) extending along a first longitudinal direction from an anterior end of the stud; and a second blade (534) extending along a second longitudinal direction from a posterior end of the stud (as seen in Fig.6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the peripheral cleats of Erickson to have a stud and first and second blades extending along longitudinal directions from ends of the stud, as taught by Minami, in order to provide a removable peripheral cleat with a shape that delivers the desired level of traction for activity being performed by the user when wearing the shoes.
Regarding Claim 39, When in combination, Erickson and Minami teach an article of footwear of Claim 38, wherein a portion of the stud (Minami: i.e. convex surface of 532) forms (via connection) a portion of an outer peripheral surface (i.e. periphery of plate) of the article of footwear such that a gap is formed between the first blade and the second blade, and the outer peripheral surface of the article of footwear (Erickson: Fig.4 & Minami: Fig.6).
Regarding Claim 40, When in combination, Erickson and Minami teach an article of footwear of Claim 38, wherein each of the stud, the first blade, and the second blade includes an outer surface forming a continuous convex surface (Minami: Fig.6), and wherein a first gap is disposed between the first blade and the outer peripheral surface (i.e. periphery of the sole), and a second gap is disposed between the second blade and the outer peripheral surface (i.e. periphery of the sole)(Erickson: Fig.4 & Minami: Fig.6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-27,29-35 and 42 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicant's amendment, the search has been updated, and newly modified grounds of rejection have been identified and applied. Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the newly modified ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MEGAN E LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732