DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1-13, 15, and 21-26 were pending for examination in the amendments filed for Application No. 18/171,046 filed August 20th, 2025. In the remarks and amendments received on December 1st, 2025, claims 1, 7, 9, and 21 are amended, claims 6 and 25 are cancelled, and no claims are added. Accordingly, claims 1-5, 7-13, 15, 21-24, and 26 are pending for examination in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 1st, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s assertions that Zhang NPL in view of Lee does not teach “generating an adaptive convolution filter based on the style vector, wherein the adaptive convolution filter comprises a convolution matrix with parameters determined based on the style vector”. The applicant asserts (pgs. 9-11 of Applicant’s Remarks) that Lee does not teach this limitation because of applicant’s specific techniques of using the adaptive convolution filter, and that Lee’s filter is not adaptive in the same way as applicant’s, or is not adaptive at all. The examiner asserts that Lee does teach the above claimed limitations, in Paragraph 0007: “a method for generating an adaptive convolution filter for text classification performed by a server according to the first aspect of the present disclosure includes the steps of: generating text data by performing a preprocessing process on raw data collected through a network; generating a context vector through a filter generation model using the text data as input; and generating a convolution filter through the filter generation model based on the context vector”. In other words, Lee’s “context vector” provides context or parameters to generate a “convolution filter”, and this convolution filter is based on the “context vector”. This means a unique context vector will create an equally unique convolution filter with parameters based on the context vector, making it adaptive to the context vector. Therefore, Zhang NPL in view of Lee teaches the limitation.
Applicant’s remarks on pgs. 12-14 of Applicant’s Remarks have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination of references, that is, Zhang NPL in view of Lee and newly cited reference Suresha. Suresha teaches performing convolutions on image feature maps generated from low-resolution images in order to create high-resolution images, see later citations for more context.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s assertions (pgs. 14-16 of Applicant’s Remarks) that 1) Zhang NPL in view of Lee does not teach “generating a style vector representing the target style based on the text description”, and 2) that the examiner points to Zhang NPL’s “embedding φt” to teach “a text embedding”. The examiner asserts that this interpretation is incorrect and that applicant’s “a text embedding” corresponds to Zhang NPL’s “Text description t” instead.
Further, examiner interprets “a target style” to mean, roughly, a computer-readable version of the text description (that is human-readable). A style vector contains the context needed (a “target style”) for a computer to generate an adaptive convolution filter based on the style vector. Due to Zhang NPL’s “embedding φt” which is based on Zhang NPL’s “text embedding t”, Zhang NPL teaches the claimed limitation.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s assertions (pgs. 16-18) that there is no motivation to combine Lee and Zhang NPL to perform at least the last two generating steps recited in claim 1. The examiner disagrees, because although Lee is indeed in the field of natural language processing (NLP), Lee is still relevant to the pertinent application because the pertinent application claims a computer interpreting language (“text”), that is, “generating a style vector representing the target style based on the text description”. Lee’s adaptive convolution filter does indeed not produce an image like in the pertinent application, but the general structure of Lee’s creation of the filter is analogous to applicant’s creation of an adaptive convolution filter, and in view of Zhang NPL’s high-resolution image creation mechanism, Lee is therefore appropriate to apply to the pertinent application in view of Zhang NPL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 8-11, 15, 21, 24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al., "StackGAN: Text to Photo-realistic Image Synthesis with Stacked Generative Adversarial Networks," arXiv.org, 2017 (hereinafter “Zhang NPL”), in view of Suresha et al. (US-20230082567-A1) and Lee et al. (KR-20210121537-A).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang NPL teaches a method comprising:
obtaining a low-resolution image (Zhang NPL, Fig. 2, “Stage-I results”) and a text description (Zhang NPL, Fig. 2, “Text description t” that is embedded into the conditioning augmentation right before “Stage-II Generator G for refinement”) wherein the text description indicates a target style (Zhang NPL, the text descriptions in Fig. 8 dictate how the style of the image is later output);
generating a style vector representing the target style based on the text description (Zhang NPL, Fig. 2, “Embedding φt”);
and generating a high-resolution image (Zhang NPL, Fig. 2, “256 x 256 results”) corresponding to the low-resolution image (Zhang NPL, Fig. 2, “Stage-I results”) by performing a convolution process (Zhang NPL, Section 3.5, “up-sampling blocks consist of… a 3×3 stride 1 convolution” and “The down-sampling blocks consist of 4×4 stride 2 convolutions”).
Zhang NPL fails to teach the following limitations as further claimed. Suresha, however, further teaches:
generating an image feature map (Suresha, “CNN… includes two convolution layers 504 for feature maps extraction and a sub-pixel convolution layer 506 that aggregates the feature maps from the low resolution space,” Para [0080]) based on the low-resolution image (Suresha, “input a low resolution seismic image,” Para [0080]);
and generating a high-resolution image (Zhang NPL, Fig. 2, “256 x 256 results”) corresponding to the low-resolution image (Zhang NPL, Fig. 2, “Stage-I results”) by performing a convolution process (Zhang NPL, Section 3.5, “up-sampling blocks consist of… a 3×3 stride 1 convolution” and “The down-sampling blocks consist of 4×4 stride 2 convolutions”) on the image feature map (Suresha, “aggregates the feature maps from the low resolution space,” Para [0080]).
And Lee further teaches:
generating an adaptive convolution filter (Lee, “generating an adaptive convolution filter for text classification,” Para [0007]) based on the style vector (Lee, “context vector”; “generating a convolution filter through the filter generation model based on the context vector,” Para [0007], where the “filter generation model generates an adaptive convolution filter,” Para [0007]), wherein the adaptive convolution filter comprises a convolution matrix with parameters (inherent to any convolution filter/the process of a convolution in machine learning) determined based on the style vector (Lee, “context vector”);
and generating a high-resolution image (Zhang NPL, Fig. 2, “256 x 256 results”) corresponding to the low-resolution image (Zhang NPL, Fig. 2, “Stage-I results”) by performing a convolution process (Zhang NPL, Section 3.5, “up-sampling blocks consist of… a 3×3 stride 1 convolution” and “The down-sampling blocks consist of 4×4 stride 2 convolutions”) on the image feature map (Suresha, “aggregates the feature maps from the low resolution space,” Para [0080]) using the adaptive convolution filter based on the style vector (Lee, “context vector”; “generating a convolution filter through the filter generation model based on the context vector,” Para [0007], where the “filter generation model generates an adaptive convolution filter,” Para [0007]).
Lee is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of generating adaptive convolution filters from text inputs in computer vision applications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee into Zhang NPL for the benefit of generating more accurate high-resolution images compared to the initial low-resolution images.
Suresha is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of creating a high-resolution image from a low-resolution image. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Suresha into Zhang NPL and Lee for the benefit of spatially-aware feature extraction.
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Zhang NPL, Suresha, and Lee teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: encoding the low-resolution image to obtain an image embedding, wherein the style vector (based on the text description) is generated based on the image embedding (Zhang NPL, “StackGAN does not achieve good results by simply memorizing training samples but by capturing the complex underlying language-image relations. We extract visual features from our generated images and all training images by the Stage-II discriminator D of our StackGAN,” 4.2 Quantitative and qualitative results).
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Zhang NPL, Suresha, and Lee teach the method of claim 1, further comprising:
identifying a plurality of predetermined convolution filters (Lee, “output value of the hashing function is used as an index to extract candidate vectors from the shared matrix,” Para [0045]);
and combining the plurality of predetermined convolution filters based on the style vector (“the method of combining candidate filters of the shared matrix is dynamically determined based on the input,” Para [0050]) to obtain the adaptive convolution filter (Lee, “extracted candidate vectors are linearly combined to form a single vector, which is used as a convolution filter,” Para [0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee into Zhang NPL and Suresha for the benefit of accurate and high-resolution image generation.
Claims 9-10 are system claims that correspond to method claims 1-2. Implementation of the system claims would necessitate the method claims. Therefore, the rejections of claims 1-2 apply fully to claims 9-10.
Regarding claim 11, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated herein. Zhang NPL, Suresha, and Lee teach the system of claim 9, wherein: the image generation network comprises a generative adversarial network (GAN) (Zhang NPL, Fig. 2, “StackGAN”).
Regarding claim 15, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated herein. Zhang NPL in view of Suresha and Lee teach the system of claim 9, further comprising: a discriminator network (Zhang NPL, Fig. 2, “Stage-II Discriminator D”) configured to generate an image embedding (Zhang NPL, Fig. 2, the pink 3D rectangle in “Stage-II Discriminator D”) and a conditioning embedding (Zhang NPL, Fig. 2, the green 3D rectangle in “Stage-II Discriminator D”), wherein the discriminator network is trained together with the image generation network (Fig. 2, “Stage-II Generator G for refinement”) using an adversarial training loss (Fig. 2, “{0,1}” in “Stage-II Discriminator D”) based on the image embedding (Zhang NPL, Fig. 2, the pink 3D rectangle in “Stage-II Discriminator D”) and the conditioning embedding (Zhang NPL, Fig. 2, the green 3D rectangle in “Stage-II Discriminator D”).
Claims 21, 24, and 26 are non-transitory computer readable medium claims that correspond to method claims 1, 5, and 8. Implementation of the non-transitory computer readable medium claims would necessitate the method claims. Therefore, the rejections of claims 1, 5, and 8 apply to claims 21, 24, and 26.
Claim(s) 2 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al., "StackGAN: Text to Photo-realistic Image Synthesis with Stacked Generative Adversarial Networks," arXiv.org, 2017 ("Zhang NPL") in view of Suresha et al. (US-20230082567-A1) and Lee et al. (KR-20210121537-A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US-20230081171-A1) (hereinafter “Zhang ‘171”).
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Zhang NPL, Suresha, and Lee teach the method of claim 1, but fail to teach the following limitations as further claimed. Zhang ‘171 teaches further comprising:
encoding the text description of the low-resolution image to obtain a text embedding (Zhang NPL, Fig. 2, “Text description t” has an arrow into “Embedding φt”);
and transforming the text embedding (Zhang ‘171, Fig. 3, 324 “word embeddings”) to obtain a global vector (Zhang ‘171, Fig. 3, 326 “global sentence embeddings”) corresponding to the text description as a whole and a plurality of local vectors (Zhang ‘171, “a local feature embedding for a portion of the particular textual description may be obtained,” Para [0091]) corresponding to individual tokens of the text description (Zhang ‘171, “a portion of the particular textual description” (Para [0091]) such as an individual word in a sentence), wherein the style vector (Zhang NPL, Fig. 2, “Embedding φt”) is generated based on the global vector (Zhang ‘171, Fig. 3, 326 “global sentence embeddings”) and the high-resolution image (Zhang NPL, Fig. 2, “256 x 256 results”) is generated based on the plurality of local vectors (Zhang ‘171, “a local feature embedding for a portion of the particular textual description may be obtained,” Para [0091]).
Zhang ‘171 is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of generating images from a textual input. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Zhang ‘171 into Zhang NPL, Suresha, and Lee for the benefit of a more accurate high-resolution image result.
Claims 22 is a non-transitory computer readable medium claims that corresponds to method claim 2. Implementation of the non-transitory computer readable medium claim would necessitate the method claim. Therefore, the rejection of claims 2 applies to claim 22.
Claim(s) 3-4, 7, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al., "StackGAN: Text to Photo-realistic Image Synthesis with Stacked Generative Adversarial Networks," arXiv.org, 2017 ("Zhang NPL") in view of Suresha et al. (US-20230082567-A1) and Lee et al. (KR-20210121537-A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US-20230081171-A1) (hereinafter “Zhang ‘171”) and Aberman et al. (US-20240037822-A1).
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated herein. Zhang NPL, Suresha, Lee, and Zhang ‘171 teach the method of claim 2, but fail to teach the following limitations as further claimed. Aberman teaches, further comprising: performing a cross-attention process (Aberman, “the embeddings of the visual and textual features are fused using cross-attention layers that produce spatial attention maps for each textual token,” Para [0022]) based on the plurality of local vectors (“each textual token”), wherein the high-resolution image (Zhang NPL, Fig. 2, “256 x 256 results”) is generated based on the cross-attention process (Aberman, “cross attention layer that produce spatial attention maps”).
Aberman is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of generating images from a textual input. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Aberman into Zhang NPL, Suresha, Lee, and Zhang ‘171 for the benefit of providing high correlation between the inputted text and the outputted image.
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated herein. Zhang NPL, Suresha, Lee, and Zhang ‘171 teach the method of claim 2, but fail to teach the following limitations as further claimed. Aberman teaches further comprising: obtaining a noise vector (“noise vector”), wherein the style vector (“initial prompt”) is based on the noise vector (“the source image is generated by generating a noise vector for the real image (e.g., using an inversion process) and processing, using an LLI model and the noise vector, the initial prompt to generate the source image that approximates the real image,” Para [0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Aberman into Zhang NPL, Suresha, Lee, and Zhang ‘171 for the benefit of avoiding overfitting in generating high-resolution images.
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Zhang NPL, Suresha, Lee, and Zhang ‘171 teach the method of claim 1, but fail to teach the following limitations as further claimed. Aberman teaches further comprising: performing a self-attention process based on the image feature map (Aberman, “cross-attention output MV is a weighted average of the values V where the weights are the attention maps,” Para [0024], where “Both of them (cross-attention layers and hybrids of cross-attention and self-attention layers) can be referred to as cross-attention since various implementations can intervene only in the cross-attention part of the hybrid attention,” Para [0025]), wherein the high-resolution image (Zhang NPL, Fig. 2, “256 x 256 results”) is generated based on the self-attention process (provided by “IMAGEN and/or other LLI models” (Para [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Aberman into Zhang NPL, Suresha, Lee, and Zhang ‘171 for the benefit of more accurate high-resolution image outptuts.
Claim 23 is a non-transitory computer readable medium claim that corresponds to method claim 3. Implementation of the non-transitory computer readable medium claim would necessitate the method claim. Therefore, the rejection of claim 3 applies to claim 23.
Claim(s) 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al., "StackGAN: Text to Photo-realistic Image Synthesis with Stacked Generative Adversarial Networks," arXiv.org, 2017 ("Zhang NPL") in view of Suresha et al. (US-20230082567-A1) and Lee et al. (KR-20210121537-A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Aberman et al. (US-20240037822-A1).
Regarding claim 12, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated herein. Zhang NPL, Suresha, and Lee teach the system of claim 9, but fail to teach the following limitations as further claimed. However, Aberman teaches wherein: the image generation network includes a convolution layer (Lee, “applying the generated convolution filter to a convolutional neural network,” Para [0005]), a self-attention layer, and a cross-attention layer (Aberman, “two types of attention layers: i) cross-attention layers and ii) hybrid attention that acts both as self-attention and cross-attention,” Para [0025]).
Aberman is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of generating images from a textual input. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Aberman into Zhang NPL, Suresha, and Lee for the benefit of better-quality image output due to variable machine learning weights.
Regarding claim 13, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated herein. Zhang NPL, Suresha, and Lee teach the system of claim 9, but fail to teach the following limitations as further claimed. However, Aberman teaches wherein: the image generation network includes a U-Net architecture (“the 64×64 model starts from a random noise seed, and uses the U-Net,” Para [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Aberman into Zhang NPL, Suresha, and Lee for the benefit of faster analysis or processing of the images.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fu et al. (US-20190095730-A1) teaches a method for license plate recognition using super-resolution.
Gong et al. (US-20240037732-A1) teaches a method for enhancing CT image quality using super-resolution.
/Rachel Anne Ometz/Examiner, Art Unit 2668 1/15/26
/VU LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2668