This office action is in response to remarks filed on 07/07/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1, 3, 10, 12, and 19 are amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al (US20240049151A1) (hereinafter "Oh") in view of Kim et al (US20150359034A1) (hereinafter "Kim").
Regarding claim 1, Oh discloses a method, comprising:
activating a cell from a deactivated state based on a cell activation request from a network element, wherein the cell is configured with a discontinuous reception configuration comprising on-durations and sleep periods ([0264] As another method, if the UE receives, via the RRC message, an indicator indicating to suspend the cell group, the UE may, according to the indicator or configuration information for each SCell of the cell group, which is included in the RRC message, activate or deactivate each SCell, make each SCell dormant, or activate a dormant bandwidth part, or the UE may activate or deactivate each SCell of the cell group, make the each SCell dormant, or activate a dormant bandwidth part, via the indicator (e.g., bitmap) of PDCCH, the MAC control information, or the RRC message before or after reception of the indicator indicating to suspend the cell group. [0266] If an indicator indicating to resume (activate) a state of a cell group is included, first DRX configuration information (e.g., monitoring period or active period (on duration) length, cycle, offset, or the like) which enables PDCCH monitoring to be performed again in the PSCell of the cell group may be configured. Alternatively, the first DRX configuration information stored for the cell group may be restored and applied. For example, if the UE receives an indicator indicating to resume the cell group, the UE may perform PDCCH monitoring by applying the stored first DRX configuration information or the first DRX configuration information received via the RRC message, thereby resuming data transmission or reception.).
Oh fails to disclose discloses a method, comprising: entering, regardless of the discontinuous reception configuration, a no discontinuous reception mode in the cell; and listening, while in the no discontinuous reception mode, without waiting until a first on-duration of the on-durations, for downlink scheduling in the cell for a period of time.
However, Kim discloses a method, comprising:
entering, regardless of the discontinuous reception configuration, a no discontinuous reception mode in the cell; and ([0107] Therefore, one embodiment of the present invention proposes ignoring the DRX configuration even though the UE has received a DRX configuration information from the network, when a specific indication, such as the measurement results, is transmitted. The specific indication need not to be restricted to the measurement results, but can comprise any indication making immediate PDCCH monitoring be preferably.)
listening, while in the no discontinuous reception mode, without waiting until a first on-duration of the on-durations, for downlink scheduling in the cell for a period of time ([0107] Therefore, one embodiment of the present invention proposes ignoring the DRX configuration even though the UE has received a DRX configuration information from the network, when a specific indication, such as the measurement results, is transmitted. The specific indication need not to be restricted to the measurement results, but can comprise any indication making immediate PDCCH monitoring be preferably.).
Oh and Kim are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of Physical Downlink Control Channel monitoring regardless of Discontinuous Reception configuration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Oh with Kim to create a method, comprising: entering, regardless of the discontinuous reception configuration, a no discontinuous reception mode in the cell; and listening, while in the no discontinuous reception mode, without waiting until a first on-duration of the on-durations, for downlink scheduling in the cell for a period of time.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce latency and allow the network and the user equipment more efficiently transmit and receive signals.
Regarding claim 10, Oh discloses an apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor; and ([0065] Referring to FIG. 3, the UE may include a communication unit 310, a storage unit 320, and a controller 330.)
at least one memory comprising computer program code ([0065] Referring to FIG. 3, the UE may include a communication unit 310, a storage unit 320, and a controller 330.),
the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus at least to:
activate a cell from a deactivated state based on a cell activation request from a network element, wherein the cell is configured with a discontinuous reception configuration comprising on-durations and sleep periods ([0264] As another method, if the UE receives, via the RRC message, an indicator indicating to suspend the cell group, the UE may, according to the indicator or configuration information for each SCell of the cell group, which is included in the RRC message, activate or deactivate each SCell, make each SCell dormant, or activate a dormant bandwidth part, or the UE may activate or deactivate each SCell of the cell group, make the each SCell dormant, or activate a dormant bandwidth part, via the indicator (e.g., bitmap) of PDCCH, the MAC control information, or the RRC message before or after reception of the indicator indicating to suspend the cell group. [0266] If an indicator indicating to resume (activate) a state of a cell group is included, first DRX configuration information (e.g., monitoring period or active period (on duration) length, cycle, offset, or the like) which enables PDCCH monitoring to be performed again in the PSCell of the cell group may be configured. Alternatively, the first DRX configuration information stored for the cell group may be restored and applied. For example, if the UE receives an indicator indicating to resume the cell group, the UE may perform PDCCH monitoring by applying the stored first DRX configuration information or the first DRX configuration information received via the RRC message, thereby resuming data transmission or reception.).
Oh fails to disclose discloses an apparatus, configured to: enter, regardless of the discontinuous reception configuration, a no discontinuous reception mode in the cell; and listen, while in the no discontinuous reception mode, without waiting until a first on-duration of the on-durations, for downlink scheduling in the cell for a period of time.
However, Kim discloses an apparatus, configured to:
enter, regardless of the discontinuous reception configuration, a no discontinuous reception mode in the cell; and ([0107] Therefore, one embodiment of the present invention proposes ignoring the DRX configuration even though the UE has received a DRX configuration information from the network, when a specific indication, such as the measurement results, is transmitted. The specific indication need not to be restricted to the measurement results, but can comprise any indication making immediate PDCCH monitoring be preferably.)
listen, while in the no discontinuous reception mode, without waiting until a first on-duration of the on-durations, for downlink scheduling in the cell for a period of time ([0107] Therefore, one embodiment of the present invention proposes ignoring the DRX configuration even though the UE has received a DRX configuration information from the network, when a specific indication, such as the measurement results, is transmitted. The specific indication need not to be restricted to the measurement results, but can comprise any indication making immediate PDCCH monitoring be preferably.).
Oh and Kim are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of Physical Downlink Control Channel monitoring regardless of Discontinuous Reception configuration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Oh with Kim to create an apparatus, configured to: enter, regardless of the discontinuous reception configuration, a no discontinuous reception mode in the cell; and listen, while in the no discontinuous reception mode, without waiting until a first on-duration of the on-durations, for downlink scheduling in the cell for a period of time.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce latency and allow the network and the user equipment more efficiently transmit and receive signals.
Regarding claim 19, Oh discloses an apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor; and ([0065] Referring to FIG. 3, the UE may include a communication unit 310, a storage unit 320, and a controller 330.)
at least one memory comprising computer program code ([0065] Referring to FIG. 3, the UE may include a communication unit 310, a storage unit 320, and a controller 330.),
the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus at least to:
request a user equipment to activate a cell from a deactivated state, wherein the cell is configured with a discontinuous reception configuration comprising on-durations and sleep periods ([0264] As another method, if the UE receives, via the RRC message, an indicator indicating to suspend the cell group, the UE may, according to the indicator or configuration information for each SCell of the cell group, which is included in the RRC message, activate or deactivate each SCell, make each SCell dormant, or activate a dormant bandwidth part, or the UE may activate or deactivate each SCell of the cell group, make the each SCell dormant, or activate a dormant bandwidth part, via the indicator (e.g., bitmap) of PDCCH, the MAC control information, or the RRC message before or after reception of the indicator indicating to suspend the cell group. [0266] If an indicator indicating to resume (activate) a state of a cell group is included, first DRX configuration information (e.g., monitoring period or active period (on duration) length, cycle, offset, or the like) which enables PDCCH monitoring to be performed again in the PSCell of the cell group may be configured. Alternatively, the first DRX configuration information stored for the cell group may be restored and applied. For example, if the UE receives an indicator indicating to resume the cell group, the UE may perform PDCCH monitoring by applying the stored first DRX configuration information or the first DRX configuration information received via the RRC message, thereby resuming data transmission or reception.).
Oh fails to disclose discloses an apparatus, configured to: schedule, upon activation of the cell, regardless of the discontinuous reception configuration, without waiting until a first on-duration of the on-durations, the user equipment for data transmission for a period of time.
However, Kim discloses an apparatus, configured to: schedule, upon activation of the cell, regardless of the discontinuous reception configuration, without waiting until a first on-duration of the on-durations, the user equipment for data transmission for a period of time ([0107] Therefore, one embodiment of the present invention proposes ignoring the DRX configuration even though the UE has received a DRX configuration information from the network, when a specific indication, such as the measurement results, is transmitted. The specific indication need not to be restricted to the measurement results, but can comprise any indication making immediate PDCCH monitoring be preferably.)
Oh and Kim are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of Physical Downlink Control Channel monitoring regardless of Discontinuous Reception configuration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Oh with Kim to create an apparatus, configured to: schedule, upon activation of the cell, regardless of the discontinuous reception configuration, without waiting until a first on-duration of the on-durations, the user equipment for data transmission for a period of time.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce latency and allow the network and the user equipment more efficiently transmit and receive signals.
Claims 2, 3, 9, 11, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh in view of Kim as applied to claims 1, 10, or 19 above, and further in view of He et al (US20230036099A1) (hereinafter "He").
Regarding claim 2, Oh, as modified by Kim, fails to disclose the method, wherein the listening for downlink scheduling while in the no discontinuous reception mode comprises monitoring a physical downlink control channel or a downlink communication.
However, He discloses the method, wherein the listening for downlink scheduling while in the no discontinuous reception mode comprises monitoring a physical downlink control channel or a downlink communication ([0073] the UE 120 may continue to monitor for PDCCH communications, may obtain a downlink data communication (e.g., on a downlink data channel, such as a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)) scheduled by the PDCCH communication, and/or may prepare and/or transmit an uplink communication (e.g., on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)) scheduled by the PDCCH communication).
Oh, as modified by Kim, and He are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of controlling power of a user equipment during multi-connection in a wireless communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Oh, as modified by Kim, with He to create the method, wherein the listening for downlink scheduling while in the no discontinuous reception mode comprises monitoring a physical downlink control channel or a downlink communication.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce user equipment power consumption.
Regarding claim 3, Oh, as modified by Kim, fails to disclose the method, wherein the period of time is a time until the first on-duration, a time until a scheduling command is received from the network element, or a new timer period.
However, He discloses the method, wherein the period of time is a time until the first on-duration, a time until a scheduling command is received from the network element, or a new timer period ([0073] If the UE 120 detects and/or successfully decodes a PDCCH communication intended for the UE 120, then the UE 120 may remain in an active state (e.g., awake) for the duration of a DRX inactivity timer 335 (e.g., which may extend the active time). The UE 120 may start the DRX inactivity timer 335 at a time at which the PDCCH communication is received (e.g., in a transmission time interval (TTI) in which the PDCCH communication is received, such as a slot or a subframe). The UE 120 may remain in the active state until the DRX inactivity timer 335 expires).
Oh, as modified by Kim, and He are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of controlling power of a user equipment during multi-connection in a wireless communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Oh, as modified by Kim, with He to create the method, wherein the period of time is a time until the first on-duration, a time until a scheduling command is received from the network element, or a new timer period.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce user equipment power consumption.
Regarding claim 9, Oh, as modified by Kim, fails to disclose the method, wherein the listening for downlink scheduling is performed based on instructions received from the network element.
However, He discloses the method, wherein the listening for downlink scheduling is performed based on instructions received from the network element ([0083] the network node 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, configuration information. The configuration information may be transmitted via RRC signaling, MAC signaling, DCI, system information (SI), or a combination thereof ... the configuration information may include first information. The first information may indicate a DRX configuration … The DRX configuration may include information indicating, for example, a DRX on duration, a DRX inactivity timer, a cycle start offset, a slot offset, or other information … the configuration information may include third information. The third information may configure a WUS).
Oh, as modified by Kim, and He are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of controlling power of a user equipment during multi-connection in a wireless communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Oh, as modified by Kim, with He to create the method, wherein the listening for downlink scheduling is performed based on instructions received from the network element.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce user equipment power consumption.
Regarding claim 11, Oh, as modified by Kim, fails to disclose the apparatus, wherein the listening for downlink scheduling while in the no discontinuous reception mode comprises monitoring a physical downlink control channel or a downlink communication.
However, He discloses the apparatus, wherein the listening for downlink scheduling while in the no discontinuous reception mode comprises monitoring a physical downlink control channel or a downlink communication ([0073] the UE 120 may continue to monitor for PDCCH communications, may obtain a downlink data communication (e.g., on a downlink data channel, such as a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)) scheduled by the PDCCH communication, and/or may prepare and/or transmit an uplink communication (e.g., on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)) scheduled by the PDCCH communication).
Oh, as modified by Kim, and He are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of controlling power of a user equipment during multi-connection in a wireless communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Oh, as modified by Kim, with He to create the apparatus, wherein the listening for downlink scheduling while in the no discontinuous reception mode comprises monitoring a physical downlink control channel or a downlink communication.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce user equipment power consumption.
Regarding claim 12, Oh, as modified by Kim, fails to disclose the apparatus, wherein the period of time is a time until the first on-duration, a time until a scheduling command is received from the network element, or a new timer period.
However, He discloses the apparatus, wherein the period of time is a time until the first on-duration, a time until a scheduling command is received from the network element, or a new timer period ([0073] If the UE 120 detects and/or successfully decodes a PDCCH communication intended for the UE 120, then the UE 120 may remain in an active state (e.g., awake) for the duration of a DRX inactivity timer 335 (e.g., which may extend the active time). The UE 120 may start the DRX inactivity timer 335 at a time at which the PDCCH communication is received (e.g., in a transmission time interval (TTI) in which the PDCCH communication is received, such as a slot or a subframe). The UE 120 may remain in the active state until the DRX inactivity timer 335 expires).
Oh, as modified by Kim, and He are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of controlling power of a user equipment during multi-connection in a wireless communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Oh, as modified by Kim, with He to create the apparatus, wherein the period of time is a time until the first on-duration, a time until a scheduling command is received from the network element, or a new timer period.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce user equipment power consumption.
Regarding claim 18, Oh, as modified by Kim, fails to disclose the apparatus, wherein the listening for downlink scheduling is performed based on instructions received from the network element.
However, He discloses the apparatus, wherein the listening for downlink scheduling is performed based on instructions received from the network element ([0083] the network node 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, configuration information. The configuration information may be transmitted via RRC signaling, MAC signaling, DCI, system information (SI), or a combination thereof ... the configuration information may include first information. The first information may indicate a DRX configuration … The DRX configuration may include information indicating, for example, a DRX on duration, a DRX inactivity timer, a cycle start offset, a slot offset, or other information … the configuration information may include third information. The third information may configure a WUS).
Oh, as modified by Kim, and He are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of controlling power of a user equipment during multi-connection in a wireless communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Oh, as modified by Kim, with He to create the apparatus, wherein the listening for downlink scheduling is performed based on instructions received from the network element.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce user equipment power consumption.
Claims 4-8, 13-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh in view of Kim as applied to claims 1, 10, or 19 above, and further in view of Dinan et al (US20160270064A1) (hereinafter "Dinan").
Regarding claim 4, Oh, as modified by Kim, fails to disclose the method, wherein activation of the cell comprises an activation delay period.
However, Dinan discloses the method, wherein activation of the cell comprises an activation delay period ([0164] 3GPP TS 36.133 describes the SCell activation delay requirement for a deactivated SCell. [0176] In an example embodiment, while activating an SCell if any other SCell is activated, deactivated, configured and/or deconfigured by the UE then the UE activation delay may increase.).
Oh, as modified by Kim, and Dinan are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for operation of multiple physical uplink control channel groups and PUCCH secondary cell activation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Oh, as modified by Kim, with Dinan to create the method, wherein activation of the cell comprises an activation delay period.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to ensure uplink communication synchronization or to update the uplink timing reference.
Regarding claim 5, Oh, as modified by Kim, fails to disclose the method, wherein when a timing advance timer has not expired, the listening for downlink scheduling is performed before or after the activation delay period.
However, Dinan discloses the method, wherein when a timing advance timer has not expired, the listening for downlink scheduling is performed before or after the activation delay period. ([0122] In an example embodiment, the timing reference for SCells in an sTAG may be the SIB2 linked downlink of the SCell on which the preamble for the latest RA procedure was sent. There may be one timing reference and one time alignment timer (TAT) per TA group. [0166] In the current LTE-Advanced transceiver operations when a UE receives a MAC activation command for an SCell in subframe n, the UE starts reporting CQI/PMI/RI/PTI for the SCell at subframe n+8 and starts or restarts the sCellDeactivationTimer associated with the SCell at subframe n+8. [0169] Other activation actions listed below (if configured) are applied no later than the minimum defined delay requirement and no earlier than subframe n+8. Other actions include one or many of the following: SRS transmissions on the SCell; PDCCH monitoring on the SCell; PDCCH monitoring for the SCell; trigger PHR.).
Oh, as modified by Kim, and Dinan are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for operation of multiple physical uplink control channel groups and PUCCH secondary cell activation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Oh, as modified by Kim, with Dinan to create the method, wherein when a timing advance timer has not expired, the listening for downlink scheduling is performed before or after the activation delay period.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to ensure uplink communication synchronization or to update the uplink timing reference.
Regarding claim 6, Oh, as modified by Kim, fails to disclose the method, wherein when a timing advance timer has not expired, the listening for downlink scheduling is performed prior to the activation delay period ending.
However, Dinan discloses the method, wherein when a timing advance timer has not expired, the listening for downlink scheduling is performed prior to the activation delay period ending ([0122] In an example embodiment, the timing reference for SCells in an sTAG may be the SIB2 linked downlink of the SCell on which the preamble for the latest RA procedure was sent. There may be one timing reference and one time alignment timer (TAT) per TA group. [0189] The eNB may transmit a MAC activation command 1610 to activate the PUCCH SCell. The UE may receive the activation command at subframe n, and may perform downlink actions related to the SCell activation command for the PUCCH SCell being activated no later than the SCell activation delay as described in the specification (T_activate 1635).).
Oh, as modified by Kim, and Dinan are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for operation of multiple physical uplink control channel groups and PUCCH secondary cell activation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Oh, as modified by Kim, with Dinan to create the method, wherein when a timing advance timer has not expired, the listening for downlink scheduling is performed prior to the activation delay period ending.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to ensure uplink communication synchronization or to update the uplink timing reference.
Regarding claim 7, Oh, as modified by Kim, fails to disclose the method, wherein when a timing advance timer has expired, the listening for downlink scheduling is performed after the activation delay period.
However, Dinan discloses the method, wherein when a timing advance timer has expired, the listening for downlink scheduling is performed after the activation delay period ([0207] In addition, if the serving cell is a PUCCH SCell and the timeAlignmentTimer of the TAG including the serving cell (the PUCCH SCell) expires, then the UE may perform one or more of the following actions. … In an example embodiment, the UE may continue monitoring PDCCH and transmit uplink packets and SRSs in serving cell(s) of the PUCCH group if the serving cells are in an in-sync TAG. In an example embodiment, the UE may continue monitoring receive broadcast information/transport blocks (e.g. Multicast CH, and/or MBSFN subframes) in downlink carrier(s) of the serving cell(s) of the PUCCH group.).
Oh, as modified by Kim, and Dinan are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for operation of multiple physical uplink control channel groups and PUCCH secondary cell activation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Oh, as modified by Kim, with Dinan to create the method, wherein when a timing advance timer has expired, the listening for downlink scheduling is performed after the activation delay period.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to ensure uplink communication synchronization or to update the uplink timing reference.
Regarding claim 8, Oh, as modified by Kim, fails to disclose the method, wherein when a timing advance timer has expired, the method further comprises: transmitting a measurement report to the network element; and communicating with the network element on a downlink beam based on the measurement report, wherein the listening for downlink scheduling is performed after the activation delay period.
However, Dinan discloses the method, wherein when a timing advance timer has expired, the method further comprises:
transmitting a measurement report to the network element; and ([0194] In an example, for a PUCCH group, in which PUCCH SCell is in a TAG that its time-alignment is not running, no downlink shared channel transport block may be received on DL-SCH until PUCCH is activated and uplink synchronized using RACH. DL-SCH TBs may be received after the UE reports valid CQI. [0195] When an SCell is activated, CSI reports may be transmitted in the uplink after PUCCH SCell is activated and uplink synchronized.)
communicating with the network element on a downlink beam based on the measurement report ([0194] In an example, for a PUCCH group, in which PUCCH SCell is in a TAG that its time-alignment is not running, no downlink shared channel transport block may be received on DL-SCH until PUCCH is activated and uplink synchronized using RACH. DL-SCH TBs may be received after the UE reports valid CQI. [0195] When an SCell is activated, CSI reports may be transmitted in the uplink after PUCCH SCell is activated and uplink synchronized.),
wherein the listening for downlink scheduling is performed after the activation delay period ([0207] In addition, if the serving cell is a PUCCH SCell and the timeAlignmentTimer of the TAG including the serving cell (the PUCCH SCell) expires, then the UE may perform one or more of the following actions. … In an example embodiment, the UE may continue monitoring PDCCH and transmit uplink packets and SRSs in serving cell(s) of the PUCCH group if the serving cells are in an in-sync TAG. In an example embodiment, the UE may continue monitoring receive broadcast information/transport blocks (e.g. Multicast CH, and/or MBSFN subframes) in downlink carrier(s) of the serving cell(s) of the PUCCH group.).
Oh, as modified by Kim, and Dinan are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for operation of multiple physical uplink control channel groups and PUCCH secondary cell activation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Oh, as modified by Kim, with Dinan to create the method, wherein when a timing advance timer has expired, the method further comprises: transmitting a measurement report to the network element; and communicating with the network element on a downlink beam based on the measurement report, wherein the listening for downlink scheduling is performed after the activation delay period.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to ensure uplink communication synchronization or to update the uplink timing reference.
Regarding claim 13, Oh, as modified by Kim, fails to disclose the apparatus, wherein activation of the cell comprises an activation delay period.
However, Dinan discloses the apparatus, wherein activation of the cell comprises an activation delay period ([0164] 3GPP TS 36.133 describes the SCell activation delay requirement for a deactivated SCell. [0176] In an example embodiment, while activating an SCell if any other SCell is activated, deactivated, configured and/or deconfigured by the UE then the UE activation delay may increase.).
Oh, as modified by Kim, and Dinan are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for operation of multiple physical uplink control channel groups and PUCCH secondary cell activation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Oh, as modified by Kim, with Dinan to create the apparatus, wherein activation of the cell comprises an activation delay period.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to ensure uplink communication synchronization or to update the uplink timing reference.
Regarding claim 14, Oh, as modified by Kim, fails to disclose the apparatus, wherein when a timing advance timer has not expired, the listening for downlink scheduling is performed before or after the activation delay period.
However, Dinan discloses the apparatus, wherein when a timing advance timer has not expired, the listening for downlink scheduling is performed before or after the activation delay period. ([0122] In an example embodiment, the timing reference for SCells in an sTAG may be the SIB2 linked downlink of the SCell on which the preamble for the latest RA procedure was sent. There may be one timing reference and one time alignment timer (TAT) per TA group. [0166] In the current LTE-Advanced transceiver operations when a UE receives a MAC activation command for an SCell in subframe n, the UE starts reporting CQI/PMI/RI/PTI for the SCell at subframe n+8 and starts or restarts the sCellDeactivationTimer associated with the SCell at subframe n+8. [0169] Other activation actions listed below (if configured) are applied no later than the minimum defined delay requirement and no earlier than subframe n+8. Other actions include one or many of the following: SRS transmissions on the SCell; PDCCH monitoring on the SCell; PDCCH monitoring for the SCell; trigger PHR.).
Oh, as modified by Kim, and Dinan are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for operation of multiple physical uplink control channel groups and PUCCH secondary cell activation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Oh, as modified by Kim, with Dinan to create the apparatus, wherein when a timing advance timer has not expired, the listening for downlink scheduling is performed before or after the activation delay period.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to ensure uplink communication synchronization or to update the uplink timing reference.
Regarding claim 15, Oh, as modified by Kim, fails to disclose the apparatus, wherein when a timing advance timer has not expired, the listening for downlink scheduling is performed prior to the activation delay period ending.
However, Dinan discloses the apparatus, wherein when a timing advance timer has not expired, the listening for downlink scheduling is performed prior to the activation delay period ending ([0122] In an example embodiment, the timing reference for SCells in an sTAG may be the SIB2 linked downlink of the SCell on which the preamble for the latest RA procedure was sent. There may be one timing reference and one time alignment timer (TAT) per TA group. [0189] The eNB may transmit a MAC activation command 1610 to activate the PUCCH SCell. The UE may receive the activation command at subframe n, and may perform downlink actions related to the SCell activation command for the PUCCH SCell being activated no later than the SCell activation delay as described in the specification (T_activate 1635).).
Oh, as modified by Kim, and Dinan are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for operation of multiple physical uplink control channel groups and PUCCH secondary cell activation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Oh, as modified by Kim, with Dinan to create the apparatus, wherein when a timing advance timer has not expired, the listening for downlink scheduling is performed prior to the activation delay period ending.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to ensure uplink communication synchronization or to update the uplink timing reference.
Regarding claim 16, Oh, as modified by Kim, fails to disclose the apparatus, wherein when a timing advance timer has expired, the listening for downlink scheduling is performed after the activation delay period.
However, Dinan discloses the apparatus, wherein when a timing advance timer has expired, the listening for downlink scheduling is performed after the activation delay period ([0207] In addition, if the serving cell is a PUCCH SCell and the timeAlignmentTimer of the TAG including the serving cell (the PUCCH SCell) expires, then the UE may perform one or more of the following actions. … In an example embodiment, the UE may continue monitoring PDCCH and transmit uplink packets and SRSs in serving cell(s) of the PUCCH group if the serving cells are in an in-sync TAG. In an example embodiment, the UE may continue monitoring receive broadcast information/transport blocks (e.g. Multicast CH, and/or MBSFN subframes) in downlink carrier(s) of the serving cell(s) of the PUCCH group.).
Oh, as modified by Kim, and Dinan are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for operation of multiple physical uplink control channel groups and PUCCH secondary cell activation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Oh, as modified by Kim, with Dinan to create the apparatus, wherein when a timing advance timer has expired, the listening for downlink scheduling is performed after the activation delay period.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to ensure uplink communication synchronization or to update the uplink timing reference.
Regarding claim 17, Oh, as modified by Kim, fails to disclose the apparatus, wherein when a timing advance timer has expired, the apparatus is further caused to: transmit a measurement report to the network element; and communicate with the network element on a downlink beam based on the measurement report, wherein the listening for downlink scheduling is performed after the activation delay period.
However, Dinan discloses the apparatus, wherein when a timing advance timer has expired, the method further comprises:
transmit a measurement report to the network element; and ([0194] In an example, for a PUCCH group, in which PUCCH SCell is in a TAG that its time-alignment is not running, no downlink shared channel transport block may be received on DL-SCH until PUCCH is activated and uplink synchronized using RACH. DL-SCH TBs may be received after the UE reports valid CQI. [0195] When an SCell is activated, CSI reports may be transmitted in the uplink after PUCCH SCell is activated and uplink synchronized.)
communicate with the network element on a downlink beam based on the measurement report ([0194] In an example, for a PUCCH group, in which PUCCH SCell is in a TAG that its time-alignment is not running, no downlink shared channel transport block may be received on DL-SCH until PUCCH is activated and uplink synchronized using RACH. DL-SCH TBs may be received after the UE reports valid CQI. [0195] When an SCell is activated, CSI reports may be transmitted in the uplink after PUCCH SCell is activated and uplink synchronized.),
wherein the listening for downlink scheduling is performed after the activation delay period ([0207] In addition, if the serving cell is a PUCCH SCell and the timeAlignmentTimer of the TAG including the serving cell (the PUCCH SCell) expires, then the UE may perform one or more of the following actions. … In an example embodiment, the UE may continue monitoring PDCCH and transmit uplink packets and SRSs in serving cell(s) of the PUCCH group if the serving cells are in an in-sync TAG. In an example embodiment, the UE may continue monitoring receive broadcast information/transport blocks (e.g. Multicast CH, and/or MBSFN subframes) in downlink carrier(s) of the serving cell(s) of the PUCCH group.).
Oh, as modified by Kim, and Dinan are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for operation of multiple physical uplink control channel groups and PUCCH secondary cell activation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Oh, as modified by Kim, with Dinan to create the apparatus, wherein when a timing advance timer has expired, the apparatus is further caused to: transmit a measurement report to the network element; and communicate with the network element on a downlink beam based on the measurement report, wherein the listening for downlink scheduling is performed after the activation delay period.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to ensure uplink communication synchronization or to update the uplink timing reference.
Regarding claim 20, Oh, as modified by Kim, fails to disclose the apparatus, wherein activation of the cell comprises an activation delay period.
However, Dinan discloses the apparatus, wherein activation of the cell comprises an activation delay period ([0164] 3GPP TS 36.133 describes the SCell activation delay requirement for a deactivated SCell. [0176] In an example embodiment, while activating an SCell if any other SCell is activated, deactivated, configured and/or deconfigured by the UE then the UE activation delay may increase.).
Oh, as modified by Kim, and Dinan are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for operation of multiple physical uplink control channel groups and PUCCH secondary cell activation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Oh, as modified by Kim, with Dinan to create the apparatus, wherein activation of the cell comprises an activation delay period.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to ensure uplink communication synchronization or to update the uplink timing reference.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 10, and 19, and associated dependent claims have been considered, but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D LITTLE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419