DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 16, 26 are amended.
Claims 1, 4-30 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-20, 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen (US 20110163913) in view of Werner (US 20120306692).
Regarding Claim 16, Cohen teaches the following limitations:
A method of supporting multi-epoch double-differenced ranging (MEDDR) for positioning a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication network, the method comprising: (Cohen – [0008] The GNSS user equipment may be a Defense Advanced GPS Receiver (DAGR), [0076] The following development provides an explicit calculation of the elapsed time between any given cross-platform samples… For any given pair of samples, the difference in time between sample epochs in receiver clock time is given… the above expression for inter-platform pseudorange evaluated at each DAGR sample epoch,)
receiving, at a reference station, a request message indicative of a request for positioning of the UE; (Cohen – [Fig. 3], (Cohen - [0053] Each reference station measures the code and carrier phase of all satellites in view and telemeters this information to the users via the Iridium data link. The user equipment 1,2,5 tracks the code and carrier of each satellite 40,41 in view then makes its own measurements of code and carrier phase and reads in the reference station data. Additionally, Iridium provides a reverse data path, enabling the user equipment 1,2,5 to uplink data to the satellite for relay, in this case, back to the reference station 42.))
receiving configuration data, at the reference station from the server, regarding the positioning of the UE; (Cohen – [Fig. 3], [0016] A robust, global, two-way communication system solves this problem by enabling the user and device to authenticate each request to re-key no matter where they are in the world. This ease of use enables key dissemination to be both secure and effortless.)
performing pseudorange measurements at the reference station, at a first time and a second time, in accordance with the configuration data, (Cohen – [0058], [0076], [0013] The iGPS infrastructure can be used to provide both data aiding (for Iridium ephemeris and GPS data stripping) as well as time stability transfer (calibrating the Iridium clock with a reference station and broadcasting precise Iridium carrier phase corrections to the user in real time), [0058] The Aiding Information listed in Table 1 is that provided via data link from the Iridium satellite.)
wherein the second time is at least a threshold duration of time after the first time; and (Cohen – [0076], [Claims 24-26] 24. The method of claim 20, wherein the Navigation/Communication processor actively controls a variable attenuator to ensure that a P code reference signal is strong enough to be detected under interference but not so strong as to be a source of unwanted interference.
25. The method of claim 20, wherein the Navigation/Communication processor monitors an Automatic Gain Control (AGC) and routes an incoming composite GPS and navigation signal into the second GNSS user equipment in order to track overall power emerging from antenna terminals and regulate the power to a constant value.
26. The method of claim 20, wherein the first GNSS user hardware executes a reference input initialization and control routing including the steps of: a. minimizing reference signal power; b. measuring interference at an automatic gain control (AGC); c. recording a benchmark based on the measured interference; d. step incrementing reference signal power and measuring interference at the AGC until a threshold is reached and recording a scale factor; e. initializing reference signal lock; f. again measuring interference at the AGC; and g. applying backoff.)
sending information indicative of the pseudorange measurements from the reference station to the server, the UE, or both. (Cohen – [Fig. 3], [0053], [0076])
Cohen does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Werner, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
responsive to the request message, sending a response message comprising a location of the reference station from the reference station to a server; (Cohen – [Fig. 4], [Abstract] a wireless communication apparatus may transmit a request to a mobile station for fine time assistance (FTA) corresponding to a global navigation satellite system (GNSS). [0055] Referring again to FIG. 4, in certain embodiments of the invention, a position fix of a synchronous-capable UE 320 may be obtained when there are only the following three position reference sources in view: a single base station (BS) 410 and two space vehicles (SV) 412 and 414. In this case, the location server 310 will request GNSS measurements and FTA information from UE 320 via reference BS 410… The synchronous hybrid positioning module 422 then calculates a position fix, using the two GNSS measurements and the SFN measurement to form three pseudoranges, [0056] The FTA information contains the SFN that originates from BS 410, information that tells that the SFN originated from BS 410, and a quantified measurement uncertainty value. The OTDOA measurements are formed based on the time difference of arrival of position reference signals (PRSs) that are transmitted by configured base stations. The availability of PRS can be configured by the network operator to allow for range based network positioning via reported OTDOA measurements. Location server 310 receives the GNSS measurements, FTA information and OTDOA measurements at receiver 314, and then checks whether UE 320 is synchronous-capable using methods similar or identical to the 1 BS, 2 SV case. Upon confirming UE 320 is synchronous-capable, synchronous hybrid position module 422 synchronizes the GNSS measurements, network SFN and OTDOA measurements… The synchronous hybrid positioning module 422 then calculates a position fix, using the GNSS measurement of SV 412 and OTDOA measurements between BSs 410 and 420 to form three pseudoranges, calculates the position fix based on these three pseudoranges and transmits this position back to UE 320. [0067] An OTDOA system in which OTDOA measurements can be used with GNSS measurements exhibits two properties. First, the transmit time of the base stations used to formulate OTDOA measurements is known with respect to a GNSS time. This information is presumed to be available in the base station almanac (BSA) given by a carrier in the form of forward link calibration information and position reference signal information. Second, a receiver time scale is available with which all GNSS and OTDOA arrivals are measured. LPP places all GNSS measurements on the same time scale, as well as OTDOA measurements. However, the relationship between the two measurement types can only be implicitly known using the fine time assistance (FTA) uplink functionality.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the communication system of Cohen with the requests and UE, satellite, base station, and location server communication of Werner in order to obtain a position fix (Werner – [0055]).
Regarding Claim 17, Cohen further teaches:
wherein the information indicative of the pseudorange measurements comprises: the pseudorange measurements, pseudoranges determined using the pseudorange measurements, or a combination thereof. (Cohen – [0007], [0052], [0076])
Regarding Claim 18, Cohen further teaches:
wherein a device type of the reference station comprises a terrestrial base station, a fixed UE, or a mobile UE, and wherein the method further comprises including, in the response message, the device type of the reference station. (Cohen – [Fig. 3], [0013], [0053], [0076] Cohen does not explicitly teach “device type of the reference station”.)
Cohen does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Werner, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
device type of the reference station (Werner – [0056] The OTDOA measurements are formed based on the time difference of arrival of position reference signals (PRSs) that are transmitted by configured base stations. [0063] message format may be found in the LTE Positioning Protocol (LPP) and may contain exemplary information that may represent Fine Time Assistance (FTA) Uplink Information [0083] FTA information containing a network SFN and information telling that the SFN originated from a reference base station… process 600 concludes at stage 608 by forming pseudoranges for the mobile station using synchronous hybrid positioning based on the first timing measurements and the second timing measurements relative to a common time scale.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the signal of Cohen with the identification of Werner in order to perform synchronous hybrid positioning. (Werner – [0083]).
Regarding Claim 19, Cohen further teaches:
further comprising, responsive to the request message and prior to sending the response message, establishing a radio resource control (RRC) connection with the wireless communication network. (Cohen – [Fig. 3], [0013], [0053], [0076] Cohen does not explicitly teach “radio resource control (RRC) connection”.)
Cohen does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Werner, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
radio resource control (RRC) connection (Werner – [0009])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the GPS signal of Cohen with the RRC of Werner in order to integrate GPS with various cellular communication system protocols. (Werner – [0009]).
Regarding Claim 20, Cohen further teaches:
further comprising sending, to the server, an indication of an updated location of the reference station, wherein the updated location of the reference station is indicative of a location of the reference station at the second time. (Cohen – [Fig. 3], [0053], [0076])
Regarding Claim 26, Cohen further teaches:
A reference station for supporting multi-epoch double-differenced ranging (MEDDR) for positioning a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication network, the reference station comprising: (Cohen – [0008], [0076], [0052] Each reference station 42 incorporates an antenna 43 and signal processing (not shown) that is functionally equivalent to signal processing of the user equipment except that it is operated in a controlled environment and may optionally be packaged in a rack mount.)
a transceiver; (Cohen – [0052], [0043] oscillator 10 serves as the common timebase for the transceiver.)
a memory; and (Cohen – [0052], [0080] The software could be placed in the flash memory of the iGPS add-on component.)
one or more processors communicatively coupled with the transceiver and the memory, (Cohen – [0043], [0052], [0080], [0007] sending the coherent correlations back through an existing data port to a Nav-Com processor for combination with additional correlations of Iridium taken relative to the reference oscillator of the apparatus to derive more precise solutions for position, velocity, and/or time.)
wherein the one or more processors are configured to: receive, via the transceiver, a request message indicative of a request for positioning of the UE; (Cohen – [0007], [0043], [0052], [0053], [0080])
receive configuration data, via the transceiver from the server, regarding the positioning of the UE; (Cohen – [Fig. 3], [0043], [0052], [0053], [0076])
perform pseudorange measurements with the transceiver, at a first time and a second time, in accordance with the configuration data, (Cohen – [0016], [0043], [0052], [0053], [0076])
wherein the second time is at least a threshold duration of time after the first time; and (Cohen – [0052], [0076])
send information indicative of the pseudorange measurements from via the transceiver to the server, the UE, or both. (Cohen – [Fig. 3], [0043], [0052], [0053], [0076])
Cohen does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Werner, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
responsive to the request message, send a response message comprising a location of the reference station via the transceiver to a server; (Cohen – [Fig. 4], [Abstract], [0055], [0067])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the signal of Cohen with the requests and UE, satellite, base station, and location server communication of Werner in order to obtain a position fix (Werner – [0055]).
Regarding Claim 27, Cohen discloses the following limitations:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to include, in the information indicative of the pseudorange measurements: the pseudorange measurements, pseudoranges determined using the pseudorange measurements, or a combination thereof. (Cohen – [0007], [0052], [0076])
Regarding Claim 28, Cohen further teaches:
wherein a device type of the reference station comprises a terrestrial base station, a fixed UE, or a mobile UE, and (Cohen – [Fig. 3], [0013], [0052], [0076])
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to include, in the response message, the device type of the reference station. (Cohen – [Fig. 3], [0007], [0053], [0076])
Cohen does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Werner, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
device type of the reference station (Werner – [0063], [0083])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the signal of Cohen with the base station identification of Werner in order to indicate a reference base station origination. (Werner – [0083]).
Regarding Claim 29, Cohen further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, responsive to the request message and prior to sending the response message, (Cohen – [Fig. 3], [0007], [0013], [0052], [0076])
Cohen does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Werner, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
establish a radio resource control (RRC) connection with the wireless communication network. (Werner – [0009])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the GPS signal of Cohen with the RRC of Werner in order to integrate GPS with various cellular communication system protocols. (Werner – [0009]).
Regarding Claim 30, Cohen further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to send, via the transceiver to the server, an indication of an updated location of the reference station, (Cohen – [0007], [0013], [0043], [0052], [0076])
wherein the updated location of the reference station is indicative of a location of the reference station at the second time. (Cohen – [Fig. 3], [0043], [0052], [0076])
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 4-15, 21-25 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claims 1, 21 and the dependents thereof, the prior art of record, specifically Cohen (US 20110163913) teaches an integrated navigation-communication capability utilizing Low Earth Orbiting satellites and Werner (US 20120306692) teaches methods and apparatuses for a mobile station to obtain a position fix while capable of station identification.
None of the prior art cited alone or in combination teach “wherein determining the location estimate comprises taking a double difference for each of the first set of pseudoranges and the second set of pseudoranges, and wherein: the double difference for the first set of pseudoranges comprises a difference between: (i) a difference between the pseudoranges of each of the UE and the reference station with the first LEO satellite at the first time, and (ii) a difference between the pseudoranges of each of the UE and the reference station with the second LEO satellite at the first time; and the double difference for the second set of pseudorange measurements comprises a difference between: (i) a difference between the pseudoranges of each of the UE and the reference station with the first LEO satellite at the second time, and (ii) a difference between the pseudoranges of each of the UE and the reference station with the second LEO satellite at the second time”. The novel use of pseudorange double differences between a UE, a reference station and a LEO satellite allows for an improvement in MEDDR in a wireless network.
Claims 4-15 are allowable because they are dependent on claim 1.
Claim 21-25 are allowable because they are dependent on claim 21.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 11, filed 01/27/2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the combination of Cohen and Werner does not teach “a response message comprising the location of the reference station”. The examiner agrees that Werner paragraph [0055] does not teach this limitation and has added Werner [0056], [0067] to the Office Action in order to teach the limitation. The base station almanac contains base station location information given by a carrier in a form including a position reference signal (PRS), used to perform Observed Time Difference of Arrival (OTDOA) measurements, which specifies the base station(s) in the almanac used to perform OTDOA measurements. The location server synchronizes GNSS measurements, network SFN and OTDOA measurements and the hybrid positioning module uses these measurements, to include the PRS that correlates base station information to a location, to calculate a position fix.
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 11, filed 01/27/2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the dependent Claims are allowable due to the dependency on the independent Claims. The examiner disagrees due to the above-mentioned rejections.
Applicant's remaining arguments amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims is understandable and distinguishable from other inventions.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure or directed to the state of art is listed on the enclosed PTO-892.
The following is a brief description for relevant prior art that was cited but not applied:
Tanaka (Aerospace, Vol.8 no.7, 15 July 2021, page 191) describes a method of multi-epoch double-differenced pseudoranging.
/BRANDON JAMES HENSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/RESHA DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648