Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-9, 11, 14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. 10,979,534 to Parulkar in view of U.S. Pub. 2022/0295441 to Michalopoulos and U.S. Pub. 2023/0155841 to Koh.
Regarding claim 1, Parulkar discloses systems, comprising: one or more processors configured to:
acquire a latency requirement for a network connection to user equipment ([Col. 21, lines 60-Col. 22, line 1] wherein launch requests from the user 138 may include parameters specifying additional latency requirements.);
identify a location of a distributed unit for the network connection (In Col. 24, lines 41-46, Parulkar discloses "In addition to identifying edge locations that satisfy the customer's latency requirements, the edge location placement service 622 can further narrow the suitable edge locations by the customer's other parameters, if specified (e.g., edge locations for a particular CSP, particular network of the CSP, etc.));
determine a data center location for running a user plane function that is in
communication with the distributed unit based on the location of the distributed unit and the latency requirement for the network connection to the user equipment ([Col. 24, lines 16-20 and lines 29-34] wherein upon receipt of a request for suitable edge locations that satisfy a customer's requirements from the hardware virtualization service 606, the edge location placement service 622 can access the latency data 609 to identify which edge locations satisfy those requirements. The latency data can include point-to-point latencies between base stations and edge locations, and the edge location placement service 620 can identify the set of candidate edge locations that have communications latencies that satisfy the customer's latency constraint based on those latencies. Col. 14, line 66 - Col. 15, line 4, "In 5G wireless network development efforts, edge locations may be considered a possible implementation of Multi-access Edge Computing (MEC). Such edge locations can be connected to various points within a CSP 5G network that provide a breakout for data traffic as part of the User Plane Function (UPF)." Also see Col. 2, lines 10-20 wherein Parulkar discloses computing resources managed by a cloud provider are deployed at edge locations of the cloud provider network integrated within communications service provider (CSP) networks. CSPs generally include companies that have deployed networks through which end users obtain network connectivity. For example, CSPs can include mobile or cellular network providers (e.g., operating 3G, 4G, and/or 5G networks), wired internet service providers (e.g., cable, digital subscriber lines, fiber, etc.), and WiFi providers (e.g., at locations such as hotels, coffee shops, airports, etc.). Note: As shown in Fig. 14 the computer system 1400 contains multiple processors that is used to facilitate communications between a network and electronic device(s) or base station(s).); and
output an instruction to cause the user plane function to be run at the data center
location ([Col. 33, lines 1-11 and Col. 24, lines 24-29] wherein FIG. 9 is a flow diagram
illustrating operations of a method for launching compute instances in cloud provider network edge locations according to some embodiments. Some or all of the operations (or other processes described herein, or variations, and/or combinations thereof) are performed under the control of one or more computer systems configured with executable instructions and are implemented as code (e.g., executable instructions, one or more computer programs, or one or more applications) executing collectively on one or more processors, by hardware or combinations thereof. Furthermore, Parulkar states "the routing between those base stations and edge locations 510 may vary (e.g., some may have to traverse aggregation sites such as the aggregation site 206, some may have additional hops in the network path from the base station to an edge location, etc.). ").
Regarding the amendment to claim 1 which now recites “wherein the distributed unit is configured to provide functions for a radio link control layer, a medium access control layer, and a physical layers of the network connection”, Michalopoulos is added.
In an analogous art, Michalopoulos teaches a wireless system which distributes the processing of the network layers. See for example, section [0071] which teaches “the RAN architecture is split into the central unit (CU) and the distributed unit (DU), where the CU hosts the upper layers of the protocol stack (namely, PDCP at the data plane and RRC at the control plane), while the DU hosts the lower layers (such as RLC, MAC, and PHY)”, as recited in the amendment.
Regarding the amendment to claim 1 which now recites “wherein the user plane function is configured to perform routing and forwarding, quality of service handling and packet data session management for the network connection”, Koh is added.
In an analogous art, Koh also teaches a wireless system which distributes the processing of the network layers between different devices. See for example, sections [0096] to [0107] which teach that the user plane function performs all the recited functions of “routing and forwarding, quality of service handling and packet data session management”, as in the amendment.
Therefore, as Parulkar teaches of the user/data planes, as all of Parulkar, Michalopoulos and Koh teach distributed processing in a wireless network (where Michalopoulos and Koh teach the conventional functions of the user and data planes), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant's claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of the user/data planes of Michalopoulos and Koh into Parulkar, for the reasons as discussed in all these references, which are that certain layers are more efficiently processes at the edge device and other layers/functions are more efficiently processed at core network devices, as is known in the art of distributed processing.
Regarding claim 4, Parulkar discloses the system of claim 1, wherein: the user equipment comprises a mobile computing device ([Col. 40, lines 58-63] wherein Parulkar discloses user or client devices can include any of a number of general-purpose personal computers, such as desktop or laptop computers running a standard operating system, as well as cellular, wireless, and handheld devices running mobile software and capable of supporting a number of networking and messaging protocols.)
Regarding claim 5, Parulkar discloses the system of claim 1, wherein: the latency requirement for the network connection to the user equipment comprises a one - way latency requirement from the user equipment ([Col. 25, lines 38-42] wherein latency typically refers to either the one-way time between one device sending a message to a recipient and the recipient receiving the message or to the round-trip time between one device issuing a request and subsequently receiving a response to that request.).
Regarding claim 6, Parulkar discloses the system of claim 1, wherein: the latency requirement for the network connection to the user equipment comprises a one-way latency requirement from the user equipment to the user plane function via the distributed unit. ([Col. 25, lines 38-40] Parulkar describes obtaining latency data and facilitating a set of customer latency requirements wherein the latency requirement includes a one-way time between one device sending a message to a recipient and the recipient receiving the message).
Regarding claim 7, Parulkar discloses the system of claim 4, wherein: the latency requirement for the network connection comprises a round-trip latency requirement between the mobile computing device and a data network ([Col. 25, lines 40-45] wherein the latency requirements further include the round-trip time between one device issuing a request and subsequently receiving a response to that request. In some embodiments, latency data 609 provides or allows for the derivation of latencies between various points for use in placement determinations by the edge location placement service.).
Regarding claim 8, Parulkar discloses the system of claim 7, wherein: the user plane function is configured to route user plane packets between a radio access network in communication with the mobile computing device and the data network ([Col. 24, lines 24-29] wherein the routing between those base stations and edge locations 510 may vary (e.g., some may have to traverse aggregation sites such as the aggregation site 206, some may have additional hops in the network path from the base station to an edge location, etc.).).
Regarding claim 9, Parulkar discloses the system of claim 1, wherein: the data center location corresponds with a local data center ([Col. 18, lines 42-50] wherein FIG. 4 illustrates an exemplary cloud provider network including geographically dispersed provider substrate extensions (or "edge locations") according to some embodiments. As illustrated, a cloud provider network 400 can be formed as a number of regions 402, where a region is a separate geographical area in which the cloud provider has one or more data centers 404. Each region 402 can include two or more availability zones (AZs) connected to one another via a private high-speed network); and the distributed unit comprises a virtualized distributed unit ([Col. 33, line 65- Col. 34, line 16] wherein FIG. 10 is a flow diagram illustrating operations of another method for launching compute instances in cloud provider network edge locations according to some embodiments. Some or all of the operations (or other processes described herein, or variations, and/or combinations thereof) are performed under the control of one or more computer systems configured with executable instructions and are implemented as code (e.g., executable instructions, one or more computer programs, or one or more applications) executing collectively on one or more processors, by hardware or combinations thereof. And in some embodiments, one or more (or all) of the operations are performed by one or more control plane services of a cloud provider network (e.g., the hardware virtualization services 606, 706, the edge location placement services 620, 720) of the other figures).
Regarding claim 11, Parulkar discloses a method, comprising: acquiring a latency requirement for a network connection to user equipment ([Col. 21, lines 60-Col. 22, line 1] wherein launch requests from the user 138 may include parameters specifying additional latency requirements.);
determining a first location within a data center hierarchy where a distributed unit is deployed for the network connection ([Col. 2, lines 10-20] wherein Parulkar discloses
computing resources managed by a cloud provider are deployed at edge locations of the cloud provider network integrated within communications service provider (CSP) networks. CSPs generally include companies that have deployed networks through which end users obtain network connectivity. For example, CSPs can include mobile or cellular network providers (e.g., operating 3G, 4G, and/or 5G networks), wired internet service providers (e.g., cable, digital subscriber lines, fiber, etc.), and WiFi providers (e.g., at locations such as hotels, coffee shops, airports, etc.); also see Col. 24, lines 16-20 and lines 29-34 wherein upon receipt of a request for suitable edge locations that satisfy a customer's requirements from the hardware virtualization service 606, the edge location placement service 622 can access the latency data 609 to identify which edge locations satisfy those requirements. The latency data can include point-to-point
latencies between base stations and edge locations, and the edge location placement
service 620 can identify the set of candidate edge locations that have communications latencies that satisfy the customer's latency constraint based on those latencies);
determining a second location within a data center hierarchy for running a user plane function based on the latency requirement for the network connection to the user equipment ([Col. 24, lines 16-20 and lines 29-34] wherein upon receipt of a request for suitable edge locations that satisfy a customer's requirements from the hardware virtualization service 606, the edge location placement service 622 can access the latency data 609 to identify which edge locations satisfy those requirements. The latency data can include point-to-point latencies between base stations and edge locations, and the edge location placement service 620 can identify the set of candidate edge locations that have communications latencies that satisfy the customer's latency constraint based on those latencies);
running the user plane function at the location within the data center hierarchy ([Col. 14, lines 65 - Col. 15, line 4 and Col. 24, lines 41 - 46] wherein in 5G wireless network development efforts, edge locations may be considered a possible implementation of Multi-access Edge Computing (MEC). Such edge locations can be connected to various points within a CSP 5G network that provide a breakout for data traffic as part of the User Plane Function (UPF) and in addition to identifying edge locations that satisfy the customer's latency requirements, the edge location placement service 622 can further narrow the suitable edge locations by the customer's other parameters, if specified);
and routing one or more user plane packets between a radio access network in
communication with the user equipment and a data network using the distributed unit and the user plane function ([Col. 24, lines 24-29] wherein the routing between those base stations and edge locations 510 may vary (e.g., some may have to traverse aggregation sites such as the aggregation site 206, some may have additional hops in the network path from the base station to an edge location, etc.).). (Note: Parulkar states in Col. 14, line 66 - Col. 15, line 4, "In 5G wireless network development efforts, edge locations may be considered a possible implementation of Multi-access Edge Computing (MEC). Such edge locations can be connected to various points within a CSP 5G network that provide a breakout for data traffic as part of the User Plane Function (UPF).". In other words, a 5G edge location includes a User Plane Function (UPF). For the purpose of this examination, any mention of an edge location includes a User Plane Function.)
Regarding the amendments to claim 11 which are the same amendments made to claim 1, see the Michalopoulos and Koh references, which teach the conventional functions of the user and data planes), which as described above in the rejection of claim 1, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant's claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of the user/data planes of Michalopoulos and Koh into Parulkar, as certain layers are more efficiently processed at the edge devices and other layers/functions are more efficiently processed at core network devices, as is known in the art of distributed processing.
Regarding claim 14, Parulkar discloses the method of claim 12, wherein: the distributed unit comprises a virtualized distributed unit ([Col. 33, line 65- Col. 34, line 16] wherein FIG. 10 is a flow diagram illustrating operations of another method for launching compute instances in cloud provider network edge locations according to some embodiments. Some or all of the operations (or other processes described herein, or variations, and/or combinations thereof) are performed under the control of one or more computer systems configured with executable instructions and are implemented as code (e.g., executable instructions, one or more computer programs, or one or more applications) executing collectively on one or more processors, by hardware or combinations thereof. And in some embodiments, one or more (or all) of the operations are performed by one or more control plane services of a cloud provider network (e.g., the hardware virtualization services 606, 706, the edge location placement services 620, 720) of the other figures);
the user equipment comprises a mobile computing device ([Col. 40, lines 58-63] wherein Parulkar discloses user or client devices can include any of a number of general-purpose personal computers, such as desktop or laptop computers running a standard operating system, as well as cellular, wireless, and handheld devices running mobile software and capable of supporting a number of networking and messaging protocols); and
the location within the data center hierarchy corresponds with a local data center ([Col. 19, lines 23-30] wherein an edge location 406 can be structured in several ways. In some implementations, an edge location 406 can be an extension of the cloud provider network substrate including a limited quantity of capacity provided outside of an availability zone (e.g., in a small data center or other facility of the cloud provider that is located close to a customer workload and that may be distant from any availability zones).).
Regarding claim 16, Parulkar discloses the method of claim 11, wherein: the determining the location within the data center hierarchy includes determining the location within the data center hierarchy based on a one-way latency requirement from the user equipment ([Col. 25, lines 38-42] wherein latency typically refers to either the one-way time between one device sending a message to a recipient and the recipient receiving the message or to the round-trip time between one device issuing a request and subsequently receiving a response to that request.).
Regarding claim 17, Parulkar discloses the method of claim 11, wherein: the latency requirement comprises a one-way latency requirement from the user equipment to the user plane function ([Col. 25, lines 38-42] wherein latency typically refers to either the one-way time between one device sending a message to a recipient and the recipient receiving the message or to the round-trip time between one device issuing a request and subsequently receiving a response to that request).
Regarding claim 18, Parulkar discloses the method of claim 11, wherein: the latency requirement for the network connection comprises a round-trip latency requirement between the user equipment and the data network ([Col. 25, lines 40-45] wherein the round-trip time between one device issuing a request and subsequently receiving a response to that request. In some embodiments, latency data 609 provides or allows for the derivation of latencies between various points for use in placement determinations by the edge location placement service 622. Note: In Col. 25, lines 38-42, Parulkar mentions that latency typically refers to either the one-way time between one device sending a message to a recipient and the recipient receiving the message or to the round-trip time between one device issuing a request and subsequently receiving a response to that request.).
Regarding claim 19, Parulkar discloses a system, comprising: a first data center including a first server cluster, the first server cluster configured to run a virtualized distributed unit in communication with a user plane function ([Col. 16, lines 33-38] wherein the provider substrate extension servers 310 can host compute instances 312. Compute instances can be VMs, micro VMs, or containers that package up code and all its dependencies so an application can run quickly and reliably across computing environments (e.g., including VMs). Col. 23, lines 26-38 further discloses an example of communication between an in-region application running in a private network and an application running in a provider substrate extension); and
a second data center including a second server cluster, the second server cluster
configured to acquire a latency requirement for a network connection to user equipment and identify a location of the virtualized distributed unit, the second server cluster configured to determine a data center location within a data center hierarchy for running the user plane function based on the latency requirement for the network connection to the user equipment and the location of the virtualized distributed unit running on a server of the first server cluster in the first data center, the second server cluster configured to output an instruction to cause the user plane function to be run at the data center location ([Col. 36, lines 8-26] wherein operations include, at block 1106, identifying a second provider substrate extension of the cloud provider network that satisfies the latency constraint for communications with the mobile device via the second access point. As described with reference to FIG. 8, placement techniques
such as those described with reference to FIGS. 6 and 7 can be used to identify another suitable provider substrate extension that meets the latency requirement given the mobile device's connectivity through the second access point. The hardware virtualization service 806 and the edge location placement service 820 can operate to identify candidate provider substrate extensions and select a provider substrate extension from those candidates on which to launch a compute instance.).
(Note: Parulkar states in Col. 14, line 66 - Col. 15, line 4, "In 5G wireless network
development efforts, edge locations may be considered a possible implementation of Multi-access Edge Computing (MEC). Such edge locations can be connected to various points within a CSP 5G network that provide a breakout for data traffic as part of the User Plane Function (UPF).". In other words, a 5G edge location includes a User Plane Function (UPF). For the purpose of this examination, any mention of an edge location includes a User Plane Function.)
Regarding the amendments to claim 19 which are the same amendments made to claim 1, see the Michalopoulos and Koh references, which teach the conventional functions of the user and data planes), which as described above in the rejection of claim 1, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant's claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of the user/data planes of Michalopoulos and Koh into Parulkar, as certain layers are more efficiently processed at the edge devices and other layers/functions are more efficiently processed at core network devices, as is known in the art of distributed processing.
Regarding claim 20, Parulkar discloses the system of claim 19, wherein: the latency requirement for the network connection to the user equipment comprises a one - way latency requirement from the user equipment to the user plane function ([Col. 25, lines 38-42] wherein latency typically refers to either the one-way time between one device sending a message to a recipient and the recipient receiving the message or to the round-trip time between one device issuing a request and subsequently receiving a response to that request);
the data center hierarchy includes the first data center and the second data center ([Col. 24, line 67- Col. 25, line 4] wherein the hardware virtualization service 606 can employ some cost function based on the various criteria to score each of the suitable edge locations and select the "best" edge location based on its score relative to the score of other edge locations.); and
the user plane function is configured to route one or more user plane packets between the user equipment and a data network ([Col. 24, lines 24-29] wherein the routing between those base stations and edge locations 510 may vary (e.g., some may have to traverse aggregation sites such as the aggregation site 206, some may have additional hops in the network path from the base station to an edge location, etc.).).
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the references applied to claims 1 and 11 above and further in view of Huiet al. (US 2021/0144726, hereinafter Hui).
Regarding claim 3, Parulkar discloses the system of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein: the one or more processors are configured to collocate the distributed unit and the user plane function at the data center location, the distributed unit is configured to perform medium access layer and radio link control layer operations for the network connection to the user equipment.
However, Hui discloses wherein: the one or more processors are configured to collocate the distributed unit and the user plane function at the data center location, the distributed unit is configured to perform medium access layer and radio link control layer operations for the network connection to the user equipment ([Para 0072, 0074, 0096] wherein Hui discloses the RLCs 213 and 223 may perform segmentation, retransmission operations through Automatic Repeat Request (ARQ), and removal of duplicate data units received from MACs 212 and 222, respectively and also in paragraph 0074, the MACs 212 and 222 may perform multiplexing/demultiplexing of logical channels and/or mapping between logical channels and transport channels. In paragraph 0096, Hui discloses a Generation Node B-Distributed Unit (gNB-DU or base station) Note: it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to know the gNB-DU utilize processors to collocation of various components (i.e., distributed unit and user plane function).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of applicant's claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Hui et al. into the invention of Parulkar in order to manage how data is transmitted over the radio interface, allowing for the independent scaling of these functional blocks, efficient resource management, and adaptability to different deployment scenarios and use cases.
Regarding claim 13, Parulkar discloses the method of claim 11, but fails to teach further comprising: collocating the distributed unit and the user plane function at the location within the data center hierarchy; and performing medium access layer and radio link control layer operations using the distributed unit.
However, Hui teaches collocating the distributed unit and the user plane function at the location within the data center hierarchy ([Para 0096] wherein Hui discloses a Generation Node B-Distributed Unit (gNB-DU or base station) may comprise the Radio Link Control (RLC) and the Medium Access Control (MAC). Paragraph 0063 also states the gNB 160A may be connected to the UPF 158B of the AMF/UPF 158 by means of an NG-User plane (NG-U) interface.); and
performing medium access layer and radio link control layer operations using the
distributed unit ([Para 0072, 0074] wherein Hui discloses the RLCs 213 and 223 may perform segmentation, retransmission operations through Automatic Repeat Request (ARQ), and removal of duplicate data units received from MACs 212 and 222, respectively and also in paragraph 0074, the MACs 212 and 222 may perform multiplexing and/or demultiplexing of logical channels and/or mapping between logical channels and transport channels.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of applicant's claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Hui et al. into the invention of Parulkar in order to efficiently manage and optimize data transmission and maintain a reliable connection.
Claims 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the references as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (US 2021/0092647, hereinafter Yang).
Regarding claim 10, Parulkar discloses the system of claim 1, But fails to teach wherein: the one or more processors are configured to assign the user plane function to a first data center and assign a session management function that is paired with the user plane function to a second data center different from the first data center.
However, Yang teaches wherein: the one or more processors are configured to
assign the user plane function to a first data center and assign a session management function that is paired with the user plane function to a second data center different from the first data center ([Para 0023] wherein As Yang discloses multiple distributed CU, AMF, and/or SMF functionalities may be positioned or dynamically instantiated (e.g., within configurable control node(s) 120) at different locations within a network (not shown) and used to perform access and session management for handling traffic from one or more UEs. Paragraph 0021 also states SMF functionalities may be configured to perform session establishment, session modification, and/or session release, perform IP address allocation and management, perform Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (DHCP) functions, such as assigning end device IP addresses, perform selection and control of user plane function (UPF) components, configure traffic steering to guide the traffic to the correct destinations, perform lawful intercepts, charge data collection, support charging interfaces, control and coordinate of charging data collection, terminate session management parts of Non-Access Stratum (NAS) messages, perform downlink data notification, manage roaming functionality, and/or perform other types of control plane processes for managing user plane data using the NAS session management (NAS-SM) protocol.) (Note: Paragraph 0029 states that although not illustrated in FIG. 2, edge cloud 220 may include additional instances of CU 225, AMF 255, SMF 260, and/or UPF 265. In other words, the SMF 260 and UPF 265 can be configured to work together).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of applicant's claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Yang into the invention of Parulkar in order to optimize the placement and scalability of network functions based on their specific requirements, ensuring high speed and low latency service.
Regarding claim 15, Parulkar discloses the method of claim 11, but fails to disclose further comprising: assigning the user plane function to a first data center; and
assigning a session management function that is paired with the user plane function to a second data center different from the first data center.
However, Yang discloses assigning the user plane function to a first data center ([Para 0023] wherein As Yang discloses multiple distributed CU, AMF, and/or SMF functionalities may be positioned or dynamically instantiated (e.g., within configurable control node(s) 120) at different locations within a network (not shown) and used to perform access and session management for handling traffic from one or more UEs. Paragraph 0021 also states SMF functionalities may be configured to perform session establishment, session modification, and/or session release, perform IP address allocation and management, perform Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (DHCP) functions, such as assigning end device IP addresses, perform selection and control of user plane function (UPF) components, configure traffic steering to guide the traffic to the correct destinations, perform lawful intercepts, charge data collection,
support charging interfaces, control and coordinate of charging data collection, terminate session management parts of Non-Access Stratum (NAS) messages, perform downlink data notification, manage roaming functionality, and/or perform other types of control plane processes for managing user plane data using the NAS session management (NAS-SM) protocol); and
assigning a session management function that is paired with the user plane function to a second data center different from the first data center ([Para 0021] wherein Yang discloses SMF functionalities may be configured to perform session establishment, session modification, and/or session release, perform IP address allocation and management, perform Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (DHCP) functions, such as assigning end device IP addresses, perform selection and control of user plane function (UPF) components, configure traffic steering to guide the traffic to the correct destinations. In other words, the SMF can be configured to be assigned to end device IP addresses (e.g., base station #1 and/or base station #2) at the client's discretion or request.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of applicant's claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Yang et al. into the invention of Parulkar in order to optimize the placement within separate locations and scalability of network functions based on their specific requirements, ensuring high speed and low latency service.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are now moot because of the new grounds of rejection (Michalopoulos and Koh).
/STEVEN S KELLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646