DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-30 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 10, 19 and 25 are amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 112 applicant’s arguments, see page 10 paragraphs 6, filed January 12, 2026, with respect to claims -30 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the 112 rejection has been withdrawn. However, a new ground of rejection is presented in view of the claim amendments. Please see below.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 102 applicant’s arguments, see page 11 paragraphs 1 - page 14, filed January 12, 2026, with respect to claims 10-16, 18 and 25-29 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 10-16, 18 and 25-29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Hence a new ground of rejection is further made in view of Wager et al. (US Pub. No.: 2016/0050054).
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 103 applicant’s arguments, see page 15 - page 17, filed January 12, 2026, with respect to claims 1-9 and 19-24 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1 and 19, the applicant argued that, see page 15, “…. Applicant respectfully submits that PARK and WAGER do not disclose each and every feature recited in amended claim 1. For example, PARK and WAGER do not disclose "provide, to the second network node via assistance information, non-binding analytics-based information associated with the wireless link," as recited in amended claim 1 (emphasis added). The Office Action relies on paragraphs 0249 0285, 0311, 0289, 0296, 0308, 0311, 0324, and 0325 of PARK for allegedly disclosing "provide non-binding analytics-based information associated with the wireless link," as recited in previously presented claim 1. See Office Action, pages 9-10. Even assuming that the Examiner's interpretation of PARK is reasonable, which Applicant does not concede, Applicant respectfully submits that PARK fails to disclose the features recited in amended claim 1”.
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above. Please see section 11 below.
Regarding claims 1 and 19, Park clearly teaches, receive, from a user equipment (UE) (a user equipment (UE) (see Fig.3, Wireless Device 110, UE Fig.32,) or an application server, link information associated with a wireless link, the wireless link being between a second network node and the UE
receive link information associated with a wireless link, the wireless link being between a second network node (see Fig.32-35, IAB-node1, here link 2 is interpreted as a combination of link 2 and blockage link between IAB-node 1 and IAB doner node, hence IAB-node failure indication, see para. 0205, Fig.32-35, para. 0285, the wireless device transmits, to the first network node / receiving at eh first node, and the third network node and in response to receiving the backhaul link blockage information, clearly there is a link between the US and a second node, a first message indicating the blockage, the first message comprise at least one of: a first identifier (e.g. MT identifier, UE identifier, TMSI, C-RNTI, IMSI, F1 UE identifier, NG UE identifier) of the second network node; a base station identifier (e.g. gNB identifier, gNB-DU identifier) of the second network node; an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) identifier (e.g. IAB-node identifier) of the second network node; a transmit and reception point (TRP) identifier of the second network node; a cell identifier (e.g. physical cell identifier, global cell identifier) of a cell of the second network node; a beam identifier (e.g. a beam index of a beam, SS beam, CSI-RS beam, beam group identifier/index of one or more beams) of a cell of the second network node; a bearer identifier (e.g. logical channel identifier, QoS flow identifier, PDU session identifier) of the first bearer; a link identifier (e.g. F1 identifier, NG identifier) of the first radio link); and
provide configuration parameters associated with the wireless link (see para. 0311, a second network node receive, from a first network node, at least one configuration message (e.g. RRC message) comprising bearer configuration parameters of a first bearer for a wireless device. The first bearer is configured via the second network node. In an example, the second network node transmit/receive, to/from the wireless device, packets via the first bearer. In an example, the second network node determines a blockage of a first radio link established between the first network node and the second network node. In an example, the second network node transmits, to the wireless device, an indication comprising backhaul link blockage information. The backhaul link blockage information may indicate the blockage of the first radio link, see also para. 0324, the wireless device receive, from the second network node, backhaul link recovery information indicating a recovery of the first radio link, see also para. 0325, see also para. 0249, as shown in FIG. 35, FIG. 36, FIG. 37, and/or FIG. 38, the wireless device may receive, from the first network node, at least one message (e.g. at least one radio resource control message) comprising configuration parameters of a plurality of bearers. The plurality of bearers may comprise at least one of a first bearer configured via the second network node and/or a second bearer configured via the third network node. In an example, the third network node may be the first network node, and the second bearer may be configured directly between the first network node and the wireless device. In an example, the at least one message may be transmitted via the second network node and/or the third network node, 0289, the wireless device receives, from the first network node (and/or the third network node), backhaul link recovery information indicating a recovery of the first radio link (e.g. the third network node may receive the backhaul link recovery information from the first network node and/or the second network node). The backhaul link recovery information received from the first network node (and/or the third network node) may comprise at least one of: a medium access control control element (MAC CE) (e.g. the backhaul link recovery information may be transmitted via MAC CE); an uplink grant of the second network node (e.g. an uplink grant may indicate the recovery of the first radio link); a physical layer command comprising downlink control information (DCI) (e.g. the backhaul link recovery information may be transmitted via DCI); an RRC message (e.g. the backhaul link recovery information may be transmitted via an RRC message); a downlink assignment (e.g. downlink transmission assignment may indicate the recovery of the first radio link); an activation indication (e.g. MAC CE) of a cell of the second network node (e.g. an activation indication may indicate the recovery of the first radio link); and/or a medium access control packet data unit (MAC PDU) via a configured downlink assignment (e.g. a MAC PDU may indicate the recovery of the first radio link, see also para. 0296, 0308), the Examiner further states that Wagner disclose receive link information associated with a wireless link, the wireless link being between a second network node and a user equipment (UE); and provide, to the second network node via assistance information, non-binding analytics-based information associated with a wireless link (see Fig.2b, para. 0050, when the second radio base station 13 receives suitable measurement report from the wireless terminal 10 / receive link information associated with a wireless link, the second radio base station 13 request a neighboring eNB, such as the first radio base station 12 also labeled SeNB, to reserve resources for the wireless terminal 10 and establish UL connectivity / provide non-binding analytics-based information associated with the wireless link. The first radio base station 12 respond to the second radio base station 13 with the UL configuration for the wireless terminal 10, which the second radio base station 13 forwards to the wireless terminal 10).
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the system as disclosed by Park and Wagner, reads upon the broadly claimed limitation of “receive, from a user equipment (UE) or an application server, link information associated with a wireless link, the wireless link being between a second network node and the UE; and provide, to the second network node via assistance information, non-binding analytics-based information associated with the wireless link” as recites in the claim.
Regarding claims 1 and 19, the applicant further argued that, see page 16 paragraph 4, “…. Applicant respectfully submits that PARK and TEYEB do not disclose each and every feature recited in amended claim 1. For example, PARK and WAGER do not disclose "provide, to the second network node via assistance information, non-binding analytics-based information associated with the wireless link," as recited in amended claim 1 (emphasis added). The Office Action relies on paragraphs 0249 0285, 0311, 0289, 0296, 0308, 0311, 0324, and 0325 of PARK for allegedly disclosing "provide non-binding analytics-based information associated with the wireless link," as recited in previously presented claim 1. See Office Action, pages 9-10. Even assuming that the Examiner's interpretation of PARK is reasonable, which Applicant does not concede, Applicant respectfully submits that PARK fails to disclose the features recited in amended claim 1. Each of these cited portion of PARK merely discuss mandatory or compelling control information between devices, or information regarding backhaul links, for example as discussed above with reference to amended claim 10. Moreover the Office Action does not rely on TEYEB as allegedly disclosing these features, and TEYEB also does not disclose these features. For at least these reasons, PARK and TEYEB do not disclose "provide, to the second network node via assistance information, non-binding analytics-based information associated with the wireless link," as recited in amended claim 1”.
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above. Please see section 11 below.
Regarding claims 1 and 19, Park clearly teaches receive, from a user equipment (UE) (see Fig.3, Wireless Device 110, UE Fig.32) or an application server, link information associated with a wireless link, the wireless link being between a second network node (see Fig.32-35, IAB-node1, see Fig.3, here link 2 is interpreted as a combination of link 2 and blockage link between IAB-node 1 and IAB doner node, hence IAB-node failure indication, see para. 0205, Fig.32-35, para. 0285, the wireless device transmits, to the first network node and/or the third network node and in response to receiving the backhaul link blockage information, clearly there is a link between the US and a second node, a first message indicating the blockage, the first message may comprise at least one of: a first identifier (e.g. MT identifier, UE identifier, TMSI, C-RNTI, IMSI, F1 UE identifier, NG UE identifier) of the second network node; a base station identifier (e.g. gNB identifier, gNB-DU identifier) of the second network node; an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) identifier (e.g. IAB-node identifier) of the second network node; a transmit and reception point (TRP) identifier of the second network node; a cell identifier (e.g. physical cell identifier, global cell identifier) of a cell of the second network node; a beam identifier (e.g. a beam index of a beam, SS beam, CSI-RS beam, beam group identifier/index of one or more beams) of a cell of the second network node; a bearer identifier (e.g. logical channel identifier, QoS flow identifier, PDU session identifier) of the first bearer; a link identifier (e.g. F1 identifier, NG identifier) of the first radio link); and
provide configuration parameters associated with the wireless link (see para. 0311, a second network node receive, from a first network node, at least one configuration message (e.g. RRC message) comprising bearer configuration parameters of a first bearer for a wireless device. The first bearer is configured via the second network node. In an example, the second network node transmit/receive, to/from the wireless device, packets via the first bearer. In an example, the second network node determines a blockage of a first radio link established between the first network node and the second network node. In an example, the second network node transmits, to the wireless device, an indication comprising backhaul link blockage information. The backhaul link blockage information may indicate the blockage of the first radio link, see also para. 0324, the wireless device receive, from the second network node, backhaul link recovery information indicating a recovery of the first radio link, see also para. 0325, see also para. 0249, as shown in FIG. 35, FIG. 36, FIG. 37, and/or FIG. 38, the wireless device may receive, from the first network node, at least one message (e.g. at least one radio resource control message) comprising configuration parameters of a plurality of bearers. The plurality of bearers may comprise at least one of a first bearer configured via the second network node and/or a second bearer configured via the third network node. In an example, the third network node may be the first network node, and the second bearer may be configured directly between the first network node and the wireless device. In an example, the at least one message may be transmitted via the second network node and/or the third network node 0289, the wireless device receives, from the first network node (and/or the third network node), backhaul link recovery information indicating a recovery of the first radio link (e.g. the third network node may receive the backhaul link recovery information from the first network node and/or the second network node). The backhaul link recovery information received from the first network node (and/or the third network node) may comprise at least one of: a medium access control control element (MAC CE) (e.g. the backhaul link recovery information may be transmitted via MAC CE); an uplink grant of the second network node (e.g. an uplink grant may indicate the recovery of the first radio link); a physical layer command comprising downlink control information (DCI) (e.g. the backhaul link recovery information may be transmitted via DCI); an RRC message (e.g. the backhaul link recovery information may be transmitted via an RRC message); a downlink assignment (e.g. downlink transmission assignment may indicate the recovery of the first radio link); an activation indication (e.g. MAC CE) of a cell of the second network node (e.g. an activation indication may indicate the recovery of the first radio link); and/or a medium access control packet data unit (MAC PDU) via a configured downlink assignment (e.g. a MAC PDU may indicate the recovery of the first radio link, see also para. 0296, 0308), the Examiner further states that Teyeb disclose provide, to the second network node via assistance information, non-binding analytics-based information associated with the wireless link (see Fig.3, para. 0092, 0103-0104, IAB1 and IAB4 is configured to have one of the paths as a default path and use the other one as a backup in case of radio link failure. IAB1 and IAB4 is configured by the network to independently decide on how to route the packets / provide non-binding analytics-based information. The routing decision in the UL means that the IAB node request scheduling on (e.g., only on) the chosen parent (e.g., or use the available grants, if already available), see also para. 0152-0154).
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the system as disclosed by Park and Teyeb, reads upon the broadly claimed limitation of “receive, from a user equipment (UE) or an application server, link information associated with a wireless link, the wireless link being between a second network node and the UE; and provide, to the second network node via assistance information, non-binding analytics-based information associated with the wireless link” as recites in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to recites in lines 3-4, “receive, from a user equipment (UE) or an application server, link information associated with a wireless link, the wireless link being between a second network node and the UE”. It is unclear whether “the wireless link being between a second network node and the UE”, since the first node receive, from a user equipment (UE) or an application server. It is unclear the relationship between “receive from an application server” and the remainder of the claim.
Claim 1 has been amended to recites in lines 6-7, “provide, to the second network node via assistance information, non-binding analytics-based information associated with the wireless link”.
It is unclear as what is meant by “assistance information”. Instant specification paragraph 0071, disclose “The near-RT RIC may generate control and assistance information based at least in part on one or more metrics provided by the UE”, paragraph 0078, “In some aspects described herein, a near-RT RIC may provide assistance information to the RAN node, without the assistance information compelling the RAN node to perform a requested task or set an indicated policy. This assistance information may be used by the RAN node to perform one or more RRM actions which is not controlled by RIC”, paragraph 0079, “Some examples of the assistance information may include information regarding UE behavior to a MAC scheduler of the RAN node”, paragraph 80, “The assistance information may be referred to as Class 2 Assistance Information and/or non-binding analytics-based information”, paragraph 81, “In some aspects, an E2AP RIC assistance information message structure may include fields for IE/group names, a presence indicator, a range, an information element (IE) type and reference, a semantics description, an indication of criticality, and/or an indication of assigned criticality. IE/group names associated with the non-binding analytics-based information may include a RIC assistance information header and/or a RIC assistance information definition, with each defined in respective E2SMs”. It is unclear whether/how the first network node provide, to the second network node via assistance information, non-binding analytics-based information associated with the wireless link.
Examiner Note: Per Fig.5, paragraph 0090, “[0090] As shown by reference number 520, the first network node may provide the non-binding analytics-based information to the second network node. In some aspects, the first network may provide the non-binding analytics-based information to the second network node via a an E2 connection.”
Claims 10, 19 and 25 are also rejected for the same reason as set forth above for claim 1.
Claim 10 has been amended to recite in lines 5-7, “receive, from a first network node via assistance information, non-binding analytics-based information associated with a wireless link, the wireless link being between the RAN node and a user equipment (UE)”. It is unclear whether the RAN node “receive, from a first network node via assistance information, non-binding analytics-based information associated with a wireless link, the wireless link being between the RAN node and a user equipment (UE)”, since there are no steps in the claim on communication between the UE and first node. See claim 5, step 510.
Examiner Note: Per instant specification paragraph 0084, “As shown by reference number 505, the UE or application server may obtain link information associated with a link between the UE and the second network node. The link information may be associated with a wireless link between the second network node and the UE. For example, the UE may measure one or more parameters of the Uu interface, may predict an amount, periodicity, priority, and/or duration of expected communications. For example, the UE may expect to communicate using downlink communications with a periodicity that is based at least in part on a refresh rate of a stream of data received by the UE. Similarly, the UE may expect to communicate using uplink communications with a periodicity that is based at least in part on a refresh rate of a stream of data transmitted by the UE.”.
Claims 2-9, 11-18 and 20-24 are also rejected since they are depended on the independent claims 1 and 19, respectfully, as set forth above.
For purpose of examination, the examiner interprets the limitation as best understood.
Notice re prior art available under both pre-AIA and AIA
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US Pub. No.: 2021/0195674), and further in view of Wager et al. (US Pub. No.: 2016/0050054).
As per claim 1, Park disclose A first network node (see Fig.3, Figs, 32-35, Base Station 1, IAB doner node, see para. 0172-0173) for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories (see Fig.3, base station 1, 120A, at least one set of program code instructions 323A stored in non-transitory memory 322A, see para. 0058); and
one or more processors (see Fig.3, at least one processor 321A), coupled to the one or more memories (see para. 0058, at least one set of program code instructions 323A stored in non-transitory memory 322A and executable by the at least one processor 321A), configured to:
receive, from a user equipment (UE) (a user equipment (UE) (see Fig.3, Wireless Device 110, UE Fig.32,) or an application server, link information associated with a wireless link, the wireless link being between a second network node and the UE
receive link information associated with a wireless link, the wireless link being between a second network node (see Fig.32-35, IAB-node1, here link 2 is interpreted as a combination of link 2 and blockage link between IAB-node 1 and IAB doner node, hence IAB-node failure indication, see para. 0205, Fig.32-35, para. 0285, the wireless device transmits, to the first network node / receiving at eh first node, and the third network node and in response to receiving the backhaul link blockage information, clearly there is a link between the US and a second node, a first message indicating the blockage, the first message comprise at least one of: a first identifier (e.g. MT identifier, UE identifier, TMSI, C-RNTI, IMSI, F1 UE identifier, NG UE identifier) of the second network node; a base station identifier (e.g. gNB identifier, gNB-DU identifier) of the second network node; an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) identifier (e.g. IAB-node identifier) of the second network node; a transmit and reception point (TRP) identifier of the second network node; a cell identifier (e.g. physical cell identifier, global cell identifier) of a cell of the second network node; a beam identifier (e.g. a beam index of a beam, SS beam, CSI-RS beam, beam group identifier/index of one or more beams) of a cell of the second network node; a bearer identifier (e.g. logical channel identifier, QoS flow identifier, PDU session identifier) of the first bearer; a link identifier (e.g. F1 identifier, NG identifier) of the first radio link); and
provide configuration parameters associated with the wireless link (see para. 0311, a second network node receive, from a first network node, at least one configuration message (e.g. RRC message) comprising bearer configuration parameters of a first bearer for a wireless device. The first bearer is configured via the second network node. In an example, the second network node transmit/receive, to/from the wireless device, packets via the first bearer. In an example, the second network node determines a blockage of a first radio link established between the first network node and the second network node. In an example, the second network node transmits, to the wireless device, an indication comprising backhaul link blockage information. The backhaul link blockage information may indicate the blockage of the first radio link, see also para. 0324, the wireless device receive, from the second network node, backhaul link recovery information indicating a recovery of the first radio link, see also para. 0325, see also para. 0249, as shown in FIG. 35, FIG. 36, FIG. 37, and/or FIG. 38, the wireless device may receive, from the first network node, at least one message (e.g. at least one radio resource control message) comprising configuration parameters of a plurality of bearers. The plurality of bearers may comprise at least one of a first bearer configured via the second network node and/or a second bearer configured via the third network node. In an example, the third network node may be the first network node, and the second bearer may be configured directly between the first network node and the wireless device. In an example, the at least one message may be transmitted via the second network node and/or the third network node, 0289, the wireless device receives, from the first network node (and/or the third network node), backhaul link recovery information indicating a recovery of the first radio link (e.g. the third network node may receive the backhaul link recovery information from the first network node and/or the second network node). The backhaul link recovery information received from the first network node (and/or the third network node) may comprise at least one of: a medium access control control element (MAC CE) (e.g. the backhaul link recovery information may be transmitted via MAC CE); an uplink grant of the second network node (e.g. an uplink grant may indicate the recovery of the first radio link); a physical layer command comprising downlink control information (DCI) (e.g. the backhaul link recovery information may be transmitted via DCI); an RRC message (e.g. the backhaul link recovery information may be transmitted via an RRC message); a downlink assignment (e.g. downlink transmission assignment may indicate the recovery of the first radio link); an activation indication (e.g. MAC CE) of a cell of the second network node (e.g. an activation indication may indicate the recovery of the first radio link); and/or a medium access control packet data unit (MAC PDU) via a configured downlink assignment (e.g. a MAC PDU may indicate the recovery of the first radio link, see also para. 0296, 0308).
Although Park disclose to provide configuration parameters associated with the wireless link;
Park however does not explicitly disclose to provide, to the second network node via assistance information, non-binding analytics-based information associated with the wireless link;
Wagner however disclose receive link information associated with a wireless link, the wireless link being between a second network node and a user equipment (UE); and provide, to the second network node via assistance information, non-binding analytics-based information associated with a wireless link (see Fig.2b, para. 0050, when the second radio base station 13 receives suitable measurement report from the wireless terminal 10 / receive link information associated with a wireless link, the second radio base station 13 request a neighboring eNB, such as the first radio base station 12 also labeled SeNB, to reserve resources for the wireless terminal 10 and establish UL connectivity / provide non-binding analytics-based information associated with the wireless link. The first radio base station 12 respond to the second radio base station 13 with the UL configuration for the wireless terminal 10, which the second radio base station 13 forwards to the wireless terminal 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide, to the second network node via assistance information, non-binding analytics-based information associated with the wireless link, as taught by Wagner, in the system of Park, so as to provide a mechanism for enabling an improvement of the performance of a radio communications network, see Wagner, paragraphs 10-12.
As per claim 2, the combination of Park and Wagner disclose the first network node of claim 1.
Wagner further disclose wherein the non-binding analytics-based information comprises a recommendation for a configuration for the wireless link between the second network node and the UE (see para. 0050, the second radio base station 13 request a neighboring eNB, such as the first radio base station 12 also labeled SeNB, to reserve resources for the wireless terminal 10 and establish UL connectivity / a configuration for the wireless link between the second network node and the UE); and
Park further disclose wherein the non-binding analytics-based information comprises a recommendation for a configuration for the wireless link between the second network node and the UE (see para. 0289, the backhaul link recovery information received from the first network node (and/or the third network node) comprise at least one of: a medium access control control element (MAC CE) (e.g. the backhaul link recovery information may be transmitted via MAC CE); an uplink grant of the second network node (e.g. an uplink grant may indicate the recovery of the first radio link); a physical layer command comprising downlink control information (DCI) (e.g. the backhaul link recovery information may be transmitted via DCI); an RRC message (e.g. the backhaul link recovery information may be transmitted via an RRC message); a downlink assignment (e.g. downlink transmission assignment may indicate the recovery of the first radio link); an activation indication (e.g. MAC CE) of a cell of the second network node (e.g. an activation indication may indicate the recovery of the first radio link); and/or a medium access control packet data unit (MAC PDU) via a configured downlink assignment (e.g. a MAC PDU may indicate the recovery of the first radio link, see also para. 0296, 0308).
As per claim 3, the combination of Park and Wagner disclose the first network node of claim 1.
Park further disclose wherein the link information comprises application layer information (see Fig.2A-B, 5A, Fig.11A-11B, para. 0085, 0136, 0186, 0189, 0193, a master base station (e.g. MN 1130) and/or a secondary base station (e.g. SN 1150) may transmit/receive: packets of an MCG bearer via a master or secondary node SDAP layer (e.g. SDAP 1120, SDAP 1140), a master or secondary node PDCP layer (e.g. NR PDCP 1121, NR PDCP 1142), a master node RLC layer (e.g. MN RLC 1124, MN RLC 1125), and a master node MAC layer (e.g. MN MAC 1128); packets of an SCG bearer via a master or secondary node SDAP layer (e.g. SDAP 1120, SDAP 1140), a master or secondary node PDCP layer (e.g. NR PDCP 1122, NR PDCP 1143), a secondary node RLC layer (e.g. SN RLC 1146, SN RLC 1147), and a secondary node MAC layer (e.g. SN MAC 1148); packets of a split bearer via a master or secondary node SDAP layer (e.g. SDAP 1120, SDAP 1140), a master or secondary node PDCP layer (e.g. NR PDCP 1123, NR PDCP 1141), a master or secondary node RLC layer (e.g. MN RLC 1126, SN RLC 1144, SN RLC 1145, MN RLC 1127), and a master or secondary node MAC layer (e.g. MN MAC 1128, SN MAC 1148).
As per claim 4, the combination of Park and Wagner disclose the first network node of claim 1.
Park further disclose wherein the first network node comprises a radio access network (RAN) intelligent controller (RIC) (see Fig.3, Fig.16, Fig.32, para. 0246-0249, as shown in FIG. 32, FIG. 33, and/or FIG. 34, a wireless device (e.g. UE) may be served by a first network node (e.g. IAB-donor, gNB-CU, and/or gNB) and a second network node (e.g. IAB-node1, gNB-DU, and/or gNB). The second network node may be connected to the first network node via a first radio link (e.g. radio backhaul link, Uu interface, F1 interface, NG interface, S1 interface) at least to serve the wireless device, an IAB-donor (e.g. the first network node) may comprise gNB functions (e.g. PHY/MAC/RLC/PDCP/SDAP layer), gNB-CU functions (e.g. at least PDCP/SDAP layer), and/or UPF functions for the wireless device and/or an IAB-node).
Examiner Note: Instant specification, paragraph 32 disclose: “… the terms “base station” or “network node” may refer to an aggregated base station, a disaggregated base station, an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node, a relay node, or one or more components thereof. For example, in some aspects, “base station” or “network node” may refer to a CU, a DU, an RU, a Near-Real Time (Near-RT) RAN Intelligent Controller (RIC), or a Non-Real Time (Non-RT) RIC, or a combination thereof”.
As per claim 5, the combination of Park and Wagner disclose the first network node of claim 1.
Park further disclose wherein the one or more processors, to provide the non-binding analytics-based information, are configured to provide the non-binding analytics-based information via an E2 connection (see Fig.3. para. 0075-0076, the wireless link 330A and/or the wireless link 330B may comprise at least one of a bi-directional link and/or a directional link. The communication interface 310 of the wireless device 110 may be configured to communicate with the communication interface 320A of the base station 1 120A and/or with the communication interface 320B of the base station 2 120B. The base station 1 120A and the wireless device 110 and/or the base station 2 120B and the wireless device 110 may be configured to send and receive transport blocks via the wireless link 330A and/or via the wireless link 330B, respectively. The wireless link 330A and/or the wireless link 330B may employ at least one frequency carrier. According to some of various aspects of embodiments, transceiver(s) may be employed. A transceiver may be a device that comprises both a transmitter and a receiver. Transceivers may be employed in devices such as wireless devices, base stations, relay nodes, and/or the like. Example embodiments for radio technology implemented in the communication interface 310, 320A, 320B and the wireless link 330A, 330B are illustrated in FIG. 4A, FIG. 4B, FIG. 4C, FIG. 4D, FIG. 6, FIG. 7A, FIG. 7B, FIG. 8).
As per claim 6, the combination of Park and Wagner disclose the first network node of claim 1.
Park further disclose wherein the one or more processors, to provide the non-binding analytics-based information, are configured to provide the non-binding analytics-based information to one or more of: the second network node, a CU associated with the second network node, or a DU associated with the second network node (see Fig.16-Fig.24, Fig.32-35, para. 0189-0190, FIG. 16 shows an example diagram for IAB in standalone mode, which may contain one IAB-donor and multiple IAB-nodes. An IAB-donor may be treated as a single logical node that may comprise a set of functions such as gNB-DU, gNB-CU-CP, gNB-CU-UP and/or potentially other functions).
As per claim 7, the combination of Park and Wagner disclose the first network node of claim 1.
Park further disclose wherein the link information associated with the wireless link is associated with one or more of: UE uplink communications, or UE downlink communications (see para. 0239, IAB topologies may comprise a spanning tree (ST) and/or a directed acyclic graph (DAG). Directionality of Uu-backhaul link, defined by uplink and downlink, may be aligned with the hierarchy of ST and/or DAG. For ST, an IAB-node may have one parent node, which may be an IAB-node and/or an IAB-donor. For ST, an IAB-node may be connected to one IAB-donor at a time, and/or one route may exist between IAB-node and IAB-donor. For DAG, an IAB-node may be multi-connected, i.e., an IAB-node may have links to multiple parent nodes. For DAG, an IAB-node may have multiple routes to a node, e.g. an IAB-donor).
As per claim 19, claim 19 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
As per claim 20, claim 20 is rejected the same way as claim 2.
As per claim 21, claim 21 is rejected the same way as claim 3.
As per claim 22, claim 22 is rejected the same way as claim 4.
As per claim 23, claim 23 is rejected the same way as claim 6.
Claims 10-16, 18 and 25-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US Pub. No.: 2021/0195674), and further in view of Wager et al. (US Pub. No.: 2016/0050054).
As per claim 10, Park disclose A radio access network (RAN) node (see Fig.3, 32-35, Base Station 1, IAB-node, see para. 0172-0173) for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories (see Fig.3, base station 1, 120A, at least one set of program code instructions 323A stored in non-transitory memory 322A, see para. 0058); and
one or more processors (see Fig.3, at least one processor 321A), coupled to the one or more memories (see para. 0058, at least one set of program code instructions 323A stored in non-transitory memory 322A and executable by the at least one processor 321A), configured to:
receive non-binding analytics-based information associated with a wireless link, the wireless link being between the RAN node and a user equipment (UE) (see para. 0311, a second network node receive, from a first network node, at least one configuration message (e.g. RRC message) comprising bearer configuration parameters of a first bearer for a wireless device. The first bearer is configured via the second network node. In an example, the second network node transmit/receive, to/from the wireless device, packets via the first bearer. In an example, the second network node determines a blockage of a first radio link established between the first network node and the second network node. In an example, the second network node transmits, to the wireless device, an indication comprising backhaul link blockage information. The backhaul link blockage information may indicate the blockage of the first radio link, see also para. 0324, the wireless device receive, from the second network node, backhaul link recovery information indicating a recovery of the first radio link, see also para. 0325, see also para. 0249, as shown in FIG. 35, FIG. 36, FIG. 37, and/or FIG. 38, the wireless device may receive, from the first network node, at least one message (e.g. at least one radio resource control message) comprising configuration parameters of a plurality of bearers. The plurality of bearers may comprise at least one of a first bearer configured via the second network node and/or a second bearer configured via the third network node. In an example, the third network node may be the first network node, and the second bearer may be configured directly between the first network node and the wireless device. In an example, the at least one message may be transmitted via the second network node and/or the third network node, 0289, the wireless device receives, from the first network node (and/or the third network node), backhaul link recovery information indicating a recovery of the first radio link (e.g. the third network node may receive the backhaul link recovery information from the first network node and/or the second network node). The backhaul link recovery information received from the first network node (and/or the third network node) may comprise at least one of: a medium access control control element (MAC CE) (e.g. the backhaul link recovery information may be transmitted via MAC CE); an uplink grant of the second network node (e.g. an uplink grant may indicate the recovery of the first radio link); a physical layer command comprising downlink control information (DCI) (e.g. the backhaul link recovery information may be transmitted via DCI); an RRC message (e.g. the backhaul link recovery information may be transmitted via an RRC message); a downlink assignment (e.g. downlink transmission assignment may indicate the recovery of the first radio link); an activation indication (e.g. MAC CE) of a cell of the second network node (e.g. an activation indication may indicate the recovery of the first radio link); and/or a medium access control packet data unit (MAC PDU) via a configured downlink assignment (e.g. a MAC PDU may indicate the recovery of the first radio link, see also para. 0296, 0308); and
communicate with the UE using a radio resource management (RRM) configuration that is based at least in part on the non-binding analytics-based information (see para. 0286, after receiving the backhaul link blockage information, the wireless device receive, from the second network node, backhaul link recovery information indicating a recovery of the first radio link. The backhaul link recovery information may comprise at least one of: a medium access control control element (MAC CE) (e.g. the backhaul link recovery information may be transmitted via MAC CE); an uplink grant (e.g. an uplink grant may indicate the recovery of the first radio link); a physical layer command comprising downlink control information (DCI) (e.g. the backhaul link recovery information may be transmitted via DCI); an RRC message (e.g. the backhaul link recovery information may be transmitted via an RRC message); a downlink assignment (e.g. downlink transmission assignment may indicate the recovery of the first radio link); an activation indication (e.g. MAC CE) of a cell of the second network node (e.g. an activation indication may indicate the recovery of the first radio link); and/or a medium access control packet data unit (e.g. MAC PDU) via a configured downlink assignment (e.g. a MAC PDU may indicate the recovery of the first radio link; and/or the backhaul link recovery information may be transmitted via MAC PDU),see also para. 0288, the second network node may determine the recovery of the first radio link in response to at least one of: a (e.g. successful) beam failure recovery of one or more beams of a cell of the first network node; receiving a random access response (e.g. for one or more random access preambles transmitted via the wireless device) via a cell of the first network node; receiving a timing advance command of a cell (e.g. via the cell) of the first network node; receiving one or more acknowledgements of one or more radio link control (RLC) packets from the first network node; a reference signal received power/quality (RSRP/RSRQ) of one or more beams of a cell of the first network node and/or a cell of the first network node being (e.g. becoming) larger than or equal to a first power/quality value; receiving one or more hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedbacks from the first network node, see also para. 0050, a gNB or an ng-eNB host functions such as: radio resource management and scheduling, para. 0138, with respect to interaction between a master base station and a secondary base stations for multi-connectivity, one or more of the following may be applied: a master base station and/or a secondary base station may maintain RRM measurement configurations of a wireless device, para, 0204, 0205, an SSB/CSI-RS based RRM measurement may be supported for IAB-node discovery and/or measurement).
Although Park disclose receive non-binding analytics-based information associated with a wireless link, the wireless link being between the RAN node and a user equipment (UE);
Park however does not explicitly disclose receive, from a first network node via assistance information, non-binding analytics-based information associated with a wireless link, the wireless link being between the RAN node and a user equipment (UE);
Wagner however disclose receive, from a first network node via assistance information, non-binding analytics-based information associated with a wireless link, the wireless link being between the RAN node and a user equipment (UE) (see Fig.2b, para. 0050, when the second radio base station 13 receives suitable measurement report from the wireless terminal 10 / receive link information associated with a wireless link, the second radio base station 13 request a neighboring eNB, such as the first radio base station 12 also labeled SeNB, to reserve resources for the wireless terminal 10 and establish UL connectivity / provide non-binding analytics-based information associated with the wireless link. The first radio base station 12 respond to the second radio base station 13 with the UL configuration for the wireless terminal 10, which the second radio base station 13 forwards to the wireless terminal 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide, to the second network node via assistance information, non-binding analytics-based information associated with the wireless link, as taught by Wagner, in the system of Park, so as to provide a mechanism for enabling an improvement of the performance of a radio communications network, see Wagner, paragraphs 10-12.
As per claim 11, the combination of Park and Warner disclose the RAN node of claim 10.
Park further disclose wherein the non-binding analytics-based information comprises a recommendation for a configuration for the wireless link between the RAN node and the UE (see para. 0289, the backhaul link recovery information received from the first network node (and/or the third network node) comprise at least one of: a medium access control control element (MAC CE) (e.g. the backhaul link recovery information may be transmitted via MAC CE); an uplink grant of the second network node (e.g. an uplink grant may indicate the recovery of the first radio link); a physical layer command comprising downlink control information (DCI) (e.g. the backhaul link recovery information may be transmitted via DCI); an RRC message (e.g. the backhaul link recovery information may be transmitted via an RRC message); a downlink assignment (e.g. downlink transmission assignment may indicate the recovery of the first radio link); an activation indication (e.g. MAC CE) of a cell of the second network node (e.g. an activation indication may indicate the recovery of the first radio link); and/or a medium access control packet data unit (MAC PDU) via a configured downlink assignment (e.g. a MAC PDU may indicate the recovery of the first radio link, see also para. 0296, 0308).
As per claim 12, the combination of Park and Warner disclose the RAN node of claim 10.
Park further disclose wherein the one or more processors, to communicate with the UE using RRM that is based at least in part on the non-binding analytics-based information, are configured to: comply with the recommendation, not comply with the recommendation based at least in part on one or more RRM parameters at the RAN node, or comply with a modification to the recommendation (see para. 0138, 0289, with respect to interaction between a master base station and a secondary base stations for multi-connectivity, one or more of the following may be applied: a master base station and/or a secondary base station may maintain RRM measurement configurations of a wireless device; a master base station may (e.g. based on received measurement reports, traffic conditions, and/or bearer types) may decide to request a secondary base station to provide additional resources (e.g. serving cells) for a wireless device; upon receiving a request from a master base station, a secondary base station may create/modify a container that may result in configuration of additional serving cells for a wireless device (or decide that the secondary base station has no resource available to do so); for a UE capability coordination, a master base station may provide (a part of) an AS configuration and UE capabilities to a secondary base station; a master base station and a secondary base station may exchange information about a UE configuration by employing of RRC containers (inter-node messages) carried via Xn message).
As per claim 13, the combination of Park and Warner disclose the RAN node of claim 10.
Park further disclose wherein the non-binding analytics-based information is based at least in part on link information associated with the wireless link between the RAN node and the UE (see para. 0277, 0291, 0322, the wireless device may transmit, to the second network node, one or more scheduling request in response to receiving the backhaul link recovery information from the second network node, first network node, and/or the third network node. In an example, in response to receiving the backhaul link recovery information, the wireless device may start/restart a secondary cell deactivation timer of a cell of the second network node. In an example, in response to receiving the backhaul link recovery information, the wireless device may start transmitting a transport block to the second network node (e.g. via one or more resources of configured grant), see also para. 0255, the at least one acknowledge/response message may indicate whether the first bearer and/or the second bearer is successfully established by the wireless device. In an example, the at least one acknowledge/response message may be transmitted to the second network node (e.g. in case of IAB architecture group 2).
As per claim 14, the combination of Park and Warner disclose the RAN node of claim 10.
Park further disclose wherein the one or more processors, to receive the non-binding analytics-based information, are configured to: receive the non-binding analytics-based information via a radio access network (RAN) intelligent controller (RIC) (see Fig.3, Fig.16, Fig.32, para. 0246-0249, as shown in FIG. 32, FIG. 33, and/or FIG. 34, a wireless device (e.g. UE) may be served by a first network node (e.g. IAB-donor, gNB-CU, and/or gNB) and a second network node (e.g. IAB-node1, gNB-DU, and/or gNB). The second network node may be connected to the first network node via a first radio link (e.g. radio backhaul link, Uu interface, F1 interface, NG interface, S1 interface) at least to serve the wireless device, an IAB-donor (e.g. the first network node) may comprise gNB functions (e.g. PHY/MAC/RLC/PDCP/SDAP layer), gNB-CU functions (e.g. at least PDCP/SDAP layer), and/or UPF functions for the wireless device and/or an IAB-node).
Examiner Note: Instant specification, paragraph 32 disclose: “… the terms “base station” or “network node” may refer to an aggregated base station, a disaggregated base station, an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node, a relay node, or one or more components thereof. For example, in some aspects, “base station” or “network node” may refer to a CU, a DU, an RU, a Near-Real Time (Near-RT) RAN Intelligent Controller (RIC), or a Non-Real Time (Non-RT) RIC, or a combination thereof”.
As per claim 15, the combination of Park and Warner disclose the RAN node of claim 10.
Park further disclose wherein the one or more processors, to receive the non-binding analytics-based information, are configured to receive the non-binding analytics-based information via an E2 connection (see Fig.3. para. 0075-0076, he wireless link 330A and/or the wireless link 330B may comprise at least one of a bi-directional link and/or a directional link. The communication interface 310 of the wireless device 110 may be configured to communicate with the communication interface 320A of the base station 1 120A and/or with the communication interface 320B of the base station 2 120B. The base station 1 120A and the wireless device 110 and/or the base station 2 120B and the wireless device 110 may be configured to send and receive transport blocks via the wireless link 330A and/or via the wireless link 330B, respectively. The wireless link 330A and/or the wireless link 330B may employ at least one frequency carrier. According to some of various aspects of embodiments, transceiver(s) may be employed. A transceiver may be a device that comprises both a transmitter and a receiver. Transceivers may be employed in devices such as wireless devices, base stations, relay nodes, and/or the like. Example embodiments for radio technology implemented in the communication interface 310, 320A, 320B and the wireless link 330A, 330B are illustrated in FIG. 4A, FIG. 4B, FIG. 4C, FIG. 4D, FIG. 6, FIG. 7A, FIG. 7B, FIG. 8).
As per claim 16, the combination of Park and Warner disclose the RAN node of claim 10.
Park further disclose wherein the link information associated with the wireless link is associated with one or more of: UE uplink communications, or UE downlink communications (see para. 0239, IAB topologies may comprise a spanning tree (ST) and/or a directed acyclic graph (DAG). Directionality of Uu-backhaul link, defined by uplink and downlink, may be aligned with the hierarchy of ST and/or DAG. For ST, an IAB-node may have one parent node, which may be an IAB-node and/or an IAB-donor. For ST, an IAB-node may be connected to one IAB-donor at a time, and/or one route may exist between IAB-node and IAB-donor. For DAG, an IAB-node may be multi-connected, i.e., an IAB-node may have links to multiple parent nodes. For DAG, an IAB-node may have multiple routes to a node, e.g. an IAB-donor).
As per claim 18, the combination of Park and Warner disclose the RAN node of claim 10.
Park further disclose wherein the one or more processors, to communicate with the UE using radio resource management that is based at least in part on the non-binding analytics-based information, are configured to communicate based at least in part on the non-binding analytics-based information and one or more of: communications between the RAN node and one or more additional UEs, a frequency bandwidth of the RAN node, a capacity of over-the-air communications associated with the RAN node, available computing resources of the RAN node, available backhaul capacity between the RAN node and a core network, or available power resources of the RAN node (see Fig.8, para. 0101, multiple resource blocks may be grouped into a Resource Block Group (RBG) 804. In an example, a size of a RBG may depend on at least one of: a RRC message indicating a RBG size configuration; a size of a carrier bandwidth; or a size of a bandwidth part of a carrier. In an example, a carrier may comprise multiple bandwidth parts. A first bandwidth part of a carrier may have different frequency location and/or bandwidth from a second bandwidth part of the carrier, see para. 0291, the wireless device may transmit, to the second network node, one or more scheduling request in response to receiving the backhaul link recovery information from the second network node, first network node, and/or the third network node. In an example, in response to receiving the backhaul link recovery information, the wireless device may start/restart a secondary cell deactivation timer of a cell of the second network node. In an example, in response to receiving the backhaul link recovery information, the wireless device may start transmitting a transport block to the second network node (e.g. via one or more resources of configured grant). In an example, in response to receiving the backhaul link recovery information, the wireless device may start transmitting a buffer status report (BSR) to the second network node. In an example, in response to receiving the backhaul link recovery information, the wireless device may start transmitting a power headroom report (PHR) to the second network node. In an example, in response to receiving the backhaul link recovery information, the wireless device may start transmitting a sounding reference signal (SRS) to the second network node. In an example, in response to receiving the backhaul link recovery information, the wireless device may start transmitting channel state information (e.g. CSI) to the second network node).
As per claim 25, claim 25 is rejected the same way as claim 10.
As per claim 26, claim 26 is rejected the same way as claim 11.
As per claim 27, claim 27 is rejected the same way as claim 12.
As per claim 28, claim 28 is rejected the same way as claim 13.
As per claim 29, claim 29 is rejected the same way as claim 14.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US Pub. No.: 2021/0195674), in view of Wager et al. (US Pub. No.: 2016/0050054).and further in view of Ogura (US Pub. No.: 2021/0112447).
As per claim 8, the combination of Park and Wagner disclose the first network node of claim 1.
The combination of Park and Wagner however does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors, to receive the link information associated with the wireless link, are configured to receive the link information from the UE via an application server.
Ogura however disclose wherein one or more processors, to receive the link information associated with a wireless link, are configured to receive the link information from a UE via an application server (see Fig.1, 4, 6-7, para. 0035, 0039, the MEC-related control information to be sent from the MEC server 30 to the eNB 10 may be a radio resource control request. The radio resource control request requests the eNB 10 to adjust radio resource management or radio resource scheduling in the RAN. The MEC server 30 may generate a radio resource control request based on the MEC-related control information (e.g., radio interface quality, priority of a UE, or characteristics of a UE). For example, the radio resource control request may request the eNB 10 to release a radio connection(s) (i.e., Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection) of one or more UEs, or to perform an inter-cell or inter-Radio Access Technology (Inter-RAT) handover of one or more UEs, see also para. 0081).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein one or more processors, to receive the link information associated with a wireless link, are configured to receive the link information from a UE via an application server, as taught by Ogura, in the system of Park and Wagner, so as to provide a method that enable a MEC entity (e.g., MEC server) and a network node (e.g., base station, gateway) to exchange MEC-related control information, the MEC server communicating with UE, see Orgura, paragraphs 21-22, 35.
Claims 9 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US Pub. No.: 2021/0195674), in view of Wager et al. (US Pub. No.: 2016/0050054) and further in view of Sharma (US Pub. No.: 2021/0112447).
As per claim 9, the combination of Park and Wagner disclose the first network node of claim 1.
Park further disclose wherein the non-binding analytics-based information comprises recovery information (see para. 0289-0290, the wireless device receives, from the first network node (and/or the third network node), backhaul link recovery information indicating a recovery of the first radio link (e.g. the third network node may receive the backhaul link recovery information from the first network node and/or the second network node). The backhaul link recovery information received from the first network node (and/or the third network node) may comprise at least one of: a medium access control control element (MAC CE) (e.g. the backhaul link recovery information may be transmitted via MAC CE); an uplink grant of the second network node (e.g. an uplink grant may indicate the recovery of the first radio link); a physical layer command comprising downlink control information (DCI) (e.g. the backhaul link recovery information may be transmitted via DCI); an RRC message (e.g. the backhaul link recovery information may be transmitted via an RRC message); a downlink assignment (e.g. downlink transmission assignment may indicate the recovery of the first radio link); an activation indication (e.g. MAC CE) of a cell of the second network node (e.g. an activation indication may indicate the recovery of the first radio link); and/or a medium access control packet data unit (MAC PDU) via a configured downlink assignment (e.g. a MAC PDU may indicate the recovery of the first radio link, see also para. 0296, 0308).
Park however does not explicitly disclose wherein the non-binding analytics-based information comprises one or more of: an expected payload for communications between the UE and the second network node, an expected communication interval for the communications, an expected duration of the communications, or prioritization information for the communications.
Sharma however disclose wherein non-binding analytics-based information comprises one or more of: an expected payload for communications between the UE and the second network node, an expected communication interval for the communications, an expected duration of the communications, or prioritization information for the communications (see para. 21-22, the SeNB 5-2 may detect the availability of a communications channel on the carrier F2 and provide feedback to the MeNB 5-1 in the form of a value of an available buffer size. Specifically, the SeNB 5-2 reports the available buffer size corresponding to the UE 3 as ‘0’ if the communications channel on carrier F2 is unavailable, and reports the available buffer size corresponding to the UE 3 as a non-zero value if the channel is available. In this particular example, the base station 5-2 uses the DL DATA DELIVERY STATUS frame as described in TS 36.425 (see Table 1 below) for this purpose and more specifically one, or both, of the two parts (‘information elements (IEs)’) of that frame reserved for a “desired buffer size” (e.g. the “Desired buffer size for the E-RAB” and/or the “Minimum desired buffer size for the UE”). Where the Desired buffer size for the E-RAB IE is used this effectively informs the MeNB 5-1 of the availability of a communication channel for a specific E-RAB and UE (i.e. on a per UE and per E-RAB basis) and where the Minimum desired buffer size for the UE IE is used this effectively informs the MeNB 5-1 of the availability of a communication channel for a specific UE (i.e. on a per UE and per E-RAB basis). Effectively, therefore, use of the Desired buffer size for the E-RAB IE provides a finer granularity because it can individually provide channel status information for each respective E-RAB provided via the UE whereas use of the Minimum desired buffer size for the UE IE provides a coarser granularity for a whole UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein non-binding analytics-based information comprises one or more of: an expected payload for communications between the UE and the second network node, an expected communication interval for the communications, an expected duration of the communications, or prioritization information for the communications, as taught by Sharma, in the system of Park and Wagner, so as to reduce packet delay due to channel allocation, see Sharma, paragraphs 17-22.
As per claim 24, claim 24 is rejected the same way as claim 9.
Claims 17 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US Pub. No.: 2021/0195674), in view of Wager et al. (US Pub. No.: 2016/0050054) and further in view of Sharma (US Pub. No.: 2021/0112447).
As per claim 17, the combination of Park and Wagner disclose the RAN node of claim 11.
Park further disclose wherein the non-binding analytics-based information comprises recovery information (see para. 0289-0290, the wireless device receives, from the first network node (and/or the third network node), backhaul link recovery information indicating a recovery of the first radio link (e.g. the third network node may receive the backhaul link recovery information from the first network node and/or the second network node). The backhaul link recovery information received from the first network node (and/or the third network node) may comprise at least one of: a medium access control control element (MAC CE) (e.g. the backhaul link recovery information may be transmitted via MAC CE); an uplink grant of the second network node (e.g. an uplink grant may indicate the recovery of the first radio link); a physical layer command comprising downlink control information (DCI) (e.g. the backhaul link recovery information may be transmitted via DCI); an RRC message (e.g. the backhaul link recovery information may be transmitted via an RRC message); a downlink assignment (e.g. downlink transmission assignment may indicate the recovery of the first radio link); an activation indication (e.g. MAC CE) of a cell of the second network node (e.g. an activation indication may indicate the recovery of the first radio link); and/or a medium access control packet data unit (MAC PDU) via a configured downlink assignment (e.g. a MAC PDU may indicate the recovery of the first radio link, see also para. 0296, 0308).
The combination of Park and Wagner disclose however does not explicitly disclose wherein the non-binding analytics-based information comprises one or more of: an expected payload for communications between the UE and the second network node, an expected communication interval for the communications, an expected duration of the communications, or prioritization information for the communications.
Sharma however disclose wherein non-binding analytics-based information comprises one or more of: an expected payload for communications between the UE and the second network node, an expected communication interval for the communications, an expected duration of the communications, or prioritization information for the communications (see para. 21-22, the SeNB 5-2 may detect the availability of a communications channel on the carrier F2 and provide feedback to the MeNB 5-1 in the form of a value of an available buffer size. Specifically, the SeNB 5-2 reports the available buffer size corresponding to the UE 3 as ‘0’ if the communications channel on carrier F2 is unavailable, and reports the available buffer size corresponding to the UE 3 as a non-zero value if the channel is available. In this particular example, the base station 5-2 uses the DL DATA DELIVERY STATUS frame as described in TS 36.425 (see Table 1 below) for this purpose and more specifically one, or both, of the two parts (‘information elements (IEs)’) of that frame reserved for a “desired buffer size” (e.g. the “Desired buffer size for the E-RAB” and/or the “Minimum desired buffer size for the UE”). Where the Desired buffer size for the E-RAB IE is used this effectively informs the MeNB 5-1 of the availability of a communication channel for a specific E-RAB and UE (i.e. on a per UE and per E-RAB basis) and where the Minimum desired buffer size for the UE IE is used this effectively informs the MeNB 5-1 of the availability of a communication channel for a specific UE (i.e. on a per UE and per E-RAB basis). Effectively, therefore, use of the Desired buffer size for the E-RAB IE provides a finer granularity because it can individually provide channel status information for each respective E-RAB provided via the UE whereas use of the Minimum desired buffer size for the UE IE provides a coarser granularity for a whole UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein non-binding analytics-based information comprises one or more of: an expected payload for communications between the UE and the second network node, an expected communication interval for the communications, an expected duration of the communications, or prioritization information for the communications, as taught by Sharma, in the system of Park and Wagner, so as to reduce packet delay due to channel allocation, see Sharma, paragraphs 17-22.
As per claim 30, claim 30 is rejected the same way as claim 17.
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Claims 1 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US Pub. No.: 2021/0195674), and further in view of Teyeb et al. (US Pub. No.: 2024/0196262).
As per claim 1, Park disclose A first network node (see Fig.3, Figs, 32-35, Base Station 1, IAB doner node, see para. 0172-0173) for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories (see Fig.3, base station 1, 120A, at least one set of program code instructions 323A stored in non-transitory memory 322A, see para. 0058); and
one or more processors (see Fig.3, at least one processor 321A), coupled to the one or more memories (see para. 0058, at least one set of program code instructions 323A stored in non-transitory memory 322A and executable by the at least one processor 321A), configured to:
receive, from a user equipment (UE) (see Fig.3, Wireless Device 110, UE Fig.32) or an application server, link information associated with a wireless link, the wireless link being between a second network node (see Fig.32-35, IAB-node1, see Fig.3, here link 2 is interpreted as a combination of link 2 and blockage link between IAB-node 1 and IAB doner node, hence IAB-node failure indication, see para. 0205, Fig.32-35, para. 0285, the wireless device transmits, to the first network node and/or the third network node and in response to receiving the backhaul link blockage information, clearly there is a link between the US and a second node, a first message indicating the blockage, the first message may comprise at least one of: a first identifier (e.g. MT identifier, UE identifier, TMSI, C-RNTI, IMSI, F1 UE identifier, NG UE identifier) of the second network node; a base station identifier (e.g. gNB identifier, gNB-DU identifier) of the second network node; an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) identifier (e.g. IAB-node identifier) of the second network node; a transmit and reception point (TRP) identifier of the second network node; a cell identifier (e.g. physical cell identifier, global cell identifier) of a cell of the second network node; a beam identifier (e.g. a beam index of a beam, SS beam, CSI-RS beam, beam group identifier/index of one or more beams) of a cell of the second network node; a bearer identifier (e.g. logical channel identifier, QoS flow identifier, PDU session identifier) of the first bearer; a link identifier (e.g. F1 identifier, NG identifier) of the first radio link); and
provide configuration parameters associated with the wireless link (see para. 0311, a second network node receive, from a first network node, at least one configuration message (e.g. RRC message) comprising bearer configuration parameters of a first bearer for a wireless device. The first bearer is configured via the second network node. In an example, the second network node transmit/receive, to/from the wireless device, packets via the first bearer. In an example, the second network node determines a blockage of a first radio link established between the first network node and the second network node. In an example, the second network node transmits, to the wireless device, an indication comprising backhaul link blockage information. The backhaul link blockage information may indicate the blockage of the first radio link, see also para. 0324, the wireless device receive, from the second network node, backhaul link recovery information indicating a recovery of the first radio link, see also para. 0325, see also para. 0249, as shown in FIG. 35, FIG. 36, FIG. 37, and/or FIG. 38, the wireless device may receive, from the first network node, at least one message (e.g. at least one radio resource control message) comprising configuration parameters of a plurality of bearers. The plurality of bearers may comprise at least one of a first bearer configured via the second network node and/or a second bearer configured via the third network node. In an example, the third network node may be the first network node, and the second bearer may be configured directly between the first network node and the wireless device. In an example, the at least one message may be transmitted via the second network node and/or the third network node 0289, the wireless device receives, from the first network node (and/or the third network node), backhaul link recovery information indicating a recovery of the first radio link (e.g. the third network node may receive the backhaul link recovery information from the first network node and/or the second network node). The backhaul link recovery information received from the first network node (and/or the third network node) may comprise at least one of: a medium access control control element (MAC CE) (e.g. the backhaul link recovery information may be transmitted via MAC CE); an uplink grant of the second network node (e.g. an uplink grant may indicate the recovery of the first radio link); a physical layer command comprising downlink control information (DCI) (e.g. the backhaul link recovery information may be transmitted via DCI); an RRC message (e.g. the backhaul link recovery information may be transmitted via an RRC message); a downlink assignment (e.g. downlink transmission assignment may indicate the recovery of the first radio link); an activation indication (e.g. MAC CE) of a cell of the second network node (e.g. an activation indication may indicate the recovery of the first radio link); and/or a medium access control packet data unit (MAC PDU) via a configured downlink assignment (e.g. a MAC PDU may indicate the recovery of the first radio link, see also para. 0296, 0308).
Although Park disclose to provide configuration parameters associated with the wireless link;
Park however does not explicitly disclose to provide, to the second network node via assistance information, non-binding analytics-based information associated with the wireless link;
Teyeb however disclose provide, to the second network node via assistance information, non-binding analytics-based information associated with the wireless link (see Fig.3, para. 0092, 0103-0104, IAB1 and IAB4 is configured to have one of the paths as a default path and use the other one as a backup in case of radio link failure. IAB1 and IAB4 is configured by the network to independently decide on how to route the packets / provide non-binding analytics-based information. The routing decision in the UL means that the IAB node request scheduling on (e.g., only on) the chosen parent (e.g., or use the available grants, if already available), see also para. 0152-0154).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide, to the second network node via assistance information, non-binding analytics-based information associated with the wireless link, as taught by Tyeb, in the system of Park, so as to enable a UE to utilize a first link or second link, see Teyeb, paragraphs 4-5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Teyeb (US Pub. No.:2024/0196262) – see para. 0005, “a device transmit data to a first parent node via a first link and to a second parent node via a second link. The first link may be a default link and the second link may be a secondary link. The device may be an IAB node or WTRU. The device may be a MT part of the IAB node or a DU part of the IAB node. The WTRU may operate in a multi-hop IAB node. The device may receive configuration information. The received configuration information may be associated with a bearer or a backhaul radio link control (BH RLC) channel. The configuration information may indicate a remaining PDB threshold. The device may receive a packet and may determine a remaining PDB associated with the packet. If the determined remaining PDB associated with the packet is less than the remaining PDB threshold, the device may transmit the packet via both the first link and the second link. The device may send a schedule request (SR) or a buffer status report (BSR) to the first parent node if resources are not available on the first link. The device may send an SR or BSR to the second parent node if resources are not available on the second link”.
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469