DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 14 October 2025 and Information Disclosure Statements filed on 17 February 2023, 09 January 2024, 15 October 2024, 03 January 2025 and 04 June 2025.
Claims 1-9, 11-20 are pending for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments filed 14 October 2025 have been entered. The claims have been amended, canceled, and added as follows:
Claims amended: 1-2, 4, 11-12, 15, 18, 19.
Claims canceled: 10.
Claims are Original : 3, 5-9, 13-14, 16-17, 20.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 11-16, filed on 14 October 2025, with respect to the rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papasakellariou et al.(US 20180310257 A 1) in view of Zeng et al. (US 20220256586 A 1 ).have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papasakellariou et al. (US 20180310257 A1) in view of YOU et al. (US 20220200741 A1). Papasakellariou et al. (US 20180310257 A1) is teaching UE determining PUSCH transmission associated with downlink channels¶[0127]. UE determining whether to multiplex HARQ-ACK on PUSCH based on downlink reception situation. ¶[0336]-[0338]. And PDSCH transmissions scheduled by PDCCH associated with HARQ processes ¶[0319]. And YOU et al. (US 20220200741 A1), teaches the enabled/disabled state limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, and 11-13, 18-19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papasakellariou et al. (US 20180310257 A1) in view of YOU et al. (US 20220200741 A1).
With regarding Claim 1, Papasakellariou disclose a wireless communication method, comprising: determining, by a terminal device, to transmit a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), wherein the first PUSCH is associated with a first physical downlink channel(See FIG. 12, 4 25 and ¶[0127], [0165]-[0167], [0189], [0085]-[0089], [0291]-[0298], [0319]-[0322], [0331-[0336], [0344], [0352]-[0354]. Disclosed UE determines to transmit PUSCH carrying UCI(including HARQ-ACK) associated with received PDSCH/PDCCH); and determining, by the terminal device, whether to multiplex and transmit first Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request Acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information on the first PUSCH according to a reception situation of the first physical downlink channel, wherein, the first HARQ-ACK information corresponds to the reception situation of the first physical downlink channel (See FIG. 14, 27 and ¶[0086], [0183]-[0184], [0189], [0192]-[0194], [0336]-[0340], [0344], [0291]-[0298]. Disclosed UE constructs HARQ-ACK codebook based on detected PDSCH and multiplexes it on PUSCH if configured.); wherein the first physical downlink channel comprises: a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission associated with a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and a first hybrid automatic retransmission request (HARQ) process, wherein the first HARQ process comprises a HARQ process corresponding to a first state (See FIG. 32, 35 and ¶[0080]-[0086], [0127], [0319], [0382], [0392]-[0401]. Disclosed PDSCH transmission associated PDCCH and HARQ process and teaches fundamental NR architecture where PDSCH transmission are scheduled by PDCCH carrying DL DCI formats, with each PDSCH reception associated with a HARQ process for generating corresponding HARQ-ACK feedback.); wherein the first physical downlink channel does not comprise a PDSCH transmission associated with a PDCCH and a second HARQ process, wherein the second HARQ process comprises a HARQ process corresponding to a second state(See FIG. 32, 35 and ¶[0127], [0319], [0382], [0392]-[0401]. Disclosed A DCI format scheduling a PDSCH transmission is referred to DL DCI format, establishes the fundamental relationship between PDCCH (carrying DCI) and scheduling PDSCH transmissions.); Papasakellariou may not explicitly disclose wherein the first HARQ process comprises a HARQ process corresponding to a first state; wherein the second HARQ process comprises a HARQ process corresponding to a second state wherein the HARQ process corresponding to the first state comprises: a HARQ process corresponding to an enabled state; and the HARQ process corresponding to the second state comprises: a HARQ process corresponding to a disabled state. However, in analogous art, YOU disclose wherein the first HARQ process comprises a HARQ process corresponding to a first state (See FIG. 2, 14-16 and ¶[0006], [0065]-[0067], [0256] [0056], [0100]-[0101], [0107]-[0112], [0120]-[0125], [0131]-[0132]. Disclosed that HARQ processes can be set to an enable state (the first state).); wherein the second HARQ process comprises a HARQ process corresponding to a second state (See FIG. 4, 14-16 and ¶[0006], [0065]-[0067], [0256] [0056], [0100]-[0101], [0131]-[0132], [0274]-[0276], [0314], [0342]. Disclosed configuring certain downlink channels to use only HARQ processes in enable state (requiring feedback) while potentially using disabled-state HARQ processes for channels (e.g., channels with long RTT where feedback overhead is undesirable).); wherein the HARQ process corresponding to the first state comprises: a HARQ process corresponding to an enabled state(See FIG. 2, 14-16 and ¶[0006], [0065]-[0067], [0256] [0056], [0100]-[0101], [0131]-[0132], [0253]-[0254]. Disclosed that HARQ processes can be set to an enable state (the first state).; and the HARQ process corresponding to the second state comprises: a HARQ process corresponding to a disabled state ((See FIG. 4, 14-16 and ¶[0006], [0065]-[0067], [0256] [0056], [0077]-[0078], [0089], [0196], [204], [0100]-[0101], [0131]-[0132], [0274]-[0276], [0317]-[0318]. Disclosed configuring certain downlink channels to use only HARQ processes in enable state (requiring feedback) while potentially using disabled-state HARQ processes for channels (e.g., channels with long RTT where feedback overhead is undesirable). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claim invention to use YOU to improve Papasakellariou teachings. Papasakellariou teaches determining PUSCH transmission associated with downlink channel and whether to multiplex HARQ-ACK on PUSCH based on reception situation of downlink channels, detection based on DL SCI detection timing HARQ_ACK information corresponding to reception situation and PDSCH transmissions associated with PDCCH and HARQ processes. YOU teaches HARQ processes in enable state (ACK/NACK feedback active) versus disable state (no feedback), state of HARQ feedback set per HARQ process, defines enabled state as state where ACK/NACK is feedback; disable state where neither is feedback. This combination teaches management of HARQ processes in enable or disabled state while maintain PUSCH-HARQ-ACK multiplexing functionality based on downlink reception. This improves resource efficiency in NTN/satellite communications. With regarding claim 2, Papasakellariou disclosed the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the first PUSCH is associated with a second physical downlink channel, and the method further comprises (See FIG. 26 and ¶[0344]. Disclosed that one PUSCH can carry HARQ-ACK for multiple downlink channels): determining, by the terminal device, whether to multiplex and transmit second HARQ- ACK information on the first PUSCH according to a reception situation of the second physical downlink channel, wherein, the second HARQ-ACK information corresponds to the reception situation of the second physical downlink channel (See FIG. 27 and ¶ [0086], [0189], [0336], [0337]-[0338], [0086], [0189], [0351]-[0354], [0344]. Disclosed UE determines whether to multiplex HARQ-ACK on PUSCH (matching vs puncturing) based on its reception situation of downlink channels, HARQ-ACK information content directly corresponds to reception situation of channels); wherein the second physical downlink channel comprises a PDSCH transmission associated a PDCCH and a third HARQ process, wherein the third HARQ process comprises a HARQ process corresponding to the first state (See FIG. 32, 36 and ¶ [0127], [0319], [0382]-[0401], [0086]. Disclosed UE determining HARQ-ACK codebook size based on DL DCI formats and UL DAI field, then applying encoding and rate matching with data for multiplexing HARQ-ACK ); the second physical downlink channel does not comprise a PDSCH transmission associated a PDCCH and a fourth HARQ process, wherein the fourth HARQ process comprises a HARQ process corresponding to [[a]] the second state.
Papasakellariou may not explicitly disclose wherein the third HARQ process comprises a HARQ process corresponding to the first state; the second physical downlink channel does not comprise a PDSCH transmission associated a PDCCH and a fourth HARQ process, wherein the fourth HARQ process comprises a HARQ process corresponding to the second state. However, in analogous art, YOU disclose wherein the third HARQ process comprises a HARQ process corresponding to the first state;(See FIG. 2, 14-16 and ¶[0006], [0065]-[0067], [0256] [0056], [0100]-[0101], [0107]-[0112], [0120]-[0125], [0131]-[0132]. Disclosed that HARQ processes can be set to an enable state (the first state).); the second physical downlink channel does not comprise a PDSCH transmission associated a PDCCH and a fourth HARQ process,(See FIG. 4, 14-16 and ¶[0006], [0065]-[0067], [0256] [0056], [0100]-[0101], [0131]-[0132], [0274]-[0276], [0314], [0342]. Disclosed configuring certain downlink channels to use only HARQ processes in enable state (requiring feedback) while potentially using disabled-state HARQ processes for channels (e.g., channels with long RTT where feedback overhead is undesirable). Teaches HARQ processes in disabled state and their operational characteristics); wherein the fourth HARQ process comprises a HARQ process corresponding to the second state.( ((See FIG. 4, 14-16 and ¶[0006], [0065]-[0067], [0256] [0056], [0077]-[0078], [0089], [0196], [204], [0100]-[0101], [0131]-[0132], [0274]-[0276], [0317]-[0318]. Disclosed configuring certain downlink channels to use only HARQ processes in enable state (requiring feedback) while potentially using disabled-state HARQ processes for channels (e.g., channels with long RTT where feedback overhead is undesirable). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claim invention to use YOU to modify the system of Papasakellariou teaches handling multiple HARQ-ACK response onto a PUSCH. And YOU teaches KARQ feedback of all part of HARQ processes among at least one HARQ process supported by the terminal are set to be in the enabled state or the disabled state according to the RTT of the wireless signal the state of HARQ feedback is set in units of HARQ process. This combination reference to data information of a first type and data information of a second type its extends to the multiple DCI formats and PDSCH discussed by YOU. This combination improving reliability and efficiency of feedback.
With regarding claim 3, Papasakellariou and YOU disclose the wireless communication method of claim 1, Papasakellariou disclose wherein determining, by the terminal device to transmit the first PUSCH, comprises: receiving, by the terminal device, first downlink control information (DCI) sent by a network device, wherein the first DCI is used for scheduling the first PUSCH transmission, the first DCI comprises first downlink assignment indication (DAI) information, and the first DAI information is used for indicating a number of first physical downlink channels associated with the first PUSCH (See ¶[0344]. Disclosed UL DCI format as First DCI, scheduling PUSCH transmission, DAI indicates number of DL DCI formats. Each DL DCI format schedules a PDSCH on a physical downlink channel requiring HARQ-ACK feedback determining, by the terminal device, whether to multiplex and transmit the first HARQ-ACK information on the first PUSCH according to the reception situation of the first physical downlink channel, comprises: determining, by the terminal device, whether to multiplex and transmit the first HARQ-ACK information on the first PUSCH according to the first DAI information and the reception situation of the first physical downlink channel (See FIG. 27 and ¶[0344]-[0345], [0351]-[0355], [0336]-[0340], [0346]-[0347], [0361]. Disclosed whether to multiplex in NR context refers to the multiplexing method determination(rate matching vs puncturing), not a binary choice to multiplex or not. This joint determination using both DAI information and reception situation.;). With regarding Claim 11, Papasakellariou disclose A terminal device, comprising a processor (See FIG. 2 and ¶[0060]-[0063]), wherein, the processor is configured to determine to transmit a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), wherein, the first PUSCH is associated with a first physical downlink channel; (See FIG. 12, 4 25 and ¶[0127], [0165]-[0167], [0189], [0085]-[0089], [0291]-[0298], [0319]-[0322], [0331-[0336], [0344], [0352]-[0354]. Disclosed UE determines to transmit PUSCH carrying UCI(including HARQ-ACK) associated with received PDSCH/PDCCH); and determining, by the terminal device, whether to multiplex and transmit first Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request Acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information on the first PUSCH according to a reception situation of the first physical downlink channel, wherein, the first HARQ-ACK information corresponds to the reception situation of the first physical downlink channel (See FIG. 14, 27 and ¶[0086], [0183]-[0184], [0189], [0192]-[0194], [0336]-[0340], [0344], [0291]-[0298]. Disclosed UE constructs HARQ-ACK codebook based on detected PDSCH and multiplexes it on PUSCH if configured.); wherein the first physical downlink channel comprises: a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission associated with a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and a first hybrid automatic retransmission request (HARQ) process, wherein the first HARQ process comprises a HARQ process corresponding to a first state (See FIG. 32, 35 and ¶[0080]-[0086], [0127], [0319], [0382], [0392]-[0401]. Disclosed PDSCH transmission associated PDCCH and HARQ process and teaches fundamental NR architecture where PDSCH transmission are scheduled by PDCCH carrying DL DCI formats, with each PDSCH reception associated with a HARQ process for generating corresponding HARQ-ACK feedback.); wherein the first physical downlink channel does not comprise a PDSCH transmission associated with a PDCCH and a second HARQ process, wherein the second HARQ process comprises a HARQ process corresponding to a second state(See FIG. 32, 35 and ¶[0127], [0319], [0382], [0392]-[0401]. Disclosed A DCI format scheduling a PDSCH transmission is referred to DL DCI format, establishes the fundamental relationship between PDCCH (carrying DCI) and scheduling PDSCH transmissions.); Papasakellariou may not explicitly disclose wherein the first HARQ process comprises a HARQ process corresponding to a first state; wherein the second HARQ process comprises a HARQ process corresponding to a second state wherein the HARQ process corresponding to the first state comprises: a HARQ process corresponding to an enabled state; and the HARQ process corresponding to the second state comprises: a HARQ process corresponding to a disabled state. However, in analogous art, YOU disclose wherein the first HARQ process comprises a HARQ process corresponding to a first state (See FIG. 2, 14-16 and ¶[0006], [0065]-[0067], [0256] [0056], [0100]-[0101], [0107]-[0112], [0120]-[0125], [0131]-[0132]. Disclosed that HARQ processes can be set to an enable state (the first state).); wherein the second HARQ process comprises a HARQ process corresponding to a second state (See FIG. 4, 14-16 and ¶[0006], [0065]-[0067], [0256] [0056], [0100]-[0101], [0131]-[0132], [0274]-[0276], [0314], [0342]. Disclosed configuring certain downlink channels to use only HARQ processes in enable state (requiring feedback) while potentially using disabled-state HARQ processes for channels (e.g., channels with long RTT where feedback overhead is undesirable).); wherein the HARQ process corresponding to the first state comprises: a HARQ process corresponding to an enabled state(See FIG. 2, 14-16 and ¶[0006], [0065]-[0067], [0256] [0056], [0100]-[0101], [0131]-[0132], [0253]-[0254]. Disclosed that HARQ processes can be set to an enable state (the first state).; and the HARQ process corresponding to the second state comprises: a HARQ process corresponding to a disabled state ((See FIG. 4, 14-16 and ¶[0006], [0065]-[0067], [0256] [0056], [0077]-[0078], [0089], [0196], [204], [0100]-[0101], [0131]-[0132], [0274]-[0276], [0317]-[0318]. Disclosed configuring certain downlink channels to use only HARQ processes in enable state (requiring feedback) while potentially using disabled-state HARQ processes for channels (e.g., channels with long RTT where feedback overhead is undesirable). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claim invention to use YOU to improve Papasakellariou teachings. Papasakellariou teaches determining PUSCH transmission associated with downlink channel and whether to multiplex HARQ-ACK on PUSCH based on reception situation of downlink channels, detection based on DL SCI detection timing HARQ_ACK information corresponding to reception situation and PDSCH transmissions associated with PDCCH and HARQ processes. YOU teaches HARQ processes in enable state (ACK/NACK feedback active) versus disable state (no feedback), state of HARQ feedback set per HARQ process, defines enabled state as state where ACK/NACK is feedback; disable state where neither is feedback. This combination teaches management of HARQ processes in enable or disabled state while maintain PUSCH-HARQ-ACK multiplexing functionality based on downlink reception. This improves resource efficiency in NTN/satellite communications. With regarding Claim 18, Papasakellariou disclose A network device, comprising a transceiver (See FIG. 2 and ¶[0060]-[0063]), wherein the transceiver is configure to send first downlink control information (DCI) to a terminal device, wherein the first DCI is used for scheduling a transmission of a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (See ¶[0344], [0127], [0322]), the first DCI comprises first downlink assignment indication (DAI) information, and the first DAI information is used for indicating a number of first physical downlink channels associated with the first PUSCH (See ¶[0344], [0127], [0322] Disclosed DCI transmission with DAI field for PUSCH scheduling.); wherein the first physical downlink channel comprises: a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission associated with a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and a first hybrid automatic retransmission request (HARQ) process, wherein the first HARQ process comprises a HARQ process corresponding to a first state;(See FIG. 32, 35 and ¶[0080]-[0086], [0127], [0319], [0382], [0392]-[0401]. Disclosed PDSCH transmission associated PDCCH and HARQ process and teaches fundamental NR architecture where PDSCH transmission are scheduled by PDCCH carrying DL DCI formats, with each PDSCH reception associated with a HARQ process for generating corresponding HARQ-ACK feedback.); wherein the first physical downlink channel does not comprise a PDSCH transmission associated with a PDCCH and a second HARQ process, wherein the second HARQ process comprises a HARQ process corresponding to a second state(See FIG. 32, 35 and ¶[0127], [0319], [0382], [0392]-[0401]. Disclosed A DCI format scheduling a PDSCH transmission is referred to DL DCI format, establishes the fundamental relationship between PDCCH (carrying DCI) and scheduling PDSCH transmissions.); Papasakellariou may not explicitly disclose wherein the first HARQ process comprises a HARQ process corresponding to a first state; wherein the second HARQ process comprises a HARQ process corresponding to a second state wherein the HARQ process corresponding to the first state comprises: a HARQ process corresponding to an enabled state; and the HARQ process corresponding to the second state comprises: a HARQ process corresponding to a disabled state. However, in analogous art, YOU disclose wherein the first HARQ process comprises a HARQ process corresponding to a first state (See FIG. 2, 14-16 and ¶[0006], [0065]-[0067], [0256] [0056], [0100]-[0101], [0107]-[0112], [0120]-[0125], [0131]-[0132]. Disclosed that HARQ processes can be set to an enable state (the first state).); wherein the second HARQ process comprises a HARQ process corresponding to a second state (See FIG. 4, 14-16 and ¶[0006], [0065]-[0067], [0256] [0056], [0100]-[0101], [0131]-[0132], [0274]-[0276], [0314], [0342]. Disclosed configuring certain downlink channels to use only HARQ processes in enable state (requiring feedback) while potentially using disabled-state HARQ processes for channels (e.g., channels with long RTT where feedback overhead is undesirable).); wherein the HARQ process corresponding to the first state comprises: a HARQ process corresponding to an enabled state(See FIG. 2, 14-16 and ¶[0006], [0065]-[0067], [0256] [0056], [0100]-[0101], [0131]-[0132], [0253]-[0254]. Disclosed that HARQ processes can be set to an enable state (the first state).; and the HARQ process corresponding to the second state comprises: a HARQ process corresponding to a disabled state (See FIG. 4, 14-16 and ¶[0006], [0065]-[0067], [0256] [0056], [0077]-[0078], [0089], [0196], [204], [0100]-[0101], [0131]-[0132], [0274]-[0276], [0317]-[0318]. Disclosed configuring certain downlink channels to use only HARQ processes in enable state (requiring feedback) while potentially using disabled-state HARQ processes for channels (e.g., channels with long RTT where feedback overhead is undesirable). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claim invention to use YOU to improve Papasakellariou teachings. Papasakellariou teaches determining PUSCH transmission associated with downlink channel and whether to multiplex HARQ-ACK on PUSCH based on reception situation of downlink channels, detection based on DL SCI detection timing HARQ_ACK information corresponding to reception situation and PDSCH transmissions associated with PDCCH and HARQ processes. YOU teaches HARQ processes in enable state (ACK/NACK feedback active) versus disable state (no feedback), state of HARQ feedback set per HARQ process, defines enabled state as state where ACK/NACK is feedback; disable state where neither is feedback. This combination teaches management of HARQ processes in enable or disabled state while maintain PUSCH-HARQ-ACK multiplexing functionality based on downlink reception. This improves resource efficiency in NTN/satellite communications.
With regarding claim 12, through of a different scope, the limitation of claim 12 and 19 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 2, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding claim 13, through of a different scope, the limitation of claim 13 is substantially similar or identical to those of claim 3, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding claim 20, Papasakellariou and YOU disclose the network device of claim 18, Papasakellariou may not disclose wherein the transceiver is configured to send first indication information to the terminal device, wherein, the first indication information indicates that uplink HARQ-ACK feedback is not performed for the HARQ process corresponding to the second state. However, in analogous art, YOU disclose wherein the transceiver is configured to send first indication information to the terminal device, wherein, the first indication information indicates that uplink HARQ-ACK feedback is not performed for the HARQ process corresponding to the second state (See ¶[0006], [0056], [0120]-[0125], [0107]-[0112], [0275], [0312]. Disclosed network device transceiver sends indication information and indication information configures HARQ processes into disabled state.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claim invention to use YOU to improve Papasakellariou teachings. Papasakellariou teaches determining PUSCH transmission associated with downlink channel and whether to multiplex HARQ-ACK on PUSCH based on reception situation of downlink channels, detection based on DL SCI detection timing HARQ_ACK information corresponding to reception situation and PDSCH transmissions associated with PDCCH and HARQ processes. YOU teaches HARQ processes in enable state (ACK/NACK feedback active) versus disable state (no feedback), state of HARQ feedback set per HARQ process, defines enabled state as state where ACK/NACK is feedback; disable state where neither is feedback. This combination teaches management of HARQ processes in enable or disabled state while maintain PUSCH-HARQ-ACK multiplexing functionality based on downlink reception. This improves resource efficiency in NTN/satellite communications.
Claim(s) 4-6, 8-9, 14-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papasakellariou and YOU as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zeng et al (US 20220256586 A1). With regarding claim 4, Papasakellariou and YOU disclose the wireless communication method of claim 3, Papasakellariou disclose wherein determining, by the terminal device, whether to multiplex and transmit the first HARQ-ACK information on the first PUSCH according to the first DAI information and the reception situation of the first physical downlink channel, comprises: multiplexing and transmitting, by the terminal device, the first HARQ-ACK information on the first PUSCH according to the first DAI information when a number of first physical downlink channels received by the terminal device is greater than or equal to 1, or the terminal device needs to multiplex and transmit HARQ-ACK information corresponding to an SPS PDSCH on the first PUSCH (See ¶[0345]-[0346], [0351]-[0354]. Disclosed the UE determines that the UE missed detection of at least one DL DCI format based on comparison of the UL DAI field value and a count of detected DL DCI formats, the UE can be expected to set corresponding HARQ-ACK bits to NACK/DTX values.). Papasakellariou and You may not disclose wherein determining, by the terminal device, whether to multiplex and transmit the first HARQ-ACK information on the first PUSCH according to the first DAI information and the reception situation of the first physical downlink channel, comprises: multiplexing and transmitting, by the terminal device, the first HARQ-ACK information on the first PUSCH according to the first DAI information when a number of first physical downlink channels received by the terminal device is greater than or equal to 1, or the terminal device needs to multiplex and transmit HARQ-ACK information corresponding to an SPS PDSCH on the first PUSCH However, in analogous art, Zeng disclose wherein determining, by the terminal device, whether to multiplex and transmit the first HARQ-ACK information on the first PUSCH according to the first DAI information and the reception situation of the first physical downlink channel, comprises: multiplexing and transmitting, by the terminal device, the first HARQ-ACK information on the first PUSCH according to the first DAI information when a number of first physical downlink channels received by the terminal device is greater than or equal to 1, or the terminal device needs to multiplex and transmit HARQ-ACK information corresponding to an SPS PDSCH on the first PUSCH (See ¶[0008]-[0011, [0042]-[0044], [0070], [0080]-[0082], [0242]-[0243], [0246]-[0248], [0256], [0094]-[0095], [0322]-[0325]. ; or not multiplexing and not transmitting, by the terminal device, the first HARQ-ACK information on the first PUSCH when the terminal device does not receive the first physical downlink channel, and the terminal device does not need to multiplex and transmit HARQ-ACK information corresponding to an SPS PDSCH on the first PUSCH, and the first DAI information indicates a preset value; wherein the preset value is 0 or 4 (See ¶[[0246]-[0248]. Disclosed when the UL DAI is 0, it may indicate that no HARQ-ACK bit needs to be transmitted on the PUSCH. When the UL DAI is 0, the UE may not transmit any HARQ-ACK bit on the PUSCH, or may transmit a HARQ-ACK bit with fixed value on the PUSCH). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claim invention to use Zeng to modify Papasakellariou and YOU teachings. Papasakellariou teaches UE determines HARQ-ACK codebook size based on reception situation ¶[0351], and Zeng teaches DAI=0 explicitly indicates no HARQ-ACK bit needs to be transmitted ¶[0246]. When both conditions true the logical conclusion is no HARQ-ACK to multiplex. This combination more efficient HARQ-ACK handling through explicit DAI semantics without changing fundamental NR operation.
With regarding claim 5, Papasakellariou and YOU disclose the wireless communication method of claim 3, Papasakellariou disclose wherein the first PUSCH is further associated with a second physical downlink channel (See ¶[0257], [0344], [0336]. Disclosed HARQ-ACK for multiple DL DCI formats). Papasakellariou and YOU may not disclosed the first DCI further comprises second DAI information indicating a number of second physical downlink channels associated with the first PUSCH, and the method further comprises: determining, by the terminal device, whether to multiplex and transmit second HARQ- ACK information on the first PUSCH according to the second DAI information and a reception situation of the second physical downlink channel, wherein, the second HARQ-ACK information corresponds to the reception situation of the second physical downlink channel. However, in analogous art, Zeng disclose wherein the first PUSCH is further associated with a second physical downlink channel, the first DCI further comprises second DAI information indicating a number of second physical downlink channels associated with the first PUSCH, and the method further comprises4 (See ¶[0005], [0008]-[0011], [0089], [0283], [0074], [0243], [0254]-[0257]. Disclosed first PDSCH group has first DAI information (C-DAI/T-DAI); second PDSCH group has second DAI information (separate C-DAI/T-DAI)): determining, by the terminal device, whether to multiplex and transmit second HARQ-ACK information on the first PUSCH according to the second DAI information and a reception situation of the second physical downlink channel, wherein, the second HARQ-ACK information corresponds to the reception situation of the second physical downlink channel (See ¶[0080]-[0082],[0086] [0225], [0201]-[0203], [0254]-[0257]. Disclosed HARQ-ACK bits per PDSCH group based on that group’s DAI values and reception situation. And HARQ-ACK bit sequences determined “corresponding to PDSCH receptions in each PDSCH group explicit per group correspondence”).). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claim invention to use Zeng to modify Papasakellariou and YOU. Papasakellariou teachings multiplexing HARQ-ACK on a single PUSCH and Zeng teaches DAI values determine HARQ-ACK bit sequences, and DAI values are used for HARQ-ACK bit sequence. This combination improving scalability and reliability. With regarding claim 6, Papasakellariou, You and Zeng disclose the wireless communication method of claim 5, Papasakellariou may not explicitly disclose wherein determining, by the terminal device, whether to multiplex and transmit the second HARQ-ACK information on the first PUSCH according to the second DAI information and the reception situation of the second physical downlink channel, comprises: multiplexing and transmitting, by the terminal device, the second HARQ-ACK information on the first PUSCH according to the second DAI information when a number of second physical downlink channels received by the terminal device is greater than or equal to 1 However, in analogous art, Zeng disclose wherein determining, by the terminal device, whether to multiplex and transmit the second HARQ-ACK information on the first PUSCH according to the second DAI information and the reception situation of the second physical downlink channel, comprises: multiplexing and transmitting, by the terminal device, the second HARQ-ACK information on the first PUSCH according to the second DAI information when a number of second physical downlink channels received by the terminal device is greater than or equal to 1 (See FIG. 2 and ¶[0080]-[0082], [0225], [0089]-[0095], [0256]-[0258], [0273]-[0275].teaches multiplexing second HARQ-ACK when greater than or equal to 1 downlink channel received in the group, using group specific DAI information.); or not multiplexing and not transmitting, by the terminal device, the second HARQ-ACK information on the first PUSCH when the terminal device does not receive the second physical downlink channel and the second DAI information indicates a preset value; wherein the preset value is 0 or 4 (See ¶[0004], [0066], [0402]-[0403][0066], [0246]-[0248], [0254]-[0256], [0275]. Disclosed UL DAI =0 indicates no HARQ-ACK transmission needed, when no PDSCH receptions in group and UL DAI indicates no bits needed, UE transmits no HARQ-ACK for that group). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claim invention to use Zeng to modify Papasakellariou and You teachings Multiplexing HARQ-ACK information into PUSCH transmission, determine multiplexing HARQ-ACK response which implies handling HARQ-ACK for multiple downlink channels. And Zeng teaches multiplexing HARQ-ACK information when at least one downlink channel is received and not multiplexing when no channel is received , present values of DAI=0 or 4 to indicate no HARQ-ACK reporting and handling second DAI values for additional downlink channels. This combination would been obvious ensuring accurate and efficient HARQ-ACK feedback in wireless systems. Incorporating Zeng ‘s detailed conditions into Papasakellariou framework represents an enhancement the improves reliability and reduces erroneous HARQ-ACK transmissions. With regarding claim 8, Papasakellariou modified by/in view of Zeng disclose the wireless communication method of claim 1, Papasakellariou may not explicitly disclose wherein determining, by the terminal device, whether to multiplex and transmit the first HARQ-ACK information on the first PUSCH according to the reception situation of the first physical downlink channel, comprises: multiplexing and transmitting, by the terminal device, the first HARQ-ACK information on the first PUSCH when a number of first physical downlink channels received by the terminal device is greater than or equal to 1, or the terminal device needs to multiplex and transmit HARQ-ACK information corresponding to an SPS PDSCH on the first PUSCH. However, in analogous art, Zeng disclose wherein determining, by the terminal device, whether to multiplex and transmit the first HARQ-ACK information on the first PUSCH according to the reception situation of the first physical downlink channel, comprises: multiplexing and transmitting, by the terminal device, the first HARQ-ACK information on the first PUSCH when a number of first physical downlink channels received by the terminal device is greater than or equal to 1, or the terminal device needs to multiplex and transmit HARQ-ACK information corresponding to an SPS PDSCH on the first PUSCH (See ¶[0080]-[0011], [0082], [0225], [0089]-[0095], Claim 6; or not multiplexing and not transmitting, by the terminal device, the first HARQ-ACK information on the first PUSCH when the terminal device does not receive the first physical downlink channel and the terminal device does not need to multiplex and transmit HARQ-ACK information corresponding to an SPS PDSCH on the first PUSCH (See ¶[0006], [0402]-[0403], [0065]-[0066], [0100]-[0102], [0246]-[0247], [0254]-[0256]. Disclosed not multiplexing HARQ-ACK on PUSCH when no HARQ-ACK bits needed, transmits PUSCH without HARQ-ACK multiplexing.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claim invention to use Zeng to modify Papasakellariou teachings as multiplexing HARQ-ACK information with PUSH transmission and determine HARQ-ACK information based on detection/reception of downlink data ¶[0351]-[0354], [0086]. And Zeng teaches multiplexing HARQ-ACK information on PUSCH when at least one downlink channel is received. And not multiplexing when no downlink channel is received, and handling SPS-triggered PDSCH transmissions and requiring HARQ-ACK feedback for SPS PDSCH. This combination would have been obvious to multiplexing process naturally incorporates Zeng’s SPS specific feedback rules. The combination would improve system where HARQ-ACK feedback is multiplexed only when necessary and suppressed when redundant , thereby enhancing transmission efficiency.
With regarding claim 9, Papasakellariou and You disclose the wireless communication method of claim 2, Papasakellariou and you may not explicitly disclose wherein determining, by the terminal device, whether to multiplex and transmit the second HARQ-ACK information on the first PUSCH according to the reception situation of the second physical downlink channel, comprises: multiplexing and transmitting, by the terminal device, the second HARQ-ACK information on the first PUSCH when a number of second physical downlink channels received by the terminal device is greater than or equal to 1. However, in analogous art, Zeng disclose wherein determining, by the terminal device, whether to multiplex and transmit the second HARQ-ACK information on the first PUSCH according to the reception situation of the second physical downlink channel, comprises: multiplexing and transmitting, by the terminal device, the second HARQ-ACK information on the first PUSCH when a number of second physical downlink channels received by the terminal device is greater than or equal to 1 (See Claim 6 and ¶[0080]-[0011], [0256]-[0257]. Teaches multiplexing second HARQ-ACK when greater than or equal to 1 second physical downlink channels received.); or not multiplexing and not transmitting, by the terminal device, the second HARQ-ACK information on the first PUSCH when the terminal device does not receive the second physical downlink channel (See ¶[0080]-[0011], [0087], [0254]-[0256],k [0074]. Disclosed not multiplexing second HARQ-ACK bits when second physical downlink channels not received ); Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claim invention to use Zeng to modify Papasakellariou and YOU teachings Handling multiple HARQ-ACK responses for multiple downlink transmissions, first HARQ-ACK and second HARQ-ACK. And multiplexing HARQ-ACK responses on PUSCH and Zeng teaches multiplexing HARQ-Ack information on PUSCH when the number of downlink channels received greater than 1. And not multiplexing when no downlink channel is received. This combination would have been obvious to HARQ-ACK multiplexing framework naturally incorporates Zeng explicit channel dependent conditions. This result is a system where the UE efficiently multiplexing HARQ-ACK for second downlink channels only when meaningful and suppresses it otherwise, reducing unnecessary uplink signaling.
With regarding claim 14, through of a different scope, the limitation of claim 14 is substantially similar or identical to those of claim 4, and is rejected under the same reasoning.
With regarding claim 15, through of a different scope, the limitation of claim 15 is substantially similar or identical to those of claim 5, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding claim 16, through of a different scope, the limitation of claim 16 is substantially similar or identical to those of claim 8, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding claim 17, through of a different scope, the limitation of claim 17 is substantially similar or identical to those of claim 9, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding claim 19, Papasakellariou and YOU disclose the network device of claim 18, Papasakellariou disclosed wherein the first DCI further comprises second DAI information indicating a number of second physical downlink channels associated with the first PUSCH; the second physical downlink channel comprises a PDSCH transmission associated with a PDCCH and a third HARQ process, wherein the third HARQ process comprises a HARQ process corresponding to the first state (See ¶[0127], [0319], [0382]. Disclosed network device transmits PDCCH scheduling PDSCH associated with HARQ process); the second physical downlink channel does not include a PDSCH transmission associated with a PDCCH and a fourth HARQ process, wherein the fourth HARQ process comprises a HARQ process corresponding to the second state; the terminal device is configured to feed back two HARQ-ACK sub-codebooks; or, the terminal device is configured with a code block group (CBG) transmission (See ¶[0394], [0397]-[0401]. Disclosed multiple HARQ-ACK sub code books per cell or serving cell); or, the terminal device is configured with a CBG feedback (See ¶[0382]-[0385]. Disclosed network-side configuration of CBG transmission); or, the second physical downlink channel corresponds to a code block group (CBG)-based HARQ-ACK feedback mode (See ¶[0386]-[0392]. Disclosed configuration of channels for CBG-based feedback mode). Papasakellariou may not explicitly disclose wherein the third HARQ process comprises a HARQ process corresponding to the first state. wherein the fourth HARQ process comprises a HARQ process corresponding to the second state. However, in analogous art, YOU disclose wherein the third HARQ process comprises a HARQ process corresponding to the first state;(See FIG. 2, 14-16 and ¶[0006], [0065]-[0067], [0256] [0056], [0100]-[0101], [0107]-[0112], [0120]-[0125], [0131]-[0132]. Disclosed that HARQ processes can be set to an enable state (the first state).); the second physical downlink channel does not comprise a PDSCH transmission associated a PDCCH and a fourth HARQ process,(See FIG. 4, 14-16 and ¶[0006], [0065]-[0067], [0256] [0056], [0100]-[0101], [0131]-[0132], [0274]-[0276], [0314], [0342]. Disclosed configuring certain downlink channels to use only HARQ processes in enable state (requiring feedback) while potentially using disabled-state HARQ processes for channels (e.g., channels with long RTT where feedback overhead is undesirable). Teaches HARQ processes in disabled state and their operational characteristics); wherein the fourth HARQ process comprises a HARQ process corresponding to the second state.(See FIG. 4, 14-16 and ¶[0006], [0065]-[0067], [0256] [0056], [0077]-[0078], [0089], [0196], [204], [0100]-[0101], [0131]-[0132], [0274]-[0276], [0317]-[0318]. Disclosed configuring certain downlink channels to use only HARQ processes in enable state (requiring feedback) while potentially using disabled-state HARQ processes for channels (e.g., channels with long RTT where feedback overhead is undesirable). Papasakellariou and you may not explicitly disclose wherein the first DCI further comprises second DAI information indicating a number of second physical downlink channels associated with the first PUSCH; However, in analogous art, Zeng disclose wherein the first DCI further comprises second DAI information indicating a number of second physical downlink channels associated with the first PUSCH (See ¶[0243], [0254]-[0255]. Disclosed UL DAI filed semantics encompassing multiple PDSCH groups with separate DAI counters per group.); Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claim invention to use Zeng to modify Papasakellariou teachings fundamental NR framework where gNBs transmit DCI scheduling PUSCH and configure HAR/CBG operations, YOU teaches HARQ state management where the network signals individual HARQ processes into enabled state or disabled state based on RTT, and Zeng teaches dynamic code books supporting multiple PDSCH groups with separate DAI counters. This combination improving efficiency in NTN scenarios.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papasakellariou and YOU et al. as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of Takeda et al (US 20210243778 A1). With regarding claim 7, Papasakellariou in view of You discloses all features of claims 1 and 11 above. Papasakellariou in view of Zeng may not explicitly disclose wherein determining, by the terminal device to transmit the first PUSCH, comprises: determining, by the terminal device, to transmit the first PUSCH according to scheduling information sent by a network device, wherein the scheduling information does not comprise DCI (See ¶[0124], [0322] Disclose PUSCH timing parameters configured via higher layer signaling (RRC), independent of DCI), or the scheduling information comprises second DCI and the second DCI does not comprises DAI information (See ¶[0344]-[0345]. Discloses DAI filed , UL DCI formats that do not include a DAI field. The UL DAI field can be used by the UE to determine whether the UE missed detection of any DL DCI format]. However, in analogous art, Takeda disclose wherein determining, by the terminal device to transmit the first PUSCH, comprises: determining, by the terminal device, to transmit the first PUSCH according to scheduling information sent by a network device, wherein the scheduling information does not comprise DCI.(See ¶[0003], [0110]-[0114], [0132], [0003] [0236]-[0237], [0232]. Disclosed RRC signaling (non-DCI scheduling information) configures PUSCH transmission. Configure via high layer signaling (RRC) for PUSCH operation without per-transmission DCI), or the scheduling information comprises second DCI and the second DCI does not comprises DAI information (See ¶[0111]-[0114]. Disclosed UE may receive uplink DCI scheduling a PUSCH that does not have piggyback disabled. The DCI scheduling the piggybacking support carrier may include a DAI filed that UE may not ignore.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claim invention to use Takeda to modify Papasakellariou in view of YOU teachings UE determination to transmit PUSCH and multiplex HARQ-ACK information on PUSCH, Framework for associating HARQ-ACK with control signaling. And Takeda teachings scheduling without explicit DCI, uplink transmission triggered by grant or other signaling without DCI or without DAI inside the DCI. This combination HARQ-ACK multiplexing process on PUSCH can be applied with the scheduling flexing described in Takeda, enabling the UE to still transmit HARQ-ACK properly even when the scheduling information does not carry DAI. Improving backward compatibility and network flexibility.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.V./Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468