DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10, 12-14 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 12, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 12 recite the limitation “the radio frequency tag is unable to be completely activated by the second radio frequency signal to perform a communication operation”. This limitation suggests a partial activation which does not have any support in the instant specification. The examiner has interpreted the limitation as “the radio frequency tag is activated by the second radio frequency signal to perform a communication operation” which is consistent with “determining, based on the second response signal, positioning information of the radio frequency tag”. Further, the limitation “a reflection coefficient of the radio frequency tag is changed to reflect the second radio frequency signal to generate the second response signal” requires that the “radio frequency tag” activate in order to change the “reflection coefficient” and “generate the second response signal”. The reflection of a response signal is not a natural process and is not the same as a reflected echo (e.g. radar return). This interpretation is further supported by the instant specification [0155] “low-power wideband signal transmitted by the wideband sniffing reader may adopt a multi-sine carrier signal, for example, it may be 16 sine carrier signals. As shown in Fig. 8, the wideband sniffing reader may include a transmitter and multiple receivers”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention.
Claim 1, 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 12 recite “the radio frequency tag is unable to be completely activated by the second radio frequency signal to perform a communication operation”. It is unclear how a radio frequency tag can change a reflection coefficient and not be completely activated. The examiner has interpreted the limitation as “the radio frequency tag is activated by the second radio frequency signal to perform a communication operation” otherwise the radio frequency tag would be unable to perform its activated function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer (US 20060022815) in view of Carrick (US 20100109903).
Regarding Claims 1, 12 Fischer teaches the following limitations:
A radio frequency communication method, comprising: acquiring a first response signal and a second response signal which are corresponding to a radio frequency tag, (Fischer – [0019] The RFID system includes a plurality of RFID readers, each reader being operable to transmit and receive RF signals for interrogating at least one RFID tag, and for receiving tag data in response to the interrogation of the tag.)
(Claim 12) A radio frequency communication system, comprising: (Fischer – [0019])
wherein the first response signal is generated by the radio frequency tag responding to a first radio frequency signal, and the second response signal is generated by the radio frequency tag responding to a second radio frequency signal; (Fischer – [0019], [0073] The tag location can be further refined along the axis normal to the reader antenna by adaptively adjusting the transmit power of the reader to estimate the power level and the range where the tag becomes visible.)
wherein a power of the second radio frequency signal is less than a power of the first radio frequency signal, and (Fischer – [0019], [0132] In addition, the reader communication and discovery sub-component (see FIG. 4b) maintains the characteristics and state of the physical connections between the mid-level processor 402 and the respective readers 10.1-10.q, including whether the connection is wired or wireless [0134] The reader coordination component 464 (see FIG. 4c) included in the mid-level processor 402 includes a plurality of constraint sets (i.e., time/latency, multi-static operation, RF channelization, power consumption, emitted power, and data patterns),)
the power of the second radio frequency signal is less than or equal to a preset threshold, (Fischer – [0019], [0190] Reading benchmark tags allows the RFID reader array to calibrate itself to the physical environment. .lamda..sub.R, .lamda..sub.S, and .lamda..sub.L are the resulting likelihood estimates [0 . . . 1] for one or more readers, segments, and locations, respectively, in the context of a tag interrogation event. Instead of computing and propagating the numerical value of the estimate, the location virtualization function 452b (see FIG. 28a) may implement a fixed or configurable threshold that passes a Boolean presence, P, to conserve computation. [0398] It is noted that the operation of the interrogation scheduler sub-component can be further refined when readers effectively operate as their own radars, thereby reducing the RF interference baseline and increasing the overall system capacity. In a radar mode of operation, a reader operates on a low duty cycle relative to the tag flux in a particular location... radar-type sampling rates and transmit power levels are initially low but sufficient to detect and respond to a tag entering the interrogation zone of a reader or co-interrogation zone of a set of readers, and then adapt (e.g., by increasing duty cycles and/or transmit power levels) as needed based on the results obtained from those samples. In one embodiment, sampling is coordinated with the other readers within the site or facility.)
such that the radio frequency tag is unable to be completely activated by the second radio frequency signal to perform a communication operation, (Fischer – [0398])
whilst a reflection coefficient of the radio frequency tag is changed to reflect the second radio frequency signal to generate the second response signal, (Fischer – [0009] reflects a portion of the modulated wave back to the reader by changing the reflection characteristics of its antenna via a technique known as backscatter modulation.)
wherein the second radio frequency signal comprises a plurality of narrowband subcarriers of different frequencies, and (Fischer – [Fig. 14a-b], [Fig. 15a], [0019], [0327] Specifically, the RF monitoring sub-component is operative to capture RF monitoring data from the readers 10.1-10.q and/or dedicated RF monitors within the system. The captured RF data may be narrow-band or broad-band, [0342] In one embodiment, the co-monitoring receivers measure the external interference using a distributed narrowband instantaneous spectral analysis technique. Specifically, each of the co-monitoring receivers within an area of physical proximity operates to receive RF transmissions on a different frequency channel such that all channels within a selected sub-band of channels are monitored simultaneously. [0332] the transmitter component of the reader 1404 can perform frequency hopping operations, or switch frequencies in accordance with non-hopping regulatory operations, to generate multiple signal transmissions covering a band of frequencies (see, e.g., FIG. 15a).)
the narrowband subcarriers are generated and integrated by a second signal reader; (Fischer – [Fig. 14a-b], [Fig. 15a], [0327], [0332])
determining, based on the second response signal, positioning information of the radio frequency tag; and (Fischer – [0327], [0132], [0087] In addition, the mid-level processor 102 is operable to control the sequencing of multiple readers performing tag interrogation functions, thereby providing advanced singulation and resolution capabilities and tag location virtualization. [0132])
establishing, based on the positioning information and the first response signal, a communication connection to the radio frequency tag: (Fischer – [0087], [0132], [0398])
wherein determining the positioning information of the radio frequency tag comprises: (Fischer – [0087])
performing channelization processing on the second response signal, to obtain digital sampling information corresponding to respective frequency point of a plurality of frequency points; (Fischer – [Fig. 4a-c], [0019], [0132], [0134], [0342], [0060] FIG. 1 depicts an illustrative embodiment of an RFID system architecture 100… digital signal processors)
determining, based on the digital sampling information, channel estimation information through a digital phase locked loop, and eliminating a situation of phase jump of π for the channel estimation information. (Fischer – [0134], [0082] a swept filter such as a phase-locked loop (PLL) can be used to demodulate a single channel at a time for determining the interference level of a specific channel. [0408] The array of coordinated RFID readers can also perform fine scale compensation of the transmit carrier frequency. Specifically, one of the readers can receive an RF signal from another reader, and determine the difference between the carrier frequency of that signal and its internal oscillator frequency. The difference in the frequencies can be determined by measuring the beat frequency or by any other suitable frequency discrimination technique. Each reader in the reader array may be capable of performing this measurement, and sending the measurement results to the mid-level processor 402 to determine what fine scale compensation should be employed to correct the carrier frequencies of the readers. By adjusting the transmit carrier frequencies of the readers in the RFID environment, reader-to-reader interference may be reduced and overall system performance may be improved. Fischer does not explicitly teach “eliminating a situation of phase jump of π for the channel estimation information”)
Fischer does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Carrick, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
eliminating a situation of phase jump of π for the channel estimation information (Carrick – [EQ. 1], [0067] In the U.S., the available minimum frequency step is determined by FCC and other regulations to be about 500 kHz, e.g., broadcast signal frequencies are limited to carrier-wave signals broadcasting on channel centers spaced apart by about 500 kHz. The maximum measurable distance D.sub.max which can be determined substantially correctly by the inventive RFID system, e.g., the distance which yields a phase shift less than .pi. radians for a frequency step .DELTA.f, is given by the following expression. [0068] With .DELTA.f=500 kHz, the maximum measurable distance for the RFID system is about 150 meters or about 480 feet. In practice, this distance exceeds expected ranges within which RFID tags will be located, so a 500-kHz minimum frequency increment is sufficient for many RFID tag range applications described herein. In some embodiments, e.g., within the U.S., the number of distinct interrogation frequencies may be about 50 due to an FCC regulated limitation on the broadcasting band. For example, 50 carrier-wave frequency values on 500 kHz spacing in a frequency range between about 902.75 MHz and about 927.25 MHz can be used to interrogate an RFID tag.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the reader transmissions of Fischer with the channel center frequency spacing of Carrick in order to yield phase shifts less than π (Carrick – [0067]).
Regarding Claim 2, Fischer further teaches:
wherein the acquiring the first response signal corresponding to the radio frequency tag, comprises: (Fischer – [0019])
transmitting, by a first signal reader, the first radio frequency signal to the radio frequency tag; and receiving, by the first signal reader, the first response signal corresponding to the radio frequency tag, (Fischer – [0019])
wherein the first response signal is generated by the radio frequency tag reflecting the first radio frequency signal. (Fischer – [0019], [0009] the tag appropriately modulates the CW, and reflects a portion of the modulated wave back to the reader)
Regarding Claim 3, Fischer further teaches:
wherein the acquiring the second response signal corresponding to the radio frequency tag, comprises: (Fischer – [0019])
transmitting, by a second signal reader, a second radio frequency signal to the radio frequency tag; and (Fischer – [0019])
acquiring, by the second signal reader, the second response signal corresponding to the radio frequency tag, (Fischer – [0019])
wherein the second response signal is generated by the radio frequency tag reflecting the second radio frequency signal. (Fischer – [0009], [0019])
Regarding Claim 4, Fischer further teaches:
wherein the transmitting, by the second signal reader, the second radio frequency signal to the radio frequency tag, comprises: (Fischer – [0019])
generating, by the second signal reader, a plurality of narrowband subcarriers of different frequencies; and (Fischer – [0019], [0342])
integrating the plurality of narrowband subcarriers of different frequencies, to obtain the second radio frequency signal. (Fischer – [0019] [0342] Next, the co-monitoring receivers provide information relating to the power level samples to the mid-level processor, which compiles multiple narrowband observations over the time)
Regarding Claim 5, Fischer further teaches:
wherein the determining, based on the second response signal, the positioning information of the radio frequency tag, comprises: (Fischer – [0019] [0087])
acquiring area information corresponding to the radio frequency tag; (Fischer – [0019] [0087])
performing the channelization processing on the second response signal, to obtain the digital sampling information corresponding to respective frequency point of a the plurality of frequency points; (Fischer – [Fig. 4a-c], [0019], [0060], [0132], [0134], [0342])
determining, based on the digital sampling information corresponding to respective frequency point of the plurality of frequency points, the channel estimation information corresponding to the second response signal; and (Fischer – [Fig. 4a-c], [0019], [0060], [0342])
determining, based on the channel estimation information and the area information, the positioning information of the radio frequency tag. (Fischer – [Fig. 4a-c], [0087], [0132], [0134], [0342])
Regarding Claim 6, Fischer further teaches:
wherein the determining, based on the digital sampling information corresponding to the respective frequency point of the plurality of frequency points, the channel estimation information corresponding to the second response signal, comprises: (Fischer – [0019], [0060], [0342])
acquiring preamble information in the digital sampling information corresponding to respective frequency point of the plurality of frequency points; (Fischer – [0060], [0342], [0156] Packet-scale synchronization is when the start time of a message packet is known and the finish time and intermediate phases of the packet can be predicted,)
determining, based on the preamble information, initial start time and initial frequency offset information which are corresponding to respective frequency point of the plurality of frequency points; and (Fischer – [0156], [0342])
determining, based on the initial start time and the initial frequency offset information which are corresponding to respective frequency point of the plurality of frequency points, the channel estimation information corresponding to the second response signal. (Fischer – [0156], [0342])
Regarding Claim 7, Fischer further teaches:
wherein the determining, based on the initial start time and the initial frequency offset information which are corresponding to respective frequency point of the plurality of frequency points, the channel estimation information corresponding to the second response signal, comprises: (Fischer – [0019], [0156], [0342])
performing processing on the second response signal by using an a digital phase locked loop, and in combination with the initial start time and the initial frequency offset information, to obtain a target start time and target frequency offset information; and (Fischer – [0019], [0342], [0082] The reader 220 can be operated to receive multiple RF signals on different frequency channels,… a swept filter such as a phase-locked loop (PLL) can be used to demodulate a single channel at a time for determining the interference level of a specific channel. [0160] In closed loop oscillator-corrected synchronization, the oscillator associated with the reader is adjusted so that the oscillator frequency is closely related to the oscillator frequencies of the other devices on the network. The correction to the oscillator within the reader may be imposed on the oscillator circuit, or the oscillator signal may be corrected at the cycle scale digitally or with filtering,)
performing non-uniform time sampling and interpolation processing on the target start time and the target frequency offset information, to obtain the channel estimation information corresponding to the second response signal. (Fischer – [0019], [0082], [0160], [0342], [0161] With open-loop synchronization, the mid-level processor 402 anticipates the timer drift within each reader, and adjusts the transmit time in the commands it issues to the readers accordingly. Specifically, the mid-level processor 402 tracks the timing drift and the rate of timing drift due to oscillator offsets and the propagation delays to the readers. Using this information, the mid-level processor 402 calculates the value that each reader will have in its timer at a specific value of the processing component's local time. Before issuing a command for a desired action, the mid-level processor 402 sends the readers these calculated timer values,)
Regarding Claim 8, Fischer further teaches:
wherein the determining, based on the channel estimation information and the area information, the positioning information of the radio frequency tag, comprises: (Fischer – [0019], [0087], [0132], [0342])
determining, based on the channel estimation information, phase information corresponding to respective frequency point of the plurality of frequency points; and (Fischer – [0160], [0161], [0342])
determining, based on the phase information corresponding to respective frequency point of the plurality of frequency points and the area information, the positioning information of the radio frequency tag. (Fischer – [0087], [0132], [0160], [0161], [0342])
Regarding Claim 9, Fischer further teaches:
wherein the determining, based on the phase information corresponding to respective frequency point of the plurality of frequency points and the area information, the positioning information of the radio frequency tag, comprises: (Fischer – [0087], [0132], [0160], [0161], [0342])
acquiring estimated phase information corresponding to respective position areas in the area information; (Fischer – [0087], [0132], [0160], [0161], [0342])
determining, based on the phase information corresponding to respective frequency point of the plurality of frequency points and the estimated phase information, initial positioning information corresponding to respective frequency point of the plurality of frequency points; and (Fischer – [0087], [0132], [0160], [0161], [0342])
determining, based on the initial positioning information corresponding to all frequency points and the phase information corresponding to all frequency points, the positioning information of the radio frequency tag. (Fischer – [0087], [0132], [0160], [0161], [0342])
Regarding Claim 10, Fischer further teaches:
A radio frequency communication method applied to a vehicle, (Fischer – [0019], [0283] (3) Reader configuration information including the number of antennas, the antenna locations on the vehicle with respect to a selected origin point on the vehicle, the antenna orientation (e.g., azimuth, elevation, twist), whether the antenna is mounted on moving parts, e.g., tines or forks of a forklift, and the location/orientation of the antenna on the moving part, and the antenna and reader capabilities including the range of power, the sensitivity, the air protocol capabilities, the directional control, etc.)
the vehicle being provided with a radio frequency tag and sensors for acquiring running status data corresponding to the vehicle, (Fischer – [0229] In one embodiment, the location configuration information for each mobile reader ID includes the following:
[0300] (1) LocationCfgID--an identifier for this location configuration.
[0301] (2) The physical location of the mobile reader (i.e., the coordinates of the reader within the site or facility).
[0302] (3) The orientation of the vehicle.
[0303] (4) The displacement of the antennae relative to the vehicle, whether the antennae are placed on moving part(s) of the vehicle, and/or whether the direction can be controlled on the antenna.)
the method comprising: determining, according to the method of claim 1, positioning information of the vehicle provided with the radio frequency tag, and (Fischer – [0019], [0087], [0283])
establishing a communication connection to the vehicle; (Fischer – [0229-0303])
generating, based on the positioning information and the running status data, control information for performing radio frequency communication with the vehicle. (Fischer – [0229-0303], [0283] (3) Reader configuration information including the number of antennas, the antenna locations on the vehicle with respect to a selected origin point on the vehicle, the antenna orientation (e.g., azimuth, elevation, twist), whether the antenna is mounted on moving parts, e.g., tines or forks of a forklift, and the location/orientation of the antenna on the moving part, and the antenna and reader capabilities including the range of power, the sensitivity, the air protocol capabilities, the directional control, etc.)
Regarding Claims 11, 17-20 Fischer further teaches:
An electronic device, comprising: a memory and a processor; wherein the memory is configured for storing one or more computer instructions, and the one or more computer instructions, when executed by the processor, implement the radio frequency communication method according to claim 1. (Fischer – [0060])
Regarding Claim 13, Fischer further teaches:
further comprising: a first signal reader, wherein the first signal reader is configured for: (Fischer – [0019])
transmitting the first radio frequency signal to the radio frequency tag; and (Fischer – [0019])
receiving the first response signal corresponding to the radio frequency tag, and (Fischer – [0019])
transmitting the first response signal to the demodulating device, (Fischer – [0019], [0082])
wherein the first response signal is generated by the radio frequency tag reflecting the first radio frequency signal. (Fischer – [0009], [0019])
Regarding Claim 14, Fischer further teaches:
further comprising: a second signal reader, wherein the second signal reader is configured for: (Fischer – [0019])
transmitting the second radio frequency signal to the radio frequency tag, (Fischer – [0019], [0132], [0134], [0190])
receiving the second response signal corresponding to the radio frequency tag, and transmitting the second response signal to the demodulating device, (Fischer – [0019], [0082])
wherein the second response signal is generated by the radio frequency tag reflecting the second radio frequency signal. (Fischer – [0009], [0019])
Regarding Claims 15-16, Fischer further teaches:
A computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program, wherein the computer program, when executed by a computer, implements the method according to claim 1. (Fischer – [0060])
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 9, filed 10/22/2025, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) have been fully considered and are not persuasive. The amendments recite “unable to be completely activated” which have issues of new matter and issues of clarity. Claims 1, 12 are now rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) and 35 U.S.C. § 112(b).
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 9-12, filed 10/22/2025, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) has been withdrawn. However, the Claims are now rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103. Applicant argues Fischer does not disclose “the second RF signal configured to only position the tag and the first RF signal configured to communication”. The examiner disagrees and now cites Fischer [0190] and [0398] for disclosing a low power radar mode that transmits “a low duty cycle relative to the tag flux”. The applicant argues Fischer does not disclose “generating an RF signal comprising a plurality of narrowband subcarriers of different frequencies”. The examiner disagrees and now cites Fischer [Fig. 14a-b], [Fig. 15a], and [0327] to more clearly map the disclosure to the Claims. It is obvious and implied that a reader could function as multiple readers and transmit the received narrowband frequencies of the co-monitoring receivers but it is explicitly taught in the combination of Fischer and Carrick which is further motivated to “yield phase shifts less than π” by incorporating frequency spacings of 500 kHz (narrowband).
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 12, filed 10/22/2025, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the dependent claims are allowable due to the dependency on the independent claims. The examiner disagrees due to the above-mentioned rejections.
Applicant's remaining arguments amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims is understandable and distinguishable from other inventions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure or directed to the state of art is listed on the enclosed PTO-892.
The following is a brief description for relevant prior art that was cited but not applied:
Rodenbeck (US 9720080) describes a system that combines radar and telemetry data that can utilize RFID.
Feher (US 20100124920) describes system for position determination that utilizes RFID.
Al-Eidan (US 10491261) describes a wireless access system architecture that utilizes RFID.
/BRANDON JAMES HENSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645