DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 of U.S. Application No. 18/171268 filed on 04/03/2026 have been examined.
Office Action is in response to the Applicant's amendments and remarks filed04/03/2026. Claims 1-3, 11, 14, & 19 are presently amended,. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
In regards to the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103: Applicant’s arguments with respect to the independent claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. A new grounds of rejection is made in view of US 2015/0025713A1 (“Klinger”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 & 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0144108A1 (“McCullough”), in view of US 2020/0164976A1 (“Lovering”), in view of US 2015/0025713A1 (“Klinger”).
As per claim 1 McCullough discloses
A system comprising:
a controller configured to (see at least McCullough, para. [0056]: Propulsion assemblies 26 each include an electronics node depicted as including controllers, sensors and one or more batteries, a two-axis gimbal operated by a pair of actuators and a propulsion system including an electric motor and a rotor assembly.):
receive input that a vertical take-off and landing (VTOL) aircraft is oscillating off-nominally (see at least McCullough, para. [0051]: Based upon the optimal flight attitude state for the aircraft and the current flight attitude state of the aircraft, flight control system 22 identifies any deviations between the current flight attitude state and the optimal flight attitude state in block 56. For example, this process may identify deviations between a current pitch state and an optimal pitch state of the aircraft, deviations between a current roll state and an optimal roll state of the aircraft, deviations between a current yaw state and an optimal yaw state of the aircraft and/or combination thereof. This process may also involve determining a cause of the deviation such as identifying the occurrence of a flight anomaly such as turbulence, a bird strike, a component fault, a one engine inoperable condition or the like.);
receive sensor data characterizing at least an instantaneous roll angle of the VTOL aircraft (see at least McCullough, para. [0051]: Based upon the optimal flight attitude state for the aircraft and the current flight attitude state of the aircraft, flight control system 22 identifies any deviations between the current flight attitude state and the optimal flight attitude state in block 56. For example, this process may identify deviations between a current pitch state and an optimal pitch state of the aircraft, deviations between a current roll state and an optimal roll state of the aircraft…); and
generate a query request in response to the instantaneous roll angle being equal to or greater than a roll angle threshold, wherein the instantaneous roll angle being equal to or greater than the roll angle threshold indicates that the VTOL aircraft has deviated or is about to deviate from a stable aircraft state (see at least McCullough, para. [0051]: Based upon the optimal flight attitude state for the aircraft and the current flight attitude state of the aircraft, flight control system 22 identifies any deviations between the current flight attitude state and the optimal flight attitude state in block 56. For example, this process may identify deviations between a current pitch state and an optimal pitch state of the aircraft, deviations between a current roll state and an optimal roll state of the aircraft…); and
memory configured to provide propeller control data identifying a respective propeller speed for one or more propellers of the VTOL aircraft (see at least McCullough, para. [0052]: The process also considers the orientation of the aircraft. For example, in the VTOL orientation, changes in thrust vector and/or rotor speed of selected propulsion assemblies may create a more desired aircraft response than changes in aerosurface position, such as a response of a greater magnitude, a response with a greater rate of change and/or a response with a greater rate of rate of change. Similarly, in the biplane orientation, changes in aerosurface position and/or rotor speed of selected propulsion assemblies may create a more desired aircraft response than changes in thrust vector.), and
wherein the controller is further configured to cause the one or more propellers of the VTOL aircraft to rotate at the identified respective propeller speed, and to return the VTOL aircraft to the stable aircraft state (see at least McCullough, para. [0052]: The process also considers the orientation of the aircraft. For example, in the VTOL orientation, changes in thrust vector and/or rotor speed of selected propulsion assemblies may create a more desired aircraft response than changes in aerosurface position, such as a response of a greater magnitude, a response with a greater rate of change and/or a response with a greater rate of rate of change. Similarly, in the biplane orientation, changes in aerosurface position and/or rotor speed of selected propulsion assemblies may create a more desired aircraft response than changes in thrust vector.).
However McCullough does not explicitly disclose
a database configured to provide propeller control data identifying a respective propeller speed profile for one or more propellers of the VTOL aircraft in response to the query request, wherein the database stores different propeller speed profiles for the one or more propellers of the VTOL aircraft, and
wherein each of the different propeller speed profiles is generated from a simulation for returning the VTOL aircraft to the stable aircraft state from a specified roll angle, wherein the simulation includes at least a cruise phase simulation of the VTOL aircraft, the cruise phase simulation based on simulated effects of turbulence caused by wind gusts on the VTOL aircraft,
wherein the controller is further configured to cause the one or more propellers of the VTOL aircraft to rotate at the identified respective propeller speed profile, and to return the VTOL aircraft to the stable aircraft state.
Lovering teaches
a database configured to provide propeller control data identifying a respective propeller speed profile for one or more propellers of the VTOL aircraft in response to the query request, wherein the database stores different propeller speed profiles for the one or more propellers of the VTOL aircraft from a roll angle (see at least Lovering, para. [0072]: In the event of a failure of any propeller 41-48, the blade speeds of the other propellers that remain operational can be adjusted in order to accommodate for the failed propeller while maintaining controllability. In some embodiments, the controller 110 stores predefined data, referred to here after as “thrust ratio data,” that indicates desired thrusts (e.g., optimal thrust ratios) to be provided by the propellers 41-48 for certain operating conditions (such as desired roll, pitch, and yaw moments) and propeller operational states (e.g., which propellers 41-48 are operational). Based on this thrust ratio data, the controller 110 is configured to control the blade speeds of the propellers 41-48, depending on which propellers 41-48 are currently operational, to achieve optimal thrust ratios in an effort to reduce the total thrust provided by the propellers 41-48 and, hence, the total power consumed by the propellers 41-48 while achieving the desired aircraft movement.), and
wherein the controller is further configured to cause the one or more propellers of the VTOL aircraft to rotate at the identified respective propeller speed profile, and to return the VTOL aircraft to the stable aircraft state (see at least Lovering, para. [0071-0072]: The blade speeds of the propellers 41-48 can be selectively controlled to achieve desired roll, pitch, and yaw moments. As an example, it is possible to design the placement and configuration of corresponding propellers (e.g., positioning the corresponding propellers about the same distance from the aircraft's center of gravity)such that their pitch and roll moments cancel when their blades rotate at certain speeds (e.g., at about the same speed). In such case, the blade speeds of the corresponding propellers can be changed(i.e., increased or decreased) at about the same rate or otherwise for the purposes of controlling yaw, as will be described in more detail below, without causing roll and pitch moments that result in displacement of the aircraft 20 about the roll axis and the pitch axis, respectively. By controlling all of the propellers 41-48 so that their roll and pitch moments cancel, the controller 110 can vary the speeds of at least some of the propellers to produce desired yawing moments without causing displacement of the aircraft 20 about the roll axis and the pitch axis. Similarly, desired roll and pitch movement may be induced by differentially changing the blade speeds of propellers 41-48.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified McCullough to incorporate the teaching of a database configured to provide propeller control data identifying a respective propeller speed profile for one or more propellers of the VTOL aircraft in response to the query request, wherein the database stores different propeller speed profiles for the one or more propellers of the VTOL aircraft for respective roll angles, and wherein the controller is further configured to cause the one or more propellers of the VTOL aircraft to rotate at the identified respective propeller speed profile, and to return the VTOL aircraft to the stable aircraft state of Lovering, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to improve aerodynamics and makes it easier to control the aircraft 20, thereby simplifying the aircraft's design (see at least Lovering, para. [0095]).
Klinger teaches
wherein each of the different propeller speed profiles is generated from a simulation for returning the VTOL aircraft to the stable aircraft state from a specified roll angle (see at least Klinger, para. [0058]: In one embodiment, if the planned path information specification were described in the example data structure described above in relation to the example embodiment of a fixed wing aircraft, the control system (e.g., the planned path calculator module) would generate the horizontal profile of the planned path (e.g., the array of smoothly connected horizontal path segments), and the altitude and speed profiles of the planned path to meet the current mission requirements. A simple and common mission requirement for such an aircraft is to fly an orbit path around a target. Planned path segments which start at the aircraft's current location and bearing and then merge continuously into the orbit pattern would be generated. The turn segments in this ingress path would have a turn radius no smaller than a predetermined minimum value. Such a predetermined minimum value can be limited, for example, by the performance capabilities of the vehicle. & para. [0134]: In some embodiments, a control method adjusts the roll of the aircraft while orbiting the target so that the path of the aircraft will converge on the calculated optimal ellipse for the current estimated wind speed and direction. FIG. 16 illustrates the flight path of a simulated aircraft using such a control method to provide persistent surveillance imagery of a target in high wind conditions.),
wherein the simulation includes at least a cruise phase simulation of the VTOL aircraft, the cruise phase simulation based on simulated effects of turbulence caused by wind gusts on the VTOL aircraft (see at least Klinger, para. [0128]: In some embodiments, a control method for an aircraft can assume that (a) the flight can be controlled by regularly commanding an air speed, an altitude and a roll angle for the aircraft and that (b) the aircraft uses coordinated flight (no side slip) when responding to these commands. The control method can be based on the analysis of a constant wind situation in which the aircraft flies at a constant True Air Speed (TAS) and altitude around a target and just modifies its roll angle to keep its heading (the direction of its body axis) perpendicular to the direction to the target. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified McCullough to incorporate the teaching of wherein each of the different propeller speed profiles is generated from a simulation for returning the VTOL aircraft to the stable aircraft state from a specified roll angle, wherein the simulation includes at least a cruise phase simulation of the VTOL aircraft, the cruise phase simulation based on simulated effects of turbulence caused by wind gusts on the VTOL aircraft of Klinger, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to enable the vehicles to consider the planned paths of the other cooperating vehicles in order to optimize their paths (see at least Klinger, para. [0008]).
As per claim 2 McCullough does not explicitly disclose
wherein the simulation is a flight model, and wherein the VTOL aircraft comprises a plurality of lift propellers and a push propeller, the at least two propellers of the VTOL aircraft correspond to a subset of propellers of the plurality of lift propellers and are positioned on the respective wing of the VTOL aircraft wherein the different propeller speed profiles for the one or more propellers of the VTOL aircraft for the respective roll angles correspond to precomputed data that has been determined using a flight model prior to a flight of the VTOL aircraft
Klinger teaches
wherein the simulation is a flight model (see at least Klinger, para. [0134]: In some embodiments, a control method adjusts the roll of the aircraft while orbiting the target so that the path of the aircraft will converge on the calculated optimal ellipse for the current estimated wind speed and direction. FIG. 16 illustrates the flight path of a simulated aircraft using such a control method to provide persistent surveillance imagery of a target in high wind conditions.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified McCullough to incorporate the teaching of wherein the simulation is a flight model of Klinger, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to enable the vehicles to consider the planned paths of the other cooperating vehicles in order to optimize their paths (see at least Klinger, para. [0008]).
Lovering teaches
wherein the VTOL aircraft comprises a plurality of lift propellers and a push propeller, the at least two propellers of the VTOL aircraft correspond to a subset of propellers of the plurality of lift propellers and are positioned on the respective wing of the VTOL aircraft wherein the different propeller speed profiles for the one or more propellers of the VTOL aircraft for the respective roll angles correspond to precomputed data that has been determined using a flight model prior to a flight of the VTOL aircraft (see at least Lovering, para. [0072]: In the event of a failure of any propeller 41-48, the blade speeds of the other propellers that remain operational can be adjusted in order to accommodate for the failed propeller while maintaining controllability. In some embodiments, the controller 110 stores predefined data, referred to here after as “thrust ratio data,” that indicates desired thrusts (e.g., optimal thrust ratios) to be provided by the propellers 41-48 for certain operating conditions (such as desired roll, pitch, and yaw moments) and propeller operational states (e.g., which propellers 41-48 are operational).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified McCullough to incorporate the teaching of wherein the VTOL aircraft comprises a plurality of lift propellers and a push propeller, the at least two propellers of the VTOL aircraft correspond to a subset of propellers of the plurality of lift propellers and are positioned on the respective wing of the VTOL aircraft wherein the different propeller speed profiles for the one or more propellers of the VTOL aircraft for the respective roll angles correspond to precomputed data that has been determined using a flight model prior to a flight of the VTOL aircraft of Lovering, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to improve aerodynamics and makes it easier to control the aircraft 20, thereby simplifying the aircraft's design (see at least Lovering, para. [0095]).
As per claim 10 McCullough discloses
wherein the power system is a battery power system and comprises one or more batteries for providing power to the respective motors, the respective motors are electrical motors, and the VTOL aircraft is an eVTOL aircraft (see at least McCullough, para. [0055-0056]: Further, in some embodiments, each motor 231-238 is electrically connected to the electrical power system 163through one or more motor controllers 221-228, which control propeller speed by controlling the amount of electrical power that is delivered to the propellers 41-48…Each of the batteries 166 is coupled to power conditioning circuitry 169 that receives electrical power from the batteries 166 and conditions such power (e.g., regulates voltage) for distribution to the electrical components of the aircraft 20. Specifically, the power conditioning circuitry 169 combines electrical power from multiple batteries 166to provide at least one direct current (DC) power signal for the aircraft's electrical components.).
As per claim 11 McCullough discloses
A method comprising: receiving input at a controller that a vertical take-off and landing aircraft is oscillating off-nominally (see at least McCullough, para. [0051]: Based upon the optimal flight attitude state for the aircraft and the current flight attitude state of the aircraft, flight control system 22 identifies any deviations between the current flight attitude state and the optimal flight attitude state in block 56. For example, this process may identify deviations between a current pitch state and an optimal pitch state of the aircraft, deviations between a current roll state and an optimal roll state of the aircraft, deviations between a current yaw state and an optimal yaw state of the aircraft and/or combination thereof. This process may also involve determining a cause of the deviation such as identifying the occurrence of a flight anomaly such as turbulence, a bird strike, a component fault, a one engine inoperable condition or the like.);
receiving roll angle sensor data characterizing an instantaneous roll angle of the VTOL aircraft (see at least McCullough, para. [0051]: Based upon the optimal flight attitude state for the aircraft and the current flight attitude state of the aircraft, flight control system 22 identifies any deviations between the current flight attitude state and the optimal flight attitude state in block 56. For example, this process may identify deviations between a current pitch state and an optimal pitch state of the aircraft, deviations between a current roll state and an optimal roll state of the aircraft…);
generating a query request in response to the instantaneous roll angle being equal to or greater than the roll angle threshold, wherein the instantaneous roll angle being equal to or greater than the roll angle threshold indicates that the VTOL aircraft has deviated or is about to deviate from a stable aircraft state in response to an external force acting on a respective wing of a set of wings of the VTOL aircraft (see at least McCullough, para. [0051]: Based upon the optimal flight attitude state for the aircraft and the current flight attitude state of the aircraft, flight control system 22 identifies any deviations between the current flight attitude state and the optimal flight attitude state in block 56. For example, this process may identify deviations between a current pitch state and an optimal pitch state of the aircraft, deviations between a current roll state and an optimal roll state of the aircraft…);
identifying at least one propeller of a plurality propellers of the VTOL aircraft positioned on the respective wing of the VTOL aircraft for counteracting the external force acting on the respective wing to return the VTOL aircraft to the stable aircraft state (see at least McCullough, para. [0052]: The process also considers the orientation of the aircraft. For example, in the VTOL orientation, changes in thrust vector and/or rotor speed of selected propulsion assemblies may create a more desired aircraft response than changes in aerosurface position, such as a response of a greater magnitude, a response with a greater rate of change and/or a response with a greater rate of rate of change. Similarly, in the biplane orientation, changes in aerosurface position and/or rotor speed of selected propulsion assemblies may create a more desired aircraft response than changes in thrust vector.);
generating propeller activation data that includes the propeller speed (see at least McCullough, para. [0052]: The process also considers the orientation of the aircraft. For example, in the VTOL orientation, changes in thrust vector and/or rotor speed of selected propulsion assemblies may create a more desired aircraft response than changes in aerosurface position, such as a response of a greater magnitude, a response with a greater rate of change and/or a response with a greater rate of rate of change. Similarly, in the biplane orientation, changes in aerosurface position and/or rotor speed of selected propulsion assemblies may create a more desired aircraft response than changes in thrust vector.); and
causing the proper subset of propellers to rotate at a propeller speed specified in the propeller speed to generate a force to counteract the external force to push the respective wing in an opposite direction of the external force, and to return the VTOL aircraft to the stable aircraft state based on the propeller activation data (see at least McCullough, para. [0052]: The process also considers the orientation of the aircraft. For example, in the VTOL orientation, changes in thrust vector and/or rotor speed of selected propulsion assemblies may create a more desired aircraft response than changes in aerosurface position, such as a response of a greater magnitude, a response with a greater rate of change and/or a response with a greater rate of rate of change. Similarly, in the biplane orientation, changes in aerosurface position and/or rotor speed of selected propulsion assemblies may create a more desired aircraft response than changes in thrust vector.).
However McCullough does not explicitly disclose
searching a turbulence suppression database for a propeller speed profile for the at least one propeller based on the query request, wherein the turbulence suppression database stores different propeller speed profiles for propellers for respective roll angles of the VTOL aircraft,
wherein each of the different propeller speed profiles is generated from a simulation for returning the VTOL aircraft to the stable aircraft state from a specified roll angle, wherein the simulation includes at least a cruise phase simulation of the VTOL aircraft, the cruise phase simulation based on simulated effects of turbulence caused by wind gusts on the VTOL aircraft.
Lovering teaches
searching a turbulence suppression database for a propeller speed profile for the at least one propeller based on the query request, wherein the turbulence suppression database stores different propeller speed profiles for propellers of the VOTL aircraft from a roll angle (see at least Lovering, para. [0072]: In the event of a failure of any propeller 41-48, the blade speeds of the other propellers that remain operational can be adjusted in order to accommodate for the failed propeller while maintaining controllability. In some embodiments, the controller 110 stores predefined data, referred to here after as “thrust ratio data,” that indicates desired thrusts (e.g., optimal thrust ratios) to be provided by the propellers 41-48 for certain operating conditions (such as desired roll, pitch, and yaw moments) and propeller operational states (e.g., which propellers 41-48 are operational). Based on this thrust ratio data, the controller 110 is configured to control the blade speeds of the propellers 41-48, depending on which propellers 41-48 are currently operational, to achieve optimal thrust ratios in an effort to reduce the total thrust provided by the propellers 41-48 and, hence, the total power consumed by the propellers 41-48 while achieving the desired aircraft movement.);
generating propeller activation data that includes the propeller speed profile; and causing the proper subset of propellers to rotate at a propeller speed specified in the propeller speed profile to generate a force to counteract the external force to push the respective wing in an opposite direction of the external force, and to return the VTOL aircraft to the stable aircraft state based on the propeller activation data (see at least Lovering, para. [0071-0072]: The blade speeds of the propellers 41-48 can be selectively controlled to achieve desired roll, pitch, and yaw moments. As an example, it is possible to design the placement and configuration of corresponding propellers (e.g., positioning the corresponding propellers about the same distance from the aircraft's center of gravity)such that their pitch and roll moments cancel when their blades rotate at certain speeds (e.g., at about the same speed). In such case, the blade speeds of the corresponding propellers can be changed(i.e., increased or decreased) at about the same rate or otherwise for the purposes of controlling yaw, as will be described in more detail below, without causing roll and pitch moments that result in displacement of the aircraft 20 about the roll axis and the pitch axis, respectively. By controlling all of the propellers 41-48 so that their roll and pitch moments cancel, the controller 110 can vary the speeds of at least some of the propellers to produce desired yawing moments without causing displacement of the aircraft 20 about the roll axis and the pitch axis. Similarly, desired roll and pitch movement may be induced by differentially changing the blade speeds of propellers 41-48.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified McCullough to incorporate the teaching of searching a turbulence suppression database for a propeller speed profile for the at least one propeller based on the query request, wherein the turbulence suppression database stores different propeller speed profiles for propellers for respective roll angles of Lovering, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to improve aerodynamics and makes it easier to control the aircraft 20, thereby simplifying the aircraft's design (see at least Lovering, para. [0095]).
Klinger teaches
wherein each of the different propeller speed profiles is generated from a simulation for returning the VTOL aircraft to the stable aircraft state from a specified roll angle (see at least Klinger, para. [0058]: In one embodiment, if the planned path information specification were described in the example data structure described above in relation to the example embodiment of a fixed wing aircraft, the control system (e.g., the planned path calculator module) would generate the horizontal profile of the planned path (e.g., the array of smoothly connected horizontal path segments), and the altitude and speed profiles of the planned path to meet the current mission requirements. A simple and common mission requirement for such an aircraft is to fly an orbit path around a target. Planned path segments which start at the aircraft's current location and bearing and then merge continuously into the orbit pattern would be generated. The turn segments in this ingress path would have a turn radius no smaller than a predetermined minimum value. Such a predetermined minimum value can be limited, for example, by the performance capabilities of the vehicle. & para. [0134]: In some embodiments, a control method adjusts the roll of the aircraft while orbiting the target so that the path of the aircraft will converge on the calculated optimal ellipse for the current estimated wind speed and direction. FIG. 16 illustrates the flight path of a simulated aircraft using such a control method to provide persistent surveillance imagery of a target in high wind conditions.),
wherein the simulation includes at least a cruise phase simulation of the VTOL aircraft, the cruise phase simulation based on simulated effects of turbulence caused by wind gusts on the VTOL aircraft (see at least Klinger, para. [0128]: In some embodiments, a control method for an aircraft can assume that (a) the flight can be controlled by regularly commanding an air speed, an altitude and a roll angle for the aircraft and that (b) the aircraft uses coordinated flight (no side slip) when responding to these commands. The control method can be based on the analysis of a constant wind situation in which the aircraft flies at a constant True Air Speed (TAS) and altitude around a target and just modifies its roll angle to keep its heading (the direction of its body axis) perpendicular to the direction to the target. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified McCullough to incorporate the teaching of wherein each of the different propeller speed profiles is generated from a simulation for returning the VTOL aircraft to the stable aircraft state from a specified roll angle, wherein the simulation includes at least a cruise phase simulation of the VTOL aircraft, the cruise phase simulation based on simulated effects of turbulence caused by wind gusts on the VTOL aircraft of Klinger, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to enable the vehicles to consider the planned paths of the other cooperating vehicles in order to optimize their paths (see at least Klinger, para. [0008]).
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCullough, in view of Lovering, in view of Klinger, in view of US 2019/0048904A1 (“Neiser”).
As per claim 3 McCullough does not explicitly disclose
wherein the flight model includes a computational fluid dynamics (CFD) programmed to simulate effects of a disturbance on the VTOL aircraft to determine the different propeller speed profiles for one or more propellers of the VTOL aircraft.
Neiser teaches
wherein the flight model includes a computational fluid dynamics (CFD) programmed to simulate effects of a disturbance on the VTOL aircraft to determine the different propeller speed profiles for one or more propellers of the VTOL aircraft (see at least Neiser, para. [0136]: The optimal configuration of the intentional fluid manipulation apparatuses as well as the boundary apparatus depends on the application and constraints, and can be found using a wide variety of methods. For example, a number of such methods are known in computational fluid dynamics. & para. [0149]: The aforementioned induced velocity distribution can also be generated by free vortices that are shed into the wake by the propeller blades of upstream IMSA 104 in the simplified framework of lifting-line theory. This is similar to the vortex shedding of a helicopter rotor, conventional propeller blade, or wind turbine blade. Note that, in some embodiments, the vortices shed by downstream IMSA 110 also contribute to the induced velocity in the proximity of boundary apparatus 95, such as at the location of velocity profile 102.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified McCullough to incorporate the teaching of wherein the flight model includes a computational fluid dynamics (CFD) programmed to simulate effects of a disturbance on the VTOL aircraft to determine the different propeller speed profiles for one or more propellers of the VTOL aircraft of Neiser, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to improve recovery of a portion of the energy loss (see at least Neiser, para. [0162]).
As per claim 4 McCullough discloses
wherein the VTOL aircraft deviates from the stable aircraft state in response to an external force caused by the disturbance acting on a respective wing of the VTOL aircraft in a respective direction, the external force causing the VTOL aircraft to roll by a given angle amount with respect to a longitudinal axis of the VTOL aircraft, wherein the given angle amount corresponds to the instantaneous roll angle (see at least McCullough, para. [0051]: Based upon the optimal flight attitude state for the aircraft and the current flight attitude state of the aircraft, flight control system 22 identifies any deviations between the current flight attitude state and the optimal flight attitude state in block 56. For example, this process may identify deviations between a current pitch state and an optimal pitch state of the aircraft, deviations between a current roll state and an optimal roll state of the aircraft…This process may also involve determining a cause of the deviation such as identifying the occurrence of a flight anomaly such as turbulence, a bird strike, a component fault, a one engine inoperable condition or the like. & para. [0087]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCullough, in view of Lovering, in view of Klinger, in view of Neiser, in view of US 2019/0033892A1 (“Gutierrez”).
As per claim 5 McCullough does not explicitly disclose
wherein the query request identifies the instantaneous roll angle, and the database is configured to identify the respective propeller speed for the at least two propellers based on the instantaneous roll angle.
Gutierrez teaches
wherein the query request identifies the instantaneous roll angle, and the database is configured to identify the respective propeller speed for the at least two propellers based on the instantaneous roll angle (see at least Gutierrez, para. [0037]: In the illustrated example of FIG. 3, the trajectory tracking controller 216 includes a disturbance rejecter 300, a position trajectory tracker 302, an orientation reference generator 304, an altitude controller 306, an attitude controller 308, and a motor speed selector 310. The disturbance rejecter 300 compensates for disturbances (e.g., caused by wind, storms, thermals, etc.) that may change the position of the UAV 100 from the planned trajectory. If some of the system parameters (e.g., mass) were known, then the disturbances could be rejected because their effect can be inferred from using the IMU acceleration measurements and compensated using the IMU-based disturbance estimates δ.sub.x, δ.sub.y, δ.sub.z. However, although computationally simple, IMU-based disturbance rejection is challenging under parameter uncertainty. In this example, the disturbance rejecter 300 uses the following Equations 2-4 from Equation Group A below to calculate control laws for disturbance rejection ū.sub.x, ū.sub.y, uz.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified McCullough to incorporate the teaching of wherein the query request identifies the instantaneous roll angle, and the database is configured to identify the respective propeller speed for the at least two propellers based on the instantaneous roll angle of Gutierrez, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to decrease the computational power to implement the motor speed selector, which may be advantageous in smaller UAVs with lower computational capabilities (see at least Gutierrez, para. [0162]).
Claim(s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCullough, in view of Lovering, in view of Klinger, in view of Neiser, in view of Gutierrez, in view of US 2018/0348764A1 (“Zhang”).
As per claim 6 McCullough does not explicitly disclose
wherein each propeller speed profile in the database is associated with a time entry specifying an amount of time that the at least two propellers are activated at the respective propeller speed, and the propeller control data further includes the time entry associated with the respective propeller speed for the at least two propellers of the VTOL aircraft
Zhang teaches
wherein each propeller speed profile in the database is associated with a time entry specifying an amount of time that the at least two propellers are activated at the respective propeller speed, and the propeller control data further includes the time entry associated with the respective propeller speed for the at least two propellers of the VTOL aircraft (see at least Zhang, para. [0152]: In one example, the lift mechanism operation instructions can include spooling up the rotors to hover the aerial system immediately after imminent operation event detection, allowing the aerial system 12 to coast using the applied force for a predetermined period of time after imminent operation event detection, controlling the lift mechanisms to cease further traversal along the second axis (or any axis) after a predetermined condition has been met, and controlling the lift mechanisms 40 to hover the aerial system 12 (e.g., controlling the lift mechanisms 40 to operate at hover speed).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified McCullough to incorporate the teaching of wherein each propeller speed profile in the database is associated with a time entry specifying an amount of time that the at least two propellers are activated at the respective propeller speed, and the propeller control data further includes the time entry associated with the respective propeller speed for the at least two propellers of the VTOL aircraft of Zhang, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for providing easy-to-use release and auto-position of a drone (see at least Zhang, para. [0002]).
As per claim 7 McCullough discloses
wherein the controller and the database form an active turbulence suppression (ATS) system, and the aircraft vehicle system further comprises a propeller control system for controlling the at least two propellers, the controller being configured to generate propeller activation data specifying the respective propeller speed, and the propeller control system being configured to rotate the at least two propellers of the VTOL aircraft at the respective propeller speed in response to receiving the propeller activation data (see at least McCullough, para. [0052]: The process also considers the orientation of the aircraft. For example, in the VTOL orientation, changes in thrust vector and/or rotor speed of selected propulsion assemblies may create a more desired aircraft response than changes in aerosurface position, such as a response of a greater magnitude, a response with a greater rate of change and/or a response with a greater rate of rate of change. Similarly, in the biplane orientation, changes in aerosurface position and/or rotor speed of selected propulsion assemblies may create a more desired aircraft response than changes in thrust vector.).
As per claim 8 McCullough does not explicitly disclose
wherein the VTOL aircraft comprises a plurality of lift propellers and a push propeller, the at least two propellers of the VTOL aircraft correspond to a subset of propellers of the plurality of lift propellers and are positioned on the respective wing of the VTOL aircraft
Lovering teaches
wherein the VTOL aircraft comprises a plurality of lift propellers and a push propeller, the at least two propellers of the VTOL aircraft correspond to a subset of propellers of the plurality of lift propellers and are positioned on the respective wing of the VTOL aircraft (see at least Lovering, para. [0072]: In the event of a failure of any propeller 41-48, the blade speeds of the other propellers that remain operational can be adjusted in order to accommodate for the failed propeller while maintaining controllability. In some embodiments, the controller 110 stores predefined data, referred to here after as “thrust ratio data,” that indicates desired thrusts (e.g., optimal thrust ratios) to be provided by the propellers 41-48 for certain operating conditions (such as desired roll, pitch, and yaw moments) and propeller operational states (e.g., which propellers 41-48 are operational).).
As per claim 9 McCullough does not explicitly disclose
wherein the propeller activation data further identifies the subset of propellers and the propeller control system is configured to identify the subset of propellers for activation at the respective speed based on the propeller activation data, further comprising a power system, and the propeller control system is configured to communicate with the power system to receive power for powering respective motors associated with the subset of propellers
Lovering teaches
wherein the propeller activation data further identifies the subset of propellers and the propeller control system is configured to identify the subset of propellers for activation at the respective speed based on the propeller activation data, further comprising a power system, and the propeller control system is configured to communicate with the power system to receive power for powering respective motors associated with the subset of propellers (see at least Lovering, para. [0072]: In the event of a failure of any propeller 41-48, the blade speeds of the other propellers that remain operational can be adjusted in order to accommodate for the failed propeller while maintaining controllability. In some embodiments, the controller 110 stores predefined data, referred to here after as “thrust ratio data,” that indicates desired thrusts (e.g., optimal thrust ratios) to be provided by the propellers 41-48 for certain operating conditions (such as desired roll, pitch, and yaw moments) and propeller operational states (e.g., which propellers 41-48 are operational). Based on this thrust ratio data, the controller 110 is configured to control the blade speeds of the propellers 41-48, depending on which propellers 41-48 are currently operational, to achieve optimal thrust ratios in an effort to reduce the total thrust provided by the propellers 41-48 and, hence, the total power consumed by the propellers 41-48 while achieving the desired aircraft movement.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified McCullough to incorporate the teaching of wherein the propeller activation data further identifies the subset of propellers and the propeller control system is configured to identify the subset of propellers for activation at the respective speed based on the propeller activation data, further comprising a power system, and the propeller control system is configured to communicate with the power system to receive power for powering respective motors associated with the subset of propellers of Lovering, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to improve aerodynamics and makes it easier to control the aircraft 20, thereby simplifying the aircraft's design (see at least Lovering, para. [0095]).
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCullough, in view of Lovering, in view of Klinger, in view of Zhang.
As per claim 12 McCullough does not explicitly disclose
wherein searching the turbulence suppression database comprises identifying a time entry specifying an amount of time that the at least one propeller is activated at the propeller speed specified in the propeller speed profile, wherein time entry is associated with the propeller speed profile and stored in the turbulence suppression database.
Zhang teaches
wherein searching the turbulence suppression database comprises identifying a time entry specifying an amount of time that the at least one propeller is activated at the propeller speed specified in the propeller speed profile, wherein time entry is associated with the propeller speed profile and stored in the turbulence suppression database (see at least Zhang, para. [0152]: In one example, the lift mechanism operation instructions can include spooling up the rotors to hover the aerial system immediately after imminent operation event detection, allowing the aerial system 12 to coast using the applied force for a predetermined period of time after imminent operation event detection, controlling the lift mechanisms to cease further traversal along the second axis (or any axis) after a predetermined condition has been met, and controlling the lift mechanisms 40 to hover the aerial system 12 (e.g., controlling the lift mechanisms 40 to operate at hover speed). In a second example, the lift mechanism operation instructions can include determining the resultant aerial system speed or acceleration along the second axis due to the applied force, spooling up the rotors to maintain the aerial system speed or acceleration along the second axis immediately after imminent operation event detection until a predetermined condition has been met, controlling the lift mechanisms 40 to cease further traversal along the second axis (or any axis) upon satisfaction of the predetermined condition, and controlling the lift mechanisms 40 to hover the aerial system 12 (e.g., controlling the lift mechanisms 40 to operate at hover speed).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified McCullough to incorporate the teaching of wherein searching the turbulence suppression database comprises identifying a time entry specifying an amount of time that the at least one propeller is activated at the propeller speed specified in the propeller speed profile, wherein time entry is associated with the propeller speed profile and stored in the turbulence suppression database of Zhang, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for providing easy-to-use release and auto-position of a drone (see at least Zhang, para. [0002]).
As per claim 13 McCullough does not explicitly disclose
wherein the propeller activation data further includes the time entry associated with the propeller speed profile for the at least one propeller.
Zhang teaches
wherein the propeller activation data further includes the time entry associated with the propeller speed profile for the at least one propeller (see at least Zhang, para. [0152]: In one example, the lift mechanism operation instructions can include spooling up the rotors to hover the aerial system immediately after imminent operation event detection, allowing the aerial system 12 to coast using the applied force for a predetermined period of time after imminent operation event detection, controlling the lift mechanisms to cease further traversal along the second axis (or any axis) after a predetermined condition has been met, and controlling the lift mechanisms 40 to hover the aerial system 12 (e.g., controlling the lift mechanisms 40 to operate at hover speed). In a second example, the lift mechanism operation instructions can include determining the resultant aerial system speed or acceleration along the second axis due to the applied force, spooling up the rotors to maintain the aerial system speed or acceleration along the second axis immediately after imminent operation event detection until a predetermined condition has been met, controlling the lift mechanisms 40 to cease further traversal along the second axis (or any axis) upon satisfaction of the predetermined condition, and controlling the lift mechanisms 40 to hover the aerial system 12 (e.g., controlling the lift mechanisms 40 to operate at hover speed).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified McCullough to incorporate the teaching of wherein the propeller activation data further includes the time entry associated with the propeller speed profile for the at least one propeller of Zhang, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for providing easy-to-use release and auto-position of a drone (see at least Zhang, para. [0002]).
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCullough, in view of US 2019/0009899A1 (“Tian”), in view of Gutierrez, in view of Klinger.
As per claim 14 McCullough discloses
A vertical take-off and landing (VTOL) aircraft comprising: a fuselage (see at least McCullough, para. [0036]: In the illustrated embodiment, aircraft 10 includes an airframe 12 including wings 14, 16 each having an airfoil cross-section that generates lift responsive to the forward airspeed of aircraft 10.);
at least two wings extending from the fuselage (see at least McCullough, para. [0036]: In the illustrated embodiment, aircraft 10 includes an airframe 12 including wings 14, 16 each having an airfoil cross-section that generates lift responsive to the forward airspeed of aircraft 10.);
a plurality of lift propellers equally distributed on the at least two wings (see at least McCullough, para. [0039]: The two-dimensional distributed thrust array of aircraft 10 includes a plurality of inboard propulsion assemblies, individually and collectively denoted as 24 and a plurality of outboard propulsion assemblies, individually and collectively denoted as 26. Inboard propulsion assemblies 24are respectively coupled to nacelle stations 14e, 14f of wing 14 and nacelle stations 16e, 16f of wing16 and preferably form mechanical and electrical connections therewith.); and
an active turbulence suppression (ATS) system, the ATS system being configured to (see at least McCullough, para. [0051]: In block 54, flight control system 22 monitors the current flight attitude state of the aircraft. Data for this analysis may be provided from a sensor suite carried by airframe 12, propulsion assemblies24, 26 and/or payload 30 including, for example, an attitude and heading reference system (AHRS)with solid-state or microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) gyroscopes, accelerometers and magnetometers. Based upon the optimal flight attitude state for the aircraft and the current flight attitude state of the aircraft, flight control system 22 identifies any deviations between the current flight attitude state and the optimal flight attitude state in block 56…This process may also involve determining a cause of the deviation such as identifying the occurrence of a flight anomaly such as turbulence, a bird strike, a component fault, a one engine inoperable condition or the like.):
generate propeller control data identifying a respective propeller speed for at least one lift propeller of the plurality of lift propellers located on a respective wing of the at least two wings in response to a turbulence (see at least McCullough, para. [0052]: The process also considers the orientation of the aircraft. For example, in the VTOL orientation, changes in thrust vector and/or rotor speed of selected propulsion assemblies may create a more desired aircraft response than changes in aerosurface position, such as a response of a greater magnitude, a response with a greater rate of change and/or a response with a greater rate of rate of change. Similarly, in the biplane orientation, changes in aerosurface position and/or rotor speed of selected propulsion assemblies may create a more desired aircraft response than changes in thrust vector.),
the turbulence suppression is queried in response to the ATS system determining that an instantaneous roll angle of the VTOL aircraft is equal to or greater than a roll angle threshold (see at least McCullough, para. [0052]: The process also considers the orientation of the aircraft. For example, in the VTOL orientation, changes in thrust vector and/or rotor speed of selected propulsion assemblies may create a more desired aircraft response than changes in aerosurface position, such as a response of a greater magnitude, a response with a greater rate of change and/or a response with a greater rate of rate of change. Similarly, in the biplane orientation, changes in aerosurface position and/or rotor speed of selected propulsion assemblies may create a more desired aircraft response than changes in thrust vector.),
wherein the instantaneous roll angle being equal to or greater than the roll angle threshold indicates that the VTOL aircraft has deviated or is about to deviate from a stable aircraft state in response to turbulence (see at least McCullough, para. [0051]: Based upon the optimal flight attitude state for the aircraft and the current flight attitude state of the aircraft, flight control system 22 identifies any deviations between the current flight attitude state and the optimal flight attitude state in block 56. For example, this process may identify deviations between a current pitch state and an optimal pitch state of the aircraft, deviations between a current roll state and an optimal roll state of the aircraft…); and
cause the at least one lift propeller of the VTOL aircraft to rotate at the respective propeller speed for the at least one lift propeller based on the propeller speed to return the VTOL aircraft to the stable aircraft state (see at least McCullough, para. [0052]: The process also considers the orientation of the aircraft. For example, in the VTOL orientation, changes in thrust vector and/or rotor speed of selected propulsion assemblies may create a more desired aircraft response than changes in aerosurface position, such as a response of a greater magnitude, a response with a greater rate of change and/or a response with a greater rate of rate of change. Similarly, in the biplane orientation, changes in aerosurface position and/or rotor speed of selected propulsion assemblies may create a more desired aircraft response than changes in thrust vector.).
However McCullough does not explicitly disclose
a push propeller positioned at a rear of the fuselage;
generate propeller control data identifying a respective propeller speed profile for at least one lift propeller of the plurality of lift propellers located on a respective wing of the at least two wings in response to querying a turbulence suppression database, wherein the turbulence suppression database stores different propeller speed profiles for propellers of the VTOL aircraft from a roll angle,
wherein each of the different propeller speed profiles is generated from a simulation for returning the VTOL aircraft to the stable aircraft state for respeeti1re from a specified roll angle, wherein the simulation includes at least a cruise phase simulation of the VTOL aircraft, the cruise phase simulation based on simulated effects of turbulence caused by wind gusts on the VTOL aircraft, and
the turbulence suppression database is queried in response to the ATS system determining that an instantaneous roll angle of the VTOL aircraft is equal to or greater than a roll angle threshold, wherein the instantaneous roll angle being equal to or greater than the roll angle threshold indicates that the VTOL aircraft has deviated or is about to deviate from a stable aircraft state in response to turbulence; and
cause the at least one lift propeller of the VTOL aircraft to rotate at the respective propeller speed for the at least one lift propeller based on the propeller speed profiles to return the VTOL aircraft to the stable aircraft state.
Tian teaches
a push propeller positioned at a rear of the fuselage (see at least Tian, para. [0108]: Also, while the drone in FIGS. 10-18 is shown as having such wing-tip propellers disposed on the left and on the right side, it is especially contemplated that some embodiments may contain the sewing-tip propellers on the front end or rear end of the drone, or on any distal end of the drone for the purpose of efficiently minimizing the undesirable effect of air turbulence when the drone is hovering or moving in a relatively slow speed in any direction.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified McCullough to incorporate the teaching of a push propeller positioned at a rear of the fuselage of Tian, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to counter the effect of air turbulence (see at least Tian, para. [0028]).
Gutierrez teaches
generate propeller control data identifying a respective propeller speed profile for at least one lift propeller of the plurality of lift propellers located on a respective wing of the at least two wings in response to querying a turbulence suppression database, wherein the turbulence suppression database stores different propeller speed profiles for propellers of the VTOL aircraft for respective roll angles, and the turbulence suppression database is queried in response to the ATS system determining that an disturbance has occurred (see at least Gutierrez, para. [0037]: In the illustrated example of FIG. 3, the trajectory tracking controller 216 includes a disturbance rejecter 300, a position trajectory tracker 302, an orientation reference generator 304, an altitude controller 306, an attitude controller 308, and a motor speed selector 310. The disturbance rejecter 300 compensates for disturbances (e.g., caused by wind, storms, thermals, etc.) that may change the position of the UAV 100 from the planned trajectory. If some of the system parameters (e.g., mass) were known, then the disturbances could be rejected because their effect can be inferred from using the IMU acceleration measurements and compensated using the IMU-based disturbance estimates δ.sub.x, δ.sub.y, δ.sub.z. However, although computationally simple, IMU-based disturbance rejection is challenging under parameter uncertainty. In this example, the disturbance rejecter 300 uses the following Equations 2-4 from Equation Group A below to calculate control laws for disturbance rejection ū.sub.x, ū.sub.y, uz.); and
cause the at least one lift propeller of the VTOL aircraft to rotate at the respective propeller speed for the at least one lift propeller based on the propeller speed profiles to return the VTOL aircraft to the stable aircraft state (see at least Gutierrez, para. [0045]: which is associated with the mass and the thrust from the rotors (R1, R2, R3, R4). As illustrated in FIG. 3, the altitude controller 306 outputs the output value of the thrust control variable u.sub.T to the motor speed selector 310 and is used to determine the speeds of the motors M1, M2, M3, M4 as disclosed in further detail herein.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified McCullough to incorporate the teaching of generate propeller control data identifying a respective propeller speed profile for at least one lift propeller of the plurality of lift propellers located on a respective wing of the at least two wings in response to querying a turbulence suppression database, wherein the turbulence suppression database stores different propeller speed profiles for propellers of the VTOL aircraft for respective roll angles, and the turbulence suppression database is queried in response to the ATS system determining that an instantaneous roll angle of the VTOL aircraft is equal to or greater than a roll angle threshold, wherein the instantaneous roll angle being equal to or greater than the roll angle threshold indicates that the VTOL aircraft has deviated or is about to deviate from a stable aircraft state in response to turbulence; and cause the at least one lift propeller of the VTOL aircraft to rotate at the respective propeller speed for the at least one lift propeller based on the propeller speed profiles to return the VTOL aircraft to the stable aircraft state of Gutierrez, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to decrease the computational power to implement the motor speed selector, which may be advantageous in smaller UAVs with lower computational capabilities (see at least Gutierrez, para. [0162]).
Klinger teaches
wherein each of the different propeller speed profiles is generated from a simulation for returning the VTOL aircraft to the stable aircraft state from a specified roll angle (see at least Klinger, para. [0058]: In one embodiment, if the planned path information specification were described in the example data structure described above in relation to the example embodiment of a fixed wing aircraft, the control system (e.g., the planned path calculator module) would generate the horizontal profile of the planned path (e.g., the array of smoothly connected horizontal path segments), and the altitude and speed profiles of the planned path to meet the current mission requirements. A simple and common mission requirement for such an aircraft is to fly an orbit path around a target. Planned path segments which start at the aircraft's current location and bearing and then merge continuously into the orbit pattern would be generated. The turn segments in this ingress path would have a turn radius no smaller than a predetermined minimum value. Such a predetermined minimum value can be limited, for example, by the performance capabilities of the vehicle. & para. [0134]: In some embodiments, a control method adjusts the roll of the aircraft while orbiting the target so that the path of the aircraft will converge on the calculated optimal ellipse for the current estimated wind speed and direction. FIG. 16 illustrates the flight path of a simulated aircraft using such a control method to provide persistent surveillance imagery of a target in high wind conditions.),
wherein the simulation includes at least a cruise phase simulation of the VTOL aircraft, the cruise phase simulation based on simulated effects of turbulence caused by wind gusts on the VTOL aircraft (see at least Klinger, para. [0128]: In some embodiments, a control method for an aircraft can assume that (a) the flight can be controlled by regularly commanding an air speed, an altitude and a roll angle for the aircraft and that (b) the aircraft uses coordinated flight (no side slip) when responding to these commands. The control method can be based on the analysis of a constant wind situation in which the aircraft flies at a constant True Air Speed (TAS) and altitude around a target and just modifies its roll angle to keep its heading (the direction of its body axis) perpendicular to the direction to the target. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified McCullough to incorporate the teaching of wherein each of the different propeller speed profiles is generated from a simulation for returning the VTOL aircraft to the stable aircraft state from a specified roll angle, wherein the simulation includes at least a cruise phase simulation of the VTOL aircraft, the cruise phase simulation based on simulated effects of turbulence caused by wind gusts on the VTOL aircraft of Klinger, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to enable the vehicles to consider the planned paths of the other cooperating vehicles in order to optimize their paths (see at least Klinger, para. [0008]).
As per claim 15 McCullough does not explicitly disclose
further comprising at least one sensor configured to provide the instantaneous roll angle of the VTOL aircraft, and the ATS system comprising a controller configured to query the turbulence suppression database using the instantaneous roll angle to identify the respective propeller speed profile for the at least one lift propeller of the VTOL aircraft
Gutierrez teaches
further comprising at least one sensor configured to provide the instantaneous roll angle of the VTOL aircraft, and the ATS system comprising a controller configured to query the turbulence suppression database using the instantaneous roll angle to identify the respective propeller speed profile for the at least one lift propeller of the VTOL aircraft (see at least Gutierrez, para. [0057]: Thus, the motor speed configuration table can be generated by inputting the different combinations of possible output values for the control variables u.sub.T, u.sub.ϕ, u.sub.θ, u.sub.ψ. While in this example the matrix equation is associated with the orientation of the X, Y, Z axes of the local reference frame shown in FIG. 1, in other examples, the orientation of the X, Y, Z axes may be different. For example, the X axis may extend between the first and second motors M1, M2 and between the third and fourth motors M3, M4, and the Y axis may extend between the first and fourth motors M1, M4and between the second and third motors M2, M3. In such example, a different matrix equation may be used that correlates the control variables u.sub.T, u.sub.ϕ, u.sub.θ, u.sub.ψ to the proper motor speeds to generate the desired flight path.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified McCullough to incorporate the teaching of further comprising at least one sensor configured to provide the instantaneous roll angle of the VTOL aircraft, and the ATS system comprising a controller configured to query the turbulence suppression database using the instantaneous roll angle to identify the respective propeller speed profile for the at least one lift propeller of the VTOL aircraft of Gutierrez, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to decrease the computational power to implement the motor speed selector, which may be advantageous in smaller UAVs with lower computational capabilities (see at least Gutierrez, para. [0162]).
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCullough, in view of Tian, in view of Gutierrez, in view of Klinger, in view of Zhang.
As per claim 16 McCullough discloses
wherein the controller is configured to cause the at least one lift propeller of the VTOL aircraft to rotate at the respective propeller speed as specified in the propeller speed to return the VTOL aircraft to the stable aircraft state (see at least McCullough, para. [0052]: The process also considers the orientation of the aircraft. For example, in the VTOL orientation, changes in thrust vector and/or rotor speed of selected propulsion assemblies may create a more desired aircraft response than changes in aerosurface position, such as a response of a greater magnitude, a response with a greater rate of change and/or a response with a greater rate of rate of change. Similarly, in the biplane orientation, changes in aerosurface position and/or rotor speed of selected propulsion assemblies may create a more desired aircraft response than changes in thrust vector.).
However McCullough does not explicitly disclose
wherein the controller is configured to cause the at least one lift propeller of the VTOL aircraft to rotate at the respective propeller speed as specified in the propeller speed profile for a given amount of time to return the VTOL aircraft to the stable aircraft state, wherein the given amount of time is specified by the turbulence suppression database.
Zhang teaches
wherein the controller is configured to cause the at least one lift propeller of the VTOL aircraft to rotate at the respective propeller speed as specified in the propeller speed profile for a given amount of time to return the VTOL aircraft to the stable aircraft state, wherein the given amount of time is specified by the turbulence suppression database (see at least Zhang, para. [0152]: In one example, the lift mechanism operation instructions can include spooling up the rotors to hover the aerial system immediately after imminent operation event detection, allowing the aerial system 12 to coast using the applied force for a predetermined period of time after imminent operation event detection, controlling the lift mechanisms to cease further traversal along the second axis (or any axis) after a predetermined condition has been met, and controlling the lift mechanisms 40 to hover the aerial system 12 (e.g., controlling the lift mechanisms 40 to operate at hover speed).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified McCullough to incorporate the teaching of wherein the controller is configured to cause the at least one lift propeller of the VTOL aircraft to rotate at the respective propeller speed as specified in the propeller speed profile for a given amount of time to return the VTOL aircraft to the stable aircraft state, wherein the given amount of time is specified by the turbulence suppression database of Zhang, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for providing easy-to-use release and auto-position of a drone (see at least Zhang, para. [0002]).
As per claim 17 McCullough does not explicitly disclose
wherein the ATS system includes the turbulence suppression database
Gutierrez teaches
wherein the ATS system includes the turbulence suppression database (see at least Gutierrez, para. [0061]: While an example manner of implementing the example trajectory tracking controller 216 of FIG. 2 is illustrated in FIG. 3, one or more of the elements, processes and/or devices illustrated in FIG. 3 may be combined, divided, re-arranged, omitted, eliminated and/or implemented in any other way. Further, the example disturbance rejecter 300, the example position trajectory tracker 302, the example orientation reference generator 304, the example altitude controller 306, the example attitude controller 308, the example motor speed selector 310, and/or, more generally, the example trajectory tracking controller 216 of FIG. 3 may be implemented by hardware, software, firmware and/or any combination of hardware, software and/or firmware.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified McCullough to incorporate the teaching of wherein the ATS system includes the turbulence suppression database of Gutierrez, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to decrease the computational power to implement the motor speed selector, which may be advantageous in smaller UAVs with lower computational capabilities (see at least Gutierrez, para. [0162]).
As per claim 18 McCullough discloses
further comprising a propeller control system that is configured to rotate the at least one lift propeller of the VTOL aircraft at the respective propeller speed in response to receiving the propeller activation data (see at least McCullough, para. [0052]: The process also considers the orientation of the aircraft. For example, in the VTOL orientation, changes in thrust vector and/or rotor speed of selected propulsion assemblies may create a more desired aircraft response than changes in aerosurface position, such as a response of a greater magnitude, a response with a greater rate of change and/or a response with a greater rate of rate of change. Similarly, in the biplane orientation, changes in aerosurface position and/or rotor speed of selected propulsion assemblies may create a more desired aircraft response than changes in thrust vector.).
However McCullough does not explicitly disclose
further comprising a propeller control system that is configured to rotate the at least one lift propeller of the VTOL aircraft at the respective propeller speed as specified in the propeller speed profile in response to receiving the propeller activation data for the given amount of time.
Zhang teaches
further comprising a propeller control system that is configured to rotate the at least one lift propeller of the VTOL aircraft at the respective propeller speed as specified in the propeller speed profile in response to receiving the propeller activation data for the given amount of time (see at least Zhang, para. [0152]: In one example, the lift mechanism operation instructions can include spooling up the rotors to hover the aerial system immediately after imminent operation event detection, allowing the aerial system 12 to coast using the applied force for a predetermined period of time after imminent operation event detection, controlling the lift mechanisms to cease further traversal along the second axis (or any axis) after a predetermined condition has been met, and controlling the lift mechanisms 40 to hover the aerial system 12 (e.g., controlling the lift mechanisms 40 to operate at hover speed). In a second example, the lift mechanism operation instructions can include determining the resultant aerial system speed or acceleration along the second axis due to the applied force, spooling up the rotors to maintain the aerial system speed or acceleration along the second axis immediately after imminent operation event detection until a predetermined condition has been met, controlling the lift mechanisms 40 to cease further traversal along the second axis (or any axis) upon satisfaction of the predetermined condition, and controlling the lift mechanisms 40 to hover the aerial system 12 (e.g., controlling the lift mechanisms 40 to operate at hover speed).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified McCullough to incorporate the teaching of further comprising a propeller control system that is configured to rotate the at least one lift propeller of the VTOL aircraft at the respective propeller speed as specified in the propeller speed profile in response to receiving the propeller activation data for the given amount of time of Zhang, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for providing easy-to-use release and auto-position of a drone (see at least Zhang, para. [0002]).
As per claim 19 McCullough does not explicitly disclose
wherein the ATS system is activated for controlling the at least one lift propeller during the cruise phase of a VTOL flight profile for the VTOL aircraft.
Tian teaches
wherein the ATS system is activated for controlling the at least one lift propeller during the cruise phase of a VTOL flight profile for the VTOL aircraft (see at least Tian, para. [0113-0116]: Optionally, these wing-tip propellers 188, 189 can be locked in a non-spinning position while the aircraft is airborne. When necessary, these wing-tip propellers 188, 189 are turned on to instantly counter the unstablizing movement of a side wind….In yet another embodiment, these wing-tip propellers 188, 189 do not provide meaningful lifting force to keep the drone hovering and/or vertically takeoff and land, but can be effective in countering the unstablizing movement of a side wind….In still other embodiments, these wing-tip propellers 188, 189 can provide meaningful lifting force to keep the drone hovering and/or vertically takeoff and land, and can additionally be effective in countering the unstablizing movement of a side wind.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified McCullough to incorporate the teaching of wherein the ATS system is activated for controlling the at least one lift propeller during a cruise phase of a VTOL flight profile for the VTOL aircraft of Tian, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to counter the effect of air turbulence (see at least Tian, para. [0028]).
As per claim 20 McCullough does not explicitly disclose
wherein the plurality of lift propellers are activated during a non-cruise phase of the VTOL flight profile for the VTOL aircraft and deactivated in response to the VTOL aircraft entering or transitioning into the cruise phase,
and the at least one lift propeller is deactivated for a portion of time during the cruise phase of the VTOL flight profile and activated for another portion of time during the cruise phase of the VTOL flight profile to rotate the at least one lift propeller at the respective propeller speed as specified in the propeller speed profile to return the VTOL aircraft to the stable aircraft state.
Tian teaches
wherein the plurality of lift propellers are activated during a non-cruise phase of the VTOL flight profile for the VTOL aircraft and deactivated in response to the VTOL aircraft entering or transitioning into the cruise phase (see at least Tian, para. [0113-0116]: Optionally, these wing-tip propellers 188, 189 can be locked in a non-spinning position while the aircraft is airborne. When necessary, these wing-tip propellers 188, 189 are turned on to instantly counter the unstablizing movement of a side wind….In yet another embodiment, these wing-tip propellers 188, 189 do not provide meaningful lifting force to keep the drone hovering and/or vertically takeoff and land, but can be effective in countering the unstablizing movement of a side wind….In still other embodiments, these wing-tip propellers 188, 189 can provide meaningful lifting force to keep the drone hovering and/or vertically takeoff and land, and can additionally be effective in countering the unstablizing movement of a side wind.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified McCullough to incorporate the teaching of wherein the plurality of lift propellers are activated during a non-cruise phase of the VTOL flight profile for the VTOL aircraft and deactivated in response to the VTOL aircraft entering or transitioning into the cruise phase of Tian, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to counter the effect of air turbulence (see at least Tian, para. [0028]).
Zhang teaches
the at least one lift propeller is deactivated for a portion of time during the cruise phase of the VTOL flight profile and activated for another portion of time during the cruise phase of the VTOL flight profile to rotate the at least one lift propeller at the respective propeller speed as specified in the propeller speed profile to return the VTOL aircraft to the stable aircraft state (see at least Zhang, para. [0152]: In one example, the lift mechanism operation instructions can include spooling up the rotors to hover the aerial system immediately after imminent operation event detection, allowing the aerial system 12 to coast using the applied force for a predetermined period of time after imminent operation event detection, controlling the lift mechanisms to cease further traversal along the second axis (or any axis) after a predetermined condition has been met, and controlling the lift mechanisms 40 to hover the aerial system 12 (e.g., controlling the lift mechanisms 40 to operate at hover speed). In a second example, the lift mechanism operation instructions can include determining the resultant aerial system speed or acceleration along the second axis due to the applied force, spooling up the rotors to maintain the aerial system speed or acceleration along the second axis immediately after imminent operation event detection until a predetermined condition has been met, controlling the lift mechanisms 40 to cease further traversal along the second axis (or any axis) upon satisfaction of the predetermined condition, and controlling the lift mechanisms 40 to hover the aerial system 12 (e.g., controlling the lift mechanisms 40 to operate at hover speed).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified McCullough to incorporate the teaching of the at least one lift propeller is deactivated for a portion of time during the cruise phase of the VTOL flight profile and activated for another portion of time during the cruise phase of the VTOL flight profile to rotate the at least one lift propeller at the respective propeller speed as specified in the propeller speed profile to return the VTOL aircraft to the stable aircraft state of Zhang, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for providing easy-to-use release and auto-position of a drone (see at least Zhang, para. [0002]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMED ABDO ALGEHAIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668