DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claim 1-3 and 5-8 are pending and under examination.
Claim 4 has been canceled.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims, received 06/22/2026, have overcome the claim objections set forth in the Final Rejection mailed on 03/23/2026. Accordingly, the claim objections have been withdrawn. However, based on the claim amendments, new claim objections have been set forth.
The claim amendments have overcome the 112(b) rejection(s) previously set forth in the Final Rejection. Therefore, the 112(b) rejection(s) have been withdrawn. However, based on the amended claims, new 112(b) rejection(s) have been set forth.
The 101 rejection(s) have been modified to address the claim amendments.
Based on the amended claims and remarks, the prior art rejection over Tang has been modified to address the amended claims (see below).
Claim Objections
Claims 2-3 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2-3 have been amended to recite “The water treatment system according to claim 1, wherein wherein the….”. The examiner requests applicant to remove the redundant “wherein” from the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 line 14 recites “a control content”. Claim 1 line 5 also recites “a control content”. It is unclear if applicant is referring to the same control content or if applicant is attempting to distinguish two different control contents. A similar rejection is also made over claims 6 and 7. Claims 2-3, 5 and 8 are also rejected by their dependency from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claim 1 is directed toward a system. Claim 6 is directed toward a method. Claim 7 is directed toward an apparatus.
Step 2A, Prong One: Identify the law of nature/natural phenomenon/abstract ideas.
Claims 1, 6, and 7 recite the abstract ideas, “determines a control content of the water treatment process”, “virtualizing the plurality of water treatment devices”, “determines a control content according to a first condition that is within a range of a specification predetermined at a design stage”, “determines a control content according to a second condition that is outside the range of the specification predetermined at the design stage”, and “optimized operation of each water treatment device” which are mental processes and/or mathematical calculations that could be performed by a human person by pen and paper or by a black box computer. The management apparatus, virtual system, control apparatus, and edge computer configured to perform the recited steps/processes are simply a general-purpose computer for which to apply the abstract ideas, but does not preclude the steps from being considered an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsection (I) and (III).
Step 2A, Prong Two: Has the abstract idea been integrated into a particular practical application?
No. These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements recited in the claims do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract ideas.
The determining and virtualizing are performed by a computer/controller/virtual system and management apparatus, which is just a general-purpose computer or controllers. However, use of conventional computer functions, or generic computer/controller, to apply the judicial exceptions does not qualify as a particular machine, and does not amount to a particular practical application (MPEP § 2106(b)(I), MPEP § 2106(b)(II) and MPEP § 2106(b)(III)).
The claims also recite an equipment system including a plurality of water treatment device that executes a water treatment process, a control apparatus that control the plurality of water treatment device, an edge computer, a management system including a management apparatus that controls the water treatment process based on the control content via the control apparatus, the edge computer instructs the control apparatus of the equipment system with the control content according to the first condition based on device information on an operation status of each water treatment device, the management apparatus instructs the control apparatus of the equipment system with the control content according to the second condition using the virtual system, and the control apparatus updates a control logic using the control content according to the first condition or the second condition and executes control of each water treatment device based on the updated control logic. The control/computer very generally controls the water treatment based on the determined control content. However, this is just using the device to gather data and provide instructions to be apply the abstract idea (See MPEP § 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity and MPEP § 2106.05(f), Mere Instructions To Apply An Exception). Further, these additional elements are recited at such a high level of generality that it amounts to generally applying the abstract idea or generally linking the abstract idea to a field of use. However, indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application (see MPEP § 2106.05(h), Field of Use and Technological Environment).
Step 2B: Does the claim recite any elements which are significantly more than the abstract idea?
The claim recites the additional elements of an equipment system including a plurality of water treatment device that executes a water treatment process. In other words, outside of the abstract idea(s), the claims are directed towards a plurality of generic water treatment apparatus with a corresponding controller, which would read on any plurality of water treatment apparatuses and would not be considered particular machines. In this case, the claims are recited generically and do not transform the water treatment apparatuses into a different thing aside from it’s conventional use (MPEP 2106.05(b) & (c)). Further, these additional elements do not amount to significantly more as they are well-understood, routine, and conventional (WURC) in the art as evidenced by Translation of Tang et al. (CN 111694286A – hereinafter “Tang”) and Rickard et al. (US 2021/0255748 – hereinafter “Rickard”). Tang and Rickard teach an equipment system (Tang; fig. 1, #10, “physical layer module” [0046] and Rickard; fig. 1, #130, [0061])) including a plurality of water treatment device that executes a water treatment process (Tang; fig. 1, #11, [0046, 0058] and Rickard; fig. 1, #132, [0062]).
Claim 2 recites the water treatment system as including a plurality of equipment each including each water treatment device and control apparatus that include a controller that optimizes the water treatment process in the equipment system using device information on an operation status of each water treatment device. However, a general-purpose computer for which to apply the abstract ideas, but does not preclude the steps from being considered an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsection (I) and (III). The additional elements including the plurality of first water treatment devices and control apparatus are merely using the device to gather data and provide instructions to be apply the abstract idea(s) (See MPEP § 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity and MPEP § 2106.05(f), Mere Instructions To Apply An Exception). Further, these additional elements are recited at such a high level of generality that it amounts to generally applying the abstract idea or generally linking the abstract idea to a field of use. However, indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application (see MPEP § 2106.05(h), Field of Use and Technological Environment). Lastly, these elements do not amount to significantly more as they are well-understood, routine, and conventional (WURC) in the art as Tang teach a plurality of equipment system (Tang; fig. 1, [0023, 0028-0029, 0051, 0055-0057]).
Claim 3 recites the abstract idea “generates a control content that optimizes a whole of the plurality of equipment systems”, and “optimizes the water treatment process” (step 2A prong 1), but does not integrate the exception under 2A prong 2 because computer/controller configured to perform the recited steps/processes is simply a general-purpose computer for which to apply the abstract ideas, but does not preclude the steps from being considered an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsection (I) and (III). The additional elements including the controller and plurality of equipment systems/control apparatus are merely using the device to gather data and provide instructions to be apply the abstract idea(s) (See MPEP § 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity and MPEP § 2106.05(f), Mere Instructions To Apply An Exception). Further, these additional elements are recited at such a high level of generality that it amounts to generally applying the abstract idea or generally linking the abstract idea to a field of use. However, indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application (see MPEP § 2106.05(h), Field of Use and Technological Environment). Lastly, these elements do not amount to significantly more as they are well-understood, routine, and conventional (WURC) in the art as Tang teach a plurality of equipment system (Tang; fig. 1, [0023, 0028-0029, 0051, 0055-0057])).
Claim 5 recites the abstract ideas “acquires process information on an operation status of the water treatment process form the control apparatus”. However, acquiring information has been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner or as insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP §2106.04(d), § 2106.05(f)). The additional elements recited including executing a simulation and controlling the water treatment process are interpreted as merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception, but do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application (see MPEP § 2106.05(f), Mere Instructions To Apply An Exception and MPEP § 2106.05(h), Field of Use and Technological Environment).
Claim 8 recites the equipment system includes the control apparatus for each water treatment device and the management apparatus of the management system includes a controller that executes operation control of each water treatment device via each control apparatus. The additional elements including the plurality of treatment devices, management apparatus, and controller are merely using the device to gather data and provide instructions to be apply the abstract idea(s) (See MPEP § 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity and MPEP § 2106.05(f), Mere Instructions To Apply An Exception). Further, these additional elements are recited at such a high level of generality that it amounts to generally applying the abstract idea or generally linking the abstract idea to a field of use. However, indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application (see MPEP § 2106.05(h), Field of Use and Technological Environment). Lastly, these elements do not amount to significantly more as they are well-understood, routine, and conventional (WURC) in the art as Tang teach a plurality of equipment system (Tang; fig. 1, [0023, 0028-0029, 0051, 0055-0057]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by translation of Tang et al. (Machine translation of CN 111694286A; already of record – hereinafter “Tang”)
Regarding claim 1, Tang disclose a water treatment system (Tang; fig. 1, [0045]) comprising:
an equipment system (Tang; fig. 1, #10, “physical layer module” [0046]) including a plurality of water treatment devices that execute a water treatment process (Tang disclose each equipment system 10 includes a plurality of water treatment devices 11/12/13 as a reverse osmosis membrane water treatment device with valves and pressure meters. The system can serve a plurality of equipment systems 10 comprising a plurality of water treatment devices 11/12/13 at the same time. The equipment system is not limited to the reverse osmosis water treatment equipment 11, and can be any number of water treatment equipment; fig. 1, #11, [0046, 0058]), a control apparatus that controls the plurality of water treatment devices (Tang disclose a terminal service layer module 40 with AI intelligent cloud computing that can process real-time data and optimize the iteration lead-out result by itself, and regularly receive correction data from an expert team based on the operating status of the equipment to give evaluations and suggestions; [0049-0051]. Additionally, and/or alternatively, Tang disclose water treatment devices 11, field instruments 12, and actuators 13 that would each require a “control apparatus” to perform the instructions provided by the execution control unit 14 in order to control the service data (i.e. equipment operating parameters, water supply volume, water output volume, influent water quality, output water quality, water flow rate, and chemical dosage) provided to the terminal service layer module 40; [0023]), and an edge computer (Tang disclose control unit 14 connected to the plurality of water treatment devices 11/12/13 for receiving data and issuing instructions to manage the equipment system 10; fig. 1, #14, [0046, 0057-0058]); and
a management system including a management apparatus that determines a control content of the water treatment process by using a virtual system obtained by virtualizing the plurality of water treatment devices and controls the water treatment process of the equipment system based on the control content via the control apparatus of the equipment system (Tang disclose an expert consultation unit is used by an expert team to regularly judge the operating status and give reasonable evaluation suggestions; [0028, 0056]. A remote intervention unit is used by the expert team to set correction data according to the evaluation suggestion, and send instructions to the physical layer module through the cloud server for timely correction to assist AI intelligent optimization and achieve intelligent management of water treatment equipment; [0029, 0051]), wherein
the edge computer of the equipment system:
determines a control content according to a first condition that is within a range of a specification predetermined at a design stage, based on device information on an operation status of each water treatment device; and instructs the control apparatus of the equipment system with the control content according to the first condition (Tang disclose edge computer 14 collects and transmits operational service data (i.e. water treatment equipment operating parameters, water supply volume, water output volume, influent water quality, water flow rate, and dosage of chemicals, etc.) to the cloud server/management system 41; [0023, 0050, 0055], and regularly receives correction data by an expert team based on evaluations of the operating status; [0029, 0051, 0056-0057]. Accordingly, the first condition being the operational conditions defined by the service data before the correction data is provided by the expert team.),
the management apparatus of the management system:
determines a control content according to a second condition that is outside the range of the specification predetermined at the design stage and is designated from outside of the equipment system, by using the virtual system; and instructs the control apparatus of the equipment system with the control content according to the second condition via the edge computer (Tang disclose edge computer 14 collects and transmits operational service data (i.e. water treatment equipment operating parameters, water supply volume, water output volume, influent water quality, water flow rate, and dosage of chemicals, etc.) to the cloud server/management system 41; [0023, 0050, 0055], and regularly receives correction data by an expert team based on evaluations of the operating status; [0029, 0051, 0056-0057]. Accordingly, the second condition being the operational conditions defined by the service data after the correction data is provided by the expert team.), and
the control apparatus of the equipment system:
updates a control logic using the control content according to the first condition instructed from the edge computer or the control content according to the second condition instructed from the management apparatus via the edge computer; and executes control for optimized operation of each water treatment device based on the updated control logic (Tang disclose cloud server 41 receives the real-time service data and uses AI intelligent cloud computing technology for storage, mirroring, analysis, fusion and calculation, and constitutes an interaction scenario architecture of the physical layer 10 module and the module layer module 20. The AI intelligent cloud computing technology has the brain judgement ability and adaptability of a person, processes real-time data, and optimizes the iteration lead-out result by itself; [0049]. An expert team uses remote intervention to set correction data to assist AI intelligence calculations to optimize and intelligently manage the water treatment equipment; [0029, 0051, 0056-0057]).
Regarding claim 2, Tang disclose the water treatment system according to claim 1 above, wherein the water treatment system includes a plurality of equipment systems each including each water treatment device and the control apparatus (Tang disclose each equipment system 10 includes a plurality of water treatment devices 11/12/13 as a reverse osmosis membrane water treatment device with valves and pressure meters. The system can serve a plurality of equipment systems 10 comprising a plurality of water treatment devices 11/12/13 at the same time. The equipment system is not limited to the reverse osmosis water treatment equipment 11, and can be any number of water treatment equipment; fig. 1, #11, [0046, 0058]. NOTE: Water treatment devices 11, field instruments 12, and actuators 13 would each require a “control apparatus” to perform the instructions provided by the execution control unit 14 in order to control the service data (i.e. equipment operating parameters, water supply volume, water output volume, influent water quality, output water quality, water flow rate, and chemical dosage) provided to the terminal service layer module 40; [0023, 0050, 0055]), and
each control apparatus of the plurality of equipment systems includes a controller that optimizes the water treatment process in the equipment system to which each control apparatus belongs by using device information on an operation status of each water treatment device in the equipment system to which each control apparatus belongs (Tang disclose a terminal service layer module 40 with AI intelligent cloud computing that can process real-time data and optimize the iteration lead-out result by itself, and regularly receive correction data from an expert team based on the operating status of the equipment to give evaluations and suggestions; [0049-0051]. Edge computer 14, includes a controller for receiving data and issuing instructions to manage the equipment system 10, collects and transmits operational service data (i.e. water treatment equipment operating parameters, water supply volume, water output volume, influent water quality, water flow rate, and dosage of chemicals, etc.) to the cloud server/management system 41; [0023, 0050, 0055], and regularly receives correction data by an expert team based on evaluations of the operating status; [0029, 0051, 0056-0057]. NOTE: Water treatment devices 11, field instruments 12, and actuators 13 would each require a “control apparatus” to perform the instructions provided by the execution control unit 14 in order to control the service data (i.e. equipment operating parameters, water supply volume, water output volume, influent water quality, output water quality, water flow rate, and chemical dosage) provided to the terminal service layer module 40; [0023, 0050, 0055]).
Regarding claim 3, Tang disclose the water treatment system according to claim 2 above,
wherein the management apparatus of the management system includes a controller that (Tang disclose an expert consultation unit is used by an expert team to regularly judge the operating status and give reasonable evaluation suggestions; [0028, 0056]. A remote intervention unit is used by the expert team to set correction data according to the evaluation suggestion, and send instructions to the physical layer module through the cloud server for timely correction to assist AI intelligent optimization and achieve intelligent management of water treatment equipment; [0028-0029, 0051]):
acquires process information on an operation status of the water treatment process from each control apparatus of each of the plurality of equipment systems (Tang disclose edge computer 14 collects and transmits operational service data (i.e. water treatment equipment operating parameters, water supply volume, water output volume, influent water quality, water flow rate, and dosage of chemicals, etc.) to the cloud server/management system 41; [0023, 0050, 0055]),
generates a control content that optimizes a whole of the plurality of equipment systems based on the process information of each of the plurality of equipment systems (Tang disclose a terminal service layer module 40 with AI intelligent cloud computing that can process real-time data and optimize the iteration lead-out result by itself, and regularly receive correction data from an expert team based on the operating status of the equipment to give evaluations and suggestions; [0049-0051]. Cloud server 41 receives the real-time service data and uses AI intelligent cloud computing technology for storage, mirroring, analysis, fusion and calculation, and constitutes an interaction scenario architecture of the physical layer 10 module and the module layer module 20. The AI intelligent cloud computing technology has the brain judgement ability and adaptability of a person, processes real-time data, and optimizes the iteration lead-out result by itself; [0049]), and
outputs the control content to each control apparatus of the plurality of equipment systems (Tang disclose a terminal service layer module 40 with AI intelligent cloud computing that can process real-time data and optimize the iteration lead-out result by itself, and regularly receive correction data from an expert team based on the operating status of the equipment to give evaluations and suggestions; [0049-0051]. Cloud server 41 receives the real-time service data and uses AI intelligent cloud computing technology for storage, mirroring, analysis, fusion and calculation, and constitutes an interaction scenario architecture of the physical layer 10 module and the module layer module 20. The AI intelligent cloud computing technology has the brain judgement ability and adaptability of a person, processes real-time data, and optimizes the iteration lead-out result by itself; [0049]), and
each control apparatus of the plurality of equipment systems optimizes the water treatment process in the equipment system to which each control apparatus belongs in accordance with the control content that has been output from the control apparatus (Tang disclose edge computer 14 collects and transmits operational service data (i.e. water treatment equipment operating parameters, water supply volume, water output volume, influent water quality, water flow rate, and dosage of chemicals, etc.) to the cloud server/management system 41; [0023, 0050, 0055], and regularly receives correction data by an expert team based on evaluations of the operating status; [0029, 0051, 0056-0057]. The AI intelligent cloud computing technology has the brain judgement ability and adaptability of a person, processes real-time data, and optimizes the iteration lead-out result by itself; [0049]. NOTE: Water treatment devices 11, field instruments 12, and actuators 13 would each require a “control apparatus” to perform the instructions provided by the execution control unit 14 in order to control the service data (i.e. equipment operating parameters, water supply volume, water output volume, influent water quality, output water quality, water flow rate, and chemical dosage) provided to the terminal service layer module 40; [0023, 0050, 0055]).
Regarding claim 5, Tang disclose the water treatment system according to claim 1 above,
wherein the management apparatus (Tang disclose an expert consultation unit is used by an expert team to regularly judge the operating status and give reasonable evaluation suggestions; [0028, 0056]. A remote intervention unit is used by the expert team to set correction data according to the evaluation suggestion, and send instructions to the physical layer module through the cloud server for timely correction to assist AI intelligent optimization and achieve intelligent management of water treatment equipment; [0029, 0051])
acquires process information on an operation status of the water treatment process from the control apparatus (Tang disclose edge computer 14 collects and transmits operational service data (i.e. water treatment equipment operating parameters, water supply volume, water output volume, influent water quality, water flow rate, and dosage of chemicals, etc.) to the cloud server/management system 41; [0023, 0050, 0055]);
executes simulation of the water treatment process by using the virtual system and the process information (Tang disclose a terminal service layer module 40 with AI intelligent cloud computing that can process real-time data and optimize the iteration lead-out result by itself, and regularly receive correction data from an expert team based on the operating status of the equipment to give evaluations and suggestions; [0049-0051]. Cloud server 41 receives the real-time service data and uses AI intelligent cloud computing technology for storage, mirroring, analysis, fusion and calculation, and constitutes an interaction scenario architecture of the physical layer 10 module and the module layer module 20. The AI intelligent cloud computing technology has the brain judgement ability and adaptability of a person, processes real-time data, and optimizes the iteration lead-out result by itself; [0049]); and
controls the water treatment process based on a result of the simulation via the control apparatus (Tang disclose a terminal service layer module 40 with AI intelligent cloud computing that can process real-time data and optimize the iteration lead-out result by itself, and regularly receive correction data from an expert team based on the operating status of the equipment to give evaluations and suggestions; [0049-0051]. The cloud server/management system 41 regularly receives correction data by an expert team based on evaluations of the operating status; [0029, 0051, 0056-0057]. The AI intelligent cloud computing technology has the brain judgement ability and adaptability of a person, processes real-time data, and optimizes the iteration lead-out result by itself; [0049]. Accordingly, when new instructions are provided to the terminal service layer module 40 by expert personnel, the AI intelligent cloud computing systems updates the operating parameters of the water treatment system according to the new set of instructions. NOTE: Water treatment devices 11, field instruments 12, and actuators 13 would each require a “control apparatus” to perform the instructions provided by the execution control unit 14 in order to control the service data (i.e. equipment operating parameters, water supply volume, water output volume, influent water quality, output water quality, water flow rate, and chemical dosage) provided to the terminal service layer module 40; [0023, 0050, 0055]).
Regarding claim 6, Tang disclose a water treatment method (Tang; figs. 1-3, [0045]) comprising:
controlling a plurality of water treatment devices that are included in an equipment system and execute a water treatment process (Tang disclose each equipment system 10 includes a plurality of water treatment devices 11/12/13 as a reverse osmosis membrane water treatment device with valves and pressure meters. The system can serve a plurality of equipment systems 10 comprising a plurality of water treatment devices 11/12/13 at the same time. The equipment system is not limited to the reverse osmosis water treatment equipment 11, and can be any number of water treatment equipment; fig. 1, #11, [0046, 0058]), using a control apparatus that is included in the equipment system (Tang disclose a terminal service layer module 40 with AI intelligent cloud computing that can process real-time data and optimize the iteration lead-out result by itself, and regularly receive correction data from an expert team based on the operating status of the equipment to give evaluations and suggestions; [0049-0051]. Additionally, and/or alternatively, Tang disclose water treatment devices 11, field instruments 12, and actuators 13 that would each require a “control apparatus” to perform the instructions provided by the execution control unit 14 in order to control the service data (i.e. equipment operating parameters, water supply volume, water output volume, influent water quality, output water quality, water flow rate, and chemical dosage) provided to the terminal service layer module 40; [0023]) which also includes an edge computer (Tang disclose control unit 14 connected to the plurality of water treatment devices 11/12/13 for receiving data and issuing instructions to manage the equipment system 10; fig. 1, #14, [0046, 0057-0058]);
determining a control content of the water treatment process by using a virtual system obtained by virtualizing the plurality of water treatment devices (Tang disclose cloud server 41 receives the real-time service data and uses AI intelligent cloud computing technology for storage, mirroring, analysis, fusion and calculation, and constitutes an interaction scenario architecture of the physical layer 10 module and the module layer module 20. The AI intelligent cloud computing technology has the brain judgement ability and adaptability of a person, processes real-time data, and optimizes the iteration lead-out result by itself; [0049]. An edge computer 14 collects and transmits the operational service data (i.e. water treatment equipment operating parameters, water supply volume, water output volume, influent water quality, water flow rate, and dosage of chemicals, etc.) to the cloud server/management system 41; [0023, 0050, 0055], and regularly receives correction data by an expert team based on evaluations of the operating status; [0029, 0051, 0056-0057]. Accordingly, real-time control content is determined through virtualization of operational data);
controlling the water treatment process based on the control content via the control apparatus, using a management apparatus that is included in a management system (Tang disclose an expert consultation unit is used by an expert team to regularly judge the operating status and give reasonable evaluation suggestions; [0028, 0056]. A remote intervention unit is used by the expert team to set correction data according to the evaluation suggestion, and send instructions to the physical layer module through the cloud server for timely correction to assist AI intelligent optimization and achieve intelligent management of water treatment equipment; [0029, 0051]);
determining by using the edge computer a control content according to a first condition that is within a range of a specification predetermined at a design stage, based on device information on an operation status of each water treatment device, and instructing by using the edge computer the control apparatus of the equipment system with the control content according to the first condition (Tang disclose edge computer 14 collects and transmits operational service data (i.e. water treatment equipment operating parameters, water supply volume, water output volume, influent water quality, water flow rate, and dosage of chemicals, etc.) to the cloud server/management system 41; [0023, 0050, 0055], and regularly receives correction data by an expert team based on evaluations of the operating status; [0029, 0051, 0056-0057]. Accordingly, the first condition being the operational conditions defined by the service data before the correction data is provided by the expert team.);
determining by using the management apparatus of the management system a control content according to a second condition that is outside the range of the specification predetermined at the design stage and is designated from outside of the equipment system, by using the virtual system, and instructing by using the management apparatus of the management system the control apparatus of the equipment system with the control content according to the second condition via the edge computer (Tang disclose edge computer 14 collects and transmits operational service data (i.e. water treatment equipment operating parameters, water supply volume, water output volume, influent water quality, water flow rate, and dosage of chemicals, etc.) to the cloud server/management system 41; [0023, 0050, 0055], and regularly receives correction data by an expert team based on evaluations of the operating status; [0029, 0051, 0056-0057]. Accordingly, the second condition being the operational conditions defined by the service data after the correction data is provided by the expert team.);
updating by the control apparatus of the equipment system a control logic using the control content according to the first condition instructed from the edge computer or the control content according to the second condition instructed from the management apparatus via the edge computer; and executing by the control apparatus of the equipment system control for optimized operation of each water treatment device based on the updated control logic (Tang disclose cloud server 41 receives the real-time service data and uses AI intelligent cloud computing technology for storage, mirroring, analysis, fusion and calculation, and constitutes an interaction scenario architecture of the physical layer 10 module and the module layer module 20. The AI intelligent cloud computing technology has the brain judgement ability and adaptability of a person, processes real-time data, and optimizes the iteration lead-out result by itself; [0049]. An expert team uses remote intervention to set correction data to assist AI intelligence calculations to optimize and intelligently manage the water treatment equipment; [0029, 0051, 0056-0057]).
Regarding claim 7, Tang disclose an information processing apparatus (Tang; figs. 1-3, [0045]) comprising a controller (Tang; fig. 1, #40, [0049-051]) that:
generates a virtual system obtained by virtualizing a plurality of water treatment devices that are included in an equipment system and execute a water treatment process (Tang disclose cloud server 41 receives the real-time service data and uses AI intelligent cloud computing technology for storage, mirroring, analysis, fusion and calculation, and constitutes an interaction scenario architecture of the physical layer 10 module and the module layer module 20. The AI intelligent cloud computing technology has the brain judgement ability and adaptability of a person, processes real-time data, and optimizes the iteration lead-out result by itself; [0049]. An edge computer 14 collects and transmits operational service data (i.e. water treatment equipment operating parameters, water supply volume, water output volume, influent water quality, water flow rate, and dosage of chemicals, etc.) to the cloud server/management system 41; [0023, 0050, 0055], and regularly receives correction data by an expert team based on evaluations of the operating status; [0029, 0051, 0056-0057]. Accordingly, real-time control content is determined through virtualization of operational data);
determines a control content of the water treatment process by using the virtual system (Tang disclose edge computer 14 collects and transmits operational service data (i.e. water treatment equipment operating parameters, water supply volume, water output volume, influent water quality, water flow rate, and dosage of chemicals, etc.) to the cloud server/management system 41; [0023, 0050, 0055], and regularly receives correction data by an expert team based on evaluations of the operating status; [0029, 0051, 0056-0057]. Accordingly, real-time control content is determined through virtualization of operational data); and
controls the water treatment process based on the control content via a control apparatus that is included in the equipment system and controls the plurality of water treatment devices (Tang disclose an expert consultation unit is used by an expert team to regularly judge the operating status and give reasonable evaluation suggestions; [0028, 0056]. A remote intervention unit is used by the expert team to set correction data according to the evaluation suggestion, and send instructions to the physical layer module through the cloud server for timely correction to assist AI intelligent optimization and achieve intelligent management of water treatment equipment; [0029, 0051]. Additionally, and/or alternatively, Tang disclose water treatment devices 11, field instruments 12, and actuators 13 that would each require a “control apparatus” to perform the instructions provided by the execution control unit 14 in order to control the service data (i.e. equipment operating parameters, water supply volume, water output volume, influent water quality, output water quality, water flow rate, and chemical dosage) provided to the terminal service layer module 40; [0023]), wherein
the equipment system also includes an edge computer (Tang disclose control unit 14 connected to the plurality of water treatment devices 11/12/13 for receiving data and issuing instructions to manage the equipment system 10; fig. 1, #14, [0046, 0057-0058]),
the edge computer of the equipment system:
determines a control content according to a first condition that is within a range of a specification predetermined at a design stage, based on device information on an operation status of each water treatment device; and instructs the control apparatus of the equipment system with the control content according to the first condition (Tang disclose edge computer 14 collects and transmits operational service data (i.e. water treatment equipment operating parameters, water supply volume, water output volume, influent water quality, water flow rate, and dosage of chemicals, etc.) to the cloud server/management system 41; [0023, 0050, 0055], and regularly receives correction data by an expert team based on evaluations of the operating status; [0029, 0051, 0056-0057]. Accordingly, the first condition being the operational conditions defined by the service data before the correction data is provided by the expert team.),
the controller:
determines a control content according to a second condition that is outside the range of the specification predetermined at the design stage and is designated from outside of the equipment system, by using the virtual system; and instructs the control apparatus of the equipment system with the control content according to the second condition via the edge computer (Tang disclose edge computer 14 collects and transmits operational service data (i.e. water treatment equipment operating parameters, water supply volume, water output volume, influent water quality, water flow rate, and dosage of chemicals, etc.) to the cloud server/management system 41; [0023, 0050, 0055], and regularly receives correction data by an expert team based on evaluations of the operating status; [0029, 0051, 0056-0057]. Accordingly, the second condition being the operational conditions defined by the service data after the correction data is provided by the expert team.), and
the control apparatus of the equipment system:
updates a control logic using the control content according to the first condition instructed from the edge computer or the control content according to the second condition instructed from the management apparatus via the edge computer; and executes control for optimized operation of each water treatment device based on the updated control logic (Tang disclose cloud server 41 receives the real-time service data and uses AI intelligent cloud computing technology for storage, mirroring, analysis, fusion and calculation, and constitutes an interaction scenario architecture of the physical layer 10 module and the module layer module 20. The AI intelligent cloud computing technology has the brain judgement ability and adaptability of a person, processes real-time data, and optimizes the iteration lead-out result by itself; [0049]. An expert team uses remote intervention to set correction data to assist AI intelligence calculations to optimize and intelligently manage the water treatment equipment; [0029, 0051, 0056-0057]).
Regarding claim 8, Tang disclose the water treatment system according to claim 1 above, wherein the equipment system includes the control apparatus for each water treatment device (Tang disclose control unit 14 connected to the plurality of water treatment devices 11/12/13 for receiving data and issuing instructions to manage the equipment system 10; fig. 1, #14, [0046, 0057-0058]), and
the management apparatus of the management system includes a controller that executes operation control of each water treatment device via each control apparatus (Tang disclose a terminal service layer module 40 with AI intelligent cloud computing that can process real-time data and optimize the iteration lead-out result by itself, and regularly receive correction data from an expert team based on the operating status of the equipment to give evaluations and suggestions; [0049-0051]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 06/22/2026, have been fully considered.
Applicant argues, see pages 8-10 of their remarks, towards Step 2A (Prong 2) of the 101 rejection over claims 1-3 and 5-8 that the present application integrates the abstract concepts into the automatic and physical improvement of a water treatment process by coupling physical devices with optimized operational control based on determinations made by the virtual system and dynamically updates the control logic itself based on the determined first and second conditions to establish a closed-loop system that directly controls the physical machinery thus integrated the alleged abstract idea to improve the physical water treatment technology. The examiner respectfully disagrees. First, applicants don’t further describe what is improved with respect to the improvement in technology aside from stating there is improvement. The limitations of determining a control content, virtualizing the water treatment devices, and optimizing operations of each device, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performances of the limitations in the mind with no reference to a particular improvement in claim. The invention seems to focus on mental processes and mathematical concepts where the determination, virtualization, and optimization of the devices could be performed by a human person by pen or paper or by a black box computer, therefore constituting an abstract idea. The control/computer very generally controls the water treatment based on the determined control content which is just using the device to gather data and provide instructions to be apply the abstract idea (See MPEP § 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity and MPEP § 2106.05(f), Mere Instructions To Apply An Exception). Further, the additional elements are recited at such a high level of generality that it amounts to generally applying the abstract idea or generally linking the abstract idea to a field of use. However, indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application (see MPEP § 2106.05(h), Field of Use and Technological Environment).
Applicant argues, see pages 10-11 of their remarks, towards Step 2B of the 101 rejection, that the specific combination of claimed elements contain an inventive concept as the claimed invention defines a duel-decision process between the edge computer and management apparatus to define specification boundaries. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims are recited at such a high level of generality that it amounts to an equipment system including a plurality of water treatment devices that execute a water treatment process. The claims are recited generically and do not transform the water treatment apparatus into a different thing aside from its conventional use and are WURC in the art as evidenced by Tang and Rickard which disclose an equipment system (Tang; fig. 1, #10, “physical layer module” [0046] and Rickard; fig. 1, #130, [0061])) including a plurality of water treatment device that executes a water treatment process (Tang; fig. 1, #11, [0046, 0058] and Rickard; fig. 1, #132, [0062]). Regarding applicant’s argument towards the duel-decision process, Tang disclose an edge computer 14 and a management device 40. The edge computer 14 controls operations based on a first set of specification and then updates the operating conditions when management device send new instructions based on expert team input (Tang; fig. 1, [0023, 0028-0029, 0050-0051, 0055-0057]).
Applicant argues, see pages 12-14 of their remarks towards the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 over Tang that the prior art does not teach or suggest boundary-based cooperative decision-making between the edge computer and the management apparatus. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Tang disclose edge computer 14 collects and transmits operational service data (i.e. water treatment equipment operating parameters, water supply volume, water output volume, influent water quality, water flow rate, and dosage of chemicals, etc.) to the cloud server/management system 41; [0023, 0050, 0055]. The cloud server 41 receives the real-time service data and uses AI intelligent cloud computing technology for storage, mirroring, analysis, fusion and calculation, and constitutes an interaction scenario architecture of the physical layer 10 module and the module layer module 20. The AI intelligent cloud computing technology has the brain judgement ability and adaptability of a person, processes real-time data, and optimizes the iteration lead-out result by itself; [0049]. Accordingly, Tang disclose the first condition being the operational conditions defined by the service data before the correction data is provided by the expert team. Tang further disclose an expert consultation unit is used by an expert team to regularly judge the operating status and give reasonable evaluation suggestions; [0028, 0056]. A remote intervention unit is used by the expert team to set correction data according to the evaluation suggestion, and send instructions to the physical layer module through the cloud server for timely correction to assist AI intelligent optimization and achieve intelligent management of water treatment equipment; [0029, 0051]. Accordingly, Tang disclose a second condition being the operational conditions defined by the service data after the correction data is provided by the expert team. Tang disclose edge computer 14 collects and transmits operational service data (i.e. water treatment equipment operating parameters, water supply volume, water output volume, influent water quality, water flow rate, and dosage of chemicals, etc.) to the cloud server/management system 41; [0023, 0050, 0055]. The cloud server 41 receives the real-time service data and uses AI intelligent cloud computing technology for storage, mirroring, analysis, fusion and calculation, and constitutes an interaction scenario architecture of the physical layer 10 module and the module layer module 20. The AI intelligent cloud computing technology has the brain judgement ability and adaptability of a person, processes real-time data, and optimizes the iteration lead-out result by itself; [0049].
Applicant further argues on page 14 of their remarks that Tang fails to teach specification instructions resolved by the management apparatus routed via the edge computer before reaching the local controller. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Tang disclose edge computer 14 collects and transmits operational service data (i.e. water treatment equipment operating parameters, water supply volume, water output volume, influent water quality, water flow rate, and dosage of chemicals, etc.) to the cloud server/management system 41; [0023, 0050, 0055]. The cloud server 41 receives the real-time service data and uses AI intelligent cloud computing technology for storage, mirroring, analysis, fusion and calculation, and constitutes an interaction scenario architecture of the physical layer 10 module and the module layer module 20. The AI intelligent cloud computing technology has the brain judgement ability and adaptability of a person, processes real-time data, and optimizes the iteration lead-out result by itself; [0049]. The water treatment devices 11, field instruments 12, and actuators 13 that would each require a “control apparatus” to perform the instructions provided by the execution control unit 14 in order to control the service data (i.e. equipment operating parameters, water supply volume, water output volume, influent water quality, output water quality, water flow rate, and chemical dosage) provided to the terminal service layer module 40; [0023]. Accordingly, the AI intelligent cloud computer instructs controller 14 to control the control in the water treatment devices 11, field instruments 12, and actuators 13.
Applicant further argues on pages 14-16 of their remarks that Tang does not teach dynamic modification of the control logic where the control apparatus “updates a control logic”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Tang disclose edge computer 14 collects and transmits operational service data (i.e. water treatment equipment operating parameters, water supply volume, water output volume, influent water quality, water flow rate, and dosage of chemicals, etc.) to the cloud server/management system 41; [0023, 0050, 0055], and regularly receives correction data by an expert team based on evaluations of the operating status; [0029, 0051, 0056-0057]. Accordingly, the second condition being the operational conditions defined by the service data updated after the correction data is provided by the expert team.
Citations to art
In the above citations to documents in the art, an effort has been made to specifically cite representative passages, however rejections are in reference to the entirety of each document relied upon. Other passages, not specifically cited, may apply as well.
Other References Cited
The prior art of made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure include:
Ohtsuki et al. (US Patent No. 10,597,308) disclose a method for controlling a wastewater treatment plant.
Wolf (US 2010/0292844) disclose an automated water treatment system and method.
Braun et al. (US 2017/0305759) disclose a water treatment system and method providing a dynamic bypass of one or more water stages.
Conclusion
E-mail communication Authorization
Per updated USPTO Internet usage policies, Applicant and/or applicant’s representative is encouraged to authorize the USPTO examiner to discuss any subject matter concerning the above application via Internet e-mail communications. See MPEP 502.03. To approve such communications, Applicant must provide written authorization for e-mail communication by submitting the following statement via EFS Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300):
Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.
Written authorizations submitted to the Examiner via e-mail are NOT proper. Written authorizations must be submitted via EFS-Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300). A paper copy of e-mail correspondence will be placed in the patent application when appropriate. E-mails from the USPTO are for the sole use of the intended recipient, and may contain information subject to the confidentiality requirement set forth in 35 USC § 122. See also MPEP 502.03.
/C.A.T./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/BENJAMIN R WHATLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798