DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
The amendments filed with the written response received on 24 November 2025 have been considered and an action on the merits follows. As directed by the amendment, claim(s) 1-4 and 8 has/have been amended, claim(s) 5-7 is/are canceled, claim(s) 11 has/have been added, and claim(s) 9-10 has/have been withdrawn. Accordingly, claim(s) 1-4 and 8-11 is/are pending in this application with an action on the merits to follow regarding claim(s) 1-4, 8, and 11.
Because of the applicant's amendment, the following in the office action filed 29 July 2025, are hereby withdrawn:
Objections to the Specification
Previous Objections to the Claims
Rejections under 35 USC 112(b)
Rejections under 35 USC 101
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because the drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “fixing element”, “plurality of packs”, “plurality of envelopes”, “sleeves”, “cylinder”, “valve”, “outlet”, “measuring device coupled to the valve”, “measuring device”, and “plurality of measuring sensors” of claim 1 and the “sleeves” of claim 8 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. The amended Drawings filed 24 November 2025 do not cure the deficiencies above as they do not show the features being claimed in sufficient detail for the Examiner to understand and examine. In particular, claim 1 notes, “a cylinder containing the pressurized gas and comprising a valve, the valve comprising an outlet connected to the plurality of envelopes; a measuring device coupled to the valve” and it would be helpful to see how these claimed structures are connected as the Specification does not provide these details.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show features as described in the specification. Therefore the, “fixing element”, “plurality of packs”, “plurality of envelopes”, “sleeves”, “cylinder”, “valve”, “outlet”, “measuring device coupled to the valve”, “measuring device”, and “plurality of measuring sensors” of claim 1 and the “sleeves” of claim 8 must be shown. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). The amended Drawings filed 24 November 2025 do not cure the deficiencies above as they do not show the features being claimed in sufficient detail for the Examiner to understand and examine.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1 and 11 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 3 should recite, “a fixing element configured to be worn by the [[use]] user”.
Claim 11, lines 2-3, “wherein the plurality of measuring sensors comprises a Global Positioning System and/or a Global System for Mobile Communications.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “wherein the envelopes are connected to each other by sleeves, and when inflated the envelopes and the sleeves define one volume” on lines 1-3 which is considered new matter. The written description does not disclose this structure and the structure is not clearly discernable in the drawings. With regards to the written description, there is discussion of “the envelopes being additionally connected to sleeves, all the envelopes defining one volume” in ¶00007, “Preferably, one volume is defined by the envelopes and the sleeves,” in ¶00014, “the envelopes 2 being additionally connected to sleeves 3, and all the envelopes 2 define one volume” in ¶00022, and “The envelopes 2 and sleeves 3 define one volume and this causes that the gas released from the valve of the cylinder into one envelope 2 concurrently fills all the envelopes 2 and passes via the sleeves 3 to the adjacent envelopes 2” in ¶00032, however none of these statements specify that “the envelopes are connected to each other by sleeves, and when inflated the envelopes and the sleeves define one volume” is/are as it is stated that the limitation of newly amended claim 8. The previously filed claim set of 19 February 2023 recited, “the envelopes being additionally connected to sleeves, and all the envelopes define one volume” in claim 1 and “one volume is defined by the envelopes and sleeves” in claim 8, however none of these statements specify that “the envelopes are connected to each other by sleeves, and when inflated the envelopes and the sleeves define one volume” is/are as it is stated that the limitation of newly amended claim 8. Further, the Applicant’s Drawings do not clarify that “the envelopes are connected to each other by sleeves, and when inflated the envelopes and the sleeves define one volume” as recited in newly amended claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gelston US 20140123374 in view of Morrison US 3921944.
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Gelston discloses a protective device (Figs. 1-8 #50/44) suitable to be worn by a user (Figs. 1-8 #60), comprising: a fixing element configured to be worn by the use (Figs. 1-8 #40); a plurality of packs (Figs. 1-8 #46) connected to the fixing element (Figs. 1-2, 4A & 6-7; ¶0054-0059); a plurality of envelopes (Figs. 6-8 #52; ¶0057 notes, “the inflatable membranes 52 may deploy as slaves of a master inflatable membrane 52 [i.e. one master inflatable membrane 52 may trigger auxiliary slave inflatable membranes 52]”) arranged in the plurality of packs (¶0054-0059) and configured to be filled with a pressurized gas (¶0052, 0057); a cylinder containing the pressurized gas (¶0052, 0057) and comprising an inflation system (¶0057), the system comprising a connection connected to the plurality of envelopes (¶0057); a measuring device (Fig. 2 #22) coupled to the system (¶0043 notes the measuring device #22 is connected to the cylinder) and configured to register displacement parameters of the user (¶0043-0045), the measuring device comprising a plurality of measuring sensors (Fig. 2 #20), wherein the system is configured to automatically fill the plurality of envelopes with the pressurized gas from the cylinder so that the plurality of envelopes is inflated to enclose the user's body when the measuring device detects that the displacement parameters of the user exceed threshold values (¶0052).
Gelston does not expressly disclose a plurality of packs, the cylinder comprising a valve, the valve comprising an outlet connected to the plurality of envelopes, the measuring device coupled to the valve, and the valve being configured to automatically fill the plurality of envelopes.
Morrison teaches a wearable airbag device (Figs. 1-8 #10) with a plurality of packs (Fig. 2 #20a), a cylinder (Figs. 7-8 #54) comprising a valve (Fig. 10 #61; Col 6:10-39), the valve comprising an outlet (Col 6:10-39) connected to a plurality of envelopes (Col 6:10-39), a measuring device (Figs. 1-2 #14) coupled to the valve (Col 6:52-59), and the valve being configured to automatically fill the plurality of envelopes (Col 6:10-39).
Both Gelston and Morrison teach analogous inventions in the art of wearable airbag devices. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Gelston with the teachings of Morrison such that there are a plurality of packs to protect the plurality of envelopes from trauma before deployment to ensure the envelopes can properly fill, and that the gas cylinder had a valve that had an outlet connected to the plurality of envelopes and the measuring device was coupled to the valve to automatically fill the plurality of envelopes in order for the gas to have route into the plurality of envelopes and so that the valve could regulate the amount of gas disposed into the plurality of envelopes in order to avoid overinflation.
Examiner notes that italicized limitations in the Prior Art rejections are functional and do not positively recite a structural limitation, but instead require the ability of the structure to perform and/or function. As the Prior Art of Gelston discloses the structure of the protective device, there would be a reasonable expectation for the protective device to perform such functions as explained after each functional limitation.
Regarding Claim 2, the modified protective device of Gelston discloses the protective device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of packs are connected to the fixing element permanently (Figs. 1-8 show the envelopes attached to the device, and the envelopes would remain attached permanently unless removed by a force).
Regarding Claim 3, the modified protective device of Gelston discloses the protective device according to claim 1, wherein the measuring device is suitable to register a horizontal speed, a vertical speed, and time periods in which changes in speed occur (Fig. 2 #24; ¶0017, 0044-0045).
Regarding Claim 4, the modified protective device of Gelston discloses the protective device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of measuring sensors is in a form of built-in accelerometer assembly (Fig. 2 #24; ¶0017, 0044).
Regarding Claim 8, the modified protective device of Gelston discloses the protective device according to claim 1, wherein the envelopes are connected to each other by sleeves (Fig. 5B #58/52), and when inflated the envelopes and the sleeves define one volume (Figs. 5A-5B; ¶0050).
Regarding Claim 11, the modified protective device of Gelston discloses the protective device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of measuring sensors comprises Global Positioning System (¶0068) and/or Global System for Mobile Communications (¶0068)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 24 November 2025, with respect to the Drawing Objections have been considered but are not persuasive.
The newly filed drawing of Fig. 2 does not show sufficient detail of the claimed invention for the Examiner to properly study the structures of the limitations. The “fixing element”, “plurality of packs”, “plurality of envelopes”, “sleeves”, “cylinder”, “valve”, “outlet”, “measuring device coupled to the valve”, “measuring device”, and “plurality of measuring sensors” of claim 1 and the “sleeves” of claim 8 are all structures critical to the understanding of the immediate application and must be shown in enough detail to be properly Examined.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 24 November 2025, with respect to the 35 USC 102 rejection of claims 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current grounds of rejection. In view of Applicant’s amendment, the search has been updated, and new prior art has been identified and applied. Applicant’s arguments, which appear to be drawn only to the newly amended limitations and previously presented rejections, have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAQUEL M. WEIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3732
/HEATHER MANGINE, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732