Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claim (s) 1-8 and 11 (with claims 9-10 withdrawn) in the reply filed on 03/25/2026 was acknowledged and has been entered. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Accordingly, claims 9-10 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. An action on the merits for Claims 1-8 and 11 are as follow.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
The claim to priority filled on 03/08/2023 acknowledged in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/20/2023, 03/23/2023 and 03/21/2024 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1. 97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretations - 35 USC § 112
A. Claim limitation “computer program product runs on a machine controller of a processing machine” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use generic placeholder “controller” coupled with functional language “run” and without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim 11 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: Under Spec. [0040], Fig. 1, a machine controller 17 controls the movement of the scanners 6, 11.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUKUMARU et al. (JP 2004 222458 A) in view of Lessmüller et al. (DE 102016 001661 B3).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, FUKUMARU et al. disclose a method for monitoring and/or controlling in a closed loop a laser welding process (see Title, Abstract) for welding together two workpieces of metallic material using a processing laser beam that is directed at end faces of the two workpieces arranged next to one another in order to melt a melt pool at the end faces, wherein in the laser welding process, the melt pool forms a melt bead, and the melt bead then solidifies to form a weld bead, the method comprising:
during the laser welding process:
scanning the melt pool and/or the melt bead using measurement beam in at least one line scan (the weld ball 41 is illuminated with direct light 57),
determining an actual geometry of the melt pool and/or the melt bead based on the at least one line scan (the white width of the surrounding portion of the weld ball 41 is determined in advance as shown in Figure 19, and the height of the weld ball 41 is determined from the white width of the surrounding portion of the weld ball 41 based on the relationship shown in Figure 19, [0064]), and
setting at least one welding parameter controlled in the closed loop based on a
deviation of the actual geometry from a target geometry of the melt pool and/or the melt bead (If there is a gap B in the weld ball 41 that does not meet the standard value (S22: No), the process proceeds to S23, where the position of the weld ball 41 is adjusted using a jig, and then the process returns to S21, [0081], Fig 8).
FUKUMARU et al. disclose the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except does not disclose: scanning the melt pool and/or the melt bead using an optical coherence tomography (OCT) measurement beam in at least one line scan.
Lessmüller et al. teach a method for monitoring and/or controlling in a closed loop a laser welding process (a method for monitoring a workpiece, [0001]; a laser processing beam to join, for example, two or more workpieces or workpiece parts together, [0002]), and scanning the melt pool and/or the melt bead using an optical coherence tomography (OCT) measurement beam in at least one line scan (scanning the measuring beam (OCT measuring beam), [0020]. Note: “scanning the melt pool and/or the melt bead using measurement beam in at least one line scan” taught by FUKUMARU et al. already).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify FUKUMARU et al. with Lessmüller et al.’s further teaching of scanning the melt pool and/or the melt bead using an optical coherence tomography (OCT) measurement beam in at least one line scan; because Lessmüller et al. teach, in Para. [0001] of providing a measuring device for a machining system for excellently machining a workpiece by means of a high-energy machining beam.
Claim 2, further comprising: after the laser welding process:
scanning the weld bead using a second OCT measurement beam in at least a
second line scan (scanning the melt pool and/or the melt bead using an optical coherence tomography (OCT) measurement beam in at least one line scan (scanning the measuring beam (OCT measuring beam), [0020], Lessmüller et al.),
determining an actual geometry of the weld bead (the width of the surrounding portions 41I and 41J of the weld ball 41 is known, the distance from the direct lighting 56 and 57 to the weld ball 41, and consequently the height of the weld ball 41, can be determined, [0063], FUKUMARU et al.) based on the second line scan (the white width of the surrounding portion of the weld ball 41 is determined in advance as shown in Figure 19, and the height of the weld ball 41 is determined from the white width of the surrounding portion of the weld ball 41 based on the relationship shown in Figure 19, [0064], FUKUMARU et al.),
and
monitoring a quality of the weld bead based on a deviation of the actual
geometry of the weld bead from a target geometry of the weld bead (safe approach for quality inspection, and since the welding quality is improved by the welding method, [0060], the sequence of each operation in this embodiment described above will be explained based on the flowchart in Figure 8, [0078], FUKUMARU et al.).
Claim 3, wherein scanning the melt pool and/or the melt bead using the OCT measurement beam is performed in at least two different line scans that are at right angles with respect to one another (the use of optical coherence tomography enables improved three-dimensional process monitoring, [0004], Lessmüller et al.).
Claim 4, wherein the actual geometry of the melt pool comprises at least one of the following actual geometry features: a diameter and a roundness of the melt pool (the white width of the surrounding portion of the weld ball 41 is determined in advance as shown in Figure 19, [0064], FUKUMARU et al.).
Claim 5, wherein the actual geometry of the meld bead comprises at least one of the following actual geometry features: a diameter, a height and a curvature of the melt bead (the white width of the surrounding portion of the weld ball 41 is determined in advance as shown in Figure 19, and the height of the weld ball 41 is determined from the white width of the surrounding portion of the weld ball 41 based on the relationship shown in Figure 19, [0064], FUKUMARU et al.).
Claim 6, wherein the actual geometry of the weld bead comprises at least one of the following actual geometry features: a diameter, a height and a curvature of the weld bead (the white width of the surrounding portion of the weld ball 41 is determined in advance as shown in Figure 19, and the height of the weld ball 41 is determined from the white width of the surrounding portion of the weld ball 41 based on the relationship shown in Figure 19, [0064], FUKUMARU et al.).
Claim 7, further comprising: upon determining that the weld bead is defective, automatically re-welding the weld bead or triggering an alert (If there is a gap B in the weld ball 41 that does not meet the standard value (S22: No), the process proceeds to S23, where the position of the weld ball 41 is adjusted using a jig, and then the process returns to S21, [0082], Fig 8, FUKUMARU et al.).
Claim 8, wherein the at least one welding parameter comprises a welding duration (the sequence of each operation in this embodiment described above will be explained based on the flowchart in Fig 8, [0078-0082]; clearly, the operation procedure shown in Fig 8 need to be including a welding time control- welding duration as claimed, FUKUMARU et al.).
Claim 11, a computer program product comprising instructions for performing the method as claimed in claim 1 when the computer program product runs on a machine controller of a processing machine (The measuring device 10 is coupled to a machining system 12 and together with it forms a device 14 according to the invention for monitoring and machining a workpiece 16, [0051], Fig 1, Lessmüller et al.; clearly, “the computer program product” needs to “runs on a machine controller of a processing machine” as claimed).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is advised to refer to the Notice of References Cited for pertinent prior art.
/KUANGYUE CHEN/
Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/ELIZABETH M KERR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761