DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the reply received 04/01/2026. After consideration of applicant's amendments and/or remarks:
Applicant cancels claims 4-5, 15, and 19; adds new claims 21-23.
Claims 1-3, 6-14, 16-18, and 20-23 rejected under 35 USC § 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-14, 16-18, and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sundelin et al., U.S. PG-Publication No. 2018/0005602 A1 (hereinafter SUNDELIN), in view of Walkin et al., U.S. PG-Publication No. 2020/0326839 A1 (hereinafter WALKIN).
Claim 1
SUNDELIN discloses a task start method. ¶ 0004: The computing system includes processors and a storage device storing computer-executable instructions that cause the system to receive application parameters and generate and position a compact-overlay window.
SUNDELIN discloses invoking, by a first application, a window start interface of a system to initiate a floating window start request for a second task. ¶ 0051: The computing system includes a compact overlay window manager having components that allow applications to generate/render and position compact-overlay windows. ¶ 0052: The manager’s generation module may “expose various APIs that allow the applications” to access the underlying computing system elements used to generate the compact-overlay window. The module receives parameters from an application and generates the window on the application’s behalf. ¶ 0062: “A second application such as application 320 may initiate the generation of [a] compact overlay window for the application 310.”
SUNDELIN discloses when a first task of the first application runs on a screen. ¶ 0039: Window 220 is implemented by a first application and displays its UI while the application is running on the computer system. A compact overlay window for another application is displayed over it. ¶ 0065: A browser application runs in window 440 while another application runs in compact overlay window 430, and both remain active simultaneously.
SUNDELIN discloses when a window is required to display the second task. ¶ 0062: Application 320 may initiate generation of the compact overlay window for application 310. ¶ 0049: Application parameters may specify that an application should become a compact-overlay window, launch a new compact overlay window, or launch as a compact-overlay window.
SUNDELIN discloses wherein the window start interface is a system-level common standard application programming interface (API) provided by the system and directly invocable by applications for programmatically creating a floating window. ¶ 0052: The system compact overlay window manager exposes “various APIs that allow the applications” to access the underlying system elements used to generate compact-overlay windows. ¶ 0093: Application 310 or 320 may “cause the generation module 345 to generate the compact overlay window,” and the generation module exposes APIs allowing the application to access the underlying system elements used to generate it.
SUNDELIN discloses and is configured to generate a first floating window, and wherein the second task is of a second application different from the first application. ¶ 0052: The system generation module “generate[s] or cause[s] to be generated a compact overlay window on behalf of the application” so that the application may run or execute in it. ¶ 0062: Application 320 initiates the compact overlay window for the different application 310.
SUNDELIN discloses automatically start, by the system, in response to the first application invoking the window start interface … the second task. ¶ 0052: After receiving parameters from an application, the system generation module generates the window on the application’s behalf “so that the application 310 or 320 may run or execute in the compact overlay window.” ¶ 0049: Application parameters may specify that the application should “launch a new compact overlay window” or “launch as a compact overlay window.” ¶ 0068: Application 320 specifies that a compact overlay window should be implemented, whereupon the application “may be launched as the compact overlay window.”
SUNDELIN discloses based on a current unchanged display status of the first task, and when the second task supports a floating window display, the second task. ¶ 0039: Although the second application’s compact overlay window overlays the fist application’s window the first window “remains ‘active’” and both applications run simultaneously. ¶ 0046: “Any type of application may be implemented as a compact overlay window.”
SUNDELIN discloses wherein the current unchanged display status comprises a full-screen display, a split-screen display, or the floating window display. ¶¶ 0043-0044: Multiple compact overlay windows may be displayed together, including one compact overlay window over another, with all windows active simultaneously. ¶ 0065: An ordinary browser window remains active while the compact overlay task executes over it.
SUNDELIN discloses creating, based on the window start interface, the first floating window. ¶¶ 0092-0094: The system receives parameters from a running application; the application causes the API-providing generation module to generate the compact overlay window; and the system positions the window in the display.
SUNDELIN discloses displaying, using the first floating window, the second task. ¶ 0039: The compact overlay window may be implemented by a second application that displays that application’s UI while it runs. ¶ 0068: Application 320 is launched in compact overlay window 470, which displays its live action video stream and application UI.
SUNDELIN does not expressly disclose when the first task triggers a task jump for the second task.
WALKIN discloses when a first task of the first application runs on a screen, when the first task triggers a task jump for the second task, and when a window is required to display the second task. ¶ 0439: An attachment displayed in an email application is “opened in a new window of another application that is distinct from the email application” when the attachment is dragged near the display edge. ¶ 0424: When the first interface displays selectable content, the location to which the content is moved determined whether the target interface is displayed adjacent to or “overlaid on the first user interface.” ¶ 0268: The device selects among an existing-window operation, a new slide-over window, a split-screen window, another concurrent window, or replacement full-screen display according to the input location.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the application accessible compact overlay window functionality of SUNDELIN to incorporate WALKIN’s content triggered task initiation and selecting among floating window and other display configurations. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to integrate WALKIN’s content triggered display selection into SUNDELIN, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow a user to open content from a running application in an appropriate display configuration according to the triggering input, thereby reducing the number and complexity of inputs needed to access content and improving user-interface efficiency. WALKIN ¶¶ 0032-0034, 0268, 0424, 0439.
Claim 2
SUNDELIN discloses wherein when displaying the second task, the task start method further comprises resuming lifecycle statuses of displayed content of the first task and the second task at the same time. ¶ 0039: Although the second application’s compact overlay window overlays the first application’s window, “the window 220 remains ‘active’ such that the first application is able to run in the window 220 simultaneously with the first or second application that is also running in the compact overlay window 230.” ¶ 0042: A compact overlay window may overlay two other windows, and “all of the window[s] may be active simultaneously.” ¶¶ 0043-0044: Multiple compact overlay windows may be displayed concurrently, including one overlaying another, and “all of the window[s] may be active simultaneously.” ¶ 0065: An ordinary window and compact overlay window are “active simultaneously,” allowing the user “to actively watch the video stream” while also browsing the Internet.
Claim 3
WALKIN discloses wherein operation controls in first displayed content of the first task and second displayed content of the second task both are in an available status when displaying the second task, and wherein the task start method further comprises switching an operation focus based on an operation of a user between the first displayed content and the second displayed content. Walkin discloses that in a first concurrent-display configuration (e.g., a slide-over configuration), “that includes concurrent display of a main application and one or more auxiliary applications, where the user interfaces of the auxiliary application(s) is overlaid on a portion, less than all, of the user interface of the main application, and where the user interface of at least one of the auxiliary applications (e.g., the top one in a stack of auxiliary applications) and the user interface of the main application are responsive to user inputs to perform operations within those applications (e.g., user interface objects within the user interfaces function as they normally would in a full-screen standalone display mode, and direct copy and paste and/or drag and drop functions are available across the two or more concurrently displayed applications))" (i.e., both windows are in an available status). Walkin, ¶ 379.
Claim 6
WALKIN discloses wherein after displaying the second task, the start method further comprises: identifying that the full-screen display for the second task is triggered and the first task supports the floating window display; and in response to identifying that the full screen display for the second task is triggered and the first task supports the floating window display: closing the first floating window, displaying the second task in a full-screen manner, creating a second floating window, and displaying the first task based on the second floating window. Walkin discloses an embodiment comprising “detecting a fifth input that corresponds to a request to drag the second user interface relative to the first user interface; and in response to detecting that the fifth input meets swapping criteria ... swapping positions of the first user interface and the second user interface, and displaying the navigation affordance in the second user interface instead of the first user interface." Walkin, ¶ 446.
Claim 7
WALKIN discloses wherein after displaying the second task, the task start method further comprises: identifying that a current display status of the first task is the full-screen display, the split-screen display for the second task is triggered, and the first task supports the split-screen display; and in response to identifying the that the current display status of the first task is the full-screen display, the split-screen display for the second task is triggered, and the first task supports the split-screen display. Figures 4E1-4E28 “illustrate user interface behaviors in response to an input ragging a representation of a window across the display to different locations and releasing it into different drop zones on the display.” Walkin, ¶ 339. Starting configurations include Figure 4E2, wherein a slide-over window is concurrently displayed with a full-screen window (i.e., after displaying the second task in first floating window). Id. at ¶ 343. Figure 4E8 illustrates “the different drop zones that are predefined … and that correspond to different final display configurations for the dragged window when the input ends” (dragged window → trigger new window configuration). Id. at ¶ 349. Figure 4E16 illustrates an intermediate state where “the dragged window started as a slide-over window 4614.” Id. at ¶ 359. Figure 4E18 illustrates a final state using drop zone A, wherein the dragged window is displayed in split-screen window 4602 and the full-screen application is converted into a split-screen window 4604. Id. at ¶ 362.
Claim 8
WALKIN discloses wherein after displaying the second task, the task start method further comprises: identifying that a current display status of the first task is the split-screen display with a third task, the split-screen display for the second task is triggered, and the third task supports the floating window display; and in response to identifying that the current display status of the first task is the split-screen display with the third task, the split-screen display for the second task is triggered and the third task supports the floating window display: closing the first floating window; displaying the first task and the second task in a split-screen manner. Figures 4E1-4E28 “illustrate user interface behaviors in response to an input ragging a representation of a window across the display to different locations and releasing it into different drop zones on the display.” Walkin, ¶ 339. Starting configurations include Figure 4E2, wherein a slide-over window is concurrently displayed with a full-screen window (i.e., after displaying the second task in first floating window). Id. at ¶ 343. Figure 4E8 illustrates “the different drop zones that are predefined … and that correspond to different final display configurations for the dragged window when the input ends” (dragged window → trigger new window configuration). Id. at ¶ 349. Figure 4E16 illustrates an intermediate state where “the dragged window started as a slide-over window 4614.” Id. at ¶ 359. Figure 4E18 illustrates a final state using drop zone A, wherein the dragged window is displayed in split-screen window 4602 and the full-screen application is converted into a split-screen window 4604 (i.e., disapplying the first and second task in a split-screen manner). Id. at ¶ 362.
Walkin discloses creating a second floating window; and displaying the third task based on the second floating window. Starting configurations include Figure 4E1, wherein a split-screen application is concurrently displayed with another split-screen window. Figure 4E9 illustrates an intermediate state where “the dragged email window will be displayed as a split-screen window on the left-side of the display, concurrently with another split-screen window of the messages application.” Id. at ¶ 351. Figure 4E19 illustrates a final state using drop zone B, wherein the dragged window of the email application is a slide-over window 4614 (i.e., displaying third task in floating window).
Claim 9
WALKIN discloses wherein after displaying the second task, the task start method further comprises: identifying that a current display status of the first task is the floating window display, the split-screen display for the second task is triggered, and the first task supports the split-screen display; and in response to identifying that the current display status of the first task is the floating window display, the split-screen display for the second task is triggered, and the first task supports the split-screen display: closing a second floating window of the first task and the first floating window; and displaying the first task and the second task in a split-screen manner. Figures 4E1-4E28 “illustrate user interface behaviors in response to an input ragging a representation of a window across the display to different locations and releasing it into different drop zones on the display.” Walkin, ¶ 339. Starting configurations include Figure 4E2, wherein a slide-over window is concurrently displayed with a full-screen window (i.e., after displaying the second task in first floating window). Id. at ¶ 343. Figure 4E8 illustrates “the different drop zones that are predefined … and that correspond to different final display configurations for the dragged window when the input ends” (dragged window → trigger new window configuration). Id. at ¶ 349. Figure 4E16 illustrates an intermediate state where “the dragged window started as a slide-over window 4614.” Id. at ¶ 359. Figure 4E18 illustrates a final state using drop zone A, wherein the dragged window is displayed in split-screen window 4602 and the full-screen application is converted into a split-screen window 4604 (i.e., disapplying the first and second task in a split-screen manner). Id. at ¶ 362.
Claim 10
WALKIN discloses wherein after displaying the second task, the task start method further comprises: identifying that a current display status of the first task is the full-screen display, a display status exchange for the second task is triggered, and the task supports the floating window display; and in response to identifying that the current display status is the full-screen display, the display status exchange for the second task is triggered, and the first task support the floating window display: closing the first window, displaying the second task in a full-screen manner, creating a second floating window, wherein a first size of the first floating window and a first position of the first floating window are consistent with a second size of the second floating window and a second position of the second floating window; and displaying the first task based on the second floating window. Walkin discloses an embodiment comprising “detecting a fifth input that corresponds to a request to drag the second user interface relative to the first user interface; and in response to detecting that the fifth input meets swapping criteria ... swapping positions of the first user interface and the second user interface, and displaying the navigation affordance in the second user interface instead of the first user interface." Walkin, ¶ 446.
Claim 11
WALKIN discloses wherein after displaying the second task, the task start method further comprises: identifying that a current display status of the first task is the split-screen display with a third task, a display status exchange for the second task is triggered, and the first task supports the floating window display, and in response to identifying that the current display status of the first task is the split-screen display with the third task ,the display status exchange for the second task is triggered, and the first task supports the floating window display: closing the first floating window, displaying the third task and the second task in a split-screen manner. Figures 4E1-4E28 “illustrate user interface behaviors in response to an input ragging a representation of a window across the display to different locations and releasing it into different drop zones on the display.” Walkin, ¶ 339. Starting configurations include Figure 4E2, wherein a slide-over window is concurrently displayed with a full-screen window (i.e., after displaying the second task in first floating window). Id. at ¶ 343. Figure 4E8 illustrates “the different drop zones that are predefined … and that correspond to different final display configurations for the dragged window when the input ends” (dragged window → trigger new window configuration). Id. at ¶ 349. Figure 4E16 illustrates an intermediate state where “the dragged window started as a slide-over window 4614.” Id. at ¶ 359. Figure 4E18 illustrates a final state using drop zone A, wherein the dragged window is displayed in split-screen window 4602 and the full-screen application is converted into a split-screen window 4604 (i.e., disapplying the first and second task in a split-screen manner). Id. at ¶ 362.
Walkin discloses creating a second floating window, wherein a first size of the first floating window and a first position of the first floating window are consistent with a second size of the second floating window and a second position of the second floating window, and displaying the first task based on the second floating window. Starting configurations include Figure 4E1, wherein a split-screen application is concurrently displayed with another split-screen window. Figure 4E9 illustrates an intermediate state where “the dragged email window will be displayed as a split-screen window on the left-side of the display, concurrently with another split-screen window of the messages application.” Id. at ¶ 351. Figure 4E19 illustrates a final state using drop zone B, wherein the dragged window of the email application is a slide-over window 4614 (i.e., creating a second slide-over window).
Claim 12
WALKIN disclose wherein after displaying the second task, the task start method further comprises: identifying that a current display status of the first task is the floating window display and a display status exchange for the second task is triggered, and exchanging, in response to identifying that the current display status of the first task is the floating window display and the display status exchange for the second task is triggered, positions and window size settings of a second floating window of the first task and the first floating window to be displayed. The method uses interactions “with an overlay-switcher user interface that concurrently displays multiple slide-over windows corresponding to different applications.” Walkin, ¶ 202. The behavior of the overlay-switcher user interface 4054 is analogous to an application-switcher user interface (e.g., application-switcher user interface 4032 in FIG. 4A18) in that, tapping on a representation of a slide-over window in the overlay-switcher user interface 4054 causes that slide-over window to be displayed” (i.e., exchange the task/application in the slide-over window). Id. at ¶ 221.
Claim 13
WALKIN discloses identifying that the second task does not support the floating window display, and in response to identifying that the second task does not support the floating window display, starting the second task, exiting the first task, and displaying the second task in a full-screen manner. Walkin discloses that “each application 136-1 stores multitasking data 176. In some embodiments, multitasking data 176 includes a compatibility flag (e.g., a flag accessed by compatibility module 184 to determine whether a particular application is compatible with multitasking mode), a list of compatible sizes for displaying the application 136-1 in the multitasking mode (e.g., ¼, ⅓, ½, or full-screen).” Walkin, ¶ 128. In some embodiments, “other operation may be performed” based on where the drag input ends. If the predefined region for slide-over windows “presents an acceptable drop location for the document, the document will be inserted into the drop location in the slide-over window,” or “returned to the original location if no acceptable drop location is available” (i.e., does not support the floating window display). Id. at ¶ 232. The appearance of the window representation may indicate “that no acceptable drop location is available at this location, and no operation will be performed with respect to the document if the input were to end at the current location.” Id. at ¶ 296. Figure 4E24 illustrates a final state using drop zone G, wherein ”the window of the email application is a standalone full-screen window” and “previously concurrently displayed window is no longer displayed” (e.g., exiting first task; running first task in background).
Claim 14
WALKIN discloses identifying that the second task does not support the floating window display; and in response to identifying that the second task does not support the floating window display: starting the second task, running the first task in a background, and displaying the second task in a full-screen manner. Walkin discloses that “each application 136-1 stores multitasking data 176. In some embodiments, multitasking data 176 includes a compatibility flag (e.g., a flag accessed by compatibility module 184 to determine whether a particular application is compatible with multitasking mode), a list of compatible sizes for displaying the application 136-1 in the multitasking mode (e.g., ¼, ⅓, ½, or full-screen).” Walkin, ¶ 128. In some embodiments, “other operation may be performed” based on where the drag input ends. If the predefined region for slide-over windows “presents an acceptable drop location for the document, the document will be inserted into the drop location in the slide-over window,” or “returned to the original location if no acceptable drop location is available” (i.e., does not support the floating window display). Id. at ¶ 232. The appearance of the window representation may indicate “that no acceptable drop location is available at this location, and no operation will be performed with respect to the document if the input were to end at the current location.” Id. at ¶ 296. Figure 4E24 illustrates a final state using drop zone G, wherein ”the window of the email application is a standalone full-screen window” and “previously concurrently displayed window is no longer displayed” (e.g., exiting first task; running first task in background).
Claims 16-18
Claims 16-18 are rejected utilizing the aforementioned rationale for Claims 1-3; the claims are directed to a system performing the method.
Claim 20
Claim 20 is rejected utilizing the aforementioned rationale for Claim 1; the claim is directed to a medium storing instructions corresponding to the method.
Claim 21
SUNDELIN discloses wherein automatically starting the second task comprises automatically starting the second task while automatically maintaining the current unchanged display status of the first task, and wherein displaying the second task displaying the second task over the first task while the first task continues running in the current unchanged display status. ¶ 0039: Compact overlay window 230, which may implement a second application, is displayed “on top of or overlays a portion of” window 220 of the first application. Although the compact window overlays window 220, “the window 220 remains ‘active’ such that the first application is able to run in the window 220 simultaneously with “the second application running in the compact overlay window. ¶ 0042: A compact overlay window may be displayed over existing windows, and “all of the window[s] may be active simultaneously.” ¶ 0065: A browser may remain implemented in ordinary window 440 while another application runs in compact overlay window 430. “Both the compact overlay window 430 and the window 440 may be active simultaneously,” allowing the user to watch the video while browsing the Internet. ¶ 0068: Application 320 specifies that a compact overlay window should be implemented, after which application 320 “may be launched as the compact overlay window.” ¶ 0052: In response to application supplied parameters, the system generation module generates the compact overlay window on the application’s behalf “so that the application 310 or 320 may run or execute in the compact overlay window.”
Claim 22
SUNDLEIN discloses determining, by the first application … whether a window is required to display the second task. ¶ 0049: Application defined customization parameters may specify that an application running in a non-compact window should become a compact overlay window, should “launch a new compact overlay window,” or should “launch as a compact overlay window.” ¶ 0062: An application parameter may initiate compact overlay generation by specifying that the target application should be configured as a compact-overlay window. Alternatively, “a second application such as application 320 may initiate the generation of [a] compact overlay window for the application 310.” ¶ 0064: The positioning and sizing of the compact overlay window are specified through customization parameters “as determined by the application.”
SUNDELIN does not expressly disclose in a process in which the first task is displayed in a full-screen manner, and when the task jump for the second task is triggered.
WALKIN discloses in a process in which the first task is displayed in a full-screen manner, and when the task jump for the second task is triggered. ¶ 0204: The first application window is displayed in a “stand-alone display configuration,” expressly identified as “also a full-screen display configuration.” ¶ 0439: An attachment displayed in an email application is “opened in a new window of another application that is distinct from the email application” when acted upon near the display edge.
Claim 23
WALKIN discloses displaying, for a third task that is also triggered in the first task. ¶ 0424: A first user interface contains selectable content. In response to an input selecting that content, the device displays another user interface containing the selected content. ¶ 0435: While the first user interface displays selectable content, the device detects an activation input on that content and responds by displaying “a newly opened user interface of an application that corresponds to the content type of the first content.”
WALKIN discloses when determining that no window is required to display the third task. ¶ 0268: The device selects among several operations according to the triggering input, including displaying the content in the same window, displaying it in an existing window, creating a slide-over or split-screen window, or opening it full-screen in place of the original window. ¶ 0435: When the input meets activation criteria, the device “replaces display of the first user interface” with a newly opened interface containing the selected content. The new interface is displayed “in the same display configuration as the first user interface.”
WALKIN discloses displaying … the third task without invoking the window start interface to initiate a floating window start request for the third task. ¶ 0435: The triggered interface replaces the first interface in its existing display configuration, including as the single application shown on the display. ¶ 0268: WALKIN distinguishes operations using existing or replacement displays from operations that create “a new slide-over window.”
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. See Sundelin et al., U.S. PG-Publication No. 2018/0005602 A1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FRANK D MILLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2194 September 3, 2026