DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 5/19/2025 has been entered. Claims 2-21 remain pending in the application.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “driven by a separate, second drive element” in claims 13 and 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Daniel (WO 2011/123024 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Daniel teaches a method (page 9, lines 15-29) for releasing a substance (contents inside element 80) from a device (figure 7), comprising the steps of:
automatically releasing the substance from a syringe 80 held immovably within a housing 20 of the device (figure 7) in response to pressing the device (figure 7) onto an injection site, wherein the substance is released by means of a first drive element 105 (page 12, line 29-page 13, line 6, claim does not recite a structure of a first drive element and due to rotation of element 105, sequence of substance release is initiated therefore, element 105 meets the claimed first drive element); and
producing a feedback signal (page 13, line 29-page 14, line 2, page 11, lines 24-31) for signaling of a completed substance release by means of a feedback element 110 driven by a separate, second drive element 91.
Regarding claim 14, Daniel teaches wherein the first drive element 105 releases energy (page 12, line 29-page 13, line 6, the energy that element 105 holds to keep element 91 in the pre-tensioned state is released upon rotation of element 105 and thus releasing the energy upon element 91) to the second drive element 91 before, during or after the substance release.
Regarding claim 15, Daniel teaches wherein the pressing comprises pressing a needle protective sleeve 30 (page 9, line 31-page 10, line 9) of the device onto the injection site to displace the needle protective sleeve in a proximal direction to thereby cause the step of automatically releasing the substance, wherein the substance is automatically released from the syringe 80.
Regarding claim 16, Daniel teaches wherein the step of producing the feedback signal (page 11, lines 24-31) is by the feedback element 110 striking the housing or a stationary element 22 in the housing 20.
Regarding claim 17, Daniel teaches further comprising, prior to the step of producing the feedback signal, coupling the second drive element 91 to a piston rod 90 of the device, and upon dispensing a predefined quantity of the substance by the piston rod 90, releasing (page 11, lines 14-31, page 12, line 23-page 13, line 6, page 13, lines 29-33) the coupling to cause the step of producing the feedback signal.
Claim(s) 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bollenbach et al. (US 2008/0262438 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Bollenbach teaches a method (paragraph 0053) for releasing a substance from a device, comprising the steps of:
automatically releasing the substance (paragraph 0053, lines 1-7, paragraph 0056, paragraph 0057, paragraph 0060, lines 1-17) in response to pressing the device onto an injection site, wherein the substance is released by means of a first drive element 6; and
producing a feedback signal (paragraph 0060, lines 14-17, paragraph 0062, lines 1-8) for signaling of a completed substance release by means of a feedback element 17 driven by a separate, second drive element 7,
wherein the second drive element 7 is configured as a spring (paragraph 0046, lines 1-2, “retracting spring”) and is coupled with the needle protective sleeve 9 for displacing the needle protective sleeve in a distal direction in order to cover the needle (paragraph 0063, lines 16-23).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art of record, Daniel (WO 2011/123024 A1), is silent regarding wherein the second drive element is coupled with the needle protective sleeve for displacing the needle protective sleeve in a distal direction in order to cover the needle in combination with other claimed limitations of claim 18.
Claims 19-20 being dependent on claim 18 are also indicated allowable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 13 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply in view of the present rejection.
Conclusion
/NILAY J SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783