DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The corrected Abstract was received on 10/13/2025 and is accepted.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “telescoping solar panel” recited in Claim 6 and the “foldable solar panel” recited in claim 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The “telescoping solar panel” recited in Claim 6 and the “foldable solar panel” recited in claim 11 are not considered supported by the disclosure as filed. While the use of a telescopic or foldable leg supporting the solar panel is found in the application, there is no mention of solar panel that is foldable or telescopic itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunner in US Publication 2017/0312909 in view of Hazzard et al. in US Publication 2019/0270471 and Hall in US Patent 4640386.
Regarding Claims 1 and 4, Brunner teaches a sawhorse device comprising: a body (12A); and a leg (12) further comprised of a first member (16B), a second member (18B), a locking handle (40) and a hinge (17/19).
Brunner is silent on the inclusion of an outlet or battery. Hazzard teaches a workstation including a body with an LED (314); a power outlet (the “AC receptacles or outlets” – see paragraph 0027); a battery (46); a charging receptable (50) that receives the battery; and wherein the battery supplies power to the power outlet. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Brunner by adding a power unit as taught by Hazzard in order to allow the user to charge a device.
Brunner, as modified, teaches that the body comprises a top wall (the upper surface of 12A) but is silent on the use of an opening in the top wall. Hall teaches a sawhorse device including a body (10) comprising a top wall (the top surface of 10) comprising a threaded opening (26) for receiving a fastener (22) to secure a board (20) to the body. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Brunner, as modified, by adding a threaded opening and board with a fastener as taught by Hall in order to “provide a surface which will not damage a saw or the like” as Hall teaches.
Regarding Claim 2, Brunner, as modified, teaches a level bubble (102).
Regarding Claim 3, Brunner, as modified, teaches a hook (96).
Regarding Claim 5, Brunner, as modified, teaches that the leg is foldable (see Fig. 8E)
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunner in US Publication 2017/0312909 in view of Hazzard et al. in US Publication 2019/0270471, Hall in US Patent 4640386 and Pizzuto in US Patent 2011/0193372.
Regarding Claims 6, 9, and 10, Brunner teaches a sawhorse device comprising: a body (12A); and a leg (12) further comprised of a first member (16B), a second member (18B), a locking handle (40) and a hinge (17/19).
Brunner is silent on the inclusion of an outlet or battery. Hazzard et al. teaches a workstation with a body including an LED (314), a power cord (110) that extends and retracts relative to the body, a power outlet (the “AC receptacles or outlets” – see paragraph 0027), a battery (46) that supplies power to the power cord; a charging receptable (50) that receives the battery; and wherein the battery supplies power to the power outlet. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Brunner by adding a power unit as taught by Hazzard in order to allow the user to charge a device.
Brunner, as modified, teaches that the body comprises a top wall (the upper surface of 12A) but is silent on the use of an opening in the top wall. Hall teaches a sawhorse device including a body (10) comprising a top wall (the top surface of 10) comprising a threaded opening (26) for receiving a fastener (22) to secure a board (20) to the body. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Brunner, as modified, by adding a threaded opening and board with a fastener as taught by Hall in order to “provide a surface which will not damage a saw or the like” as Hall teaches.
Brunner, as modified, is silent on the use of a solar panel. Pizzuto teaches a device with a battery charger (36) and having a telescoping solar panel (34) in communication with the charger, the telescoping solar panel comprising a support leg (40). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Brunner, as modified, by adding a solar panel as taught by Pizzuto in order to provide power to the device no matter where it is located.
Regarding Claim 7, Brunner, as modified, teaches of a level bubble (102).
Regarding Claim 8, Brunner, as modified, teaches a hook (96).
Claims 11 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunner in US Publication 2017/0312909 in view of Hazzard et al. in US Publication 2019/0270471, Hall in US Patent 4640386, Wasylynko in US Patent 5709373, and Pizzuto in US Patent 2011/0193372 .
Regarding Claims 11 and 18, Brunner teaches a sawhorse device comprising: a body (12A) comprised of a top surface (80) having an opening (at 90); a leg (12) comprised of a first member (16B), a second member (18B), a locking handle (40) and a hinge (17/19).
Brunner, as modified, teaches that the body comprises a top wall (the upper surface of 12A) but is silent on the use of an opening in the top wall. Hall teaches a sawhorse device including a body (10) comprising a top wall (the top surface of 10) comprising a threaded opening (26) for receiving a fastener (22) to secure a board (20) to the body. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Brunner, as modified, by adding a threaded opening and board with a fastener as taught by Hall in order to “provide a surface which will not damage a saw or the like” as Hall teaches.
Brunner is silent on the inclusion of an outlet or battery. Hazzard et al. teaches a workstation with a body including an LED (314), a power cord (110), a battery (46); a charging receptable (50) that receives the battery; and a battery charger (the device in “the charge mode” – see Paragraph 0051) and LED indicates a power status of the battery. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Brunner by adding a power unit as taught by Hazzard in order to allow the user to charge a device.
Brunner, as modified, is silent on the use of a solar panel. Pizzuto teaches a device with a battery charger (36) and having a foldable solar panel (34) in communication with the charger, the foldable solar panel comprising a support leg (40). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Brunner, as modified, by adding a solar panel as taught by Pizzuto in order to provide power to the device no matter where it is located.
Brunner, as modified, is silent on the inclusion of a storage bag. Wasylynko teaches a sawhorse device (10) and including a storage bag (76) for retaining the sawhorse device body within and comprising a separate tool compartment (78). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Brunner, as modified, by adding a storage case as taught by Wasylynko in order to provide more storage for the user and protect the legs when not in use.
Regarding Claim 15, Brunner, as modified, teaches that the hinge allows the leg to fold (See Fig. 8E).
Regarding Claim 16, Brunner, as modified, teaches that the leg is adjustable in length (see Fig. 5A).
Regarding Claim 17, Brunner, as modified, teaches that the leg can be locked at a length via the locking handle.
Regarding Claim 19, Brunner, as modified, teaches a hook (96).
Regarding Claim 20, Brunner, as modified, teaches a level bubble (102).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunner, as modified, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Korman in US Publication 2012/0235477. Brunner, as modified, is silent on the details of the solar panels. Korman teaches a portable device including a battery (28a) and a foldable solar panel (14) that supplies power to the battery, a charging receptable (16) that has a charging port (22) that receives a power cord of the solar panel (see Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Brunner, as modified, by adding a solar panel as taught by Korma in order to provide charging power to the device when not close to a power outlet.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 6, and 11 and the new limitations therein have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
NOAH C. HAWK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3636
/Noah Chandler Hawk/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636