DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment dated 04/17/2026, in which claims 1-2, 7-11, 13, 17- 20 were amended, claims 3-6, 12, 14-15 were cancelled, has been entered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Applicant’s drawings only show a plurality of first nonlinear channels and a single second nonlinear channel under the same gate. Not every first nonlinear channels having a first concave sidewall facing a second nonlinear channel (See annotated Fig. 9 below)
Therefore, the feature of “a plurality of first nonlinear channels and a plurality of second nonlinear channels both under a gate, each of the plurality of first nonlinear channels having a first concave sidewall facing each of the plurality of second nonlinear channels and each of the plurality of second nonlinear channels having a second concave sidewall facing each of the plurality of first nonlinear channels” of claim 1, “a plurality of first nonlinear channels under a gate; a plurality of second nonlinear channels under the gate, each of the plurality of first nonlinear channels having a first concave sidewall facing each of the plurality of second nonlinear channels and each of the plurality of second nonlinear channels having a second concave sidewall facing each of the plurality of first nonlinear channels” of claim 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, 9-11, 13, 16, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bergendahl et al. (US Pub. 20180122947).
Regarding claims 1-2, Bergendahl et al. discloses in Fig. 15A, Fig. 16A-16C, Fig. 17, Fig. 20A-20C a finFET comprising:
a plurality of first nonlinear channels [first and third channel 506ac] and a plurality of second nonlinear channels [second and fourth channel 506ac] both under a gate [530], each of the plurality of first nonlinear channels [first and third channel 506ac] having a first concave sidewall facing each of the plurality of second nonlinear channels [second and fourth channel 506ac] and each of the second nonlinear channels [second and fourth channel 506ac] having a second concave sidewall facing each of the first nonlinear channels [first and third channel 506ac], wherein the first concave sidewall and the second concave sidewall are opposing segments of a common and singular conic reference arc;
wherein each of the first nonlinear channels [first and third channel 506ac] comprises a first concentric sidewall that is concentric with and opposes the first concave sidewall.
Regarding claim 7, Bergendahl et al. discloses in Fig. 15, Fig. 17, Fig. 20C, Fig. 22B-22C
a source [506a on one side of 506ac] in physical contact with a first end surface of each of the plurality of first nonlinear channels [first and third channel 506ac] and a drain [another 506a on another side of 506ac] in physical contact with an opposing second end surface of each of the plurality of first nonlinear channels [first and third channel 506ac].
Regarding claims 9, 18 and 19, Bergendahl et al. discloses in Fig. 16A, Fig. 20A,
wherein a channel length of each of the plurality of first nonlinear channels 506ac] and a channel length of each of the plurality of second nonlinear channels [506ac] are greater than a gate length of the gate [530];
wherein a channel length of each of the plurality of first nonlinear channels is greater than a gate length of the gate;
wherein a channel length of each of the plurality of second nonlinear channels is greater than the gate length.
Regarding claims 10-11, 13, 16, Bergendahl et al. discloses in Fig. 15A, Fig. 16A-16C, Fig. 17, Fig. 20A-20C a finFET comprising:
a plurality of first nonlinear channel [first and third channel 506ac] under a gate [530];
a plurality of second nonlinear channel [second and fourth channel 506ac] both under the gate [530];
each of the plurality of first nonlinear channels [first and third channel 506ac] having a first concave sidewall facing each of the plurality of second nonlinear channels [second and fourth channel 506ac],
and each of the second nonlinear channel [second and fourth channel 506ac] having a second concave sidewall facing each of the first nonlinear channel [first and third channel 506ac], wherein the first concave sidewall and the second concave sidewall are opposing segments of a first common and singular conic reference arc;
a source [506a on one side of 506ac] in physical contact with respective end surfaces of each of the plurality of first nonlinear channels [first and third channel 506ac] and each of the plurality of second nonlinear channels [second and fourth channel 506ac]; and
a drain [another 506a on another side of 506ac] in physical contact with respective opposing end surfaces of each of the plurality of first nonlinear channels [first and third channel 506ac] and each of the plurality of second nonlinear channels [second and fourth 506ac];
wherein each of the plurality of first nonlinear channels [first and third channel 506ac] comprises a first concentric sidewall that is concentric with and opposes the first concave sidewall;
wherein each of the plurality of second nonlinear channels [second and fourth channel 506ac] comprises a second concentric sidewall that is concentric with and opposes the second concave sidewall;
wherein each of the plurality of first concentric sidewall and the second concentric sidewall are positioned as opposing segments of a second common and singular conic reference arc that is larger and concentric with the first common and singular conic reference arc.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-11, 13, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeo et al. (US Pub. 20170194442) in view of Chidambarrao et al. (US Pub. 20080164535) and Bergendahl et al. (US Pub. 20180122947).
Regarding claims 1-2, 8, Yeo et al. discloses in Fig. 1A, Fig. 3, Fig. 11 a finFET comprising:
a plurality of first channels [odd channels 104] and a plurality of second channel [even channels 104] both under a gate [110];
a gate spacer [112] around the gate [110];
Yeo et al. fails to disclose
the plurality of first channel comprises a plurality of first nonlinear channel;
the plurality of second channel comprises a plurality of second nonlinear channel;
each of the plurality of first nonlinear channels having a first concave sidewall facing each of the plurality of second nonlinear channels and each of the plurality of second nonlinear channels having a second concave sidewall facing each of the plurality of first nonlinear channels, wherein the first concave sidewall and the second concave sidewall are opposing segments of a common and singular conic reference arc;
wherein each of the plurality of first nonlinear channels comprises a first concentric sidewall that is concentric with and opposes the first concave sidewall.
Chidambarrao et al. discloses in Fig. 5, paragraph [0020], [0029]
the first channel comprises a first nonlinear channel;
the second channel comprises a second nonlinear channel;
wherein a channel length of the first nonlinear channel and a channel length of the second nonlinear channel are greater than a gate length of the gate [110].
Bergendahl et al. discloses in Fig. 15A, Fig. 16A-16C, Fig. 17, Fig. 20A-20C
the plurality of first channel comprises a plurality of first nonlinear channels [first and third channel 506ac];
the plurality of second channel comprises a plurality of second nonlinear channel [second and fourth channel 506ac];
each of the plurality of first nonlinear channels [first and third channel 506ac] having a first concave sidewall facing each of the plurality of second nonlinear channels [second and fourth channel 506ac] and each of the second nonlinear channels [second and fourth channel 506ac] having a second concave sidewall facing each of the first nonlinear channels [first and third channel 506ac], wherein the first concave sidewall and the second concave sidewall are opposing segments of a common and singular conic reference arc;
wherein each of the first nonlinear channels [first and third channel 506ac] comprises a first concentric sidewall that is concentric with and opposes the first concave sidewall.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Chidambarrao et al. and Bergendahl et al. into the method of Yeo et al. to include the plurality of first channel comprises a plurality of first nonlinear channel; the plurality of second channel comprises a plurality of second nonlinear channel; each of the plurality of first nonlinear channels having a first concave sidewall facing each of the plurality of second nonlinear channels and each of the plurality of second nonlinear channels having a second concave sidewall facing each of the plurality of first nonlinear channels, wherein the first concave sidewall and the second concave sidewall are opposing segments of a common and singular conic reference arc; wherein each of the plurality of first nonlinear channels comprises a first concentric sidewall that is concentric with and opposes the first concave sidewall. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yeo et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing curved fin to increase carrier mobility and increase in device performance [paragraph [0029] of Chidambarrao et al.].
Regarding claims 7, 9, 18 and 19, Yeo et al. discloses in Fig. 1A, Fig. 3, Fig. 11
a source [S/D regions of a respective fin 104 on which 106 is formed] in physical contact with a first end surface of each of the plurality of first channel [odd channels 104] and a drain [another S/D regions of a respective fin 104 on which 106 is formed] in physical contact with an opposing end surface of each of the plurality of first channel [odd channels 104];
wherein a channel length of each of the plurality of first channel [odd channels 104] and a channel length of the plurality of second channel [even channels 104] are greater than a gate length of the gate [110];
wherein a channel length of each of the plurality of first channel [odd channels 104] is greater than a gate length of the gate [110]; and
wherein a channel length of the plurality of second channel [even channels 104] is greater than the gate length.
Bergendahl et al. discloses the plurality of first channels and the plurality of second channels comprise the plurality of first nonlinear channels and the plurality of second nonlinear channels.
Bergendahl et al. further discloses in Fig. 15, Fig. 17, Fig. 20C, Fig. 22B-22C
a source [506a on one side of 506ac] in physical contact with a first end surface of each of the plurality of first nonlinear channels [first and third channel 506ac] and a drain [another 506a on another side of 506ac] in physical contact with an opposing second end surface of each of the plurality of first nonlinear channels [first and third channel 506ac];
wherein a channel length of each of the plurality of first nonlinear channels [506ac] and a channel length of each of the plurality of second nonlinear channels [506ac] are greater than a gate length of the gate [530];
wherein a channel length of each of the plurality of first channel [odd 506ac] is greater than a gate length of the gate [530]; and
wherein a channel length of the plurality of second channel [even 506ac] is greater than the gate length.
Thus, the combination of Bergendahl et al. and Yeo et al. discloses limitations of claims 7, 9, 18 and 19.
Regarding claims 10-11, 13, 16-17, Yeo et al. discloses in Fig. 1A, Fig. 3, Fig. 11 a finFET comprising:
a plurality of first channels [odd channels 104] under a gate [110];
a plurality of second channel [even channels 104] under the gate [110];
a source [S/D regions of a respective fin 104 on which 106 is formed] in physical contact with respective end surfaces of each of the plurality of first channels [odd channels 104] and each of the plurality of second channels [even channels 104]; and
a drain [another S/D regions of a respective fin 104 on which 106 is formed] in physical contact with respective opposing end surfaces of each of the plurality of first channels [odd channels 104] and each of the plurality of second channels [even channels 104];
a gate spacer [112] around the gate [110].
Yeo et al. fails to disclose
the plurality of first channel comprises a plurality of first nonlinear channel;
the plurality of second channel comprises a plurality of second nonlinear channel;
the first nonlinear channel having a first concave sidewall facing the second nonlinear channel and the second nonlinear channel having a second concave sidewall facing the first nonlinear channel, wherein the first concave sidewall and the second concave sidewall are opposing segments of a common and singular conic reference arc;
wherein each of the plurality of first nonlinear channels comprises a first concentric sidewall that is concentric with and opposes the first concave sidewall;
wherein each of the plurality of second nonlinear channels comprises a second concentric sidewall that is concentric with and opposes the second concave sidewall;
wherein the first concentric sidewall and the second concentric sidewall are positioned as opposing segments of a second common and singular conic reference arc that is larger and concentric with the first common and singular conic reference arc.
Chidambarrao et al. discloses in Fig. 5, paragraph [0020], [0029]
the first channel comprises a first nonlinear channel [first fin 102];
the second channel comprises a second nonlinear channel [second fin 102];
Chidambarrao et al. further discloses
a channel length of the first nonlinear channel [first fin 102] is greater than the gate length of the gate [110];
a channel length of the second nonlinear channel [second fin 102] is greater than the gate length.
Bergendahl et al. discloses in Fig. 15A, Fig. 16A-16C, Fig. 17, Fig. 20A-20C a finFET comprising:
the plurality of first channel comprises a plurality of first nonlinear channel [first and third channel 506ac];
the plurality of second channel comprises a plurality of second nonlinear channel [second and fourth channel 506ac];
each of the plurality of first nonlinear channels [first and third channel 506ac] having a first concave sidewall facing each of the plurality of second nonlinear channels [second and fourth channel 506ac], and each of the second nonlinear channel [second and fourth channel 506ac] having a second concave sidewall facing each of the first nonlinear channel [first and third channel 506ac], wherein the first concave sidewall and the second concave sidewall are opposing segments of a first common and singular conic reference arc;
wherein each of the plurality of first nonlinear channels [first and third channel 506ac] comprises a first concentric sidewall that is concentric with and opposes the first concave sidewall;
wherein each of the plurality of second nonlinear channels [second and fourth channel 506ac] comprises a second concentric sidewall that is concentric with and opposes the second concave sidewall;
wherein each of the plurality of first concentric sidewall and the second concentric sidewall are positioned as opposing segments of a second common and singular conic reference arc that is larger and concentric with the first common and singular conic reference arc.
Bergendahl et al. further discloses
a source [506a on one side of 506ac] in physical contact with respective end surfaces of each of the plurality of first nonlinear channels [first and third channel 506ac] and each of the plurality of second nonlinear channels [second and fourth channel 506ac]; and a drain [another 506a on another side of 506ac] in physical contact with respective opposing end surfaces of each of the plurality of first nonlinear channels [first and third channel 506ac] and each of the plurality of second nonlinear channels [second and fourth 506ac];
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Chidambarrao et al. and Bergendahl et al. into the method of Yeo et al. to include the plurality of first channel comprises a plurality of first nonlinear channel; the plurality of second channel comprises a plurality of second nonlinear channel; the first nonlinear channel having a first concave sidewall facing the second nonlinear channel and the second nonlinear channel having a second concave sidewall facing the first nonlinear channel, wherein the first concave sidewall and the second concave sidewall are opposing segments of a common and singular conic reference arc; wherein each of the plurality of first nonlinear channels comprises a first concentric sidewall that is concentric with and opposes the first concave sidewall; wherein each of the plurality of second nonlinear channels comprises a second concentric sidewall that is concentric with and opposes the second concave sidewall; wherein the first concentric sidewall and the second concentric sidewall are positioned as opposing segments of a second common and singular conic reference arc that is larger and concentric with the first common and singular conic reference arc. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yeo et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing curved fin to increase carrier mobility and increase in device performance [paragraph [0029] of Chidambarrao et al.].
The combination of Yeo et al. and Bergendahl et al. would result to “a source in physical contact with respective end surfaces of each of the plurality of first nonlinear channels and each of the plurality of second nonlinear channels; and a drain in physical contact with respective opposing end surfaces of each of the plurality of first nonlinear channels and each of the plurality of second nonlinear channels.”
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeo et al. (US Pub. 20170194442) in view of Chidambarrao et al. (US Pub. 20080164535) and Lin (US Pub. 20210020762).
Regarding claim 20, Yeo et al. discloses in Fig. 3, Fig. 6-Fig. 10, a finFET fabrication method comprising:
forming a plurality of fins [104] over a horizontal semiconductor substrate [102];
wherein each of the plurality of fins [104] comprises a first fin and a second fin formed by patterning at least a part of the horizontal semiconductor substrate [102] [paragraph [0025], “etching recesses into the substrate 102, leaving the fins 104 on the substrate 102”];
forming a sacrificial gate [122] over the first fin [one of 104] and over the second fin [another one of 104][Fig. 6, paragraph [0027]];
forming gate spacers [112] upon respective sidewalls of the sacrificial gate [122][Fig. 6, paragraph [0028]];
forming a source [104a and 106] in physical contact with a first end surface of the first fin [one of 104][Fig. 8, paragraph [0031], [0032]];
forming a drain [another 104a and 106] in physical contact with a second end surface of the first fin [one of 104][Fig. 8, paragraph [0031], [0032]];
removing the sacrificial gate [122] between the gate spacers [112][Fig. 10, paragraph [0038]]; and
forming a replacement gate [110] between the gate spacers [112][Fig. 10, paragraph [0038]];
wherein a respective channel length of the first fin and the second fin are greater than a gate length of the replacement gate [110][Fig. 3, Fig. 10].
Yeo et al. fails to disclose
the plurality of fins comprises a plurality of conic nonlinear fins;
the first fin having a first concave sidewall facing the second fin and the second fin having a second concave sidewall facing the first fin, wherein the first concave sidewall and the second concave sidewall are mirrored across a vertical bisector of each of the plurality of conic nonlinear fin.
Lin discloses in Fig. 8-Fig. 9, Fig. 21-Fig. 22, paragraph [0098] there are two rings with respective mask 105a and 105b. Lin further suggests a ring is divided into at least two segments. Thus, Lin’s teaching implicitly discloses at least 4 conic nonlinear fins formed from 2 rings with respective mask 105a and 105b.
Thus, Lin discloses
the plurality of fins comprises a plurality of conic nonlinear fins [111-1 and 111-2];
the first fin [111-1] having a first concave sidewall facing the second fin [111-2] and the second fin [111-2] having a second concave sidewall facing the first fin [111-1], wherein the first concave sidewall and the second concave sidewall are mirrored across a vertical bisector of each of the plurality of conic nonlinear fin [111].
In addition, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.). MPEP 2144.04 VI B.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Lin into the method of Yeo et al. to include the plurality of fins comprises a plurality of conic nonlinear fins; the first fin having a first concave sidewall facing the second fin and the second fin having a second concave sidewall facing the first fin, wherein the first concave sidewall and the second concave sidewall are mirrored across a vertical bisector of each of the plurality of conic nonlinear fin. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yeo et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing curved fins to increase carrier mobility and increase in device performance [paragraph [0029] of Chidambarrao et al. and paragraph [0098], [0100] of Lin].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 7-11, 13, 16-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Overall, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. The claims stand rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited art discloses similar materials, devices and methods.
/SOPHIA T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893