DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/06/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
2. Applicant’s amendments with respect to claims filed on 03/06/2026 have been entered. Claims 1-7 remain pending in this application and are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104. Claims 6-7 have been withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiwara et al. (Pub. No. US 20160216031 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fujiwara teaches a heating apparatus (11, Fig. 6, see [0056]) for heating an electrode group structure (20, Fig. 6, see [0057]) including a current collector (current collector, see [0022] where 20 is made of a current collector covered in active material), the heating apparatus (11, Fig. 6, see [0056]) comprising: a chamber (130, Fig. 6, see [0058]) inside which a heating room (area inside of 130, Fig. 6), in which a plurality of electrode group structures (20, Fig. 6 where there are a plurality of 20, see [0057]) are disposed (see Fig. 6 where multiple 20 are inside 130), is formed; a temperature adjustment unit (40, Fig. 6, see [0058]) that adjusts a temperature of the heating room (area inside of 130, Fig. 6, see [0058] 40 are heaters, therefore change temperature inside 130); a pressure adjustment unit (60, Fig. 6, see [0058]) that adjusts a pressure of the heating room (area inside of 130, Fig. 6, see [0058] where 60 changes pressure); and a controller (80, see [0058]) that controls operation of the temperature adjustment unit (40, Fig. 6, see [0058]) and the pressure adjustment unit (60, Fig. 6, see [0058]) but fails to teach in the embodiment of Fig. 6 a heat conduction plate that is capable of simultaneously coming into contact with current collectors of the plurality of electrode group structures in the heating room, the current collectors of the plurality of electrode group structures enabling heat to be conducted to each other via the heat conduction plate in a state where the heat conduction plate is simultaneously in contact with the current collectors of the plurality of electrode group structures; and the controller that controls operation of the temperature adjustment unit and the pressure adjustment unit in the state where the heat conduction plate is simultaneously in contact with the current collectors of the plurality of electrode group structures.
However, in the embodiment of Fig. 1, Fujiwara teaches a heat conduction plate (34, Fig. 1, see [0023]) that is capable of coming into contact with the current collector (current collector, see [0022] where 20 includes 21 which is active material on a current collector, see Fig. 1 where 34 is in contact with 22 which is in contact with 21 which is the current collector, therefore all components are in contact) of the electrode group structure (20, Fig. 1, see [0021]) in the heating room (area inside of 30, Fig. 1), the heat conduction plate is in contact with the current collectors (current collector, see [0022] where 20 includes 21 which is active material on a current collector, see Fig. 1 where 34 is in contact with 22 which is in contact with 21 which is the current collector, therefore all components are in contact) of the electrode group structures (20, Fig. 1, see [0021]); and the controller (80, Fig. 1, see [0021]) that controls operation of the temperature adjustment unit (40, Fig. 1, see [0021] where 80 controls 40) and the pressure adjustment unit (60, Fig. 1, see [0021] where 80 controls 60) in the state where the heat conduction plate (34, Fig. 1, see [0023]) is in contact with the current collectors (current collector, see [0022] where 20 includes 21 which is active material on a current collector, see Fig. 1 where 34 is in contact with 22 which is in contact with 21 which is the current collector, therefore all components are in contact) of the electrode group structure (20, Fig. 1, see [0021]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the embodiment of Fig. 6 to add 34 surrounding 50 in the center of each 20 so 34 is in contact with each of the current collectors through contact with all the components in 11 as taught by the embodiment of Fig. 1 of Fujiwara. Further, it has been held that combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in a prior art patent does not require a leap of inventiveness and involves only routine skill in the art. It is the examiners position that each 34 would be in contact with each current collector of each 20 simultaneously, because all the components are in contact with each other, therefore heat would also be transferred by contact from each 34 into other components and into each 20.
Therefore Fujiwara teaches wherein a heat conduction plate (34, Fig. 1, see [0023], see modification above) that is capable of simultaneously coming into contact with current collectors (current collector, see [0022] where 20 is made of a current collector covered in active material, see modification above where each 34 is within each 20, therefore by all components of the system being in contact simultaneously, 34 is in contact with all the current collectors of all 20) of the plurality of electrode group structures (20, Fig. 6 where there are a plurality of 20, see [0057]) in the heating room (area inside of 130, Fig. 6), the current collectors (current collector, see [0022] where 20 is made of a current collector covered in active material) of the plurality of electrode group structures (20, Fig. 6 where there are a plurality of 20, see [0057]) enabling heat to be conducted to each other via the heat conduction plate (34, Fig. 1, see [0023], see modification above, as all components of 11 are in contact with each other the current collectors are able to conduct heat to one another through either contact with other components in the system or through the air in the chamber via 34 as 34 provides heat) in a state where the heat conduction plate (34, Fig. 1, see [0023], see modification above) is simultaneously in contact with the current collectors (current collector, see [0022] where 20 is made of a current collector covered in active material, see modification above where each 34 is within each 20, therefore by all components of the system being in contact simultaneously, 34 is in contact with all the current collectors of all 20) of the plurality of electrode group structures (20, Fig. 6 where there are a plurality of 20, see [0057]); and the controller (80, see [0058]) that controls operation of the temperature adjustment unit (40, Fig. 6, see [0058]) and the pressure adjustment unit (60, Fig. 6, see [0058]) in the state where the heat conduction plate (34, Fig. 1, see [0023], see modification above) is simultaneously in contact with the current collectors (current collector, see [0022] where 20 is made of a current collector covered in active material, see modification above where each 34 is within each 20, therefore by all components of the system being in contact simultaneously, 34 is in contact with all the current collectors of all 20) of the plurality of electrode group structures (20, Fig. 6 where there are a plurality of 20, see [0057]).
Regarding claim 2, Fujiwara teaches a plate temperature adjustment unit (50, Fig. 6 not labelled, but it is the center circle in the middle of each 20, see [0058]) that adjusts a temperature of the heat conduction plate (34, Fig. 1, see [0023], see modification above, see [0025] where 50 is in center of 34, therefore heat is transferred from 50 to 34), wherein the controller (80, see [0058]) controls operation of the plate temperature adjustment unit (50, see [0058]) in a state where the heat conduction plate (34, Fig. 1, see [0023], see modification above) is in contact with the current collectors (current collector, see [0022] where 20 is made of a current collector covered in active material, see modification above, and see Fig. 1 where 34 is in contact with each current collector by contact of all components together) of the plurality of electrode group structures (20, Fig. 6, see [0057]).
Regarding claim 3, Fujiwara fails to teach in the embodiment of Fig. 6 a position adjustment unit that adjusts positions of the plurality of electrode group structures in the heating room so that the current collector of each of the plurality of electrode group structures is in contact with the heat conduction plate.
However, in the embodiment of Fig. 1, Fujiwara teaches a position adjustment unit (32/33, Fig. 1, see [0023]) that adjusts positions of the electrode group structure (20, Fig. 1, see [0021]) in the heating room (area inside 30, Fig. 1) so that the current collector (current collector, see [0022] where 20 includes 21 which is active material on a current collector) of the electrode group structure (20, Fig. 1, see [0021]) is in contact with the heat conduction plate (34, Fig. 1, see [0023]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the embodiment of Fig. 6 to add 32 and 33 to each 20 to support and therefore adjust the positions of the plurality of electrode group structures so 34 is in contact with the current collector of each of the plurality of electrode group structures as taught by the embodiment of Fig. 1 of Fujiwara. Further, it has been held that combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in a prior art patent does not require a leap of inventiveness and involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 4, Fujiwara teaches a guide portion (stages, see [0058]) that guides each of the plurality of electrode group structures (20, Fig. 6, see [0057]) in the heating room (area inside 130, Fig. 6) so that the plurality of electrode group structures (20, Fig. 6, see [0057]) are arranged along a vertical direction (direction from bottom of 130 to top of 130, see Fig. 6, see [0058] where there is an upper and lower stage allowing 20 to be arranged in a vertical direction).
5. Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiwara et al. (Pub. No. US 20160216031 A1) in view of Wang et al. (Pub. No. US 20220223944 A1) in view of Kim (Pub. No. US 20200403211 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Fujiwara is silent in regards to wherein a thermal conductivity of the heat conduction plate is greater than or equal to a thermal conductivity of the current collector of each of the plurality of electrode group structures.
However, Wang teaches a thermal conductivity (thermal conductivity of aluminum, see [0057], aluminum has a known thermal conductivity) of the heat conduction plate (aluminum tube, see [0057] where the PTC heater has a ceramic heating element and an aluminum tube, the aluminum tube would be the heat conduction plate).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Fujiwara such that 34 and 50 are formed as a PTC heater with 34 being formed of aluminum, and 50 being formed of a PTC ceramic heating element as taught by Wang for the benefit of low thermal resistance and high heat exchange efficiency (see [0057]).
Fujiwara in view of Wang is silent in regards to wherein a thermal conductivity of the heat conduction plate is greater than or equal to a thermal conductivity of the current collector of each of the electrode group structures.
Further, in the battery art, Kim teaches the thermal conductivity (thermal conductivity of aluminum, see [0057] where the current collector is composed of aluminum which has a known thermal conductivity) of the current collector (positive electrode current collector, see [0057]) of the electrode group structure (200, Fig. 5, see [0051]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Fujiwara in view of Wang such that the current collector of each 20 is formed of aluminum as taught by Kim as a material with a high conductivity without causing chemical change (see [0057] of Kim).
Therefore, Fujiwara in view of Wang and further in view of Kim teaches wherein a thermal conductivity (thermal conductivity of aluminum, see [0057] of Wang, aluminum has a known thermal conductivity, see modification above) of the heat conduction plate (34, Fig. 1, see [0023] see modification of claim 1 above) is greater than or equal to (both components are made of aluminum, therefore they both have the same thermal conductivity) a thermal conductivity (thermal conductivity of aluminum, see [0057] of Kim where the current collector is composed of aluminum which has a known thermal conductivity, see modification above) of the current collector (current collector, see [0022] of Fujiwara where 20 is made of a current collector covered in active material) of each of the plurality of electrode group structures (20, Fig. 6, see [0057] of Fujiwara).
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments filed 03/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicants’ arguments that Fujiwara does not disclose the sieve part 34 simultaneously come into contact with multiple electrode rolls 20 where the multiple electric rolls enable heat to be conducted to each other via the support sieve part 34 in a state where the support sieve part 34 is simultaneously in contact with the multiple electrode rolls 20. The Examiner respectfully disagrees as all components in the apparatus 11 are in contact with one another simultaneously, therefore 34 is simultaneously in contact with all current collectors of the plurality of rolls 20. Further as heat is conducted from 34 into a roll 20, and therefore the current collectors of 20, and all components are in contact simultaneously heat conducted to other rolls 20 via conduction of contacting parts or via convection of air in the chamber, it is via the heat produced by 34 which provides heat in simultaneous contact with all the components of the heating apparatus 11.
In response to applicant's argument that heat being conducted between the current collectors of the plurality of electrode group structures through the heat conduction plate provides the technical significance of variation of temperature after the heating process between the plurality of electrode group structures can be appropriately suppressed, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOUGLAS C MARROQUIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723