Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification (MPEP 608.01, ¶6.31).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: in claim 11
Communication unit
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant’s amendments removed the indefinite material, and thus the 112b rejections are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Applicant amended claim 12 to specify non-transitory computer readable recording medium, and thus is directed to eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8-9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mulligan (US11069234B1) in view of Neill (US20210256844A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mulligan teaches;
A method of processing signal operation information of an intersection (taught as an alert decision process, Fig 4), the method comprising:
transmitting, to an external device, a driving status information message regarding an autonomous vehicle (taught as transmitting information by the automobiles mobile computing device to the cloud-based server, indicating location, speed and direction of the automobiles, column 16 lines 59-57);
setting, for each of a plurality of intersections, a geofencing area having a particular shape and a particular size based on a road map (taught as the cloud-based server receiving intersection geometries corresponding to traffic intersections as MAP messages, column 16 lines 31-35, which includes coordinates corresponding to a physical layout of an intersection including lanes, stop light position, lines in the pavement etc., column 12 lines 16-20, wherein intersections are labeled/identified, column 17 lines 28-34);
determining, among the geofencing areas set for the plurality of intersections, a first geofencing area corresponding to a current location and heading of the vehicle (taught as the cloud-based server determining, based on the received information, which devices to transmit information, column 17 lines 5-12); and
receiving, from the external device, a signal operation information message regarding a determined one of the first intersection and the second intersection (taught as transmitting intersection geometry, including an identifier indicating which intersection traffic controller the message was transmitted from [while not explicitly between a first and second intersection, this identifies the intersection from available options], from the could-based server to the mobile computing device, column 17 lines 28-34), and
autonomously controlling a body control module of the autonomous vehicle to control a movement of the autonomous vehicle based on the signal operation information message (taught as presenting the user with alerts based on the particular SPAT message, including notifications and visual alerts to, for example, ‘get ready for green’, column 18 lines 39-57; and applied to promote autonomous driving vehicles in a hands-off ecosystem, column 8 lines 24-31), wherein a size of [[the particular geofencing area]] is determined based on traffic information corresponding to the particular intersection (taught as defining an intersection geometry, column 16 lines 31-36, including an identifier, column 17 lines 28-34).
While Mulligan does not explicitly teach; “a geofencing [interpreted to be a virtually defined area of an actual location, based on paragraph 0063 of the specification] area” or “the particular geofencing area”, Mulligan does teach the labeling of areas/zones of intersections, which influences the action/alerts of a vehicle/driver in the zone (column 19 lines 35-45). This, in combination with the discernment/discrimination between which intersection to associate relevant/appropriate SPAT messages for the vehicle (column 18 lines 16-20, 25-31), would effectively create the recited geofencing behavior, albeit without the explicit language of geofencing. To reiterate, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill int eh art to reference/associate the ideas presented in Mulligan with geofencing to enhance connectivity and communications associated with intersection to vehicle collaboration.
However, Mulligan does not explicitly teach;
from a time point at which the autonomous vehicle enters the first geofencing area to a time point at which the autonomous vehicle exits the first geofencing area, determining, as a first intersection, an intersection corresponding to the first geofencing area;
from the time point at which the autonomous vehicle exits the first geofencing area to a time point at which the autonomous vehicle enters a second geofencing area different from the first geofencing area, determining, as a second intersection, an intersection corresponding to the current location and heading of the autonomous vehicle;
Neill teaches; from a time point at which the autonomous vehicle enters the first geofencing area to a time point at which the autonomous vehicle exits the first geofencing area (taught as using stopline crossing datapoints with corresponding timestamps, paragraph 0040), determining, as a first intersection, an intersection corresponding to the first geofencing area (taught as a geo-fence, which is defined around the subject intersection, paragraph 0038);
from the time point at which the autonomous vehicle exits the first geofencing area to a time point at which the autonomous vehicle enters a second geofencing area different from the first geofencing area (; for example, the geo-fence is defined to be large enough to include all approaches to the subject intersection, but not so large as to infringe on other intersections, paragraph 0038; while not explicitly a ‘second’, the methods of defining a geo-fence around an intersection is easily multiplied/mere duplication, and suggested in the definition of a geo-fence provided to not infringe on other [non-immediately subject] intersections), determining, as a second intersection, an intersection corresponding to the current location and heading of the autonomous vehicle (taught as using trajectory data, which includes GPS probe locations within the geo-fence, paragraph 0038);
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate timestamps and identifications of intersections associated with [and use of] geo-fences as taught by Neill in the system taught by Mulligan in order to improve intersections. Neill suggests that such a system helps improve performance, scalability and cost (paragraph 0007), and further allows the replacement of exact GPS location data with derived stopline information (paragraph 0040).
Regarding claim 8, Mulligan as modified by Neill teaches;
The method of claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection). Mulligan further teaches; wherein the driving status information message comprises at least one of location information, speed information, and heading information of the autonomous vehicle (taught as transmitting information by the automobiles mobile computing device to the cloud-based server, indicating location, speed and direction of the automobiles, column 16 lines 49-57).
Regarding claim 9, Mulligan as modified by Neill teaches;
The method of claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection). Mulligan further teaches; wherein the signal operation information message comprises at least one of intersection name information, signal type information, pedestrian signal information, and remaining signal time information (taught as transmitting SPAT messages, column 17 lines 3-5, which indicate signal, phase and timing data and traffic light states, column 3 lines 42-46).
Regarding claim 11, it has been determined that no further limitations exist apart from those previously addressed in claim 1. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Mulligan as modified by Neill teaches;
A computer-readable recording medium having recorded thereon a program for executing, on a computer (taught as implementing the processes on computer systems/code, column 19 line 64- column 20 line 9), the method of claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection).
Claim(s) 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mulligan (US11069234B1) as modified by Neill (US20210256844A1) and further in view of Jernigan (US9215560B1).
Regarding claim 3, Mulligan as modified by Neill teaches;
The method of claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection). Mulligan further teaches; wherein the determining of the particular intersection further comprises:
determining, as the particular intersection, an intersection closest to the fixed location, from among the plurality of intersections (indicated in that multiple traffic controllers may be in close proximity to the automobile, column 17 lines 5-8, and determining which devices to transmit SPAT [Signal phase and timing] information, column 17 lines 12-14, determining that only certain SPAT messages to be relevant to the mobile device based on the position of the car compared to coordinates of the intersection geometry, column 18 lines 25-31).
However, Mulligan does not explicitly teach; while the autonomous vehicle is passing through the particular geofencing area, fixing the current location of the autonomous vehicle to a location at which the autonomous vehicle is able to receive the signal operation information message regarding the particular intersection.
Jernigan teaches; while the autonomous vehicle is passing through the particular geofencing area, fixing the current location of the autonomous vehicle to a location at which the autonomous vehicle is able to receive the signal operation information message regarding the particular intersection (taught as detecting the edge of the device [vehicle] to the geofence area to determine the actual location, column 19 lines 24-26, and when entered, matching the location inside the geofence, column 19 lines 39-42).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine a device/vehicle location in a geofenced area as taught by Jernigan in the system taught by Mulligan in order to improve accuracy. As taught by Jernigan, such a method helps account for the accuracy of the sensor of the device/vehicle, and allows for better prediction (column 19 lines 26-32).
Regarding claim 4, Mulligan as modified by Neill and Jernigan teaches;
The method of claim 3 (see claim 3 rejection). However, Mulligan does not explicitly teach; wherein the fixing comprises fixing the current location of the autonomous vehicle to an entry point of the particular geofencing area.
Jernigan teaches; wherein the fixing comprises fixing the current location of the autonomous vehicle to an entry point of the particular geofencing area (taught as detecting the edge of the device [vehicle] to the geofence area to determine the actual location, column 19 lines 24-26, and when entered, matching the location inside the geofence, column 19 lines 39-42).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine a device/vehicle location in a geofenced area as taught by Jernigan in the system taught by Mulligan in order to improve accuracy. As taught by Jernigan, such a method helps account for the accuracy of the sensor of the device/vehicle, and allows for better prediction (column 19 lines 26-32, and column 16 lines 8-19).
Regarding claim 5, Mulligan as modified by Neill and Jernigan teaches;
The method of claim 3 (see claim 3 rejection). Mulligan further teaches; wherein the determining of the particular intersection further comprises, after the autonomous vehicle passes through the particular geofencing area, determining, as the particular intersection, an intersection corresponding to a road closest to the current location of the vehicle, from among the plurality of intersections (indicated in determining that only certain SPAT messages to be relevant to the mobile device based on the position of the car compared to coordinates of the intersection geometry, column 18 lines 25-31, such information includes using geographical information of the mobile device to determine if the location is classified as a special zone [such as a school zone], column 19 lines 35-40).
While Mulligan does not explicitly teach; “a particular geofencing area”, Mulligan does teach the labeling of areas/zones, which influences the action/alerts of a vehicle/driver in the zone (column 19 lines 35-45). This, in combination with the discernment/discrimination between which intersection to associate relevant/appropriate SPAT messages for the vehicle (column 18 lines 16-20, 25-31), would effectively create the recited geofencing behavior.
Claim(s) 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mulligan (US11069234B1) as modified by Neill (US20210256844A1) and further in view of Lewis (US20210350698A1).
Regarding claim 6, Mulligan as modified by Neill teaches;
The method of claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection). However, Mulligan does not explicitly teach; wherein the setting of the geofencing areas comprises setting areas having a certain radius with respect to centers of the plurality of intersections, as the geofencing areas for the plurality of intersections, respectively.
Lewis teaches; wherein the setting of the geofencing areas comprises setting areas having a certain radius with respect to centers of the plurality of intersections, as the geofencing areas for the plurality of intersections, respectively (taught as determining a zone [geofence] area based on a reference area, having a circular shape with a radius defined relative to the reference point of the vehicle way [road], paragraph 0292, shown in Fig 10a).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to define a geofence area as a circle as suggested by Lewis in the system taught by Mulligan as a matter of design choice. As suggested by Lewis, a circle with a radius of 25m from the reference point encompasses most intersections whilst avoiding extraneous areas (paragraph 0293), as a dimension that is too large should be avoided to help reduce processing/computing resources (paragraph 0278).
Regarding claim 7, Mulligan as modified by Neill teaches;
The method of claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection). However, Mulligan does not explicitly teach; wherein the setting of the geofencing areas comprises setting the geofencing areas for the plurality of intersections to have boundaries based on stop lines included in the plurality of intersections, respectively.
Lewis teaches; wherein the setting of the geofencing areas comprises setting the geofencing areas for the plurality of intersections to have boundaries based on stop lines included [interpreted to mean consideration of elements of the intersection, including stop lines and other traffic markers, rather than defining the boundaries to be AT the stop line, as the figures in the disclosure do not appear to even include the stop line inside/defining the boundary of the geofence, such as Fig 7] in the plurality of intersections, respectively (taught as defining zone [geofence] dimensions according to the shape and size of an associated vehicle way [road], such that elements of each associated vehicle way are encompassed, paragraph 0281, while including markers such as traffic control equipment, paragraph 0531).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to define a geofence area as a circle as suggested by Lewis in the system taught by Mulligan as a matter of design choice. As suggested by Lewis, the consideration of traffic control equipment/markers assists in data analytics and data transmission, such as to improve locating and obtaining coordinates (paragraph 0533).
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues on page 8-9 of the remarks that the invention sufficiently integrating into a practical application and are eligible under 101.
The examiner agrees, and withdraws the 101 rejection.
Applicant argues on pages 13-17 of the remarks that the recited prior art does not teach the amended claims.
The examiner tentatively agrees that Mulligan in view of Takla does not explicitly teach the amended material, and withdraws the rejection. However, a new rejection in light of Neill is presented above.
However, the applicant’s arguments regarding teaching a “two-phase intersection determination mechanism based on temporal boundaries with different criteria” is not persuasive, as such details/language is not explicitly present in the claim language. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
As the claim language currently stands, it merely requires the vehicle to identify passing through one intersection, then enter another, with associated heading and time information, to help determine the intersection signal operation information message. Mulligan already teaches the basic idea of identifying the relevant intersection information by selectively controlling traffic signals at different intersections, as noted above. Neill is brought in to more explicitly associate timing and heading information in associating with a geo-fenced intersection, and the combination of which is sufficient to teach the current broad scope of the amended claims.
The examiner highly recommends better integrating the idea/language presented in the arguments into the claim language to between reflect the argued two-phase idea.
Applicant argues on page 14 of the remarks that, based on depending on allowable material, dependent claims 3-9 and 12 are also allowable.
In light of the above rejections and arguments, this argument is rendered moot.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
For further geofencing for location determination; US20160116274A1
For further geofencing for vehicle/accessory control and shape of geofencing; US20130332007A1
For further traffic control with geofencing; US10410516B1
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GABRIEL ANFINRUD/Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/JELANI A SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662