DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission filed on 07/17/2026 has been entered. Applicant’s submission overcomes prior claim objections. Therefore, the corresponding objections are withdrawn. Claims 1, 2, 6-11, and 15-24 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 9-11, 15-16, and 18-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pantelidou et al. (US 2025/0240658), hereinafter “Pantelidou”, in view of Viering et al. (US 2023/0370179), and further in view of Zheng (US 2020/0374723), hereinafter “Zheng”.
Regarding claims 1, 10, Pantelidou teaches:
A method of providing near real time radio access network (RAN) intelligent controller (near-RT RIC)-based radio frequency (RF) management for a network, or a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions for providing near real time radio access network (RAN) intelligent controller (near-RT RIC)-based radio frequency (RF) management for a network which, when executed, cause a system to perform steps (see Pantelidou, par. [0066]: the DSf 201 may be comprised in an OAM function or in a non-real-time RAN intelligent controller (RIC). Alternatively, the DSf 201 may be comprised in a gNB or in a real-time RIC, or in a CU or DU in case of split architecture, and see Fig. 13, par. [0144]: The memory 1320 stores computer readable instructions that are executed by the processor. For example, non-volatile memory stores the computer readable instructions and the processor executes the instructions using volatile memory for temporary storage of data and/or instructions), comprising:
receiving, from a centralized unit, reporting of a real time pattern of fluctuation of user equipment (UE)-reported measurement events (see Pantelidou, Fig. 3, pars. [0101-0103]: The UE obtains 303 measurement data, and checks 304 whether the one or more measurement data fulfils the one or more criteria. If the measurement data fulfils the one or more criteria, then the UE tags 305 the measurement data with a label indicating that the one or more criteria are fulfilled. If the measurement data does not fulfil the one or more criteria, then the UE may discard the measurement data or tag the measurement data with a different label to indicate that the one or more criteria are not fulfilled. The UE transmits 306 an MDT report to the second network element, wherein the MDT report may comprise at least the measurement data that fulfilled the one or more criteria. In one option, the associated label may be included together with the measurement data that fulfilled the one or more criteria. Alternatively or additionally, the MDT report may comprise the measurement data that did not fulfil the one or more criteria, as well as the associated label. Upon receiving the MDT report, the second network element transmits 307 one or more trace collection entity (TCE) records to a TCE. The one or more TCE records are reports that may be generated based on OAM request. The one or more TCE records may comprise the measurement data reported by the UE, and see Fig. 2, par. [0066]: the DSf 201 may be comprised in a gNB or in a real-time RIC, and see par. [0068]: The DSf 201 may receive measurement data from one or more data producers 202. Herein a data producer may refer to, for example, a CU, a DU (in case of disaggregated RAN), a gNB (in case of monolithic RAN), or a UE. The measurement data received from the one or more data producers 202 may comprise, for example, trace/MDT data, control plane (C-plane) L3/L2 data, and/or user plane (U-plane) L3/L2 data; in this case, measurement data is received from data producers including a CU. The measurement data includes information regarding multiple UE measurements that fulfilled criteria, corresponding to the real time pattern of fluctuation of UE-reported measurements);
determining, from the real time pattern of fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events, one or more of a coverage inconsistency and a poor coverage area (see Pantelidou, Fig. 3, pars. [0099-0102]: a first network element (e.g., an OAM function) hosting a DSf transmits 301 a trace activation message to a second network element (e.g., a gNB or a CU). The trace activation message may comprise a configuration for logging and/or reporting measurement data according to one or more criteria. The configuration may indicate at least to tag the measurement data that fulfils the one or more criteria. The second network element transmits 302 an MDT activation message comprising the configuration to a UE. The UE applies the configuration. The UE obtains 303 measurement data, and checks 304 whether the one or more measurement data fulfils the one or more criteria. If the measurement data fulfils the one or more criteria, then the UE tags 305 the measurement data with a label indicating that the one or more criteria are fulfilled. If the measurement data does not fulfil the one or more criteria, then the UE may discard the measurement data or tag the measurement data with a different label to indicate that the one or more criteria are not fulfilled. The UE transmits 306 an MDT report to the second network element, wherein the MDT report may comprise at least the measurement data that fulfilled the one or more criteria, and see par. [0097]: the UE may be indicated to log and/or report the corresponding measurement data, if a measured signal level value exceeds a second threshold value. The measured signal level value may refer to, for example, an RSRP, SINR, or RSRQ value. In this case, an example of function f( ) may be f(A1)={signal level value greater than threshold2′}, which means that the UE is configured to log and/or report measurement data satisfying the function f(A1). The reported signal level values (measurement data) may comprise the RSRP, SINR and/or RSRQ value(s) measured by the UE. Similar criteria can be defined, if the reported signal level value is less than a threshold value; in this case, configuring to receive measurement data based on a criteria of power or quality being less than a threshold value corresponds to determining a coverage inconsistency from the real time pattern of fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events); and
However, Pantelidou does not teach:
determining, from the real time pattern of fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events based on a trigger where a same fluctuating event pattern occurs more than once, one or more of a coverage inconsistency and a poor coverage area;
taking dynamic corrective action to self-heal the one or more of the coverage inconsistency and the poor coverage area;
wherein the real time pattern of fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events includes a fluctuation between an A1 event and an A2 event.
Viering, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
determining, from the real time pattern of fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events based on a trigger where a same fluctuating event pattern occurs more than once, one or more of a coverage inconsistency and a poor coverage area (see Viering, pars. [0090-0091]: The determination of measurement accuracy of a terminal device maybe performed in various ways. In an embodiment, a sequence of downlink RSRP values reported by the terminal device are compared with a sequence of uplink measurements of SRS or other reference signal made at the (e/g)NodeB. For relative accuracy, if the RSRP level changes while the SRS-based measure does not, this is indicative that RSRP fluctuation is due to relative inaccuracy. In an embodiment, if N consecutive RSRP measurements change more than a given threshold1 while the corresponding N SRS measurements change less than a given threshold2, the RSRP reporting may be determined inaccurate. In an embodiment, the RSRP level is compared against the SRS measures made at different resources (associated to different terminal device transmission antenna panels, for example); in this case, performing multiple consecutive measurements for determining accuracy of the measurements corresponds to determining coverage inconsistency based on a same fluctuating event pattern occurring more than once);
taking dynamic corrective action to self-heal the one or more of the coverage inconsistency and the poor coverage area (see Viering, par. [0100]: Network may take various actions based on the determined measurement accuracy of a terminal device. In an embodiment, for terminal devices deemed inaccurate, the network (for example a small cell, where the inaccuracy level is large compared to the radio coverage area) can consider following solutions, and see par. [0100]: multiple cell targets may be prepared for handover upfront by the serving (e/g)NodeB to speed up a potential re-establishment after a radio link failure caused by the lack of a timely handover or handover to a wrong cell (due to inaccurate reporting from the terminal device));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the determining coverage inconsistency of Pantelidou with the determining based on a trigger and taking corrective action of Viering with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving the reliability and robustness of the system (see Viering, par. [0003]).
However, the combination of Pantelidou in view of Viering does not teach:
wherein the real time pattern of fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events includes a fluctuation between an A1 event and an A2 event.
Zheng, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the real time pattern of fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events includes a fluctuation between an A1 event and an A2 event (see Zheng, par. [0130], lines 1-13: when signal quality of the serving cell is lower than a preset threshold, the terminal device may report an A2 event to a network device, so that the network device triggers the terminal device to measure the at least one inter-frequency cell. In a measurement process, when a report condition of any one of the foregoing events A3 to A5 and B1 to B2 is met, the terminal device may report the event to the network device, to trigger cell switching. Alternatively, when a report condition of the A1 event is met, the terminal device may report the event to the network device, so that the network device triggers the terminal device to stop measuring the at least one inter-frequency cell; in this case, determining an A2 event occurs and an A1 event occurs corresponds to a fluctuation between an A1 event and an A2 event).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method for near-RT RIC-based RF management for a network of the combination of Pantelidou in view of Viering with fluctuation between an A1 event and an A2 event of Zheng with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reduced power consumption (see Zheng, par. [0059], lines 1-10).
Regarding claims 2, 11, 21, the combination of Pantelidou in view of Viering, and further in view of Zheng, teaches the method or non-transitory computer-readable medium or the network component. Pantelidou further teaches:
wherein determining, from the real time UE-reported pattern of fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events, one or more of the coverage inconsistency and the poor coverage area occurs at the near-RT RIC (see Pantelidou, par. [0066]: the DSf 201 may be comprised in an OAM function or in a non-real-time RAN intelligent controller (RIC). Alternatively, the DSf 201 may be comprised in a gNB or in a real-time RIC, or in a CU or DU in case of split architecture, and see Fig. 3, pars. [0099-0102]: a first network element (e.g., an OAM function) hosting a DSf transmits 301 a trace activation message to a second network element (e.g., a gNB or a CU). The trace activation message may comprise a configuration for logging and/or reporting measurement data according to one or more criteria. The configuration may indicate at least to tag the measurement data that fulfils the one or more criteria. The second network element transmits 302 an MDT activation message comprising the configuration to a UE. The UE applies the configuration. The UE obtains 303 measurement data, and checks 304 whether the one or more measurement data fulfils the one or more criteria. If the measurement data fulfils the one or more criteria, then the UE tags 305 the measurement data with a label indicating that the one or more criteria are fulfilled. If the measurement data does not fulfil the one or more criteria, then the UE may discard the measurement data or tag the measurement data with a different label to indicate that the one or more criteria are not fulfilled. The UE transmits 306 an MDT report to the second network element, wherein the MDT report may comprise at least the measurement data that fulfilled the one or more criteria, and see par. [0097]: the UE may be indicated to log and/or report the corresponding measurement data, if a measured signal level value exceeds a second threshold value. The measured signal level value may refer to, for example, an RSRP, SINR, or RSRQ value. In this case, an example of function f( ) may be f(A1)={signal level value greater than threshold2′}, which means that the UE is configured to log and/or report measurement data satisfying the function f(A1). The reported signal level values (measurement data) may comprise the RSRP, SINR and/or RSRQ value(s) measured by the UE. Similar criteria can be defined, if the reported signal level value is less than a threshold value).
Pantelidou does not teach, but Viering teaches:
determining, from the real time pattern of fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events based on a trigger where a same fluctuating event pattern occurs more than once, one or more of a coverage inconsistency and a poor coverage area (see Viering, pars. [0090-0091]: The determination of measurement accuracy of a terminal device maybe performed in various ways. In an embodiment, a sequence of downlink RSRP values reported by the terminal device are compared with a sequence of uplink measurements of SRS or other reference signal made at the (e/g)NodeB. For relative accuracy, if the RSRP level changes while the SRS-based measure does not, this is indicative that RSRP fluctuation is due to relative inaccuracy. In an embodiment, if N consecutive RSRP measurements change more than a given threshold1 while the corresponding N SRS measurements change less than a given threshold2, the RSRP reporting may be determined inaccurate. In an embodiment, the RSRP level is compared against the SRS measures made at different resources (associated to different terminal device transmission antenna panels, for example); in this case, performing multiple consecutive measurements for determining accuracy of the measurements corresponds to determining coverage inconsistency based on a same fluctuating event pattern occurring more than once)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the determining coverage inconsistency of Pantelidou with the determining based on a trigger of Viering with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving the reliability and robustness of the system (see Viering, par. [0003]).
Regarding claims 6, 15, 22, the combination of Pantelidou in view of Viering, and further in view of Zheng, teaches the method or non-transitory computer-readable medium or the network component.
The combination of Pantelidou in view of Viering does not teach, but Zheng teaches:
wherein the real time pattern fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events includes an A5 event (see Zheng, par. [0091], lines 2-6: In an LTE communications system, a terminal device 02 may report a plurality of types of measurement events to a network device 01 (that is, a network device, to which a serving cell on which the terminal device camps, belongs), for example, events A1 to A5, and see Zheng, par. [0098], lines 1-4: The A5 event indicates that the signal quality of the serving cell is lower than the preset threshold, and signal quality of an intra-system neighboring cell is higher than the preset threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method for near-RT RIC-based RF management for a network of the combination of Pantelidou in view of Viering with the A5 event of Zheng with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reduced power consumption (see Zheng, par. [0059], lines 1-10).
Regarding claims 7, 16, 23, the combination of Pantelidou in view of Viering, and further in view of Zheng, teaches the method or non-transitory computer-readable medium or the network component.
The combination of Pantelidou in view of Viering does not teach, but Zheng teaches:
wherein the real time pattern fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events includes A1, A2 event pattern of fluctuation (see Zheng, par. [0130], lines 1-13: when signal quality of the serving cell is lower than a preset threshold, the terminal device may report an A2 event to a network device, so that the network device triggers the terminal device to measure the at least one inter-frequency cell. In a measurement process, when a report condition of any one of the foregoing events A3 to A5 and B1 to B2 is met, the terminal device may report the event to the network device, to trigger cell switching. Alternatively, when a report condition of the A1 event is met, the terminal device may report the event to the network device, so that the network device triggers the terminal device to stop measuring the at least one inter-frequency cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method for near-RT RIC-based RF management for a network of the combination of Pantelidou in view of Viering with fluctuation between an A1 event and an A2 event of Zheng with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reduced power consumption (see Zheng, par. [0059], lines 1-10).
Regarding claims 9, 18, 20, the combination of Pantelidou in view of Viering, and further in view of Zheng, teaches the method or non-transitory computer-readable medium or network component.
Pantelidou does not teach, but Viering teaches:
wherein the real time pattern fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events includes repeating of a same pattern of fluctuation of UE-reported events (see Viering, pars. [0090-0091]: The determination of measurement accuracy of a terminal device maybe performed in various ways. In an embodiment, a sequence of downlink RSRP values reported by the terminal device are compared with a sequence of uplink measurements of SRS or other reference signal made at the (e/g)NodeB. For relative accuracy, if the RSRP level changes while the SRS-based measure does not, this is indicative that RSRP fluctuation is due to relative inaccuracy. In an embodiment, if N consecutive RSRP measurements change more than a given threshold1 while the corresponding N SRS measurements change less than a given threshold2, the RSRP reporting may be determined inaccurate. In an embodiment, the RSRP level is compared against the SRS measures made at different resources (associated to different terminal device transmission antenna panels, for example); in this case, performing multiple consecutive measurements for determining accuracy of the measurements corresponds to determining coverage inconsistency based on a same fluctuating event pattern repeating).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the fluctuation of Pantelidou with the repeating fluctuation of Viering with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving the reliability and robustness of the system (see Viering, par. [0003]).
Regarding claim 19, Pantelidou teaches:
A network component for radio frequency (RF) management for a network, comprising:
a memory (see Pantelidou, Fig. 13, par. [0143]: The apparatus 1300 may comprise a communication control circuitry 1310 such as at least one processor, and at least one memory 1320); and
a processor coupled to the memory (see Pantelidou, Fig. 13, par. [0143]: The apparatus 1300 may comprise a communication control circuitry 1310 such as at least one processor, and at least one memory 1320), the processor configured to:
determine, by a centralized unit, a real time pattern of fluctuation of equipment (UE)-reported measurement events (see Pantelidou, Fig. 3, pars. [0101-0103]: The UE obtains 303 measurement data, and checks 304 whether the one or more measurement data fulfils the one or more criteria. If the measurement data fulfils the one or more criteria, then the UE tags 305 the measurement data with a label indicating that the one or more criteria are fulfilled. If the measurement data does not fulfil the one or more criteria, then the UE may discard the measurement data or tag the measurement data with a different label to indicate that the one or more criteria are not fulfilled. The UE transmits 306 an MDT report to the second network element, wherein the MDT report may comprise at least the measurement data that fulfilled the one or more criteria. In one option, the associated label may be included together with the measurement data that fulfilled the one or more criteria. Alternatively or additionally, the MDT report may comprise the measurement data that did not fulfil the one or more criteria, as well as the associated label. Upon receiving the MDT report, the second network element transmits 307 one or more trace collection entity (TCE) records to a TCE. The one or more TCE records are reports that may be generated based on OAM request. The one or more TCE records may comprise the measurement data reported by the UE, and see Fig. 2, par. [0066]: the DSf 201 may be comprised in a gNB or in a real-time RIC, and see par. [0068]: The DSf 201 may receive measurement data from one or more data producers 202. Herein a data producer may refer to, for example, a CU, a DU (in case of disaggregated RAN), a gNB (in case of monolithic RAN), or a UE. The measurement data received from the one or more data producers 202 may comprise, for example, trace/MDT data, control plane (C-plane) L3/L2 data, and/or user plane (U-plane) L3/L2 data; in this case, measurement data is received by data producers including a CU. The measurement data includes information regarding multiple UE measurements that fulfilled criteria, corresponding to determining the real time pattern of fluctuation of UE-reported measurements); and
provide, by the centralized unit, reporting of the real time pattern of fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events to another network component (see Pantelidou, Fig. 3, pars. [0102-0103]: The UE transmits 306 an MDT report to the second network element, wherein the MDT report may comprise at least the measurement data that fulfilled the one or more criteria. In one option, the associated label may be included together with the measurement data that fulfilled the one or more criteria. Alternatively or additionally, the MDT report may comprise the measurement data that did not fulfil the one or more criteria, as well as the associated label. Upon receiving the MDT report, the second network element transmits 307 one or more trace collection entity (TCE) records to a TCE. The one or more TCE records are reports that may be generated based on OAM request. The one or more TCE records may comprise the measurement data reported by the UE);
wherein the other network component:
determines, from the real time pattern fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events, one or more of a coverage inconsistency and a poor coverage area (see Pantelidou, par. [0123]: Referring to FIG. 8, a configuration for logging and/or reporting measurement data according to one or more criteria is transmitted 801. The message may be transmitted, for example, to another network element (e.g., a base station or CU), which may forward the configuration to one or more terminal devices. Alternatively, the message may be transmitted directly to the one or more terminal devices. A set of measurement data corresponding with the one or more criteria is received 802. The set of measurement data may be received, for example, from the other network element or from the one or more terminal devices, and see par. [0097]: the UE may be indicated to log and/or report the corresponding measurement data, if a measured signal level value exceeds a second threshold value. The measured signal level value may refer to, for example, an RSRP, SINR, or RSRQ value. In this case, an example of function f( ) may be f(A1)={signal level value greater than threshold2′}, which means that the UE is configured to log and/or report measurement data satisfying the function f(A1). The reported signal level values (measurement data) may comprise the RSRP, SINR and/or RSRQ value(s) measured by the UE. Similar criteria can be defined, if the reported signal level value is less than a threshold value; in this case, configuring to receive measurement data based on a criteria of power or quality being less than a threshold value corresponds to determining a coverage inconsistency from the real time pattern of fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events);
However, Pantelidou does not teach:
wherein the other network component:
determines, from the real time pattern fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events based on a trigger where a same fluctuating event pattern occurs more than once, one or more of a coverage inconsistency and a poor coverage area; and
takes dynamic corrective action to self-heal the one or more of the coverage inconsistency and the poor coverage area;
wherein the real time pattern of fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events includes a fluctuation between an A1 event and an A2 event.
Viering, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the other network component:
determines, from the real time pattern fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events based on a trigger where a same fluctuating event pattern occurs more than once, one or more of a coverage inconsistency and a poor coverage area (see Viering, pars. [0090-0091]: The determination of measurement accuracy of a terminal device maybe performed in various ways. In an embodiment, a sequence of downlink RSRP values reported by the terminal device are compared with a sequence of uplink measurements of SRS or other reference signal made at the (e/g)NodeB. For relative accuracy, if the RSRP level changes while the SRS-based measure does not, this is indicative that RSRP fluctuation is due to relative inaccuracy. In an embodiment, if N consecutive RSRP measurements change more than a given threshold1 while the corresponding N SRS measurements change less than a given threshold2, the RSRP reporting may be determined inaccurate. In an embodiment, the RSRP level is compared against the SRS measures made at different resources (associated to different terminal device transmission antenna panels, for example); in this case, performing multiple consecutive measurements for determining accuracy of the measurements corresponds to determining coverage inconsistency based on a same fluctuating event pattern occurring more than once); and
takes dynamic corrective action to self-heal the one or more of the coverage inconsistency and the poor coverage area (see Viering, par. [0100]: Network may take various actions based on the determined measurement accuracy of a terminal device. In an embodiment, for terminal devices deemed inaccurate, the network (for example a small cell, where the inaccuracy level is large compared to the radio coverage area) can consider following solutions, and see par. [0100]: multiple cell targets may be prepared for handover upfront by the serving (e/g)NodeB to speed up a potential re-establishment after a radio link failure caused by the lack of a timely handover or handover to a wrong cell (due to inaccurate reporting from the terminal device));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Pantelidou with the determining based on a trigger and taking corrective action of Viering with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving the reliability and robustness of the system (see Viering, par. [0003]).
However, the combination of Pantelidou in view of Viering does not teach:
wherein the real time pattern of fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events includes a fluctuation between an A1 event and an A2 event.
Zheng, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the real time pattern of fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events includes a fluctuation between an A1 event and an A2 event (see Zheng, par. [0130], lines 1-13: when signal quality of the serving cell is lower than a preset threshold, the terminal device may report an A2 event to a network device, so that the network device triggers the terminal device to measure the at least one inter-frequency cell. In a measurement process, when a report condition of any one of the foregoing events A3 to A5 and B1 to B2 is met, the terminal device may report the event to the network device, to trigger cell switching. Alternatively, when a report condition of the A1 event is met, the terminal device may report the event to the network device, so that the network device triggers the terminal device to stop measuring the at least one inter-frequency cell; in this case, determining an A2 event occurs and an A1 event occurs corresponds to a fluctuation between an A1 event and an A2 event).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method for near-RT RIC-based RF management for a network of the combination of Pantelidou in view of Viering with fluctuation between an A1 event and an A2 event of Zheng with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reduced power consumption (see Zheng, par. [0059], lines 1-10).
Claims 8, 17, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pantelidou in view of Viering, and further in view of Zheng, as applied to claims 1-2, 6-7, 9-11, 15-16, and 18-24 above, and further in view of Kim et al.(US 2021/0022032), hereinafter “Kim”.
Regarding claims 8, 17, 24, the combination of Pantelidou in view of Viering, and further in view of Zheng, teaches the method or non-transitory computer-readable medium or network component.
The combination of Pantelidou in view of Viering does not teach, but Zheng teaches:
wherein the real time pattern fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events includes A1, A2 event pattern of fluctuation (see Zheng, par. [0130], lines 1-13: when signal quality of the serving cell is lower than a preset threshold, the terminal device may report an A2 event to a network device, so that the network device triggers the terminal device to measure the at least one inter-frequency cell. In a measurement process, when a report condition of any one of the foregoing events A3 to A5 and B1 to B2 is met, the terminal device may report the event to the network device, to trigger cell switching. Alternatively, when a report condition of the A1 event is met, the terminal device may report the event to the network device, so that the network device triggers the terminal device to stop measuring the at least one inter-frequency cell)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the near-RT RIC of the combination of Pantelidou in view of Viering with the A1 and A2 event pattern fluctuations of Zheng with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improved efficiency of data transmission between a terminal device and a serving cell (see Zheng, par. [0009], lines 6-10).
However, the combination of Pantelidou in view of Viering, and further in view of Zheng, does not teach:
and no A3 or A4 events detected.
Kim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
and no A3 or A4 events detected (see Kim, par. [0178], lines 17-22: The uplink data split threshold value may be received from a first node (for example, the first node 410 of FIG. 4A) or a second node (for example, the second node 420 of FIG. 4A) connected to the electronic device 101. The uplink data split threshold value may be implemented as [Table 1] below).
In Table 1 of Kim, only events A1 and A2 are considered. There are no A3 nor A4 events to be detected. There are no neighbor or adjacent cells from which to detect events A3 or A4.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the reception of A1 and A2 event pattern fluctuations at the near-RT RIC of the combination of Pantelidou in view of Viering, and further in view of Zheng, with the absence of A3 and A4 of Kim with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reducing power consumption (see Kim, par. [0019], lines 1-7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Pantelidou does not teach “receiving reporting of a real time pattern of fluctuation of user equipment (UE)-reported measurement events” (see Applicant’s remarks, page 7).
Examiner respectfully disagrees and points to Pantelidou in Fig. 3, pars. [0099-0102]: a first network element (e.g., an OAM function) hosting a DSf transmits 301 a trace activation message to a second network element (e.g., a gNB or a CU). The trace activation message may comprise a configuration for logging and/or reporting measurement data according to one or more criteria. The configuration may indicate at least to tag the measurement data that fulfils the one or more criteria. The second network element transmits 302 an MDT activation message comprising the configuration to a UE. The UE applies the configuration. The UE obtains 303 measurement data, and checks 304 whether the one or more measurement data fulfils the one or more criteria. If the measurement data fulfils the one or more criteria, then the UE tags 305 the measurement data with a label indicating that the one or more criteria are fulfilled. If the measurement data does not fulfil the one or more criteria, then the UE may discard the measurement data or tag the measurement data with a different label to indicate that the one or more criteria are not fulfilled. The UE transmits 306 an MDT report to the second network element, wherein the MDT report may comprise at least the measurement data that fulfilled the one or more criteria, and par. [0097]: the UE may be indicated to log and/or report the corresponding measurement data, if a measured signal level value exceeds a second threshold value. The measured signal level value may refer to, for example, an RSRP, SINR, or RSRQ value. In this case, an example of function f( ) may be f(A1)={signal level value greater than threshold2′}, which means that the UE is configured to log and/or report measurement data satisfying the function f(A1). The reported signal level values (measurement data) may comprise the RSRP, SINR and/or RSRQ value(s) measured by the UE. Similar criteria can be defined, if the reported signal level value is less than a threshold value.
These sections teach configuring to receive measurement data based on a criteria of power or quality being less than a threshold value, corresponding to determining a coverage inconsistency from the real time pattern of fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events. Receiving multiple measurement data information over time versus a threshold corresponds to receiving reporting of a real time pattern of fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events under its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Applicant argues that Zheng does not teach “wherein the real time pattern of fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events includes a fluctuation between an A1 event and an A2 event” (see Applicant’s remarks, page 8).
Examiner respectfully disagrees and points to Zheng in par. [0130], lines 1-13: when signal quality of the serving cell is lower than a preset threshold, the terminal device may report an A2 event to a network device, so that the network device triggers the terminal device to measure the at least one inter-frequency cell. In a measurement process, when a report condition of any one of the foregoing events A3 to A5 and B1 to B2 is met, the terminal device may report the event to the network device, to trigger cell switching. Alternatively, when a report condition of the A1 event is met, the terminal device may report the event to the network device, so that the network device triggers the terminal device to stop measuring the at least one inter-frequency cell.
These sections teach determining an A2 event occurs and an A1 event occurs, corresponding to a fluctuation between an A1 event and an A2 event based on UE-reported measurement events under its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hebein et al. (US 2023/0010736) teaches the UE may perform an action to maintain concurrent services, including the first service and the second service, while operating in the DSDA mode.
Wang et al. (US 2024/0196376) teaches a method of operating a telecommunication network, the network comprising at least one intelligent system and the network being configured in an O-RAN architecture, wherein cell configuration is controlled by means of one or more cell control information elements, IEs, facilitating control on a cell and/or slice level, wherein said control is effected via an E2 interface or an F1 interface.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419