DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/18/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 11-18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
in claims 11-18, “The computer-readable medium” should read “The non-transitory computer-readable medium” for consistency with respective independent claim 10.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 10-11, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotaru et al. (US 2022/0408377), hereinafter "Kotaru", in view of Pantelidou et al. (US 2025/0240658), hereinafter “Pantelidou”.
Regarding claims 1, 10, Kotaru teaches:
A method of providing near real time radio access network (RAN) intelligent controller (near-RT RIC)-based radio frequency (RF) management for a network (see Kotaru, Fig. 4, par. [0056], lines 1-3: The centralized controller may include a radio access network (RAN) controller, for example, a radio access network intelligent controller (RIC). Also see Kotaru, par. [0021], lines 1-6: A centralized controller 199 can transmit instructions to adjust transmission power supplied to the first RU 102 and second RU 106 to better accommodate the UEs 1-12, for example, by one or more of balancing the load and reducing the overlapping coverage area between the first RU 102 and the second RU 106), or a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions for providing near real time radio access network (RAN) intelligent controller (near-RT RIC)-based radio frequency (RF) management for a network which, when executed, cause a system to perform steps (see Kotaru, Fig. 5, par. [0061]: The computing device 500 includes one or more processor(s) 502 and a memory 504. The memory 504 generally includes both volatile memory (e.g., RAM) and nonvolatile memory (e.g., flash memory). An operating system 510 resides in the memory 504 and is executed by the processor(s) 502. One or more of DUs, CUs, UEs, user devices, RUs, and cloud servers may be implementations of the computing device 500, and see Kotaru, par. [0062]: virtual software functions, and standard RAN tiered data center modules are loaded into the operating system 510 on the memory 504 and/or storage 520 and executed by processor(s) 502, and see Kotaru, Fig. 4, par. [0056], lines 1-3: The centralized controller may include a radio access network (RAN) controller, for example, a radio access network intelligent controller (RIC). Also see Kotaru, par. [0021], lines 1-6: A centralized controller 199 can transmit instructions to adjust transmission power supplied to the first RU 102 and second RU 106 to better accommodate the UEs 1-12, for example, by one or more of balancing the load and reducing the overlapping coverage area between the first RU 102 and the second RU 106), comprising:
receiving reporting of a real time pattern of fluctuation of user equipment (UE)-reported measurement events (see Kotaru, par. [0049], lines 1-5: The channel state feedback 350, 352, 354, and 356 may be provided to one or more of a RIC, DU, CU, and cloud server and may be used to control transmission power of RUs 302, 306. Channel state feedback may include data from UEs 330, 331, 332 and the RUs 302, 306 that indicate interference, and see Kotaru, par. [0023], lines 1-6: In at least one implementation, to determine the signal quality (e.g., interference and/or signal strength) experienced by UEs 1-12, channel state feedback may be monitored and/or generated at a centralized or distributed controller for each connection between a UE 1-12 and an RU 1-2, 106; in this case, the channel state feedback corresponds to a real time UE-reported event pattern fluctuation);
determining, from the real time pattern of fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events, one or more of a coverage inconsistency and a poor coverage area (see Kotaru, par. [0025], lines 1-6: A centralized controller 199 can determine whether the channel state feedback satisfies a channel state condition. The channel state condition may reflect one or more of a signal strength, a signal interference, and a coverage (e.g., assuring that all UEs have coverage in a particular radiofrequency range, and see Kotaru, par. [0054], lines 1-21: Determining operation 406 determines that the channel state feedback satisfies a channel state condition. Determining operation 406 may use a centralized controller to determine whether the channel state feedback satisfies a channel state condition. The channel state condition may reflect one or more of a UE signal strength, UE signal interference, and UE signal coverage. The satisfaction of a channel state condition may be determined using channel state feedback from multiple UEs including the at least one UE and multiple RUs including the first RU, perhaps aggregated in an interference graph. For example, channel state feedback can include feedback from connections between UEs and RUs to determine whether a condition is satisfied. The condition may be based at least in part on an overall impression of coverage and connectivity in partially overlapping coverage areas to determine whether transmission power adjustments to one or more of RUs may provide better service to one or more of the UEs. The channel state condition may also include measures to prevent changing transmission power to RUs which may cause one or more UEs to have limited or no coverage from the RUs); and
taking dynamic corrective action to self-heal the one or more of the coverage inconsistency and the poor coverage area (see Kotaru, par. [0030], lines 8-11: the centralized controller 199 may transmit instructions to adjust transmission power supplied to the first RU 102 solely because it would improve performance of connections with the second RU 106, and see Kotaru, par. [0057], lines 1-7: Transmitting operation 408 transmits an instruction to adjust a transmission power in the transmitted frequency range of the at least one RU based at least in part on the satisfaction of the channel state condition. The centralized controller may be responsible for transmitting the transmission adjustment instruction and may do so responsively to the channel state feedback, and see Kotaru, par. [0054], lines 1-21: Determining operation 406 determines that the channel state feedback satisfies a channel state condition. Determining operation 406 may use a centralized controller to determine whether the channel state feedback satisfies a channel state condition. The channel state condition may reflect one or more of a UE signal strength, UE signal interference, and UE signal coverage. The satisfaction of a channel state condition may be determined using channel state feedback from multiple UEs including the at least one UE and multiple RUs including the first RU, perhaps aggregated in an interference graph. For example, channel state feedback can include feedback from connections between UEs and RUs to determine whether a condition is satisfied. The condition may be based at least in part on an overall impression of coverage and connectivity in partially overlapping coverage areas to determine whether transmission power adjustments to one or more of RUs may provide better service to one or more of the UEs. The channel state condition may also include measures to prevent changing transmission power to RUs which may cause one or more UEs to have limited or no coverage from the RUs).
However, Kotaru does not teach:
wherein the reporting of a real time pattern of fluctuation of user equipment (UE)-reported measurement events is received from a centralized unit
Pantelidou, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the reporting of a real time pattern of fluctuation of user equipment (UE)-reported measurement events is received from a centralized unit (see Pantelidou, Fig. 3, pars. [0101-0103]: The UE obtains 303 measurement data, and checks 304 whether the one or more measurement data fulfils the one or more criteria. If the measurement data fulfils the one or more criteria, then the UE tags 305 the measurement data with a label indicating that the one or more criteria are fulfilled. If the measurement data does not fulfil the one or more criteria, then the UE may discard the measurement data or tag the measurement data with a different label to indicate that the one or more criteria are not fulfilled. The UE transmits 306 an MDT report to the second network element, wherein the MDT report may comprise at least the measurement data that fulfilled the one or more criteria. In one option, the associated label may be included together with the measurement data that fulfilled the one or more criteria. Alternatively or additionally, the MDT report may comprise the measurement data that did not fulfil the one or more criteria, as well as the associated label. Upon receiving the MDT report, the second network element transmits 307 one or more trace collection entity (TCE) records to a TCE. The one or more TCE records are reports that may be generated based on OAM request. The one or more TCE records may comprise the measurement data reported by the UE, and see Fig. 2, par. [0066]: the DSf 201 may be comprised in a gNB or in a real-time RIC, and see par. [0068]: The DSf 201 may receive measurement data from one or more data producers 202. Herein a data producer may refer to, for example, a CU, a DU (in case of disaggregated RAN), a gNB (in case of monolithic RAN), or a UE. The measurement data received from the one or more data producers 202 may comprise, for example, trace/MDT data, control plane (C-plane) L3/L2 data, and/or user plane (U-plane) L3/L2 data)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the reporting of measurement data of Kotaru with the reporting from a centralized unit of Pantelidou with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reducing the amount of signaling in the system (see Pantelidou, par. [0134]).
Regarding claims 2, 11, the combination of Kotaru in view of Pantelidou teaches the method or non-transitory computer-readable medium. Kotaru further teaches:
wherein determining, from the real time UE-reported pattern of fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events, one or more of the coverage inconsistency and the poor coverage area occurs at the near-RT RIC (see Kotaru, par. [0052], lines 3-5: In order to determine the interference and/or signal strength experienced by the at least one UE, channel state feedback may be generated at a centralized or distributed controller for each connection between UEs and Rus, and see Kotaru, par. [0056], lines 1-3: The centralized controller may include a radio access network (RAN) controller, for example, a radio access network intelligent controller (RIC) , and see Kotaru, par. [0054], lines 1-7: Determining operation 406 determines that the channel state feedback satisfies a channel state condition. Determining operation 406 may use a centralized controller to determine whether the channel state feedback satisfies a channel state condition. The channel state condition may reflect one or more of a UE signal strength, UE signal interference, and UE signal coverage).
Regarding claim 19, Kotaru teaches:
A network component for radio frequency (RF) management for a network (see Kotaru, Fig. 5, par. [0061]: FIG. 5 illustrates an example computing device 500 for implementing the features and operations of the described technology), comprising:
a memory (see Kotaru, Fig. 5, par. [0061]: The computing device 500 includes one or more processor(s) 502 and a memory 504); and
a processor coupled to the memory, the processor configured (see Kotaru, Fig. 5, par. [0061]: The computing device 500 includes one or more processor(s) 502 and a memory 504. The memory 504 generally includes both volatile memory (e.g., RAM) and nonvolatile memory (e.g., flash memory). An operating system 510 resides in the memory 504 and is executed by the processor(s) 502. One or more of DUs, CUs, UEs, user devices, RUs, and cloud servers may be implementations of the computing device 500, and see Kotaru, par. [0062]: virtual software functions, and standard RAN tiered data center modules are loaded into the operating system 510 on the memory 504 and/or storage 520 and executed by processor(s) 502, and see Kotaru, Fig. 4, par. [0056], lines 1-3: The centralized controller may include a radio access network (RAN) controller, for example, a radio access network intelligent controller (RIC). Also see Kotaru, par. [0021], lines 1-6: A centralized controller 199 can transmit instructions to adjust transmission power supplied to the first RU 102 and second RU 106 to better accommodate the UEs 1-12, for example, by one or more of balancing the load and reducing the overlapping coverage area between the first RU 102 and the second RU 106) to:
determine, by a centralized unit, a real time pattern of fluctuation of equipment (UE)-reported measurement events (see Kotaru, par. [0049], lines 1-5: The channel state feedback 350, 352, 354, and 356 may be provided to one or more of a RIC, DU, CU, and cloud server and may be used to control transmission power of RUs 302, 306. Channel state feedback may include data from UEs 330, 331, 332 and the RUs 302, 306 that indicate interference, and see Kotaru, par. [0023], lines 1-6: In at least one implementation, to determine the signal quality (e.g., interference and/or signal strength) experienced by UEs 1-12, channel state feedback may be monitored and/or generated at a centralized or distributed controller for each connection between a UE 1-12 and an RU 1-2, 106; in this case, the channel state feedback corresponds to a real time UE-reported event pattern fluctuation, and see Kotaru, par. [0061]: An operating system 510 resides in the memory 504 and is executed by the processor(s) 502. One or more of DUs, CUs, UEs, user devices, RUs, and cloud servers may be implementations of the computing device 500, and see Kotaru, par. [0048]: The UE 302 may provide channel state feedback 356 to RU 302 to be transmitted to the centralized control system for the network or the local nodes thereof; in this case, a UE may generate and provide channel state feedback (corresponding to reported event pattern fluctuation)); and
provide, by the centralized unit, reporting of the real time pattern of fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events to another network component (see Kotaru, par. [0049], lines 1-5: The channel state feedback 350, 352, 354, and 356 may be provided to one or more of a RIC, DU, CU, and cloud server and may be used to control transmission power of RUs 302, 306. Channel state feedback may include data from UEs 330, 331, 332 and the RUs 302, 306 that indicate interference, and see Kotaru, par. [0023], lines 1-6: In at least one implementation, to determine the signal quality (e.g., interference and/or signal strength) experienced by UEs 1-12, channel state feedback may be monitored and/or generated at a centralized or distributed controller for each connection between a UE 1-12 and an RU 1-2, 106; in this case, the channel state feedback corresponds to a real time UE-reported event pattern fluctuation, and see Kotaru, par. [0061]: An operating system 510 resides in the memory 504 and is executed by the processor(s) 502. One or more of DUs, CUs, UEs, user devices, RUs, and cloud servers may be implementations of the computing device 500, and see Kotaru, par. [0048]: The UE 302 may provide channel state feedback 356 to RU 302 to be transmitted to the centralized control system for the network or the local nodes thereof; in this case, a UE may generate and provide channel state feedback (corresponding to reported event pattern fluctuation));
wherein the other network component:
determines, from the real time pattern fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events, one or more of a coverage inconsistency and a poor coverage area (see Kotaru, par. [0025], lines 1-6: A centralized controller 199 can determine whether the channel state feedback satisfies a channel state condition. The channel state condition may reflect one or more of a signal strength, a signal interference, and a coverage (e.g., assuring that all UEs have coverage in a particular radiofrequency range, and see Kotaru, par. [0054], lines 1-21: Determining operation 406 determines that the channel state feedback satisfies a channel state condition. Determining operation 406 may use a centralized controller to determine whether the channel state feedback satisfies a channel state condition. The channel state condition may reflect one or more of a UE signal strength, UE signal interference, and UE signal coverage. The satisfaction of a channel state condition may be determined using channel state feedback from multiple UEs including the at least one UE and multiple RUs including the first RU, perhaps aggregated in an interference graph. For example, channel state feedback can include feedback from connections between UEs and RUs to determine whether a condition is satisfied. The condition may be based at least in part on an overall impression of coverage and connectivity in partially overlapping coverage areas to determine whether transmission power adjustments to one or more of RUs may provide better service to one or more of the UEs. The channel state condition may also include measures to prevent changing transmission power to RUs which may cause one or more UEs to have limited or no coverage from the RUs); and
takes dynamic corrective action to self-heal the one or more of the coverage inconsistency and the poor coverage area (see Kotaru, par. [0030], lines 8-11: the centralized controller 199 may transmit instructions to adjust transmission power supplied to the first RU 102 solely because it would improve performance of connections with the second RU 106, and see Kotaru, par. [0057], lines 1-7: Transmitting operation 408 transmits an instruction to adjust a transmission power in the transmitted frequency range of the at least one RU based at least in part on the satisfaction of the channel state condition. The centralized controller may be responsible for transmitting the transmission adjustment instruction and may do so responsively to the channel state feedback, and see Kotaru, par. [0054], lines 1-21: Determining operation 406 determines that the channel state feedback satisfies a channel state condition. Determining operation 406 may use a centralized controller to determine whether the channel state feedback satisfies a channel state condition. The channel state condition may reflect one or more of a UE signal strength, UE signal interference, and UE signal coverage. The satisfaction of a channel state condition may be determined using channel state feedback from multiple UEs including the at least one UE and multiple RUs including the first RU, perhaps aggregated in an interference graph. For example, channel state feedback can include feedback from connections between UEs and RUs to determine whether a condition is satisfied. The condition may be based at least in part on an overall impression of coverage and connectivity in partially overlapping coverage areas to determine whether transmission power adjustments to one or more of RUs may provide better service to one or more of the UEs. The channel state condition may also include measures to prevent changing transmission power to RUs which may cause one or more UEs to have limited or no coverage from the RUs).
However, Kotaru does not teach:
wherein the reporting of the real time pattern of fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events is provided by the centralized unit
Pantelidou, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the reporting of the real time pattern of fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events is provided by the centralized unit (see Pantelidou, Fig. 3, pars. [0101-0103]: The UE obtains 303 measurement data, and checks 304 whether the one or more measurement data fulfils the one or more criteria. If the measurement data fulfils the one or more criteria, then the UE tags 305 the measurement data with a label indicating that the one or more criteria are fulfilled. If the measurement data does not fulfil the one or more criteria, then the UE may discard the measurement data or tag the measurement data with a different label to indicate that the one or more criteria are not fulfilled. The UE transmits 306 an MDT report to the second network element, wherein the MDT report may comprise at least the measurement data that fulfilled the one or more criteria. In one option, the associated label may be included together with the measurement data that fulfilled the one or more criteria. Alternatively or additionally, the MDT report may comprise the measurement data that did not fulfil the one or more criteria, as well as the associated label. Upon receiving the MDT report, the second network element transmits 307 one or more trace collection entity (TCE) records to a TCE. The one or more TCE records are reports that may be generated based on OAM request. The one or more TCE records may comprise the measurement data reported by the UE, and see Fig. 2, par. [0066]: the DSf 201 may be comprised in a gNB or in a real-time RIC, and see par. [0068]: The DSf 201 may receive measurement data from one or more data producers 202. Herein a data producer may refer to, for example, a CU, a DU (in case of disaggregated RAN), a gNB (in case of monolithic RAN), or a UE. The measurement data received from the one or more data producers 202 may comprise, for example, trace/MDT data, control plane (C-plane) L3/L2 data, and/or user plane (U-plane) L3/L2 data)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the reporting of measurement data of Kotaru with the reporting from a centralized unit of Pantelidou with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reducing the amount of signaling in the system (see Pantelidou, par. [0134]).
Claims 3-7, 9, 12-16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotaru in view of Pantelidou, as applied to claims 1-2, 10-11, and 19 above, and further in view of Zheng (US 2020/0374723), hereinafter “Zheng”.
Regarding claims 3, 12, the combination of Kotaru in view of Pantelidou teaches the method or non-transitory computer-readable medium.
However, the combination of Kotaru in view of Pantelidou does not teach:
wherein the real time pattern fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events includes an A1 event.
Zheng, in the same field of endeavor teaches:
wherein the real time pattern fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events includes an A1 event (see Zheng, par. [0091], lines 2-6: In an LTE communications system, a terminal device 02 may report a plurality of types of measurement events to a network device 01 (that is, a network device, to which a serving cell on which the terminal device camps, belongs), for example, events A1 to A5, and see Zheng, par. [0092], lines 1-2: The A1 event indicates that signal quality of the serving cell is higher than a preset threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method for near-RT RIC-based RF management for a network of the combination of Kotaru in view of Pantelidou with the A1 event of Zheng with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reduced power consumption (see Zheng, par. [0059], lines 1-10).
Regarding claims 4, 13, the combination of Kotaru in view of Pantelidou teaches the method or non-transitory computer-readable medium.
However, the combination of Kotaru in view of Pantelidou does not teach:
wherein the real time pattern fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events includes an A2 event.
Zheng, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the real time pattern fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events includes an A2 event (see Zheng, par. [0091], lines 2-6: In an LTE communications system, a terminal device 02 may report a plurality of types of measurement events to a network device 01 (that is, a network device, to which a serving cell on which the terminal device camps, belongs), for example, events A1 to A5, and see Zheng, par. [0094], lines 1-2: The A2 event indicates that the signal quality of the serving cell is lower than the preset threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method for near-RT RIC-based RF management for a network of the combination of Kotaru in view of Pantelidou with the A2 event of Zheng with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reduced power consumption (see Zheng, par. [0059], lines 1-10).
Regarding claims 5, 14, the combination of Kotaru in view of Pantelidou teaches the method or non-transitory computer-readable medium.
However, the combination of Kotaru in view of Pantelidou does not teach:
wherein the real time pattern fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events includes a fluctuation between an A1 event and an A2 event.
Zheng, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the real time pattern fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events includes a fluctuation between an A1 event and an A2 event (see Zheng, par. [0130], lines 1-13: when signal quality of the serving cell is lower than a preset threshold, the terminal device may report an A2 event to a network device, so that the network device triggers the terminal device to measure the at least one inter-frequency cell. In a measurement process, when a report condition of any one of the foregoing events A3 to A5 and B1 to B2 is met, the terminal device may report the event to the network device, to trigger cell switching. Alternatively, when a report condition of the A1 event is met, the terminal device may report the event to the network device, so that the network device triggers the terminal device to stop measuring the at least one inter-frequency cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method for near-RT RIC-based RF management for a network of the combination of Kotaru in view of Pantelidou with fluctuation between an A1 event and an A2 event of Zheng with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reduced power consumption (see Zheng, par. [0059], lines 1-10).
Regarding claims 6, 15, the combination of Kotaru in view of Pantelidou teaches the method or non-transitory computer-readable medium.
However, the combination of Kotaru in view of Pantelidou does not teach:
wherein the real time pattern fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events includes an A5 event.
Zheng, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the real time pattern fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events includes an A5 event (see Zheng, par. [0091], lines 2-6: In an LTE communications system, a terminal device 02 may report a plurality of types of measurement events to a network device 01 (that is, a network device, to which a serving cell on which the terminal device camps, belongs), for example, events A1 to A5, and see Zheng, par. [0098], lines 1-4: The A5 event indicates that the signal quality of the serving cell is lower than the preset threshold, and signal quality of an intra-system neighboring cell is higher than the preset threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method for near-RT RIC-based RF management for a network of the combination of Kotaru in view of Pantelidou with the A5 event of Zheng with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reduced power consumption (see Zheng, par. [0059], lines 1-10).
Regarding claims 7, 16, the combination of Kotaru in view of Pantelidou teaches the method or non-transitory computer-readable medium.
However, the combination of Kotaru in view of Pantelidou does not teach:
wherein the real time pattern fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events includes A1, A2 event pattern of fluctuation.
Zheng, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the real time pattern fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events includes A1, A2 event pattern of fluctuation (see Zheng, par. [0130], lines 1-13: when signal quality of the serving cell is lower than a preset threshold, the terminal device may report an A2 event to a network device, so that the network device triggers the terminal device to measure the at least one inter-frequency cell. In a measurement process, when a report condition of any one of the foregoing events A3 to A5 and B1 to B2 is met, the terminal device may report the event to the network device, to trigger cell switching. Alternatively, when a report condition of the A1 event is met, the terminal device may report the event to the network device, so that the network device triggers the terminal device to stop measuring the at least one inter-frequency cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method for near-RT RIC-based RF management for a network of the combination of Kotaru in view of Pantelidou with fluctuation between an A1 event and an A2 event of Zheng with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reduced power consumption (see Zheng, par. [0059], lines 1-10).
Regarding claims 9, 18, 20, the combination of Kotaru in view of Pantelidou teaches the method or non-transitory computer-readable medium or network component.
However, the combination of Kotaru in view of Pantelidou does not teach:
wherein the real time pattern fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events includes repeating of a same pattern of fluctuation of UE-reported events.
Zheng, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the real time pattern fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events includes repeating of a same pattern of fluctuation of UE-reported events (see Zheng, par. [0130], lines 1-13: when signal quality of the serving cell is lower than a preset threshold, the terminal device may report an A2 event to a network device, so that the network device triggers the terminal device to measure the at least one inter-frequency cell. In a measurement process, when a report condition of any one of the foregoing events A3 to A5 and B1 to B2 is met, the terminal device may report the event to the network device, to trigger cell switching. Alternatively, when a report condition of the A1 event is met, the terminal device may report the event to the network device, so that the network device triggers the terminal device to stop measuring the at least one inter-frequency cell, and see Zheng, par. [0094], lines 1-7: The A2 event indicates that the signal quality of the serving cell is lower than the preset threshold. When the terminal device 02 reports this event to the network device 01, the network device 01 may instruct the terminal device 02 to measure an inter-frequency cell. That is, the A2 event is an event used to trigger the terminal device 02 to measure an inter-frequency cell; in this case, A1 and A2 events can be triggered based on the signal quality to stop or start measurement respectively. These events may be triggered several times based on thresholds, corresponding to repeating a same pattern of fluctuation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method for near-RT RIC-based RF management for a network of the combination of Kotaru in view of Pantelidou with fluctuation between an A1 event and an A2 event of Zheng with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reduced power consumption (see Zheng, par. [0059], lines 1-10).
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotaru in view of Pantelidou, as applied to claims 1-2, 10-11, and 19 above, and further in view of Zheng, and further in view of Kim et al.(US 2021/0022032), hereinafter “Kim”.
Regarding claims 8, 17, the combination of Kotaru in view of Pantelidou teaches the method or non-transitory computer-readable medium.
However, the combination of Kotaru in view of Pantelidou does not teach:
wherein the real time pattern fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events includes A1, A2 event pattern of fluctuation and no A3 or A4 events detected.
Zheng, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the real time pattern fluctuation of UE-reported measurement events includes A1, A2 event pattern of fluctuation (see Zheng, par. [0130], lines 1-13: when signal quality of the serving cell is lower than a preset threshold, the terminal device may report an A2 event to a network device, so that the network device triggers the terminal device to measure the at least one inter-frequency cell. In a measurement process, when a report condition of any one of the foregoing events A3 to A5 and B1 to B2 is met, the terminal device may report the event to the network device, to trigger cell switching. Alternatively, when a report condition of the A1 event is met, the terminal device may report the event to the network device, so that the network device triggers the terminal device to stop measuring the at least one inter-frequency cell)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the near-RT RIC of the combination of Kotaru in view of Pantelidou with the A1 and A2 event pattern fluctuations of Zheng with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improved efficiency of data transmission between a terminal device and a serving cell (see Zheng, par. [0009], lines 6-10).
However, the combination of Kotaru in view of Pantelidou, and further in view of Zheng, does not teach:
and no A3 or A4 events detected.
Kim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
and no A3 or A4 events detected (see Kim, par. [0178], lines 17-22: The uplink data split threshold value may be received from a first node (for example, the first node 410 of FIG. 4A) or a second node (for example, the second node 420 of FIG. 4A) connected to the electronic device 101. The uplink data split threshold value may be implemented as [Table 1] below).
In Table 1 of Kim, only events A1 and A2 are considered. There are no A3 nor A4 events to be detected. There are no neighbor or adjacent cells from which to detect events A3 or A4.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the reception of A1 and A2 event pattern fluctuations at the near-RT RIC of the combination of Kotaru in view of Pantelidou, and further in view of Zheng, with the absence of A3 and A4 of Kim with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reducing power consumption (see Kim, par. [0019], lines 1-7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 10, and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Myhre et al. (US 2020/0092733) teaches a method performed by a radio network node (200), wherein the radio access network comprises a central unit, CU (220), and a distributed unit, DU (210).
/C.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419