DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to Application's amendment/response filed on 05/21/2026, which has been entered and made of record.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 regarding the newly added “non-visual volumetric video” and “by creating a one-to-one mapping” limitations have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection represented in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-9, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as being unpatentable over Shahdi et al. (US 10477157 B1) (Hereinafter referred to as Shahdi) in view of Wanbo et al. (US 20240112414 A1) (Hereinafter referred to as Wanbo) and in further view of Pazzi et al., (“3D Radiometric Mapping by Means of LiDAR SLAM and Thermal Camera Data Fusion”) (Hereinafter referred to as Pazzi).
Regarding Claim 1, Regarding Claim 1, Shahdi discloses A method comprising: (See Abstract, “Aspects of the disclosed apparatuses, methods and systems . . .”)
receiving, via a computational device of a virtual reality system, a video that captures visual information of a physical environment; (See Col 3 Lines 64 – Col 4 Lines 5, “In one general aspect, an augmented reality system (ARS) or a virtual reality system (VRS) includes one or more sensors, at least one computational device, and other electronic, optical, and mechanical components that provide the display of digital information (e.g., virtual elements) to augment the physical environment of a user (e.g., real world elements as perceived directly by the user in an ARS and/or by a video feed of the user's environment captured in real time in a VRS).”)
receiving, via the computational device of the virtual reality system, non-visual information of the physical environment; and (See Col 1 Lines 38 – 47, “Aspects of the disclosed apparatuses, methods, and systems describe various methods, system, components, and techniques that provide a sensor array. In one general aspect, a sensor array includes multiple sensors and is configured and arranged to enable one or more augmented reality applications in an augmented reality system. For example, the sensor array is arranged and configured to acquire different types of data that are combined and processed using computer vision processes in order to augment a user's physical environment with virtual information.”
Also see Col 9 Lines 66 – Col 10 Lines 2, “In one example, the sensor array 101 may include a thermal sensor 129, such as a thermometer or a thermal camera (e.g., where each pixel of the image sensor senses temperature).” In this case, the temperature can be considered as “non-visual information” of the physical environment. Note that “each pixel of the image sensor senses temperature” would imply a mapping between the thermal image and the visual image.)
integrating the video with the non-visual information to generate a video augmented with non-visual information in which navigation is performed in the virtual reality system. (See Col 1 Lines 43 – 47, “For example, the sensor array is arranged and configured to acquire different types of data that are combined and processed using computer vision processes in order to augment a user's physical environment with virtual information.” See Col 10 Lines 47 – 51, “The sensor array also includes a computational system designed to transfer the digital information that each sensor generates to other computational systems for further processing, for example, by computer vision algorithms and applications.”
See Col 4 Lines 12-17, “In one example, an ARS may be implemented as . . . a video-see through system (e.g., overlaying digital information on top of a video feed).” In this case, Shahdi teaches to augment and overlay (integrate) the digital information from the sensors, which would thus include temperature information (non-visual information), with the video.
Also see Col 9 Lines 66 – Col 10 Lines 2, “In one example, the sensor array 101 may include a thermal sensor 129, such as a thermometer or a thermal camera (e.g., where each pixel of the image sensor senses temperature).” Note that “each pixel of the image sensor senses temperature” would imply a mapping between the thermal image and the visual image.)
However, Shahdi fails to explicitly disclose receiving, via a computational device of a virtual reality system, a volumetric video that captures visual information of a physical environment; . . .
receiving, via the computational device of the virtual reality system, non-visual information of the physical environment comprising a non-visual volumetric video; and
integrating the volumetric video with the non-visual information to generate a volumetric video augmented with non-visual information in which navigation is performed in the virtual reality system by creating a one-to-one mapping between visual and non-visual spatial locations of the volumetric video and the non-visual volumetric video.
Wanbo teaches receiving, via a computational device of a virtual reality system, a volumetric video that captures visual information of a physical environment; (See [0175], “For example, volumetric video of a mapped real-world room can be captured (e.g., including objects and local users in the real-world room) and rendered to remote users during the shared XR environment. . . The volumetric video can be generated using video from several synchronized cameras (e.g., XR devices positioned in the real-world room) that capture the room from different perspectives. In some implementations, the field of view for the several cameras comprise overlapping portions.” Note that XR is a collective term that also includes virtual reality (See [0004]).)
integrating the volumetric video with the non-visual information to generate a volumetric video augmented with non-visual information in which navigation is performed in the virtual reality system. (See [0175] teaching to specifically use a volumetric video for an XR environment. Also see [0004], “Various XR environments exist, allowing representations of users to move about and speak with one another.” Once again, since user can move in the XR environment, that means that “navigation” can be performed. In combination with Shahdi already teaching to integrate the video with non-visual information, the above limitation is taught.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shahdi with Wanbo to include using a volumetric video instead of a normal video for VR.
The motivation to combine Shahdi with Wanbo would have been obvious as both arts are within the same field of virtual reality (See Wanbo Abstract). The benefit of using volumetric video for VR is that it enables a more realistic experience as it allows users to view objects and environment from any angle in real-time. This is shown by Wanbo [0175] teaching how the volumetric video is generated from several synchronized cameras capturing the room from different perspectives.
However, Shahdi in view of Wanbo still fails to explicitly disclose receiving, via the computational device of the virtual reality system, non-visual information of the physical environment comprising a non-visual volumetric video; and
integrating the volumetric video with the non-visual information to generate a volumetric video augmented with non-visual information in which navigation is performed in the virtual reality system by creating a one-to-one mapping between visual and non-visual spatial locations of the volumetric video and the non-visual volumetric video.
Pazzi teaches receiving, via the computational device of the virtual reality system, non-visual information of the physical environment comprising a non-visual volumetric video; and (See Abstract, “The ability to produce 3D maps with infrared radiometric information is of great interest for many applications, such as rover navigation, industrial plant monitoring, and rescue robotics. In this paper, we present a system for large-scale thermal mapping based on IR thermal images and 3D LiDAR point cloud data fusion.”
See Page 9 Fig. 4, “The algorithm takes a sequence of 3D point clouds and thermal images as input, returning a set of 3D thermal point clouds as output. . .” In this case, thermal images can be considered as non-visual information of the physical environment, and note that these thermal images are used to construct a 3D thermal map of the environment, and thus can be considered as non-visual volumetric video.)
integrating the volumetric video with the non-visual information to generate a volumetric video augmented with non-visual information in which navigation is performed in the virtual reality system by creating a one-to-one mapping between visual and non-visual spatial locations of the volumetric video and the non-visual volumetric video. (See Page 9 Fig. 4, “The algorithm takes a sequence of 3D point clouds and thermal images as input, returning a set of 3D thermal point clouds as output. . . This produces a sequence of thermal point clouds TPC(k) in which each element is characterized not only by its world coordinates but also by a color and a temperature value.” Also See Pazzi Abstract, “The ability to produce 3D maps with infrared radiometric information is of great interest for many applications, such as rover navigation, industrial plant monitoring, and rescue robotics.”
In summary, Pazzi is an art that teaches the idea of mapping a 3D scene using a point cloud obtained using LiDAR scans with IR thermal images obtained by a thermal camera. This results in a 3D temperature distribution map, which can be considered to have a one to one mapping to the spatial environment, as each world coordinate would also have an associated temperature. Also note that color would be considered as visual information. In combination with Wanbo [0175] already teaching to specifically use a volumetric video for visual information, the above limitations are taught.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shahdi in view of Wanbo with Pazzi to include integrating the non-visual information with visual information and having a one to one mapping based on the spatial locations.
The motivation to combine Shahdi in view of Wanbo with Pazzi would have been obvious as Shahdi already teaches using thermal cameras and obtain thermal images (See Col 9 Lines 66 – Col 10 Lines 2), which is similar to Pazzi teaching to obtain thermal images (See Abstract). Pazzi also notes that there is great interest in the field of integrating the thermal images and 3D map, see Pazzi Abstract, “The ability to produce 3D maps with infrared radiometric information is of great interest for many applications, such as rover navigation, industrial plant monitoring, and rescue robotics.”
Regarding Claim 2, Shahdi in view of Wanbo and Pazzi discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the non-visual information includes a thermal imagery of the physical environment, and wherein the thermal imagery is captured by an infrared camera. (See Shahdi Col 9 Lines 66 – Col 10 Lines 2, “In one example, the sensor array 101 may include a thermal sensor 129, such as a thermometer or a thermal camera (e.g., where each pixel of the image sensor senses temperature).”
See Pazzi Abstract, “The ability to produce 3D maps with infrared radiometric information is of great interest for many applications, such as rover navigation, industrial plant monitoring, and rescue robotics. In this paper, we present a system for large-scale thermal mapping based on IR thermal images and 3D LiDAR point cloud data fusion.” Note that in IR thermal image implies a infrared camera. The motivation to combine would have been similar to that of Claim 1 rejection motivation.)
Regarding Claim 8, Shahdi in view of Wanbo and Pazzi disclose A system, comprising: a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory, wherein the processor performs operations, the operations comprising: (See Shahdi Abstract, “Aspects of the disclosed apparatuses, methods and systems . . .” See Shahdi Col 23 Lines 40 –42, “Generally, a processor will receive instructions and data from a read-only memory or a random access memory or both . . .”)
receiving, in a virtual reality system, a volumetric video that captures visual information of a physical environment; receiving, in the virtual reality system, non-visual information of the physical environment comprising a non-visual volumetric video; and integrating the volumetric video with the non-visual information to generate a volumetric video augmented with non-visual information in which navigation is performed in the virtual reality system by creating a one-to-one mapping between visual and non-visual spatial locations of the volumetric video and the non-visual volumetric video. (The above limitations are similar to those of Claim 1 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale as that of Claim 1.)
Regarding Claim 9, Claim 9 contains similar limitations as to Claim 2 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale as that of Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 15, Shahdi in view of Wanbo and Pazzi disclose A computer program product, the computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having computer readable program code embodied therewith, the computer readable program code when executed is configured to perform operations, the operations comprising: (See Shahdi Col 23 Lines 10-19, “The techniques can be implemented as a computer program product, i.e., a computer program tangibly embodied in a non-transitory information carrier, for example, in a machine-readable storage device, in machine-readable storage medium, in a computer-readable storage device or, in computer-readable storage medium for execution by, or to control the operation of, data processing apparatus or processing device, for example, a programmable processor, a computer, or multiple computers.”)
receiving, via a computational device of a virtual reality system, a volumetric video that captures visual information of a physical environment; receiving, via the computational device of the virtual reality system, non-visual information of the physical environment comprising a non-visual volumetric video; and integrating the volumetric video with the non-visual information to generate a volumetric video augmented with non-visual information in which navigation is performed in the virtual reality system by creating a one-to-one mapping between visual and non-visual spatial locations of the volumetric video and the non-visual volumetric video. (The above limitations are similar to those of Claim 1 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale as that of Claim 1.)
Regarding Claim 16, Claim 16 contains similar limitations as to Claim 2 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale as that of Claim 2.
Claims 3, 6, 10, 13, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shahdi in view of Wanbo and Pazzi and in further view of Duff et al. (US 20200034501 A1) (Hereinafter referred to as Duff).
Regarding Claim 3, Shahdi in view of Wanbo and Pazzi fails to explicitly discloses The method of claim 2, wherein the non-visual information includes an airflow information within the physical environment, and wherein the airflow information is additionally captured by an airflow measurement device.
Duff teaches wherein the non-visual information includes an airflow information within the physical environment, and wherein the airflow information is additionally captured by an airflow measurement device. (See Duff [0116], “By way of non-limiting example, on site data capture may include designation of an XYZ reference position and one or more of: image capture; infra-red capture; Temperature; Humidity; Airflow; Pressure/tension;”. Note that an “airflow measurement device” would be implied to exist to capture on site Airflow measurements.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shahdi in view of Wanbo and Pazzi with Duff to include airflow information captured using an airflow measurement device.
The motivation to combine Shahdi in view of Wanbo and Pazzi with Duff would have been obvious as Duff is within the same field of virtual reality (See Duff Abstract) and using sensors to gather non-visual information (See Duff [0091]). The benefit of including airflow information is that it offers a more comprehensive understanding of the environment to the user.)
Regarding Claim 6, Shahdi in view of Wanbo, Pazzi, and Duff discloses The method of claim 1, wherein a user is able to perceive the physical environment including at least a temperature and an airflow information in addition to the visual information within the physical environment in the virtual reality system, and wherein the user is able to navigate within the volumetric video augmented with non-visual information in the virtual reality system. (See Shahdi Col 9 Lines 66 – Col 10 Lines 2, “In one example, the sensor array 101 may include a thermal sensor 129, such as a thermometer or a thermal camera (e.g., where each pixel of the image sensor senses temperature.” Also see Shahdi Col 4 Lines 39 – 53 teaching that users are able to move in the AR/VR environment and thus are able to “navigate”.
Also see Wanbo [0175] teaching using specifically a volumetric video for an XR environment. Further see Pazzi Page 9 Fig. 4, “The algorithm takes a sequence of 3D point clouds and thermal images as input, returning a set of 3D thermal point clouds as output. . . This produces a sequence of thermal point clouds TPC(k) in which each element is characterized not only by its world coordinates but also by a color and a temperature value.”
Lastly, see Duff [0116], “By way of non-limiting example, on site data capture may include designation of an XYZ reference position and one or more of: image capture; infra-red capture; Temperature; Humidity; Airflow; Pressure/tension;” The motivation to combine would have been similar to that of Claim 3 rejection motivation.)
Regarding Claim 10, Claim 10 contains similar limitations as to Claim 3 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale as that of Claim 3.
Regarding Claim 13, Claim 13 contains similar limitations as to Claim 6 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale as that of Claim 6.
Regarding Claim 17, Claim 17 contains similar limitations as to Claim 3 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale as that of Claim 3.
Regarding Claim 20, Claim 20 contains similar limitations as to Claim 6 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale as that of Claim 6.
Claims 4-5, 11-12, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shahdi in view of Wanbo, Pazzi, and Duff and in further view of Asghar et al. (US 11562550 B1) (Hereinafter referred to as Asghar).
Regarding Claim 4, Shahdi in view of Wanbo, Pazzi, and Duff fails to explicitly disclose The method of claim 3, wherein the non-visual information includes a radar imagery, and wherein the radar imagery is captured by a radar that determines location and orientation of objects in the physical environment.
Asghar teaches wherein the non-visual information includes a radar imagery, and wherein the radar imagery is captured by a radar that determines location and orientation of objects in the physical environment. (See Col 1 Lines 29 – 39, “Extended reality (XR) devices are another example of devices that can include one or more cameras. XR devices can include augmented reality (AR) devices, virtual reality (VR) devices, mixed reality (MR) devices, or the like. . . In general, an AR device can implement cameras and a variety of sensors to track the position of the AR device and other objects within the physical environment. An AR device can use the tracking information to provide a user of the AR device a realistic AR experience.”
See Col 17 Lines 29 – 32, “In some cases, the image sensor 104A and/or the image sensor 104N can include an RF sensor, such as a radar sensor, a LIDAR sensor and/or an IR sensor configured to perform RF and/or IR imaging of the environment.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shahdi in view of Wanbo, Pazzi, and Duff with Asghar to include using radar imagery captured by a radar that determine the location and orientation of objects in the physical environment.
The motivation to combine Shahdi in view of Wanbo, Pazzi, and Duff with Asghar would have been obvious as Pazzi, Duff, and Asghar are all arts related to virtual reality devices with sensors (See Col 1 Lines 29 – 39) and capturing information of the surrounding environment (See Col 17 Lines 29-32). As stated by Asghar in Col 1 Lines 37 – 39, the AR device can use the tracking information from the sensors to provide the user a more realistic AR experience, and thus this would be a potential benefit and reason to combine Asghar and its radar sensor used to track surrounding objects.
Regarding Claim 5, Shahdi in view of Wanbo, Pazzi, Duff, and Asghar disclose The method of claim 4, wherein the non-visual information includes a sound level at different locations in the physical environment, and wherein the sound level is captured additionally by a sound level measurement device that determines the sound level at the different locations in the physical environment. (See Duff [0116], “By way of non-limiting example, on site data capture may include designation of an XYZ reference position and one or more of: image capture; infra-red capture; Temperature; Humidity; Airflow; Pressure/tension; Electromagnetic reading; Radiation reading; Sound readings (i.e. level of noise, sound pattern to ascertain equipment running and/or state of disrepair)”
Also see Duff [0220], “Noise levels are another type of vibrational measurement which is focused on transmission through the atmosphere of the Structure. . . Thus, measurement of ambient sound with directional microphones or other microphonic sensing types may be used to elucidate the nature and location of noise emanations.” The motivation to combine would have been similar to that of claim 4 rejection motivation.)
Regarding Claim 11, Claim 11 contains similar limitations as to Claim 4 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale as that of Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 12, Claim 12 contains similar limitations as to Claim 6 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale as that of Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 18, Claim 18 contains similar limitations as to Claim 4 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale as that of Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 19, Claim 19 contains similar limitations as to Claim 5 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale as that of Claim 5.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 7, the cited prior art does not disclose or render obvious the combination of elements cited in the claims as a whole. Specifically, the cited prior art fails to disclose or render obvious the limitations: wherein a learning mechanism improves a selection of the non-visual information to integrate with the volumetric video to generate the volumetric video augmented with non-visual information. Thus Claim 7 contains allowable subject matter.
Regarding Claim 14, Claim 14 contains similar limitations as to Claim 7 and therefore contains similar allowable subject matter as that of Claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Reference Pu et al. (“SEEING THROUGH WALLS: REAL-TIME DIGITAL TWIN MODELING OF INDOOR SPACES”) (Hereinafter referred to as Pazzi) is an art that teaches receiving, via the computational device of the virtual reality system, non-visual information of the physical environment comprising a non-visual volumetric video; and (See Page 2 Paragraph 1) integrating the volumetric video with the non-visual information to generate a volumetric video augmented with non-visual information in which navigation is performed in the virtual reality system by creating a one-to-one mapping between visual and non-visual spatial locations of the volumetric video and the non-visual volumetric video (See Page 7 Fig. 4, Page 8 Fig. 5c and 5d, and Abstract).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.G.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2611
/KEE M TUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2611