DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to Applicant’s response to election/restriction of 12/16/2025 and the IDS filed 12/16/2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-16 in the reply filed on 12/16/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 24-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/16/2025.
Claims 1-16 and 24-25 are pending. Claims 1-16 are being examined. Claims 17-23 and 26-27 are canceled. Claims 24-25 are withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to non-elected inventions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-13, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ayarza et al. (Ayarza et al., "Mechanically Promoted Synthesis of Polymer Organogels via Disulfide Bond Cross-Linking", ACS Macro Letters, 2021, Vol. 10(7), pp. 799-804).
Considering claim 1, Ayarza teaches a composition comprising a polymer network, reactive groups and/or linkers formed by reaction of the reactive groups (i.e., reaction scheme for mechanically promoted cross-linking of mercapto-polymers via disulfide bond formation) and a mechano-chemical transducer dispersed in the composition (ZnO nanoparticles) (Ayarza, abstract, Fig. 1(b), 3rd paragraph of 1st column on page 800).
Considering claims 4-5, Ayarza teaches the reactive groups comprises thiol groups and the linkers comprise disulfide bonds (Ayarza, Fig. 1(b)).
Considering claims 6-8, Ayarza teaches the mechano-chemical transducer comprises piezoelectric nanostructures comprising zinc oxide (ZnO) (Ayarza, abstract, Fig. 1(b), 3rd paragraph of 1st column on page 800).
Considering claims 9-10, Ayarza teaches the mechano-chemical transducer is responsive to ultrasound and/or vibrations at sub-ultrasound frequencies to induce the reaction or reactive groups by teaching use of mechanical energy in the form of ultrasound (40 kHz) and low frequency vibrations (2 kHz) to synthesize the organogels (Ayarza, abstract). Moreover, paragraph [0037] of instant specification discloses that ZnO nanostructures are responsive to electrical energy to induce the reaction of the reactive groups.
Considering claim 11, the claims are directed to a composition comprising a polymer network, reactive groups (thiol groups) and/or linkers (disulfide bonds) formed by reaction of the reactive groups and a mechano-chemical transducer dispersed in the composition (ZnO nanoparticles). Ayarza teaches the claimed composition. Thus, it would be expected that the composition of Ayarza would also be responsive to stress to strengthen selectively according to the distribution of stress in the composition.
Considering claim 12, Ayarza teaches the polymer network comprises crosslinks formed by reaction of the reactive groups (i.e., crosslinks formed from the reactive -SH groups) (Ayarza, Figure 1(b)).
Considering claim 13, Ayarza teaches the composition further comprises a primary polymer network (Ayarza, Figure 1(b)).
Considering claim 15, Ayarza teaches recycled mercapto-PMMA shows lesser solubility in organic solvents than the virgin polymer and contains higher molecular weight species; ionic crosslinks may have formed form solubilized ZnO or irreversible thioether bonds from the desulfurization of sulfides (Ayarza, middle of 1st column on page 802). Thus, Ayarza teaches the reaction is irreversible (i.e., irreversible thioether bonds from the desulfurization of sulfides).
Considering claim 16, Ayarza teaches the reaction is reversible by teaching reversing the mechano-gelation process of mercapto-PMA and recycling the polymer (Ayarza, 1st paragraph of 2nd column on page 802).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayarza et al. (Ayarza et al., "Mechanically Promoted Synthesis of Polymer Organogels via Disulfide Bond Cross-Linking", ACS Macro Letters, 2021, Vol. 10(7), pp. 799-804 in view of Wang et al. (Wang et al., "Bio-inspired Mechanically Adaptive Materials Through Vibration-induced Crosslinking," Nature Materials, 2021, Vol. 20, pp. 869-874).
Considering claims 2-3, 11 and 14, all of the limitations are met by the prior art referenced in meeting claim 1 limitations except for the reactive groups comprise thiol groups and one or both of alkene and alkyne groups and the primary network comprises methyl-cellulose.
Ayarza teaches the reactive groups comprise thiol groups wherein the linkers comprise thioether groups (Ayarza, Figure 1(b) and bottom of 1st column on page 802), he does not explicitly teach the reactive groups comprise one or both of alkene and alkyne groups.
However, Wang teaches bio-inspired mechanically adaptive materials through vibration-induce crosslinking; in nature, bone adapts to mechanical forces it experiences, strengthening itself to match the conditions placed upon it; Wang teaches a composite material that adapts to the mechanical environment it experiences; adaptation in the material is managed by mechanically responsive ZnO, which controls a crosslinking reaction between a thiol and an alkene within a polymer composite gel; the composite material uses a method of mechanical polymerization to selectively self-strengthen (Wang, abstract, paragraph before “Online content” section on page 874). Wang teaches the composite comprises methyl cellulose as the primary polymer network and that the crosslinks form thiol-ene components with the polymer network; thiol-ene chemistry well suited for polymerization in an adaptive system given its wide solvent compatibility, oxygen tolerance and induction by ultra-sonication (Wang, 2nd paragraph of 2nd column on page 869, 1st column on page 870 and Figure 1(b)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the composition of Ayarza to comprise methyl-cellulose as the primary polymer network and alkene reactive group. One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to do so in order to use thiol-ene crosslinking for wide solvent compatibility, oxygen tolerance and induction by ultra-sonication and to use a network to resemble the bone remodeling behavior that materials can adapt accordingly to the loading location with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/ANITA NASSIRI-MOTLAGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734