DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/20/26 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments, starting on page 12, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection(s) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Bala (US 20240244524 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14, 16-18, 20-26, and 29-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US 20230284065 A1) in view of Zhou2 (US 20240340790 A1) and further in view of Bala (US 20240244524 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou discloses:
“An apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to cause the UE to:” ([para 0501]: “The wireless device may comprise one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to perform the described method, additional operations and/or include the additional elements.”)
“receive, for a network entity, a first indication of an active network energy state from a plurality of network energy states…” ([para 0396]: “The base station may send (e.g., transmit), and/or the wireless device may receive, DCI indicating a second transmission power and/or a transition from the non-energy-saving state to the energy saving state. As shown in FIG. 41, the base station may send (e.g., transmit), and/or the wireless device may receive, DCI 4140 (or a MAC CE, etc.) indicating a second Tx power (or a power offset for the SSBs relative to the first Tx power) and/or a transition from the non-energy-saving state to the energy saving state (for one or more cells).”)
“…receive a synchronization signal block for the network entity based at least in part on a first set of parameters that corresponds to the active network energy state, the first set of parameters including a synchronization signal block periodicity, a synchronization signal block skipping pattern, a first set of synchronization signal block occasions to skip, a second set of synchronization signal block occasions to monitor, or a combination thereof… and” ([para 0408]: “As shown in FIG. 41, the wireless device may measure one or more second beam measurements (2nd (second) beam measurements) of SSBs 4150 (2nd SSBs in FIG. 41) in one or more SMTC time window, for example, based on receiving the DCI (or a MAC CE) indicating the power offset (or power adjustment)/2nd Tx power of the SSBs, wherein the 2nd SSBs are sent (e.g., transmitted) by the base station with the 2nd Tx power in the energy saving state.”; [para 0298]: “The base station may indicate a transmission periodicity of SSB via an RRC message (e.g., a SIB1 message).”; [para 0488]: “The energy saving state may comprise a second time duration when the reference signals (e.g., SSBs) may be sent (e.g., transmitted) with a reduced number of transmission ports. The energy saving state may comprise a second time duration when the base station sends (e.g., transmits) the SSBs with a second transmission periodicity value greater than a first transmission periodicity value configured for the non-energy-saving state. Larger transmission periodicity value for the SSBs may allow the base station to send (e.g., transmit) the SSBs less frequently in the energy saving state than the non-energy-saving state.”)
“communicate based at least in part on one or more measurements associated with the synchronization signal block.” ([para 0413]: “The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) a layer 3 beam/cell measurement report 4160 correctly reflecting the beam/cell quality of the cell in the energy saving state...”)
Zhou does not explicitly disclose “wherein the plurality of network energy states comprises at least a non-power saving network energy state and a plurality of power saving network energy states, and the active network energy state comprises a first power saving network energy state of the plurality of power saving network energy states” nor “wherein the first set of parameters is different from a second set of parameters that corresponds to a second power saving network energy state of the plurality of power saving network energy states.”
However, Zhou2 discloses the missing feature “wherein the plurality of network energy states comprises at least a non-power saving network energy state and a plurality of power saving network energy states, and the active network energy state comprises a first power saving network energy state of the plurality of power saving network energy states.” ([para 0349-351]: “In an example embodiment, a base station, when in a first energy saving state, may: stop downlink transmissions (e.g., SIBx, SSB, CSI-RS, PBCH, PDCCH, PDSCH etc.) and keep uplink receptions (e.g., RACH, PUCCH, PUSCH, SRS etc.)… In an example embodiment, a base station, when in a second energy saving state, may: keep downlink transmissions (e.g., SIBx, SSB, CSI-RS, PBCH, PDCCH, PDSCH etc.) and stop uplink receptions (e.g., RACH, PUCCH, PUSCH, SRS etc.)… In an example embodiment, a base station, when not in an energy saving state, may be referred to as a non-energy-saving state, or a normal power state. The base station, when in a non-energy-saving state, may: transmit downlink signals/channels (e.g., SIBx, SSB, CSI-RS, PBCH, PDCCH, PDSCH etc.) and receive uplink signals/channels (e.g., RACH, PUCCH, PUSCH, SRS etc.).”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Zhou and Zhou2, to modify the states as disclosed by Zhou, so as to have a plurality of power saving states and a normal state as disclosed by Zhou2. The motivation for doing so is that it increases system flexibility. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhou with Zhou2 to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Zhou2 also does not disclose “wherein the first set of parameters is different from a second set of parameters that corresponds to a second power saving network energy state of the plurality of power saving network energy states.”
However, Bala discloses the missing feature “wherein the first set of parameters is different from a second set of parameters that corresponds to a second power saving network energy state of the plurality of power saving network energy states.” ([¶ 0090-0092]: “In some embodiments, the sleep mode may include more modes other than the “light sleep mode” and the “deep sleep mode.” For example, different common channels may carry different levels of energy, where the periodicity of a subset of these channels may be changed independently depending on use cases to save energy. In some embodiments, each mode may include one, or a subset or a plurality of common channels with respective periodicities. For example, multiple sleep modes (SM) may be defined as follows: SM0: bits 000: SSB has periodicity of 20 ms SM1: bits 001: SSB has periodicity of 50 ms…”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Zhou and Bala, to modify the states as disclosed by Zhou, to each have their own SSB periodicity as disclosed by Bala. The motivation for doing so is that it increases system flexibility. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhou with Bala to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 2, Zhou in view of Zhou2 and Bala discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Zhou further discloses “receive a second indication of a correction factor that corresponds to the active network energy state; and determine a radio measurement threshold based at least in part on the correction factor, the communication further based at least in part on the radio measurement threshold.” ([para 0499]: “The threshold may be configured by the base station in a radio resource control message for the energy saving state. The radio resource control message may comprise the threshold for the cell measurement in the energy saving state and a second threshold for the cell measurement in the non-energy-saving state.”)
Regarding claim 3, Zhou in view of Zhou2 and Bala discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Zhou further discloses “set the radio measurement threshold to a value of the correction factor; or
modify the radio measurement threshold in accordance with the value of the correction factor.” ([para 0499]: “The threshold may be configured by the base station in a radio resource control message for the energy saving state.”)
Regarding claim 4, Zhou in view of Zhou2 and Bala discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Zhou further discloses “receive a first signal that indicates a list of correction factors; and receive a second signal that comprises the second indication of the correction factor from the list of correction factors.” ([para 0410]: “The one or more RRC messages may comprise first configuration parameters of a first measurement object (e.g., MeasObjectNR, as shown in FIG. 36) for the non-energy saving state and second configuration parameter of a second measurement object for the energy saving state. The second configuration parameters may be separately configured from the first configuration parameters. The first measurement object may be associated with a first threshold used for the beam/cell measurement in the non-energy-saving state. The second measurement object may be associated with a second threshold used for the beam/cell measurement in the energy saving state.” ; [para 0396]: “The base station may send (e.g., transmit), and/or the wireless device may receive, DCI indicating a second transmission power and/or a transition from the non-energy-saving state to the energy saving state. As shown in FIG. 41, the base station may send (e.g., transmit), and/or the wireless device may receive, DCI 4140 (or a MAC CE, etc.) indicating a second Tx power (or a power offset for the SSBs relative to the first Tx power) and/or a transition from the non-energy-saving state to the energy saving state (for one or more cells).”)
Regarding claim 5, Zhou in view of Zhou2 and Bala discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Zhou further discloses “the first signal comprises a radio resource control signal, a master information block, a system information block, a random access channel signal, or a combination thereof; and the second signal comprises a medium access channel element, a downlink control information signal, or both.” ([para 0410]: “The one or more RRC messages may comprise first configuration parameters of a first measurement object (e.g., MeasObjectNR, as shown in FIG. 36) for the non-energy saving state and second configuration parameter of a second measurement object for the energy saving state.” ; [para 0396]: “The base station may send (e.g., transmit), and/or the wireless device may receive, DCI indicating a second transmission power and/or a transition from the non-energy-saving state to the energy saving state.”)
Regarding claim 6, Zhou in view of Zhou2 and Bala discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Zhou further discloses “wherein the radio measurement threshold comprises a reference signal received power threshold, a reference signal received quality threshold, or both.” ([para 0385]: “The first threshold may comprise at least one of: a RSRP threshold, a RSRQ threshold, and a SINR threshold.”)
Regarding claim 8, Zhou in view of Zhou2 and Bala discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Zhou further discloses “determine a radio resource management relaxation configuration, a radio resource management relaxation factor, or both based at least in part on the active network energy state, first set of parameters that corresponds to the active network energy state is based at least in part on the radio resource management relaxation configuration, the radio resource management relaxation factor, or both.” ([para 0406]: “The base station, when in an energy saving state, may reduce transmission power, reduce transmission beams/ports, and/or increase transmission periodicity value of SSBs/CSI-RSs (e.g., from 5 ms to 20 ms, from 10 ms to 40 ms, etc.), compared with a non-energy-saving state.”)
Regarding claim 9, Zhou in view of Zhou2 and Bala discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Zhou further discloses “transmit UE information, the active network energy state, a radio measurement configuration for the network entity, or both based at least in part on the UE information.” ([para 0395]: “The base station may determine the transitioning, for example, based on wireless device assistance information, received from the wireless device, regarding traffic pattern, data volume, latency requirement, etc.”)
Regarding claim 10, Zhou in view of Zhou2 and Bala discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Zhou further discloses “wherein the UE information comprises a UE capability, a UE type, UE mobility information, a UE power state, a power saving mode, a sleep mode, a radio resource control state, or a combination thereof.” ([para 0395]: “The wireless device assistance information may comprise a data volume of data packets of the wireless device, a power state of the wireless device, a service type of the wireless device, etc.”)
Regarding claim 11, Zhou in view of Zhou2 and Bala discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Zhou further discloses “transmit a third indication of a relaxed measurement configuration for the UE, the active network energy state, a radio measurement configuration for the network entity, or both based at least in part on the relaxed measurement configuration for the UE.” ([para 0495]: “The wireless device may transmit a message, and the message may comprise wireless device assistance information requesting a transition of the base station from a non-energy-saving state to the energy saving state.”)
Regarding claim 12, Zhou in view of Zhou2 and Bala discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Zhou further discloses “transmit a request for a radio resource management relaxation configuration, a radio resource management relaxation factor, or both for the network entity, the active network energy state, a radio measurement configuration for the network entity, or both based at least in part on the request.” ([para 0495]: “The wireless device may transmit a message, and the message may comprise wireless device assistance information requesting a transition of the base station from a non-energy-saving state to the energy saving state.”)
Regarding claim 13, Zhou in view of Zhou2 and Bala discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Zhou further discloses “wherein the active network energy state indicates a quantity of active antennas, a transmit power, or both for the network entity.” ([para 0406]: “The base station, when in an energy saving state, may reduce transmission power, reduce transmission beams/ports, and/or increase transmission periodicity value of SSBs/CSI-RSs (e.g., from 5 ms to 20 ms, from 10 ms to 40 ms, etc.), compared with a non-energy-saving state.”)
Regarding claim 14, Zhou in view of Zhou2 and Bala discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Zhou further discloses “wherein the network entity comprises a serving network entity.” ([para 0111]: “The wireless device may report these measurements to a serving base station (e.g., the base station currently serving the wireless device).”)
Regarding claim 16, Zhou discloses:
“An apparatus for wireless communications at a first network entity, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to cause the first network entity to:” ([para 0510]: “The wireless device may comprise one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to perform the described method, additional operations and/or include the additional elements.”)
“output, for a user equipment (UE), a first indication of an active network energy state for the first network entity or a second network entity from a plurality of network energy states…” ([para 0396]: “The base station may send (e.g., transmit), and/or the wireless device may receive, DCI indicating a second transmission power and/or a transition from the non-energy-saving state to the energy saving state. As shown in FIG. 41, the base station may send (e.g., transmit), and/or the wireless device may receive, DCI 4140 (or a MAC CE, etc.) indicating a second Tx power (or a power offset for the SSBs relative to the first Tx power) and/or a transition from the non-energy-saving state to the energy saving state (for one or more cells).”)
“…output a synchronization signal block for the first network entity or the second network entity based at least in part on a first set of parameters that corresponds to the active network energy state, the first set of parameters including a synchronization signal block periodicity, a synchronization signal block skipping pattern, a first set of synchronization signal block occasions to skip, a second set of synchronization signal block occasions to monitor, or a combination thereof…” ([para 0408]: “As shown in FIG. 41, the wireless device may measure one or more second beam measurements (2nd (second) beam measurements) of SSBs 4150 (2nd SSBs in FIG. 41) in one or more SMTC time window, for example, based on receiving the DCI (or a MAC CE) indicating the power offset (or power adjustment)/2nd Tx power of the SSBs, wherein the 2nd SSBs are sent (e.g., transmitted) by the base station with the 2nd Tx power in the energy saving state.”; [para 0298]: “The base station may indicate a transmission periodicity of SSB via an RRC message (e.g., a SIB1 message).”; [para 0488]: “The energy saving state may comprise a second time duration when the reference signals (e.g., SSBs) may be sent (e.g., transmitted) with a reduced number of transmission ports. The energy saving state may comprise a second time duration when the base station sends (e.g., transmits) the SSBs with a second transmission periodicity value greater than a first transmission periodicity value configured for the non-energy-saving state. Larger transmission periodicity value for the SSBs may allow the base station to send (e.g., transmit) the SSBs less frequently in the energy saving state than the non-energy-saving state.”)
“…communicate based at least in part on the synchronization signal block.” ([para 0413]: “The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) a layer 3 beam/cell measurement report 4160 correctly reflecting the beam/cell quality of the cell in the energy saving state...”)
Zhou does not explicitly disclose “wherein the plurality of network energy states comprises at least a non-power saving network energy state and a plurality of power saving network energy states, and the active network energy state comprises a first power saving network energy state of the plurality of power saving network energy states;”
However, Zhou2 discloses the missing feature “wherein the plurality of network energy states comprises at least a non-power saving network energy state and a plurality of power saving network energy states, and the active network energy state comprises a first power saving network energy state of the plurality of power saving network energy states;” ([para 0349-351]: “In an example embodiment, a base station, when in a first energy saving state, may: stop downlink transmissions (e.g., SIBx, SSB, CSI-RS, PBCH, PDCCH, PDSCH etc.) and keep uplink receptions (e.g., RACH, PUCCH, PUSCH, SRS etc.)… In an example embodiment, a base station, when in a second energy saving state, may: keep downlink transmissions (e.g., SIBx, SSB, CSI-RS, PBCH, PDCCH, PDSCH etc.) and stop uplink receptions (e.g., RACH, PUCCH, PUSCH, SRS etc.)… In an example embodiment, a base station, when not in an energy saving state, may be referred to as a non-energy-saving state, or a normal power state. The base station, when in a non-energy-saving state, may: transmit downlink signals/channels (e.g., SIBx, SSB, CSI-RS, PBCH, PDCCH, PDSCH etc.) and receive uplink signals/channels (e.g., RACH, PUCCH, PUSCH, SRS etc.).”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Zhou and Zhou2, to modify the states as disclosed by Zhou, so as to have a plurality of power saving states and a normal state as disclosed by Zhou2. The motivation for doing so is that it increases system flexibility. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhou with Zhou2 to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Zhou2 also does not disclose “wherein the first set of parameters is different from a second set of parameters that corresponds to a second power saving network energy state of the plurality of power saving network energy states.”
However, Bala discloses the missing feature “wherein the first set of parameters is different from a second set of parameters that corresponds to a second power saving network energy state of the plurality of power saving network energy states.” ([¶ 0090-0092]: “In some embodiments, the sleep mode may include more modes other than the “light sleep mode” and the “deep sleep mode.” For example, different common channels may carry different levels of energy, where the periodicity of a subset of these channels may be changed independently depending on use cases to save energy. In some embodiments, each mode may include one, or a subset or a plurality of common channels with respective periodicities. For example, multiple sleep modes (SM) may be defined as follows: SM0: bits 000: SSB has periodicity of 20 ms SM1: bits 001: SSB has periodicity of 50 ms…”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Zhou and Bala, to modify the states as disclosed by Zhou, to each have their own SSB periodicity as disclosed by Bala. The motivation for doing so is that it increases system flexibility. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhou with Bala to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 17, Zhou in view of Zhou2 discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Zhou further discloses “output, for the UE, a second indication of a correction factor for a radio measurement threshold that corresponds to the active network energy state.” ([para 0499]: “The threshold may be configured by the base station in a radio resource control message for the energy saving state. The radio resource control message may comprise the threshold for the cell measurement in the energy saving state and a second threshold for the cell measurement in the non-energy-saving state.”)
Regarding claim 18, Zhou in view of Zhou2 and Bala discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Zhou further discloses “output, for the UE, a first signal that indicates a list of correction factors; and output, for the UE, a second signal that comprises the second indication of the correction factor from the list of correction factors.” ([para 0410]: “The one or more RRC messages may comprise first configuration parameters of a first measurement object (e.g., MeasObjectNR, as shown in FIG. 36) for the non-energy saving state and second configuration parameter of a second measurement object for the energy saving state. The second configuration parameters may be separately configured from the first configuration parameters. The first measurement object may be associated with a first threshold used for the beam/cell measurement in the non-energy-saving state. The second measurement object may be associated with a second threshold used for the beam/cell measurement in the energy saving state.” ; [para 0396]: “The base station may send (e.g., transmit), and/or the wireless device may receive, DCI indicating a second transmission power and/or a transition from the non-energy-saving state to the energy saving state. As shown in FIG. 41, the base station may send (e.g., transmit), and/or the wireless device may receive, DCI 4140 (or a MAC CE, etc.) indicating a second Tx power (or a power offset for the SSBs relative to the first Tx power) and/or a transition from the non-energy-saving state to the energy saving state (for one or more cells).”)
Regarding claim 20, Zhou in view of Zhou2 and Bala discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Zhou further discloses “the first signal comprises a radio resource control signal, a master information block, a system information block, a random access channel signal, or a combination thereof; and the second signal comprises a medium access channel element, a downlink control information signal, or both.” ([para 0410]: “The one or more RRC messages may comprise first configuration parameters of a first measurement object (e.g., MeasObjectNR, as shown in FIG. 36) for the non-energy saving state and second configuration parameter of a second measurement object for the energy saving state.” ; [para 0396]: “The base station may send (e.g., transmit), and/or the wireless device may receive, DCI indicating a second transmission power and/or a transition from the non-energy-saving state to the energy saving state.”)
Regarding claim 21, Zhou in view of Zhou2 and Bala discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Zhou further discloses “output the synchronization signal block based at least in part on a periodicity for synchronization signal blocks, a skipping pattern for the synchronization signal blocks, a first set of synchronization signal block occasions to skip, a second set of synchronization signal block occasions to transmit, or a combination thereof that corresponds to the active network energy state.” ([para 0298]: “The base station may indicate a transmission periodicity of SSB via an RRC message (e.g., a SIB1 message).”)
Regarding claim 22, Zhou in view of Zhou2 and Bala discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Zhou further discloses “obtain UE information for the UE; and determine the active network energy state, a radio measurement configuration for the network entity, or both based at least in part on the UE information.” ([para 0395]: “The base station may determine the transitioning, for example, based on wireless device assistance information, received from the wireless device, regarding traffic pattern, data volume, latency requirement, etc.”)
Regarding claim 23, Zhou in view of Zhou2 and Bala discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Zhou further discloses “wherein the UE information comprises a UE capability, a UE type, UE mobility information, a UE power state, a power saving mode, a sleep mode, a radio resource control state, or a combination thereof.” ([para 0395]: “The wireless device assistance information may comprise a data volume of data packets of the wireless device, a power state of the wireless device, a service type of the wireless device, etc.”)
Regarding claim 24, Zhou in view of Zhou2 and Bala discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Zhou further discloses “transmit a third indication of a relaxed measurement configuration for the UE, the active network energy state, a radio measurement configuration for the network entity, or both based at least in part on the relaxed measurement configuration for the UE.” ([para 0495]: “The wireless device may transmit a message, and the message may comprise wireless device assistance information requesting a transition of the base station from a non-energy-saving state to the energy saving state.”)
Regarding claim 25, Zhou in view of Zhou2 and Bala discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Zhou further discloses “obtain a request for a radio resource management relaxation configuration, a radio resource management relaxation factor, or both for the network entity; and determine the active network energy state, a radio measurement configuration for the network entity, or both based at least in part on the request.” ([para 0495]: “The wireless device may transmit a message, and the message may comprise wireless device assistance information requesting a transition of the base station from a non-energy-saving state to the energy saving state.”)
Regarding claim 26, Zhou in view of Zhou2 and Bala discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Zhou further discloses “determine a quantity of active antennas, a transmit power, or both for the network entity based at least in part on the active network energy state.” ([para 0406]: “The base station, when in an energy saving state, may reduce transmission power, reduce transmission beams/ports, and/or increase transmission periodicity value of SSBs/CSI-RSs (e.g., from 5 ms to 20 ms, from 10 ms to 40 ms, etc.), compared with a non-energy-saving state.”)
Claims 29-38 are substantially similar to claims 1-2, 7, 16-17, and 21 with the differences amounting to that claims 1-2, 7, 16-17, and 21 are directed towards apparatuses while claims 29-38 are directed towards methods. Thus, claims 29-38 are rejected for similar reasons to claims 1-2, 7, 16-17, and 21.
Claim(s) 15 and 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US 20230284065 A1) in view of Zhou2 (US 20240340790 A1), Bala (US 20240244524 A1), and further in view of Esswie (US 20240267847 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Zhou in view of Zhou2 and Bala discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Zhou does not explicitly disclose “the network entity comprises a non-serving network entity; and the first indication of the active network energy state for the non-serving network entity is received from a serving network entity.”
However, Esswie discloses the missing feature “the network entity comprises a non-serving network entity; and the first indication of the active network energy state for the non-serving network entity is received from a serving network entity.” ([para 0100]: “Turning now to FIG. 2A, the figure illustrates environment 200. In environment 200, RAN 105A may assist RAN 105B, which may have activated, or may be able to activate, a network energy saving mode.” ; [para 0114]: “RAN 105A receives NES configuration information at act 510. At act 515, RAN node 105A may determine one or more provisioning downlink beams as described in reference to FIG. 2A. If RAN 105A receives RRC connection information from UE 115 at act 520 via one of the provisioning beams, RAN 105A may transmit at act 525 an on-demand SSB request message via Xn, or backhaul links, towards neighboring NES RAN 105B requesting that RAN 105B transmit an SSB and/or SIB1 message signal. At act 530, RAN node 105B may transmit via a radio interface (e.g., wireless communication link 125 shown in FIG. 1) towards UE 115 transitioning from idle-to-connected mode, one or more NES SSB and/or SIB1 measurement and decoding requests requesting that UE 115 perform signal strength measurements and decoding of an SSB message signal to be transmitted by RAN 105B.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Zhou and Esswie, to modify the indication of active network energy state as disclosed by Zhou, to be received from a non-serving entity as disclosed by Esswie. The motivation for having the capability to do so is that it increases system flexibility . Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhou with Esswie to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 27, Zhou in view of Zhou2 and Bala discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Zhou does not explicitly disclose “obtain, for a second network entity, a second active network energy state, a correction factor for a radio measurement threshold that corresponds to the second network entity, or both; and output, for the UE, a fourth indication of the second active network energy state, the correction factor, or both for the second network entity, wherein the second network entity comprises a non-serving network entity for the UE.”
However, Esswie discloses the missing feature “obtain, for a second network entity, a second active network energy state, a correction factor for a radio measurement threshold that corresponds to the second network entity, or both; and output, for the UE, a fourth indication of the second active network energy state, the correction factor, or both for the second network entity, wherein the second network entity comprises a non-serving network entity for the UE.” ([para 0100]: “Turning now to FIG. 2A, the figure illustrates environment 200. In environment 200, RAN 105A may assist RAN 105B, which may have activated, or may be able to activate, a network energy saving mode.” ; [para 0114]: “RAN 105A receives NES configuration information at act 510. At act 515, RAN node 105A may determine one or more provisioning downlink beams as described in reference to FIG. 2A. If RAN 105A receives RRC connection information from UE 115 at act 520 via one of the provisioning beams, RAN 105A may transmit at act 525 an on-demand SSB request message via Xn, or backhaul links, towards neighboring NES RAN 105B requesting that RAN 105B transmit an SSB and/or SIB1 message signal. At act 530, RAN node 105B may transmit via a radio interface (e.g., wireless communication link 125 shown in FIG. 1) towards UE 115 transitioning from idle-to-connected mode, one or more NES SSB and/or SIB1 measurement and decoding requests requesting that UE 115 perform signal strength measurements and decoding of an SSB message signal to be transmitted by RAN 105B.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Zhou and Esswie, to modify the indication of active network energy state as disclosed by Zhou, to be received from a non-serving entity as disclosed by Esswie. The motivation for having the capability to do so is that it increases system flexibility. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhou with Esswie to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 28, Zhou in view of Zhou2 and Bala discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Zhou does not explicitly disclose “output, for a second network entity, the active network energy state, a correction factor for a radio measurement threshold that corresponds to the network entity, or both.”
However, Esswie discloses the missing feature “output, for a second network entity, the active network energy state, a correction factor for a radio measurement threshold that corresponds to the network entity, or both.” ([para 0100]: “Turning now to FIG. 2A, the figure illustrates environment 200. In environment 200, RAN 105A may assist RAN 105B, which may have activated, or may be able to activate, a network energy saving mode.” ; [para 0114]: “RAN 105A receives NES configuration information at act 510. At act 515, RAN node 105A may determine one or more provisioning downlink beams as described in reference to FIG. 2A. If RAN 105A receives RRC connection information from UE 115 at act 520 via one of the provisioning beams, RAN 105A may transmit at act 525 an on-demand SSB request message via Xn, or backhaul links, towards neighboring NES RAN 105B requesting that RAN 105B transmit an SSB and/or SIB1 message signal. At act 530, RAN node 105B may transmit via a radio interface (e.g., wireless communication link 125 shown in FIG. 1) towards UE 115 transitioning from idle-to-connected mode, one or more NES SSB and/or SIB1 measurement and decoding requests requesting that UE 115 perform signal strength measurements and decoding of an SSB message signal to be transmitted by RAN 105B.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Zhou and Esswie, to modify the indication of active network energy state as disclosed by Zhou, to be received from a non-serving entity as disclosed by Esswie. The motivation for having the capability to do so is that it increases system flexibility. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhou with Esswie to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 19, of the closest prior arts Zhou (US 20230284065 A1) in view of Zhou2 (US 20240340790 A1) discloses all the features of the parent claim as discussed earlier in this this office action. However, Zhou does not disclose “wherein the UE comprises a first UE and the list of correction factors comprises a first list of a first list size, the processor further configured to: output, for a second UE, a third signal that indicates a second list of correction factors of a second list size different from the first list size.” The cited references fail to anticipate or render the above limitations in combination with all the recited limitations of claims 19 obvious, over any of the prior art of record, alone or in combination.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAAD KHAWAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412