DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 6, 9, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021002626 A1 (Shin ‘737 – citing to US 20220115737 A1 as an English translation) in view of US 20200259155 A1 (Lee ‘155), and further in view of WO 2021100813 A1 (Miyata ‘175 – citing to US 20220407175 A1 as an English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Shin ‘737 teaches a battery module (battery module 200; [0045]) comprising:
a battery cell assembly including a plurality of battery cells (two cell assemblies 100, each including a plurality of secondary batteries 110; [0045] – [0047]);
a case assembly accommodating the battery cell assembly (module housing 210 having an internal space in which the cell assembly 100 is received; [0062]), the case assembly including a top case positioned on the battery cell assembly (upper cover 220; [0062]); and
a bus bar assembly (busbar assembly 270; [0081]) including:
a bus bar unit configured to electrically connect the plurality of battery cells (the busbar assembly including at least one busbar 272 configured to electrically interconnect the plurality of secondary batteries 110; [0081]).
Shin ’737 does not disclose a connection frame connected to the bus bar unit and positioned under the top case.
Lee ‘155 discloses a battery module 1 including a battery stack 10 formed by stacking a plurality of battery cells 110 ([0044]). Bus bar assemblies 320 are located on both sides of the battery stack 10 and a sensing module assembly 310 disposed on a top side of the battery stack 10 to electrically connect the bus bar assemblies 320 on both sides of the battery stack 10 ([0044]; Figs. 2 & 3). The busbar assemblies 320 and the sensing module 310 make up the upper structure 30 of the battery module 1 ([0057]; Figs. 2 & 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a sensing module assembly, corresponding to the connection frame, connected to the bus bar units on both sides of the battery cell assembly to electrically connect the bus bar units, as suggested by Lee ‘155, in the battery module, as taught by Shin ‘737.
Shin ‘737 does not disclose an expansion sheet positioned between the connection frame and the top case, wherein when a heat is applied to the expansion sheet and a temperature of the expansion sheet is higher than or equal to a predetermined temperature, the expansion sheet expands toward the top case.
Miyata ‘175 discloses an on-vehicle battery pack 30 which has a battery cell-housing part 18 having a bottom plate 14 having a plurality of battery cells mounted thereon and a side plate 16 standing on the periphery of the bottom plate 14, and a lid part 20 provided on the upper end of the side plate 16 of the battery cell-housing part 18 so as to face the bottom plate 14 ([0184]). The lid part 20 has a thermally expandable fire-resistant material layer 22 and a base layer 24 from the side near to the bottom plate 14 ([0184] & Fig. 10).
As shown in Fig. 10, since the thermally expandable fire-resistant material layer is formed on the inner side of the lid part of the battery pack, when the battery cells ignite, the thermally expandable fire-resistant material layer expands by heat of the ignition and exhibits fire resistance, making it difficult for heat of the battery whose temperature has been abnormally raised to be transferred to the outer surface of the battery pack, giving good thermal insulation properties ([0186]).
The thermally expandable fire-resistant material may be a resin selected from at least one selected from the group consisting of polyvinyl acetal resins, acrylic resins, polyvinyl chloride resins, polyolefin resins, and epoxy resins ([0004] & [0028]). For example, for the polyolefin resin, ethylene-vinyl acetate copolymer (EVA) resins are preferable ([0038]). EVA corresponds to one of the materials cited in [0080] of the present specification for the expansion sheet 340.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include a thermally expandable fire-resistant material layer, corresponding to the expansion sheet, positioned between the sensing module assembly 310 and the upper cover 220, wherein when the battery cells ignite, the thermally expandable fire-resistant material layer expands by heat of the ignition and exhibits fire resistance, making it difficult for heat of the battery whose temperature has been abnormally raised to be transferred to the outer surface of the battery pack, giving good thermal insulation properties, as suggested by Miyata ‘175, in the battery module, as taught by Shin ‘737.
Regarding claim 5, Shin ‘737 teaches the battery module of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein when the heat is applied to the expansion sheet and the top case, the top case is concave toward the battery cell assembly (as shown in Fig. 10 of Miyata ‘175, the base layer 24 of the lid part 20 is concave toward the battery cells 12 contained within the battery pack 30; [0184]), and the expansion sheet is expanded and fills a space formed in the top case (ss shown in Fig. 10 of Miyata ‘175, the thermally expandable fire-resistant material layer is formed on the inner side of the lid part of the battery pack, and thus, when the battery cells ignite, the thermally expandable fire-resistant material layer expands by heat of the ignition and exhibits fire resistance, making it difficult for heat of the battery whose temperature has been abnormally raised to be transferred to the outer surface of the battery pack, giving good thermal insulation properties; [0186]).
Regarding claim 6, Shin ‘737 teaches the battery module of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein an upper surface of the expansion sheet is flat, and wherein a lower surface of the expansion sheet is convex toward the connection frame. However, the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claim 9, Shin ‘737 teaches the battery module of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the expansion sheet includes a plurality of expansion sheet layers that are stacked on each other. However, the mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claim 14, Shin ‘737 teaches the battery module of claim 1, wherein the bus bar assembly further includes a thermal barrier unit that faces a lower surface of the connection frame and suppresses a heat generated in the battery cell assembly from moving to the connection frame (the sensing module assembly 310 may be made of an insulation material having insulation and heat resistance properties to block the possibility of electrical communication between the upper cover 211 and the battery stack 10, the insulation material of the sensing module assembly 310 located below the connection member 311; [0064], [0074], & Fig. 3 of Lee ‘155).
Regarding claim 15, Shin ‘737 teaches the battery module of claim 1, wherein the predetermined temperature is a temperature between 70 degrees Celsius and 90 degrees Celsius (the initial expansion temperature can be made low, for example, 140 degrees Celsius or lower; [0080] of Miyata ‘175; which is higher than a predetermined temperature, and thus, the predetermined temperature may be less than 140, i.e., between 70 and 90 degrees Celsius).
Regarding claim 16, Shin ‘737 teaches the battery module of claim 1, but does not disclose that wherein a length, at which the expansion sheet expands toward the top case, increases as it goes from an edge to a central portion of the expansion sheet. However, the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claim 17, Shin ‘737 teaches the battery module of claim 1, but does not disclose that wherein a length at which the expansion sheet expands toward the top case at a central portion of the expansion sheet is greater than a length at which the expansion sheet expands toward the top case at an edge of the expansion sheet. However, the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claim 18, Shin ‘737 teaches a battery module (battery module 200; [0045]) comprising:
a battery cell assembly including a plurality of battery cells (two cell assemblies 100, each including a plurality of secondary batteries 110; [0045] – [0047]);
a case assembly accommodating the battery cell assembly (module housing 210 having an internal space in which the cell assembly 100 is received; [0062]), the case assembly including a top case positioned on the battery cell assembly (upper cover 220; [0062]); and
a bus bar assembly (busbar assembly 270; [0081]) including:
a bus bar unit configured to electrically connect the plurality of battery cells (the busbar assembly including at least one busbar 272 configured to electrically interconnect the plurality of secondary batteries 110; [0081]).
Shin ’737 does not disclose a connection frame connected to the bus bar unit and positioned under the top case.
Lee ‘155 discloses a battery module 1 including a battery stack 10 formed by stacking a plurality of battery cells 110 ([0044]). Bus bar assemblies 320 are located on both sides of the battery stack 10 and a sensing module assembly 310 disposed on a top side of the battery stack 10 to electrically connect the bus bar assemblies 320 on both sides of the battery stack 10 ([0044]; Figs. 2 & 3). The busbar assemblies 320 and the sensing module 310 make up the upper structure 30 of the battery module 1 ([0057]; Figs. 2 & 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a sensing module assembly, corresponding to the connection frame, connected to the bus bar units on both sides of the battery cell assembly to electrically connect the bus bar units, as suggested by Lee ‘155, in the battery module, as taught by Shin ‘737.
Shin ‘737 does not disclose an expansion sheet positioned between the connection frame and the top case, the expansion sheet expanding by a heat.
Miyata ‘175 discloses an on-vehicle battery pack 30 which has a battery cell-housing part 18 having a bottom plate 14 having a plurality of battery cells mounted thereon and a side plate 16 standing on the periphery of the bottom plate 14, and a lid part 20 provided on the upper end of the side plate 16 of the battery cell-housing part 18 so as to face the bottom plate 14 ([0184]). The lid part 20 has a thermally expandable fire-resistant material layer 22 and a base layer 24 from the side near to the bottom plate 14 ([0184] & Fig. 10).
As shown in Fig. 10, since the thermally expandable fire-resistant material layer is formed on the inner side of the lid part of the battery pack, when the battery cells ignite, the thermally expandable fire-resistant material layer expands by heat of the ignition and exhibits fire resistance, making it difficult for heat of the battery whose temperature has been abnormally raised to be transferred to the outer surface of the battery pack, giving good thermal insulation properties ([0186]).
The thermally expandable fire-resistant material may be a resin selected from at least one selected from the group consisting of polyvinyl acetal resins, acrylic resins, polyvinyl chloride resins, polyolefin resins, and epoxy resins ([0004] & [0028]). For example, for the polyolefin resin, ethylene-vinyl acetate copolymer (EVA) resins are preferable ([0038]). EVA corresponds to one of the materials cited in [0080] of the present specification for the expansion sheet 340.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include a thermally expandable fire-resistant material layer, corresponding to the expansion sheet, positioned between the sensing module assembly 310 and the upper cover 220, wherein when the battery cells ignite, the thermally expandable fire-resistant material layer expands by heat of the ignition and exhibits fire resistance, making it difficult for heat of the battery whose temperature has been abnormally raised to be transferred to the outer surface of the battery pack, giving good thermal insulation properties, as suggested by Miyata ‘175, in the battery module, as taught by Shin ‘737.
Shin ‘737 does not disclose that wherein an upper surface of the expansion sheet is flat, and wherein a lower surface of the expansion sheet is convex toward the connection frame. However, the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claim 19, Shin ‘737 teaches the battery module of claim 18, but does not disclose wherein when the heat is applied to the expansion sheet and the top case, the top case is concave toward the battery cell assembly (as shown in Fig. 10 of Miyata ‘175, the base layer 24 of the lid part 20 is concave toward the battery cells 12 contained within the battery pack 30; [0184]), and the expansion sheet is expanded and fills a space formed in the top case (ss shown in Fig. 10 of Miyata ‘175, the thermally expandable fire-resistant material layer is formed on the inner side of the lid part of the battery pack, and thus, when the battery cells ignite, the thermally expandable fire-resistant material layer expands by heat of the ignition and exhibits fire resistance, making it difficult for heat of the battery whose temperature has been abnormally raised to be transferred to the outer surface of the battery pack, giving good thermal insulation properties; [0186]).
Claims 2, 3, 7, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021002626 A1 (Shin ‘737 – citing to US 20220115737 A1 as an English translation) in view of US 20200259155 A1 (Lee ‘155) and WO 2021100813 A1 (Miyata ‘175 – citing to US 20220407175 A1 as an English translation), and further in view of US 20210184307 A1 (Kim ‘307).
Regarding claim 2, Shin ‘737 teaches the battery module of claim 1, but does not disclose that the expansion sheet includes:
a first expansion sheet portion forming a central portion of the expansion sheet; and a second expansion sheet portion forming an edge of the expansion sheet,
wherein an expansion rate of the first expansion sheet portion is greater than an expansion rate of the second expansion sheet portion.
Kim ‘307 discloses a battery module 100 including a plurality of battery cells 110 and a plurality of heat-insulating partition walls 120 ([0036]). The heat-insulating partition wall 120 has a flat shape (e.g., a plate shape in the form of a sheet) and may include a heat-insulating sheet 121 and a frame 122 surrounding (e.g. around) an edge of the heat-insulating sheet 121 ([0046] & Fig. 1B). A ceramic paper or a foam sheet may be used as the heat-insulating sheet ([0048]). The frame 122 may be made of a plastic and/or a metal, wherein the compression rate and the restoring force of the frame 122 may be less than the compression rate and the restoring force of the heat-insulating sheet 121 ([0054]). Additionally, the frame 122 may have a thickness less than that of the heat-insulating sheet 121 ([0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the expansion sheet of Miyata ‘175 for the battery module, as taught by Shin ‘737, to have a second expansion sheet surrounding a first expansion sheet, each made of different materials having different expansion rates, i.e., a heat-insulating sheet 121 and a frame 122 surrounding an edge of the heat-insulating sheet 121, as suggested by Kim ‘307, because the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claim 3, Shin ‘737 teaches the battery module of claim 1, wherein the second expansion sheet portion surrounds the first expansion sheet portion (the heat-insulating partition wall 120 has a flat shape (e.g., a plate shape in the form of a sheet) and may include a heat-insulating sheet 121 and a frame 122 surrounding (e.g. around) an edge of the heat-insulating sheet 121; [0046] & Fig. 1B of Kim ‘307).
Regarding claim 7, Shin ‘737 teaches the battery module of claim 1, but does not disclose that the expansion sheet includes:
a first expansion sheet portion forming a central portion of the expansion sheet; and a second expansion sheet portion forming an edge of the expansion sheet,
wherein a thickness of the first expansion sheet portion is greater than a thickness of the second expansion sheet portion.
Kim ‘307 discloses a battery module 100 including a plurality of battery cells 110 and a plurality of heat-insulating partition walls 120 ([0036]). The heat-insulating partition wall 120 has a flat shape (e.g., a plate shape in the form of a sheet) and may include a heat-insulating sheet 121 and a frame 122 surrounding (e.g. around) an edge of the heat-insulating sheet 121 ([0046] & Fig. 1B). A ceramic paper or a foam sheet may be used as the heat-insulating sheet ([0048]). The frame 122 may be made of a plastic and/or a metal, wherein the compression rate and the restoring force of the frame 122 may be less than the compression rate and the restoring force of the heat-insulating sheet 121 ([0054]). Additionally, the frame 122 may have a thickness less than that of the heat-insulating sheet 121 ([0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the expansion sheet of Miyata ‘175 for the battery module, as taught by Shin ‘737, to have second expansion sheet surrounding a first expansion sheet, i.e., a heat-insulating sheet 121 and a frame 122 surrounding an edge of the heat-insulating sheet 121, wherein the thickness of the heat-insulating sheet 121 is greater than the thickness of the frame 122, as suggested by Kim ‘307, because the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claim 20, Shin ‘737 teaches a battery module (battery module 200; [0045]) comprising:
a battery cell assembly including a plurality of battery cells (two cell assemblies 100, each including a plurality of secondary batteries 110; [0045] – [0047]);
a case assembly accommodating the battery cell assembly (module housing 210 having an internal space in which the cell assembly 100 is received; [0062]), the case assembly including a top case positioned on the battery cell assembly (upper cover 220; [0062]); and
a bus bar assembly (busbar assembly 270; [0081]) including:
a bus bar unit configured to electrically connect the plurality of battery cells (the busbar assembly including at least one busbar 272 configured to electrically interconnect the plurality of secondary batteries 110; [0081]).
Shin ’737 does not disclose a connection frame connected to the bus bar unit and positioned under the top case.
Lee ‘155 discloses a battery module 1 including a battery stack 10 formed by stacking a plurality of battery cells 110 ([0044]). Bus bar assemblies 320 are located on both sides of the battery stack 10 and a sensing module assembly 310 disposed on a top side of the battery stack 10 to electrically connect the bus bar assemblies 320 on both sides of the battery stack 10 ([0044]; Figs. 2 & 3). The busbar assemblies 320 and the sensing module 310 make up the upper structure 30 of the battery module 1 ([0057]; Figs. 2 & 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a sensing module assembly, corresponding to the connection frame, connected to the bus bar units on both sides of the battery cell assembly to electrically connect the bus bar units, as suggested by Lee ‘155, in the battery module, as taught by Shin ‘737.
Shin ‘737 does not disclose an expansion sheet positioned between the connection frame and the top case, the expansion sheet expanding by a heat.
Miyata ‘175 discloses an on-vehicle battery pack 30 which has a battery cell-housing part 18 having a bottom plate 14 having a plurality of battery cells mounted thereon and a side plate 16 standing on the periphery of the bottom plate 14, and a lid part 20 provided on the upper end of the side plate 16 of the battery cell-housing part 18 so as to face the bottom plate 14 ([0184]). The lid part 20 has a thermally expandable fire-resistant material layer 22 and a base layer 24 from the side near to the bottom plate 14 ([0184] & Fig. 10).
As shown in Fig. 10, since the thermally expandable fire-resistant material layer is formed on the inner side of the lid part of the battery pack, when the battery cells ignite, the thermally expandable fire-resistant material layer expands by heat of the ignition and exhibits fire resistance, making it difficult for heat of the battery whose temperature has been abnormally raised to be transferred to the outer surface of the battery pack, giving good thermal insulation properties ([0186]).
The thermally expandable fire-resistant material may be a resin selected from at least one selected from the group consisting of polyvinyl acetal resins, acrylic resins, polyvinyl chloride resins, polyolefin resins, and epoxy resins ([0004] & [0028]). For example, for the polyolefin resin, ethylene-vinyl acetate copolymer (EVA) resins are preferable ([0038]). EVA corresponds to one of the materials cited in [0080] of the present specification for the expansion sheet 340.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include a thermally expandable fire-resistant material layer, corresponding to the expansion sheet, positioned between the sensing module assembly 310 and the upper cover 220, wherein when the battery cells ignite, the thermally expandable fire-resistant material layer expands by heat of the ignition and exhibits fire resistance, making it difficult for heat of the battery whose temperature has been abnormally raised to be transferred to the outer surface of the battery pack, giving good thermal insulation properties, as suggested by Miyata ‘175, in the battery module, as taught by Shin ‘737.
Shin ‘737 does not disclose that the expansion sheet includes:
a first expansion sheet portion forming a central portion of the expansion sheet; and a second expansion sheet portion forming an edge of the expansion sheet,
wherein an expansion rate of the first expansion sheet portion is greater than an expansion rate of the second expansion sheet portion.
Kim ‘307 discloses a battery module 100 including a plurality of battery cells 110 and a plurality of heat-insulating partition walls 120 ([0036]). The heat-insulating partition wall 120 has a flat shape (e.g., a plate shape in the form of a sheet) and may include a heat-insulating sheet 121 and a frame 122 surrounding (e.g. around) an edge of the heat-insulating sheet 121 ([0046] & Fig. 1B). A ceramic paper or a foam sheet may be used as the heat-insulating sheet ([0048]). The frame 122 may be made of a plastic and/or a metal, wherein the compression rate and the restoring force of the frame 122 may be less than the compression rate and the restoring force of the heat-insulating sheet 121 ([0054]). Additionally, the frame 122 may have a thickness less than that of the heat-insulating sheet 121 ([0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the expansion sheet of Miyata ‘175 for the battery module, as taught by Shin ‘737, to have a first expansion sheet and a second expansion sheet made of different materials having different expansion rates, i.e., a heat-insulating sheet 121 and a frame 122 surrounding an edge of the heat-insulating sheet 121, as suggested by Kim ‘307, because the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 8, 10, 11, 12, and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, Shin ‘737 teaches the battery module of claim 3, but does not disclose that the expansion sheet further includes a third expansion sheet portion positioned between the first expansion sheet portion and the second expansion sheet portion, and wherein an expansion rate of the third expansion sheet portion is less than the expansion rate of the first expansion sheet portion and is greater than the expansion rate of the second expansion sheet portion.
Miyata ‘175 discloses a thermally expandable fire-resistant material layer 22 that exhibits fire resistance when heated due to battery ignition, making it difficult for heat of the battery whose temperature has been abnormally raised to be transferred to the outer surface of the battery pack, giving good thermal insulation properties ([0184] – [0186]).
Kim ‘307 discloses a heat-insulating partition wall 120 having a heat-insulating sheet 121 and a frame 122 surrounding an edge of the heat-insulating sheet 121.
However, neither Miyata ‘175 nor Kim ‘307 do not disclose a third expansion sheet portion positioned between a first expansion sheet portion and a second expansion sheet portion to accomplish fire resistance and heat insulation for a battery pack.
Accordingly, there is no reasonable basis for a person of ordinary skill in the art abandon the thermally expandable fire-resistant material layer 22 of Miyata ‘175 for an expansion sheet having a third expansion sheet portion positioned between the first expansion sheet portion and the second expansion sheet portion, and wherein an expansion rate of the third expansion sheet portion is less than the expansion rate of the first expansion sheet portion and is greater than the expansion rate of the second expansion sheet portion, because Miyata ‘175 and Kim ‘307 accomplish fire resistance and heat insulation using simpler means, i.e., with a single thermally expandable fire-resistant material layer or heat-insulating partition wall.
Regarding claim 8, Shin ‘737 teaches the battery module of claim 7, but does not disclose that the expansion sheet further includes a third expansion sheet portion positioned between the first expansion sheet portion and the second expansion sheet portion, and wherein a thickness of the third expansion sheet portion is less than the thickness of the first expansion sheet portion and is greater than the thickness of the second expansion sheet portion.
Miyata ‘175 discloses a thermally expandable fire-resistant material layer 22 that exhibits fire resistance when heated due to battery ignition, making it difficult for heat of the battery whose temperature has been abnormally raised to be transferred to the outer surface of the battery pack, giving good thermal insulation properties ([0184] – [0186]).
Kim ‘307 discloses a heat-insulating partition wall 120 having a heat-insulating sheet 121 and a frame 122 surrounding an edge of the heat-insulating sheet 121.
However, neither Miyata ‘175 nor Kim ‘307 do not disclose a third expansion sheet portion positioned between a first expansion sheet portion and a second expansion sheet portion to accomplish fire resistance and heat insulation for a battery pack.
Accordingly, there is no reasonable basis for a person of ordinary skill in the art abandon the thermally expandable fire-resistant material layer 22 of Miyata ‘175 for an expansion sheet having a third expansion sheet portion positioned between the first expansion sheet portion and the second expansion sheet portion, and wherein an expansion rate of the third expansion sheet portion is less than the expansion rate of the first expansion sheet portion and is greater than the expansion rate of the second expansion sheet portion, because Miyata ‘175 and Kim ‘307 accomplish fire resistance and heat insulation using simpler means, i.e., with a single thermally expandable fire-resistant material layer or heat-insulating partition wall..
Regarding claim 10, Shin ‘737 teaches the battery module of claim 1, but does not disclose that the expansion sheet includes: a first expansion sheet layer positioned between the top case and the connection frame; a second expansion sheet layer positioned between the first expansion sheet layer and the connection frame and coupled to the first expansion sheet layer; and a third expansion sheet layer positioned between the second expansion sheet layer and the connection frame and coupled to the second expansion sheet layer.
Miyata ‘175 discloses a thermally expandable fire-resistant material layer 22 that exhibits fire resistance when heated due to battery ignition, making it difficult for heat of the battery whose temperature has been abnormally raised to be transferred to the outer surface of the battery pack, giving good thermal insulation properties ([0184] – [0186]).
Kim ‘307 discloses a heat-insulating partition wall 120 having a heat-insulating sheet 121 and a frame 122 surrounding an edge of the heat-insulating sheet 121.
However, neither Miyata ‘175 nor Kim ‘307 do not disclose a third expansion sheet portion positioned between a first expansion sheet portion and a second expansion sheet portion to accomplish fire resistance and heat insulation for a battery pack.
Accordingly, there is no reasonable basis for a person of ordinary skill in the art abandon the thermally expandable fire-resistant material layer 22 of Miyata ‘175 for an expansion sheet having a second expansion sheet layer positioned between the first expansion sheet layer and the connection frame and coupled to the first expansion sheet layer; and a third expansion sheet layer positioned between the second expansion sheet layer and the connection frame and coupled to the second expansion sheet layer, because Miyata ‘175 and Kim ‘307 accomplish fire resistance and heat insulation using simpler means, i.e., with a single thermally expandable fire-resistant material layer or heat-insulating partition wall.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 depends from claim 10, and thus, incorporates the indicated subject matter of claim 10.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 depends from claim 11, and thus, incorporates the indicated subject matter of claim 10.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 depends from claim 10, and thus, incorporates the indicated subject matter of claim 10.
Conclusion
/TAYLOR HARRISON KRONE/Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725