DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed August 6, 2026, which amends claims 1, 10, 14, and 19. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment of the claims, filed August 6, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claim 19 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as set forth in the Office action mailed May 6, 2026.
Applicant’s amendment of the claims, filed August 6, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1-18 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mun et al. (US 2016/0365517) in view of Choi et al. (US 2020/0212319) as set forth in the Office action mailed May 6, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mun et al. (US 2019/0051836) (hereafter “Mun”) in view of Choi et al. (US 2020/0212319).
Regarding claims 1-18 and 20, Mun teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an emission auxiliary layer, an emission layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, and a cathode (paragraphs [0266]-[0277]) (claims 1 and 15-17). Mun teaches that the emission auxiliary layer can be composed of carbazole-amine compounds and a few of the examples are
,
,
, and
(these compounds are the same as compounds 1-49, 1-50, 1-53, and 1-55) (paragraphs [0091] and [0266]-[0277], Table 5) (claims 1 and 10-14). Mun teaches that the emission layer emits red light (paragraph [0277]) (claim 18). Mun teaches that the light emitting layer comprises a host material and a dopant and the dopant is an iridium metal complex that emits through phosphorescent (paragraphs [0266]-[0277]) (claim 1).
Mun does not specifically teach a red metal complex that meets applicant’s claimed formula 1.
Choi teaches iridium metal complexes for use as red light emitting compounds that emit through phosphorescent in the light emitting layers of electroluminescent devices (paragraphs [0406]-[0411], Tables 3 and 4) (claim 18). Choi teaches that the metal complexes can have the following structure,
,
,
,
,
,
, and
are a few examples (these compounds are the same as applicant’s compounds 1, 4, 6, 9, 18, 23, and 28) (paragraphs [0180] and [0406]-[0412], Tables 3 and 4) (claims 1-9). Choi teaches that when these compounds are used as the red emitting material the device has an improved external quantum efficiency, a narrower FWHM, and improved lifetime (paragraph [0411], Tables 3 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Mun to use the red emitting phosphorescent dopants of Choi. The motivation would have been to provide a red emitting device and an improve lifetime and external quantum efficiency and has a narrow FWHM.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mun et al. (US 2019/0051836) (hereafter “Mun”) in view of Choi et al. (US 2020/0212319) as applied to claims 1-18 and 20 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2014/0374722) (hereafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 19, Mun teaches that the hole transporting layer is composed of NPD (paragraph [0267]).
Mun in view of Choi does not teach where the hole transporting layer is composed of a compound that meets applicant’s formula 201 or formula 202.
Kim teaches hole transporting materials that can be used in electroluminescent devices (paragraphs [0073] and [0204]). Kim teaches that the hole transporting material can be
, which is one of many examples (paragraphs [0073] and [0204]). Kim teaches that when
is used instead of NPD as the hole transporting material the resulting device has improved lifetime and efficiency (paragraph [0207], Table 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Mun in view of Choi, so the hole transporting material was
as taught by Kim. The motivation would have been to improve the efficiency and lifetime of the device.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759