Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu et al. US20240170846 in view of Yasushi et al. JP5412594 B1 (English Translation provided).
With respect to independent claim 1, Gu et al. discloses an antenna module [Fig 6-8] comprising: a coil pattern 12 planarly wound in a plurality of turns; a first adhesive layer 73 attached to a first surface of the coil pattern in an axial direction of the coil pattern; a second adhesive layer 71 attached to a second surface of the coil pattern in the axial direction of the coil pattern, the second surface being opposite to the first surface; and a magnetic member 74 attached to the first adhesive layer such that the first adhesive layer is sandwiched between the coil pattern and the magnetic member.
Gu et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first and second adhesive layers bulge to a gap between adjacent turns of the coil pattern.
Yasushi et al. discloses a pressure-sensitive double-sided adhesive layer 120 wherein the adhesive layer is crushed and deformed that bulge to fill a gap 132 [Fig. 8 and bottom of page 5, under (Antenna Module)]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the adhesive layers of Gu et al. with the adhesive layers of Yasushi et al. to improve the adherence of the layers as taught by Yasushi et al. [top of page 10].
With respect to claim 2, Gu et al., as modified above, discloses a non- conductive member 11-13 disposed in an opening of the coil pattern and attached to at least one of the first and second adhesive layers [Fig. 7-8; paragraphs 53 and 62+].
With respect to claim 3, Gu et al., as modified above, discloses wherein the non-conductive member 11-13 is attached to both the first and second adhesive layers [Fig. 7-8; paragraphs 53 and 62+].
With respect to claim 18, Gu et al., as modified above, discloses a liner layer 72 attached to the second adhesive layer on a side opposite to the coil pattern, wherein the liner layer is configured to be removed to expose an adhesive surface of the second adhesive layer for mounting the antenna module [paragraph 10].
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu et al. US20240170846 and Yasushi et al. JP5412594 B1 (English Translation provided) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. US20170213644.
With respect to claim 11, Gu et al., as modified above, disclose the antenna module as recited in claim 1 above. Gu et al., as modified above, fails to disclose wherein the magnetic member comprises a mixture of magnetic particles and resin, and is configured to serve as a magnetic path for a magnetic field generated by the coil pattern.
Lee et al. discloses wherein the magnetic member comprises a mixture of magnetic particles and resin, and is configured to serve as a magnetic path for a magnetic field generated by the coil pattern [paragraph 71]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the features of Lee et al. into the antenna module of Gu et al. to improve the structure/stability of the antenna module as taught by Lee et al. [paragraphs 71 and 94].
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh KR101458176 B1 in view of Yasushi et al. JP5412594 B1 (English Translation provided).
With respect to independent claim 1, Oh discloses an antenna module [Fig. 8] comprising: a coil pattern 13 planarly wound in a plurality of turns [Fig. 9]; a first adhesive layer 12 attached to a first surface of the coil pattern in an axial direction of the coil pattern; a second adhesive layer 14 attached to a second surface of the coil pattern in the axial direction of the coil pattern, the second surface being opposite to the first surface; and a magnetic member 10 attached to the first adhesive layer such that the first adhesive layer is sandwiched between the coil pattern and the magnetic member.
Oh fails to disclose wherein the first and second adhesive layers bulge to a gap between adjacent turns of the coil pattern.
Yasushi et al. discloses a pressure-sensitive double-sided adhesive layer 120 wherein the adhesive layer is crushed and deformed that bulge to fill a gap 132 [Fig. 8 and bottom of page 5, under (Antenna Module)]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the adhesive layers of Oh with the adhesive layers of Yasushi et al. to improve the adherence of the layers as taught by Yasushi et al. [top of page 10].
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh KR101458176 B1 and Yasushi et al. JP5412594 B1 (English Translation provided) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. US20170213644.
With respect to claim 11, Oh, as modified above, disclose the antenna module as recited in claim 1 above. Oh, as modified above, fails to disclose wherein the magnetic member comprises a mixture of magnetic particles and resin, and is configured to serve as a magnetic path for a magnetic field generated by the coil pattern.
Lee et al. discloses wherein the magnetic member comprises a mixture of magnetic particles and resin, and is configured to serve as a magnetic path for a magnetic field generated by the coil pattern [paragraph 71]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the features of Lee et al. into the antenna module of Oh to improve the structure/stability of the antenna module as taught by Lee et al. [paragraphs 71 and 94].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10, 12-17, 19, and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to dependent claim 4, the prior art fails to teach or reasonably suggest wherein a thickness of the non- conductive member is substantially equal to a thickness of the coil pattern.
With respect to dependent claim 5, the prior art fails to teach or reasonably suggest wherein a Young's modulus of the non-conductive member is lower than that of a metal material constituting the coil pattern.
With respect to dependent claim 6, the prior art fails to teach or reasonably suggest wherein the coil pattern has such a sectional shape that a pattern width thereof increases toward the first adhesive layer, and wherein the first adhesive layer is smaller in thickness than the second adhesive layer.
Dependent claims 7, 14, and 20 are objected to by virtue of its dependency.
With respect to dependent claim 8, the prior art fails to teach or reasonably suggest further comprising a metal member disposed such that the magnetic member is sandwiched between the first adhesive layer and the metal member.
Dependent claims 9, 10, 15, 16, and 17 are objected to by virtue of its dependency.
With respect to dependent claim 12, the prior art fails to teach or reasonably suggest wherein the non-conductive member comprises a resin material having heat resistance, and is configured to prevent a recess at a part overlapping the opening of the coil pattern.
With respect to dependent claim 13, the prior art fails to teach or reasonably suggest wherein the non-conductive member is attached to both the first and second adhesive layers to fix the coil pattern relative to the first and second adhesive layers.
With respect to dependent claim 19, the prior art fails to teach or reasonably suggest wherein the non-conductive member has a planar size substantially equal to an opening area of the coil pattern to enhance flatness.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yasushi et al. JP2014116921A shows double-sided adhesive bulging part 122
Kumura et al. US20150325362 shows a coil antenna
Jang et al. US9812774 shows an antenna module
Yosui et al. US20180123228 shows an antenna device
Lim et al. US20180219291 shows an antenna module
Katsuhiro JP2013236267A shows antenna module
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALEXANDER H. TANINGCO
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2844
/ALEXANDER H TANINGCO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845