DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 14th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The amended claims fail to provide any further claim structure to support the difference between the application and the prior art as to the radiation characteristics of the respective antennas. Furthermore, Applicant does not provide any explanation as to why the cited prior art does not teach the claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 11, 13, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 11 and 20 recite “a thresohold distance”. However, the claims do not define how the threshold is determined, or provide any objective standard for determining when the threshold distance is met. The specification discloses a “distance” (par. [0045-0047]), but does not define a threshold value, provide a range, or describe an objective standard for establishing the threshold distance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 11, 13, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Tatarnikov et al. (US 10403972 B2), herein referred to as Tatarnikov.
Regarding claim 1, Tatarnikov discloses a system comprising: a support structure (col. 12, lines 2-3, not shown in figs.); a first ground plane (1202) positioned on the support structure; and an antenna module (1216) positioned above (fig. 12E) and a threshold distance away (col. 12 lines 60-61) from the first ground plane (1202), the antenna module including: a second ground plane (1212) that is separate from the first ground plane (1202), and an antenna positioned on the second ground plane, wherein the antenna exhibits primary radiation (direct rays) from a location on at least a surface of the antenna (1214) and secondary radiation (reflected rays), the secondary radiation emanating from at least an end of the second ground plane on which the antenna is disposed (all reflected radiation is at least out of one end of the smaller ground plane).
Regarding claim 2, Tatarnikov anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Tatarnikov also discloses wherein the antenna (1214) that is part of the antenna module (1216) comprises a patch antenna (col. 12, lines 65-66).
Regarding claim 3, Tatarnikov anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Tatarnikov also discloses wherein the antenna (1214) that is part of the antenna module (1216) comprises a circularly polarized patch antenna (col. 12, lines 65-66 and col. 16, lines 7-10).
Regarding claim 5, Tatarnikov anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Tatarnikov also discloses wherein the antenna module (1214) is positioned closer than an additional threshold distance away from the first ground plane (1202), wherein the additional threshold distance is larger than the threshold distance (col. 12 lines 60-61).
Regarding claim 7, Tatarnikov anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Tatarnikov also discloses wherein the system includes a plurality of different radiating mechanisms (see fig. 1, direct and reflected rays, further, see col. 5, lines 15-20, regarding the symmetry of operation between transmit and receive).
Regarding claim 11, Tatarnikov discloses a mobile electronic device (col. 1, lines 50-52) a first ground plane (1202) positioned on the support structure; and an antenna module (1216) positioned above (fig. 12E) and a threshold distance away (col. 12 lines 60-61) from the first ground plane (1202), the antenna module including: a second ground plane (1212) that is separate from the first ground plane (1202), and an antenna positioned on the second ground plane, wherein the antenna exhibits primary radiation (direct rays) from a location on at least a surface of the antenna (1214) and secondary radiation (reflected rays), the secondary radiation emanating from at least an end of the second ground plane on which the antenna is disposed (all reflected radiation is at least out of one end of the smaller ground plane).
Regarding claim 13, Tatarnikov anticipates all limitations of base claim 11.
Tatarnikov also discloses wherein the system includes a plurality of different radiating mechanisms (see fig. 1, direct and reflected rays, further, see col. 5, lines 15-20, regarding the symmetry of operation between transmit and receive).
Regarding claim 17, Tatarnikov anticipates all limitations of base claim 13.
Tatarnikov also discloses further comprising: a third radiating mechanism that includes radiation from the antenna reflected by the first ground plane (reflected rays).
Regarding claim 18, Tatarnikov anticipates all limitations of base claim 13.
Tatarnikov also discloses further comprising a fourth radiating mechanism that includes radiation behind the ground plane (fig. 5, column 8, lines 22-52 discusses rays beyond the larger ground plane).
Regarding claim 20, Tatarnikov discloses an apparatus comprising: a support structure (col. 12, lines 2-3, not shown in figs.); a first ground plane (1202) positioned on the support structure; and an antenna module (1216) positioned above (fig. 12E) and a threshold distance away (col. 12 lines 60-61) from the ground plane (1202), the antenna module including: a second ground plane (1212) that is separate from the first ground plane (1202), and an antenna position on the second ground plane, wherein the antenna exhibits primary radiation (direct rays) from a location on at least a surface of the antenna (1214) and secondary radiation (reflected rays), the secondary radiation emanating from at least an end of the second ground plane on which the antenna is disposed (all reflected radiation is at least out of one end of the smaller ground plane).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatarnikov.
Regarding claim 6, Tatarnikov anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Tatarnikov does not specifically disclose wherein a length of the second ground plane is formed at a specified ratio of an additional length of the first ground plane.
However, Tatarnikov does disclose that the size of the ground plane is a results effective variable to suppress the reception of multipath signals (col. 7, lines 61-64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to make the antenna of Tatarnikov wherein a length of the second ground plane is formed at a specified ratio of an additional length of the first ground plane, to suppress the reception of multipath signals.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatarnikov and further in view of Charaabi et al. (EP 3940885 A1), herein referred to as Charaabi.
Regarding claim 19, Tatarnikov anticipates all limitations of base claim 11.
Tatarnikov does not disclose wherein the mobile electronic device comprises a virtual reality head mounted device (HMD), a pair of augmented reality (AR) glasses, or a smartwatch.
However, Tatarnikov does disclose (col. 1, lines 50-52) the use of the antenna for mobile applications, and further Charaabi discloses a similar antenna (radiating elements above a ground plane (see fig. 3) for use in augmented and/or virtual reality devices (para. 0132).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the device of Tatarnikov wherein the mobile electronic device comprises a virtual reality head mounted device (HMD), a pair of augmented reality (AR) glasses, or a smartwatch, as taught by Charaabi, to provide enabling components to said devices (para. 0132).
Conclusion
/BRANDON SEAN WOODS/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845