Response to Amendment
1. This in response to an amendment filed 03/30/2026. No claims have been added. Claim 1-2, 17 and 20 have been amended. No claims have been canceled. Claims 1-20 are still pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (Pub.No.: 2016/0254850 A1) in view of Chen et al. (Pub.No.: 2015/0349870 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chen 850’ teaches a playback device (see abstract) comprising:
a plurality of antennas (reads on first antenna 106 and a second antenna 108, see [0030]);
a switching circuit coupled to the plurality of antennas (see [0031]);
a wireless radio circuit comprising at least one communication port coupled to the switching circuit (see [0031] and [0037]. Note that Chen teaches the audio device controller 104 analyzes various signal quality parameters to identify an optimal receiving antenna (e.g., an antenna on the same side as the source device). Example processes performed by the audio device controller 104 are described in more detail below with reference to the Example Antenna Selection Processes section and FIGS. 4-6. The particular parameters analyzed to select the optimal antenna may include, for example, an average received signal strength and/or a standard deviation of received signal strength. The average received signal strength may include the average RSSI over 10 seconds (e.g., 100 samples with a 0.1 second sampling period) or the average RSSI over 20 seconds (e.g., 200 samples with a 0.1 second sampling period), see [0032]);
at least one audio amplifier (reads on device output audio to speaker, see [0009]);
at least one processor (see [0003]);
at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor (see [0003] and [0036]) such that the playback device is configured to:
while wirelessly receiving audio content from at least one external device via at least one the plurality of antennas (reads on the audio device may further include an audio manager component executable by the at least one processor and configured to receive the audio information, generate an audio signal based on the audio information, and provide the audio signal to the at least one speaker, see [0009]), select from the plurality of antennas (reads on antenna selection control signal based on wireless-signal such as RSSI and SNR, see ([0052]- [0064]), the second rate is different from the first rate (reads on selecting antennas based on current and/or recent weighted SNR values and further evaluating different antenna combinations/subsets when making switching decisions, see [0005-0007] and [0047-0075]); and playback the audio content using the at least one audio amplifier (reads on audio device may further include an audio manager component executable by the at least one processor and configured to receive the audio information, generate an audio signal based on the audio information, and provide the audio signal to the at least one speaker, see [0009]).
Chen 850’ features are already addressed in the rejection of independent claim1. Chen 850’ does not specifically teach “while wirelessly receiving audio content “generate a second control signal for control of the switching circuit”. In other words, Chen 850’ does not explicitly teach selection is being performed from a subset of the plurality of antennas or that the antenna-selection control is performed at a different rate.
However, Chen 870’ teaches multi rate antenna selection framework, where in antenna or antennas to be used for reception, transmission, or both transmission and reception by a particular radio of a UE may be selected at least partially based on current and/or recent weighted signal to noise ratio (SNR) values of the antennas of the UE, see 870’ [0005-0007] and [0047-0075]. Chen 870’ also teaches selecting subset of antennas to evaluate different possible antennas combinations when making switching decisions, see (0053-0056).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Chen’s 870’ multi rate and multi-processor selection logic into the teaching of Chen’s 850’ to improve reliability and stability/responsiveness of antenna switching.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Chen 850’ and Chen 870’ teaches wherein the first rate is faster than the second rate (Chen 850’ teaches generating antenna selection control signal based on wireless-signal such as RSSI and SNR, see ([0052]- [0064]), Chen 870’ teaches multi rate antenna selection that evaluates packet quality metrics over longer intervals, the faster rate corresponds to the more frequent antenna selection control used to select one or more antennas for communication, while the slower rate corresponds to less frequent higher-level/subset or longer-interval evaluation. Chen ‘870 teaches evaluating antenna quality using current/recent weighted SNR values and longer interval packet/quality metrics for antenna selection/switching decisions, see Fig.5 and Fig.6 and ([0048]-[0078]). Thus, it is obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the multi rate control technique as taught by Chen 870’ into the teaching of Chen 850’ to improve stability of antenna switching).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Chen 850’ and Chen 870’ teaches wherein the first rate is based on a duration of packets included in a wireless signal received by the playback device (see [0032] of Chen 850’).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Chen 850’ and Chen 870’ teaches wherein the wireless radio circuit is configured to generate the first control signal based on information encoded in a wireless signal received by the playback device (Chen 850’ teaches wireless radio receives a packet including encoded fields/information to determine signal-quality metrics used for antenna selection, see ([0014]-[0016]). The extracted metrics are then used to generate a control signal for controlling the antenna switching circuit. Thus, because Chen 850’ teaches antenna selection control signals from encoded packet information, the limitation of claim 4 is considered obvious).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Chen 850’ and Chen 870’ teaches wherein the information includes a Wi-Fi preamble (see [0030] of Chen 870’).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Chen 850’ and Chen 870’teaches wherein the information includes a received signal strength indicator (reads on Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI), see [0031] of Chen 850’) and/or a signal to noise ratio measurement.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Chen 850’ and Chen 870’ teaches wherein the program instructions are executable by the at least one processor to generate the second control signal based on a measurement of quality of reception of a wireless signal received by the playback device (reads on quality-based metric, as discussed in [0052-0064] of Chen 850’).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Chen 850’ and Chen 870’ teaches wherein the program instructions are executable by the at least one processor to generate the second control signal based on a measurement of a rate of packet loss of a wireless signal received by the playback device (reads on switching values to drive an antenna switching, see 870’ [0054]- [0065]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Chen and Chen teaches wherein generation of the first control signal and the second control signal is based on an antenna switching policy that includes criteria to determine the first rate and the second rate (reads on antenna selection using multi—metric decision, see 870’ [0042]- [0064]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Chen and Chen teaches wherein the switching circuit is configured to enable selective coupling of a maximum number of possible combinations of the communication ports to the plurality of antennas, based on the first control signal and the second control signal (reads on , the antenna or antennas to be used for reception, transmission, or both transmission and reception by a particular radio of a UE may be selected at least partially based on current and/or recent weighted signal to noise ratio (SNR) values of the antennas of the UE, see 870’ [0005-0007] and [0047-0075]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Chen and Chen teaches wherein the playback device comprises M antennas, the wireless radio circuit comprises N communication ports, and the maximum number of possible combinations equals the factorial of M divided by the product of the factorial of N and the factorial of M minus N. (Chen 850’ teaches having multiple antenna and multiple radio communication ports, and a switching circuit capable of selectively coupling the ports to different antennas, see Fig. 3 and corresponding text. Chen 870’ teaches selecting subset of antennas to evaluate different possible antennas combinations when making switching decisions, see (0053-0056). The formula recites in in claim 11, is a standard mathematical expression for the number of ways to choose N items from M (e.g., combinations). The Examiner is interpreting that Chen 850’ teaches M antennas and N ports and Chen 870’ teaches selecting subsets, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art to understand that the number of possible combinations corresponds to standard combinatorial formula for choosing N antennas out of M.)
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Chen and Chen teaches wherein the maximum number of possible combinations is greater than a number of combinations that can be enabled solely by the first control signal (Chen 850’ teaches RSSI/SNR based antenna selection using a first control signal, see [0052]- [0064]. Chen 870’ second control signal based on slower packet quality-based evaluation and explains that using multiple decision for more antenna selection outcomes, see [0042]- [0064]. Thus, it is obvious to add Chen’s 870” additional criteria to expands the number of antenna port selection combinations compared to relaying on the first control signal alone taught by Chen 850’ to increase decision variations.).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Chen and Chen teaches wherein the switching circuit comprises combinational logic circuitry and a matrix of switches, the combinational logic circuitry configured to control the switches based on the first control signal and the second control signal (Chen 850’ teaches switching circuit that selectively connects multiple antenna paths to communication ports, see Chen 870’ [0040]- [0042]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Chen and Chen teaches wherein the switching circuit comprises: a first layer of switches, controlled by the first control signal and coupling the communication ports to a second layer of switches; and the second layer of switches, controlled by the second control signal and coupled to the plurality of antennas (note that Chen 850’ teaches switching circuit with multiple signal switching elements, see ([0050]-[0056]), while Chen 850’ does not specifically teach “layers” , however it teaches multiple switching points in the RF path. Chen 870’ teaches dual switching control, where separate control outputs are generated, see [0048]- [0065]. It is obvious to structure the switching circuitry of Chen 850’ into separate layers controlled by two control signals, as taught by Chen 870’ in order to implement multi criteria switching logic.).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Chen and Chen teaches wherein the wireless radio circuit is a multi-input multi-output wireless radio circuit (see Chen 870’ [0040]- [0042]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Chen and Chen teaches wherein the wireless radio circuit is a Wi-Fi radio (see Chen 870’ [0030] and [0034-0035]).
Regarding claims 17 and 20, Chen 850’ teaches a playback device and method comprising:
a plurality of antennas (reads on first antenna 106 and a second antenna 108, see [0030]);
a switching circuit coupled to the plurality of antennas (see [0031]);
a wireless radio circuit comprising at least one communication port coupled to the switching circuit (see [0031] and [0037]);
at least one audio amplifier (reads on device output audio to speaker, see [0009]);
at least one processor (see [0003]);
at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor (see [0003] and [0036]) such that the playback device is configured to:
while wirelessly receiving audio content from at least one external device via at least one of the plurality of antennas (reads on packet quality-based antenna switching, see ([0050]- [0056]).
Chen 850’ does not specifically teach “generate a first control signal at a first rate for control of the switching circuit to select one or more antennas from a subset of the plurality of antennas to the at least one communication port, wherein the subset of the plurality of antennas has fewer antennas than the plurality of antennas” and “generate a second control signal at a second rate for control of the switching circuit to select the subset of the plurality of the antennas from the plurality of antennas; and playback the audio content using the at least one audio amplifier”.
However, Chen 870’ teaches the antenna or antennas to be used for reception, transmission, or both transmission and reception by a particular radio of a UE may be selected at least partially based on current and/or recent weighted signal to noise ratio (SNR) values of the antennas of the UE, see 870’ [0005-0007] and [0047-0075]. Chen 870’ also teaches selecting subset of antennas to evaluate different possible antennas combinations when making switching decisions, see (0053-0056).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Chen’s 870’ dual rate and multi-processor selection logic into the teaching of Chen’s 850’ to improve reliability and stability of antenna switching.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Chen and Chen teaches wherein the at least one processor includes a first processor integrated into the wireless radio circuit and a second processor that is separate and distinct from the wireless radio circuit, and wherein the at least one non-transitory computer- readable medium comprises a first memory storing a first portion of the program instructions executed by the first processor and a second memory storing a second portion of the program instructions executed by the second processor (see Chen 870’ [0040]- [0042]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Chen and Chen teaches wherein the first portion of the program instructions are executable by the first processor to configure the wireless radio circuit to generate the first control signal (see Chen 870’ [0040]- [0042]).
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed 03/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Chen ‘850 and Chen ‘870 disclose only a single-layer antenna selection and do not disclose generating a second control signal at a second rate different from the first rate. However, the rejection
Does not rely on Chen ‘850 alone for the different-rate limitation. Chen ‘850 is relied upon for playback device and antenna switching framework, while Chen ‘870 is relied upon for the multi-rate antenna selection framework.
Chen ‘870 teaches selecting antennas based on current and/or recent weighted SNR values and further teaches evaluating different antenna combinations/subsets when making switching decisions (see [0005-0007], [0053-0056] and [0047-0075]). Thus, Chen ‘870 teaches that antenna selection/switching may be performed using different evaluation intervals/rates rather than single uniform selection rate. Accordingly, Chen ‘870 teaches or at least suggests the claimed feature that the second rate is different from the first rate.
Also, in regard to Applicant’s characterization that Chen ‘870 merely discloses selecting among available antennas is not persuasive because the claim does not require the exact illustrative multi-layer diagram shown in Applicant’s remarks. The claim only requires that the second control signal be generated at a second rate different from the first rate. Chen ‘870 multi-rate antenna -selection framework teaches this feature. Therefore, incorporating the previously rejected different-rate limitation into the independent claims does not overcome the rejection.
Also, for claim 2, Chen ‘870 already teaches a multi-rate antenna selection framework in which antenna selection/switching decisions may be used on current/recent signal quality values and longer interval quality evaluations. Thus, the more immediate antenna-selection control is performed at a faster rate, while the broader or longer -interval selection/evaluation is performed at a slower rate. Therefore, Chen’ 870 teaches or at least suggests the claimed feature that the first rate is faster than the second rate.
Conclusion
4. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth
In 37 CFR 1.136(a).
shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action.
In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final. action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
/RASHA S AL AUBAIDI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693