DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1, 15 and 19-30 are amended.
Claims 13 and 27 are cancelled.
No new claim is/are added.
Claims 1-12, 14-26 and 28-30 are pending for examination.
Applicant Argument
Applicant’s response has been fully considered. Below are applicant’s main arguments and examiner’s response to those arguments:
Applicant’s argument: (remark pages 14-20), filed on 11/13/2025, with respect to claims 1, 15, 29, and 30, ‘Kim, Shin, Su, and Kazmi-alone or in any combination-do not teach or suggest all of the features of amended independent claims 1, 15, 29, and 30 … Accordingly, Applicant requests that the rejection of independent claims 1, 15, 29, and 30 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 be reconsidered and withdrawn’.
Examiner’s response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kim teaches configuration of a gNB about Full Duplex capability, such as slot which is capable of Full-Duplex and PRB pattern, is divided into multi-part such as Cell-specific part, UE-specific common part and UE-specific dynamic part. Therefore, combination of Kim and Shin teaches the claimed limitations since combination of Kim and Shin would teach apply the functionality performed by a gNB to by a UE in a sidelink communication scenario, which is in light of the specification as response in Advisory Action that with respect to functionality of UE, the specification merely mentions that a first network node may be a base station or may be a UE (specification PGPUB paragraph [0046]: "a first network node (e.g., a UE)"; [0051]: "the first network node may refer to a first UE, a first base station") and Examiner interprets the claimed functionality of UE is to apply the functionality of a base station to a UE in sidelink communication scenario. See the detailed Advisory Action on 10/17/2025 and the detailed Office Action bellow under 35 U.S.C. § 103 section.
Applicant’s arguments (remark pages 14-20), filed on 11/13/2025, with respect to claims 1-12, 14-26 and 28-30 have been considered but are not convincing and the rejection of claims 1-12, 14-26 and 28-30 under 35 USC § 103 is not withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-12, 14-15, 17, 19, 21-24, 26 and 28-30 are under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20240267895 A1), hereinafter “Kim”, in view of Shin et al. (US 20230328510 A1), hereinafter “Shin”.
Per claim 1, 15, 29 and 30:
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches ‘A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication’ (Kim: [0032]: “FIG. 17 illustrates a network entity in a wireless communication system”; [0010]: “a user equipment (UE)”); ‘comprising: a memory’ (Kim: [FIG.17]: “Memory”); ‘at least one processor’ (Kim: [FIG.17]: “Processor”); ‘coupled to the memory’ (this is implied);
‘wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
transmit, prior to being radio resource control-connected with a network node, a first message that indicates a first capability of the UE to support full-duplex communications’ (Kim: [FIG.11]: step 1101: “gNB”->“UE”: “Cell-specific configuration”; [0149]: “The cell-specific configuration information may include … FD slot”; [0002]: “full duplex (FD)”; [FIG.8]: “Cell-specific slot configuration (SIB1)”; [0076]: “Before being RRC connected, the UE may be configured with an initial BWP for initial access by the base station via an MIB … system information (SI) (e.g., remaining SI (RMSI) or SIB1) for initial access”; gNB broadcasts capability of gNB to support full-duplex in SIB1 prior to RRC connected with a network node (UE)). However, Kim fails to expressly teach UE broadcasts capability of the UE;
‘wherein the first message is a first part of a multi-part capability message’ (Kim: [FIG.8]: “Cell-specific slot configuration”; [FIG.10]: “Cell-specific configuration (+ UE-specific configuration)”, “FD” (slot which is capable of Full Duplex); [FIG.16]: “Cell-specific PRB”; “UE-specific PRB”; [FIG.12A]-[FIG.15]; [Table 3]: “NR slot length”, “BWP switch delay”, “Depends on UE capability”; [FIG.11]: step 1101: “Cell-specific configuration”, step 1103: “UE-specific common configuration”, step 1104: “UE-specific dynamic configuration”, configuration about Full Duplex capability is divided into multi-part such as cell-specific part, UE-specific common part and UE-specific dynamic part, where the first message is the cell-specific part);
‘transmit, after the first message and while the UE and the network node are radio resource control-connected, one or more second messages’ (Kim: [FIG.11]: step 1103: “UE-specific configuration”, step 1104: “UE-specific dynamic configuration”, after step 1101; [0156]: “The UE-specific configuration information may refer to information transmitted to a specific UE through dedicated RRC information”; [0154]: “the base station dynamically or semi-statically indicates the FD resource to be allocated to the UE through DCI”; gNB transmits UE-specific configuration while gNB and the network node (UE) are RRC-connected). However, Kim fails to expressly teach UE transmits while the UE and the network node are RRC connected;
‘that indicate a second capability of the UE to support the full-duplex communications, wherein the second capability is an update to the first capability’ (Kim: [FIG.16]: “UE-specific PRB pattern 1”: [0153]: “the FD PRB configuration and FD slot configuration configured/allocated to the UE”; [0002]: “full duplex (FD)”; another capability of the gNB). However, Kim fails to expressly teach another capability of the UE;
‘wherein the second capability is an update to the first capability’ (Kim: [FIG.10]: “Cell-specific configuration (+ UE-specific configuration)”; an update to the first capability);
‘wherein the one or more second messages are a second part to the multi-part capability message’ (Kim: [FIG.8]: “Cell-specific slot configuration”; [FIG.10]: “Cell-specific configuration (+ UE-specific configuration)”, “FD” (slot which is capable of Full Duplex); [FIG.16]: “Cell-specific PRB”; “UE-specific PRB”; [FIG.12A]-[FIG.15]; [Table 3]: “NR slot length”, “BWP switch delay”, “Depends on UE capability”; [FIG.11]: step 1101: “Cell-specific configuration”, step 1103: “UE-specific common configuration”, step 1104: “UE-specific dynamic configuration”, configuration about Full Duplex capability is divided into multi-part such as cell-specific part, UE-specific common part and UE-specific dynamic part, where the one or more second message is a UE-specific-common part or UE-specific dynamic part);
‘communicate with the network node in accordance with the second capability indicated in a second message of the one or more second messages’ (Kim: [FIG.11]: step 1105: “UE”: Identify resource allocation”; [0042]: “performing communication functions”, gNB communicates with the network node (UE) based on the capability). However, Kim fails to expressly teach UE communicates with the network node.
However, Shin in the same field of endeavor teaches a UE in sidelink communications working as access node would broadcast information such as duplex mode over PSBCH before other UE can access the sidelink interface to communicate with it (Shin: [FIG.6]: “UE A” <-> “UE B”; [0087]: “a radio protocol architecture for SL communication”; [0091]: “A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that the UE needs to know first before transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted. For example, the basic information may include SLSS related information, a duplex mode”; [0009]: “the UE can communicate in a full-duplex (FD) mode”; [0002]: “a method for transmitting and receiving data related to a duplex mode in a wireless communication system”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shin’s teaching with that of Kim for a UE in sidelink communications working as access node to perform the functionality of gNB as taught by Kim, in another word, transmit, prior to being radio resource control-connected with a network node, a first message that indicates a first capability of the UE to support full-duplex communications; transmit, after the first message and while the UE and the network node are radio resource control-connected, one or more second messages that indicate a second capability of the UE to support the full-duplex communications, wherein the second capability is an update to the first capability; and communicate with the network node in accordance with the second capability indicated in a second message of the one or more second messages in order to transmit and receive data related to a duplex mode over sidelink interface (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches ‘A network node for wireless communication’ (Kim: [0032]: “FIG. 17 illustrates a network entity in a wireless communication system”); ‘comprising: a memory’ (Kim: [FIG.17]: “Memory”); ‘at least one processor’ (Kim: [FIG.17]: “Processor”); ‘coupled to the memory’ (this is implied);
‘wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive, prior to being radio resource control-connected with a user equipment (UE), a first message that indicates a first capability of the UE to support full-duplex communications’ (Kim: [FIG.11]: step 1101: “gNB”->“UE”: “Cell-specific configuration”; [0149]: “The cell-specific configuration information may include … FD slot”; [0002]: “full duplex (FD)”; [FIG.8]: “Cell-specific slot configuration (SIB1)”; [0076]: “Before being RRC connected, the UE may be configured with an initial BWP for initial access by the base station via an MIB … system information (SI) (e.g., remaining SI (RMSI) or SIB1) for initial access”; the network node (UE) receives capability of gNB to support full-duplex in SIB1 prior to RRC connected with gNB). However, Kim fails to expressly teach prior to RRC connected with a UE and a capability of the UE;
‘wherein the first message is a first part of a multi-part capability message’ (Kim: [FIG.8]: “Cell-specific slot configuration”; [FIG.10]: “Cell-specific configuration (+ UE-specific configuration)”, “FD” (slot which is capable of Full Duplex); [FIG.16]: “Cell-specific PRB”; “UE-specific PRB”; [FIG.12A]-[FIG.15]; [Table 3]: “NR slot length”, “BWP switch delay”, “Depends on UE capability”; [FIG.11]: step 1101: “Cell-specific configuration”, step 1103: “UE-specific common configuration”, step 1104: “UE-specific dynamic configuration”, configuration about Full Duplex capability is divided into multi-part such as cell-specific part, UE-specific common part and UE-specific dynamic part, where first message is the cell-specific part);
‘receive, after the first message and while the network node and the UE are radio resource control-connected, one or more second messages’ (Kim: [FIG.11]: step 1103: “UE-specific configuration”, step 1104: “UE-specific dynamic configuration”, after step 1101; [0156]: “The UE-specific configuration information may refer to information transmitted to a specific UE through dedicated RRC information”; [0154]: “the base station dynamically or semi-statically indicates the FD resource to be allocated to the UE through DCI”; the network node (UE) receives UE-specific configuration while the network node and gNB are RRC-connected); However, Kim fails to expressly teach while the network node and the UE are RRC-connected;
‘that indicate a second capability of the UE to support the full-duplex communications’ (Kim: [FIG.16]: “UE-specific PRB pattern 1”: [0153]: “the FD PRB configuration and FD slot configuration configured/allocated to the UE”; [0002]: “full duplex (FD)”; another capability of gNB). However, Kim fails to expressly teach another capability of the UE;
‘wherein the second capability is an update to the first capability’ (Kim: [FIG.10]: “Cell-specific configuration (+ UE-specific configuration)”; an update to the first capability);
‘wherein the one or more second messages are a second part to the multi-part capability message’ (Kim: [FIG.8]: “Cell-specific slot configuration”; [FIG.10]: “Cell-specific configuration (+ UE-specific configuration)”, “FD” (slot which is capable of Full Duplex); [FIG.16]: “Cell-specific PRB”; “UE-specific PRB”; [FIG.12A]-[FIG.15]; [Table 3]: “NR slot length”, “BWP switch delay”, “Depends on UE capability”; [FIG.11]: step 1101: “Cell-specific configuration”, step 1103: “UE-specific common configuration”, step 1104: “UE-specific dynamic configuration”, configuration about Full Duplex capability is divided into multi-part such as cell-specific part, UE-specific common part and UE-specific dynamic part, where the one or more second message is a UE-specific-common part or UE-specific dynamic part);
‘communicate with the UE in accordance with the second capability indicated in a second message of the one or more second messages’ (Kim: [FIG.11]: step 1105: “UE”: Identify resource allocation”; [0042]: “performing communication functions”, the network node (UE) communicates with the gNB based on the capability). However, Kim fails to expressly teach the network node communicates with the UE.
However, Shin in the same field of endeavor teaches a UE in sidelink communications working as access node would broadcast information such as duplex mode over PSBCH before other UE can access the sidelink interface to communicate with it (Shin: [FIG.6]: “UE A” <-> “UE B”; [0087]: “a radio protocol architecture for SL communication”; [0091]: “A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that the UE needs to know first before transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted. For example, the basic information may include SLSS related information, a duplex mode”; [0009]: “the UE can communicate in a full-duplex (FD) mode”; [0002]: “a method for transmitting and receiving data related to a duplex mode in a wireless communication system”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shin’s teaching with that of Kim for a UE in sidelink communications working as access node to perform the functionality of gNB as taught by Kim, in another word, a UE (network node) in sidelink communications to access the UE working as access node by actions: receive, prior to being radio resource control-connected with a user equipment (UE), a first message that indicates a first capability of the UE to support full-duplex communications; receive, after the first message and while the network node and the UE are radio resource control-connected, one or more second messages that indicate a second capability of the UE to support the full-duplex communications, wherein the second capability is an update to the first capability; and communicate with the UE in accordance with the second capability indicated in a second message of the one or more second messages, in order to transmit and receive data related to a duplex mode over sidelink interface (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 29, claim 29 recites the method implemented by the first network node of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 30, claim 30 recites the method implemented by the first network node of claim 15 (see rejection of claim 15 above).
Per claim 3 and 17:
Regarding claim 3, combination of Kim and Shin teaches the UE of claim 1 (discussed above).
Combination of Kim and Shin teaches ‘transmit, via the first message, a fixed quantity of bits that indicates the first capability of the UE’ (Kim: [FIG.11]: “gNB”->”UE”: “Cell-specific configuration”; [FIG.8]: “Cell-specific slot configuration (SIB1)”, the size of Cell-specific configuration would be a fixed quantity of bits determined by the cell’s configuration. Shin: [FIG.6]: “UE A” <-> “UE B”; [0087]: “a radio protocol architecture for SL communication”; [0091]: “A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that the UE needs to know first before transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted. For example, the basic information may include SLSS related information, a duplex mode”; 0002]: “a method for transmitting and receiving data related to a duplex mode in a wireless communication system”. A UE in sidelink communications working as access node would perform the functionality of the gNB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shin’s teaching of a UE in sidelink communications working as access node to broadcast duplex mode over PSBCH with that of Kim for a UE in sidelink communications working as access node to perform the functionality of gNB as taught by Kim in order to transmit and receive data related to a duplex mode over sidelink interface (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 17, combination of Kim and Shin teaches the network node of claim 15 (discussed above).
Combination of Kim and Shin teaches ‘receive, via the first message, a fixed quantity of bits that indicates the first capability of the UE’ (Kim: [FIG.11]: “gNB”->”UE”: “Cell-specific configuration”; [FIG.8]: “Cell-specific slot configuration (SIB1)”, the size of Cell-specific configuration would be a fixed quantity of bits determined by the cell’s configuration. Shin: [FIG.6]: “UE A” <-> “UE B”; [0087]: “a radio protocol architecture for SL communication”; [0091]: “A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that the UE needs to know first before transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted. For example, the basic information may include SLSS related information, a duplex mode”; 0002]: “a method for transmitting and receiving data related to a duplex mode in a wireless communication system”. A UE in sidelink communications working as access node would perform the functionality of the gNB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shin’s teaching of a UE in sidelink communications working as access node to broadcast duplex mode over PSBCH with that of Kim for a UE in sidelink communications working as access node to perform the functionality of gNB as taught by Kim in order to transmit and receive data related to a duplex mode over sidelink interface (see reference quotes in element above).
Per claim 5 and 19:
Regarding claim 5, combination of Kim and Shin teaches the UE of claim 1 (discussed above).
Combination of Kim and Shin teaches ‘wherein the second capability is a same as or is supplementary to the first capability of the UE to support the full-duplex communications’ (Kim: [FIG.8]: “Cell-specific slot configuration (SIB1)”, “UE-specific slot configuration (RRC signaling)”, “FD” (full-duplex); [FIG.16]: “Cell-specific PRB config1”, “UE-specific PRB pattern 1”, may configure UE to use supplementary UE-specific PRB pattern or may configure UE to use the cell-specific PRB pattern. Shin: [FIG.6]: “UE A” <-> “UE B”; [0087]: “a radio protocol architecture for SL communication”; [0091]: “A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that the UE needs to know first before transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted. For example, the basic information may include SLSS related information, a duplex mode”; 0002]: “a method for transmitting and receiving data related to a duplex mode in a wireless communication system”. A UE in sidelink communications working as access node would perform the functionality of the gNB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shin’s teaching of a UE in sidelink communications working as access node to broadcast duplex mode over PSBCH with that of Kim for a UE in sidelink communications working as access node to perform the functionality of gNB as taught by Kim in order to transmit and receive data related to a duplex mode over sidelink interface (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 19, combination of Kim and Shin teaches the network node of claim 15 (discussed above).
Combination of Kim and Shin teaches ‘wherein the second capability is a same as or is supplementary to the first capability of the UE to support the full-duplex communications’ (Kim: [FIG.8]: “Cell-specific slot configuration (SIB1)”, “UE-specific slot configuration (RRC signaling)”, “FD” (full-duplex); [FIG.16]: “Cell-specific PRB config1”, “UE-specific PRB pattern 1”, may configure UE to use supplementary UE-specific PRB pattern or may configure UE to use the cell-specific PRB pattern. Shin: [FIG.6]: “UE A” <-> “UE B”; [0087]: “a radio protocol architecture for SL communication”; [0091]: “A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that the UE needs to know first before transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted. For example, the basic information may include SLSS related information, a duplex mode”; 0002]: “a method for transmitting and receiving data related to a duplex mode in a wireless communication system”. A UE in sidelink communications working as access node would perform the functionality of the gNB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shin’s teaching of a UE in sidelink communications working as access node to broadcast duplex mode over PSBCH with that of Kim for a UE in sidelink communications working as access node to perform the functionality of gNB as taught by Kim in order to transmit and receive data related to a duplex mode over sidelink interface (see reference quotes in element above).
Per claim 7 and 21:
Regarding claim 7, combination of Kim and Shin teaches the UE of claim 1 (discussed above).
Combination of Kim and Shin teaches ‘wherein the second message includes an indication of a set of full-duplex parameters associated with the first capability of the UE to support the full-duplex communications’ (Kim: [FIG.8]: “UE-specific slot configuration”; [FIG.9]: “Downlink PRB”, “Uplink PRB”, “Full duplex PRB”; [0119]: “the FD scheme may be referred to as subband FD (SBFD)”, type of full-duplex mode; [0042]: “IAB-donor … IAB-node”; [0048]: “mMTC, URLLC, and eMBB”; [0046]: “Internet of things (IoT)”; type of network node; [0104]: “TCI-StatesPDCCH”, TCI states for downlink direction; [Table 5]: “Precoding information and number of layers” for PUSCH, number of transmission layers on uplink direction; an indication of a set of full-duplex parameters. Shin: [FIG.6]: “UE A” <-> “UE B”; [0087]: “a radio protocol architecture for SL communication”; [0091]: “A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that the UE needs to know first before transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted. For example, the basic information may include SLSS related information, a duplex mode”; 0002]: “a method for transmitting and receiving data related to a duplex mode in a wireless communication system”. A UE in sidelink communications working as access node would perform the functionality of the gNB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shin’s teaching of a UE in sidelink communications working as access node to broadcast duplex mode over PSBCH with that of Kim for a UE in sidelink communications working as access node to perform the functionality of gNB as taught by Kim in order to transmit and receive data related to a duplex mode over sidelink interface (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 21, combination of Kim and Shin teaches the network node of claim 15 (discussed above).
Combination of Kim and Shin teaches ‘wherein the second message includes an indication of a set of full-duplex parameters associated with the first capability of the UE to support the full-duplex communications’ (Kim: [FIG.8]: “UE-specific slot configuration”; [FIG.9]: “Downlink PRB”, “Uplink PRB”, “Full duplex PRB”; [0119]: “the FD scheme may be referred to as subband FD (SBFD)”, type of full-duplex mode; [0042]: “IAB-donor … IAB-node”; [0048]: “mMTC, URLLC, and eMBB”; [0046]: “Internet of things (IoT)”; type of network node; [0104]: “TCI-StatesPDCCH”, TCI states for downlink direction; [Table 5]: “Precoding information and number of layers” for PUSCH, number of transmission layers on uplink direction; an indication of a set of full-duplex parameters. Shin: [FIG.6]: “UE A” <-> “UE B”; [0087]: “a radio protocol architecture for SL communication”; [0091]: “A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that the UE needs to know first before transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted. For example, the basic information may include SLSS related information, a duplex mode”; 0002]: “a method for transmitting and receiving data related to a duplex mode in a wireless communication system”. A UE in sidelink communications working as access node would perform the functionality of the gNB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shin’s teaching of a UE in sidelink communications working as access node to broadcast duplex mode over PSBCH with that of Kim for a UE in sidelink communications working as access node to perform the functionality of gNB as taught by Kim in order to transmit and receive data related to a duplex mode over sidelink interface (see reference quotes in element above).
Per claim 8 and 22:
Regarding claim 8, combination of Kim and Shin teaches the UE of claim 7 (discussed above).
Kim teaches ‘wherein the set of full-duplex parameters include one or more of a type of the UE’ (Kim: [0042]: “IAB-donor … IAB-node”; [0048]: “mMTC, URLLC, and eMBB”; [0046]: “Internet of things (IoT)”; type of the UE); ‘one or more types of full-duplex communications modes supported by the UE, a maximum power of the UE in a full-duplex communications mode, one or more types of channels supported by the UE in the full-duplex communications mode, a quantity of transmission layers per direction supported by the UE in the full-duplex communications mode, a quantity of transmission configuration indicator states per direction supported by the UE in the full- duplex communications mode, or a length of time for which the first capability and the set of full-duplex parameters are considered valid’ (these are optional).
Regarding claim 22, combination of Kim and Shin teaches the network node of claim 21 (discussed above).
Kim teaches ‘wherein the set of full-duplex parameters include one or more of a type of the UE’ (Kim: [0042]: “IAB-donor … IAB-node”; [0048]: “mMTC, URLLC, and eMBB”; [0046]: “Internet of things (IoT)”; type of the UE); ‘one or more types of full-duplex communications modes supported by the UE, a maximum power of the UE in a full-duplex communications mode, one or more types of channels supported by the UE in the full-duplex communications mode, a quantity of transmission layers per direction supported by the UE in the full-duplex communications mode, a quantity of transmission configuration indicator states per direction supported by the UE in the full- duplex communications mode, or a length of time for which the first capability and the set of full-duplex parameters are considered valid’ (these are optional).
Per claim 9 and 23:
Regarding claim 9, combination of Kim and Shin teaches the UE of claim 7 (discussed above).
Combination of Kim and Shin teaches ‘transmit a quantity of bits that indicates the set of full-duplex parameters, wherein the quantity of bits is based on the second capability’ (Kim: [FIG.11]: step 1103: “gNB”->”UE”: “UE-specific common configuration”, step 1104: “UE-specific dynamic configuration”; the size of second capability would be determined by the UE-specific configuration. Shin: [FIG.6]: “UE A” <-> “UE B”; [0087]: “a radio protocol architecture for SL communication”; [0091]: “A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that the UE needs to know first before transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted. For example, the basic information may include SLSS related information, a duplex mode”; 0002]: “a method for transmitting and receiving data related to a duplex mode in a wireless communication system”. A UE in sidelink communications working as access node would perform the functionality of the gNB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shin’s teaching of a UE in sidelink communications working as access node to broadcast duplex mode over PSBCH with that of Kim for a UE in sidelink communications working as access node to perform the functionality of gNB as taught by Kim in order to transmit and receive data related to a duplex mode over sidelink interface (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 23, combination of Kim and Shin teaches the network node of claim 21 (discussed above).
Combination of Kim and Shin teaches ‘receive a quantity of bits that indicates the set of full-duplex parameters, wherein the quantity of bits is based on the second capability’ (Kim: [FIG.11]: step 1103: “gNB”->”UE”: “UE-specific common configuration”, step 1104: “UE-specific dynamic configuration”; the size of second capability would be determined by the UE-specific configuration. Shin: [FIG.6]: “UE A” <-> “UE B”; [0087]: “a radio protocol architecture for SL communication”; [0091]: “A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that the UE needs to know first before transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted. For example, the basic information may include SLSS related information, a duplex mode”; 0002]: “a method for transmitting and receiving data related to a duplex mode in a wireless communication system”. A UE in sidelink communications working as access node would perform the functionality of the gNB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shin’s teaching of a UE in sidelink communications working as access node to broadcast duplex mode over PSBCH with that of Kim for a UE in sidelink communications working as access node to perform the functionality of gNB as taught by Kim in order to transmit and receive data related to a duplex mode over sidelink interface (see reference quotes in element above).
Per claim 10 and 24:
Regarding claim 10, combination of Kim and Shin teaches the UE of claim 1 (discussed above).
Combination of Kim and Shin teaches ‘wherein transmission of the second message is responsive to a successful radio resource control connection with the network node’ (Kim: [FIG.11]: step: 1103: “UE-specific common configuration”; [FIG.8]: “UE-specific slot configuration (RRC signaling)”; [0156]: “The UE-specific configuration information may refer to information transmitted to a specific UE through dedicated RRC information”; transmit UE-specific configuration in response to a successful RRC connection with UE. Shin: [FIG.6]: “UE A” <-> “UE B”; [0087]: “a radio protocol architecture for SL communication”; [0091]: “A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that the UE needs to know first before transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted. For example, the basic information may include SLSS related information, a duplex mode”; 0002]: “a method for transmitting and receiving data related to a duplex mode in a wireless communication system”. A UE in sidelink communications working as access node would perform the functionality of the gNB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shin’s teaching of a UE in sidelink communications working as access node to broadcast duplex mode over PSBCH with that of Kim for a UE in sidelink communications working as access node to perform the functionality of gNB as taught by Kim in order to transmit and receive data related to a duplex mode over sidelink interface (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 24, combination of Kim and Shin teaches the network node of claim 15 (discussed above).
Combination of Kim and Shin teaches teaches ‘wherein reception of the second message is responsive to a successful radio resource control connection with the UE’ (Kim: [FIG.11]: step: 1103: “UE-specific common configuration”; [FIG.8]: “UE-specific slot configuration (RRC signaling)”; [0156]: “The UE-specific configuration information may refer to information transmitted to a specific UE through dedicated RRC information”; receive UE-specific configuration in response to a successful RRC connection with the network. Shin: [FIG.6]: “UE A” <-> “UE B”; [0087]: “a radio protocol architecture for SL communication”; [0091]: “A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that the UE needs to know first before transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted. For example, the basic information may include SLSS related information, a duplex mode”; 0002]: “a method for transmitting and receiving data related to a duplex mode in a wireless communication system”. A UE in sidelink communications working as access node would perform the functionality of the gNB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shin’s teaching of a UE in sidelink communications working as access node to broadcast duplex mode over PSBCH with that of Kim for a UE in sidelink communications working as access node to perform the functionality of gNB as taught by Kim in order to transmit and receive data related to a duplex mode over sidelink interface (see reference quotes in element above).
Per claim 12 and 26:
Regarding claim 12, combination of Kim and Shin teaches the UE of claim 1 (discussed above).
Combination of Kim and Shin teaches ‘wherein the second message is transmitted prior to, during, or after an exchange of data with the network node while the UE and the network node are radio resource control-connected’ (Kim: [FIG.11]: block 1103: “UE-specific common configuration”, could be prior to an exchange of data with UE when in RRC-connected, block 1104: “UE-specific dynamic configuration”; [0135]: “The UE-specific slot configuration information 820 may be provided, from the base station, to the UE, by RRC information or DCI …F symbols may be dynamically allocated to the UE using DCI”; [0137]: “the FD resources are configured/allocated in the time and frequency domains, it is possible to dynamically allocate FD resources considering the communication environment”; could be prior to, during or after an exchange of data with UE when in RRC-connected based on communication environment and requirement. Shin: [FIG.6]: “UE A” <-> “UE B”; [0087]: “a radio protocol architecture for SL communication”; [0091]: “A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that the UE needs to know first before transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted. For example, the basic information may include SLSS related information, a duplex mode”; 0002]: “a method for transmitting and receiving data related to a duplex mode in a wireless communication system”. A UE in sidelink communications working as access node would perform the functionality of the gNB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shin’s teaching of a UE in sidelink communications working as access node to broadcast duplex mode over PSBCH with that of Kim for a UE in sidelink communications working as access node to perform the functionality of gNB as taught by Kim in order to transmit and receive data related to a duplex mode over sidelink interface (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 26, combination of Kim and Shin teaches the network node of claim 15 (discussed above).
Combination of Kim and Shin teaches ‘wherein the second message is received prior to, during, or after an exchange of data with the UE while the network node and the UE are radio resource control-connected’ (Kim: [FIG.11]: block 1103: “UE-specific common configuration”, could be prior to an exchange of data with UE when in RRC-connected, block 1104: “UE-specific dynamic configuration”; [0135]: “The UE-specific slot configuration information 820 may be provided, from the base station, to the UE, by RRC information or DCI …F symbols may be dynamically allocated to the UE using DCI”; [0137]: “the FD resources are configured/allocated in the time and frequency domains, it is possible to dynamically allocate FD resources considering the communication environment”; could be prior to, during or after an exchange of data with UE when in RRC-connected based on communication environment and requirement. Shin: [FIG.6]: “UE A” <-> “UE B”; [0087]: “a radio protocol architecture for SL communication”; [0091]: “A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that the UE needs to know first before transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted. For example, the basic information may include SLSS related information, a duplex mode”; 0002]: “a method for transmitting and receiving data related to a duplex mode in a wireless communication system”. A UE in sidelink communications working as access node would perform the functionality of the gNB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shin’s teaching of a UE in sidelink communications working as access node to broadcast duplex mode over PSBCH with that of Kim for a UE in sidelink communications working as access node to perform the functionality of gNB as taught by Kim in order to transmit and receive data related to a duplex mode over sidelink interface (see reference quotes in element above).
Per claim 14 and 28:
Regarding claim 14, combination of Kim and Shin teaches the UE of claim 1 (discussed above).
Kim teaches ‘the first message is a broadcast message’ (Kim: [FIG.8]: “Cell-specific configuration (SIB1)”; [0081]: “the SIB may be transmitted from the MIB of the physical broadcast channel (PBCH)”); ‘a multicast message, a groupcast message, or a unicast message’ (these are optional).
‘the second message is a groupcast message’ (this is optional); ‘or a unicast message’ ([0156]: “The UE-specific configuration information may refer to information transmitted to a specific UE through dedicated RRC information”, unicast to a given UE).
Regarding claim 28, combination of Kim and Shin teaches the network node of claim 15 (discussed above).
Kim teaches ‘the first message is a broadcast message’ (Kim: [FIG.8]: “Cell-specific configuration (SIB1)”; [0081]: “the SIB may be transmitted from the MIB of the physical broadcast channel (PBCH)”); ‘a multicast message, a groupcast message, or a unicast message’ (these are optional).
‘the second message is a groupcast message’ (this is optional); ‘or a unicast message’ ([0156]: “The UE-specific configuration information may refer to information transmitted to a specific UE through dedicated RRC information”, unicast to a given UE).
Claims 2, 11, 16 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination of Kim and Shin, in view of Su et al. (US 20220182160 A1), hereinafter “Su”.
Per claim 2 and 16:
Regarding claim 2, combination of Kim and Shin teaches the UE of claim 1 (discussed above).
Combination of Kim and Shin teaches ‘transmit, after the third message and while the UE and the network node are radio resource control-connected, the second message that indicates the second capability of the UE’ (Kim: [FIG.11]: step 1103: “UE-specific common configuration”; [0156]: “The UE-specific configuration information may refer to information transmitted to a specific UE through dedicated RRC information”. Shin: [FIG.6]: “UE A” <-> “UE B”; [0087]: “a radio protocol architecture for SL communication”; [0091]: “A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that the UE needs to know first before transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted. For example, the basic information may include SLSS related information, a duplex mode”; 0002]: “a method for transmitting and receiving data related to a duplex mode in a wireless communication system”. A UE in sidelink communications working as access node would perform the functionality of the gNB). However, combination of Kim and Shin fails to expressly teach after the third message.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shin’s teaching of a UE in sidelink communications working as access node to broadcast duplex mode over PSBCH with that of Kim for a UE in sidelink communications working as access node to perform the functionality of gNB as taught by Kim in order to transmit and receive data related to a duplex mode over sidelink interface (see reference quotes in element above).
Kim does not expressly teach, but combination of Shin and Su in the same field of endeavor teaches ‘receive a third message that indicates a third capability of the network node to support the full-duplex communications’ (Su: [FIG.23]: block S2300: “Receive first configuration information”, block S2320: “Transmit feedback information”; [0414]: “in step S2320, the terminal may feed back the feedback information determined according to the measurement result to the base station”; would receive the feedback information from UE. Shin: [FIG.6]: “UE A” <-> “UE B”; [0087]: “a radio protocol architecture for SL communication”; [0091]: “A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that the UE needs to know first before transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted. For example, the basic information may include SLSS related information, a duplex mode”; 0002]: “a method for transmitting and receiving data related to a duplex mode in a wireless communication system”. A UE in sidelink communications working as access node would perform the functionality of the base station);
‘after the third message’ (Su: [FIG.23]: block S2330: “Receive second configuration information”, would transmit second configuration after block S2320. Shin: [FIG.6]: “UE A” <-> “UE B”; [0087]: “a radio protocol architecture for SL communication”; [0091]: “A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that the UE needs to know first before transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted. For example, the basic information may include SLSS related information, a duplex mode”; 0002]: “a method for transmitting and receiving data related to a duplex mode in a wireless communication system”. A UE in sidelink communications working as access node would perform the functionality of the base station);
‘wherein the second capability is based on the third capability’ (Su: [0008]: “transmitting feedback information determined according to the measurement result, receiving second configuration information determined according to the feedback information and determining a duplex mode of a terminal based on the second configuration information. According to the present disclosure, interference during a signal transmission procedure may be reduced”, the second configuration is based on the feedback from UE. Shin: [FIG.6]: “UE A” <-> “UE B”; [0087]: “a radio protocol architecture for SL communication”; [0091]: “A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that the UE needs to know first before transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted. For example, the basic information may include SLSS related information, a duplex mode”; 0002]: “a method for transmitting and receiving data related to a duplex mode in a wireless communication system”. A UE in sidelink communications working as access node would perform the functionality of the base station).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of combination of Shin and Su with that of Kim in order to reduce interference (Su: [0008]: “According to the present disclosure, interference during a signal transmission procedure may be reduced”).
Regarding claim 16, combination of Kim and Shin teaches the network node of claim 15 (discussed above).
Combination of Kim and Shin teaches ‘receive, after the third message and while the network node and the UE are radio resource control-connected, the second message that indicates the second capability of the UE’ (Kim: [FIG.11]: step 1103: “UE-specific common configuration”; [0156]: “The UE-specific configuration information may refer to information transmitted to a specific UE through dedicated RRC information”; would receive UE-specific configuration. Shin: [FIG.6]: “UE A” <-> “UE B”; [0087]: “a radio protocol architecture for SL communication”; [0091]: “A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that the UE needs to know first before transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted. For example, the basic information may include SLSS related information, a duplex mode”; 0002]: “a method for transmitting and receiving data related to a duplex mode in a wireless communication system”. A UE in sidelink communications working as access node would perform the functionality of the gNB). However, combination of Kim and Shin fails to expressly teach after the third message.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shin’s teaching of a UE in sidelink communications working as access node to broadcast duplex mode over PSBCH with that of Kim for a UE in sidelink communications working as access node to perform the functionality of gNB as taught by Kim in order to transmit and receive data related to a duplex mode over sidelink interface (see reference quotes in element above).
Kim does not expressly teach, but combination of Shin and Su teaches ‘transmit a third message that indicates a third capability of the network node to support the full-duplex communications’ (Su: [FIG.23]: block S2300: “Receive first configuration information”, block S2320: “Transmit feedback information”; [0414]: “in step S2320, the terminal may feed back the feedback information determined according to the measurement result to the base station”; would transmit the feedback information to the network. Shin: [FIG.6]: “UE A” <-> “UE B”; [0087]: “a radio protocol architecture for SL communication”; [0091]: “A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that the UE needs to know first before transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted. For example, the basic information may include SLSS related information, a duplex mode”; 0002]: “a method for transmitting and receiving data related to a duplex mode in a wireless communication system”. A UE in sidelink communications working as access node would perform the functionality of the base station);
‘after the third message’ (Su: [FIG.23]: block S2330: “Receive second configuration information”, would receive second configuration after block S2320. Shin: [FIG.6]: “UE A” <-> “UE B”; [0087]: “a radio protocol architecture for SL communication”; [0091]: “A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that the UE needs to know first before transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted. For example, the basic information may include SLSS related information, a duplex mode”; 0002]: “a method for transmitting and receiving data related to a duplex mode in a wireless communication system”. A UE in sidelink communications working as access node would perform the functionality of the base station);
‘wherein the second capability is based on the third capability’ (Su: [0008]: “transmitting feedback information determined according to the measurement result, receiving second configuration information determined according to the feedback information and determining a duplex mode of a terminal based on the second configuration information. According to the present disclosure, interference during a signal transmission procedure may be reduced”, the second configuration is based on the feedback from UE. Shin: [FIG.6]: “UE A” <-> “UE B”; [0087]: “a radio protocol architecture for SL communication”; [0091]: “A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that the UE needs to know first before transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted. For example, the basic information may include SLSS related information, a duplex mode”; 0002]: “a method for transmitting and receiving data related to a duplex mode in a wireless communication system”. A UE in sidelink communications working as access node would perform the functionality of the base station).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of combination of Shin and Su with that of Kim in order to reduce interference (Su: [0008]: “According to the present disclosure, interference during a signal transmission procedure may be reduced”).
Per claim 11 and 25:
Regarding claim 11, combination of Kim and Shin teaches the UE of claim 1 (discussed above).
Kim does not expressly teach, but combination of Shin and Su teaches ‘receive a request to update the first capability’ (Su: [FIG.23]: block S2300: “Receive first configuration information”, block S2320: “Transmit feedback information”; [0414]: “in step S2320, the terminal may feed back the feedback information determined according to the measurement result to the base station”; would receive a request to update the first configuration. Shin: [FIG.6]: “UE A” <-> “UE B”; [0087]: “a radio protocol architecture for SL communication”; [0091]: “A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that the UE needs to know first before transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted. For example, the basic information may include SLSS related information, a duplex mode”; 0002]: “a method for transmitting and receiving data related to a duplex mode in a wireless communication system”. A UE in sidelink communications working as access node would perform the functionality of the base station);
‘wherein the second message is transmitted based on receipt of the request’ (Su: [0008]: “transmitting feedback information determined according to the measurement result, receiving second configuration information determined according to the feedback information and determining a duplex mode of a terminal based on the second configuration information. According to the present disclosure, interference during a signal transmission procedure may be reduced”, the second configuration is based on the request from UE. Shin: [FIG.6]: “UE A” <-> “UE B”; [0087]: “a radio protocol architecture for SL communication”; [0091]: “A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that the UE needs to know first before transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted. For example, the basic information may include SLSS related information, a duplex mode”; 0002]: “a method for transmitting and receiving data related to a duplex mode in a wireless communication system”. A UE in sidelink communications working as access node would perform the functionality of the base station).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of combination of Shin and Su with that of Kim in order to reduce interference (Su: [0008]: “According to the present disclosure, interference during a signal transmission procedure may be reduced”).
Regarding claim 25, combination of Kim and Shin teaches the network node of claim 15 (discussed above).
Kim does not expressly teach, but combination of Shin and Su teaches ‘transmit a request to update the first capability’ (Su: [FIG.23]: block S2300: “Receive first configuration information”, block S2320: “Transmit feedback information”; [0414]: “in step S2320, the terminal may feed back the feedback information determined according to the measurement result to the base station”; would transmit a request to update the first configuration. Shin: [FIG.6]: “UE A” <-> “UE B”; [0087]: “a radio protocol architecture for SL communication”; [0091]: “A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that the UE needs to know first before transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted. For example, the basic information may include SLSS related information, a duplex mode”; 0002]: “a method for transmitting and receiving data related to a duplex mode in a wireless communication system”. A UE in sidelink communications working as access node would perform the functionality of the base station);
‘wherein the second message is transmitted based on receipt of the request’ (Su: [0008]: “transmitting feedback information determined according to the measurement result, receiving second configuration information determined according to the feedback information and determining a duplex mode of a terminal based on the second configuration information. According to the present disclosure, interference during a signal transmission procedure may be reduced”, the second configuration is based on the request from UE. Shin: [FIG.6]: “UE A” <-> “UE B”; [0087]: “a radio protocol architecture for SL communication”; [0091]: “A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that the UE needs to know first before transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted. For example, the basic information may include SLSS related information, a duplex mode”; 0002]: “a method for transmitting and receiving data related to a duplex mode in a wireless communication system”. A UE in sidelink communications working as access node would perform the functionality of the base station).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of combination of Shin and Su with that of Kim in order to reduce interference (Su: [0008]: “According to the present disclosure, interference during a signal transmission procedure may be reduced”).
Claims 4, 6, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination of Kim and Shin, in view of Kazmi et al. (US 20170054544 A1), hereinafter “Kazmi”.
Per claim 4 and 18:
Regarding claim 4, combination of Kim and Shin teaches the UE of claim 1 (discussed above).
Combination of Kim and Shin teaches ‘communicate with the network node in accordance with the first capability indicated in the first message’ (Kim: [FIG.11]: step 1102: “UE”: “Identify serving cell slot configuration”; [0042]: “performing communication functions”; could communicate based on the first capability. Shin: [FIG.6]: “UE A” <-> “UE B”; [0087]: “a radio protocol architecture for SL communication”; [0091]: “A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that the UE needs to know first before transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted. For example, the basic information may include SLSS related information, a duplex mode”; 0002]: “a method for transmitting and receiving data related to a duplex mode in a wireless communication system”. A UE in sidelink communications working as access node would perform the functionality of the gNB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shin’s teaching of a UE in sidelink communications working as access node to broadcast duplex mode over PSBCH with that of Kim for a UE in sidelink communications working as access node to perform the functionality of gNB as taught by Kim in order to transmit and receive data related to a duplex mode over sidelink interface (see reference quotes in element above).
Kim does not expressly teach, but combination of Shin and Kazmi in the same field of endeavor teaches ‘transmit a control message that indicates a power level of the UE or a processing load of the UE’ (Kazmi: [0070]: “the base station 14, sends a CSI configuration message to the UE 12. This message may indicate whether the UE shall transmit a report indicative of one of: CSI-FD, E-CSI-FD, and both CSI-FD and E-CSI-FD”; [0102]: “In case cell load is above a threshold the network node may configure one or more FD capable UEs to perform E-CSI-FD reporting”, transmit a CSI configuration (control) message that indicates a processing load of base station. Shin: [FIG.6]: “UE A” <-> “UE B”; [0087]: “a radio protocol architecture for SL communication”; [0091]: “A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that the UE needs to know first before transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted. For example, the basic information may include SLSS related information, a duplex mode”; 0002]: “a method for transmitting and receiving data related to a duplex mode in a wireless communication system”. A UE in sidelink communications working as access node would perform the functionality of the base station);
‘initiate a modification procedure or a tear-down procedure for the full-duplex communications based on the control message indicating that the power level of the UE is less than a power level threshold or the processing load of the UE is greater than a processing load threshold’ (Kazmi: [0102]: “In case cell load is above a threshold the network node may configure one or more FD capable UEs to perform E-CSI-FD reporting. In order to decrease a cell load or interference some of the UEs may be in scheduled or configured to HD mode”; [0014]: “half-duplex (HD)”; initiate a modification procedure or a tear-down procedure to configure UE as half-duplex mode instead of full-duplex mode if the processing load of base station is greater than a threshold. Shin: [FIG.6]: “UE A” <-> “UE B”; [0087]: “a radio protocol architecture for SL communication”; [0091]: “A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that the UE needs to know first before transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted. For example, the basic information may include SLSS related information, a duplex mode”; 0002]: “a method for transmitting and receiving data related to a duplex mode in a wireless communication system”. A UE in sidelink communications working as access node would perform the functionality of the base station).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of combination of Shin and Kazmi with that of Kim in order to decrease cell load (Kazmi: [0102]: “In order to decrease a cell load or interference some of the UEs may be in scheduled or configured to HD mode”).
Regarding claim 18, combination of Kim and Shin teaches the network node of claim 15 (discussed above).
Combination of Kim and Shin teaches ‘communicate with the UE in accordance with the first capability indicated in the first message’ (Kim: [FIG.11]: step 1102: “UE”: “Identify serving cell slot configuration”; [0042]: “performing communication functions”; could communicate based on the first capability. Shin: [FIG.6]: “UE A” <-> “UE B”; [0087]: “a radio protocol architecture for SL communication”; [0091]: “A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that the UE needs to know first before transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted. For example, the basic information may include SLSS related information, a duplex mode”; 0002]: “a method for transmitting and receiving data related to a duplex mode in a wireless communication system”. A UE in sidelink communications working as access node would perform the functionality of the gNB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shin’s teaching of a UE in sidelink communications working as access node to broadcast duplex mode over PSBCH with that of Kim for a UE in sidelink communications working as access node to perform the functionality of gNB as taught by Kim in order to transmit and receive data related to a duplex mode over sidelink interface (see reference quotes in element above).
Kim does not expressly teach, but combination of Shin and Kazmi teaches ‘receive a control message that indicates a power level of the second network node UE or a processing load of the UE’ (Kazmi: [0070]: “the base station 14, sends a CSI configuration message to the UE 12. This message may indicate whether the UE shall transmit a report indicative of one of: CSI-FD, E-CSI-FD, and both CSI-FD and E-CSI-FD”; [0102]: “In case cell load is above a threshold the network node may configure one or more FD capable UEs to perform E-CSI-FD reporting”, receive a CSI configuration (control) message that indicates a processing load of base station. Shin: [FIG.6]: “UE A” <-> “UE B”; [0087]: “a radio protocol architecture for SL communication”; [0091]: “A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that the UE needs to know first before transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted. For example, the basic information may include SLSS related information, a duplex mode”; 0002]: “a method for transmitting and receiving data related to a duplex mode in a wireless communication system”. A UE in sidelink communications working as access node would perform the functionality of the base station);
‘perform a modification procedure or a tear-down procedure for the full-duplex communications based on the control message indicating that the power level of the UE is less than a power level threshold or the processing load of the UE is greater than a processing load threshold’ (Kazmi: [0102]: “In case cell load is above a threshold the network node may configure one or more FD capable UEs to perform E-CSI-FD reporting. In order to decrease a cell load or interference some of the UEs may be in scheduled or configured to HD mode”; [0014]: “half-duplex (HD)”; perform a modification procedure or a tear-down procedure to operate with half-duplex mode instead of full-duplex mode if the processing load of base station is greater than a threshold. Shin: [FIG.6]: “UE A” <-> “UE B”; [0087]: “a radio protocol architecture for SL communication”; [0091]: “A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that the UE needs to know first before transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted. For example, the basic information may include SLSS related information, a duplex mode”; 0002]: “a method for transmitting and receiving data related to a duplex mode in a wireless communication system”. A UE in sidelink communications working as access node would perform the functionality of the base station).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of combination of Shin and Kazmi with that of Kim in order to decrease cell load (Kazmi: [0102]: “In order to decrease a cell load or interference some of the UEs may be in scheduled or configured to HD mode”).
Per claim 6 and 20:
Regarding claim 6, combination of Kim and Shin teaches the UE of claim 1 (discussed above).
Kim does not expressly teach, but combination of Shin and Kazmi teaches ‘wherein the second capability indicates that the UE no longer supports the full-duplex communications’ (Kazmi: [0101]: “In order to decrease a cell load or interference some of the UEs may be in scheduled or configured to HD mode”; [0014]: “half-duplex (HD)”; indicate to UE no-longer supports the full-duplex mode. Shin: [FIG.6]: “UE A” <-> “UE B”; [0087]: “a radio protocol architecture for SL communication”; [0091]: “A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that the UE needs to know first before transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted. For example, the basic information may include SLSS related information, a duplex mode”; 0002]: “a method for transmitting and receiving data related to a duplex mode in a wireless communication system”. A UE in sidelink communications working as access node would perform the functionality of the base station).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of combination of Shin and Kazmi with that of Kim in order to decrease cell load (Kazmi: [0102]: “In order to decrease a cell load or interference some of the UEs may be in scheduled or configured to HD mode”).
Regarding claim 20, combination of Kim and Shin teaches the network node of claim 15 (discussed above).
Kim does not expressly teach, but combination of Shin and Kazmi teaches ‘wherein the second capability indicates that the UE no longer supports the full-duplex communications’ (Kazmi: [0101]: “In order to decrease a cell load or interference some of the UEs may be in scheduled or configured to HD mode”; [0014]: “half-duplex (HD)”; indicate to UE no-longer supports the full-duplex mode. Shin: [FIG.6]: “UE A” <-> “UE B”; [0087]: “a radio protocol architecture for SL communication”; [0091]: “A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel on which basic (system) information that the UE needs to know first before transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted. For example, the basic information may include SLSS related information, a duplex mode”; 0002]: “a method for transmitting and receiving data related to a duplex mode in a wireless communication system”. A UE in sidelink communications working as access node would perform the functionality of the base station).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of combination of Shin and Kazmi with that of Kim in order to decrease cell load (Kazmi: [0102]: “In order to decrease a cell load or interference some of the UEs may be in scheduled or configured to HD mode”).
Conclusion
/G.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2462
/YEMANE MESFIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2462