DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 13-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zurbrick et al. (U.S. 2020/0294474, hereafter referred to as Zurbrick).
Regarding claim 1, Zurbrick teaches a computer-implemented method, comprising: capturing, by one or more processors, using one or more imaging devices of an Augmented Reality (AR) system, tracking video frame data of a real-world scene (see para. 0034, ‘environment -tracking API’); measuring, by one or more processors, using one or more strain gauges 202 of the AR system, strain data of strains of a frame of the AR system as the tracking video frame data is captured (see para. 0036, ‘the processor may receive strain data from the strain gauges 202 and use this strain data to account for the real-time positional relationship between the sensor components 204 in performance of the environment-tracking functionality’); generating, by the one or more processors, a corrected frame model of the frame based on the strain data, the tracking video frame data, and a frame model of the frame (see para. 0036, ‘Ultimately, the controller accommodates in real-time for the current angular offset and/or linear distance between the first sensor component 204(1) and the second sensor component 204(2)’); and generating, by the one or more processors, corrected tracking data based on the corrected frame model and the tracking video frame data (see para. 0009, ‘the controller may receive the tracking data from the sensor assembly and also the strain data from the strain gauge(s). Upon receiving the strain data, the controller may analyze the strain data to determine the current positional-relationship between the sensor components (e.g., in terms of distance, position in space, and/or angle between sensor components). Based on the analysis of the strain data, the controller may then update the environmental-tracking function to dynamically generate a real-time environment-tracking function that accounts for the real-time positional relationship between the first sensor component and the second sensor component’).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Zurbrick further teaches wherein at least one of the one or more strain gauges 202(2) are mounted on a bridge portion of the frame (see figure 3).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Zurbrick further teaches wherein the AR system comprises a head- worn AR apparatus (see figure 4).
Regarding claim 8, Zurbrick teaches an AR system comprising: a frame 102; one or more strain gauges 202 operable to measure strains of the frame; one or more imaging devices 204 mounted to the frame; one or more processors 110; and a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the AR system to perform operations comprising: capturing, using the one or more imaging devices, tracking video frame data of a real-world scene (see para. 0027, ‘The controller 108 includes one or more logic devices and one or more computer memory devices storing instructions executable by the logic device(s) to accommodate in real-time for changes in the positional-relationship between the positionally sensitive components 104 while performing functionality uses algorithms that mathematically account for the positional-relationship between the positionally sensitive components 104 (e.g., environmental tracking using structured light, stereo vision, etc.)’); measuring, by one or more processors, using the one or more strain gauges of the AR system, strain data of the strains of the frame of the AR system as the tracking video frame data is captured (see para. 0036, ‘the processor may receive strain data from the strain gauges 202 and use this strain data to account for the real-time positional relationship between the sensor components 204 in performance of the environment-tracking functionality’); generating, by the one or more processors, a corrected frame model of the frame based on the strain data, the tracking video frame data, and a frame model of the frame (see para. 0036, ‘Ultimately, the controller accommodates in real-time for the current angular offset and/or linear distance between the first sensor component 204(1) and the second sensor component 204(2)’); and generating, by the one or more processors, corrected tracking data based on the corrected frame model and the tracking video frame data (see para. 0009, ‘the controller may receive the tracking data from the sensor assembly and also the strain data from the strain gauge(s). Upon receiving the strain data, the controller may analyze the strain data to determine the current positional-relationship between the sensor components (e.g., in terms of distance, position in space, and/or angle between sensor components). Based on the analysis of the strain data, the controller may then update the environmental-tracking function to dynamically generate a real-time environment-tracking function that accounts for the real-time positional relationship between the first sensor component and the second sensor component’).
Regarding claim 15, Zurbrick teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (see para. 0053), the computer-readable storage medium including instructions that when executed by a computer, cause the computer to perform operations comprising: capturing, using one or more imaging devices of an AR system, tracking video frame data of a real-world scene; measuring, by one or more processors, using one or more strain gauges of the AR system, strain data of strains of a frame of the AR system as the tracking video frame data is captured (see para. 0027, ‘The controller 108 includes one or more logic devices and one or more computer memory devices storing instructions executable by the logic device(s) to accommodate in real-time for changes in the positional-relationship between the positionally sensitive components 104 while performing functionality uses algorithms that mathematically account for the positional-relationship between the positionally sensitive components 104 (e.g., environmental tracking using structured light, stereo vision, etc.)’); generating, by the one or more processors, a corrected frame model of the frame based on the strain data, the tracking video frame data, and a frame model of the frame (see para. 0036, ‘Ultimately, the controller accommodates in real-time for the current angular offset and/or linear distance between the first sensor component 204(1) and the second sensor component 204(2)’); and generating, by the one or more processors, corrected tracking data based on the corrected frame model and the tracking video frame data (see para. 0009, ‘the controller may receive the tracking data from the sensor assembly and also the strain data from the strain gauge(s). Upon receiving the strain data, the controller may analyze the strain data to determine the current positional-relationship between the sensor components (e.g., in terms of distance, position in space, and/or angle between sensor components). Based on the analysis of the strain data, the controller may then update the environmental-tracking function to dynamically generate a real-time environment-tracking function that accounts for the real-time positional relationship between the first sensor component and the second sensor component’).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 9-12, and 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JAMEL E WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855