DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission filed on 10/10/2025 has been entered. Claim(s) 1-30 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 12, 14, 19, 21, 23, 28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2023/0180110 A1), hereinafter “KIM” in view of Cui (US 2025/0071700 A1), hereinafter “CUI”.
Regarding claim 1, KIM teaches, ‘An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:’
(Paragraph [0001], apparatus … in a wireless communication system):
‘a memory;’ (Paragraph [0014], a memory configured to store instructions);
‘and at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to:’ (Paragraph [0014], a processor configured to execute the instructions to):
‘…, or both the first type of SSB and the second type of SSB for an operation based on a
configuration of the operation,’ (Paragraph [0083], the UE receives a synchronization signal block (SSB) from the BS. Paragraph [0086], SSBs are periodically transmitted with an SSB periodicity. Paragraph [0167], SSB may be divided into a CD-SSB (corresponds to first type of SSB) and a non-CD-SSB (corresponds to second type of SSB), and the UE and BS may transmit/receive at least one of the CD-SSB and/or non-CD-SSB. Paragraph [0232], the BS may support access of the RedCap UE (corresponds to second group of UEs) by disposing a separate SSB at a time and/or frequency location different from that of a CD-SSB for the legacy NR UE (corresponds to first group of UEs). Paragraph [0245], a Non-CD-SSB for NR cell access of the RedCap UE may serve as a non-CD-SSB that does not have SIB1 scheduling information and is used for measurement to the legacy NR UE),
‘and perform the operation based on a measurement of at least one of the first type of SSB, the second type of SSB, or a combination thereof.’ (Paragraph [0167], the UE may perform cell search, system information acquisition, beam alignment for initial access, and/or DL measurement based on the SSB. Paragraph [0245], a Non-CD-SSB for NR cell access of the RedCap UE may serve as a non-CD-SSB that does not have SIB1 scheduling information and is used for measurement to the legacy NR UE).
KIM does not explicitly teach but CUI teaches, ‘measure at least one of a first type of
synchronization signal block (SSB) that is periodically transmitted to a first group of user equipments (UEs), a second type of SSB that is periodically transmitted within a time window to a second group of UEs, …’ (CUI – Paragraph [0020], The PBCH in turn, encodes system information (including but not limited to a Master Information Block (MIB), system information block (SIB), and so on) that can be parsed by the UE and used to communicate with the cell and/or to perform one or more measurements. Because each SSB ( or more particularly each PSS and SSS combination), is specific to a particular cell, SSBs are often more precisely identified as cell-defining SSBs or "CD-SSBs.". Paragraph [0030], NCD-SSB contains network-specific information, and is not particular to (e.g., does not on its own identify) a particular serving cell or non-serving cell participating in that network. A RedCap UE can obtain, monitor, and/or measure network-specific information ( e.g., measurement objects, measurement gaps) in an efficient manner without necessarily regularly communicably coupling to, and/or camping on, a particular cell of that network (corresponds to periodic transmission within a time window)).
‘wherein the apparatus belongs to the second group of UEs, and wherein the first group of UEs include one or more UEs of a first type and one or more UEs of a second type, and wherein the second group of UEs include one or more UEs of the second type, wherein the one or more UEs of the second type have reduced capabilities relative to the one or more UEs of the first type;’ (CUI- Abstract, a reduced capability (RedCap) user equipment (UE) (corresponds to second group of UEs) can be configured to traverse a synchronization raster to locate a cell-defining synchronization signal block (CD-SSB) (corresponds to first type). The CD-SSB can be used to derive, calculate, or otherwise obtain time/frequency information of a non-cell-defining synchronization signal block (NCD-SSB) (corresponds to second type) which may be monitored and/or measured by the RedCap UE in a more power efficient manner. Paragraph [0022], CD-SSBs can be located substantially anywhere. As such, a 5G NR UE (corresponds to first type of UEs) traverses a sync raster which identifies a limited subset of possible CD-SSB locations. Paragraph [0025], locating, receiving, and monitoring CD-SSBs are essential operations for any UE configured to operate in a 5G NR network);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the teaching of KIM which already discloses providing separate SSB resources (e.g., CD-SSB and non-CD-SSB) for different classes of UEs such as legacy NR and RedCap UEs to incorporate the RedCap/NCD-SSB monitoring behavior within a time window taught in CUI, thereby enabling periodic or windowed NCD-SSB measurement by RedCap UEs. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of CUI into KIM is that CUI provides a RedCap UE may be configured to presume that an NCD-SSB received in an expected time/frequency location determined based on a received CD-SSB may be presumed to originate from the same physical cell as the original CD-SSB, which in tum can benefit the RedCap UE (e.g., by permitting the Red Cap UE to make assumptions about physical channel parameters, QCI restrictions, beam indexes, and so on. (See paragraph [0086], CUI)
Regarding claims 3 and 14, KIM and CUI teach, the apparatus of claim 1, KIM further teaches,
‘wherein the operation includes a determination of a random access channel occasion, a
determination of a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state for a downlink channel, a determination of an uplink spatial relation for an uplink channel, a layer 1 reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) reporting operation, a radio link monitoring operation, a beam failure detection, a candidate beam detection, or a beam failure recovery operation.’ (Paragraph [0116], a RACH configuration for a cell may be included in SI about the cell and provided to the UE. The RACH configuration may include information on the SCS (subcarrier spacing) of the PRACH, available preambles, preamble formats, and so on. The RACH configuration may include information about association between SSBs and RACH (time-frequency) resources. The UE transmits a random access preamble on a RACH time-frequency resource associated with a detected or selected SSB).
Regarding claims 8, 19 and 28, KIM and CUI teach, the apparatus of claim 1, KIM further teaches, ‘wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:’ (Paragraph [0014], a processor configured to execute the instructions to):
KIM does not explicitly teach but CUI teaches, ‘for a first group of operations, measure the first type of SSB;’ (CUI – Paragraph [0020], The PBCH in turn, encodes system information (including but not limited to a Master Information Block (MIB), system information block (SIB), and so on) that can be parsed by the UE and used to communicate with the cell and/or to perform one or more measurements. Because each SSB ( or more particularly each PSS and SSS combination), is specific to a particular cell, SSBs are often more precisely identified as cell-defining SSBs or "CD-SSBs.");
‘for a second group of operations, measure the second type of SSB;’ (Paragraph [0030], NCD-SSB contains network-specific information, and is not particular to (e.g., does not on its own identify) a particular serving cell or non-serving cell participating in that network. A RedCap UE can obtain, monitor, and/or measure network-specific information ( e.g., measurement objects, measurement gaps) in an efficient manner without necessarily regularly communicably coupling to, and/or camping on, a particular cell of that network);
‘and for a third group of operations, measure both the first type of SSB and the second type of SSB.’ (CUI – Paragraph [0046], a RedCap UE can assume that an NCD-SSB is provided by the same cell as a CD-SSB, despite that the NCD-SSB does not identify and/or is not specifically associated with any particular cell).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the teaching of KIM which already discloses providing separate SSB resources (e.g., CD-SSB and non-CD-SSB) for different classes of UEs such as legacy NR and RedCap UEs to incorporate the RedCap/NCD-SSB monitoring behavior within a time window taught in CUI, thereby enabling periodic or windowed NCD-SSB measurement by RedCap UEs. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of CUI into KIM is that CUI provides a RedCap UE may be configured to presume that an NCD-SSB received in an expected time/frequency location determined based on a received CD-SSB may be presumed to originate from the same physical cell as the original CD-SSB, which in tum can benefit the RedCap UE (e.g., by permitting the Red Cap UE to make assumptions about physical channel parameters, QCI restrictions, beam indexes, and so on. (See paragraph [0086], CUI)
Regarding claim 10, 21 and 30, KIM and CUI teach, the apparatus of claim 1,
KIM does not explicitly teach but CUI teaches, ‘wherein a first SSB symbol repetition pattern of
the first type of SSB is different from a second SSB symbol repetition pattern of the second type of SSB.’ (CUI – paragraph [0044], a periodicity of an NCD-SSB can be inferred, calculated, or derived from a known periodicity of a received CD-SSB (corresponds to different) … a MIB or SIB may define a schedule or pattern. Paragraph [0024], CD-SSB are required by the 3GPP specification to be broadcast on a repeated basis, typically with a periodicity of 20 ms).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the teaching of KIM which already discloses providing separate SSB resources (e.g., CD-SSB and non-CD-SSB) for different classes of UEs such as legacy NR and RedCap UEs to incorporate the RedCap/NCD-SSB monitoring behavior within a time window taught in CUI, thereby enabling periodic or windowed NCD-SSB measurement by RedCap UEs. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of CUI into KIM is that CUI provides a RedCap UE may be configured to presume that an NCD-SSB received in an expected time/frequency location determined based on a received CD-SSB may be presumed to originate from the same physical cell as the original CD-SSB, which in tum can benefit the RedCap UE (e.g., by permitting the Red Cap UE to make assumptions about physical channel parameters, QCI restrictions, beam indexes, and so on. (See paragraph [0086], CUI)
Regarding claim 12, KIM teaches, a method of wireless communication for a user equipment (UE), comprising:’ (Paragraph [0005], method … by a user equipment (UE)… wireless communication system):
‘…, or both the first type of SSB and the second type of SSB for an operation based on a
configuration of the operation,’ (Paragraph [0083], the UE receives a synchronization signal block (SSB) from the BS. Paragraph [0086], SSBs are periodically transmitted with an SSB periodicity. Paragraph [0167], SSB may be divided into a CD-SSB (corresponds to first type of SSB) and a non-CD-SSB (corresponds to second type of SSB), and the UE and BS may transmit/receive at least one of the CD-SSB and/or non-CD-SSB. Paragraph [0232], the BS may support access of the RedCap UE (corresponds to second group of UEs) by disposing a separate SSB at a time and/or frequency location different from that of a CD-SSB for the legacy NR UE (corresponds to first group of UEs). Paragraph [0245], a Non-CD-SSB for NR cell access of the RedCap UE may serve as a non-CD-SSB that does not have SIB1 scheduling information and is used for measurement to the legacy NR UE),
‘and performing the operation based on a measurement of at least one of the first type of SSB, the second type of SSB, or a combination thereof.’ (Paragraph [0167], the UE may perform cell search, system information acquisition, beam alignment for initial access, and/or DL measurement based on the SSB. Paragraph [0245], a Non-CD-SSB for NR cell access of the RedCap UE may serve as a non-CD-SSB that does not have SIB1 scheduling information and is used for measurement to the legacy NR UE).
KIM does not explicitly teach but CUI teaches, ‘measuring at least one of a first type of
synchronization signal block (SSB) that is periodically transmitted to a first group of UEs, a second type of SSB that is periodically transmitted within a time window to a second group of UEs, …’ (CUI – Paragraph [0020], The PBCH in turn, encodes system information (including but not limited to a Master Information Block (MIB), system information block (SIB), and so on) that can be parsed by the UE and used to communicate with the cell and/or to perform one or more measurements. Because each SSB ( or more particularly each PSS and SSS combination), is specific to a particular cell, SSBs are often more precisely identified as cell-defining SSBs or "CD-SSBs.". Paragraph [0030], NCD-SSB contains network-specific information, and is not particular to (e.g., does not on its own identify) a particular serving cell or non-serving cell participating in that network. A RedCap UE can obtain, monitor, and/or measure network-specific information ( e.g., measurement objects, measurement gaps) in an efficient manner without necessarily regularly communicably coupling to, and/or camping on, a particular cell of that network (corresponds to periodic transmission within a time window)).
‘wherein the UE belongs to the second group of UEs, and wherein the first group of UEs include one or more UEs of a first type and one or more UEs of a second type, and wherein the second group of UEs include one or more UEs of the second type, wherein the one or more UEs of the second type have reduced capabilities relative to the one or more UEs of the first type;’ (CUI- Abstract, a reduced capability (RedCap) user equipment (UE) (corresponds to second group of UEs) can be configured to traverse a synchronization raster to locate a cell-defining synchronization signal block (CD-SSB) (corresponds to first type). The CD-SSB can be used to derive, calculate, or otherwise obtain time/frequency information of a non-cell-defining synchronization signal block (NCD-SSB) (corresponds to second type) which may be monitored and/or measured by the RedCap UE in a more power efficient manner. Paragraph [0022], CD-SSBs can be located substantially anywhere. As such, a 5G NR UE (corresponds to first type of UEs) traverses a sync raster which identifies a limited subset of possible CD-SSB locations. Paragraph [0025], locating, receiving, and monitoring CD-SSBs are essential operations for any UE configured to operate in a 5G NR network);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the teaching of KIM which already discloses providing separate SSB resources (e.g., CD-SSB and non-CD-SSB) for different classes of UEs such as legacy NR and RedCap UEs to incorporate the RedCap/NCD-SSB monitoring behavior within a time window taught in CUI, thereby enabling periodic or windowed NCD-SSB measurement by RedCap UEs. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of CUI into KIM is that CUI provides a RedCap UE may be configured to presume that an NCD-SSB received in an expected time/frequency location determined based on a received CD-SSB may be presumed to originate from the same physical cell as the original CD-SSB, which in tum can benefit the RedCap UE (e.g., by permitting the Red Cap UE to make assumptions about physical channel parameters, QCI restrictions, beam indexes, and so on. (See paragraph [0086], CUI)
Regarding claim 23, KIM teaches, ‘An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:’ (Paragraph [0001], apparatus … in a wireless communication system):
‘a memory;’ (Paragraph [0014], a memory configured to store instructions);
‘and at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to:’ (Paragraph [0014], a processor configured to execute the instructions to):
‘…, or both the first type of SSB and the second type of SSB,’ (Paragraph [0083], the UE receives a synchronization signal block (SSB) from the BS. Paragraph [0086], SSBs are periodically transmitted with an SSB periodicity. Paragraph [0167], SSB may be divided into a CD-SSB (corresponds to first type of SSB) and a non-CD-SSB (corresponds to second type of SSB), and the UE and BS may transmit/receive at least one of the CD-SSB and/or non-CD-SSB. Paragraph [0232], the BS may support access of the RedCap UE (corresponds to second group of UEs) by disposing a separate SSB at a time and/or frequency location different from that of a CD-SSB for the legacy NR UE (corresponds to first group of UEs). Paragraph [0245], a Non-CD-SSB for NR cell access of the RedCap UE may serve as a non-CD-SSB that does not have SIB1 scheduling information and is used for measurement to the legacy NR UE),
‘and receive a message associated with an operation of a UE based on a measurement of at least one of the first type of SSB, the second type of SSB, or a combination thereof.’ (Paragraph [0167], the UE may perform cell search, system information acquisition, beam alignment for initial access, and/or DL measurement based on the SSB. Paragraph [0245], a Non-CD-SSB for NR cell access of the RedCap UE may serve as a non-CD-SSB that does not have SIB1 scheduling information and is used for measurement to the legacy NR UE).
KIM does not explicitly teach but CUI teaches, ‘transmit at least one of a first type of synchronization signal block (SSB) periodically to a first group of user equipments (UEs), a second type of SSB periodically within a time window to a second group of UEs,’ (CUI- Abstract, a reduced capability (RedCap) user equipment (UE) (corresponds to second group of UEs) can be configured to traverse a synchronization raster to locate a cell-defining synchronization signal block (CD-SSB) (corresponds to first type). The CD-SSB can be used to derive, calculate, or otherwise obtain time/frequency information of a non-cell-defining synchronization signal block (NCD-SSB) (corresponds to second type) which may be monitored and/or measured by the RedCap UE in a more power efficient manner. Paragraph [0022], CD-SSBs can be located substantially anywhere. As such, a 5G NR UE (corresponds to first type of UEs) traverses a sync raster which identifies a limited subset of possible CD-SSB locations. Paragraph [0025], locating, receiving, and monitoring CD-SSBs are essential operations for any UE configured to operate in a 5G NR network);
‘wherein the first group of UEs include one or more UEs of a first type and one or more UEs of a second type, and wherein the second group of UEs include one or more UEs of the second type, wherein the one or more UEs of the second type have reduced capabilities relative to the one or more UEs of the first type;’ (CUI- Abstract, a reduced capability (RedCap) user equipment (UE) (corresponds to second group of UEs) can be configured to traverse a synchronization raster to locate a cell-defining synchronization signal block (CD-SSB) (corresponds to first type). The CD-SSB can be used to derive, calculate, or otherwise obtain time/frequency information of a non-cell-defining synchronization signal block (NCD-SSB) (corresponds to second type) which may be monitored and/or measured by the RedCap UE in a more power efficient manner. Paragraph [0022], CD-SSBs can be located substantially anywhere. As such, a 5G NR UE (corresponds to first type of UEs) traverses a sync raster which identifies a limited subset of possible CD-SSB locations. Paragraph [0025], locating, receiving, and monitoring CD-SSBs are essential operations for any UE configured to operate in a 5G NR network);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the teaching of KIM which already discloses providing separate SSB resources (e.g., CD-SSB and non-CD-SSB) for different classes of UEs such as legacy NR and RedCap UEs to incorporate the RedCap/NCD-SSB monitoring behavior within a time window taught in CUI, thereby enabling periodic or windowed NCD-SSB measurement by RedCap UEs. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of CUI into KIM is that CUI provides a RedCap UE may be configured to presume that an NCD-SSB received in an expected time/frequency location determined based on a received CD-SSB may be presumed to originate from the same physical cell as the original CD-SSB, which in tum can benefit the RedCap UE (e.g., by permitting the Red Cap UE to make assumptions about physical channel parameters, QCI restrictions, beam indexes, and so on. (See paragraph [0086], CUI)
Claims 2, 13 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM in view of CUI in view of Liu (US 2020/0404616 A1), hereinafter “LIU”
Regarding claims 2, 13 and 24, KIM and CUI teach, the apparatus of claim 1, KIM further teaches, ‘wherein the first type of SSB is a cell-defining SSB (CD-SSB) and the second type of SSB is a non-cell-defining SSB (NCD-SSB), wherein the CD-SSB is constantly activated and is broadcast to all UEs, …’ (Paragraph [0167], SSB may be divided into a CD-SSB (corresponds to first type of SSB) and a non-CD-SSB (corresponds to second type of SSB), and the UE and BS may transmit/receive at least one of the CD-SSB and/or non-CD-SSB. Paragraph [0005], performing initial cell access by a UE (corresponds to first type of UE) … receiving a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) signal of a first cell through cell search; receiving system information block 1 (SIB1)-scheduling information in a common search space (CSS) set related to the PBCH signal … The UE may be a second type of UE with reduced capability to support a narrower bandwidth than a first type of UE (corresponds to CD-SSB is constantly on and is broadcast to all UEs).)
KIM and CUI do not explicitly teach but LIU teaches, ‘… and wherein the NCD-SSB is activated by
downlink control information (DCI), a medium access control (MAC)-control entity (CE), or dedicated radio resource control (RRC) signaling.’ (LIU - paragraph [0057], as illustrated in FIG. 2, a cell-defining SSB 21 is transmitted periodically and a transmission cycle of a non-cell-defining SSB 22 is configured by the RRC signaling).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of LIU with KIM and CUI because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of LIU into KIM and CUI is that LIU provides a device for paging synchronization applied to UE, to receive an RRC signaling and paging configuration information from a base station respectively, the RRC signaling including indication information, the indication information being used for indicating whether a non-cell-defining SSB is capable of being used for establishing paging synchronization, and the paging configuration information being used for configuring a paging occasion. In response to that the non-cell-defining SSB has a QCL relationship with the paging occasion and the indication information is used for indicating that the non-cell-defining SSB is capable of being used for establishing the paging synchronization. (See paragraph [0007], LIU)
Claims 4-5, 7, 15-16, 18, 25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM in view of CUI in view of Hu et al. (US 2025/0150876 A1), hereinafter “HU”
Regarding claims 4, 15 and 25, KIM and CUI teach, the apparatus of claim 1, KIM further
teaches, ‘wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:’ (Paragraphs [0014], the processor may be configured to):
KIM and CUI do not explicitly teach but HU teaches, ‘receive the configuration of the operation, wherein the configuration of the operation indicates to use the first type of SSB, the second type of SSB, or both the first type of SSB and the second type of SSB for the operation.’ (HU - paragraph [0039], the measurement configuration parameters include a parameter for indicating an RRM measurement based on a cell defining synchronized signal block (CD-SSB) and a parameter for indicating an RRM measurement based on a non-cell defining synchronized signal block (NCD-SSB)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of HU with KIM and CUI because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of HU into KIM and CUI is that HU provides the beneficial effects in a scenario that there is both a measurement based on the NCD-SSB and a measurement based on the CD-SSB, the network device transmits a measurement configuration parameter for indicating the RRM measurement based on the CD-SSB and a measurement configuration parameter for indicating the RRM measurement based on the NCD-SSB to the user equipment. Based on the above measurement configuration parameter, the user equipment can perform the RRM measurement based on the CD-SSB and the RRM measurement based on the NCD-SSB. (See paragraphs [0319]-[0320], HU)
Regarding claims 5 and 16, KIM and CUI teach, the apparatus of claim 1,
KIM and CUI do not explicitly teach but HU teaches, ‘wherein the configuration of the operation
is based on one or more priority rules, wherein the one or more priority rules indicates to measure at least one of the first type of SSB, the second type of SSB, or both the first type of SSB and the second type of SSB for the operation based on at least one of a duplex mode of the apparatus, a radio resource control (RRC) state, a timer configuration, a type of mobility procedure, a status of multi-connectivity with one or multiple network entities, first execution criteria used for conditional reconfiguration of the measurement, second execution criteria used for measurement reporting, a measurement gap configuration, a location measurement configuration, a paging search space configuration, a capability of the apparatus, or one or more conditions for relaxing a layer 1 measurement or a layer 3 measurement.’ (HU – paragraphs [0283]-[0286], a priority of the CD-SSB and a priority of the NCD-SSB are determined based on an indication of a network device, or determined based on a specification of a communication protocol. Performing, in response to a measurement object being configured with a CD-SSB and an NCD-SSB, a measurement for an intra-frequency (corresponds to a type of mobility procedure) SSB of the measurement object, where the intra-frequency SSB is the CD-SSB or the NCD-SSB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of HU with KIM and CUI because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of HU into KIM and CUI is that HU provides the beneficial effects in a scenario that there is both a measurement based on the NCD-SSB and a measurement based on the CD-SSB, the network device transmits a measurement configuration parameter for indicating the RRM measurement based on the CD-SSB and a measurement configuration parameter for indicating the RRM measurement based on the NCD-SSB to the user equipment. Based on the above measurement configuration parameter, the user equipment can perform the RRM measurement based on the CD-SSB and the RRM measurement based on the NCD-SSB. (See paragraphs [0319]-[0320], HU)
Regarding claims 7, 18 and 27, KIM and CUI teach, the apparatus of claim 1,
KIM and CUI do not explicitly teach but HU teaches, ‘wherein the first type of SSB and the
second type of SSB are transmitted in a same bandwidth part of the apparatus.’ (HU – paragraph [0049], in a scenario that the RRM measurement is a measurement for a serving cell of the user equipment, the user equipment performs the RRM measurement based on an SSB on the activated BWP for the serving cell, where the SSB on the activated BWP is a CD-SSB. These measurement configuration parameters include a parameter for indicating the RRM measurement based on the CD-SSB and a parameter for indicating the RRM measurement based on the NCD-SSB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of HU with KIM and CUI because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of HU into KIM and CUI is that HU provides the beneficial effects in a scenario that there is both a measurement based on the NCD-SSB and a measurement based on the CD-SSB, the network device transmits a measurement configuration parameter for indicating the RRM measurement based on the CD-SSB and a measurement configuration parameter for indicating the RRM measurement based on the NCD-SSB to the user equipment. Based on the above measurement configuration parameter, the user equipment can perform the RRM measurement based on the CD-SSB and the RRM measurement based on the NCD-SSB. (See paragraphs [0319]-[0320], HU)
Claims 6, 9, 11, 17, 20, 22, 26 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM in view of CUI in view of Cozzo et al. (provisional application 63/276,394) filed on Nov. 5, 2021 and relied on in the rejection for (US 2023/0147154 A1), hereinafter “COZZO”
Regarding claims 6, 17 and 26, KIM and CUI teach, the apparatus of claim 1,
KIM and CUI do not explicitly teach but COZZO teaches, ‘wherein the operation is a differential
reference signal received power reporting operation, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:’ (COZZO – page 9, lines 17-20, the main processor 340 is also capable of executing other processes and programs resident in the memory 360, such as operations for channel quality measurement and reporting for systems):
‘transmit a message including a measurement report containing a difference between a first signal strength of the first type of SSB and a second signal strength of the second type of SSB.’ (COZZO – page 27, lines 6-11, the UE can report a channel quality, such as an RSRP, associated with the best spatial setting (for example, the spatial setting resulting to the largest measured RSRP) and/or a channel quality associated with multiple spatial settings, based on measurements for receptions in the NCD-SSB resources. Page 19, lines 19-24, when CD-SSB and NCD-SSB resources are transmitted with different power, a scaling of the RSRP measurements is performed based on an information provided by the gNB. For example, when NCD-SSB resources are transmitted with a different power than CD-SSB resources, the gNB can provide an offset relative to a power of a CD-SSB (the SIB also provides the SSB power and the offset)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of COZZO with KIM and CUI because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of COZZO into KIM and CUI is that COZZO relates to determining spatial settings for transmission during initial access, determining a spatial setting for a PRACH transmission based on CD-SSBs, or NCD-SSBs, or a combination of CD-SSBs and NCD-SSB, sand determining a spatial setting for a PRACH transmission based on an indication in SIB. A gNB can indicate NZP CSI-RS resources in a SIB, a UE can use receptions in the NZP CSI-RS resources to select a spatial setting for PRACH transmission and transmit a PRACH preamble with the best spatial setting (the one resulting to the largest RSRP). If NZP CSI-RS resources are not indicated by the SIB, a UE can determine a channel quality associated with different spatial settings by performing measurements based on receptions in the CD-SSB resources. (See page 18, lines 6-10 and page 19, lines 25-31, COZZO)
Regarding claims 9, 20 and 29, KIM and CUI teach, the apparatus of claim 1,
KIM and CUI not explicitly teach but COZZO teaches, ‘wherein a first transmit power of the first type of SSB is different from a second transmit power of the second type of SSB.’ (COZZO - page 19, lines 19-24, when CD-SSB and NCD-SSB resources are transmitted with different power, a scaling of the RSRP measurements is performed based on an information provided by the gNB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of COZZO with KIM and CUI because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of COZZO into KIM and CUI is that COZZO relates to determining spatial settings for transmission during initial access, determining a spatial setting for a PRACH transmission based on CD-SSBs, or NCD-SSBs, or a combination of CD-SSBs and NCD-SSB, sand determining a spatial setting for a PRACH transmission based on an indication in SIB. A gNB can indicate NZP CSI-RS resources in a SIB, a UE can use receptions in the NZP CSI-RS resources to select a spatial setting for PRACH transmission and transmit a PRACH preamble with the best spatial setting (the one resulting to the largest RSRP). If NZP CSI-RS resources are not indicated by the SIB, a UE can determine a channel quality associated with different spatial settings by performing measurements based on receptions in the CD-SSB resources. (See page 18, lines 6-10 and page 19, lines 25-31, COZZO)
Regarding claims 11 and 22, KIM and CUI teach, the apparatus of claim 1,
KIM and CUI do not explicitly teach but COZZO teaches, ‘wherein a first SSB to network access
occasion association pattern of the first type of SSB is different from a second SSB to network access occasion association pattern of the second type of SSB, and wherein a first SSB to network access occasion association periodicity of the first type of SSB is different from a second SSB to network access occasion association periodicity of the second type of SSB.’ (COZZO – page 18, lines 22-27, there can be a first RACH configuration for CD-SSBs and a second RACH configuration for NCD-SSBs that can differ in one or more parameters. Page 17, lines 17-18, the gNB can configures NCD-SSBs that the UE can use to perform measurements, however to read SIB the UE needs to use CD-SSBs. Page 18, lines 11-12, A cell can be associated to one or more NCD-SSBs of a certain periodicity that may or may not be located on the channel raster associated to a CD-SSB (corresponds to different RO periodicity). Page 23, lines 10-13, the gNB configures both CD-SSBs and NCD-SSBs, … the ROs are partitioned with a first set of ROs configured for CD-SSBs and a second set of ROs configured for NCD-SSBs (corresponds to different RO)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of COZZO with KIM and CUI because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of COZZO into KIM and CUI is that COZZO relates to determining spatial settings for transmission during initial access, determining a spatial setting for a PRACH transmission based on CD-SSBs, or NCD-SSBs, or a combination of CD-SSBs and NCD-SSB, sand determining a spatial setting for a PRACH transmission based on an indication in SIB. A gNB can indicate NZP CSI-RS resources in a SIB, a UE can use receptions in the NZP CSI-RS resources to select a spatial setting for PRACH transmission and transmit a PRACH preamble with the best spatial setting (the one resulting to the largest RSRP). If NZP CSI-RS resources are not indicated by the SIB, a UE can determine a channel quality associated with different spatial settings by performing measurements based on receptions in the CD-SSB resources. (See page 18, lines 6-10 and page 19, lines 25-31, COZZO)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAESHIL JESSICA CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479