DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 11 September 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 3, the term “strongly” in the claim is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “strongly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Use of the term strongly renders indefinite the electrolyte solution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2021/0381116 A1 to Kashi et al. (Kashi).
As to claim 1, Kashi teaches a carbon dioxide treatment apparatus comprising a capturing device for direct air capture of the carbon dioxide, an electrochemical reaction device that electrochemically reduces the carbon dioxide captured from the capturing device, the reaction device comprising a first electrolytic cell that electrochemically reduces the carbon dioxide to carbon monoxide, and a second electrolytic cell that electrochemically reduces the carbon monoxide produced by the first electrolytic cell to ethylene (Paragraphs 0184, 0185 and 0216; Figures 5 and 8).
As to claim 2, Kashi teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Kashi further teaches that the apparatus comprises a carbon monoxide supply path that is provided between the first electrolytic cell and the second electrolytic cell that supplied the carbon monoxide produced by the first cell to the second cell (Paragraphs 0184 and 0185; Figure 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0170166 A1 to Li et al. (Li) in view of Kashi.
As to claim 1, Li teaches a carbon dioxide treatment apparatus comprises a capturing device (14) that captures carbon dioxide and an electrochemical reaction device (12) that electrochemically reduces the carbon dioxide captured by the capturing device, the electrochemical reaction device comprising an electrolytic cell that electrochemically reduces the carbon dioxide to ethylene (Paragraphs 0055-0058; Figure 10). However, Li teaches that the reduction of carbon dioxide to ethylene occurs in a single cell and thus fails to teach a second electrolytic cell.
However, Kashi also discusses the electrolytic reduction of carbon dioxide to ethylene and teaches that instead of converting the carbon dioxide to ethylene in a single stage the reduction can occur in a double stage with a first electrolytic cell reducing the carbon dioxide to carbon monoxide and a second electrolytic cell reducing the carbon monoxide to ethylene, the two stage reduction allowing different configurations to achieve a high product concentration and also allowing for the second cell to operate at a lower voltage (Paragraphs 0184-0186; Figure 5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art at the time filing to modify the single stage reduction of Li with a two stage reduction with a first electrolytic cell reducing the carbon dioxide to carbon monoxide and a second electrolytic cell reducing the carbon monoxide to ethylene allowing different configurations to achieve a high product concentration and also allowing for the second cell to operate at a lower voltage as taught by Kashi.
As to claim 2, the combination of Li and Kashi teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Kashi further teaches that the apparatus comprises a carbon monoxide supply path that is provided between the first electrolytic cell and the second electrolytic cell that supplies the carbon monoxide produced by the first cell to the second cell (Paragraphs 0184 and 0185; Figure 5).
As to claim 3, the combination of Li and Kashi teaches the apparatus of claim 2. Li further teaches that the capturing device (14) comprises a carbon dioxide absorption unit that dissolves and absorbs the carbon dioxide in a “strongly” alkaline electrolytic solution, an alkali hydroxide, the carbon dioxide dissolved in the solution supplied to the electrochemical reaction device (Paragraphs 0052 and 0055-0058; Figure 10).
As to claim 4, the combination of Li and Kashi teaches the apparatus of claim 3. Li further teaches that the first electrolytic cell includes a cathode (38), an anode (33), an electrolytic membrane (36) that is provided between the anode and the cathode, a cathode side liquid flow path (28) that is provided adjacent to the cathode (38) and in which the electrolytic solution with dissolved carbon dioxide flows and an anode side liquid flow path (32) that is provided adjacent to the anode (33) and through which the electrolytic solution is capable of flowing (Paragraph 0057 and 0058; Figure 10).
Kashi further teaches that the second electrolytic cell is gas fed and further teaches that a preferred gas fed cell comprises a cell with an electrolyte buffer layer, the cell comprising a cathode, an anode, an electrolyte membrane (MEA) that is provided between the cathode and the anode, a cathode side gas flow path that is provided adjacent to the cathode and in which a gas flows, carbon monoxide, and a cathode side liquid flow path that is provided adjacent to the cathode and through which the electrolytic solution is capable of flowing, and an anode side liquid flow path that is provided adjacent to the cathode, through which the electrolytic solution is capable of flowing (Paragraphs 0190 and 0191, Figure 6). Thus in combination the carbon monoxide supply path is provided to connect an outlet of the cathode side liquid flow path of the first cell and an inlet of the cathode side gas flow path of the second cell.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kashi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of “Selective synthesis of propylene via homologation of ethylene with dimethyl ether at low temperatures on zeolites” to Struelens et al. (Struelens).
As to claim 5, Kashi teaches the apparatus of claim 1. However, Kashi fails to teach that the ethylene product is further reacted. However, Struelens teaches that propene is growing in demand over ethylene and that a beneficial way to convert ethylene to propylene is through homologation with corresponding multimerization (dimerization and trimerization) (Section 1. Introduction and Section 4. Conclusion). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to covert ethylene to propylene through homologation with corresponding multimerization, and thus a homologation reaction device of some type, in order to convert the ethylene to a more valuable product as taught by Struelens.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of copending Application No. 18/588,058 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims, while including additional limitations, claim all the limitation of the present claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794