DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 02/03/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-16 are currently pending. Claim 1 is amended. Claim 16 is new. Support for the new and amended claims is found in paragraphs 0015 and 0022 of the examined specification. In view of Applicant’s amendment, all previous grounds of rejection are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (CN 107403889 A) in view of Son et al. (US 20170352852 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses an electronic component for a cell-contacting system (paragraph 0156, figures 1-2, connection module 10), the cell-contacting system having a plurality of cell connectors serving for power contacting of battery cells of a battery (bus connectors 2), the electronic component comprising: a circuit board of a measuring and/or management configuration for the battery (paragraph 0166, circuit board 3), said circuit board having plug-in sockets for electrical connection to the cell connectors (paragraph 0160, equivalent to through holes 31); at least one support frame having a holder for said circuit board (paragraph 0156, figure 2, insulating frame 1 has protrusion 18 which holds the circuit board 3 by coupling hole 18); a plurality of electrical connecting elements for a respective electrical connection of said printed circuit board to the cell connectors, each of said electrical connecting elements having a plug-in contact being plugged in an electrically contacting manner to one of said plug-in sockets (paragraph 0158, figures 5-6, circuit board connector 22 has conductive pin 222 which connects to the circuit board via through holes 31); each said plug-in contact being embedded in said at least one support frame and consequently mechanically firmly fastened thereto (paragraph 0160, figure 9, circuit board connector 22 accommodated in fixing groove 12 to be positioned in the frame); said circuit board being inserted into said holder by plugging said plug-in sockets to said plug-in contacts (paragraph 0158, figures 5-6, circuit board connector 22 has conductive pin 222 which connects to the circuit board via through holes 31); and said circuit board having at least one communications interface for a data exchange of information with a remote station (paragraph 0166). Chen is silent regarding the circuit board being a printed circuit board, and said circuit board being surrounded by said support frame into which plug-in contacts are embedded in order to contact said cell connectors to said circuit board by means of said connecting elements.
Son discloses a battery pack comprising a connection board having the bus bar mounted thereon; and a printed circuit board, and a PCB housing that accommodates the PCB (Son paragraph 0006, figure 3). The connection board includes terminal pins to connect the bus bars to the circuit board which are embedded in the board by coupling parts (Son paragraphs 0078-0079, coupling part 51, terminal pin 55). Son further discloses that the connection board (equivalent to the support frame) includes an accommodation wall 62 for accommodating the PCB housing (Son paragraphs 0081-0082, figures 3-4, accommodation wall 63, surrounding PCB 71 and PCB housing 8). The reference teaches that the connection structure of the PCB and PCB housing results in stable support of the PCB and allows for easier maintenance and damage mitigation (Son paragraphs 0040-0042, 0082). Son and Chen are analogous because they both disclose battery connector structures.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cell-contacting system disclosed by Chen to have the PCB frame accommodation and connection structure disclosed by Son. Doing so would result in stable support of the PCB and allow for easier maintenance and damage mitigation.
Regarding claim 2, modified Chen discloses the limitations of claim 1. Chen further discloses that at least one said plug-in contact is a plated through hole pin (paragraph 0158).
Regarding claim 3, modified Chen discloses the limitations of claim 1. Chen further discloses that at least one of said electrical connecting elements is a one-piece direct connector between said printed circuit board and a cell connector of the cell connectors (paragraph 0162, figure 10, circuit board connector 52).
Regarding claim 4, modified Chen discloses the limitations of claim 1. Chen further discloses a connecting wire (paragraph 0163, figures 12-13); and wherein at least one of said electrical connecting elements is configured with multiple parts and contains a fixed section, facing said printed circuit board, with said plug-in contact (positioning portion 421), and a wire section facing a cell connector and contains at least one wire holder (wire adapter 42 on extension portion 423), connected to said fixed section, for said connecting wire and said connecting wire leading from said at least one wire holder to the cell connector (paragraph 0163, figures 12-13).
Regarding claim 5, modified Chen discloses the limitations of claim 1. Chen further discloses that at least one support frame is fastened in a mounted state in the cell-contacting system only by means of said electrical connecting elements mechanically on the cell connectors and/or on a support structure which supports the cell connectors, and consequently is fastened in the cell-contacting system (paragraphs 0156-0157, 0160, figures 1-2, and 9).
Regarding claim 6, modified Chen discloses the limitations of claim 1. Chen further discloses that at least one support frame contains, in addition to said electrical connecting elements, a mechanical interface, and in a mounted state in the cell-contacting system said at least one support frame is fastened at least partially by means of said mechanical interface mechanically on the cell connectors and consequently in the cell-contacting system paragraphs 0157, 0160, figures 3-4, fixing slots 12 act as a mechanical interface to connect the frame and cell connectors).
Regarding claim 7, modified Chen discloses the limitations of claim 6. Chen further discloses that the mechanical interface is configured for fastening to a cell connector of the cell connectors (paragraphs 0157, 0160). The claimed language “for an intended purpose” is deemed an expression of intended use. The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus. The Courts have held that a statement of intended use in an apparatus claim fails to distinguish over a prior art apparatus. See In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962). The Courts have held that the manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987). The Courts have held that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art in terms of structure, not function. See In re Danley, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959); and Hewlett-Packard Co. V. Bausch and Lomb, Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP §§ 2114 and 2173.05(g)).
Regarding claim 8, modified Chen discloses the limitation of claim 7. Chen further discloses that the mechanical interface is configured for fastening to a cell connector of the cell connecters for an intended purpose by it being configured as a plug-on holder for plugging said at least one support frame onto a mating structure for the intended purpose on the cell connector (paragraphs 0157, 0160, fixing slots 12, receiving grooves 11, and rods 17 are configured to mate with and accommodate bus connectors 2).
Regarding claim 9, modified Chen discloses the limitations of claim 1. Chen further discloses a temperature sensor being connected to said printed circuit board (paragraphs 0022, 0163-0164). Chen does not explicitly disclose that the sensor is firmly attached to the circuit board. However, The use of a one-piece, integrated construction instead of the structure disclosed or taught in the prior art would have been within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claim 10, modified Chen discloses the limitations of claim 1. Chen further discloses a temperature sensor configured as a unit which is separate from said printed circuit board and is connected electrically to said printed circuit board (paragraphs 0022, 0163-0164, figures 12-13).
Regarding claim 13, modified Chen discloses the limitations of claim 1. Chen further discloses a plurality of cell connectors which serve for power contacting battery cells; and at least one electronic component (paragraphs 0156-0157, 0160, figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 14, modified Chen discloses a method for producing a cell-contacting system (paragraph 0157), which comprises the steps of: providing a plurality of cell connectors which serve for power contacting battery cells (busbar connectors 2); providing an electronic component according to claim 1 with the circuit board not yet inserted into the holder (paragraph 0156, circuit board 3 connects to the frame via protrusion 18 and hole 33); electrically connecting the electrical connecting elements to the cell connectors (paragraphs 0157-0158); and subsequently inserting the printed circuit board into the holder with the plug-in sockets contacting the plug-in contacts (paragraph 0160, figures 1-2, conductive pin 222 of the circuit connector 22 passes through and is soldered to the circuit board 3).
Regarding claim 15, modified Chen discloses a method for producing a battery module, which comprises the steps of: providing a battery having battery cells; providing a cell-contacting system having a plurality of cell connectors which serve for power contacting the battery cells (paragraph 0156, batteries 20, busbar connectors 22); providing an electronic component according to claim 1 with the circuit board not yet inserted into the holder (paragraph 0156, circuit board 3, frame 1); electrically connecting the electrical connecting elements to the cell connector (paragraphs 0157-0158); connecting the cell-contacting system to the battery (paragraph 0160); and subsequently inserting the printed circuit board into the holder with the plug-in sockets contacting the plug-in contacts (paragraph 0160, figures 1-2, conductive pin 222 of the circuit connector 22 passes through and is soldered to the circuit board 3).
Regarding claim 16, modified Chen discloses the limitations of claim 1. Chen is silent regarding wherein: said at least one support frame completely surrounds said printed circuit board; and said holder is trough-shaped and forms a receptacle that encloses said printed circuit board on at least five sides.
Son discloses a battery pack comprising a connection board having the bus bar mounted thereon; and a printed circuit board, and a PCB housing that accommodates the PCB (Son paragraph 0006, figure 3). Son further discloses that the connection board (equivalent to the support frame) includes an accommodation wall 62 for accommodating the PCB housing, resulting in a trough shape (Son paragraphs 0081-0082, figures 3-4, accommodation wall 63, surrounding PCB 71 and PCB housing 8, PCB 71 is enclosed on at least 5 sides in a “receptacle” formed by the accommodation structures). The reference teaches that the connection structure of the PCB and PCB housing results in stable support of the PCB and allows for easier maintenance and damage mitigation (Son paragraphs 0040-0042, 0082). Son and Chen are analogous because they both disclose battery connector structures.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cell-contacting system disclosed by Chen to have the PCB frame accommodation structure disclosed by Son. Doing so would result in stable support of the PCB and allow for easier maintenance and damage mitigation.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (CN 107403889 A) in view of Son et al. (US 20170352852 A1) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Felser et al. (US 20150050531 A1).
Regarding claims 11-12, modified Chen discloses the limitations of claim 1. Chen discloses that a number of said electrical connecting elements is provided for said cell connectors (paragraph 0158, figures 5-6, circuit board connector 22 has conductive pin 222 which connects to the circuit board via through holes 31). However, Chen is silent regarding wherein a number of said electrical connecting elements is provided for precisely two said cell connectors, and wherein a number of said electrical connecting elements is provided for precisely three said cell connectors.
Felser discloses a battery system including a plurality of battery cells, and a cell connector which may connect to a printed circuit board (Felser paragraphs 0035-0037, figure 1). Felser further discloses that the cell connector may connect any number of battery cells and comprises pads. The number of pads included is equivalent to the number of battery cells to allow each cell to transfer electrical power from the battery cells to the cell connector (Felser paragraphs 0039-0040, figures 2-3, pads 26, equivalent to claimed cell connectors). Felser is clearly teaching that the number of cell connectors is a result effective variable that controls the number of batteries that are connected and transfer power. Felser and Chen are analogous because they both disclose a cell connecting apparatus for a battery pack.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the electrical connecting elements for precisely two or precisely three cell connectors because it has been held by the courts that optimization of a results effective variable is not novel. In re Boesch, 617 F2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.T.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727