DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Amendment dated 21 January 2026. Claims 1, 8 and 15 are amended. No claims have been added or cancelled. Claims 1-20 remain pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prasad et al. (US 2018/0075879 A1) in view of Cavalcanti (US 2013/0272679 A1).
As for independent claim 1, Prasad teaches the method comprising:
the request being generated and transmitted in response to determining that the event has occurred to trigger generation of the video, the data payload comprising at least a portion of one or more data values returned from one or more data sources in response to querying the one or more data sources for the one or more data values representative of the event [(e.g. see Prasad paragraphs 0015, 0060, 0076) ”generating video content related to a first audio media asset … the overarching method for generating video content 200, according to a preferred embodiment of the present invention. In step 205, a user may use a Graphical User Interface (GUI) to upload an audio track into the system's repository … The audio track may be used by the system to provide an audio component of the video content to be generated … The current audio track's metadata may be used to identify the list of images and footages in some embodiments. In step 330, a search may be conducted of the internal system and/or external sources of media assets to allocate similar images, footages, etc to those obtained from the video track corresponding to the current audio track”]. Examiner notes that, the broadest reasonable interpretation of “the event”, in light of the specification, is any action that occurs which causes/begins the process of generating a video. In Prasad, a user desiring to generate a video, performs an action by uploading an audio track (e.g. an event), which causes the system to begin the steps of generating the video.
retrieving, from a data store, a template based on the template identifier, the template being of a first format [(e.g. see Prasad paragraphs 0062, 0066, 0067 and Fig. 1) ”Each template may comprise a number of attributes relevant to creating the new video content. Examples of such attributes may include special effects for displaying text, a set of images that are relevant to the context of the analyzed audio track and their corresponding display characteristics, etc … The system may then use the attributes of the chosen template to generate the video. In step 230, the system may display a set of desired input to the user. The set of desired input displayed to the user may be generated in response to the user selected template. In step 235, the user may also input responses to the system's prompts of step 6. In some embodiments, an image recommendation service may manage capturing and processing the user's responses to produce a set of recommendations to the user, in relation to generating the final video content. The system recommendations may include set of images, visual effects, video frames, etc to be used in generating the final video content … In step 240, the system may provide the user with recommendations as to set of images, footages, text, textual/graphical visual effects, video frames, etc to be used in generating the video content. The system may make these recommendations in response to the user selected template in some embodiments. In other embodiments, the system may make its recommendations based on the system's analysis of the uploaded audio track. In yet other embodiments, the system may generate such recommendations based on a combination of the user selected template and/or the system's analysis of the uploaded audio track. In some embodiments, the system may comprise an image recommendation service, which may perform the processing of the user's input, the analysis of the uploaded audio track and/or its metadata, for the purposes of generating a set of recommendations as to the set of images to be used in generating the video content”].
populating the at least a portion of the one or more data values of the data payload into the template [(e.g. see Prasad paragraphs 0068, 0073) ”In step 245, the user may choose any or all of the recommended images, footages, text, textual/graphical visual effects, video frames, etc to be combined with the audio track to produce the video content, according to some embodiments. In other embodiments, the user may choose system recommended images, footages, text, textual/graphical visual effects, video frames, etc, and may also choose a set that may include images, footages, text, textual/graphical visual effects, video frames, etc that are not system recommended. In yet other embodiments, the system may utilize a combination of user chosen images, footages, text, textual/graphical visual effects, video frames, etc, alongside a user chosen template as input to the process of generating the video content … metadata input may be in the form of a JSON document; key-value pairs, referred to as a feature set”].
providing, based on the template, code in a second format that is different from the first format [(e.g. see Prasad paragraphs 0062, 0066, 0070, 0113) ”Each template may comprise a number of attributes relevant to creating the new video content … The system may then use the attributes of the chosen template to generate the video … metadata input may be in the form of a JSON document; key-value pairs, referred to as a feature set … the system may generate the kinetic typography video may involve an HTML5 compatible internet browser that may use HTML5 canvas element for rendering three dimension (3D) computer graphics and two dimension (2D) graphics elements like text, images, etc. The user may be using a computer running an internet browser. The user may provide required inputs, such as an audio file, subtitle file, text styling parameters, etc, and the video will be rendered on the computer”]. Examiner notes that HTML5 is provided based on a template having JSON attributes.
generating the video based on the code [(e.g. see Prasad paragraphs 0066, 0113) ”The system may then use the attributes of the chosen template to generate the video … may generate the kinetic typography video may involve an HTML5 compatible internet browser that may use HTML5 canvas element for rendering three dimension (3D) computer graphics and two dimension (2D) graphics elements like text, images, etc. The user may be using a computer running an internet browser. The user may provide required inputs, such as an audio file, subtitle file, text styling parameters, etc, and the video will be rendered on the computer. The produced video may be captured using a screen recording tool or a browser specific plug-in application”].
transmitting the video to one or more users [(e.g. see Prasad paragraph 0109) ”service may present the final generated video to the user”].
Prasad does not specifically teach providing a template repository storing a set of templates, each template being associated with a respective template identifier and defining a respective video, each template comprising a content section that defines a layout and a styling of the respective video and a data section that defines values to be used in the content section, receiving a request comprising a template identifier and a data payload for a video, the template identifier indicating a template that is to be used in view of an event, in response to receiving the request, automatically executing a set of tasks based on dependencies defining an order of execution of tasks in the set of tasks, the set of tasks comprising, or executing a set of jobs by respective services, each job in the set of jobs returning content that is used to populate at least a portion of the template. However, in the same field of invention, Cavalcanti teaches:
providing a template repository storing a set of templates, each template being associated with a respective template identifier and defining a respective video, each template comprising a content section that defines a layout and a styling of the respective video and a data section that defines values to be used in the content section [(e.g. see Cavalcanti paragraphs 0022, 0045) ”FIGS. 4A-4B exemplarily illustrate a table comprising template data associated with the template model file stored in the database 212 exemplarily illustrated in FIG. 2B and FIG. 6. Each row in the table comprises a record of template data of a video template. Each record of template data is identified by an identifier (ID). The video generator system stores, for example, the identifier (ID) … The video generator system acquires 102 multiple video templates from one or more of multiple sources, for example, from one or more third party video template vendors. As used herein, the term "video templates" refers to pre-developed video projects that can be configured to create customized videos with a predefined design and style. The video templates are also referred to as "default templates" or "standard templates". The video templates comprise, for example, one or more video files, raster based image files or vector based image files, sound files, drawings, and other graphical elements”].
receiving a request comprising a template identifier and a data payload for a video [(e.g. see Cavalcanti paragraphs 0045-0047, 0078 and Fig. 5A-C) ”Consider another example where a user wishes to create a movie. The user selects a movie style or a video template that suits the user's needs via the interactive interface 603h. When the user selects the video template to use and presses a "generate the video" … allow the user to start the process of sending text, pictures, footage, etc. … Each record of template data is identified by an identifier (ID). The video generator system stores, for example, the identifier (ID), a template category, a template name, number of frames in a video, price, height, width, duration of the video, ranking, date of creation, etc., for each record of template data in the table of the database 212 … FIGS. 5A-5C exemplarily illustrate content of a template model file of a video template comprising customizable elements identified by the video generator system for enabling selection and individual customization of the video template … the template model file to identify the different customizable elements in the video template and other information, for example, a name of a music track, a template name”].
the template identifier indicating a template that is to be used in view of an event [(e.g. see Cavalcanti paragraphs 0034, 0045) ”Consider an example where a user wishes to generate a video. The user starts 201 the video generation process by choosing a style, that is, by selecting a video template from the video templates presented on the interactive interface … Each record of template data is identified by an identifier (ID). The video generator system stores, for example, the identifier (ID), a template category, a template name, number of frames in a video, price, height, width, duration of the video, ranking, date of creation, etc., for each record of template data in the table of the database 212”]. Examiner notes that, the broadest reasonable interpretation of “an event”, in light of the specification, is any action that occurs which causes/begins the process of generating a video. In Cavalcanti, a user wishing to generate a video, performs an action by selecting a particular video template, which causes the system to begin the steps of generating the video.
in response to receiving the request, automatically executing a set of tasks based on dependencies defining an order of execution of tasks in the set of tasks, the set of tasks comprising: [(e.g. see Cavalcanti paragraph 0036, 0052) ”The project server creates multiple render jobs and places the render jobs in a job queue to split the video generation process among various render servers of the video generator system. When a render server has available processing capability, the render server requests 213 the project server for a render job as exemplarily illustrated in FIG. 2C. The project server distributes 208 the render jobs to the render servers and updates the status of the video project based on the results of the distribution of the render jobs and the renderings … The video generator system picks up the render jobs from the job queue as soon as there is available processing capability and initiates customizing the template project file to create the custom project file”].
executing a set of jobs by respective services, each job in the set of jobs returning content that is used to populate at least a portion of the template [(e.g. see Cavalcanti paragraphs 0036, 0052) ”The video generator system picks up the render jobs from the job queue as soon as there is available processing capability and initiates customizing the template project file to create the custom project file … scripts to create a custom project file, for example, a custom Adobe.RTM. After Effects.RTM. project file by reading the template model file and inserting the acquired media content, for example, user assets, text, etc., into the template model file. The customization script refers to a software program written for a command interpreter or for a scripting language to enable modification of the identified customizable elements of the selected video template”].
Therefore, considering the teachings of Prasad and Cavalcanti, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add providing a template repository storing a set of templates, each template being associated with a respective template identifier and defining a respective video, each template comprising a content section that defines a layout and a styling of the respective video and a data section that defines values to be used in the content section, receiving a request comprising a template identifier and a data payload for a video, the template identifier indicating a template that is to be used in view of an event, in response to receiving the request, automatically executing a set of tasks based on dependencies defining an order of execution of tasks in the set of tasks, the set of tasks comprising, and executing a set of jobs by respective services, each job in the set of jobs returning content that is used to populate at least a portion of the template, as taught by Cavalcanti, to the teachings of Prasad because it allows a user to directly generate the video from one or more video templates which reduces the time required and the monetary costs associated with generating the video (e.g. see Cavalcanti paragraph 0006).
As for dependent claim 2, Prasad and Cavalcanti teach the method as described in claim 1 and Prasad further teaches:
wherein the first format is JavaScript Object Notation (JSON) and the second format is Hypertext Markup Language (HTML) [(e.g. see Prasad paragraphs 0073, 0113) ”metadata input may be in the form of a JSON document; key-value pairs, referred to as a feature set … the system may generate the kinetic typography video may involve an HTML5 compatible internet browser that may use HTML5 canvas element for rendering three dimension (3D) computer graphics and two dimension (2D) graphics elements like text, images, etc. The user may be using a computer running an internet browser. The user may provide required inputs, such as an audio file, subtitle file, text styling parameters, etc, and the video will be rendered on the computer”].
As for dependent claim 3, Prasad and Cavalcanti teach the method as described in claim 1 and Prasad further teaches:
wherein the content elements comprise two or more of a vertical stack (VStack), a horizontal stack (HStack), an image, text, a spacer, one or more charts, background audio, and text-to-speech (TTS) audio [(e.g. see Prasad paragraph 0068) ”the user may choose any or all of the recommended images, footages, text, textual/graphical visual effects, video frames, etc to be combined with the audio track to produce the video content”].
As for dependent claim 5, Prasad and Cavalcanti teach the method as described in claim 1 and Prasad further teaches:
transmitting a job request to a video generation service that executes the code to provide one or more web pages and that captures screenshots of the one or more web pages as frames of the video [(e.g. see Prasad paragraph 0113) ”One preferred method by which the system may generate the kinetic typography video may involve an HTML5 compatible internet browser that may use HTML5 canvas element for rendering three dimension (3D) computer graphics and two dimension (2D) graphics elements like text, images, etc. The user may be using a computer running an internet browser. The user may provide required inputs, such as an audio file, subtitle file, text styling parameters, etc, and the video will be rendered on the computer. The produced video may be captured using a screen recording tool or a browser specific plug-in application”].
receiving a video file from the video generation service, the video file being executable to provide the video [(e.g. see Prasad paragraphs 0040, 0054, 0109) ”service may present the final generated video to the user … content server 125, which may be utilized to store and/or process media data (For example, video, … The client machines and servers provide the necessary means for accessing, processing, storing, transferring or otherwise carrying out any type of data manipulation and/or communication”].
As for dependent claim 6, Prasad and Cavalcanti teach the method as described in claim 1 and Prasad further teaches:
transmitting a job request to a conversion service that converts the template in the first format to the code in the second format; and receiving the code from the conversion service [(e.g. see Prasad paragraphs 0053, 0058, 0062, 0113) ”the system may include a backend services components 105, which may be connected to creator users 145 and/or audience users 155 directly or over a network. In some preferred embodiments, users may utilize user interfaces to interact with the system. For example, in some of these embodiments, a creator user 145 may use a creator user interface 140, and an audience user 155 may use an audience user interface 150 to interact and interface with the system's backend services 105 … comprise a video composition engine 120, which is a set of (software and hardware) components that enable a user to produce digital content. In some embodiments, the video composition engine 120 may operate in conjunction with a recommendation engine 115, which functions to scan media assets data collected by the data collection engine 110, and according to the functions of this invention, come up with a set of recommended images, features, footages, etc, which then may be used by the video composition engine 120 to generate the user's customized video content … the user may be presented with various templates that may be used by the system to generate the video content corresponding to the uploaded audio track. Each template may comprise a number of attributes relevant to creating the new video content. Examples of such attributes may include special effects for displaying text, a set of images that are relevant to the context of the analyzed audio track and their corresponding display characteristics, etc … method by which the system may generate the kinetic typography video may involve an HTML5 compatible internet browser that may use HTML5 canvas element for rendering three dimension (3D) computer graphics and two dimension (2D) graphics elements like text, images, etc. The user may be using a computer running an internet browser. The user may provide required inputs, such as an audio file, subtitle file, text styling parameters, etc, and the video will be rendered on the computer”].
As for dependent claim 7, Prasad and Cavalcanti teach the method as described in claim 1 and Prasad further teaches:
wherein the one or more data values are provided from an application that transmits the request [(e.g. see Prasad paragraph 0114) ”Through the browser, the user may provide required inputs like audio file, subtitle file, text styling parameters etc. The user may then send the HTTP request to a web server for rendering the video”].
As for independent claim 8, Prasad and Cavalcanti teach a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. Claim 8 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 1.
As for dependent claim 9, Prasad and Cavalcanti teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium as described in claim 8; further, claim 9 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 2. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 2.
As for dependent claim 10, Prasad and Cavalcanti teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium as described in claim 8; further, claim 10 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 3. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 3.
As for dependent claim 11, Prasad and Cavalcanti teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium as described in claim 8; further, claim 11 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 4. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 4.
As for dependent claim 12, Prasad and Cavalcanti teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium as described in claim 8; further, claim 12 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 5. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 5.
As for dependent claim 13, Prasad and Cavalcanti teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium as described in claim 8; further, claim 13 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 6. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 6.
As for dependent claim 14, Prasad and Cavalcanti teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium as described in claim 8; further, claim 14 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 7. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 7.
As for independent claim 15, Prasad and Cavalcanti teach a system. Claim 15 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 1.
As for dependent claim 16, Prasad and Cavalcanti teach the system as described in claim 15; further, claim 16 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 2. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 2.
As for dependent claim 17, Prasad and Cavalcanti teach the system as described in claim 15; further, claim 17 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 3. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 3.
As for dependent claim 19, Prasad and Cavalcanti teach the system as described in claim 15; further, claim 19 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 5. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 5.
As for dependent claim 20, Prasad and Cavalcanti teach the system as described in claim 15; further, claim 20 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 6. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 6.
Claims 4, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prasad et al. (US 2018/0075879 A1) in view of Cavalcanti (US 2013/0272679 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Reddy et al. (US 10,740,064 B1).
As for dependent claim 4, Prasad and Cavalcanti teach the method as described in claim 1, but do not specifically teach further comprising transmitting a job request for text-to-speech (TTS), the job request comprising text, and receiving TTS audio responsive to the job request, the video comprising the TTS audio in an audio track. However, in the same field of invention, Reddy teaches:
further comprising transmitting a job request for text-to-speech (TTS), the job request comprising text, and receiving TTS audio responsive to the job request, the video comprising the TTS audio in an audio track [(e.g. see Reddy col 2 lines 21-27, col 6 lines 35-43, col 11 lines 39-41) ”The selected template is then populated using attributes of the user and/or the product. Once populated, the text in the populated template may be smoothed. The text-based populated template may then be synthesized into a different format (e.g., audio or video), which may match a format of content currently being consumed by a user. The generated content may then be presented to the user … the conversion module 214 may, in conjunction with the processor 204, be configured to convert a generated content from one format to another. For example, in the scenario that a user is consuming audio media content, a dynamic content may first be generated in a text format. In this example, the dynamic content may then be converted into an audio format so that it can be consumed by the user. To do this, the conversion module 214 may use one or more text to speech synthesis applications … converting the populated template from a text format to an audio format may involve the use of speech synthesis techniques”].
Therefore, considering the teachings of Prasad, Cavalcanti and Reddy, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add further comprising transmitting a job request for text-to-speech (TTS), the job request comprising text, and receiving TTS audio responsive to the job request, the video comprising the TTS audio in an audio track, as taught by Reddy, to the teachings of Prasad and Cavalcanti because creating and editing audio content using virtual synthesis saves both time and money and also allows audio content to be dynamically targeted to a particular user (e.g. see Reddy abstract and col 1 line 64 – col 2 line 2).
As for dependent claim 11, Prasad and Cavalcanti teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium as described in claim 8; further, claim 11 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 4. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 4.
As for dependent claim 18, Prasad and Cavalcanti teach the system as described in claim 15; further, claim 18 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 4. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 4.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 21 January 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that [“Cavalcanti is absent teaching a request comprising a template identifier and a payload” (Page 9).].
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Cavalcanti teaches a request comprising a template identifier and a payload in paragraphs 0045-0047, 0078 and Figs. 5A-C of Cavalcanti’s disclosure [“Consider another example where a user wishes to create a movie. The user selects a movie style or a video template that suits the user's needs via the interactive interface 603h. When the user selects the video template to use and presses a "generate the video" … allow the user to start the process of sending text, pictures, footage, etc. … Each record of template data is identified by an identifier (ID). The video generator system stores, for example, the identifier (ID), a template category, a template name, number of frames in a video, price, height, width, duration of the video, ranking, date of creation, etc., for each record of template data in the table of the database 212 … FIGS. 5A-5C exemplarily illustrate content of a template model file of a video template comprising customizable elements identified by the video generator system for enabling selection and individual customization of the video template … the template model file to identify the different customizable elements in the video template and other information, for example, a name of a music track, a template name”]. One of ordinary skill in the art, namely a software developer, would recognize that, as depicted in Fig. 5A, the selected template has an ID/name (e.g. shimmering) and at least a music source (e.g. “Hot and Sweet – 60.mp3”). Thus, the combination adequately teaches applicant’s claimed limitation.
Applicant argues that [“Prasad also cannot teach ‘retrieving, from a data store, a template based on the template identifier,’ because Prasad is admittedly absent template identifiers.” (Page 10).].
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Prasad teaches presenting various templates to the user, the user selection of a particular template and generating inputs and video based on the selected template (e.g. see Prasad paragraphs 0062, 0066, 0067), but does not explicitly teach a template “identifier.” However, this deficiency is cured by secondary reference Cavalcanti’s teaching of template identifiers (e.g. see Cavalcanti paragraphs 0045-0047). Thus, the combination adequately teaches applicant’s claimed limitation. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant argues that [“Prasad and Cavalcanti, taken as a whole, fail to teach at least the above-recited features of claim 1, 8, 15, as amended herein.” (Page 10).].
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Cavalcanti teaches in response to receiving the request, automatically executing a set of tasks based on dependencies defining an order of execution of tasks in the set of tasks, the set of tasks comprising: and executing a set of jobs by respective services, each job in the set of jobs returning content that is used to populate at least a portion of the template in paragraphs 0036 and 0052 of Cavalcanti’s disclosure [(see rejection of claim 1 above). One of ordinary skill in the art, namely a software developer, would recognize that rendering jobs are created and placed into a queue where the jobs can be used to customize the template model file. Thus, the combination adequately teaches applicant’s claimed limitation.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent 10,555,023 B1 issued to McCarthy et al. on 04 February 2020. The subject matter disclosed therein is pertinent to that of claims 1-20 (e.g. rendering clip sequences based on a template).
U.S. Patent 12,100,425 B2 issued to Li et al. on 24 September 2024. The subject matter disclosed therein is pertinent to that of claims 1-20 (e.g. video templates for short form content).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER J FIBBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174