DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamamoto (US 20170250680).
With respect to claim 1, figures 3a of Yamamoto (US 20170250680 discloses a circuit comprising: a transistor (SiTr1) coupled between a power input (VDDL) and a power output (OUT), a switch (OSTr2) and a resistor (R2) coupled between the power input (at VDDL) and a control terminal of the transistor (at ND2), the resistor being coupled between a first terminal of the switch (at CT2) and the control terminal (at ND2), or between a second terminal of the switch (at ND1) and the power input (VDDL). (Note: as the coupling of the resistor is stated in the alternative either or both of the conditions can be met and read on the claim language.)
With respect to claim 8, Yamamoto (US 20170250680) discloses a circuit comprising: a transistor (SiTr1) coupled between a power input (VDDL) and a power output (OUT), and a switch (OSTr2) and a resistor (R2) coupled between the power input (VDDL) and a control terminal (at ND2) of the transistor (STr1)r, the switch configurable to connect the power input to the control terminal via the resistor (R2) responsive to a control terminal of the switch (VN) having a first state (OFF), and disconnect the power input from the control terminal responsive to the control terminal of the switch having a second state (ON pulled to VSSL).
With respect to claim 21, Yamamoto (US 20170250680) discloses the circuit of claim 1, wherein the switch (SiTr1) is configurable to connect the power input (at VDDL) to the control terminal via the resistor (R2) responsive to a control terminal of the switch having a first state (OFF pulled to VDDL) and disconnect the power input from the control terminal responsive to the control terminal of the switch having a second state (ON pulled to VSSL).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (US 20170250680) in view of Sardat (US 7737650).
With respect to claim 6, figures 3a of Yamamoto (US 20170250680 discloses the circuit of claim 1, wherein the transistor is a first transistor (SiTr1), but fails to disclose the circuit further comprises a second transistor coupled between the power input and the power output, a control terminal of the second transistor coupled to a control terminal of the switch.
It is well known in the art to replace a single transistor with multiple transistors in parallel. See for example Sardat figures 1 and 4 (col. 4. Lines 66-67- col. 5. Lines 1-3. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to replace the single transistor (SiTr1 of Yamamoto) with multiple transistors in parallel as taught by Sardat in figures 1 and 4, for the purpose of increasing power and allowing for higher currents.
The resulting circuit would produce the circuit of claim 6 having a second transistor (transistor in parallel of SiTR1l) coupled between the power input and the power output, with a control terminal of the second transistor coupled to a control terminal of the switch (at ND2).
With respect to claim 14, the circuit above discloses the circuit of claim 8, wherein the transistor is a first transistor, but fails to disclose the circuit further comprises a second transistor coupled between the power input and the power output, a control terminal of the second transistor coupled to a control terminal of the switch.
It is well known in the art to replace a single transistor with multiple transistors in parallel. See for example Sardat figures 1 and 4 (col. 4. Lines 66-67- col. 5. Lines 1-3. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to replace the single transistor (SiTr1 of Yamamoto) with multiple transistors in parallel as taught by Sardat in figures 1 and 4, for the purpose of increasing power and allowing for higher currents.
The resulting circuit would produce the circuit of claim 8 having a second transistor (transistor in parallel of SiTR1l) coupled between the power input and the power output, with a control terminal of the second transistor coupled to a control terminal of the switch (at ND2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 7, 9-13 and 22-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 2, the prior art fails to suggest or disclose further comprising: a driver circuit having an input coupled to the low-power mode terminal, a high output slew detected input, and a drive output coupled to the control terminal of the first transistor, the driver circuit including: a third transistor having first and second terminals and a control terminal, the first terminal of the third transistor coupled to the drive output, the second terminal of the third transistor couple to a reference terminal, the control terminal of the third transistor coupled to the high output slew detected input.
Here, the third control terminal is not coupled to a slew detected input and the driver does not include a high output slew detected input.
With respect to claim 7, the prior art of record fails to suggest or disclose the circuit of claim 6, further comprising: a fourth transistor coupled between the control terminal of the first transistor and a reference terminal, the fourth transistor having a control terminal coupled to the low-power mode terminal; and a fifth transistor coupled between the control terminal of the third transistor and the reference terminal, the fifth transistor having a control terminal coupled to the low-power mode terminal.
Here the fourth and the fifth transistor control terminals are not connected to the low power mode terminal.
With respect to claim 9, the prior art of record fails to suggest or disclose the circuit of claim 8, further comprising: a driver circuit including a drive output coupled to the control terminal of the first transistor the driver circuit capable of: turning on the first transistor responsive to the low-power mode signal; and turning off the first transistor responsive to the first terminal and the control terminals of the first transistor being electrically coupled and responsive to a slew detect signal.
Here the turn off is not based on a slew detect signal.
With respect to claim 22, the prior art fails to disclose wherein the first transistor is n-type and the second transistor is p-type.
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With respect to claim 15, the prior art of record fails to suggest or disclose a circuit comprising: a battery having an output; a load circuit having an input; a controller having a switch enable output; and a high-side switch circuit having a voltage input coupled to the output of the battery, a voltage output, coupled to the input of the load circuit and a control input coupled to the switch enable output the high-side switch circuit including: a first transistor having a first terminal coupled to the voltage input, a second terminal coupled to the voltage output, and a control terminal coupled to the control input; a second transistor and a resistor coupled in series between the first terminal and the control terminal of the first transistor, the second transistor capable of electrically coupling and decoupled the first terminal and the control terminal of the first transistor responsive to a low-power mode signal; and the capable of limiting current flow from the voltage input to the control terminal control terminal of the first transistor.
Here, the high side switch circuit does not have the cited connections in combination with the circuit having a battery as disclosed. Although the module in [0074] of Yamamoto says the module may refer to a battery, the subsequent connections of the battery with respect to the controller and the switch enable input as such are not explicitly disclosed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to applicant’s argument that it is clear that the components of Yamamoto do not have the identical connectivity as recited in claim 1, the Examiner disagrees. The claims as amended read on Yamamoto as above considering that the connections are apparent as described above. Note coupled does not imply direct coupling but merely in close proximity such as to influence. (Definition of coupled: to bring two electric circuits into such close proximity as to permit mutual influence Merriam Webster's Collegiate Dictionary 10th edition.) Thus R2 is coupled between (also having a broad meaning defined as in or along the space separating two objects or regions) at ND2 to the control terminal and to the first node of the switch OStr2 via OStr2.
With respect tot being configurable to connect the control terminal of SiTr1 to VDDl when the switch is off, the control node pulls up to VDDL but when the switch is on it pulls down to VSSL.
/KHAREEM E ALMO/Examiner, Art Unit 2849
/Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2849