DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species B, claims 1-8 and 11-20, in the reply filed on 12/30/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 9 was indicated as withdrawn but will be examined because it pertains to the elected Species B.
The species restriction between Species A and B is withdrawn due to the search uncovering prior art applicable to both Species.
Claim 10 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species (Species C), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/30/2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 14, and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 4 and 18 recite “wherein lead is” but should recite “wherein the lead is.”
Claim 14 recites “A method of manufacturing a secondary,” but should recite “A method of manufacturing a secondary battery.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 13-16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (WO-2019009576-A1, English-language equivalent US 2020/0251713 A1 is referenced below).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a secondary battery (100, FIG. 2, [0072]) comprising: an exterior body (241/242, FIG. 4, [0081]-[0082]) defining an internal space (FIG. 4); an electrode assembly (201, FIG. 4, [0081]) in the internal space of the exterior body (241/242); a terminal member (outer electrode lead 212, FIG. 4, [0084]) electrically connected to the electrode assembly (201); a lead (inner electrode lead 211, FIG. 4, [0084]) that electrically connects the terminal member (212) and the electrode assembly (201); and a fixing member (first lead film 221, FIG. 4, [0083]) that fixes the lead (211) to an inner surface (inner surface in annotated figure 1 below) of the exterior body (242) (FIG. 4).
Annotated figure 1
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses wherein the fixing member (221) is a member that provides adhesiveness between the exterior body (242) and the lead (211) ([0018]).
Regarding claim 4, Park discloses wherein lead (211) is fixed to the inner surface (inner surface) of the exterior body (241/242) and a surface (at notch 230) of the terminal member (212) exposed within the internal space of the exterior body (241/242) (FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Park discloses wherein a fixing position of the fixing member (221) is between a position where the lead (211) is connected to the electrode assembly (201) and a position where the lead (211) is connected to the terminal member (212) (FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Park discloses wherein the lead (211) is fixed to the inner surface (inner surface) of the exterior body (242) at at least one position (FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Park discloses wherein a fixing strength between the lead (211) and the exterior body (242) is higher than a connection strength between the terminal member (212) and the lead (211) (connection between 211 and 212 ruptures before connection between 211 and 221 in the event of increased pressure, FIG. 4, [0084]).
Regarding claim 13, Park discloses wherein the electrode assembly (201) includes a positive electrode and a negative electrode capable of occluding and releasing lithium ions (lithium ion battery, [0035]).
Regarding claim 14, Park discloses a method of manufacturing a secondary battery (see Park claim 14), the method comprising: electrically connecting a lead (211, FIG. 4, [0084]) that is electrically connected to an electrode assembly (201, FIG. 4, [0081]) within an interior space of an exterior body (241/242, FIG. 4, [0081]-[0082]) to a terminal member (212, FIG. 4, [0084]); and fixing the lead (211) to an inner surface (inner surface in annotated figure 1 above) of the exterior body (242) with a fixing member (221, FIG. 4, [0083]).
Regarding claim 15, Park discloses wherein the lead (211) is fixed to the inner surface (inner surface) of the exterior body (242) with the fixing member (221) such that a fixing strength thereof is greater that a strength of the connection of the lead (211) to the terminal member (212) (connection between 211 and 212 ruptures before connection between 211 and 221 in the event of increased pressure, FIG. 4, [0084]).
Regarding claim 16, Park discloses wherein the fixing member (221) is a member that provides adhesiveness between the exterior body (242) and the lead (211) ([0018]).
Regarding claim 18, Park discloses wherein lead (211) is fixed to the inner surface (inner surface) of the exterior body (242) and a surface (at notch 230) of the terminal member (212) exposed within the internal space of the exterior body (241/242) (FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 19, Park discloses wherein a fixing position of the fixing member (221) is between a position where the lead (211) is connected to the electrode assembly (201) and a position where the lead (211) is connected to the terminal member (212) (FIG. 4).
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9, 11, 13-14, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim ‘502 (US 2012/0282502 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim ‘502 discloses a secondary battery (100, FIG. 2, [0041]) comprising: an exterior body (case 26 and cap plate 20, FIG. 2, [0041]) defining an internal space (see FIG. 2); an electrode assembly (10, FIG. 2, [0041]) in the internal space of the exterior body (20/26); a terminal member (30, FIG. 2, [0045]) electrically connected to the electrode assembly (10); a lead (50, FIG. 2, [0045]) that electrically connects the terminal member (30) and the electrode assembly (10); and a fixing member (60, FIG. 2, [0055]) that fixes the lead (50) to an inner surface (above protrusion 62 in FIG. 4) of the exterior body (20/26).
Regarding claim 3, Kim ‘502 discloses wherein the fixing member (60) is a member that has an insulating property ([0055]).
Regarding claim 4, Kim ‘502 discloses wherein lead (50) is fixed to the inner surface (above protrusion 62 in FIG. 4) of the exterior body (20/26) and a surface (31c, FIG. 2, [0048]) of the terminal member (30) exposed within the internal space of the exterior body (20/26).
Regarding claim 5, Kim ‘502 discloses wherein a fixing position (fixing position in annotated figure 2 below) of the fixing member (60) is between a position where the lead (50) is connected to the electrode assembly (10) and a position where the lead (50) is connected to the terminal member (30).
Annotated figure 2
Regarding claim 7, Kim ‘502 discloses wherein the lead (50) is fixed to the inner surface (above protrusion 62 in FIG. 4) of the exterior body (20/26) at at least one position (FIGS. 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 9, Kim ‘502 discloses wherein the exterior body (20/26) comprises a first exterior body (20, FIG. 2, [0047]) that is a lid-shaped member and a second exterior body (26, FIG. 2, [0046]) that is a cup-shaped member, and the lead (50) is fixed to at least an inner surface (above protrusion 62 in FIG. 4) of the first exterior body (20) (FIGS. 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 11, Kim ‘502 discloses wherein the first exterior body (20) defines an opening (opening in which terminal 30 is inserted in FIG. 2), and the lead (50) is fixed to the inner surface of the first exterior body (20).
Regarding claim 13, Kim ‘502 discloses wherein the electrode assembly (10) includes a positive electrode and a negative electrode (11 and 12, FIG. 2, [0042]) capable of occluding and releasing lithium ions (lithium-ion battery, [0042]).
Regarding claim 14, Kim ‘502 discloses a method of manufacturing a secondary battery (manufacturing process of battery 100, [0063]), the method comprising: electrically connecting a lead (50, FIG. 2, [0045]) that is electrically connected to an electrode assembly (10, FIG. 2, [0041]) within an interior space of an exterior body (case 26 and cap plate 20, FIG. 2, [0041]) to a terminal member (30, FIG. 2, [0045]); and fixing the lead (50) to an inner surface (above protrusion 62 in FIG. 4) of the exterior body (20/26) with a fixing member (60).
Regarding claim 17, Kim ‘502 discloses wherein the fixing member (60) is a member that has an insulating property ([0055]).
Regarding claim 18, Kim ‘502 discloses wherein lead (50) is fixed to the inner surface (above protrusion 62 in FIG. 4) of the exterior body (20/26) and a surface (31c, FIG. 2, [0048]) of the terminal member (30) exposed within the internal space of the exterior body (20/26).
Regarding claim 19, Kim ‘502 discloses wherein a fixing position (fixing position in annotated figure 2 above) of the fixing member (60) is between a position where the lead (50) is connected to the electrode assembly (10) and a position where the lead (50) is connected to the terminal member (30).
Claims 1, 3-7, 9, 13-14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim ‘152 (US 2011/0039152 A1, cited in the IDS filed 04/09/2023).
Regarding claim 1, Kim ‘152 discloses a secondary battery (100, FIG. 2, [0028]) comprising: an exterior body (34/30, FIG. 2, [0032]-[0033]) defining an internal space; an electrode assembly (10, FIG. 2, [0028]) in the internal space of the exterior body (34/30); a terminal member (21, FIG. 2, [0033]) electrically connected to the electrode assembly (10); a lead (50, FIG. 2, [0038]) that electrically connects the terminal member (21) and the electrode assembly (10); and a fixing member (60, FIG. 2, [0047]) that fixes the lead (50) to an inner surface (side of case 34 in FIG. 2, [0051]) of the exterior body (34/30) (FIG. 2, [0049]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim ‘152 discloses wherein the fixing member (spacer 60) is a member that has an insulating property (see claim 14 of Kim ‘152).
Regarding claim 4, Kim ‘152 discloses wherein lead (50) is fixed to the inner surface of the exterior body (34/30) and a surface (21b, FIG. 2, [0038]) of the terminal member (21) exposed within the internal space of the exterior body (34/30).
Regarding claim 5, Kim ‘152 discloses wherein a fixing position of the fixing member (60) is between a position (53, FIG. 2, [0043]) where the lead (50) is connected to the electrode assembly (10) and a position (around 21b in FIG. 2) where the lead (50) is connected to the terminal member (21) (see FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Kim ‘152 discloses wherein the lead (50) is folded (bent, [0043]) and housed in the exterior body (34/30).
Regarding claim 7, Kim ‘152 discloses wherein the lead (50) is fixed to the inner surface (side of case 34 in FIG. 2) of the exterior body (34/30) at at least one position (side of case 34 in FIG. 2, [0051]).
Regarding claim 9, Kim ‘152 discloses wherein the exterior body (34/30) comprises a first exterior body (30, FIG. 2, [0033]) that is a lid-shaped member and a second exterior body (34, FIG. 2, [0028]) that is a cup-shaped member, and the lead (50) is fixed to an inner surface of the second exterior body (34).
Regarding claim 13, Kim ‘152 discloses wherein the electrode assembly (10) includes a positive electrode (11, FIG. 2, [0030]) and a negative electrode (12, FIG. 2, [0030]) capable of occluding and releasing lithium ions (lithium ion battery, [0029]).
Regarding claim 14, Kim ‘152 discloses a method of manufacturing a secondary battery (100, FIG. 2, [0028]), the method comprising: electrically connecting ([0033]) a lead (50, FIG. 2, [0038]) that is electrically connected ([0033]) to an electrode assembly (10, FIG. 2, [0028]) within an interior space of an exterior body (34/30, FIG. 2, [0032]-[0033]) to a terminal member (21, FIG. 2, [0033]); and fixing ([0051]) the lead (50) to an inner surface (side of case 34 in FIG. 2, [0051]) of the exterior body (34/30) with a fixing member (60, FIG. 2, [0047]).
Regarding claim 17, Kim ‘152 discloses wherein the fixing member (spacer 60) is a member that has an insulating property (see claim 14 of Kim ‘152).
Regarding claim 18, Kim ‘152 discloses wherein lead (50) is fixed to the inner surface (side of case 34 in FIG. 2) of the exterior body (34/30) and a surface (21b, FIG. 2, [0038]) of the terminal member (21) exposed within the internal space of the exterior body (34/30).
Regarding claim 19, Kim ‘152 discloses wherein a fixing position of the fixing member (60) is between a position (53, FIG. 2, [0043]) where the lead (50) is connected to the electrode assembly (10) and a position (around 21b in FIG. 2) where the lead (50) is connected to the terminal member (21) (see FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 20, Kim ‘152 discloses wherein the method further comprises folding (bending, [0043]) and housing the lead (50) in the exterior body (34/30).
Claims 1, 3-7, 9, 11, 13-14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim ‘215 (US 2013/0260215 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim ‘215 discloses a secondary battery (100, FIG. 2, [0045]) comprising: an exterior body (26/20, FIG. 2, [0045]) defining an internal space (FIG. 2); an electrode assembly (10, FIG. 2, [0045]) in the internal space of the exterior body (26/20); a terminal member (30, FIG. 2, [0045]) electrically connected to the electrode assembly (10); a lead (50, FIG. 2, [0051]) that electrically connects the terminal member (30) and the electrode assembly (10); and a fixing member (60, FIG. 2, [0045]) that fixes the lead (50) to an inner surface (inner surfaces in annotated figure 3 below) of the exterior body (26/20) ([0077]).
Annotated figure 3
Regarding claim 3, Kim ‘215 discloses wherein the fixing member (60) is a member that has an insulating property ([0072]).
Regarding claim 4, Kim ‘215 discloses wherein lead (50) is fixed to the inner surface (inner surfaces) of the exterior body (26/20) and a surface (exposed surface in annotated figure 3 above) of the terminal member (30) exposed within the internal space of the exterior body (26/20).
Regarding claim 5, Kim ‘215 discloses wherein a fixing position (under inner surface 1 of annotated figure 3 above) of the fixing member (60) is between a position where the lead (50) is connected to the electrode assembly (10) and a position where the lead (50) is connected to the terminal member (30).
Regarding claim 6, Kim ‘215 discloses wherein the lead (50) is folded (bent) and housed in the exterior body (26/20) (FIG. 2, [0060],[0063]).
Regarding claim 7, Kim ‘215 discloses wherein the lead (50) is fixed to the inner surface (inner surfaces) of the exterior body (26/20) at at least one position.
Regarding claim 9, Kim ‘215 discloses wherein the exterior body (26/20) comprises a first exterior body (20) that is a lid-shaped member and a second exterior body (26) that is a cup-shaped member, and the lead (50) is fixed to at least an inner surface (inner surface 1) of the first exterior body (20) or an inner surface (inner surface 2) of the second exterior body (26) (see annotated figure 3 above).
Regarding claim 11, Kim ‘215 discloses wherein the first exterior body (20) defines an opening (opening through which terminal 30 is inserted in FIG. 2), and the lead (50) is fixed to the inner surface (inner surface 1) of the first exterior body (20) (see annotated figure 3 above).
Regarding claim 13, Kim ‘215 discloses wherein the electrode assembly (10) includes a positive electrode (11, FIG. 2, [0047]) and a negative electrode (12, FIG. 2, [0047]) capable of occluding and releasing lithium ions (lithium ion secondary battery, [0046]).
Regarding claim 14, Kim ‘215 discloses a method of manufacturing a secondary battery (production of 100, FIG. 2, [0076]), the method comprising: electrically connecting a lead (50, FIG. 2, [0051]) that is electrically connected to an electrode assembly (10, FIG. 2, [0045]) within an interior space of an exterior body (26/20, FIG. 2, [0045]) to a terminal member (30, FIG. 2, [0045]); and fixing the lead (50, FIG. 2, [0051]) to an inner surface (inner surfaces in annotated figure 3 above) of the exterior body (26/20) with a fixing member (60, FIG. 2, [0045]) ([0077]).
Regarding claim 17, Kim ‘215 discloses wherein the fixing member (60) is a member that has an insulating property ([0072]).
Regarding claim 18, Kim ‘215 discloses wherein lead (50) is fixed to the inner surface of (inner surfaces) the exterior body (26/20) and a surface (exposed surface in annotated figure 3 above) of the terminal member (30) exposed within the internal space of the exterior body (26/20).
Regarding claim 19, Kim ‘215 discloses wherein a fixing position (under inner surface 1 of annotated figure 3 above) of the fixing member (60) is between a position where the lead (50) is connected to the electrode assembly (10) and a position where the lead (50) is connected to the terminal member (30).
Regarding claim 20, Kim ‘215 discloses wherein the method further comprises folding (bending) and housing the lead (50) in the exterior body (26/20) (FIG. 2, [0060],[0063]).
Claims 1-4, 5, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim ‘722 (US 2006/0115722 A1, cited in the IDS filed 04/09/2023).
Regarding claim 1, Kim ‘722 discloses a secondary battery (FIG. 2, [0050]) comprising: an exterior body (14/31, FIG. 2, [0031]) defining an internal space; an electrode assembly (10, FIG. 2, [0029]) in the internal space of the exterior body (14/31); a terminal member (32, FIG. 2, [0034]; 62, FIGS. 5-6, [0046]) electrically connected to the electrode assembly (10); a lead (21/22, FIG. 3, [0034]; 51/52, FIGS. 5-6, [0046]) that electrically connects the terminal member (32, 62) and the electrode assembly (10); and a fixing member (23, FIG. 2, [0034]; 56, FIGS. 5-6, [0046]) that fixes the lead (21/22, 51/52) to an inner surface of the exterior body (14/31) (side wall of 14 in FIGS. 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 2, Kim ‘722 discloses wherein the fixing member (56) is a member that provides adhesiveness between the exterior body (14/31) and the lead (51/52) ([0046]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim ‘722 discloses wherein the fixing member (23, 56) is a member that has an insulating property ([0034],[0046]).
Regarding claim 4, Kim ‘722 discloses wherein lead (21/22, 51/52) is fixed to the inner surface (side wall of 14 in FIGS. 2 and 3) of the exterior body (14/31) and a surface of the terminal member (bottom surface of 32, 62 in FIGS. 3 and 6) exposed within the internal space of the exterior body (14/31).
Regarding claim 5, Kim ‘722 discloses wherein a fixing position (side wall of 14 in FIGS. 2 and 3) of the fixing member (23, 56) is between a position where the lead (21/22, 51/52) is connected to the electrode assembly (10) and a position where the lead (21/22, 51/52) is connected to the terminal member (32, 62).
Regarding claim 7, Kim ‘722 discloses wherein the lead (21/22, 51/52) is fixed to the inner surface of the exterior body (14/31) at at least one position (side wall of 14 in FIGS. 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 9, Kim ‘722 discloses wherein the exterior body (14/31) comprises a first exterior body (31) that is a lid- shaped member and a second exterior body (14) that is a cup-shaped member, and the lead (21/22, 51/52) is fixed to an inner surface of the second exterior body (14) (side wall of 14 in FIGS. 2 and 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim ‘502 (US 2012/0282502 A1), as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Lee (US 2013/0273415 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Kim ‘502 does not disclose wherein a welded part welds the first exterior body and the second exterior body to each other, and a length between the welded part and a fixing position of the fixing member is larger than a length between the fixing position and an end of the opening of the first exterior body.
Lee discloses a secondary battery (101, FIGS. 102, [0028]) comprising: an exterior body (25/30, FIG. 2, [0028]) defining an internal space (FIG. 2); wherein the exterior body (25/30) comprises a first exterior body (25) that is a lid-shaped member and a second exterior body (30) that is a cup-shaped member (FIG. 2), and wherein a welded part welds the first exterior body (25) and the second exterior body (30) to each other ([0035]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the battery of Kim ‘502 by forming a welded part to weld the first exterior body and the second exterior body to each other because Lee teaches that doing so is well known in the art of secondary batteries ([0008]). The battery of Kim ‘502 in view of Lee would meet the limitation a length (length 1 in annotated figure 4 below) between the welded part and a fixing position of the fixing member (fixing position in annotated figure 4 below) is larger than a length (length 2 in annotated figure 4 below) between the fixing position and an end of the opening of the first exterior body (see annotated figure 4 below).
Annotated figure 4
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim ‘152 (US 2011/0039152 A1), as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Lee (US 2013/0273415 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Kim ‘152 does not disclose wherein a welded part welds the first exterior body and the second exterior body to each other, and a length between the welded part and a fixing position of the fixing member is larger than a length between the fixing position and an end of the opening of the first exterior body.
Lee discloses a secondary battery (101, FIGS. 102, [0028]) comprising: an exterior body (25/30, FIG. 2, [0028]) defining an internal space (FIG. 2); wherein the exterior body (25/30) comprises a first exterior body (25) that is a lid-shaped member and a second exterior body (30) that is a cup-shaped member (FIG. 2), and wherein a welded part welds the first exterior body (25) and the second exterior body (30) to each other ([0035]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the battery of Kim ‘152 by forming a welded part to weld the first exterior body and the second exterior body to each other because Lee teaches that doing so is well known in the art of secondary batteries ([0008]). The battery of Kim ‘152 in view of Lee would meet the limitation a length (length 1 in annotated figure 5 below) between the welded part and a fixing position of the fixing member (fixing position in annotated figure 5 below) is larger than a length (length 2 in annotated figure 5 below) between the fixing position and an end of the opening of the first exterior body (see annotated figure 5s below).
Annotated figure 5
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim ‘215 (US 2013/0260215 A1), as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Lee (US 2013/0273415 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Kim ‘215 does not disclose wherein a welded part welds the first exterior body and the second exterior body to each other, and a length between the welded part and a fixing position of the fixing member is larger than a length between the fixing position and an end of the opening of the first exterior body.
Lee discloses a secondary battery (101, FIGS. 102, [0028]) comprising: an exterior body (25/30, FIG. 2, [0028]) defining an internal space (FIG. 2); wherein the exterior body (25/30) comprises a first exterior body (25) that is a lid-shaped member and a second exterior body (30) that is a cup-shaped member (FIG. 2), and wherein a welded part welds the first exterior body (25) and the second exterior body (30) to each other ([0035]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the battery of Kim ‘215 by forming a welded part to weld the first exterior body and the second exterior body to each other because Lee teaches that doing so is well known in the art of secondary batteries ([0008]). The battery of Kim ‘215 in view of Lee would meet the limitation a length (length 1 in annotated figure 6 below) between the welded part and a fixing position of the fixing member (fixing position in annotated figure 6 below) is larger than a length (length 2 in annotated figure 6 below) between the fixing position and an end of the opening of the first exterior body (see annotated figure 6 below).
Annotated figure 6
Conclusion
/C.C.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723