Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission filed 12/29/2025 includes changes to the claims, remarks and arguments related to the previous rejection. The above have been entered and considered. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
With regard to the 103 rejection:
Applicant’s arguments and/or amendments with regard to Claims 1-20 have been considered in light of the previous references. The arguments and amended claims do not overcome the prior art at the time of the filing of the invention. Upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a new combination of the prior references of Takamine in view of Troxler.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 11-13 & 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takamine (US 20170363586; “Takamine”) in view of Troxler (US 20070046289: “Troxler”).
Claim 1. Takamine discloses a structure evaluation system (Fig. 1: 100) comprising: a plurality of elastic wave sensors (Fig. 1: 10-1 to 10-N) [0025] and a controller (20) comprising a processor and a memory [0021], the controller (20) being configured to; locate positions of sources [0022: the position locator 201 receives an AE signal output from the signal processor 11 as an input. Also, the position locator 201 pre-stores information on an installation position of the AE sensor 10 in the structure (hereinafter referred to as “sensor position information”) by associating the information to a sensor ID] of a plurality of elastic waves generated from a structure [0018] and detected [0025] by the plurality of elastic wave sensors (Fig. 1: 10-1 to 10-N) on the basis of the plurality of elastic waves [0025: As in the case of the elastic wave 33 due to damage, the position locator 201 can identify an approximate collision position of the raindrop 31 by locating a position with respect to the elastic wave 33 generated by rain. In this way, an impact caused by collision of a micro-object is art impact applied to a surface (the road surface 32 in FIG. 2) opposite to the surface at which the AE sensor 10 is installed evaluate a deterioration state of the structure [0056: a corrector configured to correct information based on the position location in the position locator using a correction value which is determined according to a temperature of the structure; and an evaluator configured to evaluate a deterioration state of the structure on the basis of the corrected information]. Takamine does not explicitly disclose:
a controller configured to correct information based on the position locations using a correction value which is determined according to a temperature of the structure; and evaluate a deterioration state of the structure on the basis of the corrected information, wherein the information is corrected using a first correction value or a second correction value as the correction value, the first correction value being a value for correcting a density of an elastic wave source density distribution which represents a distribution showing density values determined according to the number of elastic wave sources in each area, and the second correction value being a value for correcting a threshold for detecting elastic wave hits
Troxler teaches a controller (MPC) configured to correct information based on the position locations using a correction value which is determined according to a temperature of the structure [0080: the acoustical energy data may be combined with temperature measurements by temperature sensor 142 for determining a density or modulus of asphalt 200. In one example, penetrometer 104 is operable of exciting impulse or swept frequency waves into sample material 200 to be received by at least one of acoustic detectors 124 and 126. Modulus and density may be determined based on surface waves]; and evaluate a deterioration state of the structure on the basis of the corrected information [0145: FIG. 6 is a graph showing the linear relationship between variations of a construction mix's void percentage and modulus. Further, the temperature of a sample material is related to bulk density (ASTM D-4311) and modulus. FIG. 7 is a graph showing the relationship between variations of asphalt temperature and modulus. The subject matter described herein may correct for density estimations using known relationships between void measurements and/or temperature measurements and modulus of a sample material] using a first correction value as the correction value (Figure 7) [0145], the first correction value being a value for correcting a density of an elastic wave source [0080: the acoustical energy data may be combined with temperature
measurements by temperature sensor 142 for determining a density or modulus of asphalt 200] density distribution which represents a distribution showing density values [0080-0081] determined according to the number of elastic wave sources in each area [0103] & [0145].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Troxler’s temperature compensation processing of elastic surface signals in structural monitoring with Takamine’s, as modified, measured elastic signals because temperature compensation of the density measurements improves the processing of measured elastic waves to distinguish quality of structural materials [Troxler 0007].
Claim 2. Dependent on the structure evaluation system according to claim 1. Takamine, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the structure has a structure formed of at least two materials with different responses to temperature.
Troxler teaches the structure (106) has a structure formed of at least two materials with different responses to temperature [0048: In this example, the pavement structure may be composed of asphaltic material or concrete surface, base, and subgrade, each having a material thickness t and characterized by the elastic modulus E, Poisson ratio v, and aggregate interface friction] section [0073: Another temperature sensor 147 may be positioned in a "downhole" configuration in the interior of penetrometer end 102. Temperature sensor 147 may be operable to measure a temperature associated with an interior of construction material 106].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Troxler’s temperature probe seatable in a slab with Takamine’s , as modified, acoustic monitoring of structural health of a pavement structure because adjusting the acoustic measurement with slab temperature improve the accuracy in flaw detection as temperature changes occur [Troxler 0005].
Claim 3. Dependent on the structure evaluation system according to claim 1. Takamine, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
a floor slab section that supports the pavement section, and wherein the temperature of the structure is a value associated with a temperature of the pavement section.
Troxler teaches a floor slab section [0048: In this example, the pavement structure may be composed of asphaltic material or concrete surface, base, and subgrade, each having a material thickness t and characterized by the elastic modulus E, Poisson ratio v, and aggregate interface friction] that supports the pavement section (106), and wherein the temperature of the structure is a value associated with a temperature (147) of the pavement section [0073: Another temperature sensor 147 may be positioned in a "downhole" configuration in the interior of penetrometer end 102. Temperature sensor 147 may be operable to measure a temperature associated with an interior of construction material 106].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Troxler’s temperature probe seatable in a slab with Takamine’s , as modified, acoustic monitoring of structural health of a pavement structure because adjusting the acoustic measurement with slab temperature improve the accuracy in flaw detection as temperature changes occur [Troxler 0005].
Claim 4. Dependent on the structure evaluation system according to claim 3. Takamine, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the information based on the position location includes information on a density, and wherein the corrector performs correction using the correction value such that the density increases when the temperature of the pavement section is high and the density decreases when the temperature of the pavement section is low.
Troxler teaches the information based [0004] on the position location (0080: location of the accelerometer 204) includes information on a density [0079], and wherein information is corrected (192) using the correction value (Fig. 7) such that the density increases when the temperature of the pavement section is high and the density decreases when the temperature of the pavement section is low [0145: further, the temperature of a sample material is related to bulk density (ASTM D-4311) and modulus. FIG. 7 is a graph showing the relationship between variations of asphalt temperature and modulus. The subject matter described herein may correct for density estimations using known relationships between void measurements and/or temperature measurements and modulus of a sample material. Further, correction for HMA modulus may be obtained by temperature correction. Thus, a method for non-nuclear density measurement may be implemented by the subject matter described herein. In as much as the acoustical phase velocity is related to the variables of sheer modulus G and mass density .rho., and electromagnetic methods are multi-variable and chaotic systems, the systems described herein yield accurate and repeatable density measurements].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Troxler’s temperature, density and modulus compensation processing of elastic signals in structural monitoring with Takamine’s, as modified, measured elastic signals because temperature compensation improves the processing of measured elastic properties to determine structural health of a pavement structure in dynamic temperature environments [Troxler 0005].
Claim 5. Dependent on the structure evaluation system according to claim 4. Takamine, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the correction value is calculated with reference to a correction table in which a value of a Young’s modulus at each temperature is registered.
Troxler teaches the information based [0004] (192) performs correction using the correction value (Fig. 7) is calculated with reference to a correction table in which a value of a Young’s modulus at each temperature is registered [0145: further, the temperature of a sample material is related to bulk density (ASTM D-4311) and modulus. FIG. 7 is a graph showing the relationship between variations of asphalt temperature and modulus. The subject matter described herein may correct for density estimations using known relationships between void measurements and/or temperature measurements and modulus of a sample material. Further, correction for HMA modulus may be obtained by temperature correction. Thus, a method for non-nuclear density measurement may be implemented by the subject matter described herein. In as much as the acoustical phase velocity is related to the variables of sheer modulus G and mass density .rho., and electromagnetic methods are multi-variable and chaotic systems, the systems described herein yield accurate and repeatable density measurements].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Troxler’s temperature, density and modulus compensation processing of elastic signals in structural monitoring with Takamine’s, as modified, measured elastic signals because temperature compensation improves the processing accuracy of measured elastic properties to determine structural health of a pavement structure in dynamic temperature environments [Troxler 0005].
Claim 6. Dependent on the structure evaluation system according to claim 1. Takamine, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the information is corrected such that a threshold value for detecting the plurality of elastic waves decreases when the temperature of the structure is high and the threshold value increases when the temperature of the structure is low.
Troxler teaches a controller (Fig. 1: MPC) the information is corrected such that a threshold value for detecting the plurality of elastic waves decreases (Fig. 7) when the temperature of the structure is high (Fig. 7) and the threshold value increases when the temperature of the structure is low (Fig. 7) [0145].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Troxler’s temperature compensation processing of elastic signals in structural monitoring dependent on the high vs. low temperature thresholding with Takamine’s, as modified, measured elastic signals because temperature compensation improves the processing of measured elastic waves to distinguish damage from environmental and operational effects [Troxler 0007].
Claim 8. Dependent on the structure evaluation system according to claim 3. Takamine further discloses the value associated with the temperature (10) of the pavement section (30) is a temperature of a bottom surface of the floor slab section [0055: Further, when some or all of the AE sensors 10 are at rest, the AE sensor 10 may be activated when a micro-object is detected by a device such as a rain gauge, a camera, and a microphone. Also, for example, the AE sensor 10 may be activated at a time when an event due 10 an impact on a structure is expected based on weather information such as rainfall, temperature and humidity levels near a measurement region].
Claim 11. Dependent on the structure evaluation system according to claim 3 Takamine, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the value associated with the temperature of the pavement section is a value of one of an interatomic distance, a Young’s modulus, a volume modulus, an acoustic impedance, a transmittance, a reflectance, elastic wave amplitude, a hit count of elastic waves, and a location count of elastic waves.
Troxler teaches the information based [0004] the corrector (192) performs correction using the correction value (Fig. 7) with reference to a correction table in which a value of a Young’s modulus at each temperature is registered [0145: further, the temperature of a sample material is related to bulk density (ASTM D-4311) and modulus. FIG. 7 is a graph showing the relationship between variations of asphalt temperature and modulus. The subject matter described herein may correct for density estimations using known relationships between void measurements and/or temperature measurements and modulus of a sample material. Further, correction for HMA modulus may be obtained by temperature correction. Thus, a method for non-nuclear density measurement may be implemented by the subject matter described herein. In as much as the acoustical phase velocity is related to the variables of sheer modulus G and mass density .rho., and electromagnetic methods are multi-variable and chaotic systems, the systems described herein yield accurate and repeatable density measurements].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Troxler’s temperature, density and modulus compensation processing of elastic signals in structural monitoring with Takamine’s, as modified, measured elastic signals because temperature compensation improves the processing accuracy of measured elastic properties to determine structural health of a pavement structure in dynamic temperature environments [Troxler 0005].
Claim 12. Dependent on the structure evaluation system according to claim 3. Takamine, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the temperature of the structure is a value associated with one of a difference or a ratio of temperatures between the temperature of the pavement section and the temperature of the floor slab section.
Troxler teaches the temperature of the structure (106) is a value associated with a difference of temperatures between the temperature of the pavement section (142) and the temperature of the floor slab section (147) [0210 averaged densities across both materials requires a difference or delta of the temperatures].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Troxler’s temperature, density and modulus compensation processing of elastic signals in structural monitoring with Takamine’s, as modified, measured elastic signals because temperature compensation improves the processing accuracy of measured elastic properties to determine structural health of a pavement structure in dynamic temperature environments [Troxler 0005].
Claim 13. Dependent on the structure evaluation system according to claim 12. Takamine, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the temperature of the pavement section is a value which is estimated by one of an atmospheric temperature or an amount of solar radiation or a temperature of a top surface of the pavement section, and the temperature of the floor slab section is a temperature of a bottom surface of the floor slab section.
Troxler teaches the temperature of the structure (106) the temperature of the pavement section (142) is a value which is estimated by a top surface of the pavement section (106), and the temperature of the floor slab section is a temperature of a bottom surface of the floor slab section (147) [0210 averaged densities across both materials requires a difference or delta of the temperatures].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Troxler’s temperature, density and modulus compensation processing of elastic signals in structural monitoring with Takamine’s, as modified, measured elastic signals because temperature compensation improves the processing accuracy of measured elastic properties to determine structural health of a pavement structure in dynamic temperature environments [Troxler 0005].
Claim 15. Takamine discloses a structure evaluation apparatus (Fig. 2: 100) comprising: a controller (20) comprising a processor and a memory [0021], to locate positions of sources of a plurality of elastic waves [0025] detected by a plurality of elastic wave sensors (Fig. 1: 10-1 to 10-N) that detect elastic waves generated from a structure (Fig. 1: 30 floor slab)[0018]; on the basis of the plurality of elastic waves [0022: the position locator 201 receives an AE signal output from the signal processor 11 as an input. Also, the position locator 201 pre-stores information on an installation position of the AE sensor 10 in the structure (hereinafter referred to as “sensor position information”) by associating the information to a sensor ID]; and a deterioration state of the structure on the basis of the corrected information (30) [0056: a corrector configured to correct information based on the position location in the position locator using a correction value which is determined according to a temperature of the structure; and an evaluator configured to evaluate a deterioration state of the structure on the basis of the corrected information].
Takamine, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
a controller configured to correct information based on the position locations using a correction value which is determined according to a temperature of the structure; and evaluate a deterioration state of the structure on the basis of the corrected information, wherein the information is corrected using a first correction value or a second correction value as the correction value, the first correction value being a value for correcting a density of an elastic wave source density distribution which represents a distribution showing density values determined according to the number of elastic wave sources in each area, and the second correction value being a value for correcting a threshold for detecting elastic wave hits
Troxler teaches a controller (MPC) configured to correct information based on the position locations using a correction value which is determined according to a temperature of the structure [0080: the acoustical energy data may be combined with temperature measurements by temperature sensor 142 for determining a density or modulus of asphalt 200. In one example, penetrometer 104 is operable of exciting impulse or swept frequency waves into sample material 200 to be received by at least one of acoustic detectors 124 and 126. Modulus and density may be determined based on surface waves]; and evaluate a deterioration state of the structure on the basis of the corrected information [0145: FIG. 6 is a graph showing the linear relationship between variations of a construction mix's void percentage and modulus. Further, the temperature of a sample material is related to bulk density (ASTM D-4311) and modulus. FIG. 7 is a graph showing the relationship between variations of asphalt temperature and modulus. The subject matter described herein may correct for density estimations using known relationships between void measurements and/or temperature measurements and modulus of a sample material] using a first correction value as the correction value (Figure 7) [0145], the first correction value being a value for correcting a density of an elastic wave source [0080: the acoustical energy data may be combined with temperature
measurements by temperature sensor 142 for determining a density or modulus of asphalt 200] density distribution which represents a distribution showing density values [0080-0081] determined according to the number of elastic wave sources in each area [0103] & [0145].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Troxler’s temperature compensation processing of elastic surface signals in structural monitoring with Takamine’s, as modified, measured elastic signals because temperature compensation of the density measurements improves the processing of measured elastic waves to distinguish quality of structural materials [Troxler 0007].
Claim 16. Takamine discloses a structure evaluation (Fig. 1: 100) method executed by a computer comprising: detecting elastic waves [0025] generated from a structure (Fig. claiAlso, the position locator 201 pre-stores information on an installation position of the AE sensor 10 in the structure (hereinafter referred to as “sensor position information”) by associating the information to a sensor ID] using a plurality of elastic wave sensors (10-1 to 10-n) [0018] of a plurality of elastic waves on the basis of the detected plurality of elastic waves [0025]; and evaluating (202) a deterioration state of the structure (30) [0056: a corrector configured to correct information based on the position location in the position locator using a correction value which is determined according to a temperature of the structure; and an evaluator configured to evaluate a deterioration state of the structure on the basis of the corrected information]. Takamine, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
a controller configured to correct information based on the position locations using a correction value which is determined according to a temperature of the structure; and evaluate a deterioration state of the structure on the basis of the corrected information, wherein the information is using a first correction value or a second correction value as the correction value, the first correction value being a value for correcting a density of an elastic wave source density distribution which represents a distribution showing density values determined according to the number of elastic wave sources in each area, and the second correction value being a value for correcting a threshold for detecting elastic wave hits
Troxler teaches a controller (MPC) configured to correct information based on the position locations using a correction value which is determined according to a temperature of the structure [0080: the acoustical energy data may be combined with temperature measurements by temperature sensor 142 for determining a density or modulus of asphalt 200. In one example, penetrometer 104 is operable of exciting impulse or swept frequency waves into sample material 200 to be received by at least one of acoustic detectors 124 and 126. Modulus and density may be determined based on surface waves]; and evaluate a deterioration state of the structure on the basis of the corrected information [0145: FIG. 6 is a graph showing the linear relationship between variations of a construction mix's void percentage and modulus. Further, the temperature of a sample material is related to bulk density (ASTM D-4311) and modulus. FIG. 7 is a graph showing the relationship between variations of asphalt temperature and modulus. The subject matter described herein may correct for density estimations using known relationships between void measurements and/or temperature measurements and modulus of a sample material] using a first correction value as the correction value (Figure 7) [0145], the first correction value being a value for correcting a density of an elastic wave source [0080: the acoustical energy data may be combined with temperature
measurements by temperature sensor 142 for determining a density or modulus of asphalt 200] density distribution which represents a distribution showing density values [0080-0081] determined according to the number of elastic wave sources in each area [0103] & [0145].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Troxler’s temperature compensation processing of elastic surface signals in structural monitoring with Takamine’s, as modified, measured elastic signals because temperature compensation of the density measurements improves the processing of measured elastic waves to distinguish quality of structural materials [Troxler 0007].
Claim 17. Takamine discloses a non-transitory computer readable recording medium [0021: the evaluation program may be recorded in a computer-readable recording medium] storing a computer program [0021] which enables a computer (20) to execute the following processing: locating positions (201) of sources of a plurality of elastic waves [0022: the position locator 201 receives an AE signal output from the signal processor 11 as an input. Also, the position locator 201 pre-stores information on an installation position of the AE sensor 10 in the structure (hereinafter referred to as “sensor position information”) by associating the information to a sensor ID] detected by a plurality of elastic wave sensors (Fig. 1: 10-1 to 10-N) that detect elastic waves [0025] generated from a structure (Fig. 1: 30 floor slab)[0018] on the basis of the plurality of elastic waves [0025]; and evaluating (202) a deterioration state of the structure (30) [0056: a corrector configured to correct information based on the position location in the position locator using a correction value which is determined according to a temperature of the structure; and an evaluator configured to evaluate a deterioration state of the structure on the basis of the corrected information]. . Takamine, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
a controller configured to correct information based on the position locations using a correction value which is determined according to a temperature of the structure; and evaluate a deterioration state of the structure on the basis of the corrected information, wherein the information is corrected using a first correction value or a second correction value as the correction value, the first correction value being a value for correcting a density of an elastic wave source density distribution which represents a distribution showing density values determined according to the number of elastic wave sources in each area, and the second correction value being a value for correcting a threshold for detecting elastic wave hits
Troxler teaches a controller (MPC) configured to correct information based on the position locations using a correction value which is determined according to a temperature of the structure [0080: the acoustical energy data may be combined with temperature measurements by temperature sensor 142 for determining a density or modulus of asphalt 200. In one example, penetrometer 104 is operable of exciting impulse or swept frequency waves into sample material 200 to be received by at least one of acoustic detectors 124 and 126. Modulus and density may be determined based on surface waves]; and evaluate a deterioration state of the structure on the basis of the corrected information [0145: FIG. 6 is a graph showing the linear relationship between variations of a construction mix's void percentage and modulus. Further, the temperature of a sample material is related to bulk density (ASTM D-4311) and modulus. FIG. 7 is a graph showing the relationship between variations of asphalt temperature and modulus. The subject matter described herein may correct for density estimations using known relationships between void measurements and/or temperature measurements and modulus of a sample material] using a first correction value as the correction value (Figure 7) [0145], the first correction value being a value for correcting a density of an elastic wave source [0080: the acoustical energy data may be combined with temperature
measurements by temperature sensor 142 for determining a density or modulus of asphalt 200] density distribution which represents a distribution showing density values [0080-0081] determined according to the number of elastic wave sources in each area [0103] & [0145].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Troxler’s temperature compensation processing of elastic surface signals in structural monitoring with Takamine’s, as modified, measured elastic signals because temperature compensation of the density measurements improves the processing of measured elastic waves to distinguish quality of structural materials [Troxler 0007].
Claim 18. Dependent on the structure evaluation system according to claim 1. Takamine further discloses the plurality of elastic wave sensors (Fig. 1: 10-1 to 10-n) [0017] comprises one of a piezoelectric element [0018].
Claim 19. The structure evaluation system according to claim 1. Takamine further discloses each of the plurality of elastic wave sensors (10-1 to 10-n) converts the detected elastic waves into an electrical signal [0018].
Claim 20. Dependent on the structure evaluation method according to claim 16. Takamine further discloses detecting elastic waves generated from a structure (32) [0025] comprises detecting the elastic waves using a plurality of elastic wave sensors (10-1 to 10-n), each of the plurality of elastic wave sensors comprising one of a piezoelectric element [0018].
Claims 7 & 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takamine in view of Troxler and in further view of Gharibnezhad (Robust Damage Detection in Smart Structures by Fahit Gharibnezhad Technical University of Catalunya Department of Applied Mathematics III CoDALabs Barcelona, Spain April 2014: “Gharibnezhad”).
Claim 7. Dependent on the structure evaluation system according to claim 3. Takamine, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the value associated with the temperature of the pavement section is an atmospheric temperature.
Gharibnezhad teaches a corrector (Fig. 3.14) [Page 73 section 3.13.1: In OBS technique (See Figure 3.14), to discriminate the effects of damage from those of environmental changes, a “bank” of baseline signals acquired at the various temperatures (T1, T2,...,Tn) and later the response data (from unknown status) is compared wi th baseline database to find the closest match (Ti). The selected baseline is used as the data representing pristine structure in this temperature. Unlike BSS, that technique does not change the time-trace but simply reduces the temperature difference seen] the ambient temperature of the bridge played a major role in the variation of the bridge’s dynamic characteristics [105], the value associated with the temperature of the pavement section is an atmospheric temperature [Page 168 section 7.4: Moreover, the stability and the performance of all presented damage detection techniques are studies when there is a significant change in ambient temperature].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Gharibnezhad’s ambient temperature compensation processing to adjust temperature induced signal strength of elastic signals in structural monitoring with Takamine’s, as modified, measured elastic signals because temperature compensation improves the processing of measured elastic waves to distinguish damage from environmental and operational effects [Section 3.13.1 first ¶ Gharibnezhad].
Claim 14. Dependent on the structure evaluation system according to claim 3. Takamine, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the value associated with the temperature of the pavement section is a statistic value of measured temperatures.
Gharibnezhad teaches the value associated with the temperature of the pavement section is a statistic value of measured temperatures [Page 146: PCA analysis].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Gharibnezhad’s temperature compensation adjusted by PCA processing of elastic signals in structural monitoring with Takamine’s, as modified, measured elastic signals because temperature compensation improves the processing of measured elastic waves to distinguish damage from environmental and operational effects [Section 3.13.1 first ¶ Gharibnezhad].
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takamine in view of Troxler and in further view of Zeng (CN 203758546: “Zeng” translation provided for citations).
Claim 9. Dependent on the structure evaluation system according to claim 3. Takamine, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the value associated with the temperature of the pavement section is a road surface temperature which is measured by a temperature sensor attached to a vehicle traveling on the pavement section.
Zeng teaches the value associated with the temperature of the pavement section is a road surface temperature (7) which is measured by a temperature sensor (7) attached to a vehicle (1) traveling on the pavement section [0017: GPS locating module, a material temperature sensor, paving temperature sensor, hot plate temperature sensor, virtual paving thickness sensor, a machine speed sensor, environment temperature and humidity sensor, a wind speed and direction sensor and a paver GPS locating module respectively connected communicating with an upper computer].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Zeng’s vehicle mounted temperature sensor for surface pavement temperature with Takamine’s, as modified, pavement acoustic monitoring because a vehicle mounted temperature sensor is a cost efficient method of obtaining large surface temperature variations with a single sensor.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takamine in view of Troxler and in further view of Morimoto (JP 2004198188: “Morimoto” translation provided for citations).
Claim 10. Dependent on the structure evaluation system according to claim 3. Takamine, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the value associated with the temperature of the pavement section is an amount of solar radiation.
Morimoto teaches the value associated with the temperature of the pavement section is an amount of solar radiation [0004: The weather sensor unit included in the conventional road surface condition determination / prediction device includes a road surface thermometer (radiation thermometer), a thermometer, a pyranometer, an albedometer (short wavelength pyranometer), and the like. Record the output data. The input information section stores a linear autoregressive model necessary for discriminating and predicting a road surface condition, and a position for predicting a judgment value, weather (sunny, snow, etc.), and height (mountain, flatland, etc)].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Morimoto’s solar radiation to surface temperature measurement as Takamine’s, as modified, temperature measurements because the temperature measurements are highly reliable in precipitation.
Conclusion
/MONICA S YOUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855