This Office action is in response to amendments filed on 06/29/2026. Claims 1-3, 5-13, and 21-22 are pending. Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12, and 22 are rejected; claims 11 and 13 are objected to; and claim 21 is allowed. The previously filed 35 USC 112(b) and 112(d) rejection(s) are withdrawn, as necessitated by the amendments and cancellation of claim(s).
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following antecedent basis informalities:
Claim 6, ll. 4, consider amending to, --vertically above one of [[the]]a first foot and [[the]]a second foot;--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lupsac (US 2015/0246423).
Regarding claim 1, Lupsac (US 2015/0246423) discloses an adjustable mount (embodiment of figs. 1-5) for a handheld sander (item 16; figs. 1-2), comprising:
a base (includes items 1, 19, 49, 51; pp. [0014]; figs. 1-3) adapted to engage with a work table (base is capable of engaging with work table during use, i.e. item 1; pp. [0014]; figs. 1-2), and having an upright member (includes items 49, 51; figs. 1-3);
a pivot table (item 57; fig. 3) pivotably engaged with and is moveable relative to the upright member of the base (via item 65; pp. [0019]; fig. 3);
a clamping assembly (includes items 70, 71; pp. [0019]; figs. 1-2 and 5) operably engaged with the pivot table (clamping assembly operably pivots about pivot table via base plate 58 to clamp and adjust sander 16; figs.1-2); and
at least one pivot pin (item 62; fig. 3) pivotably engaging the pivot table with the upright member (pp. [0019] and [0021]; pivot pin 62 extends through upright member 49 and pivot table 57 to adjust sander 16 at various angles);
at least one locking member (item 52; figs. 1-3) releasably securing the pivot table to the upright member (pp. [0021]; locking member 52 adjusts angularly position of sander 16 via releasable attachment of pivot table 57 relative to upright member; figs. 1-2), wherein a portion of the at least one locking member passes through aligned openings of the pivot table and the upright member (pp. [0018]; at least a portion extends through opening of upright member and one of the openings, i.e. items 53, 54, 55, of pivot table 57; fig. 3) and being housed inside of the pivot table and the upright member along a shared axis (when locked, the portion of locking member is housed within openings of pivot table and upright member along same axis);
wherein the pivot table, the clamping assembly, and the handheld sander are collectively rotatable about the at least one pivot pin (pp. [0019] and [0021]; when sander 16 is secured within clamping assembly, pivot table 57, clamping assembly, and sander 16 rotate about pivot pin 62 simultaneously when locking member 52 is released; figs. 1-2) and relative to the base (figs. 1-2).
The recitations “for a handheld sander” and “for securing the handheld sander with the adjustable mount” and “for providing the handheld sander at least one ergonomic position” are considered to be intended use limitations. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claim, as is the case here; refer to MPEP 2114-II. In the instant case, the adjustable mount is capable of securing a handheld sander, a portion of the handheld sander, and/or a handle of the handheld sander.
Regarding claim 2, Lupsac discloses the adjustable mount as claimed in claim 1, wherein the pivot table is releasably secured with the base (pp. [0018] and [0021]; pivot table 57 is releasably securable with base, i.e. upright member 49, via locking member 52) to collectively maintain the pivot table, the clamping assembly, and the handheld sander at least one angle (the pivot table 57, the clamping assembly, and the handheld sander 16 are capable of being angularly adjusted and maintained at different angles along openings 53, 54, 55; figs. 1-3) from a range of angles (defined as angles at openings 53, 54, 55; pp. [0018] and [0021]; figs. 1-3) relative to the base (figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 3, Lupsac discloses the adjustable mount as claimed in claim 1, wherein the base comprises:
a first foot (designated in annotated fig. 3 below) fixedly engaged with a first end of the upright member (first foot directly engages with first end of upright member, i.e. frontmost item 49, 51 in view of figs. 1-3) and being entirely planar that is adapted to rest on the work table (first foot is planar on all sides and capable of engaging work table surface; figs. 1-3); and
a second foot (designated in annotated fig. 3 below) fixedly engaged with a second end of the upright member (second foot directly engages, i.e. extends off from, second end of upright member, i.e. rearmost item 49, 51 in view of figs. 1-3) longitudinally opposite to the first end (longitudinal designated in annotated fig. 3 below; first end and second end are opposite to each other along longitudinal of base) and being entirely planar that is adapted to rest on the work table (second foot is planar on all sides and capable of engaging work table surface; figs. 1-3);
wherein the upright member, the first foot, and the second foot define monolithic unit (upright member 49, 51, first foot, and second foot define a single body, i.e. base of adjustable mount; figs. 1-2).
Lupsac Annotated Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 5, Lupsac discloses the adjustable mount as claimed in claim 1,
wherein the at least one locking member collectively maintains the pivot table, the clamping assembly, and the handheld sander at least one angle (when pivot table 57 is at desired position relative to base, locking member 52 is inserted through one of the openings 53, 54, 55 on pivot table to secure pivot table 57, clamping assembly, and sander 16 at desired position; figs. 1-2) from a range of angles relative to the base (defined as angles at openings 53, 54, 55; pp. [0018] and [0021]; figs. 1-3) relative to the base (figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 7, Lupsac discloses the adjustable mount as claimed in claim 3, wherein each of the first foot and the second foot are adapted to be mounted to the work table via a clamping tool (both the first and second foot of the base are capable of being mounted to a work table during use via a clamping tool, not explicitly shown).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Welz (US Patent No. 2,550,629) in view of Kim (KR 101587777), as provided by the Examiner.
Regarding claim 1, Welz (US Patent No. 2,550,629) discloses an adjustable mount (figs. 1-3) for a handheld sander, comprising:
a base (includes items 1, 2, 3, 6, 14; figs. 1-3) adapted to engage with a work table (base is capable of engaging with work table during use, i.e. via item 1; col. 1, ll. 37-41), and having an upright member (includes items 14; figs. 1-3);
a pivot table (item 8; figs. 1-3) pivotably engaged with and is moveable relative to the upright member of the base (via item 15; col. 2, ll. 29-43; figs. 1-3);
a clamping assembly (includes items 9, 10, 11, 12; figs 2-3) operably engaged with the pivot table (clamping assembly is operably positioned on upper end of pivot table 8 to clamp and adjust sander); and
at least one pivot pin (item 15; figs. 1-3) pivotably engaging the pivot table with the upright member (col. 2, ll. 29-43; pivot pin 15 extends through lower end of upright member 14 to pivotably engage pivot table 8 with upright member 15; figs. 1-3);
at least one locking member (item 17; figs. 1-3) releasably securing the pivot table to the upright member (col. 2, ll. 36-43; locking member 17 adjusts angular position of pivot table, clamping assembly, and sander via releasable attachment of upright member relative to pivot table; figs. 1-3),
wherein the pivot table, the clamping assembly, and the handheld sander are collectively rotatable about the at least one pivot pin (when sander is secured within clamping assembly, pivot table 8, clamping assembly, and sander rotate about pivot pin 5 simultaneously when locking member 17 is released and loosened; figs. 1-3) and relative to the base (figs. 1-3).
Though Welz discloses wherein a portion of the at least one locking member passes through aligned openings of the upright member, Welz is silent on the at least one locking member inserted into an aligned opening on the pivot table and being housed inside of the pivot table and the upright member along a shared axis.
However, Kim (KR 101587777), as provided by the Examiner, teaches an adjustable mount (item 100; figs. 1-2) comprising a base (item 110; fig. 2) having an upright member (item 310; fig. 2), a pivot table (item 210; fig. 2) movable relative to the upright member (via item 130; fig. 2), at least one pivot pin (item 130; pp. [0042]; fig. 2) pivotably engaging the pivot table with the upright member (pp. [0042], [0056], [0065]; fig. 2), at least one locking member (items 320; fig. 2) releasably securing the pivot table to the upright member (pp. [0057] and [0065]; fig. 2), wherein a portion of the at least one locking member passes through aligned openings of the pivot table (openings 219 on pivot table 210; pp. [0053-0055]; fig. 2) and the upright member (arcuate openings 316; pp. [0053-0055]; fig. 2) and being housed inside of the pivot table and upright member along a shared axis (fig. 3; at least a portion of locking member, i.e. bolt 320, is housed within pivot table and upright member when tightened on same axis).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to configure the pivot table, as disclosed in Welz, to include an aligned opening with the arcuate opening of the upright member for the portion of the locking member to insert through and house within, as taught in Kim, in order for the device to function as intended and in order to further support the incline-adjusted pivot table more firmly (pp. [0019] of Kim).
The recitations “for a handheld sander” and “for securing the handheld sander with the adjustable mount” and “for providing the handheld sander at least one ergonomic position” are considered to be intended use limitations. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claim, as is the case here; refer to MPEP 2114-II. In the instant case, the adjustable mount is capable of securing a handheld sander, a portion of the handheld sander, and/or a handle of the handheld sander.
Regarding claim 5, Welz as modified discloses the adjustable mount as claimed in claim 1,
wherein the at least one locking member collectively maintains the pivot table, the clamping assembly, and the handheld sander at least one angle (when pivot table 8 is at desired position relative to base, locking member 17 is inserted through arcuate opening on upright member 16 and into aligned opening on pivot table, as modified from Kim above, to secure pivot table, clamping assembly, and sander at desired position) from a range of angles relative to the base (defined as angles all along arcuate opening 16; figs. 1 and 3) relative to the base (figs. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 6, Welz as modified discloses the adjustable mount as claimed in claim 5, wherein the base further comprises:
at least one slot (item 16, defined as aligning opening on upright member; analogous to applicant’s disclosure, fig. 5 in instant disclosure) defined in the upright member and along a curvilinear path (col. 2, ll. 54) that is vertically above one of the first foot and the second foot (slot 16 is vertically above first and second foots, i.e. items 3 on left and right ends of base; figs. 1-2);
wherein the at least one locking member rides inside of the at least one slot (when assembled, a portion of locking member slides within slot 16 to adjust pivot table at respective angles along upright member; figs. 1 and 3) for collectively maintaining the pivot table, the clamping assembly, and the handheld sander at said at least one angle from the range of angles relative to the base (portion of locking member 17 tightens within slot 16 to secure pivot table 8, clamping assembly, and handheld sander at desired angle; figs. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 9, Welz as modified discloses the adjustable mount as claimed in claim 1, wherein the clamping assembly comprises:
a clamping plate (item 7; figs. 1 and 3) operably engaged with the pivot table (clamping plate 7 directly extends from pivot table 8 and operably moves in effect with the pivot table 8 moving about pivot 5; figs. 1 and 3);
at least one adjustment assembly (includes items 11, 12; fig. 3) engaged with the clamping plate (via intermediate components); and
a clamping strap (item 9; figs. 2-3) operably engaged with the at least one adjustment assembly (when adjustment assembly rotates, the clamping strap 9 linearly moves along pivot table 8; figs. 2-3);
wherein the clamping plate, the at least one adjustment assembly, and the clamping strap are adapted to secure the handheld sander between the clamping plate and the clamping strap (when the at least one adjustment assembly is rotated, the clamping strap is linearly moved along pivot table 8 and capable of securing the handheld sander between the clamping plate 7 and the clamping strap 9; figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 10, Welz as modified discloses the adjustable mount as claimed in claim 9, wherein the clamping strap is moveably adjustable relative to the clamping plate via the at least one adjustment assembly (col. 1, ll. 53 through col. 2, ll. 7; clamping strap 9 is linearly moveable relative to clamping plate 7, i.e. clamping strap moves toward and away from the clamping plate 7, once portion of adjustment assembly, i.e. item 12, is moved via user).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lupsac (US 2015/0246423) in view of Yonge (US Patent No. 693,111).
Regarding claim 8, Lupsac discloses the adjustable mount as claimed in claim 3. Lupsac does not explicitly disclose at least one mounting mechanism operably engaging one of the first foot and the second foot with the work table via at least one hole defined in the work table; the at least one mounting mechanism having a fastener engaging with one of the first foot and the second foot and with the work table, and a locking knob releasably securing with one of the first foot and the second foot with the work table.
However, Yonge (US Patent 693,811) teaches an adjustable mount (figs. 1-2) comprising a base (item 1; figs 1-3) having a first foot (item 3; figs. 1 and 3) and a second foot (item 4; figs. 1 and 3), wherein the base is adapted to engage with a work table (item 6; figs. 1-3), and the adjustable mount further comprising at least one mounting mechanism (defined as fastening mechanism inserted within apertures on first foot 3 and second foot 4; figs. 1 and 3) operably engaged the first foot and the second foot (ll. 49 through ll. 52) with the work table (fig. 1) via at least one hole defined in the work table (fastener extends through aperture first foot 3 and second foot 4 and inserts within aperture of work table 6; fig. 1), wherein the at least one mounting mechanism having a fastener (figs. 1 and 3; ll. 46-50) engaging with the first foot and with the work table (fig. 1), and a locking knob (designated in annotated fig. 1 below, defined as opposing nut on fastener) releasably securing with the first foot with the work table.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the adjustable mount, as disclosed in Lupsac, to include a releasable mounting mechanism on each first and second foot, as taught in Yonge in order to increase versatility of the adjustable mount and releasably secure the mount to a table, bench, or other support depending on the intended use (Yonge; ll. 45 through ll. 52).
Yonge Annotated Fig. 1.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Welz (US Patent No. 2,550,629) in view of Kim (KR 101587777), as provided by the Examiner, and further in view of Chern (US Patent No. 4,953,839).
Regarding claim 12, Welz as modified discloses the adjustable mount as claimed in claim 9, but does not explicitly disclose at least another adjustment assembly operably engaged with the clamping plate and adjacent to the at least one adjustment assembly, and wherein the at least another adjustment assembly is configured to linearly move the clamping strap relative to the clamping plate for securing the handheld sander between the clamping plate and the clamping strap.
However, Chern (US Patent No. 4,953,839) teaches an adjustable mount comprising a base (item 20), a pivot table (item 30), and a clamping assembly (includes items 40, 50, 100, 110; figs. 4 and 6) operably engaged with the pivot table (clamping assembly operable slides along pivot table 30 to clamp object, col. 4, ll. 3-14), analogous to the clamping assembly in Welz, wherein the clamping assembly comprises a clamping plate (item 100; figs. 3 and 6) operably engaged with the pivot table (clamping plate 100 directly engages pivot table and operably moves in effect with pivot table 30 when moving about pivot), at least one adjustment assembly (includes items 51, 52, 54, 55; figs. 4 and 6) engaged with the clamping plate (figs. 4 and 6), and a clamping strap (item 40; fig. 4) operably engaged with the at least one adjustment assembly (when adjustment assembly 51, 52 rotates, the clamping strap 40 linearly moves through slot on pivot table), and at least another adjustment assembly (second items 51, 52, on opposing side of bevel gear 55; fig. 4) operably engaged with the clamping plate (figs. 4 and 6) and adjacent to the at least one adjustment assembly (both adjustment assemblies are next to, i.e. adjacent, one another and connected via bevel gear 55; figs. 4 and 6); wherein the at least another adjustment assembly is configured to linearly move the clamping strap relative to the clamping plate for securing the handheld sander between the clamping plate and the clamping strap (col. 4, ll. 3-10; clamping strap 40 is linearly moveable relative to clamping plate 100, i.e. clamping strap moves toward and away from the clamping plate 100, once adjustment assembly 51, 52 is moved via user by handle 54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the adjustable mount, as disclosed in Welz, to include at least another adjustment assembly adjacent to the at least one adjustment assembly, as taught in Chern, since it has been held that unless a new and unexpected result is produced, mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04.VI-B) and, in view of the teachings of Chern, there are reasonable expectations of success.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Welz (US Patent No. 2,550,629) in view of Kim (KR 101587777), as provided by the Examiner, and further in view of Guo (CN 110293487), as provided by the Examiner in previous Office action.
Regarding claim 22, Welz as modified discloses the adjustable mount as claimed in claim 1, wherein the clamping assembly comprises:
a clamping plate (item 7; figs. 1 and 3) operably engaged with the pivot table (clamping plate 7 directly extends from pivot table 8 and operably moves in effect with the pivot table 8 moving about pivot 5; figs. 1 and 3);
at least one adjustment assembly (includes items 11, 12; fig. 3) engaged with the clamping plate (via intermediate components); and
a clamping strap (item 9; figs. 2-3) operably engaged with the at least one adjustment assembly (when adjustment assembly rotates, the clamping strap 9 linearly moves along pivot table 8; figs. 2-3);
wherein the clamping plate, the at least one adjustment assembly, and the clamping strap are adapted to secure the handheld sander between the clamping plate and the clamping strap (when the at least one adjustment assembly is rotated, the clamping strap is linearly moved along pivot table 8 and capable of securing the handheld sander between the clamping plate 7 and the clamping strap 9; figs. 1-3).
Welz does not disclose at least one adjustment assembly pivotably engaged with the clamping plate at a fixed point.
However, Guo (CN’487) teaches an adjustable mount (fig. 1) comprising a base (item 4; figs. 1-4) adapted to engage with a work table (via item 6; fig. 3) and having an upright member (defined as the two opposing upright members on base 4 opposite of item 4; fig. 3), a pivot table (item 1; fig. 1) pivotably engaged with the upright member of the base (pp. [0036] in NPL) , and a clamping assembly (includes items 2, 11, 31, 32, 33, 34; figs. 1-2), wherein the clamping assembly comprises a clamping plate (item 11; figs. 1-2) operably engaged with the pivot table (clamping plate 11 extends from pivot table 1 and operably moves in effect with the pivot table 1 moving about pivot; corresponding to position of clamping plate in Chern), at least one adjustment assembly (includes items 31, 32, 33, 34; figs. 1-2) pivotably engaged with the clamping plate at a fixed point (pp. [0031]; portion of adjustment assembly, i.e. items 321, 322, are hinged to sidewall of clamping plate 11; figs. 1-2), and a clamping strap (item 2; figs. 1-2) operably engaged with at least one adjustment assembly (pp. [0035], when adjustment assembly is adjusted via item 33, the clamping strap 2 is linearly moved along pivot table 1); wherein the clamping plate, the at least one adjustment assembly, and the clamping strap are adapted to secure the handheld sander between the clamping plate and the clamping strap (when the at least one adjustment assembly is rotated, the clamping strap 2 is linearly moved along pivot table 1 and therefore, capable of securing the handheld sander within a portion the space defined between the clamping plate 11 and the clamping strap 2).
Both Welz and Guo disclose means for adjustment assemblies of the clamp to linearly move a clamping strap along a pivot table. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the clamping assembly comprising at least one adjustment assembly with threaded rod, as disclosed in Welz, with the clamping assembly comprising at least one adjustment assembly with parallelogram frame mechanism pivotably coupled to clamping jaws, as taught in Guo, to achieve the predictable result of linearly moving the clamping jaw in order to secure various size workpieces, polishers, sanders, etc.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 11, Welz as modified discloses the adjustable mount as claimed in claim 9, wherein the at least one adjustment assembly comprises a knuckle (item 12; figs. 1-3) engaged with the clamping plate (via intermediate components), a threaded rod (item 11; figs. 2-3) operably engaged with the knuckle, and a locking knob (upper ball end of knuckle 12; fig. 3).
Welz, alone or in further combination, does not teach, suggest, or make obvious wherein the knuckle is pivotably engaged with the clamping plate, the threaded rod operably engaged with the knuckle and the clamping strap, and the locking knob opposite to the knuckle and operably engageable with the clamping strap, as required by the claim, in combination with all additional elements of the claim.
Claim 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 13, Welz as modified discloses the adjustable mount as claimed in claim 12, wherein the at wherein the at least one adjustment assembly comprises a knuckle (item 12; figs. 1-3) engaged with the clamping plate (via intermediate components), a threaded rod (item 11; figs. 2-3) operably engaged with the knuckle, and a locking knob (upper ball end of knuckle 12; fig. 3).
Chern, alone or in combination, does not teach, suggest, or make obvious wherein the knuckle is pivotably engaged with the clamping plate, the threaded rod pivotally engaged with the knuckle and the clamping strap, and the locking knob opposite to the knuckle and operably engageable with the clamping strap, as required by the claim, in combination with all additional elements of the claim.
Lastly, claim 21 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 21, the invention is neither anticipated nor rendered obvious by the prior art because the amendments set a device that is neither disclosed nor taught by the prior art. The Examiner agrees with the applicant’s amendments and remarks filed on 06/29/2026 which overcome all arts of record and place the application in condition for allowance.
Details for the allowable subject matter regarding claim 21 are provided in p. 13-15 of Non-Final Rejection filed on 04/06/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because they are addressing newly amended claim limitations, as compared to the rejection of record. Upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Lupsac (US 2015/0246423), which was previously utilized in Non-Final Rejection by previous Examiner filed on 07/01/2025, and a second new grounds of rejection is made in view of Welz (US Patent No. 2,550,629) in view of Kim (KR 101587777), as provided by the Examiner. Further, the same teaching references from previous Office action are utilized in the above rejection, Yonge (US Patent No. 693,111) and Guo (CN 110293487). Lastly, the previously used primary reference, Chern (US Patent No. 4,953,839), is used as a teaching reference for subject matter not specifically challenged in the argument(s).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SIDNEY D FULL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723