DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group (I) in the reply filed on 09/10/2025 is acknowledged. Applicant’s election of betamethasone as the elected steroid and rhinosinusitis as the elected disease species in the reply filed on 09/10/2025 is acknowledged and maintained.
Priority
This application is a continuation of International Patent Application No. PCT/US2021/047769, filed August 26, 2021, which claims the benefit of U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/070,812, filed August 26, 2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/12/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
Acknowledgement is made of the receipt and entry of the amendment to the claims filed on March 12, 2026.
Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 14, 16, 20, 38-39, 41-42, 52, 55-56, 65, 67-69, 71, 76-77, 79, 92, 235-240, 244, 247, 266-269, 273, 276, 286-287, and 307 are pending.
Claims 2, 6-7, 9-13, 15, 17-19, 21-37, 40, 43-51, 53-54, 57-64, 66, 70, 72-75, 78, 80-91, 93-234, 237-239, 241-243, 245-246, 248-262, 263-265, 270-272, 274-275, 277-285, and 288-306 are canceled.
Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 14, 16, 20, 38-39, 41-42, 52, 55-56, 65, 67-69, 71, 76-77, 79, 92, 266-269, 273, 276, and 286-287 are withdrawn.
Claims 235-237, 240, 244, 247, 262, and 307 are examined in accordance to the elected species.
Action Summary
The objection to claims 244 and 247 has been withdrawn in light of the claim amendment.
Claims 235-237, 240, 244, 247, 262, 273, and 307 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph-written description, are maintained, but revisited and modified in light of the claim amendment.
Claim 235-237, 240, 244, 247, 262, 273, and 307 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph-Enablement, are maintained, but modified and revisited in light of the claim amendment.
Claims 235, 237, 262, and 307 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ha et al (International Forum of Allergy & Rhinology, Vol. 0, No. 0, November 2017), are withdrawn in light of the claim amendment.
The non-statutory double patenting rejections have been withdrawn in light of the filing of a terminal disclaimer.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 03/1/22026 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(a)IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same,and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention.
Claims 235-237, 240, 244, 247, 262, 273, and 307 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As amended, independent claim 235 recites a method for treating a subject with of about 270 mOsm/kg to about 360 mOsm/kg.
The specification discloses certain cream formulations including 2019-11-3 and 2019-11-4.
. However, it does not reasonably convey to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inventor had possession of the full scope of cream compositions encompassed by the claimed osmolarity limitation.
The Written Description Guidelines for examination of patent applications indicates, “the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical characteristics and/or other chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show applicant was in possession of the claimed genus.” (Federal register, Vol. 66, No. 4, pages 1099-1111, Friday January 5, 2001, see especially page 1106 column 3) and (see MPEP 2164). In the instant case, the specification demonstrates that osmolarity is a formulation-dependent property rather than an inherent characteristic of such cream compositions. Specifically, Table 5 as depicted above, shows formulations of similar composition yielding osmolarities both within (e.g., formulations 2019-11-3 and 2019-11-4) and outside (e.g., formulations 2019-11-1 and 2019-11-2) the claimed ranges. This variability establishes that the claimed osmolarity is not an inherent result of preparing a cream comprising betamethasone dipropionate, but instead depends on formulation variables.
However, the specification fails to provide sufficient identifying characteristics or formulation guidance that would allow one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize which compositions fall within the claimed osmolarity range. While certain components (e.g., glycerin) are suggested to influence osmolarity, the disclosure does not identify how formulation variables collectively determine osmolarity across the claimed range.
A “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. The disclosure of only one species encompassed within a genus adequately describes a claim directed to that genus only if the disclosure “indicates that the patentee has invented species sufficient to constitute the gen[us].” See Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 966, 63 USPQ2d at 1615; Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343, 1350, 69 USPQ2d 1508, 1514 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (Fed. Cir. 2004) (“[A] patentee of a biotechnological invention cannot necessarily claim a genus after only describing a limited number of species because there may be unpredictability in the results obtained from species other than those specifically enumerated.”). “A patentee will not be deemed to have invented species sufficient to constitute the genus by virtue of having disclosed a single species when … the evidence indicates ordinary artisans could not predict the operability in the invention of any species other than the one disclosed.” In re Curtis, 354 F.3d 1347, 1358, 69 USPQ2d 1274, 1282 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (Claims directed to PTFE dental floss with a friction-enhancing coating were not supported by a disclosure of a microcrystalline wax coating where there was no evidence in the disclosure or anywhere else in the record showing applicant conveyed that any other coating was suitable for a PTFE dental floss.)”, In present case, the specification provides only a limited number of working examples, which do not constitute a representative number of species sufficient to demonstrate possession of the claimed genus of cream compositions defined by the recited osmolarity range. The claims encompass any cream formulation comprising betamethasone dipropionate that achieves the claimed osmolarity, yet the specification does not describe the boundaries or structural characteristic of the genus.
Accordingly, the claimed invention is defined, in part, by a functional parameter (osmolarity) without commensurate disclosure of the structural features necessary to achieve that parameter across the full scope of the claims. Therefore, the specification does not reasonably convey to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing.
Claim 235-237, 240, 244, 247, 262, 273, and 307 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for administering a cream with a pH 6 and with the exception glycerin was used at 1.65% (w/w), and formulations certain cream formulations including 2019-11-3 and 2019-11-4 comprising
topically to a sinonasal tissue for treating chronic rhinosinusitis, does not reasonably provide enablement for administering topically to a sinonasal tissue, a composition comprising any betamethasone dipropionate cream at any dose wherein the composition has an osmolarity of about 270 mOsm/kg to about 360 mOsm/kg for treating rhinosinusitis. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The claims require a method of treating rhinosinusitis using a cream composition comprising betamethasone dipropionate having an osmolarity of about 270-360 mOsm/kg.
The specification demonstrates that osmolarity is a formulation-dependent property rather than an inherent characteristic of such cream compositions. As shown on Table 5 as depicted above, formulations of similar composition exhibit osmolarities both within (e.g., formulations 2019-11-3 and 2019-11-4) and outside (e.g., formulations 2019-11-1 and 2019-11-2) the claimed ranges. This establishes that achieving the claimed osmolarity depends on formulation variables rather than necessarily resulting from the presence of betamethasone dipropionate in a cream composition.
However, the specification does not provide sufficient guidance to enable one of ordinary skill in the art to reliably select or formulate compositions that achieve the claimed osmolarity range. Although certain components (e.g., glycerin) are identified as influencing osmolarity, the disclosure does not teach how to systematically control osmolarity across different cream formulations or predict whether a given formulation will fall within the claimed range.
There are several guidelines when determining if the specification of an application allows the skilled artisan to practice the invention without undue experimentation. The factors to be considered in determining what constitutes undue experimentation were affirmed by the court in re Wands (8 USPQ2d 1400 (CAFC 1986)). These factors are (1) nature of the invention; (2) state of the prior art; (3) level of one of ordinary skill in the art; (4) level of predictability in the art; (5) amount of direction and guidance provided by the inventor; (6) existence of working examples; (7) breadth of claims; and (8) quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure.
(1) Nature of the invention
The invention involves formulation-dependent properties in topical/intranasal drug delivery systems, where physiochemical properties such as osmolarity are critical to performance.
(2) State of the prior art
The prior art recognizes that osmolarity in pharmaceutical formulations is influenced by multiple excipients and formulation variables, and is not inherently fixed by the presence of an active ingredient.
(3) Level of one of ordinary skill in the art
The level of skill in the art is deemed to be high, generally that of a medical Doctor specializing in the field otolaryngology (ENT).
(4) Level of predictability in the art
The art is unpredictable, as small changes in formulation composition (e.g., excipient concentration) can result in significant changes in osmolarity, as evidenced by the specification (see table 5), which shows similar formulations yielding markedly different osmolarity values. Such variability is consistent with the state of the art, where physicochemical properties of pharmaceutical formulations are highly sensitive to formulation variables. For example, Lobo et al (AAPS Pharm SciTech, 2025) teaches that formulation properties such as tonicity, viscosity, pH, and excipient composition significantly influence physiochemical behavior, nasal absorption, and retention, and that even small variations in formulation composition can substantially alters these properties. (See table 3 and third paragraph of left column of page 9.) In particular, the reference explains that osmotic pressure (tonicify) modulates osmolarity and nasal absorption and retention and is dependent on formulation composition. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would not reasonably expect to predict or control osmolarity across the full scope of the claimed formulations without undue experimentation.
(5) Amount of direction and guidance provided by the inventor
The specification provides limited direction identifying certain components (e.g., glycerin) but failing to provide a systematic approach to achieve the claimed osmolarity range.
(6) Existence of working examples
Only limited number of examples are provided, which do not span across the full claimed osmolarity.
(7) Breadth of claims
The claims are broad in that they encompass any cream formulation comprising betamethasone dipropionate that achieves the claimed osmolarity range.
(8) Quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure
Substantial experimentation would be required to identify, adjust, and optimize formulations to reliably achieve the claimed osmolality range.
In view of the above, one of ordinary skill in the art would be required to engage in undue experimentation to practice the full scope of the claimed invention. Accordingly, the specification does not enable the claimed invention commensurate in scope with the claims.
Acknowledgement is made of the receipt and entry of Applicant’s remarks/arguments filed on March 12, 2026.
Applicant’s argument
Applicant argues that the amended claim 235 is now directed to a “single species” (specific condition, tissue, and steroid) and therefore overcome the 112 rejections.
Examiner’s response
In response, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Although claim 235 has been amended to recite betamethasone dipropionate, rhinosinusitis, and intranasal administration, the claim still encompasses a broad genus of compositions defined by a functional limitation, namely a cream composition having an osmolarity of about 270-360 mOsm/kg. The claim dos not recite any structural limitations that define how such osmolarity is achieved. Instead, the claim reads on any cream formulation comprising betamethasone dipropionate that meets the recited osmolarity range. As previously discussed, the specification demonstrates that osmolarity is not an inherent property of such composition but varies depending on formulation variables. (See table 5). Therefore, even as amended, the claim continues to encompass a broad and undefined set of formulations, not a single formulation species.
“A claim defined be a functional parameter without corresponding structural limitation does not constitute a single species but rather a genus defined by performance characteristics.”
Applicant’s argument
Applicant argues that clarifying osmolarity “as a measured in water” resolves the issues.
Examiner’s response
In response, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive. The issue is not how osmolarity is measured, but rather whether the specification provides sufficient disclosure to support compositions across the claimed osmolarity range. The specification still fails to teach how to predictably formulate compositions within the claimed range and what structural features correspond to that osmolarity.
Applicant’s argument
Applicant argues that stability data relates to autoclaving and is not relevant to the claims.
Examiner’s response
In response, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive. While Applicant asserts the cited stability data relates to autoclaving conditions, the rejection does not rely solely on stability under autoclaving, but rather on the broad principle demonstrated by the specification. The specification shows that changes in formulation composition affect properties (e.g., osmolarity), stability, performance and these properties are not inherent or predictable. Thus, regardless of whether the specific stability data relates to autoclaving, the specification as a whole demonstrates that formulation properties are sensitive to compositional changes and are not predictable across the full scope of the claims.
Accordingly, Applicant’s argument does not address the core deficiency identified in the rejection, namely the lack of guidance enabling one of ordinary skill in the art reliably achieve the claimed osmolarity across the full scope of the claimed compositions.
Therefore, even as amended, the claims remain directed to a composition defined by a functional property (osmolarity) without sufficient disclosure of the structural features required to achieve that property across the full scope of the claim. The specification does not demonstrate possession of the claimed genus nor enable one of ordinary skill in the art to practice the invention without undue experimentation. Accordingly, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 (a) for lack of written description and lack of enablement are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 235 and 307 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha et al. (International Forum of Allergy & Rhinology, Vol. 0, No. 0, November 2017) in view of Leung et al. (HK J Paediatr (new series) 2013;18:96-104).
Ha teaches treatment of patient with chronic rhinosinusitis (CRS) wherein such patients undergo endoscopy sinus surgery (ESS) and receive topical administration of corticosteroids (e.g., 0.1% betamethasone valerate cream) directly to the sinonasal tissues following surgery. As expressly stated, ESS is a treatment for CRS, and postoperative steroid application is used to reduce inflammation and improve healing of the same diseased sinonasal tissues. (See Abstract, Study design section Discussion section, and Table 3.)
Ha does not teach betamethasone dipropionate.
Leung teaches 0.05% (equivalent to 5 mg: 0.005g / 100g formulation) betamethasone dipropionate cream/ointment in propylene glycol formulation is more potent than 0.1% betamethasone valerate cream/oil formulation. (See Table 2.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invasion was filed to substitute the 0.1% betamethasone valerate taught by Ha with the 0.05% (5 mg) betamethasone dipropionate taught by Leung, because both are well-known corticosteroids used for topical anti-inflammatory treatment, and Leung explicitly that betamethasone dipropionate provides improved potency. Such substitution represents the predictable use of one known corticosteroid for another to achieve improved therapeutic outcomes, including reduced dose and minimized side effects. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success in making this substitution because both references employ the same route of administration (topical/intranasal), similar dosage forms (cream/ointment formulations), and target the same therapeutic objective (treatment of inflammatory conditions), thereby rendering the substitution a routine and predictable modification.
With respect to the osmolarity limitation. Ha teaches a cream formulation comprising a corticosteroid and pharmaceutically acceptable excipients. Although Ha does not expressly teach or disclose osmolarity, osmolarity is an inherent physicochemical property of any aqueous or semi-solid pharmaceutical formulation and is necessarily determined by the identity and concentration of its components. Because the modified formulation resulting from the substitution of betamethasone dipropionate for betamethasone valerate would employ similar excipients and formulation principles as taught by Ha, the resulting composition would inherently possess the claimed osmolarity value/range.
To the extent the claimed osmolarity range (about 270-360 mOsm/kg) is not identically disclosed, optimization of osmolarity to fall within physiologically acceptable or isotonic range represents a result-effective variable that would have routinely adjusted by one of ordinary skill in the art to improve tolerability and compatibility with nasal tissues.
Furthermore, as set forth in the rejection, Ha is properly combined with Leung, which teaches the use of betamethasone dipropionate as a more potent corticosteroid alternative, thereby addressing Applicant’s argument regarding the specific steroid recited in the claims.
Claims 235, 236, 237, 240, 244, 247, 262, and 307 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha et al. (International Forum of Allergy & Rhinology, Vol. 0, No. 0, November 2017) in view of Leung et al. (HK J Paediatr (new series) 2013;18:96-104) as applied to claims 235, 237, 262, and 307 in further view of Kaur et al. (Artificial Cells, Nanomedicine, and Biotechnology 2016; 44: 1167–11761167), Szefler et al. (Journal of Allergy and Clinical Immunology, Volume 108, Issue 1, Supplement, July 2001, Pages S26-S31). Fajt et al. (Llama and Alpaca Care, Medicine, Surgery, Reproduction, Nutrition, and Herd Health, 2014, Pages 365-378).
The teachings of Ha and Leung have been discussed supra.
Ha and Leung collectively do not teach sequential bilateral intranasal administration and the amount of composition administered per intranasal administration is from about 0.5 g to about 5 g as claimed in claim 236. Moreover, Ha does not teach the dose frequency (the administration is performed not more than one time on the subject as claimed in claim 240, the administration is performed not more than once in a 30-day period as claimed in claim 244, and the administration is performed not more than once in a 21-day period as claimed in claim 247.
Kaur teaches Potential systemic adverse effects, such as growth retardation in chronically treated children, is being addressed by designing drugs with pharmacokinetic profiles that limit systemic availability. Increasing formulation viscosity increases residence time and drug contact with nasal mucosa, thereby influencing drug absorption and therapeutic effect. (See Viscosity Section on page 1170.)
Szefler teaches topical administration of corticosteroids aims to achieve effective local concentrations while minimizing systemic exposure, thereby encouraging optimization of dose and dosing frequency. (See second paragraph of the left column of page S30.)
Fajt teaches the dose regimen (dose, route, frequency, and duration) is determined by
the pharmacokinetics of the drug, that is, how long the drug is in the body and how high the
concentrations get at what time after drug administration. It is also affected by the pharmacodynamics of the drug, which is the best presentation of the antimicrobial drug to
the bacterial infection to maximally inhibit growth. (See Abstract on page 2.)
In view of these teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to optimize the amount of composition administered (e.g., about 0.5 g to about 5 g) and dosing frequency (e.g., not more than once within specified time periods) as result-effective variables to achieve desired therapeutic outcomes while minimizing side effects. Such optimization would have required no more than routine experimentation guided by known pharmacokinetic principles. One would reasonably expect success in such optimization because the relationship between dose, exposure, time, and therapeutic efficacy of corticosteroids was well understood in the art.
With respect to the limitation of “sequential bilateral intranasal administration” and the recited amount of about 0.5 g to about 5 g. These limitations are directed to manner of administration and dosage parameters, which are recognized in the art as result-effective variables subject to routine optimization.
As evidenced by the specification “single administration” encompasses sequential bilateral intranasal administration, and the dosing frequency and administration intervals are described and flexibly (e.g., every 10-21 days, 21-30 days, etc.). This indicates that such parameters are not critical but may be adjusted depending on therapeutic needs. Moreover, the specification itself demonstrates that formulation parameters, including excipient concentrations and component selection, are variables that may be adjusted to achieve desired properties (see Tables 3-6). Such disclosure evidences that optimization of formulation characteristics, including properties such as osmolarity, would have been within the routine skill in the art. Accordingly, adjusting the composition of Ha in view of Leung and the general known in the art to arrive at a composition having an osmolarity within the claimed range constitutes no more than routine optimization of result-effective variables.
The prior art (Ha, Fait, and Szefler) teaches dosage amount, frequency, and administration regimen are determined based on pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics, and therapeutic response. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to administer the composition sequentially to bilaterally nasal passages and to optimize the administered amount within a therapeutically effective range, including the claimed range of about 0.5 g to about 5 g, as a matter of routine optimization. One would have reasonably expected success because the relationship between dose, exposure, and therapeutic efficacy of corticosteroids in intranasal application was well understood in the art.
Acknowledgement is made of the receipt and entry of Applicant’s remarks/arguments filed on March 12, 2026.
Applicant’s argument
Applicant argues that Ha does not teach a method of treating rhinosinusitis by administration of a topical steroid cream to the tissues of the nasal and sinus cavities. Second, claim 235 (from which all pending claims depend) as presently amended recites betamethasone dipropionate and the steroid cream of Ha uses betamethasone valerate.
Examiner’s response
In response, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because it is directed to a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 based on Ha et al., which has been withdrawn in view of the claim amendments. Accordingly, the argument does not address the current rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Notwithstanding the above, even if considered, the argument is not persuasive. Applicant contends that Ha does not teach treatment of rhinosinusitis and instead relates to postoperative care following endoscopic sinus surgery. However, Ha expressly teaches endoscopic sinus surgery (ESS) is performed to treat chronic rhinosinusitis (CRS), and further teaches postoperative administration of topical corticosteroids directly to sinonasal tissues of such patients. Thus, Ha is directed to the treatment of the same disease and anatomical tissues as presently claimed.
The fact that Ha administers the corticosteroid following surgery does not remove it from the scope of treatment of rhinosinusitis, as such postoperative therapy is part of the overall therapeutic management of CRS and is directed to reducing inflammation and improving outcomes in the same disease. Accordingly, Ha teaches administration of a topical steroid composition to sinonasal tissue in a patient suffering from rhinosinusitis.
Furthermore, as set forth in the rejection, Ha is properly combined with Leung, which teaches the use of betamethasone dipropionate as a more potent corticosteroid alternative, thereby, addressing Applicant’s argument regarding the specific steroid recited in the amended claims.
Applicant’s argument
Applicant argues that the 103-rejection merely repeats the previously withdrawn 102 rejection is not persuasive.
Examiner’s response
In response, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive. While Ha was previously applied alone under 102-rejection, the present rejection relies on Ha in combination with Leung et al. (and additional references) to address the differences in the claimed subject matter, including the specific corticosteroid and formulation features. The obviousness rejection therefore rests on a different statutory basis includes additional reasoning, including substitution and optimization, not present in the prior anticipation rejection.
Applicant’s argument
Applicant argues that Ha does not teach treatment of rhinosinusitis.
Examiner’s response
In response, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Ha expressly teaches that endoscopic sinus surgery (ESS) is performed to treat chronic rhinosinusitis (CRS), and further teaches administration of topical corticosteroids to sinonasal tissues of such patients following surgery. Postoperative steroid therapy is part of the overall treatment regimen for CRS, as it reduces inflammation and improves healing in the same disease tissues. Accordingly, Ha teaches administration of a topical steroid composition to sinonasal tissue in a patient suffering from rhinosinusitis.
Applicant’s argument
Applicant argues that there is no motivation to use a topical steroid composition in the nasal and sinus cavities.
Examiner’s response
In response, Applicant’s argument that there is no motivation to use a topical steroid composition in the nasal and sinus cavities is not persuasive. Ha explicitly teaches administration of a topical corticosteroid composition to sinonasal tissues, demonstrating that such route of administration was known and practiced in the art. Furthermore, it is well established that corticosteroids are used to reduce inflammation in rhinosinusitis, providing motivation to apply such agents locally to the affected tissues.
Applicant’s argument
Applicant argues that Ha does not disclose parameters such as viscosity or systemic levels.
Examiner’s response
In response, Applicant’s argument that Ha does not disclose parameters such as viscosity or systemic levels is not persuasive. The rejection does not solely rely on Ha alone, but rather on the combined teachings of the cited references. Optimization of formulation parameters, including viscosity, dose, delivery characteristics, constitute routine experimentation within the level of ordinary skill in the art, particularly where the goal is to improve local drug delivery and therapeutic effect.
Applicant’s argument
Applicant argues that the data in Tables 3-6 and Figures 1-3 didn't appear to be any clinical effect with the steroid cream and in several cases, appeared to result in a decline in the measured indices considering almost all scores and measurements were lower than control (no treatment). Thus, not only does Ha not teach use of a topical steroid cream to treat rhinosinusitis, one of skill in the art would not be motivated to administer a topical steroid composition following ESS nor would one of ordinary skill in the art reasonably expect success in doing so.
Examiner’s response
In response, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive. While Ha compares different treatment modalities, including steroid-only formulations, Ha nevertheless teaches that topical corticosteroids are use to improve wound healing and reduce inflammation in sinonasal tissues. The present rejection does not rely on the steroid-only embodiment, but rather on the combined teachings of Ha and Leung et al, which demonstrate that alternative corticosteroid formulations (e.g., betamethasone dipropionate) provide enhanced potency and therapeutic effect. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that substituting a more potent corticosteroid into the known delivery method would improve treatment outcomes.
Applicant’s argument
Applicant argues that with respect to claim 307, which calls for administration of the composition following functional endoscopic sinus surgery, the data presented in Ha demonstrates that one of skill in the art would not be motivated to use steroid cream following ESS, and would not reasonably expect success in doing so
Examiner’s response
In response, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Ha explicitly teaches administration of topical corticosteroid compositions following endoscopic sinus surgery (ESS), thereby directly correspond to the claimed temporal limitation. The cited references further support optimization of dose and formulation for improved therapeutic outcomes. Accordingly, the claimed post-surgical administration would have been expected.
Conclusion
Claims 235, 236, 237, 240, 244, 247, 262, and 307 are not allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEAN P CORNET/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628