DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in the second line from the bottom, the word “pass” should be “path”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: in the line 2, the word “form” should be “from”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 5, the limitation “first operation portion” is not mentioned anywhere in Applicant’s specification.
Regarding Claim 18, the limitation “fourth operation portion” is not mentioned anywhere in Applicant’s specification.
Regarding Claim 19, the limitations “second operation portion”, “third operation portion” and “fourth operation portion” are not mentioned anywhere in Applicant’s specification.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations in “the first passage” in the fifth and sixth line from the bottom, “the second passage” in the third line from the bottom and "second path part" in the second to the last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jin et al (CN 108665648 A).
Regarding Claim 1, as best understood, Jin discloses
a holding device, i.e., article detecting device (20), as illustrated in figure 4, capable of holding coins (C) comprising:
a first opening, i.e., one of left or right input hole (221) as illustrated in figure 3, in which a first group of the coins (C) are fed;
a second opening, i.e., one of left or right input hole (221) as illustrated in figure 3, in which a second group of the coins (C) are fed;
a first path part, i.e., guide path (222) as illustrated in figure 4, through which the first group of the coins fed in the first opening (221) pass;
a (second) path part (222) through which the second group of the coins (C) fed in the second opening (221) pass;
a first holding unit, i.e., article storing portion/escrow (30) as illustrated in figure 4, capable of holding the first group of the coins (C) which pass through the first passage, i.e., interpreted as being the inlet (221); and
a second holding unit, i.e., article storing portion/escrow (30) as illustrated in figure 4, capable of holding the second group of the coins (C) which pass through the second passage, i.e., interpreted as being the inlet (221),
wherein the first pass (path) part, i.e., guide path (222) as illustrated in figure 4, and the second path part, i.e., guide path (222) as illustrated in figure 4, face each other, as illustrated in figure 3, showing both paths, as indicated by opening/inlets (221), and the first holding unit (30) and the second holding unit (30) face each other, noting that both coin handling systems are both next to and parallel to each other, as illustrated in figures 3 and 4 .
Regarding Claim 2, Jin discloses
wherein the first holding unit (30) has a first setting portion, i.e., set arm (191) with L-shaped rod (18) that is caused to move by motor (19) to adjust the rod (18) so that the coin holding capacity of the holding plate (312) on which coins are escrowed/stored, are adjusted,
which adjustably sets the number of coins capable of being held in the first holding unit (30), and the second holding unit (30) has a second setting portion (18, 19, 191, 312) which adjustably sets the number of coins capable of being held in the second holding unit (30) as illustrated in figures 4, 5a and 5b, for example, noting that there are two separate coin handling assemblies parallel to each other as seen in figure 3 and noting that there are two coin retaining portions/stops (315, 316) as illustrated in figure 4.
Regarding Claim 3, Jin discloses
wherein the first setting portion (18, 19, 191, 312) and the second setting portion (18, 19, 191, 312) face each other in a state where the first setting portion (18, 19, 191, 312) and the second setting portion (18, 19, 191, 312) are shifted from each other, noting that the setting portions on each individual holding units (30) can be individually set for different numbers of coins so that the setting portions are thus accordingly shifted from each other.
Regarding Claim 4, Jin discloses wherein one end of the second setting portion (18, 19, 191, 312) is arranged so as to protrude further than one end of the first setting portion (18, 19, 191, 312) toward a front face side of the holding device (30), noting that the motor (19) moves the set arm down or up along the holding plate (312) according to the number of coins set to be accommodated. Thus, if the number of coins held in the right and left holding plates (312) is different, the first and second setting portions (18, 19, 191, 312) will protrude at different amounts so that one protrudes further than the other one.
Regarding Claim 5, Jin discloses further including a first operation portion (326) as illustrated in figure 4, by which the first and second groups of coins held in the first holding unit (30) and the second holding unit (30) are returned, wherein an upper portion of the first setting portion (18, 19, 191, 312) and that of the second setting portion (18, 19, 191, 312) are moved so as to be separated from each other according to an operation performed to the first operation portion (18, 19, 191, 312), noting that if the number of coins held in the right and left holding plates (312) is different, the first and second setting portions (18, 19, 191, 312) will protrude at different amounts so that one protrudes further than the other one.
Regarding Claim 6, Jin discloses wherein the first setting portion (18, 19, 191, 312) includes a first adjustment member (18) capable of adjusting a position thereof along the first setting portion (18, 19, 191, 312), noting that the motor (19) moves the L-shaped rod (18) via set arm (191) so that the amount of coins stored on holding plate (312) is adjusted according to its location along the holding plate (312),
the first adjustment member (18) comprises a first projection portion extending in a first direction, i.e., one leg of the L-shape, and a second projection portion, i.e., the second leg of the L-shape of adjustment member (18), which is integrally formed with the first projection and extends in a second direction opposite to the first direction, as seen in figures 5a and 5b,
the first projection portion, i.e,. the motor side L-shaped leg, capable of changing a position thereof in the first setting portion (18, 19, 191, 312), functions as a second operation portion,
the second projection portion, i.e,. the holding plate side L-shaped leg, is capable of restricting an advance of the first group of the coins held in the first holding unit (30),
the second setting portion (18, 19, 191, 312) includes a second adjustment member (18) capable of adjusting a position thereof along the second setting portion (18, 19, 191, 312),
the second adjustment member (18) includes a third projection portion, i.e,. the motor side L-shaped leg of rod (18), which projects in the second direction, and a fourth projection portion, i.e., the holding plate side L-shaped leg of rod (18), which is integrally formed with the third projection portion and projects in the first direction, as illustrated in figures 5a and 5b, and
the third projection portion, i.e., the motor side L-shaped leg of rod (18), capable of changing a position of the second setting portion (18, 19, 191, 312), functions as a third operation portion,
the fourth projection portion, i.e., the holding plate side L-shaped leg of rod (18), is capable of restricting an advance of the second group of the coins held in the second holding unit (30).
Regarding Claim 7, Jin discloses wherein the first holding unit (30) and the second holding unit (30) are arranged in the holding device (20) so that a holding position of the first group of the coins (c) held in the first holding unit (30) is different from that of the second group of the coins (c) held in the second holding unit (30), noting the movement of (18), noting that if the number of coins held in the right and left holding plates (312) is different, the first and second setting portions (18, 19, 191, 312) will protrude at different amounts so that one protrudes further than the other one and that thus the first holding unit (30) holds more or less coins than the second holding unit (30).
Regarding Claim 8, see the rejection of Claims 2 and 7.
Regarding Claim 9, Jin discloses wherein the first holding unit (30) is configured so that when the maximum number of the coins for the first holding unit (30) are held in the first holding unit (30), a first coin fed in the first holding unit (30) is held at a position with a predetermined distance from one end of the first holding unit (30), i.e., either the distal or proximal ends, as illustrated in figure 4,
the second holding unit (30) is configured so that when the maximum number of the coins for the second holding unit (30) is held in the second holding unit (30), a first coin fed in the second opening (221) is held near one end, i.e., either the distal or proximal ends, of the second holding unit (30).
Regarding Claim 15, Jin discloses wherein a cut-out portion is formed in a lower end portion of one end of either the first holding unit (30, 31) or the second holding unit (30, 32, 33), noting that the end of the holding plate (312) is construed to have a cut out on ether end, so that the coins can be moved when ports/doors/gates (316, 326) releases them on the end to release the coins, as illustrated in figure 4, for example.
Regarding Claim 17, Jin discloses wherein the first holding unit (30) and the second holding units (30) are configured so that a lower side of the first holding unit (30) and a lower side of the second holding unit (30), i.e., the door/gate (316, 326) as illustrated in figure 4, are moved so as to be separated from each other when each of the first holding unit (30) and the second holding unit (30) holds a predetermined number of coins, noting that upon the correct amount of coins being received, the door/gate (316, 326) is moved so as to open the end of either the first or second holding unit (30).
Regarding Claim 18, as best understood, Jin discloses
an article supply apparatus, i.e., article supplying device (10) as illustrated in figure 2, capable of supplying articles, i.e, balls (3), comprising:
a holding device according to claim 1, wherein the holding device (20) is capable of holding coins (C) fed in the article supply apparatus (3);
an accommodation unit, i.e., storage box (12), as illustrated in figure 2, which accommodates the articles (3); and
a fourth operation portion, i.e., rotary table (14) with hole (131), which is operated to supply one of the articles (3) accommodated
in the accommodation unit (12),
wherein according to an operation performed to the fourth operation portion (14, 131), a lower side of the first holding unit (30) and a lower side of the second holding unit (30) are moved so as to be separated from each other, noting that Jin’s door/gate (316, 326) is moved so as to release the coins once the article (3) has been or is in the process of being dispensed.
Regarding Claim 19, Jin, as best understood, discloses wherein the fourth operation portion (14, 131) is arranged so as to be operated form (from) an outside of the article supply apparatus (10), and the second operation portion, i.e., interpreted as the withdrawing operation part (40) as illustrated in figure 4, and the third operation portion, i.e., the second bevel gear (46), are configured so as not to be operated from the outside of the article supply apparatus, noting that neither of these elements are located outside, but are instead located inside of the housing/shell (11).
Regarding Claim 20, Jin discloses further including a first feeding port (221) and a second feeding port (221) as illustrated in figure 3, in each of which coins can be fed, wherein the first feeding port (221) is connected to the first opening of the holding device and the second feeding port (221) is connected to the second opening of the holding device (30) as illustrated in figures 3 and 4, for example.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al (CN 108665648 A).
Regarding Claims 10, Jin teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 10, Jin does not expressly teach the maximum number of coins held in the first holding unit is four, and the maximum number of coins held in the second holding unit is five.
Regarding Claim 10, note that it has been held that a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding Claim 10, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the maximum number of coins held in the first holding unit is four, and the maximum number of coins held in the second holding unit is five, as a matter of design choice based upon the requirement to increase the price of a vended item, thus requiring more coins to be input by a user of the holding device.
Claim(s) 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al (CN 108665648 A) in view of Billington et al (US 6,994,202 B1).
Regarding Claims 11-14, Jin teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 11, Jin does not expressly teach further including a discrimination unit configured to discriminate coins fed in the first and second openings, wherein the discrimination unit is detachably arranged below the first path part and the second path part and above the first holding unit and the second holding unit, and the discrimination unit includes a first oscillating member with which the first group of coins fed in the first opening contact, and a second oscillating member with which the second group of coins fed in the second opening contact.
Regarding Claim 11, Jin does not expressly teach, but Billington teaches further including a discrimination unit, i.e., coin mechanism (110) and coin validator (200) as illustrated in figure 3, configured to discriminate coins fed in the first and second openings (215), wherein the discrimination unit (110, 200) is detachably arranged below the first path part and the second path part and above the first holding unit and the second holding unit, i.e., noting the cassette (269) with coin tubes (262, 264, 266, 268) are mentioned as being removable as mentioned at col. 5, lines 40-54, and the discrimination unit (110, 200) includes a first oscillating member, i.e., any of gates (245, 247, 249, 251) with which the first group of coins fed in the first opening (215) contact, and a second oscillating member, i.e., any of gates (245, 247, 249, 251) with which the second group of coins fed in the second opening contact, as taught by Jin, for example.
Note that it would have been obvious to have duplicated the discrimination unit as taught by Billington, for each of Jin’s holding devices (20) for first and second coins sent through openings (221) to respective holding units (30).
Regarding Claim 11, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided further including a discrimination unit configured to discriminate coins fed in the first and second openings, wherein the discrimination unit is detachably arranged below the first path part and the second path part and above the first holding unit and the second holding unit, and the discrimination unit includes a first oscillating member with which the first group of coins fed in the first opening contact, and a second oscillating member with which the second group of coins fed in the second opening contact, as taught by Billington, in Jin’s holding device for the purpose of authenticating and sorting coins based upon well known electromechanical components.
Regarding Claim 12, Jin does not expressly teach wherein an oscillation range of the first oscillating member is different from that of the second oscillating member.
Regarding Claim 12, note that it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding Claim 12, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided wherein an oscillation range of the first oscillating member is different from that of the second oscillating member, as a matter of design choice, in Jin’s holding device for the purpose of directing coins based upon the amount of oscillation required in order to divert coins of a particular denomination or other criteria, to the appropriate coin tube or the return outlet, as well as based upon the size of the particular coin, each of which are different for a particular denomination, for example.
Regarding Claim 13, Jin does not expressly teach wherein the first oscillating member and the second oscillating member are configured to change a moving direction of the first group of coins fed in the first opening and those of the second group of coins fed in the second opening.
Regarding Claim 13, Jin does not expressly teach wherein the first oscillating member (245, 247, 249, 251) and the second oscillating member (245, 247, 249, 251) are configured to change a moving direction of the first group of coins fed in the first opening (215) and those of the second group of coins fed in the second opening (215), noting that directional arrows showing the different paths a coin may follow due to the actions of the gates/oscillating members.
Regarding Claim 14, Jin does not expressly teach wherein the discrimination unit is configured so that when the discrimination unit is attached to the holding device, the first group of the coins fed in the first opening are advanced to the first holding unit, and the second group of the coins fed in the second opening are advanced to the second holding unit.
Regarding Claim 14, Jin does not expressly teach, but Billington teaches wherein the discrimination unit (110, 200) is configured so that when the discrimination unit (110, 200) is attached to the holding device (262, 264, 266, 268, 269), the first group of the coins fed in the first opening (215) are advanced to the first holding unit (262, 264, 266, 268, 269), and the second group of the coins fed in the second opening (215) are advanced to the second holding unit (262, 264, 266, 268, 269).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al (CN 108665648 A) in view of Mathews (US 1,052,494).
Regarding Claim 16, Jin teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 16, Jin does not expressly teach wherein a size of first opening and that of the second opening are different from each other.
Regarding Claim 16, Jin does not expressly teach, but Mathews teaches wherein a size of first opening, i.e., any one of inlets to chutes (3-7), as illustrated in figures 1 and 2, and that of the second opening, i.e., any one of inlets to chutes (3-7) are different from each other, noting the sizes of the inlets/chutes (3-7) changes based upon the denomination.
Regarding Claim 16, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided wherein a size of first opening and that of the second opening are different from each other, as taught by Mathews, in Jin’s holding device for the purpose accommodating different sized coins.
Conclusion
Applicant is encouraged to contact the Examiner should there be any questions about this rejection or in an endeavor to explore potential amendments or potential allowable subject matter.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Abe ‘908 is cited as teaching a coin discriminator (100) as seen in figures 1-11.
Matsushima ‘070 is cited as teaching a coin discriminator as seen in figures 1-3, with coin stops (26-28) and pin (29), as mentioned at p. 3, lines 8-15 and 68-85, for example.
Nakashima ‘631 is cited as teaching a coin discriminator as seen in figures 4-17 for a vending machine as illustrated in figures 1-3.
Nakashima ‘616 is cited as teaching a coin discriminator as seen in figures 4-17 for a vending machine as illustrated in figures 1-3.
Stackhouse ‘640 is cited as teaching a coin operated lock (16) as seen in figures 2-7 having coin stops (60 and 82), for setting different numbers of coins.
LaCroix-Toyne ‘760 is cited as teaching a vending machine (30) with a coin discriminator (150) as seen in figures 1-26.
Hall ‘246 is cited as teaching four coin holding devices (29) as illustrated in figure 6.
Rasmussen ‘360 and ‘423 are cited as teaching several coin inlets/openings (101) as illustrated in figures 1 and 2.
Guillot ‘112 is cited as teaching several coin inlets (2, 3) as seen in figures 1-5, for example.
Faes ‘696 is cited as teaching a coin discriminator (1) with coin holders as seen in figures 5-8, for example.
Ishida ‘809 teaches a coin discriminator (100) as shown in figure 1, having various coin diverters (24-28).
Jenkins ‘340 is cited as teaching a coin holding device with coin pawls (21) that hold several coins in place, as shown in figures 4 and 5, for example.
Abe ‘506 is cited as teaching a coin discriminator (100) with two coin inlets (102) as seen in figure 1, for example.
Mori ‘700 teaches a coin discriminator (1) as shown in figure 2, having various coin diverters (12, 15, 16, 60, 65, 66b, 52, 82), for example.
Kumabe ‘520 is cited as teaching a coin holding device (119) as illustrated in figure 17, for example.
Nakashima ‘547 is cited as teaching a vending machine with coin discriminator (10) as illustrated in figures 1-17.
/JEFFREY A SHAPIRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619
January 10, 2026