Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “wherein plurality of openings” in Line 2 shall be “wherein the plurality of openings”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 4, 006,536 to Meiners in view of US Patent Publication 20160047600 to Pacheco.
In Reference to Claim 1
Meiners discloses a geometric multiformat grain dryer comprising: a first grain drying tower (Fig. 1, annotated by the examiner), a second grain drying tower (Fig. 1, annotated by the examiner), and a third grain drying tower (Fig. 1, annotated by the examiner); the first grain drying tower, the second grain drying tower, and the third grain drying tower comprising: a plurality of airducts (Fig. 1, 82, 80); the plurality of airducts arranged in transverse fashion in relation to one another (As showed in Fig. 1)
Meiners does not teach the detail of the air duct.
Pacheco teaches the plurality of airducts having a plurality of openings , wherein the plurality of openings (Fig. 12, annotated by the examiner) are spaced along each of the plurality of airducts such that superficial segments (Fig. 12, annotated by the examiner) without the plurality of openings are positioned between areas with the plurality of openings.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Pacheco into the design of Meiners. Doing so, would result in the air duct with openings of Pacheco being used as air ducts in the design of Meiners. Both inventions of Pacheco and Meiners are in the same field of endeavor. Pacheco teaches an air duct design with opening on the side wall to increase the air flow volume. Therefore, the heat exchanging efficiency would be improved.
Meiners teaches the air duct having five side walls (82) or 4 side walls (80). The combination of Meiners and Pacheco as applied to Claim 1 does not teach the air duct having 6 side walls. The Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
In Reference to Claims 9-11
Meiners discloses a three tower structure.
Meiners does not teach the arrangement of multiple tower arranged in certain formation.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to arrange multiple towers in certain formation in order to improve the efficiency, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
In Reference to Claim 12
Meiners discloses an insulation (Fig. 1, annotated by the examiner) formed by a first layer of air between a first internal wall (Fig. 1, annotated by the examiner) and a second internal wall (Fig. 1, annotated by the examiner), and a second layer (Fig. 1, annotated by the examiner) of air between the second internal wall and ends of the plurality of the airducts closest to the second layer of air.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is allowed.
Claims 2-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
DEMING . WAN
Examiner
Art Unit 3762
/DEMING WAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762 2/3/26