DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM STATUS
Claims 1-21 are rejected.
Priority
This application claims benefit to provisional application 63/313,906 filed on 02/25/2022. Domestic benefit is acknowledged, thus the effective filing date of all claims in this application is 02/25/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
No information disclosure statement was filed with this application.
Sequence Listing
Specific deficiency – Nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences appearing in the drawings (Fig. 4) are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(d). Sequence identifiers for nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences must appear either in the drawings or in the Brief Description of the Drawings.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
Replacement and annotated drawings in accordance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) inserting the required sequence identifiers;
AND/OR
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers into the Brief Description of the Drawings, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(a)(2) as being anticipated by Glezer et al. (US 2022/0042083 A1, published Feb 10, 2022, hereafter “Glezer”).
Regarding claim 1, Glezer teaches a method of oligo targeted proximity ligation (specification [spec] paragraph [¶] 6), hybridizing a nucleic acid sample (spec ¶ 6), performing a proximity based ligation between the nucleic acid sample and one or more hybridized oligonucleotides (claim 2), and preparing a library of nucleic acids amplified from the one or more oligonucleotides (spec ¶ 182).
Regarding claim 2, Glezer teaches the one or more oligonucleotides having a targeting region (spec ¶ 111), an alkyl linker (spec ¶ 76), a reverse transcription region (spec ¶ 109), and a reverse transcription primer region (spec ¶ 110).
Regarding claim 3, Glezer teaches that the one or more oligonucleotides can be a 3’ or 5’ biotin, alkyne, azide, or phosphate (spec ¶ 147).
Regarding claim 4, Glezer teaches that preparing the nucleic acid sample comprises isolating cells (spec ¶ 182).
Regarding claim 5, Glezer teaches measuring nucleic acid concentration (spec ¶ 168).
Regarding claim 6, Glezer teaches fragmenting the nucleic acid sample. (spec ¶ 139).
Regarding claim 7, Glezer teaches fragmenting the nucleic acid sample with heat, addition of enzymes such as nuclease, and by physical conditions such as mechanical shearing or addition of metal ions (spec ¶ 139).
Regarding claim 8, Glezer teaches a barcode region comprising one or more barcodes (spec ¶ 86).
Regarding claim 15, Glezer teaches that targeting region of the oligonucleotide is complementary to gene of interest (spec ¶ 277).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glezer in view of “Handling Magnetic Beads during NGS Library Preparation” (Eppendorf AG, 2021).
Regarding claim 9, Glezer teaches preparing a library (spec ¶ 182). Glezer is silent as to coupling to a magnetic bead.
“Handling Magnetic Beads during NGS Library Preparation” states that “One of the most critical steps in this process [NGS library preparation] is the handling of the magnetic beads,” and teaches the concept of coupling to a magnetic bead.
Regarding claim 9, An invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention if some suggestion in the prior art would have led that person to combine the prior art teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. There is a suggestion to couple one or more oligonucleotides to a magnetic bead in the text of “Handling Magnetic Beads during NGS Library Preparation.” There would be a reasonable expectation of success for this combination to a person of ordinary skill in the art, as the suggested modification is explained in the text of the Eppendorf fact sheet. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time to modify the method of Glezer with the suggested modification of the Eppendorf fact sheet, in order to better conform with best practices in NGS library preparation.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glezer in view of “Ethanol Precipitation of DNA and RNA: How it Works” (Nick Oswald, BiteSizeBio 2021).
Regarding claim 10, Glezer teaches preparing a library (spec ¶ 182). Glezer is silent as to a precipitation step.
Oswald states that “Ethanol precipitation is a commonly used technique for concentrating and de-salting nucleic acid (DNA or RNA) preparations in an aqueous solution.”
Regarding claim 10, An invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention if some suggestion in the prior art would have led that person to combine the prior art teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. There is a suggestion to use a precipitation step in the text of Oswald. There would be a reasonable expectation of success for this combination to a person of ordinary skill in the art, as the suggested modification is explained in the text of Oswald. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time to modify the method of Glezer with the suggested modification of Oswald, in order to better conform with best practices in NGS library preparation.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glezer in view of Oswald as applied to claim 10 above, and in further view of Christians et al. (US9976181B2, 5/22/2018) (hereafter “Christians”).
Regarding claim 11, Oswald teaches a precipitation step. Oswald and Glezer are silent as to nucleic acid end repair.
Regarding claim 11, Christians teaches a nucleic acid end repair step as part of a precipitation process (spec column 84 line 41). The decision of In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) found that selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results.
Regarding claim 11, An invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention if some suggestion in the prior art would have led that person to combine the prior art teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. There is a suggestion to use a nucleic acid end repair step in the text of Christians. There would be a reasonable expectation of success for this combination to a person of ordinary skill in the art, as the suggested modification is explained in the text of Christians. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time to modify the method of Glezer with the suggested modification of Christians, in order to better conform with best practices in NGS library preparation.
Claims 12, 16, & 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glezer in view of “Oligo Clean & Concentrator kits” (Zymo Research Corporation 2019) (hereafter “Zymo”).
Regarding claim 12, Glezer teaches preparing a library (spec ¶ 182), barcode chimeric ligation (claim 2), proteinase digestion of samples (spec ¶ 138), and reverse transcription of a nucleic acid sample (spec ¶ 191).
Regarding claims 12, 16, & 17-18, Glezer is silent as to a clean up and concentration step.
Regarding claim 18, the decision of In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) found that selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results.
Zymo states that “The Oligo Clean & Concentrator kits provide a streamlined method for efficient recovery and clean-up of DNA/RNA fragments and oligonucletides ≥16 nt from labeling (radioactive, biotin, DIG, etc.) and other enzymatic reactions.” Regarding claim 17, Zymo states that “Unincorporated nucleotides, short oligos, dyes, enzymes, and salts are effectively removed by the clean-up procedure.”
Regarding claims 12, 16 & 17-18, an invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention if some suggestion in the prior art would have led that person to combine the prior art teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. There is a suggestion to use a clean up and concentration step in the text of Zymo. There would be a reasonable expectation of success for this combination to a person of ordinary skill in the art, as the suggested modification is explained in the text of Zymo. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time to modify the method of Glezer with the suggested modification of Zymo, in order to better conform with best practices in NGS library preparation.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glezer in view of “basic principles of RT-qPCR” (Thermo Fisher Scientific, 2019) (hereafter “Thermo Fisher”), Greulich et al. (“Protocol for using heterologous spike-ins to normalize for technical variation in chromatin immunoprecipitation”, STAR Protocols 2 1-37, 2021) (hereafter “Greulich”), and “Accurate Demultiplexing” (Illumina, 2020) (hereafter “Illumina”).
Regarding claim 13, Greulich teaches DNA sample bead cleanup (page 15 steps 31-39).
Regarding claim 13, Thermo Fisher teaches DNA sample quantification by qPCR and amplification of DNA.
Regarding claim 13, Illumina teaches dual index addition (¶ 1).
Regarding claim 13, an invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention if some teaching in the prior art would have led that person to combine the prior art teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. There is a teaching to use a bead elution buffer in a library preparation kit in the text of Greulich. There would be a reasonable expectation of success for this combination to a person of ordinary skill in the art, as the instructions for its use are explained in the text of Greulich (page 15 steps 31-39). There is a teaching to use qPCR and RT primer in the text of Thermo Fisher (Heading: “Primer design and controls for accurate quantitation in RT-qPCR”, ¶ 1). There would be a reasonable expectation of success for this combination to a person of ordinary skill in the art, as the instructions for its use are explained in the text of Thermo Fisher (¶ 1). There is a teaching to use dual index addition in the text of Illumina (¶ 1). There would be a reasonable expectation of success for this combination to a person of ordinary skill in the art, as the instructions for its use are explained in the text of Thermo Fisher. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time to modify the method of Glezer with the suggested modifications of Greulich, Thermo Fisher, and Illumina, in order to better conform with best practices in NGS library preparation.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glezer in view of Edelman (US2019/0316182 A1, 10/17/2019) (hereafter “Edelman”).
Regarding claim 14, Glezer is silent as to the complementarity of one or more oligonucleotides to a PolyA tail.
Edelman teaches that “the target regions of barcoded oligonucleotides may be complementary to poly ( A ) tail regions of messenger RNA molecules” (spec ¶ 192).
Regarding claim 14, An invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention if some suggestion in the prior art would have led that person to combine the prior art teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. There is a suggestion to bind a targeting region to polyA tail in the text of Edelman. There would be a reasonable expectation of success for this combination to a person of ordinary skill in the art, as the method of polyA tail binding is explained in the text of Edelman (spec ¶ 154, 185). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time to modify the method of Glezer with Edelman’s method of binding to a polyA tail, in order to overcome biophysical challenges associated with common types of experimental DNA samples (Edelman spec ¶ 13).
Claims 19, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glezer in view of “basic principles of RT-qPCR” (Thermo Fisher Scientific, 2019) (hereafter “Thermo Fisher”) and Greulich et al. (“Protocol for using heterologous spike-ins to normalize for technical variation in chromatin immunoprecipitation”, STAR Protocols 2 1-37, 2021) (hereafter “Greulich”).
With respect to claim 19, regarding printed instructions included as part of a kit, and in accordance with MPEP § 2111.05, while “a claim must be read as a whole, USPTO personnel may not disregard claim limitations comprised of printed matter ... [h]owever, USPTO personnel need not give patentable weight to printed matter absent a new and unobvious functional relationship between the printed matter and the substrate”, citing In re Lowry, 32 F.3d 1579, 1583-84, 32 USPQ2d 1031, 1035 (Fed. Cir. 1994). In MPEP § 2111.05(I)(B), citing In re Ngai, 367 F.3d at 1339, 70 USPQ2d at 1864, it is noted that “in a kit containing a set of chemicals and a printed set of instructions for using the chemicals, the instructions are not related to that particular set of chemicals”. Therefore, in the instant claim, the recited instructions do not distinguish over the prior art as instantly applied.
Regarding claim 19, Glezer provides instructions for proximity based ligation enrichment (spec ¶ 6).
Regarding claim 20, Greulich teaches the use of a bead elution buffer in a kit (3rd table on page 9).
Regarding claim 21, Thermo Fisher teaches the use of qPCR primer and RT primer.
Regarding claims 19-21, an invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention if some teaching in the prior art would have led that person to combine the prior art teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. There is a teaching to use a bead elution buffer in a library preparation kit in the text of Greulich. There would be a reasonable expectation of success for this combination to a person of ordinary skill in the art, as the instructions for its use are explained in the text of Greulich (page 15 steps 31-39). There is a teaching to use qPCR and RT primer in the text of Thermo Fisher. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time to modify the method of Glezer with the suggested modifications of Greulich and Thermo Fisher, in order to better conform with best practices in NGS library preparation.
Contact
/G.M.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1684
/JEREMY C FLINDERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1684