DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I, claims 9-14, 16, 18, 23, 25-31, 54-55 and species: SEQ ID NO: 2, albumin binding domain, SEQ ID NO: 18 in the reply filed 12/29/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is not a serious burden to search the other nonelected groups together. This is not found persuasive because the other unelected groups, Groups II and III, are drawn to different statutory categories of invention and the provisions of 35 U.S.C. 121 indicate that the invention can be separated along the categories of invention. In regards to the argument that there is no search burden, there is a serious search burden because the inventions require a different field of search, for example employing different search queries to examine the products versus the methods claimed. Applicant elected the group pertaining to the product, which is under examination in the instant Office Action.
Claims 27-30, 56, and 64 are withdrawn from consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claims. Election was made in the reply filed 12/29/2025.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Status
Claims 9-14, 16, 18, 23, 25-26, 31, 54-55 are now under consideration in the instant Office Action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 08/31/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 9-14, 16, 18, 23, 25-26, 31, 54-55 are objected to because of the following informalities: the abbreviation of “programmed death 1” is currently recited in the claims as “PD1”. The correct abbreviation of the protein should be “PD-1”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14, 23, and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Instant claims 14 and 26 recite a list of amino acids followed by a sequence identity number in parenthesis. It is unclear whether or not the sequence identifiers that follow consist of the same list of amino acids. To obviate this rejection, Applicant should strike out the list of amino acids and retain the sequence identifiers or remove the parenthesis and replace them with commas in its place at all instances.
Instant claims 23 and 25-26 recite a stabilizing albumin protein and its sequence. According to the instant specification, the albumin protein is a necessary component of the polypeptide structure. As the claims are currently recited, it is unclear how the stabilizing protein fits into the polypeptide structure whether it be included in the structure of the polypeptide or attached as an additional element.
Claims 9-14, 16, 18, 23, 25-26, 31, 54-55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 9-14, 16, 18, 23, 25-26, 31, 54-55 are directed to any polypeptide comprising a diphtheria toxin and a PD1 targeting moiety. As such, the claim is directed to an antibody defined entirely by function (binding). See MPEP §2163(I)(A) which states:
"The claimed invention as a whole may not be adequately described where an invention is described solely in terms of a method of its making coupled with its function and there is no described or art recognized correlation or relationship between the structure of the invention and its function. A biomolecule sequence described only by a functional characteristic, without any known or disclosed correlation between that function and the structure of the sequence, normally is not a sufficient identifying characteristic for written description purposes, even when accompanied by a method of obtaining the claimed sequence.”
In this case, antibodies generally share certain characteristics such as Fc regions or hinge regions. However, these structures are not correlated with the binding function of the antibody. The hyper variable regions (HVRs), i.e., complementarity determining regions (CDRs) of an antibody, are well established in the art as the portion of the binding region which imparts the specificity of an antibody. However, there is no way to a priori look at an antigen sequence (PD-1) and envisage the combination of six CDRs that will bind that antigen. First, even highly related CDRs may not bind the same target. See for example Kussie (instant PTO-892) who demonstrates that a single amino acid change in the heavy chain of an antibody which binds p-axophenylarsonate (Ars) completely abrogates the ability of the antibody to bind Ars but adds the functionality of binding the structurally related p-azophenylsulfonate (e.g., abstract). Second, even when provided with several related antibodies that bind the desired target, this does not represent the astronomical and potentially unknowable breadth of all possible amino acid sequences which will result in the desired binding properties. This is exemplified by the Court decision in Abbvie (Abbvie v Janssen 759 F.3d 1285 (Fed. Cir. 2014)), where Abbvie developed over 200 antibodies that shared 99.5% identity in the variable regions (p.7) and which bound the target, but in no way allowed one to envisage the unique structure of Centocor’s antibodies which bound the same target but shared only 50% sequence similarity (see table on page 11).
Thus, the art recognizes that the CDRs define the binding properties of an antibody and that even single amino acid changes to this region can completely abrogate the binding specificity of an antibody. As a further example, see Chen et al., 1995 (instant PTO-892) which demonstrates single amino acid changes in the VH CDR2 sequence can increase binding, decrease binding, destroy binding, or have no effect on binding when compared to the wild-type antibody.
See also Koenig 2017 (instant PTO-892), which provides a large mutation analysis study where every amino acid in both variable regions are substituted with every other amino acid. Looking at figure 1 of Koenig, the bottom half of each section (labeled VEGF) relates to the ability of the mutant to bind the original target, with blue meaning a reduced affinity and black meaning a complete loss of binding ability. In VH-CDR2, for example, mutating any given residue to cysteine, which is encompassed by the instant claims, resulted in reduced binding at 12 residues and a complete loss of binding at 5 residues. That is, at 100% of the positions, mutation to cysteine reduced or ablated the antibody’s ability to bind the target. Looking at a specific position, in 100% of the mutations of residue 55, binding was reduced (15/19) or eliminated (4/19). While residues 56-65 appear more tolerant of change, residues 50-55 are generally intolerant of change.
It is appreciated that Koenig is studying one specific antibody and there is no evidence that the instant antibodies would react in the same way. However, this is part of the problem. It is entirely unclear from the specification which residues of Applicant’s CDRs are tolerant or intolerant to change, and whether those tolerant positions are only tolerant to conservative mutations. The fact that some residues might tolerate mutation does not convey to the skilled artisan that Applicant knew which of the claimed residues were tolerant of such, i.e., does not convey that Applicant was in possession of those sequences which are mutated yet preserve the claimed function. In other words, the specification fails to convey possession of an invention commensurate in scope with what is now claimed and therefore fails to meet the written description requirement. Looking at Koenig figure 2A, ~200 mutations in the CDR region of the VH chain completely abrogates any binding. While 2B appears to indicate that the CDRs of VL are more tolerant of change than the heavy chain CDRs, still over half of the mutations reduce binding compared to the parent.
Thus, making changes to the CDR sequence of an antibody is a highly unpredictable process and the skilled artisan could not a priori make any predictions regarding such mutations with any reasonable expectation of success nor envisage the breadth of structurally unrelated CDR combinations that would still possess the required functions.
The specification discloses a few polypeptides comprising a diphtheria toxin and an anti-PD-1 scFv, which comprise SEQ ID NOs: 21-24 and contain the diphtheria toxin, the necessary linkers, the albumin stabilizing protein, and anti-PD-1 scFv. However, as discussed above, without any way to determine how broad the genus of such antibodies are, there is no way to determine if these antibodies represent the full breadth of what is claimed. The disclosure of these specific sequences would not convey to the artisan that Applicant was in possession of the full genus of all antibodies which possess the required functions nor does it allow the skilled artisan to envisage the specific structure of such antibodies.
Further note the decision in Amgen v. Sanofi 2017, where the Court supported previous decisions (Centocor 2011; Abbvie 2014) that defining an antibody solely by what it binds does not satisfy the written description requirement, stating that this would allow patentees to “claim antibodies by describing something that is not the invention, i.e., the antigen”. This decision has precipitated guidance to the Office instructing that the portion of MPEP 2163 regarding the “newly characterized antigen test” (indicating a well-characterized antigen is sufficient to satisfy written description for antibodies which bind that antigen) should no longer be used and that contrary materials should not be relied upon as reflecting the current state of the law.
It is appreciated that certain claims do include at least one sequence, e.g., claim 14 which requires the light chain variable region of the anti-PD-1 scFV, but does not recite a sequence for the heavy chain variable region of the anti-PD-1 scFv. Instant claim 26 recites a sequence for the albumin stabilizing protein. However, the scope of instant claims 9-13, 16, 18, 23, 25, 31, 54-55 encompass a broad range of polypeptides only bound by their functional characteristics. The instant claims do not recite the sequences present in the specification which encompass the entirety of the polypeptide including the diphtheria toxin, the necessary linkers, the stabilizing protein, and anti-PD-1 scFv. These aforementioned elements are left wholly undefined by the instant claims and described only by their functional characteristics. In the case of the diphtheria toxin, the instant claims recite that they are “truncated” but provide no description in the claims regarding the resulting structure of this modification to the native diphtheria toxin. This leaves the instant claims broad and unbound, encompassing any “variant” of the polypeptides, a variant being defined as noted above to include no particular structure so long as the function is retained. Applicant has not shown possession of the large number of molecules that are encompassed by the claims.
However, as above, arbitrarily altering any amino acid in the CDR of an antibody is unpredictable and the specification does not convey possession of any CDRs other than those of the disclosed antibodies. Further, it is well-known in the art that specificity of an antibody stems from the interaction of six CDRs. Moreover, CDRs are not generally recognized as interchangeable, such that using one CDR from one antibody would not be reasonably expected to confer the same binding properties or even the same binding target when combined with two to five CDRs from other antibodies. For example, WO 2008068048 (instant PTO-892) discloses an antibody with a heavy chain comprising three CDRs (SEQ ID NO: 2) that binds secreted aspartyl protease from Candida sp. US 20170355756 (instant PTO-892) describes the same three CDRs in the heavy chain (C10-VH3) combined with a different light chain that binds human TDP-43. There is no evidence in the instant specification that a single CDR placed in the context of two to five other CDRS, regardless of what those other CDRs are, would result in the required function, nor that a single chain is correlated to the required function when combined with any other chain. As such, the specification fails to set forth a structure-function correlation sufficient to claim all possible antibodies defined by function and one-three CDRs or alterations thereof.
As such, the disclosure of two antibody sequences does not convey possession of other antibodies with the same binding properties; possession of the precisely defined sequence of six CDRs is required.
With respect to product claims 9-14, 16, 18, 23, 25-26, 31, 54-55, it is recognized that information which is well known in the art need not be described in detail in the specification (MPEP §2163(II)(A)(2)). See, e.g., Hybritech, Inc. v. Monoclonal Antibodies, Inc., 802 F.2d 1367, 1379-80, 231 USPQ 81, 90 (Fed. Cir. 1986). However, sufficient information must be provided to show that the inventor had possession of the invention as claimed. MPEP §2163(II)(A)(3)(a) also discusses Univ. of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., 358 F.3d 916, 927, 69 USPQ2d 1886, 1894-95 (Fed. Cir. 2004), where a method of using a PGHS-2 inhibitor did not meet the written description as the inhibitor itself was not sufficiently described, clearly indicating that written description of the compound is still required in a method of using that compound. In this case, it is clear from the specification that the invention is in a new antibody, or at the least disclosure of a new antibody that could not have been envisaged from the prior art indicates that the prior art was not in possession of all “anti-PD-1 scFv antibodies” used in a polypeptide which also comprises a diphtheria toxin. Thus, the prior art cannot provide sufficient written description of this genus of compounds and the specification as filed, disclosing a few complete polypeptides, does not sufficiently describe the genus either as there is an unknown amount of structurally distinct scFv antibodies in this genus (see Amgen and Centocor decisions discussed above).
To satisfy the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. See, e.g., Vas-Cath, Inc., v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d at 1563, 19 U.S.P.Q.2d at 1116. The claimed invention as a whole may not be adequately described where an invention is described solely in terms of a method of its making coupled with its function and there is no described or art-recognized correlation or relationship between the structure of the invention and its function. An antibody described only by functional characteristic, such as a scFv antibody that binds PD-1 or one of the claimed epitopes, without any known or disclosed correlation between that function and the structure of the sequence, is not a sufficient identifying characteristic for written description purposes, even when accompanied by a method of obtaining the biomolecule of interest. In re Bell, 991 F.2d 781, 26 U.S.P.Q.2d 1529 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In re Deuel, 51 F.3d 1552, 34 U.S.P.Q.2d 1210 (Fed. Cir. 1995). In the instant case, the specification provides insufficient direction or guidance concerning the relationship between the structure of the possible antibody to demonstrate possession of the breadth of the genus of PD-1 scFv antibodies encompassed by the instant claims, especially in view of the unpredictability of such an endeavor. The prior art as evidenced by Edwards et al., 2003 (instant PTO-892) teaches there is a substantially huge antibody diversity produced to one single antigen target. Edwards provides evidence that over 1000 antibodies, all different amino acid sequences, were generated towards one single protein antigen target (see abstract). Without a correlation between structure and function, the claims do little more than define the claimed invention by function. That is not sufficient to satisfy the written description requirement. See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406 (“definition by function … does not suffice to define the genus because it is only an indication of what the gene does, rather than what it is”).
Without this guidance or direction the skilled artisan would not consider applicant to be in possession of the claimed genus of antibodies because the skilled artisan recognizes that even seemingly minor changes made without guidance or direction as to the relationship between the particular amino acid sequence of the instantly claimed antibody and its ability to bind antigen, can dramatically affect antigen-antibody binding.
Applicant has not described the claimed invention sufficiently to show they had possession of the claimed genus of an scFv antibody that binds PD-1. Possession may not be shown by merely describing how to obtain possession of members of the claimed genus or how to identify their common structural features. See University of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., 358 F.3d 916, 69 USPQ2d 1886 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. A “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus.
What constitutes a "representative number" is an inverse function of the skill and knowledge in the art. Satisfactory disclosure of a "representative number" depends on whether one of skill in the art would recognize that the applicant was in possession of the necessary common attributes or features of the elements possessed by the members of the genus in view of the species disclosed. For inventions in an unpredictable art, adequate written description of a genus which embraces widely variant species cannot be achieved by disclosing only one species within the genus.
To provide adequate written description and evidence of possession of the claimed genus, the ?specification must provide sufficient distinguishing identifying characteristics of the genus. The factors to be considered include disclosure of complete or partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics, structure/function correlation, methods of making the claimed product, or any combination thereof. In the instant case, the only factors present in the claims are a recitation of one generic, broad genus that encompassed a diverse and huge number of possible antibodies that bind the disclosed epitope. The specification does not provide a consistent structure for all of the possible antibodies and fails to provide a representative number of species for the claimed genus. Accordingly, in the absence of sufficient recitation of distinguishing identifying characteristics, the specification does not provide adequate written description of the claimed genus.
Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19USPQ2d 1111, clearly states that “applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the 'written description' inquiry, whatever is now claimed.” (See page 1117.) The specification does not “clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that they invented what is claimed.” (See Vas-Cath at page 1116).
With the exception of specifically disclosed scFv antibodies used in a broader polypeptide, the skilled artisan cannot envision the detailed chemical structure of all of the encompassed antibodies, and therefore conception is not achieved until reduction to practice has occurred, regardless of the complexity or simplicity of the method of isolation. Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential method of isolating it. The product itself is required. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601 at 1606 (CAFC 1993) and Amgen Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016.
One cannot describe what one has not conceived. See Fiddes v. Baird, 30 USPQ2d 1481 at 1483. In Fiddes, claims directed to mammalian FGF's were found to be unpatentable due to lack of written description for that broad class. Applicant is reminded that Vas-Cath makes clear that the written description provision of 35 U.S.C. §112 is severable from its enablement provision (see page 1115).
Therefore, claims 9-14, 16, 18, 23, 25-26, 31, 54-55 do not meet the written description requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-13, 16, 18, 31, and 54-55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Geskin et al. 2015 (in instant PTO-892).
Geskin et al. teaches the creation of monoclonal antibodies used in “agents conjugated to mAbs include immunotoxins (ITs), such as the diphtheria toxin (DT), radioisotopes (radioimmunoconjugates, such as yttrium 90), or cytotoxic drugs (antibody-drug conjugates [ADC] such as auristatins). Most approved mAbs in clinical practice are unconjugated antibodies that exert anti-tumor effects through complement- or antibody dependent cell-mediated cytotoxicity (ADCC)”, see page 777. Geskin et al. teaches that these agents comprising the use of monoclonal antibodies against hematologic malignancies have proven successful, with high response rates and a favorable toxicity profile in clinical trials and that data shows that “safe and effective mAbs can be used as combinational agents and for sequential therapies”, see page 777.
Geskin et al. also discloses several classes of antibodies that the US Food and Drug Administration have approved for clinical use in various malignancies, including pembrolizumab which is an anti-PD-1 antibody, see page 783. Geskin et al. reasons that due to the clinical relevancy of anti-PD-1 antibodies, novel approaches to future clinical uses “shifts the paradigm toward immunomodulatory regimens not only to reduce the need for cytotoxic therapies but also to deliver such cytotoxic therapies in an exceptionally precise manner to minimize overall toxicity” and that these “novel therapies, including immunomodulators, which were not available previously” to guide patient-specific therapies aimed at targeting the “heterogeneity of disease pathogenesis [which] underscores the need for an individualized approach to each patient”, see page 783. This meets the limitations of instant claim 9 wherein a polypeptide comprises a diphtheria toxin and a PD-1 targeting moiety, instant claims 10 and 13 wherein the PD-1 targeting moiety is anti-PD-1 or a fragment thereof, instant claims 11-12 wherein the toxin is a modified diphtheria toxin, and instant claims 16 and 18 wherein the immunotoxin diphtheria is conjugated via a linker to the antibody or PD-1 targeting moiety
As such, Geskin et al. sets forth the basis for combining an antibody targeted at PD-1 in combination with an immunotoxin such as diphtheria to treat diseases requiring the need for an immune checkpoint inhibitor. The limitations of instant claims 31 and 54-55 recite nucleic acid constructs comprising the polypeptide and compositions comprising the polypeptide, which are met in the teachings discussed above which disclose the products and thus their compositions.
Therefore, claims 9-13, 16, 18, 31, and 54-55 are anticipated by Geskin et al.
Conclusion
/SELAM BERHANE/Examiner, Art Unit 1675
/AURORA M FONTAINHAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1675