DETAILED ACTION
Examiner acknowledges receipt of amendment to application 18/173,684 filed on April 10, 2026. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are still pending, with claims 1, 4-5, 7, 9-11, 14-15, 17 and 19-20 being currently amended.
Status of Objections and Non-Prior Art Rejections
I. 35 USC § 112 Rejections
Applicant’s amendments to claims 7, 9-10, 17 and 19-20 are accepted. The 112(b) rejections of claims 7, 9-10, 17 and 19-20 are therefore withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 11-13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. Chinese Publication CN 114680435 A in view of Su et al. Chinese Publication CN 114365892 A (hereinafter Su II). (It is noted that the Wang and Su citations are taken from the machine translation, until a translation is obtained.)
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a wearable ring device [fig. 1, ring 100; pars. 15 & 23-24], comprising:
a battery configured within the wearable ring device [fig. 2, curved battery 300; pars. 39 & 50-52];
a arcuate frame configured to be worn on a finger of a user, the arcuate frame comprising an outer lateral surface and an inner lateral surface, the inner lateral surface configured to be in contact with the finger of the user [fig. 1, a ring (a ring is an arcuate frame with inner and outer lateral surfaces, the inner of which goes on the finger) 100] and a first lateral edge between the outer lateral surface and the inner lateral surface [figs. 5-6; 500 has lateral edges 50 between the inner and outer edge]; and
an arcuate charging element of the arcuate frame of the wearable ring device and coupled with the battery [fig. 2, charging coil 400 is disposed within edges of the inner ring with edges (500) and charges the battery, thus coupled with the battery; pars. 40, 50, 52 & 55].
Wang does not explicitly disclose the arcuate charging element forming at least a portion of the lateral edge.
However, Su discloses a wearable device with a charging element wherein the arcuate charging element forming at least a portion of the lateral edge [figs. 5-7; charging element 201 is on the side, thus in between the inner and outer lateral edges; pars. 38-41].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang to further include wherein the arcuate charging element forms at least a portion of the lateral edge for the purpose of improving the aesthetics and diversifying the applications, as taught by Su (par. 41).
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses wherein the arcuate charging element comprises a conductive band configured between the outer lateral surface and the inner lateral surface of the arcuate frame of the wearable ring device [fig. 2; 400, wireless charging coil conducts electricity induced by the coil to the battery, thus is a conductive band].
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses wherein the conductive band comprises a conductive coil disposed within the first lateral edge of the arcuate frame of the wearable ring device and between the outer lateral surface and the inner lateral surface of the arcuate frame of the wearable ring device [fig. 2, charging coil 400 is disposed within edges of the inner ring with edges (500) and charges the battery, thus coupled with the battery and conducts electricity induced by the coil to the battery, thus is a conductive band; pars. 40, 50, 52 & 55].
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses wherein the arcuate antenna element is configured between the outer lateral surface and the inner lateral surface of the arcuate frame of the wearable ring device [fig. 1-2, 200, 300 and 400 are coupled between 100 and 500].
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses wherein the first lateral edge is opposite the second lateral edge [fig. 2 & 6; 500 has 2 opposing edges 501 and 502].
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses an apparatus [fig. 1], comprising:
an arcuate frame comprising an outer lateral surface and an inner lateral surface [fig. 1, a ring (a ring is an arcuate frame with inner and outer lateral surfaces, the inner of which goes on the finger) 100], and a first lateral edge between the outer lateral surface and the inner lateral surface [figs. 5-6; 500 has lateral edges 50 between the inner and outer edge]; and
an arcuate charging element of the arcuate frame of the apparatus and coupled with a power source within the apparatus [fig. 2, charging coil 400 is disposed within edges of the inner ring with edges (500) and charges the battery, thus coupled with the battery; fig. 2, pars. 40, 50, 52 & 55; charging coil 400 is disposed within edges of the inner ring 500 and sandwiched between the outer layer 100 and inner layer 500].
Wang does not explicitly disclose the arcuate charging element forming at least a portion of the lateral edge.
However, Su discloses a wearable device with a charging element the arcuate charging element forming at least a portion of the lateral edge [figs. 5-7; charging element 201 is on the side, thus in between the inner and outer lateral edges; pars. 38-41].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang to further include wherein the arcuate charging element forms at least a portion of the lateral edge for the purpose of improving the aesthetics and diversifying the applications, as taught by Su (par. 41).
Regarding claim 12, Wang discloses wherein the arcuate charging element comprises a conductive band configured between the outer lateral surface and the inner lateral surface of the arcuate frame of the apparatus [fig. 2, charging coil 400 is disposed within edges of the inner ring with edges (500) and charges the battery, thus coupled with the battery and conducts electricity induced by the coil to the battery, thus is a conductive band; pars. 40, 50, 52 & 55].
Regarding claim 13, Wang discloses wherein the conductive band comprises a conductive coil disposed within the first lateral edge of the arcuate frame of the apparatus and between the outer lateral surface and the inner lateral surface of the arcuate frame of the apparatus [fig. 2, charging coil 400 is disposed within edges of the inner ring with edges (500) and charges the battery, thus coupled with the battery and conducts electricity induced by the coil to the battery, thus is a conductive band; pars. 40, 50, 52 & 55].
Regarding claim 15, Wang discloses wherein the arcuate antenna element is configured between the outer lateral surface and the inner lateral surface of the arcuate frame of the apparatus [fig. 1-2, 200, 300 and 400 are coupled between 100 and 500].
Regarding claim 16, Wang discloses wherein the first lateral edge is opposite the second lateral edge [fig. 2 & 6; 500 has 2 opposing edges 501 and 502].
Claims 4, 7, 9-10, 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. Chinese Publication CN 114680435 A in view of Su et al. Chinese Publication CN 114365892 A (hereinafter Su II) and further in view of Su et al. US PGPUB 2023/0134920 (hereinafter Su).
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses further comprising: an arcuate antenna element disposed within a second lateral edge of the arcuate frame of the wearable ring device and coupled with the battery [fig. 2, arcuate flexible circuit board 200 comprises an NFC circuit (thus an arcuate antenna) and is powered by, and thus coupled to, the battery 300; board 200 is also within the 2 edges of inner ring 500; pars. 40, 50, 52 & 55].
Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein the arcuate antenna element and the arcuate charging element are radially non-overlapping.
However, Su discloses a wireless charging device for a wearable ring [figs. 1-2, 16 & 18A-18B] wherein the arcuate antenna element and the arcuate charging element are radially non-overlapping [figs. 3-4; antenna 26 and antenna 28 are non radially overlapping; pars. 5, 45-46, 52 & 55-56; an NFC antenna 26 or 28 used for charging and a Bluetooth antenna 26 or 28].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wang and Su II to further include wherein the arcuate antenna element and the arcuate charging element are radially non-overlapping for the purpose of allowing antennas to operate in different bands simultaneously, as taught by Su (pars. 5, 45-46, 52 & 55-56).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Wang and Su II does not explicitly disclose wherein the arcuate charging element when positioned on a receptacle portion of a charging station, in a charging position in which the arcuate charging element is parallel to a second arcuate charging element of the charging station, facilitates current flow between the arcuate charging element and the second arcuate charging element of charging station.
However, Su discloses a wireless charging device for a wearable ring [figs. 1-2, 16 & 18A-18B] wherein the arcuate charging element when positioned on a receptacle portion of a charging station, in a charging position in which the arcuate charging element is parallel to a second arcuate charging element of the charging station, facilitates current flow between the arcuate charging element and the second arcuate charging element of charging station [fig. 18a-18b; par. 74; ring 102 can be charged while positioned on a charging station 200, wherein the arcuate charging element (charging element of the ring 102 that conforms to the ring shape, fig. 1, antenna 10, par. 43), such that the element is “in parallel” with the charging station, given that the ring lies flat to a plane parallel to that of the plane on which the charger 200 lies flat].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wang and Su II to further include wherein the arcuate charging element when positioned on a receptacle portion of a charging station, in a charging position in which the arcuate charging element is parallel to a second arcuate charging element of the charging station, facilitates current flow between the arcuate charging element and the second arcuate charging element of charging station for the purpose of allowing the ring to rest in a stable position, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Wang and Su II does not explicitly wherein the charging contact of the arcuate charging element is in contact with a second arcuate charging element of a charging station when the wearable ring device is in a charging position on the charging station.
However, Su discloses a wireless charging device for a wearable ring [figs. 1-2, 16 & 18A-18B] wherein the charging contact of the arcuate charging element is in contact with a second arcuate charging element of a charging station when the wearable ring device is in a charging position on the charging station [fig. 18a-18b; par. 74; ring 102 can be charged while positioned on a charging station 200, wherein the arcuate charging element (charging element of the ring 102 that conforms to the ring shape, fig. 1, antenna 10, par. 43), such that the element is “in parallel” with the charging station, given that the ring lies flat to a plane parallel to that of the plane on which the charger 200 lies flat].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wang and Su II to further include wherein the charging contact of the arcuate charging element is in contact with a second arcuate charging element of a charging station when the wearable ring device is in a charging position on the charging station for the purpose of allowing the ring to rest in a stable position, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Wang and Su II does not explicitly wherein the charging position facilitates a current flow between the second arcuate charging element of the charging station and the arcuate charging element of the wearable ring device.
However, Su as applied in claim 9 discloses wherein the charging position facilitates a current flow between the second arcuate charging element of the charging station and the arcuate charging element of the wearable ring device [fig. 18a-18b; par. 74; ring 102 can be charged while positioned on a charging station 200, wherein the arcuate charging element (charging element of the ring 102 that conforms to the ring shape, fig. 1, antenna 10, par. 43), such that the element is “in parallel” with the charging station, given that the ring lies flat to a plane parallel to that of the plane on which the charger 200 lies flat].
Regarding claim 14, Wang discloses further comprising: an arcuate antenna element disposed within a second lateral edge of the arcuate frame of the apparatus and coupled with the power source [fig. 2, pars. 49 & 53; arcuate flexible circuit board 200 comprises an NFC circuit (thus an arcuate antenna) and is powered by, and thus coupled to, the battery 300; board 200 is also within the 2 edges of inner ring 500].
Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein the arcuate antenna element and the arcuate charging element are radially non-overlapping.
However, Su discloses a wireless charging device for a wearable ring [figs. 1-2, 16 & 18A-18B] wherein the arcuate antenna element and the arcuate charging element are radially non-overlapping [figs. 3-4; antenna 26 and antenna 28 are non radially overlapping; pars. 5, 45-46, 52 & 55-56; an NFC antenna 26 or 28 used for charging and a Bluetooth antenna 26 or 28].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wang and Su II to further include wherein the arcuate antenna element and the arcuate charging element are radially non-overlapping for the purpose of allowing antennas to operate in different bands simultaneously, as taught by Su (pars. 5, 45-46, 52 & 55-56).
Regarding claim 17, Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein the arcuate charging element when positioned on a receptacle portion of a charging station,in a charging position in which the arcuate charging element is parallel to a second arcuate charging element of the charging station, facilitates current flow between the arcuate charging element and the second arcuate charging element of charging station.
However, Su discloses a wireless charging device for a wearable ring [figs. 1-2, 16 & 18A-18B] wherein the arcuate charging element when positioned on a receptacle portion of a charging station, in a charging position in which the arcuate charging element is parallel to a second arcuate charging element of the charging station, facilitates current flow between the arcuate charging element and the second arcuate charging element of charging station [fig. 18a-18b; par. 74; ring 102 can be charged while positioned on a charging station 200, wherein the arcuate charging element (charging element of the ring 102 that conforms to the ring shape, fig. 1, antenna 10, par. 43), such that the element is “in parallel” with the charging station, given that the ring lies flat to a plane parallel to that of the plane on which the charger 200 lies flat].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang to further include wherein the arcuate charging element when positioned on a receptacle portion of a charging station, in a charging position in which the arcuate charging element is parallel to a second arcuate charging element of the charging station, facilitates current flow between the arcuate charging element and the second arcuate charging element of charging station for the purpose of allowing the ring to rest in a stable position, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. Chinese Publication CN 114680435 A in view of Su et al. Chinese Publication CN 114365892 A (hereinafter Su II), and further in view of Kim et al. Korean Publication KR 102038286 B1.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Wang and Su II does not explicitly disclose wherein the arcuate charging element comprises a magnetic contact at least partially coated by a conductive material that forms a charging contact.
However, Kim discloses a wirelessly charging ring [figs. 1-2], wherein the arcuate charging element comprises a magnetic contact at least partially coated by a conductive material that forms a charging contact [fig. 1, the charging unit 260 of the ring may be made of a magnetic material and also contains iron or nickel (conductive materials) for passing current to “charg[e]the detection unit 200”; pars. 51-53].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wang and Su II to further include wherein the arcuate charging element comprises a magnetic contact at least partially coated by a conductive material that forms a charging contact for the purpose of using magnetic field induction for charging, as taught by Kim (pars. 51-53).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Wang and Su II discloses wherein the arcuate charging element comprises a magnetic contact at least partially coated by a conductive material that forms a charging contact.
However, Kim discloses a wirelessly charging ring, wherein the arcuate charging element comprises a magnetic contact at least partially coated by a conductive material that forms a charging contact [fig. 1, the charging unit 260 of the ring may be made of a magnetic material and also contains iron or nickel (conductive materials) for passing current to “charg[e]the detection unit 200”; pars. 51-53].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wang and Su II to further include wherein the arcuate charging element comprises a magnetic contact at least partially coated by a conductive material that forms a charging contact for the purpose of using magnetic field induction for charging, as taught by Kim (pars. 51-53).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. Chinese Publication CN 114680435 A in view of Su et al. Chinese Publication CN 114365892 A (hereinafter Su II), further in view of Kim et al. Korean Publication KR 102038286 B1 and further in view of Su et al. US PGPUB 2023/0134920 (hereinafter Su I).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Wang, Kim and Su II does not explicitly disclose
However, Su discloses a wireless charging device for a wearable ring [figs. 1-2, 16 & 18A-18B] wherein the charging contact of the arcuate charging element is in contact with a charging station when the apparatus is parallel to a charging position, wherein the charging position facilitates a current flow between the charging station and the arcuate charging element of the apparatus [fig. 18a-18b; par. 74; ring 102 can be charged while positioned on a charging station 200, wherein the arcuate charging element (charging element of the ring 102 that conforms to the ring shape, fig. 1, antenna 10, par. 43), such that the element is “in parallel” with the charging station, given that the ring lies flat to a plane parallel to that of the plane on which the charger 200 lies flat].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wang, Kim and Su II to further include wherein the charging contact of the arcuate charging element is in contact with a charging station when the apparatus is parallel to a charging position, wherein the charging position facilitates a current flow between the charging station and the arcuate charging element of the apparatus for the purpose of allowing the ring to rest in a stable position, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. Chinese Publication CN 114680435 A in view of Su et al. US PGPUB 2023/0134920 (hereinafter Su I), and further in view of Su et al. Chinese Publication CN 114365892 A (hereinafter Su II). (It is noted that the Wang and Su II citations are taken from the machine translation, until a translation is obtained.)
Regarding claim 20, Wang discloses a method, comprising:
identifying an arcuate charging element of a wearable ring device [pars. 23-24; the user charges and wears the device, and thus “identifies” the arcuate charging element of a wearable ring device when charging the device], wherein the wearable ring device comprises an arcuate frame comprising an outer lateral surface and an inner lateral surface, a first lateral edge between the outer lateral surface and the inner lateral surface, the inner lateral surface configured to be in contact with a finger of a user [figs. 5-6; 500 has lateral edges 50 between the inner and outer edge; fig. 1, a ring (a ring is an arcuate frame with inner and outer lateral surfaces, the inner of which goes on the finger) 100], wherein the arcuate charging element is coupled with a battery of the wearable ring device, [fig. 2, charging coil 400 is disposed within edges of the inner ring with edges (500) and charges the battery, thus coupled with the battery; pars. 40];
facilitating a current flow between the arcuate charging element and the charging station based at least in part on the positioning [pars. 15 & 23-24; the charging is wireless using a coil, thus the current flow is based at least in part on the positioning due to the physics of inductive charging]; and
charging the battery of the wearable ring device based at least in part on facilitating the current flow between the arcuate charging element and the charging station [fig. 2, charging coil 400 is disposed within edges of the inner ring with edges (500) and charges the battery; pars. 40, 50, 52 & 55].
Wang does not explicitly disclose positioning the arcuate charging element of the wearable ring device on a receptacle portion of a charging station in a charging position in which the arcuate charging element is parallel with the charging station.
However, Su discloses a wireless charging device for a wearable ring [figs. 1-2, 16 & 18A-18B] comprising positioning the arcuate charging element of the wearable ring device on a receptacle portion of a charging station in a charging position in which the arcuate charging element is parallel with the charging station [fig. 18a-18b; par. 74; ring 102 can be charged while positioned on a charging station 200, wherein the arcuate charging element (charging element of the ring 102 that conforms to the ring shape, fig. 1, antenna 10, par. 43), such that the element is “in parallel” with the charging station, given that the ring lies flat to a plane parallel to that of the plane on which the charger 200 lies flat].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang to further include positioning the arcuate charging element of the wearable ring device on a receptacle portion of a charging station in a charging position in which the arcuate charging element is parallel with the charging station for the purpose of allowing the ring to rest in a stable position, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
The combination of Wang and SU does not explicitly disclose the arcuate charging element forming at least a portion of the first lateral edge.
However, Su II discloses a wearable device with a charging element [figs. 5-7; charging element 201 is on the side, thus in between the inner and outer lateral edges; pars. 38-41].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wang and Su to further include wherein the arcuate charging element forms at least a portion of the lateral edge for the purpose of improving the aesthetics and diversifying the applications, as taught by Su II (par. 41).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID V HENZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859